Member reviews of University College London

  • Vijuss_8's avatar by Vijuss_8 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It is one of the best uni in the world for a reason. There's a rich culture but also provides intellectual challenge.
    University:
    Vibrant culture at Uni. So many societies to join.
    Course:
    Initially, I wasn't so sure of UCL. It started off pretty meh. However, as the year went by, I realised how much I've grown as a result of how the course is structured.
    Location:
    Centre of London with many places to go. It's really self explanatory.
    Accommodation:
    Can't say much. I commute.
    Settling in:
    Took a while but there was a good transition from sixth form. They were second year mentors assigned to us to help us settle which was very effective.
  • alifhasyimi's avatar by alifhasyimi on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s not that bad, but honestly It’s far from the best either. Like, if you are an international student, don’t waste your money coming here.
    University:
    Everything is like so far far away.
    Course:
    It’s mostly self-teaching to be honest. If you prefer that, UCL might be for you. Otherwise, please don’t come here.
    Location:
    It’s right smack in one of the busiest parts of London, for good or for worse that depends on your liking.
    Accommodation:
    I don’t know about UCL accommodations (but I heard they are good & cheap) but University of London halls are fantastic.
    Settling in:
    UCL is very small, so I got used to everything after the 1st week which is I think fast enough.
  • ForcomeAnarchist's avatar by ForcomeAnarchist on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Fantastic, theres so much going on but because of studies I'm not able to fulfil the full potential of what the university has to offer.
    University:
    Uni life at UCL is fantastic, many events, many things are going on and you get to choose from a wide variety !!
    Course:
    The course, structurally, can be improved and should also be accredited. The course covers an array of topics, much like medicine without most of the clinical aspects (although you learn clinical aspects but not too in-depth).
    Location:
    Excellent location, close to transport links and all the amenities.
    Accommodation:
    Last year I lived in UoL accommodation and that was fantastic.
    Settling in:
    UCL has a lot of information regarding this area. Signs and posters everywhere as well as online.
  • Bphillip99's avatar by Bphillip99 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    A great university in any ways, however if you are looking for a great, cheap nightlife, then London may not be the place for you, and there are many international or London students which can make socialising hard for some.
    University:
    Whilst London is expensive and large, the university has made an effort to make it easier and affordable, and the facilities and teaching is all to a high standard
    Course:
    Everything is fine however there could be more general guidance with day to day self-taught work
    Location:
    A lovely area that is safe and central whilst being quiet and a nice place to work
    Accommodation:
    very modern however it was unclean when I moved into the bathroom and there have been numerous maintenance issues. However the room is spacious and nice
    Settling in:
    it was relatively hard to settle in, as there is a high proportion of international students and the events put on aren't the best for socialising. Grouping similar people may have been better for accommodation
  • imarkar's avatar by imarkar on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I’m more settled in therefore much happier.
    University:
    Now that I’m more settled I’m enjoying uni life more. I’m much happier in my flat with friends rather than halls. I’ve found out how I work best as well.
    Course:
    The course content is good and interesting however the department is quite disorganised. I like the variety of modules available for students and the fact that we can study a subject outside of the department.
    Location:
    Close to restaurants, clubs, cinemas, bars etc
    Accommodation:
    My halls last year were good and close to uni however my room was too small to work in and the kitchen was too small for ten people to share.
    Settling in:
    There wasn’t enough support given to freshers and it took me a long time to find a solid group of friends. There wasn’t enough guidance given to first years on how to choose modules or write essays and some of the advice was arbitrary and vague.
  • anita98's avatar by anita98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love everything in here but its really expensive
    University:
    Everything is within easy reach
    Course:
    So far eveyone seems friendly, ambitious and helpful.
    Location:
    Central london
    Accommodation:
    The cheaper ones are pretty disgusting sometimes but they are close to the campus
    Settling in:
    There are many helpful amd feiendly people here
  • abhiyanbeta's avatar by abhiyanbeta on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    UCL is very good and is one of the top universities. You will find plenty of educational resources, support and people are generally friendly.
    University:
    It is good in terms of academics, there are libraries etc. Could have more study spaces but in general the combo of education + social uni life is very good.
    Course:
    Teachings are very good. Lecturers are very knowledgeable in their topics. There is a good mix of lectures and seminars.
    Location:
    Very central in London and close to shops, restaurants, amenities, etc.
    Accommodation:
    The un accommodation was good and very close by. However there were some maintenance issues such as hot water not working for a long time.
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time initially and we all feel homesick but it gets easier with time.
  • pp997's avatar by pp997 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great reputation and teaching quality. Lots of opportunities be it through societies or just by virtue of being in London.
    University:
    Loads to do in London. Wide range of societies too.
    Course:
    Challenging & diverse
    Location:
    Good central location
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but generally good location (as in proximity to uni)
    Settling in:
    No major challenges; very welcoming environment
  • MeganSpearman's avatar by MeganSpearman on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I would really recommend UCL to anyone considering it. I have very few complaints other than accommodation costs but unfortunately that is the problem with London, it is the same with all London universities. The medical school is quite separate from the main university so I can only comment on the medical school but I really have very few complaints. University life here is as expected and is definitely enjoyable.
    University:
    I have no complaints, libraries are 24 hours, there are student bars (which don't seem to offer student prices) and there are plenty of societies to keep busy. I personally do not use these very much other than sports societies so I cannot say the uni life is perfect.
    Course:
    The content and teaching is really good, well planned and efficient. All lectures are recorded and many materials are provided to aid revision. The only complaint I have is that, probably like most university, I feel like just a number for their records. It would be nice if it was made more personal. We have personal tutors but many people's tutors do not seem interested. They never make appointments unless asked by a student to and when you have a meeting, they seem to be less than 5 minutes long.
    Location:
    The university could not be located in a better place. The only negative to its location in central London is trying to find affordable accommodation close to the university.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of accommodation is high and there are cleaners every weekday which is really good and definitely necessary. I think, however, my accommodation was one of the best so a student in one of the others may not have the same review.The problem is the price. It is very very expensive and the price continues to rise substantially each year - it rose by at least £7 a week for my accommodation when I moved in and I know it has increased again since then. For most of the people I know, their student loan couldn't cover the rent at all - not even close.
    Settling in:
    I had no problems with settling into university and neither did anyone close to me. I felt at home almost straight away.
  • yakuzakitty's avatar by yakuzakitty on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    You can't beat London for nightlife, local resources, job opportunities, and good transport links
    Course:
    The staff and tutors were experts in their field, lots of opportunities to travel while learning, a great range of varied modules
    Location:
    You can't beat London for nightlife, local resources, job opportunities, and good transport links
    Accommodation:
    Cheap for the location but poor quality, no wifi, basic amenities
    Settling in:
    I quickly felt at home
  • Quack's avatar by Quack on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    It's good stuff if you make use of it
    Course:
    The admin team is really slow with this course
    Location:
    Central London
    Accommodation:
    Decent place
    Settling in:
    It depends a lot on you
  • DiaanaE's avatar by DiaanaE on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I really think that UCL deserve its rank
    University:
    uni life is great, I have so many opportunities
    Course:
    because it's really good and the professors are trying to explain everything
    Location:
    the blomsburry is great
    Accommodation:
    because it's a little bit far away(40 min walk) but it's really cheap 135 per weeek
    Settling in:
    It's because I came from a different country it's not so easy for me to make friends
  • r3spiras's avatar by r3spiras on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The location is good, and the university is very well respected.
    University:
    It is generally quite good.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching can be quite erratic. Sometimes the tutors/lecturers will be genuinely good teachers, others are clearly more researchers who have been made to teach.
    Location:
    London is full of career opportunities as well as exciting things like Theatre, Museums, gigs, etc.
    Accommodation:
    The housing is more expensive than doing it privately. Also, there is little support when something goes wrong.
    Settling in:
    I enjoy the location of London.
  • Spaghettihoops17's avatar by Spaghettihoops17 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Free gym membership
    Course:
    Amazing people
    Location:
    London is the best city
    Accommodation:
    It was really clean
    Settling in:
    People were friendly
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been brilliant!
    University:
    There are so many societies and events all the time, you can never be bored.
    Course:
    It's a truly amazing university that knows how to prepare you for real life, not only theoretically
    Location:
    It's Central London, super-close to Kings Cross. What else could you ask for?
    Accommodation:
    The rooms were very nice and clean, but as it's London it can be expensive.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was absolutely great and friendly. It was very easy for me to get into the lifestyle and make friends.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars, because so far I'm having a pretty amazing experience. There are loads of societies to join and everyone seems so friendly! London is an amazing place to be a student- you'll never be bored
    University:
    From what I've seen so far it seems as though there is loads to do during both the day and evening which is great. The only complaint I would have is the fact we moved in a week early where there was nothing to do in the university
    Course:
    It's very early on in the term, but some of the lectures have just been too basic to keep us interested and then one was too hard to even understand. But the timetable is good, very busy which is good and there is help given where it could be needed!
    Location:
    The campus/centre of the university is also in a very central location. This means that it's so easy to get anywhere or anything you might leave.
    Accommodation:
    The room size and kitchen is great. The location is even better it's fairly close to the university but also easy to get wherever you need to be. The only complaint I would have is the price, it's very expensive considering we're self-catered
    Settling in:
    At first it was very overwhelming as London is so massive, but soon you make friends and explore! After a couple of days I really felt like I could see myself living here
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great university, great city and a good preparation for the real world.
    University:
    Some facilities are spread around london
    Course:
    Module choices are great
    Location:
    London life is great
    Accommodation:
    Could have been better
    Settling in:
    University did little to assist in settling
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Lots to do
    Course:
    Good teaching interesting lectures
    Location:
    Centre of London
    Accommodation:
    Broken fridge
    Settling in:
    My flat mates are cool
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Underwhelming, disappointing...University is not what you are made to expect.
    University:
    There isn't much to offer for those who don't like to get drunk all the time. All the society "socials" involve alcohol in copious amounts.
    Course:
    Less contact time than expected with professors. Poor teaching from most professors (many are excellent in their field but few can teach).
    Location:
    Excellent opportunities in the area, interesting places round every corner...London can always be expected to be filthy though. The main issue is crime - many thefts on the street and some places feel very intimidating.
    Accommodation:
    Poor hygiene levels, extremely noisy at all hours of the day, unpleasant room in an ugly building that cost a ridiculous amount of money.
    Settling in:
    Very difficult to meet people when they are all drunk.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely fantastic, make sure to come throw yourself into all that UCL has to offer. Don't be shy to go make new friends and experience everything there is within London.
    University:
    Plenty of student bars, unions and societies that cater to all interests and offer cheaper nights out, as well as the ability to go out within London. The libraries are all fantastic and easy to access, the Bloomsbury fitness centre is easy to sign up to and is good value for money, and there is plenty of support from both UCLU and those running the course.
    Course:
    I feel supported and part of a warm community whilst also being part of the hub of activity that is London; my course is tailored to ensure everyone starts at the same level, and is built so that all aspects of medicine are covered and we develop as efficient, empathetic medical students.
    Location:
    In central London; being a vibrant metropolis there is plenty to do and see but UCL retains a campus-like feature that gives it a community feel that is not found in other London universities.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent location, the quality is really good however being in London it is quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    Warm environment in halls, friendly people and staff, plenty of support to be found throughout the university.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE