Member reviews of University of Bristol

  • Hani41's avatar by Hani41 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    World class research and facilities with leading university professors
    University:
    Amazing vibe to the city
    Course:
    World class university.
    Location:
    Beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Excellent
    Settling in:
    Fast
  • maisxo's avatar by maisxo on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Been enjoyabe
    University:
    Can do loads of stuff
    Course:
    Found it challenging but not too hard
    Location:
    Right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    There was mice in my halls
    Settling in:
    It’s fine at first but then homesickness can kick in
  • am15483's avatar by am15483 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall so many of the students attending this university are just here to drink and party on their parents' money, and the tutors are mostly self involved in their own research, sometimes disappearing mid term.
    University:
    Uni life was great once I actually got involved in it, but for an outsider without facebook or much social media it was certainly hard to navigate around the events that went on.
    Course:
    My lectures often feel completely useless and irrelevant, bearing little enthusiasm from the lecturer.
    Location:
    It's on top of a huge hill! But this is out of the university's hands, I know. Being a city campus it's not very beautiful nor are the buildings very well connected, but there are lots of amenities near by.
    Accommodation:
    Student housing is not a very safe environment, there are places you can seek help but the help received isn't always conducive.
    Settling in:
    My personal university journey was not easy, and I don't think it was helped much by faculty or university. Maybe I just did the wrong course, but I felt uninspired and unprovoked by most of what we did.
  • TiggyCorry's avatar by TiggyCorry on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Pretty awesome on that front too. There is so much offered it is insane
    Course:
    This is a really great course with a fantastic varied syllabus.
    Location:
    Always loads of amazing things going on as it is such a vibrant city. There are so many different areas that provide completely different things which is awesome
    Accommodation:
    My halls were probably as minimal as it gets in what was provided and my room was tiny with a camp bed (which is pretty rubbish but I guess not that different from any other uni).
    Settling in:
    I think uni is very hard when you first get there. It’s quite stressful as you feel like you have all these things to do straight away but it’s super important to remember that everyone is in the same boat as you, so talk to those around you!
  • tomclarke1's avatar by tomclarke1 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Bristol is a good balance between work and socials. It is a top university with world leading research in many areas combined with fantastic opportunities and a solid employability rating at the end of your degree.
    University:
    The campus is busy and vibrant. There are plenty of places to grab lunch on the go. The gym has just been renovated and the libraries are really good quality.
    Course:
    The new curriculum ‘MB21’ allows a lot more freedom as a first year medic.
    Location:
    The campus is located in a very nice area of Bristol with a vibrant community and range of places to visit with lots to do.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of student halls of residence in my experience is fantastic. The stoke bishop campus is located about 30 minute walk from the university campus however a free bus service every 6 minutes is on offer.
    Settling in:
    Personally took me a long time to settle and get used to uni life. However I know lots of other people that had no problem at all.
  • CriminalMinds's avatar by CriminalMinds on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would definetly recomend coming. The lecturers and courses are great. There is lots to do in the area organised by the uni, the su and by the city.
    University:
    There are loads of societies and activities offered by the uni. Lots to do in the city as well. The welfare and mental health support is not the best however it is improving.
    Course:
    The timetable can be a bit full on but then it is engineering. The course is structured really well and what you learn each year builds on knowledge from previous years. The module contents cover everything that I need to know.
    Location:
    The city is amazing and there is always something going on. The university is right in the centre and it is easy to get from there to everywhere else in the city.
    Accommodation:
    There is a range of university accomodation. The quality is good even in the cheaper housing. I lived in the second cheapest accomodation and it was a bit further away from the uni but there was always something going on.
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time to settle in however there was a lot of support there. I think it took me longer purely because I have mental health issues so it was harder for me to cope with all the changes.
  • livohern's avatar by livohern on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Can’t recommend Bristol enough
    University:
    So much going on and something for everyone
    Course:
    The staff are all lovely and very approachable and always willing to help!
    Location:
    Love bristol
    Accommodation:
    Halls can be more expensive than other unis but there’s a range of accommodation available.
    Settling in:
    Very quickly - there’s a lot on at first which you’re thrown into that helps with settling in.
  • TardisPrates's avatar by TardisPrates on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Bristol is just a good university. My course is decent, a lot of attention is put into wellbeing and its a great city to be in
    University:
    Its a good active inner-city university, the university itself puts on plenty of events/activities and due to the city location there are many other non-university things happening around
    Course:
    Overall my seminar tutors and lecturers are engaging and very open to questions and giving help when needed.
    Location:
    Brilliant location for the city of Bristol, university campus and all accommodation outside Stoke Bishop is perfectly located in order to basically walk anywhere within the city
    Accommodation:
    My uni accommodation is both amazing and terrible. My housemates are brilliant and our location is great-maximum five minutes walk from lectures-however the house itself is rather ramshackled.
    Settling in:
    The first weekend was absolutely awful, but that feeling quickly went during the first week. Now, nearly six weeks in I am truly loving university , I get on really well with my housemates and have met great people through my course.
  • katy1655's avatar by katy1655 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    amazing
    University:
    Uni life at brizzol is amazing, everything is happening.
    Course:
    My timetable is amazing, allows me to have lots of free time to prepare and catch up with work as well as have a social life.
    Location:
    Right on college green so it is extremely close to my lectures. Perfect location
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive but for a city centre it is good. Uni rooms are slightly dated and have restrictions of decoration as well as being noisy. So close to campus can't complain
    Settling in:
    Matched well with flatmates and any problems can be reported. Many activities in halls to meet other people as well
  • zorsefoal's avatar by zorsefoal on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed the year but if I went back to pick again I wouldn't have started the course
    University:
    Shopping is limited, as are library desks particularly around exam times. Sport on site is limited and despite being run by the SU swimming is very expensive.
    Course:
    The course is not quite what many are expecting as a result many drop out.
    Location:
    Would be improved by better bus services to the large shopping centres and particularly IKEA.
    Accommodation:
    The house I was in the ceiling fell down and leaked for 2 months before the university did anything to fix it.
    Settling in:
    The university did not put on many open welcome week activities, most were organised by halls and as a small hall we had 1 activity in the week.
  • charlottem151's avatar by charlottem151 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have had an average experience of this university but I know I will receive a well regarded degree at the end of it so it is worth it.
    University:
    As Bristol is not a campus uni there are minimal campus based services. For example, the Student Union is about a mile from all other university buildings so is rarely used.
    Course:
    The course is limited in options for first year and limited contact hours mean that a lot of what you need to know is self taught. The content of the modules was often delivered without any indication of how it is relevant to our studies.
    Location:
    The location of the university is very good as the city is a lovely place to live. The buildings are unfortunately spread across the city but are well located within it.
    Accommodation:
    A lot of what is provided by the university is actually privately run by UNITE and is therefore run for profit and exploitative of students. There was minimal security where I was staying but the quality of the rooms were not bad.
    Settling in:
    Due to bad accommodation I had to move flats in the first week meaning it took me a while to settle in but all in all it felt like home within a few weeks.
  • simone.simpson98's avatar by simone.simpson98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I like my uni experience so far and this is mainly cause I enjoy my course.
    University:
    Very good. Services are good. Societies are good. Limited shopping on campus. Welfare is improving. SU very good and active
    Course:
    There is a wide range of different types of classes and units on different topics. There are a nice mix of practicals, labs, lectures and small group teaching.
    Location:
    Very good although on top of a hill
    Accommodation:
    Quality of halls I was in was really really good although there were occasional issues which got resolved. Prices are very expensive! Location was really good and central for the city centre
    Settling in:
    Took a while to make friends and get used to it and find my way around
  • Lh184's avatar by Lh184 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Love it.
    University:
    The sport on offer is great and the clubs are full of friendly, welcoming people who are very keen for you to join. There are two big shopping centres and lots of high streets with up-market shops to choose from (also including a lot of vintage stores).
    Course:
    The course structure contains interesting and relevant content starting from the very first signs of life to us today. The teaching is interactive and informative but extra reading around the course is always advised.
    Location:
    I’ve given it 4/5 because trying to get trains going anywhere past Birmingham from Bristol is very expensive. The university itself is in a very nice location within the city and the campus provides stunning views. Lots of hills though.
    Accommodation:
    The location was quite far out so we had to get the bus to university but you are surrounded by students in the same situation so you’re never alone.
    Settling in:
    Adapting to the more independent lifestyle working-wise was hard but once you got the hang of it University became a lot easier. The freshers week was ideal for making good solid friends and I found I settled in overall very quickly.
  • pizza1talia's avatar by pizza1talia on 14th June 2018
    Overall:
    Fantastic place to learn and grow as an individual. Would recommend to anyone searching for a high standard of education coupled with a good nightlife
    University:
    Great shopping in cabbot. Great nightlife in stokes-croft and the triangle. A selection of gyms etc what more could you want!
    Course:
    Going to Bristol uni is such an amazing opportunity to be taught by world class lecturers who are experts in their field. Lectures are well structured and the teaching of new challenging concepts are approached well by nearly all members of staff. In first year you have group tutorials every week with you academic tutor who can provide you with useful insight and feedback. This is extended to 2nd year with workshops where about 30 students and 3 academic members of staff go through problem sheets. Bristol has also provided me the opportunity to work with an academic member of staff in there research group over the summer. Its a fantastic place to learn and grow as a chemist.
    Location:
    Chemistry department is a 3 min walk from my house in the centre of Bristol
    Accommodation:
    I stayed at New Bridewell which is certainly not the party hub of the university. If you are looking for a good time, Harbour side or Stokes Bishop are your best bet. Student housing is pricey but that is just an unfortunate symptom of greedy landlords and inflated house prices in the area
    Settling in:
    Made friends instantly. The uni harbours a relaxed and progressive environment where you have to opportunity to meet new people from all over the world. Its a melting pot of cultures and the universities diversity is what makes the experience of living in Bristol so exciting
  • Annabellelnp's avatar by Annabellelnp on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Everything has been amazing
    University:
    Amazing, ticks all boxes
    Course:
    Everything is a good level
    Location:
    Amazing city and location
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, not good quality
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • GeorgeRW97's avatar by GeorgeRW97 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    If I had to give one piece of advice it would be don't make your decision solely based on league tables. Pick a city/campus which you like. Also, don't go to Oxbridge - everyone i know that goes there hates it! When making uni choices, put one ambitious choice, three realistic choices, and one lower choice. I know so many people that under-predicted their grades as they thought they couldnt achieve them and ended up at unis which are a lot worse than they could have been at.
    University:
    I love the fact that its a city uni. So much more convenient to fit your daily life around lectures and uni work - no commuting into the city like other unis
    Course:
    The work in the lab is really interesting and is good at reinforcing stuff we cover in lectures. There are parts of the course which are quite boring but that's always expected and most of the course is good. My tutor is great at responding to emails and the group tutorial sessions are really chill and fun
    Location:
    Bristol is the best student city. I've visited Nottingham the other week and its nightlife is so inferior!
    Accommodation:
    Love where I live - very modern and a very short walk to uni
    Settling in:
    Don't worry about making friends! I established my group within the first 3 weeks and found the whole experience fun. There was plenty of opportunity to meet people
  • GeorgeLikesCake's avatar by GeorgeLikesCake on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Brilliant. Amazing.
    University:
    University security regularly do 'rounds' of halls and are very helpful. Libraries are brilliant. Loads of shops in the center of the city. Uni gym is a little expensive for me but there are plenty of other options. Student union has had work done and is lovely to work/socialise ect in. There are plenty of great clubs to explore at night.
    Course:
    My timetable is around 22 hours a week. This includes a 8 hour timetabled Friday in which there is only one break at 11am. Unfortunately, this is how the timetable worked out with my units. My Thursday only contain one hour of contact time which means Friday isn't too bad. Course structure, I have no complaints with. Module content, the lecturers are researchers and know best what they want to teach. Quality of teaching, it is great. Like said above, lectures known what they're talking about because they are currently doing research. Feedback could be a little bit better as sat exams are not allowed to be seen/only allowed to be seen on special cases. One unit I take could have better quality lectures but this is seen as one of the easiest units in the science facility and I should have not taken it.
    Location:
    Bristol is lovely. The Uni is right near the center of everything. Everything you could ever need is within a 15 minute walk radius of the Uni.
    Accommodation:
    I live in Manor Hall. I love Manor Hall, it has a sense of community. The rooms are huge and are lovely. My sink isn't very pleasant and could do with a new one but it is a only minor complaint. Location is about a 15 minute walk from campus and a lot of clubs, which is ideal. All of Bristol's accommodation is expensive for what it is but they do offer cheaper options such as shared rooms.
    Settling in:
    Manor Hall made the transition much easier. It is a shock to the system but the university couldn't have done a better job.
  • TheEconomist101's avatar by TheEconomist101 on 4th August 2016
    Overall:
    Very prestigious university and extremely good for getting a top high paying job after graduating
    University:
    Uni life here is amazing, such a great atmosphere
    Course:
    Very mathematical course which will be very useful for getting a job in the City
    Location:
    Everything is very well located
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect
    University:
    Haven't any issues with this
    Course:
    Good quality teaching and course structure, assesment is accurate
    Location:
    In the city centre, but located on the little mountain
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, prices too high
    Settling in:
    With more freedom, comes more responsibility and I like that
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    This university is not only academically renowned and prestigious of the lot , but it constantly improves itself to stay at the apex in the long run.
    University:
    There are a host of activities that u can engage yourself in , moreover the resources are plenty. You are spoilt for choice .
    Course:
    Apart from the engaging teaching technique the research method ks enterprising and stimulating
    Location:
    The uni blends into the city , so yep its like a city campus
    Accommodation:
    The facility and ambience is good .
    Settling in:
    The professors were engaging and friendly and the ambience didn't feel as intimidating as i thought it to be.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE