Member reviews of University of Aberdeen

  • vilavi98's avatar by vilavi98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Aberdeen university is an amazing university. The location is great and close to the city centre. The different societies and sports clubs offer a variety of socials and activities. The lecturers are very nice and the tutorials are helpful.
    University:
    Everything you could need is on campus. There are several coffee shops with different types of coffee as well as sandwhiches, donuts etc. The library opening times are very good as well. There are a few small supermarkets and a new zero waste café.
    Course:
    The course is very well structured and there is a good balance between lectures and tutorials. The tutorials are very helpful and the tutors seem approachable. Especially the psychology lecturers are very open and there is always help if you need it.
    Location:
    The university campus is close to the city centre and the Aberdeen sports village, which offers cheap contracts for students.
    Accommodation:
    I can’t gice my own opinion about this since I was not living in uni accommodations
    Settling in:
    It took a while to get used to the amount of work compared to highschool. But the other students were all really friendly and the lecturers are always there to help.
  • chemnerd123's avatar by chemnerd123 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    accommodation is cheap, teaching is relatively good and improving, the uni takes student feedback into consideration multiple times per term and the professors are really approachable, lots of sports and societies and plenty to do if you engage yourself
    University:
    not much to do in the city, you almost need to join a club or society otherwise you get bored
    Course:
    lecturers are boring and dont actually know what the fuck they're teaching
    Location:
    its far enough north in scotland to be able to enjoy exploring, without being too far away from the main cities such as edinburgh. only downside is the uni and its accommodation is a 40 minute walk from city centre
    Accommodation:
    cheap and has a cleaner - just dont stay in the universitys own accomodation at hill head as its a bit loud and crowded
    Settling in:
    i was placed in a block with multiple other northern irish students, so a common background with my billing was helpful in making me feel like less of an outsider
  • MsAnjaC's avatar by MsAnjaC on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    This university has a lot to offer. Courses are diverse and interesting, staff is supportive and there is also a lot of extracurricular activities one can chose from.
    University:
    There are many societies one can chose from, a lot of gyms close by, beautiful library ...
    Course:
    Overall everything is great, teaching is of high quality. The only thing that might be a bit bothersome is the exam timetable.
    Location:
    It is not in the city centre, which is good, but it is close to it.
    Accommodation:
    Quality, location and affordability depend on which university-owned halls one chooses.
    Settling in:
    The support this university offers is amazing and outstanding.
  • pia25's avatar by pia25 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it so far, my program is great and everyone I speak to feels the same about theirs. Overall, it's been a really good learning experience.
    University:
    There is so much offered on campus - there are so many societies, the student union is really active and in general, the vibe of the school is great.
    Course:
    Amazing content, especially in terms of the skills that you learn that make you highly employable.
    Location:
    Aberdeen is a fantastic city! It's right next to the sea, and the campus is beautiful too.
    Accommodation:
    Aberdeen is an expensive city, but my accommodation is reasonably priced and brand new!
    Settling in:
    My program had a field trip at the start of the year, and we all got to know each other really well, which is what made me feel really settled.
  • Heyhevs's avatar by Heyhevs on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it here, but I don't know if that's just because I wanted to move away so badly. The university is beautiful and the people are so friendly
    University:
    so much to do, so little time
    Course:
    Because it was more enjoyable than I thought it would be, but sometimes it is slightly dull
    Location:
    #ABERDREAM
    Accommodation:
    The main door to our block needs fixed but otherwise wpeverything is awesome
    Settling in:
    My flatmates welcomed me so much
  • Kleio96's avatar by Kleio96 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I would recommend Aberdeen uni over Edinburgh and St Andrews, at least for anthropology. While the city may not be as scenic as St Andrews or large as Edinburgh the quality of the courses, lecturers and facilities are far superior.
    University:
    University is an experience you should not miss if you can. Combining learning a subject I enjoy, a great university and course, and good surroundings I can't complain much. The library is top notch. I've never seen anything so high-tech as Sir Duncan Rice Library before.
    Course:
    My lecturers are great and the entire course is the best I've seen. I had the choice between Aberdeen and Edinburgh and I can say I'm glad I chose Aberdeen.
    Location:
    While Aberdeen tends to have a bad reputation I fairly like the city. The campus is very beautiful and located in fairly good position. It's further up in Old Aberdeen rather than in the city centre which I find much more agreeable than say Edinburgh.
    Accommodation:
    Aberdeen housing is very expensive. The student halls I stayed in were for
    Settling in:
    I settled in fully after one semester. As I have asperger syndrome and I was living away from home for the first time it was difficult to get into a new routine and I was also unprepared for several aspects of university such as bibliographies that they did not teach in high school.
  • winterwonderland's avatar by winterwonderland on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The buildings are beautiful and taken care of. The staff is friendly and helpful. What can I add? Quality of learning! All courses are interesting and well constructed.
    University:
    There's a huge, new, modern library with amazing views and possibilities. There's also an enormous sports village and loads of nice cafes. Societies are interesting and everybody can find something for themselves.
    Course:
    The timetable is really nice, classes start at a reasonable hour. The teachers are very helpful and knowledgable, they are interested in our opinion and are always happy to answer all of the questions. Psychology consists of two main subjects, both of them are very interesting and exciting.
    Location:
    The city is amazing, but the university lays quite far away from it's centre.
    Accommodation:
    The quality is very good, but even the cheapest accommodation is still quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    I fell in love with the city and the university. It began to be my home within hours.
  • oliiviiaa's avatar by oliiviiaa on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoy the university of Aberdeen. The location, quality of education and university life are all amazing and it is quite affordable. I recommend it to someone who wants to live in a beautiful and friendly city :)
    University:
    Through the university we get discounts for a lot of thing such as a sports village, bus fares and shopping. The university also has very many societies and sports clubs that are versatile. Overall the university has made life at uni very enjoyable as there is a lot to do.
    Course:
    We have very good lecturers and the scheduling is good. However I have learned most of the things in high school already, but otherwise it is really good.
    Location:
    It is very close to the city centre and it is easy to walk to most places from it. And Aberdeen is a a really nice city population and size wise.
    Accommodation:
    The location and quality are great, however it is not that affordable
    Settling in:
    I feel like the university has mad e great effort to see that I settled in well
  • cmathew's avatar by cmathew on 20th September 2015
    Overall:
    It meets my expectation and I am not disappointed that I chose University of Aberdeen.
    University:
    Plenty of societies for everyone. I was surprised there was a harry potter society. There is something to suit everyone. As for evening activities, there is always some sort of party/event going on and just the clubs.
    Course:
    I am given enough support at university to enable me to perform well academically.
    Location:
    It's perfect! The library is the best part with it's aesthetics and the facilities available. Also because it it is my second home.
    Accommodation:
    Aberdeen is an expensive city in comparison to other cities around scotland/UK
    Settling in:
    I made friends pretty quick without needing to go out to drink/clubbing. Even when you feel lost, there is always someone you can ask help from.
  • Neyko's avatar by Neyko on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    If in doubt, choose Aberdeen.
    University:
    We have everything you want.
    Course:
    Because lectures of Politics and IR are absolutely inspiring and furthermore, I can pick other subjects in first two years, which is great benefit.
    Location:
    Aberdeen is perfect, because it is not too big, but big enough. Campus is located just outside city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation has everything what I need for living, but the price is quite high.
    Settling in:
    People from the University and from Student's association have really tried hard to make us feel at home and to help us sort everything needed before starting uni.
  • PhilipMiti's avatar by PhilipMiti on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome.
    University:
    ace
    Course:
    It's a brilliant course. i would always be slightly dissatisfied at this undergrad level because the brain is so complex. But uni's awesome
    Location:
    far from home. close to the wild
    Accommodation:
    Nice housing.. But abz is so so expensive
    Settling in:
    very easy. small city. great people
  • Phil.Miti's avatar by Phil.Miti on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    awesome.i'm lucky to be in the medical science department though. it's a very good one
    University:
    :)
    Course:
    it's only getting really good now
    Location:
    far enough from home. small, but everything is there
    Accommodation:
    so expensive. but this is abz
    Settling in:
    easygoing
  • Syafiqizzuddin's avatar by Syafiqizzuddin on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    90 pct. this uni is cool. It's the perfect place to study!
    University:
    It's organised. The lecturers are great. Great people. Great place. And it is the perfect place to study because it's so calm in here.
    Course:
    I've been given a chance to study subject other than my course subject. So, it makes me know more and broaden my knowledge.
    Location:
    it's so easy to get stuff here because every place is near the campus. And there's a lot of bus provided if we want to go to the city.
    Accommodation:
    Because it's quite expensive and the room is quite small.
    Settling in:
    i need to familiarise myself to a lot of new things like wheather, language, people and culture etc. so, it takes longer than expected.
  • Naomilaura 's avatar by Naomilaura on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    An eye openning experience that has matured me into a young adult
    University:
    I enjoy being a student
    Course:
    I do like it, however there is still room for improvement, ie the organisation skills of the department.
    Location:
    Easy walking distance and very central.
    Accommodation:
    Aberdeen is an expensive City due to oil.
    Settling in:
    I have met lovely people that have made my experience.
  • Kajat13's avatar by Kajat13 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Defenitely worth applying!
    University:
    Everything available, people are nice, services are reliable
    Course:
    Its almost perfect! Except for lectures on sensation and perception from psychology
    Location:
    Although 1 hour by walk from city centre, there is pretty much everything in campus.
    Accommodation:
    I live it here, only small mistake- a bit further from uni
    Settling in:
    I am here only 1month and already feel like at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall 10/10. I really do love it here and I love my course. It's quite broad so you learn a lot of different topics. The lecturers are all really good and very approachable if you have any questions.
    University:
    Good shopping, good nightlife and a great gym
    Course:
    Really interesting courses taught by lectures that will make you want to research what they are
    Location:
    I like aberdeen but personally it's not my favourite city
    Accommodation:
    always clean and warm with friendly porters
    Settling in:
    Really friendly people and lots of support should you feel homesick
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good old uni in a vibrant and interesting city
    University:
    I love the opportunities as a student to meet new people and experience new things. It's easy to bond with everyone you meet even over something simple like student finances
    Course:
    Because I am really passionate about english and my lecturers make even the dull elements entertaining
    Location:
    Aberdeen is a great place with loads of history and culture, and the campus is so beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Sometimes it gets too hot, there seems to be no temp control. The oven didn't work for the first week either. However the rooms themselves seem homely
    Settling in:
    The uni gave me lots of help by organising events and letting us get to know our flatmates before we moved in
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It gives you the perfect city environment of a top university with the campus and friendly feel of a smaller university.
    University:
    Both libraries (normal and law) are really well stocked and the staff are so helpful and friendly. The bakery and cafe on campus are great and the shops and all support at the hub are amazing.
    Course:
    I did my undergraduate degree within the same school and this accelerated course is perfectly designed to build on what I already know.
    Location:
    In a city that is not to big but not to small either. Plus it is close enough to the centre of town for shops and flats etc.
    Accommodation:
    It has all you need and is quite big but it is also very very noisy.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was super friendly and because it is a campus university there was lots of events to settle you in.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Sporting facilities top notch, best of both worlds having a beach and a city. Campus and library are amazing, strong in earth sciences, engineering and medical sciences
    University:
    Sporting facilities are world class but do lack one or two societies
    Course:
    For my course, Aberdeen is situated in the energy hub/capital of Europe so we get plenty of exposure to oil companies/services.
    Location:
    Ten minute walk to town, less than 5minute walk to the beach.
    Accommodation:
    It is en-suite, it is less than 5mins from campus, bus stop outside the door, beach located 5mins behind accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It only took about a week to feel settled down. It did not happen instantly, but then again what does. Have met some amazing people from all over the world.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Psychology BSc is brilliant, but the location of the university and the general help you can receive from people in charge is awful.
    University:
    Students are loud and love to drink. If someone's into that kind of thing, then it's a good place. Not for me though.
    Course:
    The course is brilliant! Teaching is good too, keep one module aside.
    Location:
    Campus is all the way at the corner of the city. One bus leaves for town from here and it's expensive.
    Accommodation:
    Awful. But, not just because of the accommodation but due to other students too. The reception is awful. They actually open all delivery packages.
    Settling in:
    People are friendly but the vicinities nearby are none. Very in convenient.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni with friendly environment
    University:
    There is a wide array of activities
    Course:
    Good resources and lecturers,
    Location:
    In a good location
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation in the middle of university and city , easy access
    Settling in:
    Felt at home quickly due to friendly atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    So far I really like it., the architecture of the whole uni and Aberdeen itself is incredible l.
    University:
    Not much socials going on
    Course:
    I don't fully know the course yet that's why
    Location:
    It's in the middle, as in the uni and city centre are 10 mins walking distance each way.
    Accommodation:
    Good condition bad price
    Settling in:
    Everyone is super friendly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Terrible terrible place.
    University:
    Not all they are cracked up to be.
    Course:
    Terribly taught.
    Location:
    Really beautiful and stunning campus.
    Accommodation:
    Was nice but over expensive
    Settling in:
    Not a nice area to live.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 star - always wanted to go here and it has truly lived up to my expectations
    University:
    Amazing library, lots of events
    Course:
    Good lecture content - sometimes not challenging enough
    Location:
    Very central, all easlily located
    Accommodation:
    Really bad experience with Unite Student
    Settling in:
    Personal - uni did a lot
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, could have been better but I really like it so far.
    University:
    Very good campus facilities.
    Course:
    I like most of the things, it is really fascinating and the staff is very friendly.
    Location:
    It is a short walk from the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Breakfast is really poor and full of sugar. Not enough choices.
    Settling in:
    In one week-time I have already felt like home.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Outstanding, the university could not be better, both my medicine course and the intercalated degree I did in Sports Science have been fantastic. The only down side is the cost of living which is largely out with the universities hands...
    University:
    modern library and lots of brand new sporting felicities, lots of vibrant societies
    Course:
    Really good skills teaching right from the start, mostly approachable helpful tutors, great facilities all in one place, good hospital!
    Location:
    lovely campus near but distinct from the city centre, cultural things (ballet, opera, musicians) often come as their 'northern' stop, lovely countryside very close and accessible however the only down side is rent/cost of living very is expensive.
    Accommodation:
    What you would expect, nice enough facilities, expencive
    Settling in:
    I don't think more could have been done to help students settle in - lots of volunteers, events and course intro
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    I love my uni, but I know there's better
    University:
    THERE IS NO STUDENT UNION. I feel ROBBED. My whole time in this university and I haven't had an actual union. This is awful in my opinion. The library is really cool, can't fault it really dead nifty. its contained all the books for my courses can't speak for others. Aberdeen is tiny!!!! Shops are decent.There's like 3 shopping precincts and all the usual ones are there (Primark, River Island, Top Shop etc etc) but I've lived here nearly three years and I've yet to find any cute niche wee shops that proper cities have. There's a record shop and a music store in town if that's your persuasion. The nightlife is poor with only three clubs (that people go to: Underground, Institute and Nox...the likes of Garage and Exodus are often empty). Sometimes it's nice to know everyone in the club, others it's not.
    Course:
    some compulsory courses in the early arereally boring but as it gets more focused it becomes more enjoyable
    Location:
    Campus is in a perfect location. 20minute walk from town. 15minute walk from beach. Excellent, 5stars for location in relation to the city. Aberdeen is TINY. Sometimes the small size of Aberdeen can be the best thing ever and sometimes the worst.
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in catered accommodation with bills included and for Aberdeen the pricing was extremely reasonable. The quality was okay, things broke but it was seen to quite quick. Location for my halls was perfect less than a 2minute walk to most of my lectures
    Settling in:
    I felt at home really quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I had a great time in Aberdeen. I picked it because it was first alphabetically that offered my course but I have no regrets. Would recommend it to anyone. :)
    University:
    There is plenty to do, lots of societies to join and places to go.
    Course:
    It seems very disjointed. There wasn't any connection between courses from semester to semester and we were often expected to know things we had not yet covered.
    Location:
    The campus is separate from the city, which is nice. But Aberdeen, as a city, is very far north...
    Accommodation:
    Incredibly expensive, but that's Aberdeen for you.
    Settling in:
    Aberdeen isn't a very large city so it was easy to find my way around. There are also lots of things to do, you're never at a loss.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved every minute at Aberdeen uni and j would recommend it to anyone who was going to uni in Scotland! Everyone is so lovely and it feels very friendly because it's quite small. The english department were wonderful, I couldn't fault them!
    University:
    There is no student union anymore at aberdeen, there was when I first moved there but it was closed down by the time I moved into second year. Nightlife is alright, there's one street called Belmont street which is great at night because it is mostly bars and pubs. The library looks very impressive, but after a while the fact that you can hear the coffee machine on the ground floor at the fifth floor because there's a huge hole in the middle gets really annoying. Student services were always good in my opinion!
    Course:
    Feedback was always on time, the courses were all really interesting and the tutors and lecturers really seemed to care about us all.
    Location:
    If you're flying home for every holiday from aberdeen, it can be very expensive. However the city is great because it's so compact that you can learn your way around pretty quickly.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is quite expensive, because all accommodation is expensive in Aberdeen. I stayed in most expensive accommodation, which was really great if you don't mind the price!
    Settling in:
    I decided to live in a university flat when I moved there, so I immediately had 5 other people who were always there to chat. That really helped, so I never had any trouble with settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good uni ti study in
    University:
    The library is amazing
    Course:
    Because I was able to compare it to the teaching in Belgium
    Location:
    The location was fine
    Accommodation:
    It was awful
    Settling in:
    There weren't many foreign students
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Best medical science department and everyone is so lovely and helpful
    University:
    So many things to do and you can try everything
    Course:
    Teaching is great and I can choose extra courses that are nothing to do with my degree
    Location:
    It is close to everything in the city but far enough away to allow you to concentrate on your studies
    Accommodation:
    I had to share a room
    Settling in:
    People and staff were great. Rowing club is amazing!!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It has been very good, I have really enjoyed my time over the past year and would recommend anyone wanting to come to the University of Aberdeen to do so.
    University:
    Everything is pretty good however the fact there is not a student union is very poor.
    Course:
    It was good, however to say it was perfect would be over-exaggerating.
    Location:
    Easy to get to, near the city centre and a nice historic feel to Old Aberdeen.
    Accommodation:
    The price was the only thing that was bad about my accommodation at University.
    Settling in:
    I settled in reasonably fast - but not instantly.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE