Member reviews of University of Cambridge

  • hdwatson6's avatar by hdwatson6 on 25th July 2019
    Overall:
    Unbeatable. I love Cambridge and I love its University. No matter who you are, there’s something, somewhere or someone at this University for you. Everyone should apply here, at least to have the chance to experience what I’ve had the luck to live over the past two years. It can’t be described in words and there’s nothing quite like it...
    University:
    Everything is so social and college-based
    Course:
    There’s a greater focus on literature than there is on language, linguistics, history, etc which feels very archaic. However, the teaching is excellent and I love the supervision system of small-group teaching. Whatever you’re thinking, you’ve got access to an expert (sometimes a world expert) whom you can ask whatever
    Location:
    50 minutes on the train to London; Cambridge itself is beautiful and the University is all around you
    Accommodation:
    My College provides accommodation for my entire degree at a cost of around £1.3k per term – which is excellent considering Cambridge is the third most expensive city in the country. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and centrally located. First year accommodation is the best in the country, I’d argue: all students (my College is Gonville & Caius) receive modern en-suite rooms an 8-minute walk from the city centre and secured by our Porters
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was horrific - I hated it. But all it took was one drunken evening for me to find the people I’d eventually call my best friends <3 The College system is great for creating manageably-sized groups of people and there are College and University societies which allow you to meet and make friends with people. I was on the Caius May Ball Committee which allowed me to meet and make friends with a very wide group of people. No matter what you’re into, Cambridge has something for you - that’s the thing I love the most about it. Geeky, sporty, fashion-conscious, into Ottoman politics – if it doesn’t already exist as a society, you’ll get funding to make it one
  • Musicc's avatar by Musicc on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    An amazing place to study. Sometimes very stressful but terms are ridiculously short.
    University:
    Can be a bit lonely but the services are beyond anything I would have ever imagined.
    Course:
    Great teaching and if it doesn't meet standards things can be done. Music is a tougher subject than most imagine as contact hours are high enough whilst parts of the degree (performance and composition) are done in your own time.
    Location:
    Almost nothing is too far away in this small city
    Accommodation:
    Some is a bit old and has a few issues but accommodation is always provided and almost always beautiful.
    Settling in:
    Tough to start with so much work
  • ConvenienceMan's avatar by ConvenienceMan on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Honestly the university life was a lot better than I thought, it's easy to think it's a stressful environment but I think there are measures in place to cope with it and really thrive.
    University:
    The facilities are excellent including the libraries and gyms and are very accessible for most colleges. Some colleges have a free gym also which is incredible.
    Course:
    The workload is quite high but the level of cooperation between me and the supervisors is good enough to help cope with all the work.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a lovely city but equally it's barely a city too. It feels like a town just for the university so there isn't that much escape from your work life.
    Accommodation:
    The setting is very scenic and wonderful to cycle around (a bike is a must if you don't live in one of the central colleges). The accomodation is reasonably priced and the rooms are very spacious and well equipped (at Churchill at least).
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to settle in, the tutor helps ease you in with the pastoral side of things and with all four years of any course in the same accomodation the older students really make it easy to settle in as there's always someone to help you out.
  • ciarasimpson29's avatar by ciarasimpson29 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Cambridge gives you so many opportunities, but it is a tough environment because of the academic pressure.
    University:
    Cambridge is a great place to study, but it is a very high-pressured environment.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching is outstanding.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a beautiful city.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is nice, but we did not have freezers or ovens which makes it hard to cook.
    Settling in:
    I loved my university experience.
  • jw1998's avatar by jw1998 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Stressful but amazing.
    University:
    Very stressful generally. Brimming with clubs, societies, and sports, which are the main way to meet people outside your course and college. Night life is a joke - three main clubs, all of which are corny as hell - but the students bond over it.
    Course:
    Courses are extremely in depth and lectures are high quality. Supervisions are intense and force you to do your work in advance.
    Location:
    It is what it is. Proximity to London is useful. I like that you can cycle anywhere in town in under 20 minutes.
    Accommodation:
    Churchill College, where I live, is fuck ugly. We call it the gulag.
    Settling in:
    College makes an effort to help students settle in, and the university environment in general is very welcoming
  • Jake.Hennessey's avatar by Jake.Hennessey on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Really really excellent
    University:
    Really enjoyable
    Course:
    Really enjoyable, good teaching
    Location:
    Easily accessible by transport links
    Accommodation:
    Excellent accomodation provided by college
    Settling in:
    Playing rugby allowed me to meet and make friends
  • GrétaPanna's avatar by GrétaPanna on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The absolute focus is the student, several systems are in place to help you cope with any kind of problems. The most brilliant, interesting people surround you. If you adore your course and want to pusue it with passion, this is your place!
    University:
    There's an endless list of societies to join and the University pays close attention to our wellbeing.
    Course:
    The course has a unique focus, and this unconventional approach might give us a better shot at finding suitable jobs later. The course is very interdisciplinary, the teachers are the best in their field.
    Location:
    Perfect location, historic setting, close to the capital by both bus and train, not too big, not too small town. Not too rainy. Feels absolutely like Hogwarts.
    Accommodation:
    While close to lectures and the town centre, the convenience of location is overshadowed by the coldness of most rooms.
    Settling in:
    The freshers week helped to gain a friend group before term started. Our upperclassmen kindly assisted us and answered any questions we had.
  • SaifJalali's avatar by SaifJalali on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great academic experience, but high pressure situations and very upper class environment make it feel very alienating at times
    University:
    It’s well equipped, but pretty lame as a student body
    Course:
    Very rigorous teaching style can lead to lots of stress. Generally well organised, but sometimes lacks some sense. For example, lectures are recorded, but we are only given access if we have a “serious reason”
    Location:
    Central location, College toan
    Accommodation:
    Modern rooms, but the kitchens look like they’re from the 80s
    Settling in:
    I live alone anyways, so not much of a change
  • Sophieoo1's avatar by Sophieoo1 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    fab
    University:
    love it
    Course:
    great people, great lecturers, great supervisors, lovely views and atmosphere
    Location:
    great city
    Accommodation:
    fantastic and affordable
    Settling in:
    lots of events and support available
  • piewyt1's avatar by piewyt1 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Once in a lifetime experience
    University:
    Less time for social things because of very high workload
    Course:
    Excellent teaching by top academics. 1 on 1 attention given to each student through supervisions.
    Location:
    Beautiful location
    Accommodation:
    Quite affordable compared to London but more expensive than other small cities.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • lignjoslav's avatar by lignjoslav on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall, just brilliant. You meet so many amazing people and are tought by some world class lecturers.
    University:
    Whilstnot perfect (some days are far to clustered), living, studying and socializing at Cambridge is an amazing experience.
    Course:
    Most of the lecturers are brilliant. The labs are very well equipped so the practicals are great. All my supervisors are friendly and happy to help with anything relating to the course.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a beautiful city with a plethora of activities to partake in to further enhance university life.
    Accommodation:
    A bit on the expensive side for Cambridge, but the rooms are very well equiped (I've even got my own shower)
    Settling in:
    It takes a while to start socializing with a completely new group of people and to adjust to the diffetent type of learning required at university
  • SarahPos's avatar by SarahPos on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    What else can I say? I'm completely in love with this place and I'm sure you will be too!
    University:
    Amazing offer for both academic purposes and leisure! You'll never get bored around here as there is tons of activities but if you prefer a quiet moment for yourself that's possible as well!
    Course:
    Haven't yet started the course but so far everyone is really approachable and helpful! There's a range of interesting lectures I look forward to attend and I'm glad I get to know my tutors and directors of studies beforehand.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a beautiful little town ideal for students and it's only a quick train trip away from London! Christ's college is located in the very centre of Cambridge whefe you can easily access any bank/shop/pub/etc.
    Accommodation:
    I have a beautiful old room in Christ's college. It's spacious and welcoming and the college's central position is ideal as everything is only a 5 minute walk away! Affordable prices.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is extremely helpful and welcoming from the porter to the tutors to fellow students. As I'm sure I'll never be left alone with a problem I can see myself feeling at home quite quickly!
  • alow's avatar by alow on 4th August 2016
    Overall:
    Top notch.
    University:
    Ridiculous number of libraries including a legal deposit, CUSU is a bit crap but who cares - each college has a union anyway, lots of shopping centres.
    Course:
    Loads of choice in the course, supervisions are amazing for understanding the content.
    Location:
    Cambridge is great.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap, cleaned weekly, good location.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly atmosphere.
  • joostan's avatar by joostan on 7th April 2016
    Overall:
    The university is excellent, the people are great.
    University:
    Good amount of facilities.
    Course:
    Excellent supervision. Good lecturers.
    Location:
    Can be a little too busy at times, but overall is lovely.
    Accommodation:
    College accommodation is excellent, guaranteed and subsidised.
    Settling in:
    People are friendly and from all over.
  • Confucian's avatar by Confucian on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, engaging
    University:
    There's something for everybody
    Course:
    The reputation and the quality of the course
    Location:
    It is not too isolated but in a quiet area of the country
    Accommodation:
    I really like all the facilities
    Settling in:
    Everybody's so friendly
  • excal9's avatar by excal9 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excallent
    University:
    Many libraries and sports clubs
    Course:
    There's not much I would change
    Location:
    Small, compact city with everything within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Incredibly good value for the location with accomodation provided for all years of undergraduate study
    Settling in:
    Homesickness
  • hamza_ahmad's avatar by hamza_ahmad on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Pretentious and bad lecturers are present so students have to do all the work like in private schools
    University:
    Too expensive
    Course:
    My lecturers are boring and seem uninterested but they are teaching fun stuff
    Location:
    The campus is quite and beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation and view is amazing
    Settling in:
    Came with friends
  • joshbriegal's avatar by joshbriegal on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Well worth it! Tough at times, but if you get an offer you'll be fine. So much to do outside your course, you'll get sucked in to the 'Cambridge Bubble' in no time at all.
    University:
    There's a club for everything, all colleges have libraries (some 24hrs). Excellent sports facilites. CUSU is ok, but college student unions are more interactive.
    Course:
    Best physics department in the country, with experts in the field lecturing. Highly demanding but obviously rewarding.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a small city, with everything you need. It's 45 mins from London, but occasionally lacks things a larger city would have (nightlife, music etc)
    Accommodation:
    Pretty cheap due to short contracts and managed by college, but some rooms have seen better days.
    Settling in:
    Friendly people helping out for freshers' week plus well structured week. Like minded people easy to get to know quickly.
  • bad_crocodile's avatar by bad_crocodile on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing - totally recommend
    University:
    Could be more/better clubs
    Course:
    Really good and well taught course, just a lot of work!
    Location:
    College is close to all lectures and practicals
    Accommodation:
    Colleges have amazing rooms
    Settling in:
    Very easy in a college system
  • NearlyPro's avatar by NearlyPro on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I am satisfied.
    University:
    I am satisfied with what I got.
    Course:
    My tutors are friendly, helpful and approachable
    Location:
    It could be a bit more centralized.
    Accommodation:
    I have a clean, nice room with a gorgeous view.
    Settling in:
    It took me minutes...
  • Mrs Cullen's avatar by Mrs Cullen on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing, best 3 years of my life.
    University:
    It's not the typical uni life. It's intense studying but you also play hard. Incredible amount of extra curic activities on offer
    Course:
    Incredible variety, interesting content, world class professors in the main
    Location:
    Gorgeous little city, but has everything you need
    Accommodation:
    College accommodation all 3 years is fantastic, great quality and no hassle. Great community atmosphere
    Settling in:
    Felt like home straight away
  • Loopylamp's avatar by Loopylamp on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I personally have had a really great time in the past year. There is hard work involved, but you do feel a sense of achievement at completing it (most of the time anyway) and there are many opportunities for de-stressing. I row, where I don't have to think too much, and I don't have to think about work.
    University:
    The libraries are very well-stocked, there are opportunities to take up any sport you can think of (e.g. Quidditch); depending on the college there can be a lot of welfare provsion. The student union isn't amazing but there are numerous clubs and societies.
    Course:
    My supervisors all give very useful feedback and are approachable. We have small supervision groups and although I do not have many contact hours, I like that as it allows me to fit my hobbies and work around each other more easily. However, sometimes I feel that the small number of contact hours gives me bad value for the money I am spending.
    Location:
    The city of Cambridge is lovely, and my lectures are quite close to the centre, with a pretty walk through Clare College separating them. However, there is a shortage of affordable shops in Cambridge - even the Sainsburys is much more expensive than one out of town.
    Accommodation:
    First year was brilliant in terms of accommodation - affordable and in a very good location, although with no cooking facilities. Second year I am further away and due to the college not having a lot of affordable accommodation, I have been left with a very expensive room in the room ballot. However, the accommodation is very new and well-equipped. The problem both years has been a lack of storage space over the holidays.
    Settling in:
    The freshers reps and JCR put on a lot of different events for freshers so we all met and made friends quickly. Because there was so much to do, it was easy to forget about home.
  • Sirjimmus's avatar by Sirjimmus on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4-5 stars
    University:
    "work hard play hard"
    Course:
    Generally pretty good, some minor elements I dislike
    Location:
    Cambridge=AWESOME
    Accommodation:
    Very good all round
    Settling in:
    Took me a long time
  • a2910's avatar by a2910 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Top-class education, great facilities, a lot of independent study needed but support is available. Nice location, small town, friendly people. Very good experience.
    University:
    Many active clubs and societies. The environment is very work-focused though.
    Course:
    A lot of self-study is needed as the lectures and notes aren't always helpful. But everyone is happy to help you, including supervisors, mentors and fellow students. Everyone is keen to learn.
    Location:
    Very nice historical city centre, with a lot of greenery and parks on the outskirts of town. Top class facilities with regard to research are very nearby and my lectures are only 5 minutes away by bike.
    Accommodation:
    Not of the best quality but reasonable pricing and nice, modern look and feel, compared to other colleges in the university which are really old.
    Settling in:
    Relatively easy to settle in, all students of the college were welcoming. The collegiate environment allows for a relatively small group of people to get to know at the beginning, with a community atmosphere.
  • Razer_M's avatar by Razer_M on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5* It's Cambridge.
    University:
    Best Uni Gym in country for powerlifting Each college has library so 5 stars too Welfare in each college is 5 stars also, always there when you need help Student union is unheard of and no one cares about them tbh
    Course:
    We get 3-4x essays a week which don't contribute to passing the year - only contribute to Tripos Class ie. 1st 2:1 etc
    Location:
    Beautiful, archaic city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Other colleges have amazing accommodation (e.g. Trinity/ Johns). Ours is just as lovely (at Robinson) just a bit more expensive as poorer college.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so welcoming. Laid back non - poncy atmosphere at Robinson so mingled well with years above well also
  • Safmaster's avatar by Safmaster on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent course, top quality supervisions and support. The courses are very hard and intense but that's what you sign up for. The city itself is beautiful to stay in and the people are nice.
    University:
    Uni life was good. I had a gym in the basement of my college completely free to use. Also there were many societies one could get involved with and the course itself was very interesting.
    Course:
    My tutors and supervisors were extremely approachable and helpful.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a wonderful place to live. Many tourists come there to view the beautiful architectures.
    Accommodation:
    I had an ensuite room in good condition and a good size. The porters also allowed me to keep an extra fridge which was very helpful.
    Settling in:
    I settled in fairy quickly as I had my laptop with me so could stay in contact with family.
  • VSEPR's avatar by VSEPR on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, worth applying if you can handle the workload
    University:
    Close knit community, formal hall every day, lots of libraries m
    Course:
    Great lectures and practicals, and great staff
    Location:
    Close to London and airports, and good rail links
    Accommodation:
    Very cheap as terms are short
    Settling in:
    Small college - 80 people per year
  • dragonkeeper999's avatar by dragonkeeper999 on 26th September 2015
    Overall:
    Cambridge is very high stress, and the college you go to can have a massive impact on your overall experience. However, it is undeniable that graduates have great job prospects and the degree is very well respected.
    University:
    Libraries are very good, there is so much choice. Shopping is terrible, as is the night life. There are lots of opportunities to get involved in sport, although is can get expensive if you are in an unsponsored uni team. The welfare provision is not great, very much depends on the college but the uni services have massive waiting lists for things like counceilling and the uni doesnt really support student welfare, it is left up to college JCRs to do. The overall student union doesnt really do anything...
    Course:
    The course is very flexible, and the high contact hours at Cambridge definitely means you are getting your money's worth. Thay being said, the course is very intensive and exam focussed.
    Location:
    The town is very pretty and everything is within a half hour cyvle ride. Lots of tourists though, which can get annoying. I like how the departments and colleges are spread around the historic town. Cambridge is very expensive though as a town, with London prices.
    Accommodation:
    It really depends on your college, but mine (Murray Edwards) was really expensive. We could get ensuites and proper kirchens though, which are often lacking at other colleges.
    Settling in:
    They put on lots of events during freshers "week" (3 days) for us to get to know each other, so socially i settled in quickly. Getting used to the intensive teaching style was more of a challenge though.
  • XYZ:)'s avatar by XYZ:) on 20th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent- 9/10 If you're prepared to work hard but know how to balance your work with your social life and hobbies then Cambridge provides endless opportunities as well as a chance to meet inspiring and like minded individuals
    University:
    Collegiate system provides a sociable and integrated community and there are many social events organised between colleges to ensure you meet people outside your own college too. Great library range. No university swimming pool and no centrally located cheaper food shops - only sainsburys and m&s
    Course:
    It is excellent for preparing you for the tough medical career ahead and for providing excellent research opportunities
    Location:
    Convenient access to London and other cities. Very central accommodation so everything's is in walking distance which is great for cutting costs
    Accommodation:
    Queens' college accommodation is quite expensive and we need to move all our things out between terms which is inconvenient. Other colleges provide better quality accommodation for cheaper and throughout the year.
    Settling in:
    Really great atmosphere, everyone is very welcoming and the supervisors provide constant one on one support when it's required
  • Nemeviaa's avatar by Nemeviaa on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Takes some getting used to and definitely not for everybody as you really have to be willing to put the time in in order to succeed, but if you do your part putting the work in you can get a huge amount back from the university staff and the friends around you. The college system is great. You're constantly surrounded by loads of really fantastic people. Play sport!
    University:
    Easy to get around, small enough that half the time you can run into people you know at the shops or in department, absolutely loads of libraries everywhere, shopping options fantastic, student union a bit crap but provision of clubs and sports is tip top - though financial support for sports clubs is limited and an ongoing issue.
    Course:
    Decent variety of courses and full choice from second year onwards (excluding one core module in Y2); lecturers tend to be really amazing both academically and as teachers; good resources and support available in department and college; however physical geography which is my main interest tends to take a slightly back seat to human geography - in third year you choose 4 modules from 12, of which 7 are human and only 5 physical.
    Location:
    Cambridge is an *amazing* city to live in. Both small enough to walk (or bike) everywhere you'd ever need to go, but major enough to have all the high street stores you'd want. Fantastic architecture, lovely people, relatively good weather (for the UK...)
    Accommodation:
    Varies greatly between colleges. I'm at Clare which has good size rooms in three different locations, all close into the city including Old Court next to King's Chapel. Most colleges can provide accommodation from at least three years of undergraduate study. At Clare rooms have decent shower availability, with many en suite in first year and the choice in later years. Gyp rooms (kitchens) are modest in size and scope, tending only to be equipped with fridge, toaster, kettle, hobs - no ovens or freezers anywhere in college. Prices cover a good range from around
    Settling in:
    Work load is initially really daunting and I felt like it lacked some support for the first couple of weeks, however this improved quickly once I'd been to more lectures and started getting to know my course-mates, supervisors and lecturers a bit more. College provides an okay environment for settling in and people tend to be very friendly, however the freshers week events are limited and I didn't find them very helpful for meeting people. Join a club/sport!
  • xxfieryangelxx's avatar by xxfieryangelxx on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    World class
    University:
    Love the variety of things to do here
    Course:
    Amazing support and supervisions
    Location:
    Close to London and Oxford and my home in Northampton
    Accommodation:
    Great but expensive
    Settling in:
    Took a while to settle in 1st year but have loved it ever since
  • aersh8's avatar by aersh8 on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Intense but amazing
    University:
    Everything seems great and super cheap.
    Course:
    Lots of personal contact, labs and flexibility
    Location:
    Cambridge is gorgeous, safe and is like a bubble. Also good links with and close to London and Stansted airport.
    Accommodation:
    Incredibly cheap yet amazing rooms (however this doesn't apply to all colleges)
    Settling in:
    Lots of support and Cambridge is like a bubble
  • amyjjh 's avatar by amyjjh on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is different to any other university, and although the workload is very hard to cope with, it is still a very good experience
    University:
    The workload is impossible.
    Course:
    Because the course is too literature focused so you don't have enough time to properly learn the language, however the class sizes are great.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a great town
    Accommodation:
    Totally college dependant so hard to rate. At my college (Downing) the accommodation is more or less a high standard but very very expensive.
    Settling in:
    College's make it easy to meet people and there is a good atmosphere.
  • S131607's avatar by S131607 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a top university, which makes you an expert in your subject.
    University:
    The welfare system is quite good as there are both college and university counsellors, and there is an incredible number of societies!
    Course:
    The supervision system is brilliant as it enables you to focus on the areas you're struggling with, but the pressure of the course is really intense.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a very beautiful city, and the roads are great for cycling on.
    Accommodation:
    At my college (Murray Edwards) the rooms are quite expensive but worth it, as they are modern and homely.
    Settling in:
    I think Cambridge can be very difficult to 'settle into', because no one really wants to accept that there are many people just as clever as they are. However, I think the collegiate system is good for making close friends quickly.
  • Claree's avatar by Claree on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I've had a great experience of first year. If you can manage to get through the work, there's so much great stuff on to do in any leftover time. Termtime is hectic and the work can be intense, but I love that.
    University:
    The library facilities are excellent. Shops are there in the town. Sports facilities can be a bit of a distance but I don't have the time to use them anyway. There are socieites for everything. Personally I do a lot of music and there's so much music going on in Cambridge. The tutor system and college family system etc. seem to work well. I don't really know what CUSU run but that actual college student unions put on a lot of things and welfare events.
    Course:
    I can't comment on the ChemEng part yet as I did NatSci in first year. For me doing NatSci in 1st year was ideal, to be able to try out different sciences at uni level, as I wasn't sure what I wanted to do. I like being taught chemistry by chemists, physics by physicists etc. I like the freedom to choose which subjects you want to study within the tripos. The course has considerable contact hours, a huge amount of content and a very large workload, but as a workaholic that suits me. I love being able to ask all my questions in supervisions, and to ask demonastrators in practicals. Some of my supervisors have been excellent, others ok. Similar with lecturers. I couldn't envisage a better course at any uni for me to have done in 1st year, and I enjoyed the variety of things studied.
    Location:
    Cambridge is really pretty and the perfect town for me to live in. It's small, I can find my way around, I live in the centre of town and you can get anywhere in 10 minutes cycling.
    Accommodation:
    This might depend on college. I'm at Trinity. Accommodation is relatively cheap and you only pay for 3x10 weeks per year. Tou can get really good rooms but it depends where you are in the ballot. They provide accommodation for all of the course, in college in the centre of town. Bedders come and clean/make the bed daily on weekdays.
    Settling in:
    It probably took me until the end of the 1st term to feel settled, have a friendship group, know how to work effectively and get enough time to sleep.
  • pst29's avatar by pst29 on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    It's mostly very good
    Location:
    I like the small town
    Accommodation:
    NA I live in private accommodation
    Settling in:
    I already lived in this private accommodation
  • smile:D's avatar by smile:D on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 have really enjoyed my time here - love the course and all the other outside activities I've done too
    University:
    Libraries are also, personally really like the clubbing scene
    Course:
    Really great professors, love supervision system, have quite a lot of free time due to course
    Location:
    Small town so easy to get everywhere but has everything you need
    Accommodation:
    Comparatively cheap, guaranteed for 3 years, living with other freshers and friends
    Settling in:
    Never felt homesick at all; everyone was really nice
  • TirnanF's avatar by TirnanF on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Just everything is too fast. It's very easy to get left behind.
    University:
    not great sports or night life
    Course:
    Too fast for me and I got A* maths and further maths
    Location:
    it's average
    Accommodation:
    lots of sharing and very old fashioned
    Settling in:
    everyone's much smarter and I'm looked down upon
  • classicslover94's avatar by classicslover94 on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    five
    University:
    lots on offer to do
    Course:
    Was very good, but room for a few improvements (they've now changed the course for earlier years)
    Location:
    fab location
    Accommodation:
    Now being updated, rooms quite small and not much communal space, last year was great
    Settling in:
    Took a while for me to gain independence and settle in
  • JF10's avatar by JF10 on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely fantastic - wouldn't go anywhere else
    University:
    Great work/life balance
    Course:
    Great course and supervisions but lectures are often poor
    Location:
    Wonderful place
    Accommodation:
    Good quality but reasonably pricey
    Settling in:
    At home from day one
  • Thegrandmaster's avatar by Thegrandmaster on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Lots of great things about this uni, but you'll have to work hard. Also very traditional which doesn't always help
    University:
    Not much free time, poor nightlife. Good societies etc
    Course:
    Very traditional, sometimes old fashioned
    Location:
    The city is the university
    Accommodation:
    Good, but some draconian rules etc
    Settling in:
    College environment makes it easy to meet people
  • joostan's avatar by joostan on 4th September 2015
    Overall:
    A very good experience, if a little hard going at times.
    University:
    Some people are workaholics, and some of the sports facilities are a long way away.
    Course:
    Supervisions are excellent. Lectures are given by excellent lecturers.
    Location:
    It's beautiful - but a little too touristy.
    Accommodation:
    Reasonably priced accommodation is guaranteed for each year.
    Settling in:
    Friendly people, but town is busier than I am used to.
  • india7's avatar by india7 on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    Great!
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    It was a new course so some things still need ironing out
    Location:
    Good and small, but close to London if you want more
    Accommodation:
    N/A I have private accommodation
    Settling in:
    I already lived here
  • KingAaran's avatar by KingAaran on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    monkey test icles
    University:
    dead af
    Course:
    too hard
    Location:
    cos i have
    Accommodation:
    i have to ji zz on the carpet
    Settling in:
    Posh pr icks
  • DJMayes's avatar by DJMayes on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect.
    University:
    I have great fun.
    Course:
    Course is substantially more rigorous and challenging than any other course in the UK, with regular one to one contact with experts in the field.
    Location:
    Easily accessible, and easy access to any kind of shops.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap good quality provided by the university in the centre of town.
    Settling in:
    Everyone here is great.
  • St. Brynjar's avatar by St. Brynjar on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Ignore the stereotypes.There are some posh people. There are far, far more normal people. We're just like everyone else - we hate essays, we love having fun.
    University:
    Banter
    Course:
    Structure is a bit odd, content is fantastic.
    Location:
    The city IS the university. It's stunning, compact and diverse.
    Accommodation:
    For value. It's incredibly cheap for what it is.
    Settling in:
    Struggled to find the right 'people' for me, which meant it took me a while to settle in.
  • FranRose's avatar by FranRose on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good. Enjoyed my first year a lot, made friends quickly and enjoyed the challenge of the work. Sometimes felt a bit overwhelmed though
    University:
    a lot of work but we work hard and play hard
    Course:
    I enjoy the course but its very hard work so sometimes feels like a chore
    Location:
    beautiful city but very small
    Accommodation:
    accomodation is very nice (and cheap) in college but I wish it was easier to live in student houses
    Settling in:
    Was made to feel very comfortable very quickly
  • wasting-time's avatar by wasting-time on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I learnt a lot but was also expected to do a lot of work and so I feel I may have missed out on the student party lifestyle.
    University:
    Every college has a, usually well stocked, library which is good to work in. Sporting facilities vary but are often not that great and so you may have to pay for a gym subscription. Welfare provision is lacking and it is often unclear where students need to go to get help. Depending on the college there may be some college organise events but these generally aren't very big or exciting.
    Course:
    Very good facilities and regular small group teaching. The structure of the course really lets you choose to study subjects you find interesting in depth whilst still maintaining a bredth of knowledge in other fields. Only not given 5 stars because the amount of work required to complete this course can sometimes detract from how enjoyable it is.
    Location:
    Colleges are spread throughout most of the city, as are the science buildings. This means it is really easy and convenient to get to lectures and labs whilst still being in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    My college (Peterhouse) provided cheap and very good quality for the three years of my undergraduate degree.
    Settling in:
    College system makes it easy to socialise in a smaller group of people, many formal dinners etc. happen when you first join the university which allows a lot of time for bonding with other students and meeting academics.
  • Real Name Hidden's avatar by Real Name Hidden on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    Totally worth all of the entrance requirements, if you can get in
    University:
    facilities are truly second to none, the student union is excellent.
    Course:
    Everything is excellent, no complaints at all.
    Location:
    Just the right size, not too busy, but not too deserted either.
    Accommodation:
    I love the proximity and the quality of the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Parents system was really useful in this regard, so were the DoS's
  • Ferrarifan 27's avatar by Ferrarifan 27 on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Studying the most difficult course at the highest ranking university in the country was never going to easy but it has made me realise just how little I worked relatively at A level. It is a high pressure environment but I have definitely learnt a lot here - more than would be possible anywhere else in the country - and have enjoyed cramming as many other activities into my limited free time as posssible too. Overall, I''m definitely glad I came here!
    University:
    CUSU doesn't really do an awful lot and there is not much support from the university for sports/societies, although there are still many successful societies to try to fit into your busy schedule - Saturday morning lectures certainly don't help with this! Having said that, there has just been a new sports centre built which is nice if a bit far out of the city centre.There are as many different libraries as you could possibly want, though I only really use the department one and that's just for somewhere to study between lectures. Welfare provision is as good as you'd hope for somewhere so intense and stressful - elected college welfare representatives do a good job and we have tutors who we can contact if we need to. There are also counsellors if you need them.
    Course:
    I like the ability to choose to take a wide range of courses before specialising. It's also very useful to discuss the material with professors/postdocs/postgrads in supervisions. The only bad things are the workload and intense pressure, and being examined badly in biological subjects - essays are really not good for testing science.
    Location:
    Cambridge is of course a very nice place to be studying. The only downsides are the many tourists getting in the way and the surprising lack of thought for vehicles when the city was developed resulting in busy, narrow streets.
    Accommodation:
    I pay less than my friends at other unis and even the smallest rooms here are as big as they have. The location in college in the city centre is great and convenient for lectures. The low prices are mainly achieved by the short terms (8 weeks with 10 weeks normal period of residence) so the downside is that you have to move your stuff out each vacation, unless you choose to pay extra to stay over.
    Settling in:
    College families, made up of 3rd year "parents" and fresher "siblings" are great for meeting some people when you first get there and having someone to ask about things who's been through it all before.
  • alalndvn's avatar by alalndvn on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Over 700 societies
    Course:
    Love the course really interesting
    Location:
    Beautiful really convenient
    Accommodation:
    Amazing room really big free gym
    Settling in:
    Very friendly staircase and lots of activities
  • ebeed's avatar by ebeed on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent - but hard work
    University:
    Lots to do, well organised, good facilities (and very friendly)
    Course:
    It's got a lot of contact hours - and you come out with two degrees
    Location:
    Quite far out but beautiful city and lovely grounds at college (Girton)
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, but lovely rooms and a good atmosphere
    Settling in:
    Didn't feel homesick at all - barely time to think about it!
  • Eszfi's avatar by Eszfi on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Best uni!
    University:
    Its so much fun
    Course:
    I love it
    Location:
    Perfect city
    Accommodation:
    Its great
    Settling in:
    It was easy to settle in
  • Pingupatel's avatar by Pingupatel on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Must be prepared to work very hard but it will all be worth it in the end. Many of the stereotypes are completely wrong and student life here is absolutely amazing and every effort is made to help you settle in and feel at home!
    University:
    I have a gym on site and make use of the squash and badminton courts. There are soooo many societies to keep me busy! More than I could imagine, and it's great to have those on the side of academic work as they're an opportunity to meet even more people. Massive shopping centre only round the corner which is great and will come in handy when gift browsing for Christmas!
    Course:
    Professors are always available for help and I can always turn to my tutor during supervision a to get more tailored advice and guidance that's more personal to me. The teaching system is great for supporting my needs
    Location:
    The city is mostly dominated by the University. The supermarket is not too far away, lectures only down the road and there's always something going on within the close proximity of my college as Cambridge is so small and compact. Also beneficial for transport costs as its so easy to get around!
    Accommodation:
    For what I pay it is great value for money compared to mates I know at other universities. The space is very generous and I can live comfortably and not too far from my lectures which is convenient.
    Settling in:
    Freshers was organised brilliantly and allowed me to meet new friends and get to know the people That live in the same coridoor. The college parenting system is great as I have familiar faces of second year students I can go to if I need anything.
  • Fred Bromley's avatar by Fred Bromley on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Studying at Cambridge is hard, and no one ever pretends it isn't, but it is also an experience which will never be matched. Taking advantage of all the opportunities presented to you is a must, and yet there are so many that you will always feel like you haven't done enough - this is such a great thing, and testament to how much variety exists.
    University:
    University was a truly unforgettable experience and I was extremely happy there. I probably complained about numerous things at the time, but looking back I massively miss the freedom to doing pretty much what I wanted, manage my own workload, and have the time and opportunity to get involved in all the sports and activities I did.
    Course:
    The sheer breadth of courses on offer, even given that there were compulsory courses in each year of study, is astounding, and it could have been even broader if I had chosen to do a dissertation. Being critiqued by world renowned academics in a 1-to-1 situation is unparalleled, and my teaching experience only dropped on the one occasion when I was supervised by a PhD student who wasn't particular good. Given this was only for 2 weeks out of a 3 year course, I'll let it slide!
    Location:
    Cambridge is the most beautiful city in England, and being able to step out the front door into such a storied environment is incredible - and too often overlooked. Being located in the city and not a separate campus prevented any feelings of otherness from the city itself, which I think could have been a very real risk.
    Accommodation:
    The location is wonderful, however some of the quality wasn't especially good and it did feel expensive. However, it could have been far, far worse.
    Settling in:
    I didn't have any trouble settling in. Much of this may have been due to coming from boarding school, but work also started quickly meaning there was no time to stew, and the college system is very good at building a real sense of community.
  • TisEd1995's avatar by TisEd1995 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    This university is a great place to study with the support that is provided at every need. There is also a chance to try out something new whether it be in a sport or a society to achieve a well balances university experience.
    University:
    There are many clubs located at the university due to the large numbers of students. The libraries also store many books and have wonderful architectural works.
    Course:
    There could be more lectures at a slower pace and with more revision sessions. But the content is excellent.
    Location:
    The campus is located next to the countryside and the traffic is not very busy. The quiet and calm atmosphere makes it easier to work.
    Accommodation:
    The location is great with shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are also very spacious, have good cleaning services and are affordable.
    Settling in:
    The first term was stressful with the workload and getting the time management spot on. After this everyday life became much simpler.
  • jorlac12345's avatar by jorlac12345 on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    fantastic
    University:
    lots of sport, fun and work
    Course:
    stretching yet interesting work, lots of support given and excellent supervisors.
    Location:
    beautiful city not far from london
    Accommodation:
    rooms much bigger and nicer than all other unis I've seen or heard about
    Settling in:
    excellent support given to freshers
  • Cellsone's avatar by Cellsone on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Its nice but too stressful
    University:
    Workload took up a lot of time
    Course:
    Satisfied
    Location:
    Near London
    Accommodation:
    decent
    Settling in:
    Very stressful
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Even though I gave 4's for the most part I can't tell someone not to come here. The Uni really is further than a lot and allows one to have such a nice future that putting up with these idiosyncrasies for 3-5 years is fine.
    University:
    I mean I don't want to sound pretentious but the community could be a little more laid back as they are constantly stressing about tests and etc. This takes away from the overall nightlife but it expected of Cambridge.
    Course:
    Many of my acquaintances seem to think they are better than everybody else causing people to pretend to understand what's happening in class when in reality they need help.
    Location:
    It's fine, it's not such a big city in my opinion and most of it is somehow Camebridge related so one gets the feeling you're never really far from home. Funnily so you are never far.
    Accommodation:
    Top notch dormitories, breakfast in the hall before classes and the usual Cambridge Ordeal.
    Settling in:
    It took a long time to settle in. At first I was a bit shocked I got accepted than once there I felt alienated and now I'm slowly starting to accept the premise that most of the community is composed of to-be or world class academics.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic but tough too. An intellectual challenge, but the most fun you'll ever have along the way. Hectic and busy, but also personal and unique.
    University:
    Fantastic array of societies and clubs to become involved in, sporting or otherwise. Libraries in colleges are 24hrs, and the city has everything I could ever want from shopping.
    Course:
    It's not completely everything I wanted it to be - it's a lot more self-led than my friends doing English at the universities. A but more contact time would be nice.
    Location:
    Beautiful city with plenty of green space.
    Accommodation:
    The colleges are really old, so the accommodation isn't as 21st century as some would hope. It can be cold and dark in the rooms, and the amount of rules are unbelievable.
    Settling in:
    Cambridge is certainly a niche place to fit into and live and, coming from a small farm in the North, I felt as if I stuck out from the very beginning.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    A university that still teaches using traditional ways. Methods of assessment differ greatly from majority of other universities.
    University:
    Fitness facilities are few, old and far. Libraries are decentralised and not centrally located. Too much contact hours.
    Course:
    Teaching and assessment methodology is old school and can use some updating.
    Location:
    Everything is too spread out and travelling is a chore.
    Accommodation:
    Far from department. Expensive.
    Settling in:
    The UK weather is horrible and accommodation is not near amenities and food establishments. Not very convenient and transportation in this area is bad.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars: good opportunities, but pushy
    University:
    Lots of extra curricular things to do
    Course:
    Too conservative!
    Location:
    Good access to culture/pretty
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive!
    Settling in:
    Found my kind of people here!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The model is really good: the personal supervisions are world-class and the small classes are really interactive. It's a very intense place, but you're provided with a lot of support to help cope with the workload.
    University:
    The Union is amazing. As is the photography society and the quidditch team.
    Course:
    My tutors are really friendly and helpful when I'm stuck.
    Location:
    It's Cambridge!
    Accommodation:
    The room is big and spacious, but the bed is lumpy.
    Settling in:
    I've been here a week and I already feel at home. My college (Wolfson) is unbelievably friendly and homely.
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good university. It's not necessarily better than others, it's just a different experience
    University:
    Place of extremes
    Course:
    Timetable isn't packed, meaning there's lots of time to do your own work as necessary. Discipline-based learning is a great structure. Modules are generally interesting. Teaching quality is generally very good. Lecturers are not always the best, but some are excellent and the content is usually interesting.
    Location:
    Clean, beautiful, plenty to do
    Accommodation:
    Quality is generally very good, location is very good (usually in or close to college). Can be expensive, but not as expensive as in London; terms are also short, reducing costs further.
    Settling in:
    Stress
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic place to study
    University:
    Great facilities all round
    Course:
    Very well taught
    Location:
    Perfect university town
    Accommodation:
    Good facilities if a little dated
    Settling in:
    Great atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 just because courses here are very intense, and that's not for everyone but I like that
    University:
    Gym on college campus, personal tutors, many clubs and bars
    Course:
    Love the course structure that's heavily scientific, but some lecture times too close together and comuting between them in time is difficult.
    Location:
    Beautiful village like feel of Cambridge
    Accommodation:
    Very large rooms,double beds, many en suit.
    Settling in:
    I felt freshers was a bit too hectic, lots of appointments and forms to fill out.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    really good value for money!
    University:
    lots of societies
    Course:
    am yet to start
    Location:
    close to london
    Accommodation:
    good location but not cheap
    Settling in:
    i have settled in very well
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Because
    Course:
    Because it's good
    Location:
    Best uni there is
    Accommodation:
    Small kitchens, kinda expensive
    Settling in:
    Awkward at first
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible
    University:
    Best experience so far
    Course:
    I love the modules and content, and brilliant teaching
    Location:
    Beautiful and affordable city
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable, cosy and convenient
    Settling in:
    I'm a tad shy and difficult in new situations
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 hands down
    University:
    So much to do, many free facilities such as sports, swimming you name it and over 800 clubs/societies and counting
    Course:
    It's really good, has lots of support and good teaching but the course structure is a bit lacking, possibly since it's a new course.
    Location:
    The whole city is the university so its so close to everything and all lectures and most colleges are in the town
    Accommodation:
    Lovely big rooms, plenty of showers/facilities an stay on college site for 3 years
    Settling in:
    I settled in super quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Four stars. It's been really good, and my course is perfect. It did take a while to settle in but I'm really happy there now.
    University:
    There's a lot on offer which is good, but not much time for doing it.
    Course:
    The course is really good, and the teaching is mostly good too.
    Location:
    It's in a city, which I really like.
    Accommodation:
    It's mostly good, and quite cheap, but there were some issues.
    Settling in:
    It took a while but I've settled in well now.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect, well run interested course and great social life
    University:
    Best time of my life, interesting course and lifetime friends
    Course:
    Great quality teaching and
    Location:
    Great libraries and town
    Accommodation:
    Good but dated slightly
    Settling in:
    Great fresher events and good spread of people
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 Because I'm in love with it
    University:
    Uni life is exciting
    Course:
    Because I like it
    Location:
    I like Cambridge
    Accommodation:
    Because I like it
    Settling in:
    Because I settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5*. Brilliant university
    University:
    Hundreds of societies to suit all interests
    Course:
    Lots of contact time with supervisors
    Location:
    Beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Spacious and nice place to work
    Settling in:
    Lots of activities in freshers week so easy to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It has a great environment and lifestyle with very good facilities at affordable living cost. Due to ancient traditions, uni life is unique compared to other universities (excluding Oxford). There are many opportunities to network and socialise as accommodation is provided for all 3 years. However, the workload is very heavy, often packed with more materials than other universities in less term time. There's a lot of pressure to study well and quickly.
    University:
    Great lifestyle and accommodation, but there's a lot of work and pressure to study well. There are a lot of societies and events to join. Very good facilities, from libraries to conference rooms. Good career service too
    Course:
    it's a good course with quality lecturers, covering a broad range of topics. The course is more theoretical and can be less quantitative-focused than other universities though. It's packed with more materials and has less term time
    Location:
    small and accessible bike city, 1h train from London. Beautiful scenery.
    Accommodation:
    can get very good rooms at good rates, depending on which college you're in. 1h train from London. Food is okay, but seem to be better than other universities
    Settling in:
    very good environment with lots to do outside of school and mingle with people. Workload is heavy right at the start though.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. Lots of contact time, very challenging but great.
    University:
    Lots of opportunities etc.
    Course:
    Great coverage of general disciplines in first year, opportunity to specialise later. Supervisions awesome
    Location:
    Cambridge is beautiful. Everything close to everything else also.
    Accommodation:
    Perfect Location, reasonable price, comfortable
    Settling in:
    Felt at home quickly
  • by Anonymous on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    It's Cambridge
    Course:
    It's Cambridge
    Location:
    It's Cambridge
    Accommodation:
    It's Cambridge
    Settling in:
    It's Cambridge
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really great.
    University:
    It's fun, there's wine and rowing
    Course:
    It's amazing
    Location:
    It's beautiful
    Accommodation:
    It's cheap and beautiful
    Settling in:
    Just because
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely fantastic.
    University:
    Completing the hard work is rewarding and the societies are a lot lot of fun.
    Course:
    Taught by world-class experts in a unique, rigorous way found nowhere else in the world.
    Location:
    Beautiful, historic city with a world-class academic tradition. Cultured city which always has something going on and it's not out of reach of the likes of London anyway.
    Accommodation:
    Cosy, friendly, beautiful. A bit cold in the winter but that adds to the charm.
    Settling in:
    Driven, enthusiastic, curious people who had a lot in common with me where easy to find here.
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good, could be better, treating first year as a trial i now know how to make next year so much better.
    University:
    Clubs are pretty rubbish but other than that amazing
    Course:
    Soc anth and bio anth were excellent, politics was good if not for me, and my IR supervisor was an utter psycho and mae the whole experience awful.
    Location:
    closer to the city centre would be good
    Accommodation:
    I WANT A DOUBLE BED, other than that, warm clean plenty of storage almost all ensuite.
    Settling in:
    It was really rocky
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Great uni life
    Course:
    Great lectures and courses
    Location:
    Nice city, easy to get to all labs/lectures
    Accommodation:
    Good accommodation
    Settling in:
    Felt at home quickly
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    The biggest all-level sports system at any university on the globe, and caters to all desires and abilities
    Course:
    This is the best science course in the world. Period.
    Location:
    Cambridge is an unbelievable city - it has everything...and just look at it!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is subsidised heavily, and is situated centrally in the beautiful town.
    Settling in:
    Freshers events for all types of people
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very positive.
    University:
    Lots of great facilities and things to get involved with. Nightlife could be better.
    Course:
    Broad, interesting, high-quality teaching, relevant and engaging lectures.
    Location:
    No colleges are too far from the city centre (apart from Girton)
    Accommodation:
    Affordable, well-located, decent quality.
    Settling in:
    Quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good! It's hard work but the course is very good, and if you like science this is the best course - you really understand it and the teaching is very good.
    University:
    Its all very good, but maybe London has more to offer outside academics.
    Course:
    Medicine at Cambridge is very good - it's intense but we have very good teaching and we have a good science-based course.
    Location:
    Close to London. And Cambridge is a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Location is good, centre of city and close to lectures and other places. Somewhat expensive though
    Settling in:
    Felt a little homesick at the beginning but this is normal.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Na
    University:
    Na
    Course:
    Na
    Location:
    Na
    Accommodation:
    Na
    Settling in:
    Na
  • by Anonymous on 11th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have completely loved my time at Cambridge so far. The work load is pretty heavy but not (usually) overwhelming, and if it does feel like its getting too much the help available is amazing. There is always something going on for when you have free time, whether its a night out or a society. Generally I feel like most of the stereotypes about Cambridge are incorrect and often pretty unfair.
    University:
    Pretty much everything you could imagine is available, either offered by the uni or somewhere else in Cambridge. The welfare provision is especially good.
    Course:
    The lecturers/supervisors are experts in their field so the learning experience is really incredible, and we get a lot of choice in terms of what we study. However the work load can be a bit intense.
    Location:
    The nightlife is a bit limited but generally Cambridge is the perfect mid-sized town to live in. Nowhere is particularly far away.
    Accommodation:
    It may seem expensive but for the centre of Cambridge the prices could be so much worse (should be noted that prices, facilities and location vary a lot depending on which college you go to).
    Settling in:
    Freshers' week had so many events to meet people, and I met some of my best friends straight away. Within a week I was already totally at home.
  • by Anonymous on 8th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fabulous. 5/5 stars.
    University:
    Some universities (less academic) appear to have a better party life.
    Course:
    Its well run and the teaching is brilliant.
    Location:
    Its not London however Cambridge still has a lot to offer.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation on the halls is extremely good and the location is prime- situated right near the supermarket.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly and we were all equally driven and this made me feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    It's fucking amazing
    University:
    No response given
    Course:
    It's ******* amazing
    Location:
    No response given
    Accommodation:
    No response given
    Settling in:
    No response given
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5. It's been a difficult first year - the workload is extremely high, but the support has been amazing, the supervision system really makes you learn how to think, not just learn stuff that is otherwise irrelevant. Had
    University:
    Endless societies and events across the university, numerous libraries, college gyms for free.
    Course:
    In terms of language learning, it is fantastic, though I wouldn't mind non-literature options for the non-language aspect of the course.
    Location:
    Everything is very close/easy to get to, no where that isn't close enough on foot or by cycling. City is small and would be nice to have a few more affordable bars/pubs and better nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    Living in college - a 19th century building, great financial support is available but things like bathrooms and kitchens could be a little more modern, bedrooms are gorgeous though.
    Settling in:
    The college system gives it a real homely feel, along with lovely academics and fellow students, the dorm-style living mixing all years, the buttery making meals social, a personal tutor and having college families ('parents' who are second years usually in your subject who are there for you).
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Many socities
    Course:
    All round excellence
    Location:
    Near sports facilities, shops and lecture theatres
    Accommodation:
    3 year accommodation guarantee- ENSUITE rooms and catered accomodation
    Settling in:
    Great socities
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    Top university with top facilities, teaching, atmosphere.
    University:
    Loads to do, great welfare and facilities and loads of societies and clubs.
    Course:
    Fantastic teaching, facilities, course and everything.
    Location:
    Great city with lots to do and beautiful campuses.
    Accommodation:
    Great environment, prices and quality.
    Settling in:
    Great freshers introduction, college environment.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars, it has really lived up to its fabulous reputation.
    University:
    Such a wide variety of activities, societies and clubs to take part in. Some of the best libraries in the country. Lots of support for my learning disability. Events like the May balls are superb!
    Course:
    Best lecturers in their fields. One-one tutorials. Modules very flexible.
    Location:
    Cambridge is a beautiful historic city.
    Accommodation:
    Beautiful brand new accommodation with en-suite rooms. Everyone in my college in the same area for the first year so we can all get to know each other very easily.
    Settling in:
    Dining together 4 evenings every week in the hall and being all together in accommodation makes it very easy to make friends. Lots of societies and clubs to join too, which helps settling down.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great!
    University:
    Lots of bar events (and other events) Great welfare during exam term May week is amazing!
    Course:
    Tutors are on hand to help Challenging but interesting content
    Location:
    30 seconds from department!
    Accommodation:
    Great facilities Slightly isolated (card doors to get in) Good location
    Settling in:
    Good and numerous freshers events Met great friends on staircase
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing! 5/5
    University:
    Great experience just wish I had more time
    Course:
    It's interesting and varied but lacks much choice of modules/specialism
    Location:
    Most beautiful place in England and very safe
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but so lovely!
    Settling in:
    Felt at home straight away
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent. Immersive, world-class teaching with a full timetable every week but still room enough for lively nightlife and sports.
    University:
    University/college operates many of the city's services including libraries and sports facilities. Excellent, up-to-date equipment in libraries and sports facilities. Good student-run welfare team. Fewer societies than I expected but generally good.
    Course:
    Excellent standard of teaching by distinguished lecturers, world-standard laboratory equipment, online services, and library services. Tutorial system variable - but supervisors are generally accessible and approachable. Many contact hours including on Saturdays and bank holidays but that is OK.
    Location:
    University buildings scattered all around the university. Good communication links between university buildings, and most are close enough to walk/cycle. Local amenities are close and varied. Varied day/nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    College-owned, ideal location in town and university buildings. Excellent quality, refurbished recently and cleaned weekly. Price rather dear, but includes utilities, internet access, contents insurance, and meal package.
    Settling in:
    Huge step up between sixth form and first year uni. A-levels, open days, taster days, and induction do not sufficiently prepare for settling into university, even though I had lived away from home before. Settling in took more or less the whole year. Friendly student union made it somewhat easier.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    v good
    University:
    union
    Course:
    Good lecturers
    Location:
    near london
    Accommodation:
    GOod room
    Settling in:
    people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    If you can handle the work, uts the best place to study
    University:
    Can be v busy but plenty of provision
    Course:
    Saturday lectures but amazing course
    Location:
    Beautiful academic city
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    Arrived and everyone was friendly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I would rate it as very positive. The facilities and quality of teaching are, in my opinion, unparalleled, and I feel as though I am learning efficiently every day. This is not a course, or a university, for those averse to hard and constant academic work. Coming from a middling state school, I was shocked at first by the sheer volume of work to be done, and this took some time to adjust to.
    University:
    Welfare provision differs from college to college, but I have found mine to be excellent. Libraries are plentiful, and there is always something to do! The course load can be so demanding and stressful, though, that extra-curriculars must often take a back seat. Services are offered, but they can't always be taken advantage of.
    Course:
    The course is diverse and thorough; I feel as though I am getting good value for money. However, it is very intense and challenging - if it were slightly less so, and the terms were longer, I think I would have given it 5 stars.
    Location:
    I love Cambridge as a city - it's gorgeous, and I get to walk around beautiful buildings every day. However, the nightlife is definitely lacking.
    Accommodation:
    Location is prime, as I live in central Cambridge. Being a small city, it is very easy for me to get around. The only caveat is that it is expensive for what it is, and in first year, there were no cooking facilities despite it not being fully catered.
    Settling in:
    The collegiate system at Cambridge makes the university feel like home very quickly, and a lot of effort goes into making you feel comfortable - eg. college parents, subject parents. I never felt like I had no one to turn to.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome!
    University:
    Mainly work but you can play too
    Course:
    It's been world class
    Location:
    V close to London but also quiet and country
    Accommodation:
    Very good and clean
    Settling in:
    Never got homesick
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing 3 years, I miss it every day
    University:
    So many student societies
    Course:
    Excellent course and teaching
    Location:
    Lovely city
    Accommodation:
    Good but quite expensive
    Settling in:
    Good induction
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I've absolutely loved my first two years
    University:
    Societies/Clubs are diverse and engaging, I particularly rate college sports systems letting me play sport competitively at a low level!
    Course:
    Course structure/content is good, a reasonable amount of lectures with plenty of support through supervisions. A large amount of independent work helps consolidate lectures, and allows them to move faster. Generally lecturers are good/great though there are some exceptions
    Location:
    I love the city of Cambridge, having the departments spread across the city is also good as you have a bit of variation, but the south is expensive!
    Accommodation:
    Centre of the city, decent sized rooms, always provided by the college and cheap given their location/quality
    Settling in:
    'Parents' from higher years helped us settle in, and with a ram-packed freshers week there wasn't time to worry about anything. On the other hand, a little more time to adapt to independent living in a new city would have been appreciated before the workload became ridiculous!
  • by Anonymous on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    With Cambridge being a very "student and university based" city, all of the facilities are close by and you are constantly surrounded by people who understand how challenging studying at Cambridge can be. There are many staff members on hand that can help you with all sorts of problems from if you are have trouble with keeping up with the course to financial issues to needed help finding a job after uni, ect.
    Course:
    The the fact that every week, during supervisions, we get to sit down and pick the brillant minds of world renound professionals in their given field while attended one of if not the the most prestigous university in the world that also provides students with a seamingly endless stream of excellent facilities and opportunities to explore and expand their interests and curiosity.
    Location:
    With Cambridge being a very "student and university based" city all of the facilities are close by. And not only lecture halls and libraries but also restaurants, clothing shops, book stores, grocery stores and banks/ATMs.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is updated and somewhat modern. The bedders provide constant maintence of rooms and living quarters which allows students to focus on their intense studies rather than cleaning.
    Settling in:
    All of the staff members are super friendly and helpful and professors and lecturers are very insightful and patient with explaining and introducing students to new concepts in their course as well as providing constructive criticism. With all of the colleges housing students from all over the world, the opportunities for making new friends is endless.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    My university was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone. 10/10.
    University:
    There were a huge number of societies and always something going on.
    Course:
    I loved my course and university - the teaching was excellent, the resources were excellent and I was very happy.
    Location:
    Cambridge has everything you need and is beautiful as well!
    Accommodation:
    There was some good and some bad accommodation but it was quite variable depending on lots of factors out of my control. Cooking facilities at my college weren't great, but overall the rooms were good value for money.
    Settling in:
    I felt instantly at home, but even in the homesick moments there was always an event on or someone older who I could rely on.
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    I ended up with clinical depression after graduating as the combination of the crash of finishing four years of rollercoaster and needing to get a job in the real job sent me off the rails. I also had undiagnosed depression during my degree. The university counselling service was helpful, but enormously over subscribed. It took a year of anti-depressants, six months out of work and a new job to get me back on track. And the worrying thing is that there was nothing unusual about this. So many of the people I knew at Cambridge came out with mental health problems that they didn't have when they went in. Cambridge works very well for some people, perhaps even a slight majority of students there, but for those that it leaves behind it is a very difficult experience.
    University:
    There are a myriad of different societies in Cambridge, to the extent that you could spend all your time doing things utterly unrelated to your degree! In that way Cambridge is an exquisitely designed hell. There is little university wide provision, but this didn't affect me unduly.
    Course:
    The course was very theoretical and very little effort was made to justify the use of the material in the real world. The attitude of the teaching staff was generally of complacent arrogance (with a few notable exceptions) and an unwillingness to engage with struggling students (like me).
    Location:
    Cambridge is a great city and it's a nice place to be for four years.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was basic, but it was all in great locations and was really quite reasonable.
    Settling in:
    So much to do in Cambridge that my time wasn't my own from the moment I got there!

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE