Member reviews of University of Derby

  • Pathers's avatar by Pathers on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    My uni is not perfect but it’s not the worst. I got bonded to it over time and it’s hard to have to leave it now. They really help with employment and all so at least I’ll get that.
    University:
    The clubs are fair and the prices aren’t that bad. There could be more coffee houses and shops around.
    Course:
    The Marketing lecturers are very organised and really help with the assignments and the stress. They are not judgmental and really understanding when a student is struggling.
    Location:
    It’s not very close to town or the accommodations. I live close to halls and I have to walk to get the bus and then get to uni. The scenery of the location is fine during summer but after dark it’s scary leaving from uni.
    Accommodation:
    The walls at halls are very thin and if you want something better then you have to pay too much or rent a private room. They don’t do anything if your things get stolen from a flatmate you didn’t chose to have.
    Settling in:
    I felt alone and nobody helps you make friends or find out where everything is. If you are shy you are left alone and lost. I made friends after almost 2 months and I am an open person.
  • lunalaxo's avatar by lunalaxo on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Night life gets old fast but the teaching and help from staff at the uni is amazing and there’s plenty to do around derby.
    University:
    There’s always something to do
    Course:
    I don’t find the lectures that useful but the lecturers are always helpful and willing to go out of their way to help.
    Location:
    A little annoying to try and get to from certain halls and a lot of student housing
    Accommodation:
    Noise can be an issue but overall it’s great. Staff always look out for you and go out of their way to help.
    Settling in:
    Staff were very helpful and understanding
  • LibertyT98's avatar by LibertyT98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    They teaching is excellent as is the social life. I couldn’t reccoment this uni more.
    University:
    There is plenty to do in the evenings. Loads of clubs like walkabout and revolution. But there’s two cinemas, roller derby and even laser quest if you don’t enjoy clubbing.
    Course:
    The lectures are all young and easy to talk to. Thus far the scheme of work hasn’t been too difficult. But there are a wide range of modules available for all interests in geology.
    Location:
    It’s located just outside the city centre so it isn’t too difficult to get to thanks to the buses. The only thing I would change would be to make it closer to halls.
    Accommodation:
    I have stayed in cathedral court. I can’t recommend it anymore. It’s excellent. It’s very clean and well maintained and super secure if you were ever worried about anyone breaking in. The location is also brilliant.
    Settling in:
    I’m probably biased on this one as I wasn’t feeling homesick. But there are a bountiful amount of people that will help you settle in and that you can talk to if your ever having any problems.
  • roseykay_98's avatar by roseykay_98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall, the university of Derby Buxton campus is a great one to choose if you want that practical hands on experience, allowing you to make mistakes without judgement before heading off into the real world!
    University:
    As assignments are due within two months, the library is open until 10pm weekdays!! Open on weekends too for those in need of cramming. Fitness wise there is a gym behind halls called hard bodies.
    Course:
    Lectures are minimal, would prefer them to be longer. Although, apart from that and the odd hiccup with group assignments, I much prefer higher education and the independence it brings.
    Location:
    Fantastic for those who like countryside but also some sort of town. Easily drive 20 minutes and you can be in bakewell or matlock and have a bite to eat. Colder and expect snow but beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of location is ideal - living right in the heart of the Peak District. Away from the hustle and bustle of city life and population. Yet it provides community and all essentials needed.
    Settling in:
    Took about a week or two... But even from the first night I felt right at home and comfortable in Buxton. I'd recommend visiting a few times if feasible before moving in day so you can get used to surrounding areas and main pit spots.
  • lizzyetc's avatar by lizzyetc on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Brilliant university that feels like a second home.
    University:
    Money is a struggle but it's something you have to get used to. Partying, meeting new people and studying what you love makes university the best time of your life.
    Course:
    All lecturers are down to earth, approachable and really passionate about teaching. Access to amazing facilities are pushed to be used all the time and there's really never a dull moment.
    Location:
    Busses run between campuses and nobody's ever too far away from the campus they need.
    Accommodation:
    Affordability in the location is good, I can't speak on behalf of the university's halls but my friends have lived (and some still do) and are happy with it. I've had rented housing and private accommodation similar to halls and it's all manageable.
    Settling in:
    Welcome week and freshers were a great way to get to know people. The university ensured that we get to know lots of people and I settled in within the first week!
  • Nvec's avatar by Nvec on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I feel like Derby is a brilliant university, if you are looking for somewhere you are going to have the right indivual support, the opportunity to grow and develop on your course and in societies.
    University:
    Campus life at Derby is good. There are many societies which you can join, especially if you are into sport!
    Course:
    I really like my course so far, everyone seems really friendly and helpful. I especially like the amount of support available to students, as well as the quality of teaching.
    Location:
    The location is good in terms of how close it is to Derby city centre however, I commute from about 50 minutes away and because of lack of accomodation it means I have to spend quite a bit of my loan to get there!
    Accommodation:
    I cannot comment on the housing, as I was unable to secure a place in halls this year but from what I have seen they look very modern and up to date, with lots of facilities available.
    Settling in:
    I am still ‘settling’ in to university however, so far it has been positive and feel it won’t take me long to feel at home.
  • Alice.atlanta's avatar by Alice.atlanta on 11th June 2017
    Overall:
    Derby university is relatively small but we are in the top ranks, in a great city, with great lecturers and is overall a brilliant place to study
    University:
    The services the uni offers are brilliant, the student wellbeing service helps students with mental health issues and disabilities. There is also a doctors surgery in the main campus. The student union bar or cafe in all campususes are affordable and serve good food. The student gym is well equipped. There is a society for everything you can imagine from quidditch to american football to pole fitness.
    Course:
    The lecturers are amazing, the course (criminal psychology) is brand new and only one of two universities to offer the course. The content is all relevant and partly based on developing you and your skills as a criminal psychologist in order to be employable at the end of the course. The practical skills we develop are so important and is something that is overlooked at many other universities. Our module leader and course leaders are brilliant, reliable and care about us and our progression on the course. As the course is new and the university relatively small, you get more face time with you lecturers and they get to know you as a person and not just one of 400 as it is in other places. The lectures are always exciting and guest lecture from police sergeants and rehabilitated offenders give us knowledge and experiences that are priceless.
    Location:
    Derby is quickly becoming a student city with brilliant transport links and variety of activities close by including a trampoline park, laser tag, adventure golf, bowling, cat cafes, board game cafes and so much more. The night life is vibrant with many many options for night clubs and bars
    Accommodation:
    You are guaranteed a place in halls within your first year and if you know someone else comping to the uni you can apply to live with them! As there are many different halls (with more being built) you are able to live in halls for the full 3 years if you want to! Living in halls gets you a free bus pass and also access to halls events which include free pizza, petting zoo, music nights and inflatable obstacle courses. Accommodation has a good quality with a cleaner every week, and is affordable
    Settling in:
    The lecturers create activities to integrate the students and help you make connections easily. Freshers week and halls events also help this
  • CerysAnderson1's avatar by CerysAnderson1 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    My overall university experience is a great one. I can't wait to continue my studies at Derby as the facilities are very good, especially for my course.
    University:
    Uni life is great, campus is always buzzing with activities, the library is easily accessible and the sports centre is brand new.
    Course:
    All modules are clearly set out however lecturers sometimes confuse what students need to end up producing and for what date.
    Location:
    My campus is located very close to me, however the main campus is very far away.
    Accommodation:
    Location is central between town and uni, however very expensive. Always kept in a good condition by the staff.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away due to friendliness of staff and my flat mates.
  • Calileo's avatar by Calileo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good university and certainly one to consider
    University:
    Live is generally good but just not perfect
    Course:
    There are some things that can do with a small change such as scheduling and even performance of lecturers
    Location:
    The university is slightly far from town so it does mean either a long walk or the need to pay money to get there via transport. The city is somewhat nice but like any place it does have its problems.
    Accommodation:
    My halls accommodation was okay to live in but the cleaning was not very well done, rooms were slightly battered and needing a lick of paint and utilities needed updating slightly
    Settling in:
    It was generally fairly easy to get settled apart from a few teething problems that the uni could sort out or being more hand holding to students who may not understand particular processes
  • JBayley94's avatar by JBayley94 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing, it's been loads of fun and still more to come :) 10/10
    University:
    Lots to do in and out of uni, lots of opportunities to take up
    Course:
    Love the course, lecturers are really enthusiastic and course material is challenging and stimulating
    Location:
    City is not too big, a short walk to uni from halls
    Accommodation:
    Lovely housing, reasonable space, a bit loud at night occassionally
    Settling in:
    Easy to feel at home
  • ZaraQayum's avatar by ZaraQayum on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    the uni is great, great teachers, good students, lots of fun, and good employability rate!
    University:
    i LOVE IT
    Course:
    the course is it pretty good, good amount of time between seminars and lectures. gives you enough time to do independent study.
    Location:
    good location, reasonable distance from city center and from accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    the uni accommodation was pretty standard and it is improving every year.
    Settling in:
    easy to settle into, staff and students all very helpful and easy to get on with.
  • nictrix101's avatar by nictrix101 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a really friendly Uni and although it's low in the tables, I found it so much nicer than other unis I applied for that were at least top 20. I got into Derby through clearing.
    University:
    The uni gives lots of support in many areas including careers and student wellbeing.
    Course:
    Because I have only just started, and I haven't done parts of the course I enjoy most yet.
    Location:
    The city is very nice and halls are in a good area between the city centre and the uni, but if you want to go to the centre from uni it can be up to a 40 minute walk.
    Accommodation:
    Although I live in private halls, I would much prefer to live in the uni halls as they have very nice kitchens and the halls are all very friendly and organized.
    Settling in:
    There weren't many freshers events that didn't involve clubs or drinking so I felt a bit lonely in the flat some evenings.
  • Marnie Tomkinson 's avatar by Marnie Tomkinson on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely. Great course, great people, great area and fantastic experiences.
    University:
    Loads of shops, town is a 10 min walk away. Taxis are soooo cheap and everybody is friendly.
    Course:
    I love law and my lecturers make it fun and interesting.
    Location:
    There isn't a huge amount to do in derby, club wise, but that's great for me. It's quiet than bigger cities and the campus (new law building) is so well integrated into the city.
    Accommodation:
    My private accommodation is perfect. 2 minute walk from the new law building and modern.
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to adjust to a new area but everybody is friendly and helpful.
  • spockbrows's avatar by spockbrows on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    My experience has been good overall. Nightlife is a big thing in Derby so if that's how you socialise, perfect. However, I don't drink at all and it's made it difficult for me to get along.
    University:
    The library isn't 24/7 and the location is somewhat inconvenient. The student union isn't very connected to the university and there isn't much information available about it. Plus, the university can be unorganised.
    Course:
    The teachers are enthusiastic and knowledgeable, but some of them do let the 'team' down.
    Location:
    The location is pleasant and while there is crime in the area, I rarely feel unsafe.
    Accommodation:
    Mostly I didn't enjoy the company of my roommates. Halls were okay - they weren't great, but they weren't bad, either. Could have been closer to the main University site.
    Settling in:
    I still struggle today but this could be to do with my social anxiety.
  • Ajhowie3's avatar by Ajhowie3 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall really easy to fit in.
    University:
    Everything in one place
    Course:
    It's greatly communicated
    Location:
    Close together
    Accommodation:
    Bit expensive
    Settling in:
    Easy to join social things
  • SophieW_18's avatar by SophieW_18 on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars. I would definitely recommend this university to students
    University:
    Good shopping and gyms
    Course:
    It's a great course. The staff are lovely
    Location:
    I like that it is a fairly small city
    Accommodation:
    Last year my accommodation was not worth the amount. However, this year it is
    Settling in:
    I had issues with a flat mate
  • Splysh's avatar by Splysh on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    20/100. If you're a hard working student with no underline mental conditions or chronic illness then you'll fit right in as the tutors will love you. If not prepare for a hard life of minimum support and the occasional removal from the course because your mental health interferes with concentration, and then don't expect a meeting to discuss your withdrawal because they'll just ignore you.
    University:
    Unless you're an immature fratboy who's only ambition in life is to get drunk, hook up with an intoxicated female and end the night with a greased up kebab then there's not much to the night life in derby, and if you're an anxiety sufferer like myself and you find yourself with no friends then the whole experience is pretty much non existent.
    Course:
    Lessons felt improvised, support was not given without the feeling of guilt and regret and we were always reminded we were not working as fast/to the quality as professionals.
    Location:
    the main campus is a long way from any train stations although buses are available but the effect in which it takes to take there is large especially for visiting students who can't drive.
    Accommodation:
    location was perfect. 15 minutes form the university campus, 15 minutes from the town centre and the cost was great but the state of the flats were something to be desired.
    Settling in:
    Made very little friends and often found myself falling behind rather than improving.
  • 100347181's avatar by 100347181 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The actual uni is awesome, the teachers are brillaint and Derby as a whole is really homeley
    University:
    Not enough clubs
    Course:
    Because i like my course
    Location:
    The campus is quite a way away from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Derby is cheap as chips!
    Settling in:
    Everybody in Derby is nice
  • Can't think of it at the moment ...'s avatar by Can't think of it at the moment ... on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Like I said, came 3 weeks late, it's a bit difficult..
    Course:
    In my Country textile design has almost completely vanished, there is no BA anymore. So I'm so very happy they have it here. All the equipment and materials are perfect! Love it
    Location:
    It's a lovely city! Not big, but it has lots of stuff to do for students! It's perfect
    Accommodation:
    Can't complain! It's beautiful.
    Settling in:
    I came to uni 3 weeks late, so I missed all the fresher events, like joining societies is hard now, but asking always helps!
  • ?'s avatar by ? on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Dispite being not very prestigious, I could have got into a "better" uni had I wanted, I think derby is amazing
    University:
    Clubs and society's and food places ect great. Small amount of clubs but there pretty good
    Course:
    Intresting and stimulating modual content, brilliant pastoral care and a range of different assessments to set you up to have a range of skills for future employment. Good facility's and brilliant staff
    Location:
    In a good location, not too far away from houseing or town
    Accommodation:
    Bit expensive for the size but nice
    Settling in:
    Settle in very qwick, lots of schemes to helps students integrate into university's life
  • gemgemO_O's avatar by gemgemO_O on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Derby is a university that's welcoming and friendly, it's a slightly smaller campus- but you can still get lost so it's nice that you always have someone to ask, Derby uni was the best choice for me, and I recommend checking it out before hand :)
    University:
    Evening events are great and nightlife is lively, there are good places to eat and get a coffee in campus! The small shop is good for buying your lunch and the blackwells is pretty big too! The library is giant and very well organised, great for group work and quiet study!
    Course:
    In three days a week which is good! The lectures are friendly and all work in different ways, getting to know your seminar teachers is easy and feedback is useful
    Location:
    The city is so close it's great! The uni is a little further away but there is a bus for days when you have a hangover!
    Accommodation:
    The location is amazing, pretty much in the best place! It's bigger then some but a little less modern, only complaint is the halls plumber, but I think that's a personal issue where mistakes were made and the toilet hasn't been fixed!
    Settling in:
    Felt at home pretty quickly, flat mates helped and everyone was so friendly!!
  • SirSailor's avatar by SirSailor on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good
    University:
    because its brilliant
    Course:
    Its brilliant course teaches you everything you will need and more for the future
    Location:
    in a nice area not to far from things but just far enough that its not very bissy
    Accommodation:
    good but feels a bit tired
    Settling in:
    everyone was really friendly
  • brandonflude's avatar by brandonflude on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Fun, but freshers can be dangerous.
    Course:
    Because the teachers are fun, the timetable is easy to work around and the modules are structured well.
    Location:
    It's in a lovely area, not so busy and easy to get to.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is great, a nice area in the middle of everything.
    Settling in:
    very easily, it's very welcoming.
  • Dont know's avatar by Dont know on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Ok
    University:
    Few things for students to do
    Course:
    Feedback was poor
    Location:
    Easy to get too
    Accommodation:
    It seemed clean and worked
    Settling in:
    I enjoyed the setting of the uni
  • Not sure's avatar by Not sure on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's really good
    University:
    It's a good place, good people
    Course:
    I like it but don't like early starts
    Location:
    It's not far
    Accommodation:
    Too hot in room all the time, window restrictions
    Settling in:
    No girls in my flat
  • Quince252's avatar by Quince252 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Five stars. Totally recommend it.
    University:
    The societies are fun and no matter what activity you enjoy. There really is something for everyone.
    Course:
    It's a great course and the lecturers are really friendly.
    Location:
    The uni is close to halls and the city is full of interesting shops or night life.
    Accommodation:
    It's close to town and uni. The staff are great and really helpful.
    Settling in:
    I am still quite homesick but that's just me personally.
  • 100298614's avatar by 100298614 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoy the open door policy my uni offers with a 1-1 approach.
    University:
    There is enough facilities, loads going on, but I like the student life I have
    Course:
    It's really good and the lecturers are really approchable. It's just I'd prefer more lecture time
    Location:
    It's perfect for me, a small campus. Good location just off the main road
    Accommodation:
    It's ok. Not the best quality but enough for a student.
    Settling in:
    It was quite easy to settle in and people were really friendly
  • King2294's avatar by King2294 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I had a fantastic time at University.
    University:
    Loved every moment of University now I look back.
    Course:
    Poor management, very little structure or consistency.
    Location:
    Lovely area but not ideal for a university (Buxton campus).
    Accommodation:
    Great rooms and halls staff.
    Settling in:
    Used to living away from home after being a boarder.
  • Sa's avatar by Sa on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    It's okay
    Course:
    Good university and course
    Location:
    Close
    Accommodation:
    Alright
    Settling in:
    Made good friends
  • dipka's avatar by dipka on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, the support has been amazing and I would defiantly recommend this uni to anyone with any need for support.
    University:
    Has some good facilities and lots of support has been provided to me. SU does not have many clubs/societies, but that's not something I want so it's perfect for me.
    Course:
    Hard to judge everything yet because alll I have done is induction week, so not had any teaching or feedback to work yet.
    Location:
    I love that Buxton is so small, all shops, parks etc are 'walkable' and the campus is small and quieter than others I looked at.
    Accommodation:
    Very good quality and location, only slight negative is price and there's only one hall at my Campus (Buxton) so for me there is no option for anything cheaper if I wanted.
    Settling in:
    because I've been there one and a half weeks, so not fully settled into lessons yet, but quite close I think.
  • ILickRocks's avatar by ILickRocks on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good. A friendly and welcoming university that I very much enjoy attending.
    University:
    Great provision of food outlets and a convenience shop as well as a Hairdressers at the Kedleston Campus. Academy bar is great, although does close rather early compared to Union bars at other institutions.
    Course:
    Module content great, delivered with engaging lectures. Plenty of feedback received within the time frame lecturers have given..
    Location:
    Derby is easy to get across due to its smaller size compared to some places, lot's of pubs too! Uni is a little out of the way but has good bus services in term time.
    Accommodation:
    A few of the sites are rather far from the main Kedleston campus and some of the sites are rather expensive for what is provided.
    Settling in:
    Settled in really quickly after a few days of homesickness. RA's and university staff friendly and supportive.
  • Courteneyferguson's avatar by Courteneyferguson on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    5* my university experience at the University of Derby has been brilliant and I can't wait to carry on with my studies.
    University:
    The university offers a lot of services such as, cafes, bistros, bars, shops and the SU, which are all open and reasonable times and are good value for money (although the bookstore is a tad over priced)
    Course:
    The timetable is well structured, giving equal time with both lectures/seminars/practicals and own study at home. The modules are well structured with varied content. The lecturers are fantastic and are always there to help and assist you, they usually reply to emails in a timely manner and give detailed feedback so you can easily see where and what you need to improve on.
    Location:
    The university is in a good location, the campuses are quiet close to the city centre either by walking or a short bus ride. The city offers a lot for students and there's a lot of things to do.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student halls but some of my friends do, from what they have told me and from visiting them I'd give them 3/4 stars.
    Settling in:
    I think I settled in to university very well, at the end of the day everyone around you is in the same position so it helps to talk to friends. The lectures also made us aware of the services for this kind of thing which helped a lot.
  • BlesseD83's avatar by BlesseD83 on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Good University in a great city with really positive reviews.
    University:
    I have yet to experience what these facilities are like
    Course:
    I have yet to go for my timetabling.
    Location:
    Derby is a nice place to live and the Uni is easy to locate from where I live
    Accommodation:
    Because I will studying from home
    Settling in:
    Not yet started
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    Not enough activities
    Course:
    It's how I feel.
    Location:
    Buxton is a small town
    Accommodation:
    It deserves it
    Settling in:
    It took me some time
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very poor, don't apply here, you'll just be lost in a sea of depression.
    University:
    Not much available for more quiet people, i.e cafes etc.
    Course:
    It's ok, not great, lecturers are really engaging but course structure is a little dull.
    Location:
    Quite central, a lot of shops and facilities.
    Accommodation:
    Not great, showers don't work all the time
    Settling in:
    University isn't that welcoming, and they don't put you with other people who have similar tastes. It's just a front, don't be fooled by false advertising
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I don't think I can even comment more, if you want a smaller class for more support, its great, if you want the full student experience, I'm sure you can have that too, just isn't for me!
    University:
    There are minimal services on our campus, we have to travel to other campuses in order to access a library or for better facilities. Uni life is very different, being in a small town where I already live, my night life and daily life doesn't really change. Plus I'm undertaking a nursing course which doesn't really seem compatible with partying when we have assignments to do as well as placement I guess we just have different experiences as students, for example, we have minimal facilities, poor social networks, less opportunities, exclusion from events. Overall, uni life for me is purely about the friends I have made and getting my degree. It isn't as wild as everyone makes out.
    Course:
    The course is good, and the lecturers are knowledgeable. But organisational skills could be better! It's a bit muddled at times and last minute. Or sometimes poor communication lets the students down.
    Location:
    Close to my home so I don't have to commute far or move. But the university campus is moving soon which will be better as there are about 20 car parking spaces for over 6 cohorts of students and staff.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live at the student accommodation, its based at the hospital, there aren't any actual student accommodation provided by the university itself, there are hardly any facilities for the students. But it is in a good location for students working shifts at the hospital.
    Settling in:
    Welcoming staff. Wish there had been more for the students there to give us more opportunities to explore the university and our own interests.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars. It is a wonderful university with great courses and professors but the town (Buxton) although nice and calm, is too small.
    University:
    Everything is great but I feel like there could be more societies and sports clubs than there are.
    Course:
    I really love the passion with which the professors teach and the fact that my course combines theory with practice. I have the opportunity to work in the uni restaurant and it is great.
    Location:
    I like the peacefulness of this town and the beautiful park, but I think I would have liked to live in a bigger and busier city.
    Accommodation:
    I have an en-suite room in Buxton. It is a nice room, but the bathroom is quite small. However the matress is very comfortable. Also the location is beautiful. It is peaceful and quiet but it can sometimes get too quiet and this small town doesn't have a great night life.
    Settling in:
    I don't feel like I've settled in completely, because I haven't made that many friends, but probably that is because I come from a different country and I am not accustomed to opening up in front of a lot of people.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would say if your are studying Nursing you'll love it
    University:
    Active night life
    Course:
    A module leader is inept
    Location:
    It has everything I need
    Accommodation:
    I'm really enjoying living here and have met some terrific people
    Settling in:
    Settled very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The uni itself isnt that bad but the course is.
    University:
    There are a lot of services on offer
    Course:
    I find the lectures boring and don't like the fact tutorials are every two weeks. Also assessments that are pass or fail are pointless. I like to be assessed for the quality of my work, not for my ability to submit it.
    Location:
    It would be easier to get to if it was in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Location is good and its affordable
    Settling in:
    Got used to it quickly, wasn't as daunting as i imagined it to be
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    University of Derby is a very good place for international students. I am so glad I chose this city, and I would not change it for any other. Everyone is so helpful there that you can feel like home straight away.
    University:
    It just suits my needs.
    Course:
    I think this course is very well prepared. All of lecturers arewell prepared and care about thier students. Timetable is very flexible - it will fit your needs.
    Location:
    Campus is located in very nice place, just next to the huge park, but at the same time it takes only 10-15 minutes to get to the city center.
    Accommodation:
    Living in Derby is very affordable comparing to other cities. My location is quite good ( only hava like 20 minutes walk to the main campus) buses are provided for free.
    Settling in:
    I feel very well in Uni of Derby. This place is very student-friendly and makes me feel very welcome
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    So far it's fantastic. The nightlife is great, the course is very interesting and fun and the people are fantastic.
    University:
    Sometimes other flats can be very noisy making it difficult to sleep, however the nightlife is good and friendly.
    Course:
    I enjoy the modules we are currently doing a great deal, and I find them challenging and stimulating. The people on my course are all fantastic, and I have an excellent lecturer.
    Location:
    It's nicer than my hometown, the shopping centre is great, and the locals are friendly.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is a very new block having only been built two years ago. All of the rooms have an en suite bathroom and a small double bed, and the kitchen and living areas are clean, pristine and everything works correctly.
    Settling in:
    It took me about a week or so, and I found everyone in my halls and on my course welcoming and friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's amazing, I came through clearing but wouldn't want to be anywhere else
    University:
    H As a massive shopping centfe
    Course:
    The course has all the components and is free to what you want to study
    Location:
    I love the fact it's in one building
    Accommodation:
    Some of my friends have really poor accommodation
    Settling in:
    Everyone including staff are so friendly
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend University of Derby, its pretty amazing.
    University:
    Its fun but there just isnt that much events, and people don't party that much.
    Course:
    The course was fun and engaging; we also get to do a lot of practical studies and hands on activities.
    Location:
    Its not that convenient to travel outside of the town, but Buxton is pretty nice and has all the necessities.
    Accommodation:
    The rooms are average, not too big, but not too small. The location is pretty good; you could find everything you need around the town. The supermarkets are just 5 mins away from the halls. Theres an excellent gym within 20 mins of walking. But living in a private accommodation in Buxton would be cheaper and gives you more space and privacy.
    Settling in:
    I got used to it pretty quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    A lot going off
    Course:
    Staff are amazing and the course content is really interesting
    Location:
    Quite far away from town
    Accommodation:
    comfy and homely
    Settling in:
    People are good
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    3/5 not all it cracked up to be
    University:
    No 24 hour library, bad nightlife
    Course:
    Actual teaching wasn't great
    Location:
    In the city easy access
    Accommodation:
    Small rooms, silver fish, and when had a broken boiler for over a week
    Settling in:
    Never felt at home
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    The services offered on campus are very good, if you want to do it then you can. The whole society system is good however, it is quite expensive which has put many people off including myself.
    Course:
    Nothing is perfect but the lectures are engaging and interesting. The lecturers themselves clearly enjoy the subject.
    Location:
    Not amazing but it's manageable.
    Accommodation:
    Very spacious, freshly painted, good team in charge, affordable, location is a 10 minute walk away from the city centre and about a 25 minute walk from the campus - manageable.
    Settling in:
    Moving in to halls helped a lot, lots of freshers events, games played during lectures during the first week to make everyone a bit more comfortable was very successful..
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    If you want a bright, modern and upcoming university, Derby is a good place to come to. The support system for students is great, and the SU is brilliant. The level of teaching isn't as high as other universities, and this is unfortunately clear depending on whose lecture you're having, but the level isn't consistently lo - in fact some lectures are fantastic, and for the grades you can get in with, you can't expect much more than that.
    University:
    Busy campus, well stocked with a range of shops, student support outlets and food areas, with a brilliant coffee shop created by the uni. Library has limited hours however.
    Course:
    Well structured timetable and regular updates from staff on assessments and course changes as well as general course info, quality of teaching varies from lecturer to lecturer, while all qualified in their subjects, some express their modules more clearly, which leads to mixed reviews on the teaching side of things - from a confident 'Yes, this lecturer sure knows how to teach.' to a slightly less praiseworthy review. Module content is standard for a human biology course and is clearly designed to give a broad biologically based degree, allowing for future study or moves into a wider range of work.
    Location:
    Just close enough to the city centre to have good access to the social life, but further enough away to not be swamped by pedestrians. The distance away does mean most students have to catch a bus to get to campus however.
    Accommodation:
    I'm not staying, nor have ever stayed, in the university accommodation so gave a neutral review.
    Settling in:
    Really nice students, and the student union is strongly lead; going all out to welcome new freshers with a fully packed two weeks of freshers which made the move very easy.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Such a great atmosphere and easy to fit in to.
    University:
    Love uni life! Great shopping and nightlife!
    Course:
    Teachers are very enthusiastic and make me motivated to learn. Content is very interesting and relevant to the course.
    Location:
    Campus is about 30 min walk away from halls
    Accommodation:
    Great price. Great atmosphere and lots of on site support.
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly and love it!
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Ygghj
    University:
    Gfhb
    Course:
    It is alrighy
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    Well
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Many facilities
    Course:
    I can't fault it
    Location:
    I don't like the city
    Accommodation:
    Had some issues
    Settling in:
    Homesick
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great place for people to connect with others and be fully integrated into a course where you are fully taken care of and offered personal help! Would definitely recommend!
    University:
    Night life is fully existent and there's so many different things to do; i.e. Bars and night clubs were a great way to meet people
    Course:
    Brilliant lecturers, very energetic and they are open to helping you out and explaining things one to one.
    Location:
    Very close to city centre, quick access to essentials, but far away from campus especially if I'm walking.
    Accommodation:
    Very clean, regularly maintained, quality lacks as showers do not work consistently.
    Settling in:
    Really hard to settle in as I was suited with 6 girls on my floor, and I was the only boy, and I have nothing in common with them.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very nice place to come, just need to get involved as much as you can
    University:
    nice
    Course:
    Only just started the course.
    Location:
    Very nice
    Accommodation:
    Nice place, needs to enquire about some maintenance
    Settling in:
    Got on well with people,getting stuck into the course
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I loved it and found I learnt a lot and had lots of fun.
    University:
    Its all good, plenty to do and its all affordable.
    Course:
    Interesting and valued module content. Lecturers genuinely interested and excited by the subject material and always on hand to help either by email or in person. Lectures were mostly interesting and fun.
    Location:
    Close to town, but not too close that there is any excess noise or idiotic behavior. Its just a shame Derby is filled with mental's and not many good drinking venues playing alternative music as Mosh is a dirt box.
    Accommodation:
    Really clean, good layout and fun to live in. I've seen multiple other universities student accommodation and Derby rates very highly even if Derby as a city is a bit grim.
    Settling in:
    About 3 minutes to settle in. A big case of 'Friend tokens' (beer) goes a long way in quickly making friends and getting into the fun.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    If you want nightlife and a city experience Derby is not the place for you. If you want top facilities it's getting there but is still lacking, the library is relatively small for example.
    University:
    I didn't enjoy it as much as other people. Maybe I expected too much? I got in via clearing and regretted half way through my first year.
    Course:
    The course and topics were enjoyable, I thought the third year modules were lacking however. The lecturers tended to have their favourites. They then spent more time helping them.
    Location:
    It's miles away from anywhere! There is one bar on campus and it's awful, so when events are at the uni, it's a treck. Meaning nights out can be a nightmare. Train station is on the other side of town as well.
    Accommodation:
    Halls cost 3 grand which quite frankly is rediculous it continued to go up in 2nd and third year (I moved into private by that point) the halls I stayed in were horribly basic (newhaven) the only plus was the utilities and internet speeds were all included.
    Settling in:
    Derby is small compared to Manchester in terms of the infrastructure and feels a lot like a small town but the population is that of a big city. The people were okay but the freshers events were horribly lacking in creativity and general amount. It meant it was harder to meet people
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    The university is great, the student support is amazing, but I would not recommend the course
    University:
    It's a small uni, which has its positives and negatives, it's in a small town which again limits the experience
    Course:
    The course is vastly overpriced, with very very poor quality of content and support
    Location:
    The uni is very central with easy/cheap links to everything around
    Accommodation:
    Close to campus, safe, secure and very well priced
    Settling in:
    With it being an online course it was hard to interact and get to know other people on the course
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed it apart from disliking the people I lived with in first year.
    University:
    There are lots of sports clubs and societies, there's always events going on on campus and the library is open late, but the gym could be better.
    Course:
    The lecturers are brilliant at explaining in lectures and tutorials if you don't understand something but they can be difficult to get hold of.
    Location:
    It's a small city so it has a few good clubs which are cheap but I wish there were more
    Accommodation:
    I loved my room but one time our water ran out and we went without running water for a day or two which was highly inconvenient.
    Settling in:
    I'm a very adaptable person and didn't get homesick
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Good, the campus is nice, the staff are good, I've made good friends. I've really enjoyed my time so far.
    University:
    Good stuff on campus. Night life leaves a bit to be desired.
    Course:
    Generally good, sometimes I feel more support and information could be given. I don't always feel the level of teaching really reflects the high cost of studying.
    Location:
    Derby is nice.
    Accommodation:
    It was average. The halls were far from the university and the town centre. The rooms were satisfactory and the cost was relatively low.
    Settling in:
    I was terrified about going to University but I was content within a few weeks
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly staff and other students. Good near City and train station
    University:
    Good sport centre and near City centre
    Course:
    Great teaching and lectures
    Location:
    Lovely city near train station
    Accommodation:
    Really good just needed a lick of paint
    Settling in:
    Really helpful and supportive
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent uni. Very friendly, great support and you'll have a great time.
    University:
    Great environment to be in and good facilities.
    Course:
    The staff are rigorous in explaining things and are ever so helpful in academic and personal matters.
    Location:
    Close to the centre and good transport links.
    Accommodation:
    Good standard of living and cheap to rent.
    Settling in:
    Very friendly atmosphere and lots to do!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    amazing
    University:
    Lots of night-life and pretty city
    Course:
    Friendly and helpful
    Location:
    close and free bus
    Accommodation:
    Nice, reasonable priced and central
    Settling in:
    Very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent best choice I ever made
    University:
    Best time of my life everyone's so friendly and you'll always find someone to relate to so even if partying isn't your thing you'll find someone who enjoys studying or other activities as much as you do. It makes you learn the lesson that life only gives out what hard work you put into it
    Course:
    The university is very friendly, all if the students are open and welcoming and there is no favouritism or bias from lecturers, lecturers are passionate about their chosen subjects and will try their best to push you further in terms of gaining more experience and knowledge for summer internships and future careers, the facilities are also amazing and we'll looked after
    Location:
    The city centre is quiet and close by but still has a nightlife for people who choose to go out. There are bus stops close by with regular buses to the city centre, there are lots of shops and pubs
    Accommodation:
    Very clean and tidy, watched by wardens to maintain noise and rubbish levels
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly as t was super easy to navigate the uni and as it was signposted I never got lost. Everyone was friendly and I had no problems talking to people
  • No's avatar by No on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    3/5
    University:
    good night life and newly developed shopping centre and food court
    Course:
    Staff are de motivating
    Location:
    Very close to city centre, halls are close, good train link to london (1hr 30m)
    Accommodation:
    Very VERY dated
    Settling in:
    I still don't
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good university experience the only thing that let it down was accommodation
    University:
    Good student jobs night life is good everything is accessible by walking or short bus journey
    Course:
    Good corse covers all the key subjects help is available if needed
    Location:
    City has good shops and night life
    Accommodation:
    Have lived in halls before and hated it
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly and class rooms were easy to find

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE