Member reviews of University of Derby

  • Pathers's avatar by Pathers on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    My uni is not perfect but it’s not the worst. I got bonded to it over time and it’s hard to have to leave it now. They really help with employment and all so at least I’ll get that.
    University:
    The clubs are fair and the prices aren’t that bad. There could be more coffee houses and shops around.
    Course:
    The Marketing lecturers are very organised and really help with the assignments and the stress. They are not judgmental and really understanding when a student is struggling.
    Location:
    It’s not very close to town or the accommodations. I live close to halls and I have to walk to get the bus and then get to uni. The scenery of the location is fine during summer but after dark it’s scary leaving from uni.
    Accommodation:
    The walls at halls are very thin and if you want something better then you have to pay too much or rent a private room. They don’t do anything if your things get stolen from a flatmate you didn’t chose to have.
    Settling in:
    I felt alone and nobody helps you make friends or find out where everything is. If you are shy you are left alone and lost. I made friends after almost 2 months and I am an open person.
  • lunalaxo's avatar by lunalaxo on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Night life gets old fast but the teaching and help from staff at the uni is amazing and there’s plenty to do around derby.
    University:
    There’s always something to do
    Course:
    I don’t find the lectures that useful but the lecturers are always helpful and willing to go out of their way to help.
    Location:
    A little annoying to try and get to from certain halls and a lot of student housing
    Accommodation:
    Noise can be an issue but overall it’s great. Staff always look out for you and go out of their way to help.
    Settling in:
    Staff were very helpful and understanding
  • LibertyT98's avatar by LibertyT98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    They teaching is excellent as is the social life. I couldn’t reccoment this uni more.
    University:
    There is plenty to do in the evenings. Loads of clubs like walkabout and revolution. But there’s two cinemas, roller derby and even laser quest if you don’t enjoy clubbing.
    Course:
    The lectures are all young and easy to talk to. Thus far the scheme of work hasn’t been too difficult. But there are a wide range of modules available for all interests in geology.
    Location:
    It’s located just outside the city centre so it isn’t too difficult to get to thanks to the buses. The only thing I would change would be to make it closer to halls.
    Accommodation:
    I have stayed in cathedral court. I can’t recommend it anymore. It’s excellent. It’s very clean and well maintained and super secure if you were ever worried about anyone breaking in. The location is also brilliant.
    Settling in:
    I’m probably biased on this one as I wasn’t feeling homesick. But there are a bountiful amount of people that will help you settle in and that you can talk to if your ever having any problems.
  • roseykay_98's avatar by roseykay_98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall, the university of Derby Buxton campus is a great one to choose if you want that practical hands on experience, allowing you to make mistakes without judgement before heading off into the real world!
    University:
    As assignments are due within two months, the library is open until 10pm weekdays!! Open on weekends too for those in need of cramming. Fitness wise there is a gym behind halls called hard bodies.
    Course:
    Lectures are minimal, would prefer them to be longer. Although, apart from that and the odd hiccup with group assignments, I much prefer higher education and the independence it brings.
    Location:
    Fantastic for those who like countryside but also some sort of town. Easily drive 20 minutes and you can be in bakewell or matlock and have a bite to eat. Colder and expect snow but beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of location is ideal - living right in the heart of the Peak District. Away from the hustle and bustle of city life and population. Yet it provides community and all essentials needed.
    Settling in:
    Took about a week or two... But even from the first night I felt right at home and comfortable in Buxton. I'd recommend visiting a few times if feasible before moving in day so you can get used to surrounding areas and main pit spots.
  • lizzyetc's avatar by lizzyetc on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Brilliant university that feels like a second home.
    University:
    Money is a struggle but it's something you have to get used to. Partying, meeting new people and studying what you love makes university the best time of your life.
    Course:
    All lecturers are down to earth, approachable and really passionate about teaching. Access to amazing facilities are pushed to be used all the time and there's really never a dull moment.
    Location:
    Busses run between campuses and nobody's ever too far away from the campus they need.
    Accommodation:
    Affordability in the location is good, I can't speak on behalf of the university's halls but my friends have lived (and some still do) and are happy with it. I've had rented housing and private accommodation similar to halls and it's all manageable.
    Settling in:
    Welcome week and freshers were a great way to get to know people. The university ensured that we get to know lots of people and I settled in within the first week!
  • Nvec's avatar by Nvec on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I feel like Derby is a brilliant university, if you are looking for somewhere you are going to have the right indivual support, the opportunity to grow and develop on your course and in societies.
    University:
    Campus life at Derby is good. There are many societies which you can join, especially if you are into sport!
    Course:
    I really like my course so far, everyone seems really friendly and helpful. I especially like the amount of support available to students, as well as the quality of teaching.
    Location:
    The location is good in terms of how close it is to Derby city centre however, I commute from about 50 minutes away and because of lack of accomodation it means I have to spend quite a bit of my loan to get there!
    Accommodation:
    I cannot comment on the housing, as I was unable to secure a place in halls this year but from what I have seen they look very modern and up to date, with lots of facilities available.
    Settling in:
    I am still ‘settling’ in to university however, so far it has been positive and feel it won’t take me long to feel at home.
  • Alice.atlanta's avatar by Alice.atlanta on 11th June 2017
    Overall:
    Derby university is relatively small but we are in the top ranks, in a great city, with great lecturers and is overall a brilliant place to study
    University:
    The services the uni offers are brilliant, the student wellbeing service helps students with mental health issues and disabilities. There is also a doctors surgery in the main campus. The student union bar or cafe in all campususes are affordable and serve good food. The student gym is well equipped. There is a society for everything you can imagine from quidditch to american football to pole fitness.
    Course:
    The lecturers are amazing, the course (criminal psychology) is brand new and only one of two universities to offer the course. The content is all relevant and partly based on developing you and your skills as a criminal psychologist in order to be employable at the end of the course. The practical skills we develop are so important and is something that is overlooked at many other universities. Our module leader and course leaders are brilliant, reliable and care about us and our progression on the course. As the course is new and the university relatively small, you get more face time with you lecturers and they get to know you as a person and not just one of 400 as it is in other places. The lectures are always exciting and guest lecture from police sergeants and rehabilitated offenders give us knowledge and experiences that are priceless.
    Location:
    Derby is quickly becoming a student city with brilliant transport links and variety of activities close by including a trampoline park, laser tag, adventure golf, bowling, cat cafes, board game cafes and so much more. The night life is vibrant with many many options for night clubs and bars
    Accommodation:
    You are guaranteed a place in halls within your first year and if you know someone else comping to the uni you can apply to live with them! As there are many different halls (with more being built) you are able to live in halls for the full 3 years if you want to! Living in halls gets you a free bus pass and also access to halls events which include free pizza, petting zoo, music nights and inflatable obstacle courses. Accommodation has a good quality with a cleaner every week, and is affordable
    Settling in:
    The lecturers create activities to integrate the students and help you make connections easily. Freshers week and halls events also help this
  • CerysAnderson1's avatar by CerysAnderson1 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    My overall university experience is a great one. I can't wait to continue my studies at Derby as the facilities are very good, especially for my course.
    University:
    Uni life is great, campus is always buzzing with activities, the library is easily accessible and the sports centre is brand new.
    Course:
    All modules are clearly set out however lecturers sometimes confuse what students need to end up producing and for what date.
    Location:
    My campus is located very close to me, however the main campus is very far away.
    Accommodation:
    Location is central between town and uni, however very expensive. Always kept in a good condition by the staff.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away due to friendliness of staff and my flat mates.
  • Calileo's avatar by Calileo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good university and certainly one to consider
    University:
    Live is generally good but just not perfect
    Course:
    There are some things that can do with a small change such as scheduling and even performance of lecturers
    Location:
    The university is slightly far from town so it does mean either a long walk or the need to pay money to get there via transport. The city is somewhat nice but like any place it does have its problems.
    Accommodation:
    My halls accommodation was okay to live in but the cleaning was not very well done, rooms were slightly battered and needing a lick of paint and utilities needed updating slightly
    Settling in:
    It was generally fairly easy to get settled apart from a few teething problems that the uni could sort out or being more hand holding to students who may not understand particular processes
  • 100347181's avatar by 100347181 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The actual uni is awesome, the teachers are brillaint and Derby as a whole is really homeley
    University:
    Not enough clubs
    Course:
    Because i like my course
    Location:
    The campus is quite a way away from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Derby is cheap as chips!
    Settling in:
    Everybody in Derby is nice
  • Can't think of it at the moment ...'s avatar by Can't think of it at the moment ... on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Like I said, came 3 weeks late, it's a bit difficult..
    Course:
    In my Country textile design has almost completely vanished, there is no BA anymore. So I'm so very happy they have it here. All the equipment and materials are perfect! Love it
    Location:
    It's a lovely city! Not big, but it has lots of stuff to do for students! It's perfect
    Accommodation:
    Can't complain! It's beautiful.
    Settling in:
    I came to uni 3 weeks late, so I missed all the fresher events, like joining societies is hard now, but asking always helps!
  • ?'s avatar by ? on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Dispite being not very prestigious, I could have got into a "better" uni had I wanted, I think derby is amazing
    University:
    Clubs and society's and food places ect great. Small amount of clubs but there pretty good
    Course:
    Intresting and stimulating modual content, brilliant pastoral care and a range of different assessments to set you up to have a range of skills for future employment. Good facility's and brilliant staff
    Location:
    In a good location, not too far away from houseing or town
    Accommodation:
    Bit expensive for the size but nice
    Settling in:
    Settle in very qwick, lots of schemes to helps students integrate into university's life
  • gemgemO_O's avatar by gemgemO_O on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Derby is a university that's welcoming and friendly, it's a slightly smaller campus- but you can still get lost so it's nice that you always have someone to ask, Derby uni was the best choice for me, and I recommend checking it out before hand :)
    University:
    Evening events are great and nightlife is lively, there are good places to eat and get a coffee in campus! The small shop is good for buying your lunch and the blackwells is pretty big too! The library is giant and very well organised, great for group work and quiet study!
    Course:
    In three days a week which is good! The lectures are friendly and all work in different ways, getting to know your seminar teachers is easy and feedback is useful
    Location:
    The city is so close it's great! The uni is a little further away but there is a bus for days when you have a hangover!
    Accommodation:
    The location is amazing, pretty much in the best place! It's bigger then some but a little less modern, only complaint is the halls plumber, but I think that's a personal issue where mistakes were made and the toilet hasn't been fixed!
    Settling in:
    Felt at home pretty quickly, flat mates helped and everyone was so friendly!!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    Not enough activities
    Course:
    It's how I feel.
    Location:
    Buxton is a small town
    Accommodation:
    It deserves it
    Settling in:
    It took me some time
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very poor, don't apply here, you'll just be lost in a sea of depression.
    University:
    Not much available for more quiet people, i.e cafes etc.
    Course:
    It's ok, not great, lecturers are really engaging but course structure is a little dull.
    Location:
    Quite central, a lot of shops and facilities.
    Accommodation:
    Not great, showers don't work all the time
    Settling in:
    University isn't that welcoming, and they don't put you with other people who have similar tastes. It's just a front, don't be fooled by false advertising
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I don't think I can even comment more, if you want a smaller class for more support, its great, if you want the full student experience, I'm sure you can have that too, just isn't for me!
    University:
    There are minimal services on our campus, we have to travel to other campuses in order to access a library or for better facilities. Uni life is very different, being in a small town where I already live, my night life and daily life doesn't really change. Plus I'm undertaking a nursing course which doesn't really seem compatible with partying when we have assignments to do as well as placement I guess we just have different experiences as students, for example, we have minimal facilities, poor social networks, less opportunities, exclusion from events. Overall, uni life for me is purely about the friends I have made and getting my degree. It isn't as wild as everyone makes out.
    Course:
    The course is good, and the lecturers are knowledgeable. But organisational skills could be better! It's a bit muddled at times and last minute. Or sometimes poor communication lets the students down.
    Location:
    Close to my home so I don't have to commute far or move. But the university campus is moving soon which will be better as there are about 20 car parking spaces for over 6 cohorts of students and staff.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live at the student accommodation, its based at the hospital, there aren't any actual student accommodation provided by the university itself, there are hardly any facilities for the students. But it is in a good location for students working shifts at the hospital.
    Settling in:
    Welcoming staff. Wish there had been more for the students there to give us more opportunities to explore the university and our own interests.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars. It is a wonderful university with great courses and professors but the town (Buxton) although nice and calm, is too small.
    University:
    Everything is great but I feel like there could be more societies and sports clubs than there are.
    Course:
    I really love the passion with which the professors teach and the fact that my course combines theory with practice. I have the opportunity to work in the uni restaurant and it is great.
    Location:
    I like the peacefulness of this town and the beautiful park, but I think I would have liked to live in a bigger and busier city.
    Accommodation:
    I have an en-suite room in Buxton. It is a nice room, but the bathroom is quite small. However the matress is very comfortable. Also the location is beautiful. It is peaceful and quiet but it can sometimes get too quiet and this small town doesn't have a great night life.
    Settling in:
    I don't feel like I've settled in completely, because I haven't made that many friends, but probably that is because I come from a different country and I am not accustomed to opening up in front of a lot of people.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would say if your are studying Nursing you'll love it
    University:
    Active night life
    Course:
    A module leader is inept
    Location:
    It has everything I need
    Accommodation:
    I'm really enjoying living here and have met some terrific people
    Settling in:
    Settled very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The uni itself isnt that bad but the course is.
    University:
    There are a lot of services on offer
    Course:
    I find the lectures boring and don't like the fact tutorials are every two weeks. Also assessments that are pass or fail are pointless. I like to be assessed for the quality of my work, not for my ability to submit it.
    Location:
    It would be easier to get to if it was in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Location is good and its affordable
    Settling in:
    Got used to it quickly, wasn't as daunting as i imagined it to be
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    University of Derby is a very good place for international students. I am so glad I chose this city, and I would not change it for any other. Everyone is so helpful there that you can feel like home straight away.
    University:
    It just suits my needs.
    Course:
    I think this course is very well prepared. All of lecturers arewell prepared and care about thier students. Timetable is very flexible - it will fit your needs.
    Location:
    Campus is located in very nice place, just next to the huge park, but at the same time it takes only 10-15 minutes to get to the city center.
    Accommodation:
    Living in Derby is very affordable comparing to other cities. My location is quite good ( only hava like 20 minutes walk to the main campus) buses are provided for free.
    Settling in:
    I feel very well in Uni of Derby. This place is very student-friendly and makes me feel very welcome
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE