Member reviews of University of Chester

  • gw3nj4n's avatar by gw3nj4n on 25th July 2019
    Overall:
    I think it’s a wonderful university with good teaching and structure and a wonderful location. Very modern and a nice place to be overall.
    University:
    Thoroughly enjoy my university and the social life it brings and everything within the university is also very helpful and easily accessible.
    Course:
    Very effective way of teaching mostly and very interesting, more coursework heavy than exam heavy which I appreciate as I prefer coursework to exams.
    Location:
    Right in the middle of everywhere, city centre ten minutes away one direction and supermarkets five minutes away in the other. Also a very attractive location right near the canal.
    Accommodation:
    Mostly good but don’t reply effectively to any complaints. Right next to the campus which is useful.
    Settling in:
    Took a few months for me to settle in only because I wasn’t a big socialite but that isn’t the university’s fault.
  • Jenlucan's avatar by Jenlucan on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    So glad I chose to study at this university, it really has been great and has surprised me in many ways making student life better than expected.
    University:
    There are a variety of clubs and activities offered at the university and most only require very minimal joining fees to cover insurance.
    Course:
    We get a lot of timetabled contact hours with lectures and they're always happy to help out of hours via email. The actual lectures themselves are really good, and a lot of the staff have a real passion for what they're teaching.
    Location:
    In a fabulous historic town with beautiful scenery and plenty of shops and pubs.
    Accommodation:
    in a great location and most of it is well priced. But I believe a bit of updating/ modernising is needed.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly as everyone was really friendly and I'm a fairly independent person so found it easy to adjust living on my own without parents.
  • tawnoak's avatar by tawnoak on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I am massively enjoying my time at university, and living in Chester. Chester is an amazing town for potential history students and it holds on to so much of its rich roman history
    University:
    I love the library and relied on it a lot first year. I’ve recently started to take advantage of the university gym and the staff are super friendly and I feel like there’s no pressure there.
    Course:
    My second year timetable has 7ish hours of actual lecture time (partially due to the fact that my last module doesn’t start until April) but they’ve all been quality so far. In one of my modules, there is a 2.
    Location:
    My campus is a 10~ min walk from the city centre, but also a 5 minute walk from the vast majority of student accommodation, with the possible exception of the partnership accommodation which can be up to 20 minutes away
    Accommodation:
    I have a decently sized room with a pretty large kitchen area with two sinks/hobs/ovens and fridgefreezers.
    Settling in:
    It took me a week or so to get used to not being at home but once I’d gotten to know the general area I was basically ok, and I’m still finding new places every time I go to the town centre
  • CactusJess's avatar by CactusJess on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would recommend this uni to everyone looking for a more personal university experience
    University:
    Large selection of societies and sports, as well as good night life in town and on campus on Fridays
    Course:
    The lecturers are friendly and approachable, with a good mix of coursework and examinations
    Location:
    Very close to town and the train station
    Accommodation:
    Good pricing, good location
    Settling in:
    Friendly city and small campus meant I settled in extremely quickly
  • GL1993's avatar by GL1993 on 1st March 2017
    Overall:
    ..
    University:
    Offers some really good clubs and societies especially for such a small uni
    Course:
    Tutors actually care about the students
    Location:
    Chester is a beautiful city. Queens Park campus has some amazing views onto the river dee.
    Accommodation:
    Not staying in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Chester is really welcoming city towards students
  • rebeccayoung13's avatar by rebeccayoung13 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    It has been an amazing experience so far. It was easy to settle into the university and the accomodation with the help of mentors and hall wardens
    University:
    The student union create many special occasions for students to have fun at, including social parties for the clubs at the university.if it is a special event during the year then an event will be created to celebrate it
    Course:
    Very eye opening into the course. Great experience on placement and the lecturer's are readily available to help
    Location:
    Great. Close to the city centre but also residential areas for the student houses off campus. 20 minute walk to both train stations so it is easy to go home when needed.
    Accommodation:
    I'm in full board but I have my own en suite room. The kitchen is equipped for foods that you might just want to snack on as there's three meals a day seven days a week. The price is suitable for what we're getting and is on main campus.
    Settling in:
    There were several events on during freshers week for everyone to get involved in and know each other. During the first lecturers and seminars we spoke to the people we would be spending the year with so we could get to know them better
  • Csuaw's avatar by Csuaw on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic, with a very few minor flaws
    University:
    Good nightlife but little variety
    Course:
    Good content, not a lot of modules
    Location:
    Very close to city centre
    Accommodation:
    Decent accommodation but not a lot of halls, mostly houses
    Settling in:
    I settled in right away
  • mraaroncross's avatar by mraaroncross on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's perfect
    University:
    I still need to get used to it
    Course:
    Because it's amazing !
    Location:
    It's quiet and nice
    Accommodation:
    It's amazing and clean
    Settling in:
    Because it was easy for me
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience in just the first couple of weeks have been good, all teachers and staff have been beyond helpful trying to get people settled in.
    University:
    The uni is very nice but small
    Course:
    The course is really good and the lectures are brilliant but the time table lay out is very bad for my course
    Location:
    The different campus are a walk to each other as well as accommodation
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation has just been built so it's new and modern
    Settling in:
    Still doesn't feel like it's home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Uni is lovely, theres just something missing for day times!
    Course:
    Not in very often throughout the year, plus my lecturers aren't the best!!
    Location:
    Chester is beautiful!
    Accommodation:
    Lovely and brand new, just very expensive!
    Settling in:
    Miss home!!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a lovely university, small and easy to settle into.
    University:
    The student union is amazing, the library is very big and the shopping facilities are plentiful.
    Course:
    Interesting so far, but I've only just started it.
    Location:
    Just next to the lovely city centre.
    Accommodation:
    It's on campus, it's what I expected and decent value for money.
    Settling in:
    I settled in straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Chester is a great city for students!
    Course:
    It's challenging, motivating and I'm finally doing something that I love.
    Location:
    My campus is only a 20 minute walk from my house, however my travel to placement is costly.
    Accommodation:
    I was lucky to find a lovely postgraduate home with three other postgraduates. However, it took a lot of time searching for a house suitable.
    Settling in:
    I am still not completely 'at home' yet. My course is very busy and due to financial issues I haven't had much time to explore the city. I will hopefully be able to do this soon.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    lots of societies to choose from, good SU, library services are sometimes a bit rubbish
    Course:
    The course offers a broad range of modules
    Location:
    The city is historical and small so everything is easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    The housing is mostly on campus and highly affordable
    Settling in:
    In first year I didn't really settle into a group so found it harder to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's good as it's quite a small university but there is still a lot to do.
    University:
    It's good but not as busy and lively as bigger cities.
    Course:
    The teaching standard is good and the lectures are helpful.
    Location:
    Chester is very pretty and it's close to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    They lack accommodation and my first year housing was very old.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, I would highly recommend this University
    University:
    There is plenty to do on campus, many societies to join, on campus student union bar etc. There is also a shop on campus and an extensive range of books in the library.
    Course:
    It is a really interesting course and the lecturers are really helpful and experienced in what they specialise in.
    Location:
    Everything you need is on campus and the university is only a short walk away from the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    I don't stay in university accommodation as I commute but from what I have seen the university provides good accomation and excellent facilities.
    Settling in:
    All the information I needed was given to me in induction week. The staff were very helpful and very welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would give it 5 stars, it is a friendly and welcoming city with lots to do and see.
    University:
    I was in a society, the library was good, there was always events on.
    Course:
    It was interesting. Would have got 5 stars if there were more module choices/ more hours
    Location:
    The campus is a good location from the town centre and accommodation. The City is great with a lovely town centre and lots of pubs and bars
    Accommodation:
    A lot of the private housing is a bit old and not good quality. The University did not have enough of its own accommodation when I started but it does now
    Settling in:
    Chester is a small friendly city, the University is a campus and everythings close to the housing.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly, active and accommodating
    University:
    Lots of clubs, events and places to go to meet people and work
    Course:
    The tutors are helpful, the course is brilliant, the assessments are planned well and my timetable is varied
    Location:
    Next to town and the train station l
    Accommodation:
    Most of the aspects are good apart from their ability to fix things quickly
    Settling in:
    Still getting used to working with less guidance and still making friends
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Probably a r the course seemed a little disorganised which let it down
    University:
    Very welcoming ane loads to offer
    Course:
    There was a few times i felt there was a lack of organisation
    Location:
    Its only up the road and olenty of public transport to get there
    Accommodation:
    It provided plenty for those staying in
    Settling in:
    There was plenty of activities to help get settled
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent uni
    University:
    Everything you need
    Course:
    What i had expected.
    Location:
    Walking distance to the town
    Accommodation:
    I lived away from home but not in uni accomodation.
    Settling in:
    Freshers was a help
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Best choice I ever made. Brought me out of my self and helped me mature. I am now more independent but it is very expensive to do especially on an English course (with books and such)
    University:
    There aren't many places to go out compared to where I am from but everywhere here is a great time.
    Course:
    I really love the course and the staff are really friendly and helpful.
    Location:
    Campus is really close to my accommodation, near the town centre but not right in the centre so it still feels like an educational section.
    Accommodation:
    Typical student housing but have a good landlord who is helpful. Moving out has been the best decision I ever made. I
    Settling in:
    I am a very anxious person and struggle to make friends so it took me a while to get used to life here. Missed my family and friends but everyone was really nice and I soon got used to it.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE