Member reviews of University of Bristol

  • Hani41's avatar by Hani41 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    World class research and facilities with leading university professors
    University:
    Amazing vibe to the city
    Course:
    World class university.
    Location:
    Beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Excellent
    Settling in:
    Fast
  • maisxo's avatar by maisxo on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Been enjoyabe
    University:
    Can do loads of stuff
    Course:
    Found it challenging but not too hard
    Location:
    Right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    There was mice in my halls
    Settling in:
    It’s fine at first but then homesickness can kick in
  • am15483's avatar by am15483 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall so many of the students attending this university are just here to drink and party on their parents' money, and the tutors are mostly self involved in their own research, sometimes disappearing mid term.
    University:
    Uni life was great once I actually got involved in it, but for an outsider without facebook or much social media it was certainly hard to navigate around the events that went on.
    Course:
    My lectures often feel completely useless and irrelevant, bearing little enthusiasm from the lecturer.
    Location:
    It's on top of a huge hill! But this is out of the university's hands, I know. Being a city campus it's not very beautiful nor are the buildings very well connected, but there are lots of amenities near by.
    Accommodation:
    Student housing is not a very safe environment, there are places you can seek help but the help received isn't always conducive.
    Settling in:
    My personal university journey was not easy, and I don't think it was helped much by faculty or university. Maybe I just did the wrong course, but I felt uninspired and unprovoked by most of what we did.
  • TiggyCorry's avatar by TiggyCorry on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Pretty awesome on that front too. There is so much offered it is insane
    Course:
    This is a really great course with a fantastic varied syllabus.
    Location:
    Always loads of amazing things going on as it is such a vibrant city. There are so many different areas that provide completely different things which is awesome
    Accommodation:
    My halls were probably as minimal as it gets in what was provided and my room was tiny with a camp bed (which is pretty rubbish but I guess not that different from any other uni).
    Settling in:
    I think uni is very hard when you first get there. It’s quite stressful as you feel like you have all these things to do straight away but it’s super important to remember that everyone is in the same boat as you, so talk to those around you!
  • tomclarke1's avatar by tomclarke1 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Bristol is a good balance between work and socials. It is a top university with world leading research in many areas combined with fantastic opportunities and a solid employability rating at the end of your degree.
    University:
    The campus is busy and vibrant. There are plenty of places to grab lunch on the go. The gym has just been renovated and the libraries are really good quality.
    Course:
    The new curriculum ‘MB21’ allows a lot more freedom as a first year medic.
    Location:
    The campus is located in a very nice area of Bristol with a vibrant community and range of places to visit with lots to do.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of student halls of residence in my experience is fantastic. The stoke bishop campus is located about 30 minute walk from the university campus however a free bus service every 6 minutes is on offer.
    Settling in:
    Personally took me a long time to settle and get used to uni life. However I know lots of other people that had no problem at all.
  • CriminalMinds's avatar by CriminalMinds on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would definetly recomend coming. The lecturers and courses are great. There is lots to do in the area organised by the uni, the su and by the city.
    University:
    There are loads of societies and activities offered by the uni. Lots to do in the city as well. The welfare and mental health support is not the best however it is improving.
    Course:
    The timetable can be a bit full on but then it is engineering. The course is structured really well and what you learn each year builds on knowledge from previous years. The module contents cover everything that I need to know.
    Location:
    The city is amazing and there is always something going on. The university is right in the centre and it is easy to get from there to everywhere else in the city.
    Accommodation:
    There is a range of university accomodation. The quality is good even in the cheaper housing. I lived in the second cheapest accomodation and it was a bit further away from the uni but there was always something going on.
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time to settle in however there was a lot of support there. I think it took me longer purely because I have mental health issues so it was harder for me to cope with all the changes.
  • livohern's avatar by livohern on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Can’t recommend Bristol enough
    University:
    So much going on and something for everyone
    Course:
    The staff are all lovely and very approachable and always willing to help!
    Location:
    Love bristol
    Accommodation:
    Halls can be more expensive than other unis but there’s a range of accommodation available.
    Settling in:
    Very quickly - there’s a lot on at first which you’re thrown into that helps with settling in.
  • TardisPrates's avatar by TardisPrates on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Bristol is just a good university. My course is decent, a lot of attention is put into wellbeing and its a great city to be in
    University:
    Its a good active inner-city university, the university itself puts on plenty of events/activities and due to the city location there are many other non-university things happening around
    Course:
    Overall my seminar tutors and lecturers are engaging and very open to questions and giving help when needed.
    Location:
    Brilliant location for the city of Bristol, university campus and all accommodation outside Stoke Bishop is perfectly located in order to basically walk anywhere within the city
    Accommodation:
    My uni accommodation is both amazing and terrible. My housemates are brilliant and our location is great-maximum five minutes walk from lectures-however the house itself is rather ramshackled.
    Settling in:
    The first weekend was absolutely awful, but that feeling quickly went during the first week. Now, nearly six weeks in I am truly loving university , I get on really well with my housemates and have met great people through my course.
  • katy1655's avatar by katy1655 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    amazing
    University:
    Uni life at brizzol is amazing, everything is happening.
    Course:
    My timetable is amazing, allows me to have lots of free time to prepare and catch up with work as well as have a social life.
    Location:
    Right on college green so it is extremely close to my lectures. Perfect location
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive but for a city centre it is good. Uni rooms are slightly dated and have restrictions of decoration as well as being noisy. So close to campus can't complain
    Settling in:
    Matched well with flatmates and any problems can be reported. Many activities in halls to meet other people as well
  • zorsefoal's avatar by zorsefoal on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed the year but if I went back to pick again I wouldn't have started the course
    University:
    Shopping is limited, as are library desks particularly around exam times. Sport on site is limited and despite being run by the SU swimming is very expensive.
    Course:
    The course is not quite what many are expecting as a result many drop out.
    Location:
    Would be improved by better bus services to the large shopping centres and particularly IKEA.
    Accommodation:
    The house I was in the ceiling fell down and leaked for 2 months before the university did anything to fix it.
    Settling in:
    The university did not put on many open welcome week activities, most were organised by halls and as a small hall we had 1 activity in the week.
  • charlottem151's avatar by charlottem151 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have had an average experience of this university but I know I will receive a well regarded degree at the end of it so it is worth it.
    University:
    As Bristol is not a campus uni there are minimal campus based services. For example, the Student Union is about a mile from all other university buildings so is rarely used.
    Course:
    The course is limited in options for first year and limited contact hours mean that a lot of what you need to know is self taught. The content of the modules was often delivered without any indication of how it is relevant to our studies.
    Location:
    The location of the university is very good as the city is a lovely place to live. The buildings are unfortunately spread across the city but are well located within it.
    Accommodation:
    A lot of what is provided by the university is actually privately run by UNITE and is therefore run for profit and exploitative of students. There was minimal security where I was staying but the quality of the rooms were not bad.
    Settling in:
    Due to bad accommodation I had to move flats in the first week meaning it took me a while to settle in but all in all it felt like home within a few weeks.
  • simone.simpson98's avatar by simone.simpson98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I like my uni experience so far and this is mainly cause I enjoy my course.
    University:
    Very good. Services are good. Societies are good. Limited shopping on campus. Welfare is improving. SU very good and active
    Course:
    There is a wide range of different types of classes and units on different topics. There are a nice mix of practicals, labs, lectures and small group teaching.
    Location:
    Very good although on top of a hill
    Accommodation:
    Quality of halls I was in was really really good although there were occasional issues which got resolved. Prices are very expensive! Location was really good and central for the city centre
    Settling in:
    Took a while to make friends and get used to it and find my way around
  • Lh184's avatar by Lh184 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Love it.
    University:
    The sport on offer is great and the clubs are full of friendly, welcoming people who are very keen for you to join. There are two big shopping centres and lots of high streets with up-market shops to choose from (also including a lot of vintage stores).
    Course:
    The course structure contains interesting and relevant content starting from the very first signs of life to us today. The teaching is interactive and informative but extra reading around the course is always advised.
    Location:
    I’ve given it 4/5 because trying to get trains going anywhere past Birmingham from Bristol is very expensive. The university itself is in a very nice location within the city and the campus provides stunning views. Lots of hills though.
    Accommodation:
    The location was quite far out so we had to get the bus to university but you are surrounded by students in the same situation so you’re never alone.
    Settling in:
    Adapting to the more independent lifestyle working-wise was hard but once you got the hang of it University became a lot easier. The freshers week was ideal for making good solid friends and I found I settled in overall very quickly.
  • pizza1talia's avatar by pizza1talia on 14th June 2018
    Overall:
    Fantastic place to learn and grow as an individual. Would recommend to anyone searching for a high standard of education coupled with a good nightlife
    University:
    Great shopping in cabbot. Great nightlife in stokes-croft and the triangle. A selection of gyms etc what more could you want!
    Course:
    Going to Bristol uni is such an amazing opportunity to be taught by world class lecturers who are experts in their field. Lectures are well structured and the teaching of new challenging concepts are approached well by nearly all members of staff. In first year you have group tutorials every week with you academic tutor who can provide you with useful insight and feedback. This is extended to 2nd year with workshops where about 30 students and 3 academic members of staff go through problem sheets. Bristol has also provided me the opportunity to work with an academic member of staff in there research group over the summer. Its a fantastic place to learn and grow as a chemist.
    Location:
    Chemistry department is a 3 min walk from my house in the centre of Bristol
    Accommodation:
    I stayed at New Bridewell which is certainly not the party hub of the university. If you are looking for a good time, Harbour side or Stokes Bishop are your best bet. Student housing is pricey but that is just an unfortunate symptom of greedy landlords and inflated house prices in the area
    Settling in:
    Made friends instantly. The uni harbours a relaxed and progressive environment where you have to opportunity to meet new people from all over the world. Its a melting pot of cultures and the universities diversity is what makes the experience of living in Bristol so exciting
  • Annabellelnp's avatar by Annabellelnp on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Everything has been amazing
    University:
    Amazing, ticks all boxes
    Course:
    Everything is a good level
    Location:
    Amazing city and location
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, not good quality
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • GeorgeRW97's avatar by GeorgeRW97 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    If I had to give one piece of advice it would be don't make your decision solely based on league tables. Pick a city/campus which you like. Also, don't go to Oxbridge - everyone i know that goes there hates it! When making uni choices, put one ambitious choice, three realistic choices, and one lower choice. I know so many people that under-predicted their grades as they thought they couldnt achieve them and ended up at unis which are a lot worse than they could have been at.
    University:
    I love the fact that its a city uni. So much more convenient to fit your daily life around lectures and uni work - no commuting into the city like other unis
    Course:
    The work in the lab is really interesting and is good at reinforcing stuff we cover in lectures. There are parts of the course which are quite boring but that's always expected and most of the course is good. My tutor is great at responding to emails and the group tutorial sessions are really chill and fun
    Location:
    Bristol is the best student city. I've visited Nottingham the other week and its nightlife is so inferior!
    Accommodation:
    Love where I live - very modern and a very short walk to uni
    Settling in:
    Don't worry about making friends! I established my group within the first 3 weeks and found the whole experience fun. There was plenty of opportunity to meet people
  • GeorgeLikesCake's avatar by GeorgeLikesCake on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Brilliant. Amazing.
    University:
    University security regularly do 'rounds' of halls and are very helpful. Libraries are brilliant. Loads of shops in the center of the city. Uni gym is a little expensive for me but there are plenty of other options. Student union has had work done and is lovely to work/socialise ect in. There are plenty of great clubs to explore at night.
    Course:
    My timetable is around 22 hours a week. This includes a 8 hour timetabled Friday in which there is only one break at 11am. Unfortunately, this is how the timetable worked out with my units. My Thursday only contain one hour of contact time which means Friday isn't too bad. Course structure, I have no complaints with. Module content, the lecturers are researchers and know best what they want to teach. Quality of teaching, it is great. Like said above, lectures known what they're talking about because they are currently doing research. Feedback could be a little bit better as sat exams are not allowed to be seen/only allowed to be seen on special cases. One unit I take could have better quality lectures but this is seen as one of the easiest units in the science facility and I should have not taken it.
    Location:
    Bristol is lovely. The Uni is right near the center of everything. Everything you could ever need is within a 15 minute walk radius of the Uni.
    Accommodation:
    I live in Manor Hall. I love Manor Hall, it has a sense of community. The rooms are huge and are lovely. My sink isn't very pleasant and could do with a new one but it is a only minor complaint. Location is about a 15 minute walk from campus and a lot of clubs, which is ideal. All of Bristol's accommodation is expensive for what it is but they do offer cheaper options such as shared rooms.
    Settling in:
    Manor Hall made the transition much easier. It is a shock to the system but the university couldn't have done a better job.
  • TheEconomist101's avatar by TheEconomist101 on 4th August 2016
    Overall:
    Very prestigious university and extremely good for getting a top high paying job after graduating
    University:
    Uni life here is amazing, such a great atmosphere
    Course:
    Very mathematical course which will be very useful for getting a job in the City
    Location:
    Everything is very well located
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly
  • justmichael's avatar by justmichael on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    its a good choice
    University:
    night life is good, loads to do,two malls music shops
    Course:
    its good i enjoy it
    Location:
    Bristol is great
    Accommodation:
    good location relatively good value
    Settling in:
    missed my dog but flat mates nice
  • Nmys's avatar by Nmys on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    3 stars
    University:
    The uni facilities are great, including the SU, there isn't much to do during the day.
    Course:
    I enjoy it, I can think of some minor improvements - such as having lectures in one place instead of spread around campus.
    Location:
    Very close to the centre, the train and coach station, and hospitals - everything necessary to students.
    Accommodation:
    There are some maintenance issues that are taking a while to be addressed - however it is affordable and decent.
    Settling in:
    I adapted fast to living away from home, adapting my social life took a bit longer.
  • scott18044's avatar by scott18044 on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    I would highly rate UoB. I have had all positive experiences so far, and couldn't recommend it highly enough.
    University:
    Uni life is generally excellent again, minus the somewhat overinflated (in my opinion, at least) cost of a sports pass for the uni gym. Otherwise, one can get a gym membership for a lot less at one of the 24 hour gyms in town.
    Course:
    The course structure is fantastic, with an broad range of optional units to take after second year. Language tutors and content tutors alike are amazingly knowledgable and friendly. The Russian department in particular has a brilliant sense of cohesion and togetherness.
    Location:
    Bristol is a vibrant, lively and affluent city and the UoB campus is in the middle of it all: not too far from Park Street, Cabot, Stokes Croft or the Centre. Overall, a wonderful city to live in.
    Accommodation:
    Mostly fine, few issues at the start of the year with temporary sharers. If you do have to share, paying just 25% of rent and getting a free meal card surely more than make up for it, great reimbursement.
    Settling in:
    Bristol is a fantastic city and you are well supported by the university and your department.
  • Scherazade07's avatar by Scherazade07 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's been fantastic so far - there isn't anything I've not been able to find yet.
    University:
    I enjoy uni life here.
    Course:
    The teachers are approachable and the content understandable and challenging.
    Location:
    It's easy to get to places for classes and lectures.
    Accommodation:
    It's got everything a student needs and the weekly cleaners are a life-saver.
    Settling in:
    There was nothing that made me feel unwelcome, so no homesickness triggers.
  • Dampsquid's avatar by Dampsquid on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have just started but the uni has been really accommodating and welcoming. The events during the first week were also very good.
    University:
    There are many societies I can join, even some quite obscure ones with many organised socials.
    Course:
    I like it so far, but I have only really just started. Some lectures go very fast so it's not perfect for me.
    Location:
    Everything is within close proximity.
    Accommodation:
    Major problems with the build quality of the accommodation. Things keep breaking even though it's brand new. Obvious it was completed in a rush.
    Settling in:
    I feel really at home here but since I'm in a very large uni accommodation, it still feels like I'm in a hotel sometimes.
  • Teen_titans2702's avatar by Teen_titans2702 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The university is excellent in both teaching and providing good student life. Bristol is also the safest city in the UK as well as the best city to live in, so there's nothing much I can say but come and enjoy Bristol!
    University:
    The uni life here in Bristol is amazing and vibrant. There are 250 societies in the Uni, so there's always something for everyone. The nightlife is amazing with pubs and clubs around.
    Course:
    The University of Bristol is an amazing place to study. My Biochemistry course is very interesting. The lecturers constantly renewing the materials to help us keeping up to date. The facilities are all amazing. During the summer, there are funding available for students to apply to work in one of the labs at the University.
    Location:
    The university is city based so it's basically within the city. It's close to everything, close to the city centre so you can hang out. There are many pubs and clubs around, you can go in the weekends.
    Accommodation:
    Generally, the accommodation is livable. Everything seems fine, usable. If anything broken, the university is happy to fix it straightaway. There are some minor issues with the floor or ceiling sometimes, but all good.
    Settling in:
    It's amazing how I settled so quickly here at a completely new city that I have never been to before. People around me are extremely friendly and some are my best friends. They helped me learn english, helped me with shopping, housing. The University itself provides many supports for new students including Peer Mentors, Personal tutor, health supports, etc.
  • alouxo's avatar by alouxo on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely an amazing university and it has such a diverse range of students that you'll always meet like-minded people, really welcoming and engaging staff who provide the utmost support for you.
    University:
    Over 280 societies to join to suit everyone. A thriving student union with theatres, a bar, a swimming pool, etc which you can always enjoy your day/evening at. 9 libraries with a lot of study space, modern facilities, great library system where you can reserve books or just get them as e-books for free so you never have to spend a penny, shops & clubs everywhere nearby so you can always have an enjoyable time
    Course:
    Great timetable - not too busy and not too lackluster; seems like the perfect balance. Lecturers are really open/friendly/funny and have relevant interesting anecdotes to my course and build our learning. Really captivating lectures. Modules are flexible and 3rd year has mostly optional modules so it's great to suit your degree around what you are interested in specifically.
    Location:
    City is great, not too big & not too small, many events to suit every personality; museums, small & large clubs, bars, shops, unique buildings and businesses/shops thriving with personality. Campus is great and you get a free bus pass if you are fairly distant from the uni so it's easy to travel.
    Accommodation:
    Modern, close to all things required (shops/supermarkets/uni/banks/etc) and feels really safe & student-friendly as there are so many students in the area/this part of the city.
    Settling in:
    I was homesick as I've never been away from my imminent family for longer than a week but everyone is so friendly and we're reminded that there are so many dedicated councilors & health services available that we will be supported should be want it.
  • Hawaii50's avatar by Hawaii50 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Everyone is eager to make friends at the start so its easy to get to know people and settle in. There are many socials organised during freshers week especially
    University:
    Bristol is a great city!
    Course:
    The course needs a lot of independent studying to keep up and professors.are available if there are any problems.
    Location:
    Bristol is a great city with plenty to do during the day and night
    Accommodation:
    The location is pretty central to everything so getting around is easy.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is in the same boat and eager to make friends so it ia easy to get to know people.
  • LillianUJ's avatar by LillianUJ on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'm really enjoying university, and as my course is 4 years I have even longer to enjoy it! I'm not a big clubber, and it's mainly the course content which is the highlight - I'll be studying 3 languages in the coming year, which I would never have imagined myself doing before coming to Bristol. Of course there have been a couple of low moments but they have been more than balanced out by all the good things I have experienced and the few great new friends I have made.
    University:
    In terms of university services it's pretty great. Our Students Union was being renovated for 9 months of my first year, so the first I went to it was in April, so we never really had that opportunity and I feel it would have really helped. The libraries are great, and shopping opportunities abound.
    Course:
    I really like my course, it's interesting and mostly well taught. The professors/tutors I have encountered have been mostly great, and I love the atmosphere of the department. There are a couple of improvements I would make though (more hours per week on my core language modules, and one of the compulsory 1st year units was mostly pointless).
    Location:
    It's pretty much in the middle of everything, which I like. The city I like because it's different enough from my home city to be new and exciting, but not so different as to be scary. The only annoying things are the (many) hills.
    Accommodation:
    I liked the building, location, and quality of my accommodation, but did feel it was too expensive (even in my ridiculously expensive university city) especially as it had a shorter tenancy than most of the others accommodations. Also our toilets and showers kept breaking and flooding the place.
    Settling in:
    I was kind of desperate to go to university by the time I went, so settled in pretty quick once lectures/seminars started. I didn't really love Fresher's Week though, as I didn't like going out, or playing "Never Have I Ever" (I REALLY detest that came and people who try to pressure you into playing it) and I got ill and lost my voice for a few days (despite having gone out only twice by this point).
  • Growbot's avatar by Growbot on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'm having a fantastic time here because Bristol is an amazing city with unreal nightlife. The university is prestigious so worth coming to for that I suppose. Not that much student support.
    University:
    I love uni life but I don't spend that much time doing things related to the university. The students union is miles away and although its been done up recently it's still not very exciting (although one of the only places in Bristol to get relatively cheap beer).
    Course:
    Course content is great and I love getting so much choice in units (I only have two mandatory ones this year). However, feedback and helpfulness from seminar tutors can leave a bit to be desired.
    Location:
    Bristol is an amazing city. The uni is on top of a massive hill but I always wanted a city rather than campus uni because there's more going on and I'd rather live in a city than on the outskirts.
    Accommodation:
    Bristol's really expensive to live in but I got lucky and ended up in a small halls in the coolest area of Bristol with lots of like minded people. My house is great, loads of living space and it's cheap for Bristol but quite far from uni.
    Settling in:
    Had the best first year ever.
  • Inazuma's avatar by Inazuma on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 - as any uni has its faults (as mentioned re accomodation) but is an extremely good uni and is well respected, and is a great city which ought to be far more relevant to those seeking to study
    University:
    Various provisions, good uni. Union building is very far but huge amount of clubs etc; and city allows for multitudes of options as to the above.
    Course:
    Good timetable, good lecturers, good variety of units, good resources available etc
    Location:
    City, lots to do, well linked to anywhere
    Accommodation:
    I very much enjoyed my experience, but am aware many find it extremely costly, and have been various issues over availability in recent times.
    Settling in:
    -
  • Nessie133's avatar by Nessie133 on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Bristol university is an excellent university and would highly recommend this anyone considering applying here to go for it.
    University:
    There many libraries available for use with at least one that has more specific resources for each course. There is a very wide range of societies available to join and there is a gym in a very central location with some halls having their own gym.
    Course:
    Although the timetable is very busy and most days are made up of many lectures and/or practicals, the course is very interesting and a variety of different topics are covered. There are also many opportunities to handle animals and the lecturers and staff are mostly very helpful and approachable.
    Location:
    Bristol is a really nice city to live in. There are. A few green spaces which are nice and many things go on in the city. The university is near many clubs, shops etc.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation can be quite expensive and halls of residence are very variable in terms of location and quality.
    Settling in:
    I didn't enjoy being away from home much more than I expected. It also takes a while to find people similar to you rather than just in your halls/on your floor.
  • Shimmyy's avatar by Shimmyy on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    Think about could you permanently move here, that's what made me choose Bristol
    University:
    Lads
    Course:
    It's medicine, they're all amazing everywhere.
    Location:
    Not in the middle of nowhere, close to home; London!
    Accommodation:
    Feels like home.
    Settling in:
    I'm very sociable.
  • Inazuma's avatar by Inazuma on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    -
    University:
    Plenty to do again, union been redone so vastly improved to become more active (although location of it and temperature remains poor..) Plenty of the rest available, tons of sports etc.
    Course:
    Good timetable and exams all at the end are good. Some courses have less put in than others (i.e. discussion board to ask Qs to tutor at exam time). Most tutors and lecturers good. Exam papers not returned either (though this is throughout uni)
    Location:
    Being a city has plenty to do, not that overpriced as a student even being Bristol.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable for myself; however this goes in consideration of how generally expensive both halls and private housing are in Bristol (with no higher loan). In addition, the housing issues caused by the uni - people sharing in 2014, places built too slowly and now offer changed to only guaranteed for firm offers.
    Settling in:
    -
  • Amber May's avatar by Amber May on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4 star
    University:
    Great opitunities but sometimes not enogh time to take them
    Course:
    it varies from term to term but love it most the time
    Location:
    I was in a good close hall and everything else is all together mostly
    Accommodation:
    Really liked it
    Settling in:
    I made good friends quite quick, but freshers was a bit overwhelming
  • Random_PC_Errors's avatar by Random_PC_Errors on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    Public school haven, can be intimidating if your from a state school. Yet, this doesn't mean that the whole experience is not worthwhile, and doesn't impact the teaching/degree quality. It's all worth the money.
    University:
    Being a city you have everything you want, if a tad expensive.
    Course:
    Good course, no issues. Contact hours low but high quality teaching.
    Location:
    Bristol is amazing city.
    Accommodation:
    It's far to expensive, it plays on rich international students and public school Oxbridge rejects. Student rents are ridiculous.
    Settling in:
    They made me share a room at the start of the year. Didn't settle in till April.
  • mollyhannafin's avatar by mollyhannafin on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Four stars
    University:
    Very sociable and easy, good facilities.
    Course:
    It's a good course but some of my lecturers are boring and the lectures can be very dull. The bus service to the uni buildings can be slow at times. The atmosphere in halls and quality of my accommodation is very good.
    Location:
    Bristol is the best city
    Accommodation:
    It's new and well-built, good facilities but is very expensive.
    Settling in:
    It's only been 3 weeks so I'm still settling in - things are very different to home.
  • yasmeenmansor's avatar by yasmeenmansor on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far my university experience is great, the staffs are really enthusiastic in helping the student and the environment is great for a student
    University:
    There's a lot of cool societies yeah but sports are quite expensive
    Course:
    So far everything works out for me, the courses (staffs are amazing), the seminars, the activities the community hold and things like that, other students are really enthusiastic, its just a good environment for me overall
    Location:
    The campus and city is really beautiful and great and everywhere is in walking distance and we students got a bus pass with our accomodation so its really easy
    Accommodation:
    Really, I got the accomodation that I wanted and the university is really concerned about our well-being, and the only reason I did'nt give 5 stars is because heater is still not on yet and its annoying but to be fair its great actually
    Settling in:
    I just adapt to the environment quite easily
  • Frixion's avatar by Frixion on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good. Fun. Lots to do, but by in large you must make it happen yourself- do not expect events to be thrust upon you after Fresher's Week.
    University:
    Could be better. Little organised nightlife occurs, but it is still fun and the society provision is top-notch.
    Course:
    Early days, but what i've seen so far is promising.
    Location:
    Bristol is a lovely city!
    Accommodation:
    Could be better. Location is average and actual housing adequate, but for the money i would have hoped for better.
    Settling in:
    Early days once more, but so far it has been fine regarding settling in.
  • Don't have one's avatar by Don't have one on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    Halls of residence are poor
    Course:
    A really interesting spread of lectures on interesting topics and taught to a challenging but achievable level
    Location:
    Very nice location, I love it!
    Accommodation:
    can take up to an hour to get back from lectures on a busy day on the bus so location is poor. Good sized rooms but atmosphere is not great.
    Settling in:
    Not as quick as I expected due to the hall atmosphere
  • evridiki91's avatar by evridiki91 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars! Bristol is amazing and the university is fantastic.
    University:
    It's awesome!!
    Course:
    I really like our tutors and uni life is great.
    Location:
    My uni is not far from city and the campus is great.
    Accommodation:
    Because they are great.
    Settling in:
    I didn't have any difficulties settled in , everyone seem to be very friendly and helpful.
  • Csanadc96's avatar by Csanadc96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university of Bristol seems to be a rigorous, well respected and reputed university while also focusing on student life and student city. Combined with the opportunities Of the city, it is the perfect place for students who wish to be academically challenged, inspired and taught, while also fully enjoying THE university life.
    University:
    With over 260 societies, residences organising extracurricular events and the services of the university (libraries, swimming pool, etc.) make life significantly easier at Uni.
    Course:
    Organisation, quality and graduate prospects are amazing, however the quality (mainly the structure) of some or the lectures aren't perfect, and could be improved in my opinion.
    Location:
    Bristol is a vibrant, student centred city where everything is focused on making the lives of students easier and cheaper. Location of the lectures/classes is perfect.
    Accommodation:
    The university accommodation is very good quality, especially if location is taken into account. However, prices are a bit too high for students, especially international ones who hardly get any state loans or financial help for living costs.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week, organised by the residences and the student union, combined with the academic and pastoral care from the University greatly contributed to familiarising myself with Bristol, including the city, lectures, methods etc.
  • lloydstait's avatar by lloydstait on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It was a lot easier to get used to than I was expecting. The welcome process is brilliant
    University:
    Lots of things on all the time. Loads of different people. Money is a problem!
    Course:
    Lots of contact time. Lecturers are friendly and progress at a good pace.
    Location:
    Great location from where I live and Bristol is a great city
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive but quite run down. Far from the precinct and buses do not run all the time. (sunday evening)
    Settling in:
    Everybody was friendly and I felt quickly at home
  • FizzyInk's avatar by FizzyInk on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a very big university in a big city which is a great opportunity to met lots of new and diverse people. I've only lived here for 2 weeks and I'm very excited knowing im going to be living here for 4 more years and could easily see that number growing. All the staff seem very supportive about things like support in settling in and mental health which you'll really learn to value when you're moving away from home for instance or anything else really. The Student Union is also beyond eager to make student life happy and exciting and easy through societies or opportunities to get involved. I'd definitely recommend it. And the reputation really speaks for itself.
    University:
    I feel like there is much more I can still discover but that nothing I could want or ask for seems out of reach in any way.
    Course:
    I've only just started my course, but both departments seem very hands on with teaching methods contact hours and additional support which seems good.
    Location:
    It's smack bang in the middle of the city. Bristol is gorgeous and has so much to offer. The only tiny downside is its on top of a small hill on all sides but it's actually keeping me rather fit to get to class every day so I'm personally not complaining much.
    Accommodation:
    My accomodation is one of the cheapest but location is great as it's not directly on campus but within walking distance of the university and the city centre. The flat itself is basic but in a very good way. I feel like the photos on the website actually didn't do the size of it justice.
    Settling in:
    Bristol is very similar to Brighton where I'm from. But also my flatmates are all very warm and we became friends immediately and frequently spend time together both in the flat or socially outside of university related things.
  • lilymayjacobs's avatar by lilymayjacobs on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    There's so much on that I haven't even been able to try everything I want to yet but I'm having a great time
    Course:
    I feel I'm learning so much, in such depth already, and there are plenty of resources and tutor support systems to help you
    Location:
    I adore everything about Bristol- there's so much to do, it's not too far from home but just far enough, and it's got a lovely atmosphere
    Accommodation:
    Wonderful accommodation, but too pricey
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away in my flat, halls and course
  • HindaaOmar's avatar by HindaaOmar on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I have yet to fully experience everything
    University:
    It isn't great.
    Course:
    The lack of thorough explain action on how to understand the course structure in detail as well as the timetable not being great.
    Location:
    The whole campus is set on a sea of hills!!
    Accommodation:
    I am still adjusting
    Settling in:
    See above
  • mihaelast's avatar by mihaelast on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great oppurtunities.
    University:
    Very exciting
    Course:
    Because it is amazing
    Location:
    It is near my residence and the city centre but I have to go up the hill every day.
    Accommodation:
    I expected more for the price I am paying
    Settling in:
    Because I am feeling homesick
  • hannahtottle's avatar by hannahtottle on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars! Everything you could want if you love socialising, meeting new people and trying new things
    University:
    Great location, great nightlife, great music scene, loads of activities, excellent course
    Course:
    Organised, welcoming, friendly, fantastic course and tutors
    Location:
    Central but not busy and stressful
    Accommodation:
    Nice but expensive
    Settling in:
    Well placed in halls, friendly second and third years, great freshers events
  • aelliott97's avatar by aelliott97 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    My uni is fab!
    University:
    I love it here!
    Course:
    Good teachers and good subjects
    Location:
    Vibrant city life
    Accommodation:
    Amazing rooms and kitchens
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in, very friendly
  • Cgalaboom's avatar by Cgalaboom on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    1 star
    University:
    Don't know. Don't take this rating into account.
    Course:
    Hardly any contact hours, very poor time tabling with different timetable information depending on the system used and on the lecturers. Modules did not enhance each other and did not suit studying a wide mixture of modules and lack of information/advice when choosing modules. I was left with a mix of human and physical geography knowledge which does not integrate or compliment each other - this should be thoroughly improved upon. No interactive teaching, majority of uninspiring lecturers, and of course boring. Not enough information given in the lectures or advice concerning follow up readings/'homework'. Seminars, not enough. Tutorials were utterly pointless for me personably given my poor tutors. They were unorganised, lacking correct information and generally unhelpful and especially in helping me progress academically.
    Location:
    Good selection of climbing centres (climbing is my hobby). Smaller than London (my home) but offers a lot of entertainment, restaurants cafes etc
    Accommodation:
    Personally I had very spacious rooms (private accommodation) however the electricity costs were very high. I was placed very close to town and to the university buildings so my rent was expensive however this is understandable.
    Settling in:
    Unhelpful tutors and geography staff. Lack of information for new students. Having a poor course in general also doesn't help.
  • na's avatar by na on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Personally, pretty bad.
    University:
    Very expensive gym/sporting facilities. Over crowded and understocked libraries. Six month waiting list for counselling at the health service.
    Course:
    Social Policy was not intellectually stimulating in the slightest. The course seemed to teach a watered down version of concepts from the Politics course and had very little relevance to the real world, as described on the Bristol Social Policy marketing material. The timetable made it difficult to have a job as you often had 1 hour in the middle of the day instead of full days on and off. The feedback on essays was poor and lacked detail. There was never space in the libraries and not nearly enough books for the whole cohort.
    Location:
    University itself in a nice area of Bristol, near parks, shops, restaurants and pubs. Halls very out of the way which was a pain in holidays in particular when the student bus didn't run. This mean you had to walk or use the extremely unreliable local bus service.
    Accommodation:
    Overpriced, of poor quality and very far from the city centre and the university itself. Some rude and unreasonable cleaning staff. Poor pastoral staff at the halls who did very little about my noise complaints, a bass / subwoofer type speaker was played at all kinds of hours of the night and often throughout the day. This noise never stopped no matter how many complaints were made. I was even accused of 'malingering' when I tried to explain the effect the lack of sleep / constant noise was having on my well-being.
    Settling in:
    The halls felt very clinical and not homely at all. I did not warm to going down to the hall for meals as I like to have my own space, particularly in the evenings. The hall was around 65% private school with the majority of the rest seeming to have had a reasonable level of privilege that made it hard for me to relate to them on a personal level.
  • Aunistudent's avatar by Aunistudent on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4.5/5 because the education is great, the city is beautiful and there's always something going on. The major downside is that accommodation is very expensive once you leave halls, and in general prices aren't as cheap as you'd expect for a uni outside London. Also the main supermarkets in the area are sainsburys and waitrose, which aren't the best for a student budget. Overall I have really enjoyed my time in bristol and can see myself moving back one day.
    University:
    The union has turned its reputation around and put on some really great events. There are also lots of societies to join. What's not so great is the expensive gym membership, and the fact that it is sometimes difficult to find free seats in study spaces.
    Course:
    I like the course and the content is interesting, but there are not enough opportunities to receive feedback. No
    Location:
    Its a beautiful city, all the locals I have met seem lovely and the city has a rich artistic and cultural histor .
    Accommodation:
    I lived in the hawthorns, which was very close to my lecture hall, and very affordable. It had also been refurbished just 3 years earlier, and everything stiff felt quite clean and fresh. It would have got a 5 star rating if not for the building works outside my window which began at 7am almost every day.
    Settling in:
    It was quite easy to settle in because my flat mates were lovely, and I had easy access to everything I needed because I lived so close to campus and the local shops.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect
    University:
    Haven't any issues with this
    Course:
    Good quality teaching and course structure, assesment is accurate
    Location:
    In the city centre, but located on the little mountain
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, prices too high
    Settling in:
    With more freedom, comes more responsibility and I like that
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    This university is not only academically renowned and prestigious of the lot , but it constantly improves itself to stay at the apex in the long run.
    University:
    There are a host of activities that u can engage yourself in , moreover the resources are plenty. You are spoilt for choice .
    Course:
    Apart from the engaging teaching technique the research method ks enterprising and stimulating
    Location:
    The uni blends into the city , so yep its like a city campus
    Accommodation:
    The facility and ambience is good .
    Settling in:
    The professors were engaging and friendly and the ambience didn't feel as intimidating as i thought it to be.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has a nice environment with lots of stuff to do in the city
    University:
    Close to mant stores and clubs
    Course:
    Because the environment and lessons
    Location:
    Close to the city
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable
    Settling in:
    People here are friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Bristol is a great uni and a great city
    University:
    It's been great so far, but I haven't experienced everything yet.
    Course:
    The lectures are very interesting and the practicals are held in a professional environment.
    Location:
    Bristol is a very nice city with lots of opportunities to study, shop and eat.
    Accommodation:
    I live in a catered hall and have an ensuite room - the food is delicious and the location beautiful. It is quite far from the precinct but there is an excellent public transport service.
    Settling in:
    I was a bit homesick during Fresher's week but the people I live with are lovely and make me feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Everyone is here to help us.
    University:
    Libraries are amazing! It is overwhelming.
    Course:
    The lectureres are very good and very aproachable. Furthermore, the library is great, it has a great amount of resources.
    Location:
    Bristol is very beautiful city, and it is great to take a nice walk back home after aday of lectures.
    Accommodation:
    It is a litle expensive for the kind of accomodation.
    Settling in:
    It was difficult in the first nigths, because I missed home, but everyone is so nice and helpful that one can easily settled in and feel at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*, absolutely recommend
    University:
    Lots of societies and the location is great
    Course:
    Contact time is sufficient, plenty of support
    Location:
    City campus, walking isn't too far
    Accommodation:
    From what I've heard - living at home so not applicable
    Settling in:
    Settled in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Not that much personal support but a fantastic university and a great qualification.
    University:
    SU is not the best, poorly located, city is great.
    Course:
    The joint honours course didn't work seamlessly as we missed important modules which made it difficult.
    Location:
    University is in Clifton, its fab
    Accommodation:
    Some halls are quite poor, and housing is expensive
    Settling in:
    Felt very comfortable, very nice people on my course.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience so far has been great, everything has gone smoothly and although the workload was heavier than expected I still have quite a lot of downtime.
    University:
    There are a lot of events and opportunities provided but I don't think they have catered well enough to those who are quieter and perhaps are not looking for a night out at the club
    Course:
    The seminars are spaced out so that we have time to prepare for them and the lectures are spaced so that we can get an idea of what to prepare for our seminars
    Location:
    Everything is within walking distance and there are a large variety of shops around the area
    Accommodation:
    My student accommodation is new and the environment here is lovely. I was expecting some problems but mostly everything is fine.
    Settling in:
    Personally, I just wasn't expecting myself not to be able to settle in a matter of days. I think this is more of a personal issue though.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am loving it
    University:
    I love uni life
    Course:
    It's just great
    Location:
    I love the city
    Accommodation:
    It's homely and I love my flat mates
    Settling in:
    It didn't take long to feel at home
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it very highly, Bristol is a beautiful city, with a lovely university.
    University:
    It is very fun, and there is a lot on offer
    Course:
    I currently have no problems with the course
    Location:
    Bristol is a beautiful city, and the uni is very central
    Accommodation:
    The quality and location of the accommodation is fantastic, but the price is expensive
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time to settle
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great, and I feel like I've made the best choice possible for what I wanted out of a university and course
    University:
    It's good but there could be more
    Course:
    It's challenging but not beyond my abilities
    Location:
    Very close to everything I need
    Accommodation:
    It's better than I expected
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long at all
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic university in a great city
    University:
    Great extra curricular activities
    Course:
    Fantastic structure, teaching staff and other students. We'll organised and comprehensive
    Location:
    Central, but also contained within a campus of sorts
    Accommodation:
    Lodging with a family
    Settling in:
    Very easy to meet people. Lots of opportunities to socialise and work together
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great university to join but you should do a bit of a research before coming to find where to live because the rent is expensive.
    University:
    There are many activities taking place like clubs and societies.
    Course:
    Because it is a difficult course but the professors are really good.
    Location:
    The location of the university is perfect the only downside is that it is on a cliff so you get tired easily
    Accommodation:
    It is too expensive to live near the university and all surrounding areas
    Settling in:
    It is only been 3 weeks so I haven't really felt at home yet
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    There are a lot of societies but the gym is really expensive.
    Course:
    The timetable is insanely hectic, however the qualities of teaching and lectures are high.
    Location:
    Everything i need is close by.
    Accommodation:
    I live in the city centre which is good as everything is close by. However as it is Bristol, it is understandably more expensive than most places. My ceiling has sadly started leaking when it rains but they fixed it very fast.
    Settling in:
    People in my accommodation are quite nice.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    It's got all the ability to be perfect but seems organisation between social events between halls is not well communicated so that side of things is a little cellular to your area.
    Course:
    It's strenuous but the course is well structured and adapted to gain the best all round education.
    Location:
    It is a lovely city but it is fairly far from most of the other main UK cities and train-links are expensive, so it is difficult to travel at an affordable price.
    Accommodation:
    It's the perfect location and high quality but it is still quite expensive, especially for Students.
    Settling in:
    It would have been slightly quicker if there was more than 1 other person in my flat as it was a little difficult to mingle with other flats at first.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    There's so much to do here.
    Course:
    I have just started and I like it so far.
    Location:
    Bristol is amazing.
    Accommodation:
    It's perfect location but it's really noisy and they haven't finished building it yet.
    Settling in:
    I still don't feel 100% settled in yet.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Less hands on than I thought it would be, more independent reading and less class time than I expected but overall, really great faculty and community.
    University:
    There's a rave on a boat in Bristol. Isn't that great?
    Course:
    There's too little class time especially for the fees paid, 6 hours is not enough
    Location:
    It's at the top of a hill which kills my legs when I'm late but its central and beautiful and the shops leading up to it are wonderful
    Accommodation:
    I was guaranteed accommodation, it was lovely and you got exactly what you asked for, no hidden catches
    Settling in:
    Being from Northern Ireland, I found the move and culture adjustment quite difficult
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Its great. Lots to do
    Course:
    It suits my learning style
    Location:
    City university, close to shops and easy to get around
    Accommodation:
    I love my new accommodation. Good location
    Settling in:
    Took me quite some time as it was away from home
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I think the university itself needs to be less complacent and put more effort into helping its students and providing them with an organised, enjoyable experience. However, Bristol itself makes up for a lot of my grievances with the running of the university and my course. Also, despite the downsides, I have been taught by some lovely, fascinating people!
    University:
    The library need improvements (opening times, space etc). The student union is getting a lot better.
    Course:
    I love my subject, but there is room for improvement.
    Location:
    I love the city!
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is expensive, and our first year assignment of student halls was very disorganised.
    Settling in:
    I was lucky, I got on with all of my flatmates in first year, which helped me to settle in quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Could have been much better. Campus is too small. Facilities too limited.
    University:
    Very limited entertainment and sports facilities. Libraries very limited space, always packed.
    Course:
    Could have been much better. More real world and interesting material. Better use of technology. Less students. More contact hours.
    Location:
    Its a student friendly city but it can get boring as there are not too many facilities and shops etc near the university. City centre area is also quite small. Not many exciting things happening.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation nearby is very limited. Facilities such as common areas are also limited.
    Settling in:
    People are generally friendly but not all the time.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    All good except gym facility
    Course:
    It's good, but confusing
    Location:
    Far from london.
    Accommodation:
    Still refurbishing
    Settling in:
    Found on 2nd day
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    Good range of day and night activities, plenty of clubs to choose from
    Course:
    The tutorial sessions and personal tutor seem really helpful
    Location:
    Bristol is a lovely vibrant city and the university is very near
    Accommodation:
    High quality and good jcr team
    Settling in:
    Range of activities to meet people offered
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would love to graduate here, amazing city/uni/accommodation
    University:
    more than 300 societies to chose from
    Course:
    Amazing course, very complete
    Location:
    very well located in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    I live too far from the city centre
    Settling in:
    I still haven't met a lot of people.
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Couldn't have been better
    Course:
    Nearly every topic is interesting, lots of contact time and great tutor and lecturers. Not much course work which I like but more exams than some of my friends on other courses
    Location:
    Amazing city and beautiful uni. Nice campus but still in the middle of everything, can walk everywhere
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but unbeatable location
    Settling in:
    Didn't get on with my flat mates but once is found a good group of friends I was never home sick
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Beyond what I had hoped and I feel like I am at a very prestigious university, don't feel like I'm wasting my money.
    University:
    Clubs and bars in Bristol are some of the best nationwide, shopping in Cabot circus, Cribbs Causeway and Park Street, Clifton etc, lots of gyms however Bristol as a city is very pricey. SU is not as bad as made out but its location isn't central to the uni or other halls of residences. Libraries for each department so wide variety.
    Course:
    The course is rigorous, you feel like it's worth the money you pay (
    Location:
    As a city university there are halls scattered around the city, all within 10 minutes of the university centre by foot, and then a group of halls about a 40 min walk, which is sometimes inconvenient but you are given a free bus pass for the year.
    Accommodation:
    People in halls were studious yet sociable, halls were modern and not too expensive, had a cleaner every week who were strict about fining if the state of the kitchen was too near. University tries hardest to allocate first choice, in my case I got my second. About 40 min walk from the uni was the downside but we had a free bus pass all year
    Settling in:
    Hall-mates sociable and friendly, easy to make friends and everyone was in the same boat (obviously) but at a good university the cohort are more relatable?
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Smart peoplr
    University:
    Going out cheap
    Course:
    Because it's good but too much exam pressure
    Location:
    Hilly
    Accommodation:
    Could have been slightly better but overall good
    Settling in:
    Took me about 5 weeks
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoyed time there, great course and excellent opportunities to make friends in halls during 1st year
    University:
    Did not use on-campus facilites much, union not very good
    Course:
    Well taught modules, choce in final years. Friendly and approachable lecturers
    Location:
    Near city centre, lots of nearby accomodation for later years
    Accommodation:
    Got on with flatmates.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly to study/socialising balance
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    Highly recommended, but for people that want to interact with the city rather than just the university as the union and its services may as well not be there for the amount that they're used.
    University:
    No campus, nonexistent union life. City life is fantastic, but the question is somewhat moot in terms of services offered.
    Course:
    Department is a little underfunded; not many areas specifically for historians, but nevertheless most areas of teaching and student support very strong
    Location:
    Bristol is far and away the nicest place that I have ever lived in.
    Accommodation:
    I resided in the nicest hall at Bristol. It lived up to expectations.
    Settling in:
    Good atmosphere, peers all in similar situation so friendships were created quickly and easily.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good
    University:
    Massive selection
    Course:
    Great lecturers
    Location:
    Easy to get to, in city centre so feels like you're part of the real world
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but a wide range
    Settling in:
    Very easy to find friends and great nightlife
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    The only thing that stops Bristol being a 5* is the price of accommodation.
    Course:
    Its interesting with good opportunities, but there was not much help with moving abroad to another country.
    Location:
    The city of Bristol is beautiful and there is something for everyone and it is small enough to walk around but big enough to feel like a busy and vibrant city.
    Accommodation:
    My house was really nice and moderately priced, but Bristol as a location is very expensive in comparison to most other universities.
    Settling in:
    I met some amazing people and lived with really great ones so it took me no time at all to settle in. You are housed according to similar interests and personalities
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Great. Very enjoyable good city, course and people.
    University:
    Gym very expensive and library can be over crowded
    Course:
    Good professor. Nice balance of few contact hours plenty of self study
    Location:
    One of the best cities in the UK
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    Similar minded people.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved the friends I made and the city itself. However the course is the most important aspect of university, hence my low rating.
    University:
    Again, being in Bristol means there is plenty to do, you shouldn't get bored too easily!
    Course:
    We were expected to do all the work of the chemists and all the work of the physicists, there were constant timetable clashes and lecturers tended to forget about our heavy workload from both sides, instead focusing just on physicists and chemists that we shared our classes with. This made sense as they were the majority, but we were often ignored. In summary, the course was unfair to us. However, it was good in terms of us learning a lot.
    Location:
    Bristol is an amazing city; there is plenty to do no matter what you like.
    Accommodation:
    It was clean and nice, but it was very noisy for the quiet hall!
    Settling in:
    I settled in pretty quickly, which was surprising but good.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great city, great resources for studying, something for everyone
    University:
    I have all the academic resources that pique my interest, and all the alcoholic resources that pique my fancy
    Course:
    Lack of actual content on the course
    Location:
    Bristol is fantastic
    Accommodation:
    Gr8 halls, made lots of friends
    Settling in:
    instantly go on with my corridor
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    Bristol is a great university. It has a friendly atmosphere, top class lecturers and is situated in the middle of a beautiful city. Night life is good and you will never be bored here!
    University:
    Sport provision could be better. Gym is a bit expensive but this doesn't bother me much.
    Course:
    The course balances practical and theoretical elements very well. A lot of effort is put in to making the group projects fun and rewarding.
    Location:
    Bristol is a very vibrant city. There is so much to do here.
    Accommodation:
    The quality is good, but first year halls are a little far away from the university. However, a very good bus service is included in the price you pay.
    Settling in:
    I settled in fairly quickly. There is a good selection of catered and self catered accommodation. Some people feel more comfortable in one or the other.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    I am really enjoying my time at uni
    Course:
    I have some issue with how the course is structured/taught, but on the whole I enjoy it.
    Location:
    Right in the centre of Bristol, close to all the shops/clubs
    Accommodation:
    Really nice accommodation, just a bit pricey
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    University has been very tough to begin with but after a year of settling in I made a great group of friends and have found it to be a fulfilling and eye opening life experience.
    University:
    Great nightlife and union daytime activities.
    Course:
    It has a high number of contact hours so I feel that I'm getting my money's worth, but is very difficult and largely research based rather than design based.
    Location:
    Is in the city centre, so very close to everything that could be needed.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent conditions, location and amenities, but rather expensive.
    Settling in:
    Took me over a year to feel comfortable and at home.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Teaching and welfare is heavily neglected, big disappointment. Felt undergraduates are treated like cash cows
    University:
    Union has been abysmal. Shambles getting space for society's. Uni gym is expensive considering the restricted opening times but is a requirement for sports. This was a major factor in me not taking part in sport at university.
    Course:
    Lots of improvement possible. Lecturers aren't clear about aims and examinable content. Labs are inconsistent with regard to expectation
    Location:
    Lots to do
    Accommodation:
    Student community was great but considering
    Settling in:
    I enjoy uni but mostly in spite of the lack of facilities. I am enthusiastic about my subject and the city and community is good, but the failings of the department have chipped away at my enthusiasm. I'm just glad I had so much to begin with
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I've really enjoyed my time here
    University:
    Lots going on and a revamped student union
    Course:
    Great teaching and very friendly
    Location:
    Right in the city centre with everything in a walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Lovely accomodation
    Settling in:
    Extremely friendly and lots going on
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    exciting
    University:
    fun active
    Course:
    interesting helpful
    Location:
    love the vibrant city
    Accommodation:
    basic, grimy, expensive
    Settling in:
    very sociable
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Academic 9.5 Socials - societies, night life, events - 10 Attractions - 9 Part-time job - 9.5 Employment prospects - 9.5 Diversity - 8.5 Architecture - 9.8 Facilities - 9 Affordability - 8
    University:
    I can't really fault anything or anyone because it's all often down to one's personality eg appetite for socialising
    Course:
    Lecture quality was great and the course was intellectually stimulating
    Location:
    It's Bristol :)
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was affordable and I made lots of friends
    Settling in:
    I didn't really struggle to settle in although when I got going, I never stopped but enjoyed. Except the occasional 'missing' your family
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my experience at uni a 4 because I have made good friends, and I love the city. I would like to give my experience a 5 but there have been times when i have found it annoying that there isn't enough diversity amongst students, people seem far too priveleged. I definitely don't think that the university deserves a 4, for reasons I stated above, so I'd give it a 3.
    University:
    uni life in bristol is good, but that's mostly because bristol is a great city. The university itself is unorganised and too busy, it can also be very expensive if you like sports. The worst thing I have found about the university of bristol is that there isn't much diversity amongst students, a lot of them are white and middle or upper class and I don't think this is a very good reflection of society.
    Course:
    Because it's interesting but learning environment isn't always great.
    Location:
    The university was within walking distance of my halls and lots of shops and resteraunts.
    Accommodation:
    The halls and houses in bristol are very nice but quite expensive, but bristol is a fairly expensive city.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is nice and I like the independence.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Even though it has it's ups and downs I enjoyed myself greatly and think that no one could have a bad time at bristol.
    University:
    libraries are overcrowded but labs and other facilities are very good. Union is trying but no one likes it
    Course:
    I enoy the content and the teaching is good but not always perfect
    Location:
    bristol is a great city and the university is in a beautiful and lively part
    Accommodation:
    Its overpriced, not perfectly maintained and not extremely welcoming
    Settling in:
    I missed my home friends and found it to be a bit cliquey
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I'm very happy with Bristol uni and the city as there is lots to do and it is a really nice city. My course is very interesting and, generally, the lecturers are interesting and happy to help.
    University:
    The student union isn't great, but other than that the uni life is good.
    Course:
    The course is really good and interesting and I really enjoy it.
    Location:
    Bristol is a beautiful city and the university is in a really nice part of it.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is fine but, as it is in Bristol, it is expensive for what it is
    Settling in:
    I didn't settle in immediately, however it was quite quick and people were welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I love Bristol, it's a fantastic city with lots to do and feels like home immediately. You can walk pretty much everywhere and taxis aren't to expensive on the odd occasion you do need to go out. The nightlife is brilliant and the clubs and societies are great at organising events. Overall it's a top place to study and live.
    University:
    Libraries are well stocked though we could do with a few more tables but new studies have opened up this year/ are opening up. Lots of sporting facilities and clubs to join with a wide variety of things to do. Student welfare is very well taken care of and lots of information is provided about mental health issues and there are lots of people to talk to about issues. The student union used to be fairly disused but they've done a lot to revive it including opening a new and cheap bar. Lots of clubs go on in the union, it still needs some work to make it more popular but it's definitely achievable.
    Course:
    Great communication and feedback. Good facilities and feel that our opinions get listened to
    Location:
    Really close to the city centre, shops with loads of things to do. The main accomodation is quite far away but is very accessible by bus and we get a free bus pass in first year.
    Accommodation:
    Spacious rooms. Could do with a bit of updating to make it more modern. Also fairly expensive especially seeing as it's not in London
    Settling in:
    Lots on to meet new people eg barbecues and freshers fair and bar crawls etc.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a thoroughly enjoyable uni, but just be cautious about over spending.
    University:
    It has a great night life and its easy to find work in a buzzing city.
    Course:
    You are given relevant feedback and the course is mainly design related
    Location:
    Bristol has a great night life, and there are many job opportunities as well as it being a very nice city.
    Accommodation:
    It's expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very nice.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    So far, so good. Experience overall would be 9/10 till now.
    University:
    All needs are catered for, have to be really choosy in order to find fault in things.
    Course:
    There's always room for improvement, however the course content is sufficiently challenging while also giving you the space to do things outside the course. The tutors are extremely approachable and helpful and the feedback given is generally extremely constructive.
    Location:
    Bristol's an incredible city with a lot to do, with respect to sports, food, music, art, clubs and theatre. It's small enough to be able to walk around but also big enough for you to not feel suffocated.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation office is organised, the room sizes are bigger than expected in general, there's a free bus from most hall locations to the university precinct and prices range from extremely cheap to very expensive, thereby catering for everyone's needs and wants.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home right away, despite being in the UK for the first time.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars.
    University:
    It's amazing!
    Course:
    It's amazing
    Location:
    It's amazing!
    Accommodation:
    It's amazing!
    Settling in:
    It's amazing.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    I mainly think about the course. So I give this rate.
    University:
    You can shopping easier as Carbot Circus is very near to the university and there are lots of places you can go.
    Course:
    The facilities in my Maths department was not as good as others departments and I pay more fees than them.
    Location:
    The train tickets is not cheap to go to London and it took quite long time to go London.
    Accommodation:
    I have lived in a very good location with self catering ensuite accommodation, the prices are ok.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in, and because Bristol is a city, so I have lots of things to do.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE