Member reviews of University of East Anglia

  • jakey420's avatar by jakey420 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The nightlife could be better in terms of more diverse music, but the lcr is enough for most people due to convenience. Lots of activities and sport to get into. Wish only I had time to do them all!
    University:
    Uni life is a hard balance of the sesh and study, which takes a while to get used to. UEA campus has an amazing lake to walk around, as well as everything you need on campus e.g. laundry, supermarket, bar ect
    Course:
    You have to take 5 modules,3 eco, 1 pol and 1 philosophy. It is very interesting to see how all of them link up, but you have to make that connection on your own, and it may not help you in each school of thought.
    Location:
    I love campus unis, and the bus's are always there within 5 minutes to take you into town.
    Accommodation:
    Paston house is great- close to all lecture buildings as well as the student club. The cleaners come too often to empty you bins, most of the time waking me up but they're nice.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to make friends, lots of societies to help as well!
  • alice1341's avatar by alice1341 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would thoroughly recommend UEA because I've had such a great time here so far!
    University:
    I've really enjoyed my experience at university so far and I'm so glad I came to UEA. The library, SU union, cafes, etc. are all in the centre of campus which makes them really easy to get to and there are a huge range of societies/clubs to join.
    Course:
    The course structure means that you can study such a wide variety of topics. For example, in second year you can pick history or philosophy or film modules. It feels really open to exploring whatever you want.
    Location:
    I really love the location of the university because it's so nice having the lake nearby and also the park if I want to take a walk. It's also convenient and easy to get the bus into the centre of Norwich, which takes about 15 mins.
    Accommodation:
    I was staying in the village and I thought it was really great accommodation. Although it's just outside the uni, it doesn't take long at all to walk there (10-15 mins). I think the pricing was probably about average for uni accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I settled into university pretty quickly. It didn't take long to figure out where everything was because most things are centralised. Everyone is also really friendly and I found that joining societies really helped with meeting new people.
  • Z.b.'s avatar by Z.b. on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Some of the freshers events could be cheaper (30 pounds for the ball, when it was 17 pounds last year) but lots of variation for all sorts of people! Including a comedy night
    University:
    Gym, art gallery, bar, nightclub, lots of coffee shops!!
    Course:
    The student support is amazing. They have so many different ways you can contact someone for further assistance or help 24 hours a day.
    Location:
    It's a beautiful campus, with greenery everywhere. It is a little bit of a distance from bigger shops and the city centre but there are regular busses
    Accommodation:
    Very nice!!
    Settling in:
    Theres lots of activities and ways to socialise and meet new people, including the course having a free lunch so you can meet and greet people on your course
  • Sakisaka's avatar by Sakisaka on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall i'm really glad I chose UEA. I feel like it is the perfect amount of every component needed for a fun and good university, it's not too quiet or too loud, and still had that laid back fun feel but at the same time a good place for my studies.
    University:
    The square on campus had lots of different activities during the day at freshers, and for the night life the LCR on campus had many nights out so you could go out and meet people without having to go into city if you had any fears about it.
    Course:
    Media studies at UEA has a wide variety of different modules which i liked as it allowed me to explore different paths I could take in the future.
    Location:
    Norwich is one of my favourite cities therefore i like the location. I also like that it isn't directly in the city centre which makes it a bit less quieter.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation at UEA didn't have many faults, but due to the high price in comparison to other university i felt it was average. I did find that there was a good community feel within campus though.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really easily. As everyone is in the same position as you are you start to gain friends very quickly. Campus also has lots of different things for freshers to do that helped you make friends and enjoy your first few weeks.
  • OrlagoestoUEA's avatar by OrlagoestoUEA on 21st June 2018
    Overall:
    Choosing to study modern languages at UEA has been one of the best decisions I've ever made (sorry to use such a cliché!) and I have loved every moment of my experience here. There are so many opportunities available and there really is something for everyone at UEA.
    University:
    The campus at UEA is amazing in terms of services offered, clubs and societies and the general feel of the campus. There is a beautiful lake and field at the back of the campus to enjoy a relaxing afternoon, and there's an on-campus venue to watch your favourite artists or have a great night out. The student union is run really well and there are always security around to keep you when you need it.
    Course:
    I have thoroughly enjoyed studying French at UEA. Every aspect of my course has been fantastic , from the friendly and knowledgeable staff and the interesting module content, to the range of extra-curricular school activities and the employability opportunities available. The languages school at UEA is rather small compared to other universities, and this has really enhanced my overall experience. All of the lecturers and seminar leaders know the students on a name basis and are always willing to provide extra help when needed.
    Location:
    Norwich is the ideal student city. There are plenty of opportunities to have fun and experience the great night life Norwich has to offer, but there are also lots of cultural events regularly going on in the city. Norwich is a very safe city, which is important when you first come to university, and the campus is not too far from the city center.
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation at UEA is more affordable compared to other universities. I lived in the Ziggurats, which was so fun and a great way to meet other students from a range of backgrounds. There is a lot of assistance available through the university if there are any housing concerns.
    Settling in:
    There is such a great community vibe on campus, and I found it extremely easy to settle in to university. There are so many freshers events going on around campus when you first arrive, and everyone is so friendly and approachable.
  • Kittiarty's avatar by Kittiarty on 16th June 2018
    Overall:
    Whilst there were a few ups and downs, I think that this is something everyone goes through at university regardless of where you go or what you study. My lecturers worked hard to make sure my course was right for me, and organised events that would interest us. Campus life was great, the UEA campus doesn't lack anything and is filled with facilities regardless of your interests. Everyone at UEA is really friendly and understanding, and that's one of the factors which made studying there really enjoyable for me.
    University:
    There are loads of facilities offered on campus, so much so that I barely left it during my first year. There's a gym, library, plenty of places to get a coffee and some shops along the street that are really helpful. The student union is good in that there's always something going on for everyone. I didn't use much in the way of welfare, although I know that the mental health services are often very full; however, as far as I know the student union are working to change this, much like any other issues that arise.
    Course:
    The course is well structured and teaching covers all the bases. There is a lot of self study required, but this is to be expected on a language degree. However, the library has plenty of resources for self study, and although the lecturers have other classes to teach, they are always happy to help with anything during their office hours.
    Location:
    I really like that the campus is separate from the city, as it is a little bit quieter and has some greenery around. However, it's easy enough to get into the city by bus quite quickly, which is really convenient, and it's a great city centre with loads of shops and restaurants. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that Norwich can be quite a pain to get to from anywhere else; if you're travelling by train, expect to transfer at Ely!
    Accommodation:
    I lived in on-campus halls in my first year which was a really good choice for me. The rooms were spacious, the location was great, and there were cleaners who came in every week or so to tidy up and take out the rubbish. As far as price is concerned, halls will be a little more expensive than renting privately, but do come with bills and internet included, and I personally think they're the best choice for your first year at uni.
    Settling in:
    Personally, I had really been looking forward to moving out of my hometown so going to uni was a breath of fresh air for me. However, UEA made it really easy to settle in because of the great student union. There's always something going on, and they put on a really great Fresher's Week for those looking to have a good time.
  • beygee's avatar by beygee on 14th June 2018
    Overall:
    Overall, I had a really great time at UEA and was supported throughout my time in various ways. They support you academically, personally, in terms of careers and any other issues you may have. I was intellectually challenged and given the freedom to really shape my own degree.
    University:
    I did not really involve myself with societies etc but the facilities were good - the library, shops etc
    Course:
    My lecturers were excellent and, for the most part, there was a great deal of choice in terms of modules, meaning that I could explore whichever area I was interested in.
    Location:
    Norwich is a great place with tonnes to do. The only downside is that the campus is not in the centre.
    Accommodation:
    Great quality, quite expensive in comparison to local rent prices.
    Settling in:
    There was a lot of support offered, which made settling in quite easy
  • GingerCanary's avatar by GingerCanary on 13th June 2018
    Overall:
    Would highly recommend UEA and Politics at UEA - really engaging course content, great resources at the university and a great atmosphere!
    University:
    Plenty of places to sit and have a coffee, get some food, have a chat or quietly read something. The student union is really active and there is such a great array of societies to choose from. The library is fantastic too - lots of great free online resources and there is now a coffee shop in there too!
    Course:
    I found the course really interesting and the array of modules to choose from were fantastic. There are so many different modules you can choose that suit your particular interests in Politics (eg, if you're interested in foreign policy you can choose modules on particular countries or regions and if you're interested in politics and the media, you can choose modules on how the two are linked). The compulsory modules are also really worthwhile and interesting. The module content is really engaging and the teaching is fantastic. The lecturers make themselves available to support you and are always willing to answer any questions or queries you have.
    Location:
    I have known Norwich for a long time as I have lived nearby since I was young and it is a really nice city. There is plenty to do in the city and the campus is easy to get to on the 25/26 bus route.
    Accommodation:
    I can't really comment personally as I commuted from home but from feedback from friends, the accommodation is pretty good
    Settling in:
    I would say it took me about 3 weeks to get used to things at the university but I'm sure if you're staying on campus or living really close to the uni, that will probably take a little shorter time to get settled in. The university makes you feel really welcome with lots of talks and events to help you settle in and students are always on hand to answer any questions!
  • DominikaSzy's avatar by DominikaSzy on 12th June 2018
    Overall:
    Overall, my UEA experience has been great and those three years have given me a chance to grow as a person and gain a lot of valuable skills. I should also add that the staff at UEA really cares about the students' employability and hiring potential and thanks to that I had a chance to complete a great internship and learn about the real world of work. UEA didn't let me down in terms of academics and the overall atmosphere and therefore I would highly recommend this place to future students!
    University:
    I cannot say anything bad about the services available on campus. There is everything you could possibly need during the day (bank, grocery shop, cafeteria etc.) as well as a huge sport spark and tons of students societies of various themes.
    Course:
    I've decided to choose this course with the intention of hopefully mastering the French language and become a culturally aware person. The module content and the way in which the course was set up allowed me to do just that. Although the contact hours were relatively low in hours it gave me plenty of time for independent study time which is how I work best. The core language modules consisted of a variety of assessments which allowed for the development of all skills necessary for effective communication in the foreign language. In the final year I had a chance to test my language skills gained though the Erasmus exchange through translation seminars and interpreting classes which included several professional practice schemes for which I received detailed feedback.
    Location:
    The campus is located outside of the city center however it is very easy to get to by bus. UEA is surrounded by a lot of greenery and a lake which is visible from many places on campus such as the library. Norwich itself is a city with an interesting history which offers plenty of choice for students when it come to part-time jobs or entertainment.
    Accommodation:
    I have not stayed in the university accommodation therefore I cannot comment on this.
    Settling in:
    For a student who decided to live at home for the duration of undergraduate studies at the UEA, my experience might have differed significantly from the rest. However, although I didn't live on campus I still felt like I belonged to the UEA community due to the connections made through student societies. Additionally, I loved the fact that professors at UEA are so easy to talk to and they never fail to help and offer advice!
  • avengedabbie's avatar by avengedabbie on 20th February 2018
    Overall:
    Would not hesitate to recommend this university as an option - the full package.
    University:
    Honestly I'm so glad I came here. I arrived through clearing and never viewed the uni so i was apprehensive but it goes beyond expectation. The sportspark has multiple facilities that are reasonably price and of high standards (i love the pool!). I live in the library, there are plenty of resources for every course and the staff are friendly - and it's 24/7! I feel that the student union have a huge influence on the university and really listen to the students. Finally there is a whole range of societies so you're bound to find one you love!
    Course:
    found that the modules lend to each other really well. Super interesting content for a range of fields with some fantastic lecturers.
    Location:
    Norwich is a fantastic and beautiful place to live. It's easy access to the town by bus, with plenty of shops and nightlife is plentiful for those on and off campus! As mentioned before, the campus itself is wonderful with its masses of greenery and the lake.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Nelson Court and I loved it there so much, for what you got i think the price is amazing and Norwich as a whole is a generally reasonable place to live cost wise. Campus is beautiful and so relaxing - a great communal vibe there!
    Settling in:
    I personally settled it super quickly as quite an independent person prior but you're all in the same boat and you make friends super quick! I know some people struggle with distance to begin but it's totally worth it.
  • Just anotherguy's avatar by Just anotherguy on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great! There's nothing more that I could ask for!
    University:
    I could not name one facility that is missing that I would need
    Course:
    Perfect balance of early patient contact, clinical skills and theory from Year 1
    Location:
    Norwich has anything you could really ask for out of a young student city
    Accommodation:
    Close to lectures as it is on-campus and well facilitated.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, even with cultural differences
  • mobbsy91's avatar by mobbsy91 on 7th August 2016
    Overall:
    With not the best rep out there, it actually is a really great uni, and if you do like it when coming to visit on open day, then definitely seriously consider coming!
    University:
    Generally the uni life was really good! The library is open 24/7 which is great for last minute work! The SU shop has a nighthatch for you to buy things up until about 4 in the morning, then the shop is open again at about 7! On campus club, as well as two decent sized bars! Great sportspark with loads of facilities as well.
    Course:
    The lecturers are on the whole really good, and are happy for you to ask them lots of questions. Quite similar to A level economics in the first year, however there was a fair amount of new content, especially in the other modules! Feedback was about 4 weeks, if not a little more, which could get nerve wracking, but generally the quality of feedback was quite good.
    Location:
    Norwich is a pretty nice city, with loads to do! Although it's a bit out of the way, if you're looking for somewhere far from home, whilst still being a relatively cheap city to live in, then it's awesome!
    Accommodation:
    Relatively nice halls, and if something was broken, it'd be fixed straight away! In mine, only microwave ovens, and no real oven, so that could get quite annoying. Location was right on campus, so really great, and they offered a range of places depending on how much you could afford.
    Settling in:
    Settled in pretty quickly, though not my first time away from home for long periods of time, so it was easier for me than some. Always lots to do, especially in the first week, so you don't have masses of time to ponder things!
  • mobbsy91's avatar by mobbsy91 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant - a truly friendly atmosphere
    University:
    It's so much fun!! And lots of booze!
    Course:
    They always respond quickly and open to questions whenever
    Location:
    Bit of a trip into the City, but not too bad :)
    Accommodation:
    They don't have real ovens :o
    Settling in:
    Easy to make friends and settle!
  • I don't know?  's avatar by I don't know? on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Lots to do within the uni.
    Course:
    Because all the staff are friendly and ready to help you if needed and made me feel comfortable.
    Location:
    In a lovely area.
    Accommodation:
    I have a rented property. It's lovely but expensive.
    Settling in:
    Everyone makes you feel welcome.
  • Henrytrowe's avatar by Henrytrowe on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    I am yet to fully experience it all but so far it has been great
    Course:
    I have no complaints about the uni at all
    Location:
    I have always loved Norwich as a city
    Accommodation:
    I commute so I have thus given it a neutral rating
    Settling in:
    I have found it harderror to make friends than people living on campus
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it as very good experience. UEA is a great uni to meet people as its so easy though social events on campus and bars etc. The facilities are good with a big sports park and good library. You have a lot of support if you need it !!
    University:
    It has good uni facilities a good sized library, lots of cafes and bars and a club. I like the fact they have a lot of support for students on campus academically and for social issues.
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course as the teaching style suits me well. I like the fact they teach you practical skills in your first few weeks and they also get you on placement quickly which helps give you an idea of what working life will be like.
    Location:
    U really like the city of Norwich it has everything you need. I like the fact the city has an older cultural side with lots of churches and old buildings. It also has lots of shops clubs pubs bars cinemas bowling etc.
    Accommodation:
    I like the university location it's on beautiful grounds and all in one place though it is quite big it's nice to know you can just walk to campus and you have all your lectures in a building there.
    Settling in:
    I feel like I settled in quite quickly as everyone was really friendly and made me feel at home. I made a good group of friends in my first couple of weeks and feel like I'm getting the hang of the campus and city now.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing! But lack of parking so don't commute! ;)
    University:
    UEA has everything you could need from a nightclub to a post office!
    Course:
    It's good, however too many intro lectures
    Location:
    I love Norwich!
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student accommodation but it looks amazing
    Settling in:
    Very friendly feeling. However campus is massive and I still have more to explore!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    One of the best
    University:
    There is so much to do and everyone made me feel at ease and welcome
    Course:
    It was good for me not to go straight into the hard maths and take some science modules that I enjoy and find new subjects I never thought I would do
    Location:
    It's not in the city so there are fields and woods and a lake but it is only a short bus journey to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Things keep breaking and we don't have an oven but the micro wave combis make things interesting
    Settling in:
    It feels like home here
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome
    University:
    Sports
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    Could bebitcloser
    Accommodation:
    Awesome
    Settling in:
    Home feels
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its good but nursing is disorganised.
    University:
    Nursing courses don't have the same uni life style as other courses.
    Course:
    The course seems very disorganised, the work we do in school in lectures seems either too basic or too difficult or completely pointless.
    Location:
    I like the city and there are buses that easily take you into the city. However for commuting to the university it is a nightmare as traffic is so bad
    Accommodation:
    I don't live on campus but my friends say its okay. some of the facilities don't work and its quite pricey.
    Settling in:
    Feel at home now but for quite a while I didn't as there are too many people on the course that it takes a long time.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE