Member reviews of Ulster University

  • Hockeylad44's avatar by Hockeylad44 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I don't think I could honestly improve the uni apart from the coffee shop to do a little more food but apart from that its fine.
    University:
    I don't really use any because I don't live on campus but from what I have seen the facilities look great.
    Course:
    All the modules are important for what you will have to do for placement in 3rd year. 1st year is more about tourism while year 2 is more about management.
    Location:
    Too far from the capital city of Belfast but has a decent rail network beside the university and take around 70 mins to drive from Belfast to Coleraine
    Accommodation:
    I didn't stay on campus but I looked around my friends accommodation. The room was kinda small but for £109 a week you got heating, electric and wifi. The room was a ensuite room, the bed was quite small though.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really well, I got into a group chat with my class before I started so I got to know a lot of people before I started. I just posted on the Campus freshers page asking who was doing my course.
  • New(World)Order's avatar by New(World)Order on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Because I love Ulster University
    University:
    Because I love uni life
    Course:
    Because I love psychology
    Location:
    Because I love student towns
    Accommodation:
    Because I love psychology
    Settling in:
    Because I love university
  • Emerson1997's avatar by Emerson1997 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is good, knowledgable and will aid you in what you want to do, some downsides but I still believe this deserves a 10/10.
    University:
    I am enjoying it so far, but I think improvements could be made.
    Course:
    Long waiting times between lectures, some of the lecturers look down upon you - even though you are now an adult and should be treated as one, as an equal, they do not see you this way.
    Location:
    The campus itself is nice but the place it is in doesnt have much to do, I've been trying to find a bar in it and still no luck. It is clean and the scenery is good and there is a small beach which is a positive.
    Accommodation:
    Although I do not live in this accommodation I have stayed in them as part of a residential with my secondary school, the accommodation is OK, but taking into consideration the cost of it, it is far too much for a basic room and we are students who live on practically pennies. As well there isn't much places to go considering there isn't even a student bar in the students union.
    Settling in:
    I am still attempting to settle in, there is not much chance of actually meeting with your fellow students, I believe this could be approached more differently for the more shy students.
  • Edelp70's avatar by Edelp70 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would recommend coming here for a university experience, the campus gives it a big rural vibe but is so close to towns/cities where you can go shopping/going out.
    University:
    Good clubs and plenty of opportunities to make new friends, the library is easy to use and everything is easy to adjust to.
    Course:
    Everyone is friendly, the quality of teaching is great. The staff of the uni are so helpful and everyone gives each other respect
    Location:
    Its a beautiful location
    Accommodation:
    I live a few miles away, which is handy, I have good condition housing with a fair price only downside is that I have to travel to get to uni and I do not have a car.
    Settling in:
    I have immediately felt at home here with no difficulties
  • Chloem86's avatar by Chloem86 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great fun and the location is perfect
    University:
    Great clubs and great deals on taxis and buses
    Course:
    The lecturers are great and the faculty staff are brilliant
    Location:
    Near the farms and the town and a beach
    Accommodation:
    Internet is a bit slow as are the repairs if needed
    Settling in:
    Some people are a bit rude but overall it's ok
  • AndrewMC1994's avatar by AndrewMC1994 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4.5 Stars, It's a great university and it provides everything I need, getting to the university can be troublesome sometimes but there is usually no issue.
    University:
    There is a large library on campus with the latest computers and books, it is located in Belfast so there are plenty of shops.
    Course:
    I love my course, learning graphic design is extremely enjoyable, I love going to it everyday.
    Location:
    It can be extremely busy at times and very crowded but overall it's is a good location with good people.
    Accommodation:
    It can be difficult because of traffic to get to the university sometimes but overall I found it better than what I had expected.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly, made a new group of friends on the first day.
  • trekkin's avatar by trekkin on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    If you are looking for a fun and friendly university with low tuition fees, you should consider Ulster Uni.
    University:
    Wide variety of activities on offer.
    Course:
    The timetabling of subjects can be strange sometimes.
    Location:
    Close to the seaside towns where a lot of students live.
    Accommodation:
    They are clean and functional.
    Settling in:
    The University has a very friendly atmosphere.
  • shannonbrophy1's avatar by shannonbrophy1 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Anyone thinking of going to university I would highly recommend doing it and coming to University of Ulster Magee.
    University:
    Night time events in the students union are amazing.
    Course:
    The lecturers are excellent and extremely helpful with any issues you have regarding your course. They take time to explain the work to you and don't move on until you fully understand it.
    Location:
    Extremely beautiful and friendly city and very student friendly.
    Accommodation:
    Extremely clean and modern taste. The bedroom is extremely cosy and has been supplied with a desk so that you can do your work.
    Settling in:
    I found my way around the campus easily and everyone from both staff to students made me feel so welcome and made both Magee and Derry itself feel like home..it's my home from home and I have fell in love with this city
  • B00648747's avatar by B00648747 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great! Easy to settle in, loads of support
    University:
    X
    Course:
    Small personal feel university, great lecturers
    Location:
    Lots going on, nice place to live, good opportunities
    Accommodation:
    I live in private rental so dont know what student accomodation is like
    Settling in:
    Found it easy, relaxed environment, friendly
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    All services on campus were good, e.g. library was open 24/7.
    Course:
    The course was really interesting with many guest lecturers who were at the top of their field. Lecturers responded to emails quickly and happy to help with any queries. It had just the right amount of contact teaching hours and meetings were available if they were needed. Lecturers were really informative and didn't just read from a powerpoint.
    Location:
    The location it quite quiet.
    Accommodation:
    Quality was good, affordability was ok, although a bit expensive. Location was on the university campus so only a couple of minutes walk to the university.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly
  • Abeattie93's avatar by Abeattie93 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good but Jordanstown campus outdated.
    University:
    Average acilities, lacks proper students union, it seems to get worse every year.
    Course:
    Not great choice of modules
    Location:
    Easy to get to via motorways.
    Accommodation:
    Haven't been in the housing so don't know.
    Settling in:
    Made friends quickly.
  • Spydoor's avatar by Spydoor on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great!
    University:
    Lots of services and clubs to join
    Course:
    I've searched everywhere for a course that provides modern and up to date lessons on digital design, using apps like Photoshop.. This was the only one I found and they're excellent at it.
    Location:
    It's a 20 minute walk from the train station. Lots of places to eat and relax nearby.
    Accommodation:
    Because I don't use accomodation.
    Settling in:
    Good introduction. They took it slow.
  • Niamhdebras's avatar by Niamhdebras on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 5 stars because i have thoroughly enjoyed it so far and i love going to every lecture
    University:
    I have made great friends through housing and societies.
    Course:
    I love the history side of the course but dont enjoy the international development
    Location:
    There isn't a lot of things to do as its out in the country.
    Accommodation:
    It gave us the basics of what we needed but was expensive for what if was.
    Settling in:
    It took me a little while to settle in
  • Cara0donnell 's avatar by Cara0donnell on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    The library is very useful and opens extra hours around exam time. The student union has a lot of clubs you can join and the people are friendly.
    Course:
    It has given me a broad knowledge to be able to take up a job confidently in an area that interests me l.
    Location:
    It is in the city centre and easy to access.
    Accommodation:
    Some of the halls are in a bad condition.
    Settling in:
    I made friends very quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic!! Students and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful, really helped me settle in. Hands down you'll love your time spent at University of Ulster.
    University:
    So many handy services on campus, from a hairdressers to coffee shops and even a spar. A variety of computer rooms that can be easily accessed at any time by students. Student union ensures all voices are heard with a number of class reps and serveral meetings etc held over the year.
    Course:
    Course well run with staff always available for help.
    Location:
    Coleraine university is so handy to get to either by train or by car. Fair enough the shopping isn't great in the town but it's so close that any essentials can be quickly purchased.
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable.
    Settling in:
    Attending UU felt like another home. Staff and students are always pleasant.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far really really good absolutely love it!
    University:
    Loads of sports shops on site brill Union etc
    Course:
    I have always wanted to be a physio and I love the teaching and learning style of the university of Ulster course. The lecturers are there for you at every corner but you are treated with the respect of an adult not a child like when In school. You become very independent and with the nature of our course the who year group becomes very close. Also three days a week I'm in hands on practical which breaks up the lectures and makes it more interesting!
    Location:
    If you live in Belfast you have to get a bus out
    Accommodation:
    They are well equipped and close to the uni however don't have wifi you have to get your own
    Settling in:
    The university is very friendly you seen everyone due to its lay out which I really like as a lot of unis segregate faculties completely where as there is a communal walk way and union for everyone. Students union is very hands on and even the societies too
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I really love it at the end of the day and wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else
    University:
    The uni is great and has lots of facilities and events
    Course:
    It's a brilliant course, very interesting content and great lecturers.
    Location:
    The jordanstown campus is quite a bit out of Belfast city which can be good as it's quiet but also bad because it's quiet
    Accommodation:
    The location is great and the halls are of a great standard but are quite expensive
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Nightlife good
    Course:
    It's just ok
    Location:
    It's pretty decent
    Accommodation:
    Very deer
    Settling in:
    Liked it early on
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars It is a good university with a good atmosphere and plenty of places to create and enjoy your student life
    University:
    Because it has treated me well thus far
    Course:
    Because the class is a small group which allows for more interactive learning
    Location:
    Because it's a decent area to live in
    Accommodation:
    Because our cooker is broken
    Settling in:
    Because I have settled in well, especially with the people I live with
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    SU is great and the people love a night out.
    Course:
    Great course
    Location:
    Right in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    MY friends love it
    Settling in:
    Friendly people, staff and lecturers.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE