Member reviews of University of Edinburgh

  • JoanW's avatar by JoanW on 25th July 2019
    Overall:
    Weather's grumpy
    University:
    Libraries, societies, clubs, shops were all great but I was a bit depressed
    Course:
    Lectures are great (lots of jargons tho) But it depends on the optional course you choose, your tutor and whether you can get up for lectures???? I start to miss lectures when I thought it was all high school stuff and boring, at which point homework became difficult... In general, scientific courses (eg Logic) are better than language courses for optionals PS. 1st year maths exams are open book (but textbooks aren't cheap)
    Location:
    5 min from city centre I'd say. Surrounded by lunch shops, museums, pubs, parks
    Accommodation:
    I applied very late and it wasn't where I want to live ... no common room, no lift I recommend Pollock halls for 1st years
    Settling in:
    Welcome week sounded very great but I only got my cas at the end of August so I missed it. Sometimes I spent more time on homework but got a worse score
  • Lauraaspinall's avatar by Lauraaspinall on 25th July 2019
    Overall:
    I love this uni, the people and my life in Edinburgh.
    University:
    I think Edinburgh city is perfect for students; loads to do during the day and plenty of stuff for nights out. The library is very central but can get busy, however, there are lots of other places available to students. There's a huge gym for the university on central campus along with a smaller gym up at the science site. There are loads of clubs and societies open to students and i highly recommend signing up for a at least a few of these.
    Course:
    I have really enjoyed chemistry at Edinburgh so far. The tutors are lovely and the lectures are well structured. There is plenty of time spent in the labs, but unfortunately this means lots of lab reports aswell! There are lots of people on the course and lots of opportunities to get to know one another, especially thanks to the huge chemistry society ChemSoc which puts on events for current students.
    Location:
    Perfect location.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in catered accommodation for 1st year. I met loads of people and my room was really nice. I didn't mind sharing a bathroom, and these were cleaned on a daily basis. In 2nd and 3rd year I have lived in a flat in central Edinburgh, student flats aren't hard to find but the process of applying and actually getting a flat can be tedious and very annoying.
    Settling in:
    I met lots of people on my first day thanks to my accommodation, the common room downstairs meant everyone met lots of people straight away. It took me slightly longer to settle into my course, but joining societies and clubs soon helped me to find my feet.
  • Henrybodle's avatar by Henrybodle on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Wouldn't change university even if I had the option of any (maybe I'm biased though)
    University:
    Love the course, living at university, and the night life in the city
    Course:
    Great campus and facilities on site, even if it is far from the main university campus. The lecturers are all approachable and willing to discuss any issues or problems with taught content, and are friendly in practical sessions.
    Location:
    Great vet school campus, but still a 30 minute bus from most student accommodations/student flat locations
    Accommodation:
    Old buildings means they can be cold and potentially damp, but once you buy a few warm jumpers and coats, you can look past that.
    Settling in:
    .
  • Signal15's avatar by Signal15 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    University Accommodation, and also Accommodation in Edinburgh in general can be a bit of a pain because of the price. Otherwise, Uni life and quality of teaching are amazing.
    University:
    If you are going to Edinburgh Uni, make sure you join at least one society. Similar societies often interact with eachother so you may end up joining several whether you intend to or not.
    Course:
    Timetable is very full, expect to start at 9 all weekdays, pretty much every semester. Some courses that are offered may clash.
    Location:
    There is tons to do in Edinburgh, even just in and around the University itself. Still finding things here I didn't know existed. Super cool buildings as well
    Accommodation:
    Rent costs very high for the size of room you are likely to be getting. Expect to pay £425 or more per month to stay in most uni accommodation. It is only guaranteed you will get a place in accommodation when you are a first year.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week in Edinburgh is fantastic. Lots of society events, club nights and welcome events for accommodation and courses.
  • beklawitter's avatar by beklawitter on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoy it here. The atmosphere is wonderful and the city is beautiful and being here for the semester has been really fun so far.
    University:
    A lot of options and events
    Course:
    The professors are really good and helpful and the city is beautiful.
    Location:
    In the middle of everything so you can go to a lot of places fairly quickly
    Accommodation:
    Clean and easy to get places
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and helpful
  • lste's avatar by lste on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would rate my university very highly as i love both the city and my course.
    University:
    I very much enjoy uni life, and both my course and sports clubs contribute to this greatly, Personally I have not had to use the welfare provision, it has been advertised well.
    Course:
    There is a lot of choice in modules, whilst still have structured mandatory courses that enable you to develop skills required in all other courses you take.
    Location:
    The university is very central within the city, and most of it is easy to get to and surrounded by cafes and shops etc for lunches if required. The city itself is also beautiful, and you have access to historical sites, and the sea not too far away.
    Accommodation:
    My accomodation was private, and was of excellent quality. Much of the accomodation in the city has adequate facilities, and almost all of them are very central.
    Settling in:
    I think freshers is a misleading week at any university due to that amount of events put on, and having moved to a strange place.
  • WhySoSarious's avatar by WhySoSarious on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The only downsides are that the catered food is not worth the money, and the quality of tutors varies. Otherwise, I couldn't be happier.
    University:
    There are tons of societies to choose from, and the student union is always hard at work. The library is now open all night, which is great. Overall the facilities are amazing.
    Course:
    The lecturers are very good and the recordings they submit of the lectures, help in later studies. The feedback is very good and informative.
    Location:
    Close to campus, not too much in the city, but close enough to be near all the necessary shops and facilities.
    Accommodation:
    Although the catering is far too expensive for the quality, the accomodation itself is lovely. Very well run, and I love being here.
    Settling in:
    I felt right at home by the end of the first week. Everyone was so kind and helpful.
  • adamingas's avatar by adamingas on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am only some weeks in the course so whatever i said Is very subjective and may not be true in some cases. I will review the university again when I will complete the third year.
    University:
    I haven't been to the gym but I habe heard that it's one of the best in the UK. However the library is really small for a university of this prestige and size.
    Course:
    The teaching quality depends entirely on the professor or lecturer giving the lecture, or the phD students helping us through the problem sheets in the tutorials. However, for my course at least, the coursework is extremely heavy with one assignment due every day and 6 tutorials or workshops per week. The lecture times are very limited and almost all the learning is done independently.
    Location:
    The city is beautiful and the university is at the city's heart. Kings buildings are situated south of Edinburgh and the only problem is that it takes me 45 by walking to get there.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is situated in the centre of Edinburgh. The rooms and the kitchens are modern and equipped with the essentials.
    Settling in:
    Most of the times I have felt unguided in regards to what has to be done next, which induction lectures to attend what events are essential or recommended. I have done on my own most of the stuff that had to be done in order to get started with the academic year.
  • Coralight's avatar by Coralight on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very easy to settle into, work in first year is pretty easy so far. Every engineer has told me not to worry about first year and so far I can agree.
    University:
    Excellent societies, drink isn't too cheap at the union but is cheaper than surrounding pubs. Shops everywhere so shopping is no problem after lectures. Library is an excellent place to study and easily accessible,
    Course:
    Lectures are interesting and easy to follow. However, in mathematics it is clear that one of the lecturers is just reading off a page and not bothering all that much, this is not the case with every mathematics lecture.
    Location:
    Very central, Edinburgh is very walkable through out the central campus, and Kings Building can be accessed very easily through the shuttle bus. However, a friend is doing Vet Medicine and has to leave very early in the morning due to how far away the campus is located.
    Accommodation:
    Quick response to anything broken, staff are incredibly friendly.
    Settling in:
    Everyone at uni is very accepting, so far professors are intrigued as to how you are getting on
  • million_dollar's avatar by million_dollar on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been less than a month and I'm already so busy packed with work, socialing with people as well as the breathtaking views in Edinburgh. Never a dull moment in Edinburgh.
    University:
    There are many kinds of facilities for students to get access to. As well as tons of shops and malls for people to do shoppings.
    Course:
    The university puts the right amount of pressure on first year students so that they can get used to uni life, while allowing us to achieve much much more at the same time.
    Location:
    Since Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland and where some of the biggest festivals take place at, Edinburgh is a great place to study and visit. The campuses are spreaded across Edinburgh, however there are buses that can reach there easily.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is almost perfect other than the price. The accommodation I have selected is one of the most expensive ones, but it's definitely good value for money.
    Settling in:
    It really depends on if you've made any friends throughout the years. The university has provides us a lot of opportunities to meet new people from around the world. Making us feel at home wherever we are.
  • James W's avatar by James W on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great so far, so much to do and the teaching is world class.
    University:
    There are activities run by the uni almost every night. Including films showings, quizes and comedy nights. The library is open early into the morning and the sports facilities are the best I have ever seen at a very good price! There are so many societies that you really need to limit yourself.
    Course:
    Level of contact time is good and the lecturers and tutors are very interesting. There is breadth of content in the modules and seminars are always well planned.
    Location:
    Edinburgh is possibly the best city in the UK with history, shops, and nightlife all available. The buildings are stunning. The location is great as there is the city, the hills and the beach all on your doorstep. Oh and the zoo.
    Accommodation:
    I am living in a flat with 8 others but it is only a small kitchen. The noise level is also high near cowgate. However, it is clean and central. The staff are friendly.
    Settling in:
    It was difficult at first but a busy freshers week distracted you from missing home. Calls, texts and skype all help. Soon it feels like a new home.
  • rachel479  's avatar by rachel479 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'm doing medicine so I have lots of lectures and reading to do which can be stressful, and often means I can't go out and socialise when my friends are - this can feel isolating, but overall I am really ensuing the uni experience. I like the independence compared to loving at home.
    University:
    I'm doing medicine so I have lots of lectures and reading to do which can be stressful, and often means I can't go out and socialise when my friends are - this can feel isolating, but overall I am really ensuing the uni experience. I like the independence compared to loving at home.
    Course:
    I world prefere more contact hours. Also assessed group work may not appeal to everyone.
    Location:
    I love the city, the accommodation is within walking distance of most lectures, there are shops nearby, and good transport links
    Accommodation:
    The rooms are a little small but quite clean and modern and nice overall. The food is good mainly due to the variety on offer and the fact you're allowed to take as much as you want.
    Settling in:
    It took about a week to feel settled in
  • Nandos94's avatar by Nandos94 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good fun. Never looked back since starting.
    University:
    Great gym with many facilities. Good library and great nightlife.
    Course:
    It's thoroughly enjoyable with great support and varied teaching. Timetable is good and the place is amazing. Although feedback could be a tad more detailed but this is improving.
    Location:
    Amazing city. Amazing people. Amazing location. Amazing nightlife. Not too far from any outdoor activity.
    Accommodation:
    The housing is affordable but compared to the UK is quite high to national average. Although it is in good condition and a great way to meet folk so its good fun.
    Settling in:
    Really great atmosphere and environment and everyone is really welcoming.
  • Beri's avatar by Beri on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Perfect blend of what I like
    Course:
    Very interesting course
    Location:
    Close to my accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Excellent facilities
    Settling in:
    Everything went smoothly
  • Ican'teven's avatar by Ican'teven on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    My experience of the university was absolutely excellent (with some natural downsides! which are insignificant however). I want to advise everyone to choose this uni.
    University:
    The uni provides a wealth of opportunities that cater to (I believe) everyone's interests in one way or anoter
    Course:
    I am entirely happy with my course, it's great!
    Location:
    Edinburgh is a great city, but the buildings for the scientific faculties are quite far from the central campus and the centre of the city
    Accommodation:
    I have been extremely happy with the uni accommodation options
    Settling in:
    It took me some time to settle in, but that was due to personal reasons
  • ryanbegley96's avatar by ryanbegley96 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, definitely recommend for a solid understanding of the subject with good staff, amazing city and so much to do
    University:
    Amazing sports facilities and lots of night life opportunities to choose from as well as more sports and societies than I have time for , very good and friendly SU and anything you want in the city within a 15 min walk
    Course:
    Lecturers are all very helpful and engaging, and although the work can be hard, I still enjoy it thoroughly
    Location:
    Amazing city, and the campus i am on has a good transport like, a free shuttle bus provided by the uni
    Accommodation:
    Very good value for money with an amazing location in the centre of the city as I am on Cowgate. Downside is the number of washers/dryers for clothes is quite small but it is not too much inconvenience.
    Settling in:
    It happened quite quickly getting into routine etc
  • StaciGA's avatar by StaciGA on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic!
    University:
    Much better than school
    Course:
    I am so lucky to be on such a competitive course, I really can't complain about anything, it's amazing!
    Location:
    Bit of a walk from the station, but not too far out
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly
  • Raawiyah 's avatar by Raawiyah on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very amazing experience
    University:
    Because it's a beautiful city it's a very nice uni life
    Course:
    It's a good course and well organised
    Location:
    In the middle of the city so very lively
    Accommodation:
    Really good room And very clean
    Settling in:
    As in international student the university was very welcoming
  • Itisme's avatar by Itisme on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love it here. Lots of international students but if you like that then you'll like Edinburgh.
    University:
    Takes about 40 minutes to walk to my lectures which is annoying.
    Course:
    Lecturers are great, tutorials are very helpful.
    Location:
    Lovely city with plenty of shops and things going on everywhere.
    Accommodation:
    It's a 60s house on a classic Edinburgh street and that should have been revealed really.
    Settling in:
    Took me a couple of days to make good friends.
  • Aphrodille's avatar by Aphrodille on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is beautiful and amazing and the university is wonderful
    University:
    Great, affordable gym, multiple societies, free guest lectures
    Course:
    The professors are helpful and enthusiastic, the syllabus is interesting and the city is beautiful
    Location:
    It's centrally located, accommodation nearby and in the heart of Old Town
    Accommodation:
    Edinburgh does have a rat problem, even in uni accommodation, but it is otherwise lovely
    Settling in:
    Ten days in and Edinburgh was home
  • DanielleDx's avatar by DanielleDx on 25th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a fantastic university and a beautiful campus
    University:
    Everything us central and we'll maintained
    Course:
    Feedback and support could be better
    Location:
    The location is fantastic and easily accessible
    Accommodation:
    The location was fantastic but conditions were disgusting. As were the rats.
    Settling in:
    Two semesters
  • RD208's avatar by RD208 on 20th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great university with great opportunities. It's big, there are a lot of students, and so it can be easy to feel small and insignificant. This also impacts intimate teaching time. However, it has a great atmosphere and I would definitely recommend studying here.
    University:
    I'm probably not as active as I should be. I don't go to enough societies and so I meet fewer people. I rarely go out with friends from uni and would only go out on weekends.
    Course:
    I awarded 4 stars because I am enjoying the course so far, but feel that it is not entirely 'perfect' and there are areas which could be improved.
    Location:
    There are buildings dotted about which I suppose could get annoying, but Edinburgh is small and easily accessible via public transport or on foot so it works for me.
    Accommodation:
    1 star because its not relevant to me - I lived at home
    Settling in:
    Initially it took time to deal with the new way of working and organizing workload. Apart from this I had little problem, mostly due to the fact I was still living at home.
  • AnimalArk's avatar by AnimalArk on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing so far.
    University:
    There is pretty much everything!
    Course:
    Hands on, informative and awesome.
    Location:
    The campus is far but it is amazing and modern.
    Accommodation:
    Far from campus and a tad too expensive.
    Settling in:
    I felt like I'd been here forever just after a few days.
  • cah846's avatar by cah846 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really love Edinburgh because of it's location, the quality of the courses they deliver, the stunning architecture and surrounding natural beauty; for me, it's just the perfect place to be and I never want to leave.
    University:
    The atmosphere on campus is always friendly and inclusive.
    Course:
    It's an excellent course, however there have been some hiccoughs and I feel I'd be better suited to a slightly more geophysical degree.
    Location:
    I love the city of Edinburgh!
    Accommodation:
    There's always room for improvement. There were some pretty ridiculous house rules imposed after some incidents occurred in the common room.
    Settling in:
    I'm still working out where I fit in.
  • emeraldeyes's avatar by emeraldeyes on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 *
    University:
    as above and our unions are GREAT! a pizza and pint for a
    Course:
    history of art is fab nothing wrong History the popular courses are so close together and some teachers are so vague
    Location:
    central with lots to do cheap for a city RUGBY countryside close by
    Accommodation:
    Cannot fault Pollock halls apart from the JMCC
    Settling in:
    as above pollock great and great people
  • 20megs's avatar by 20megs on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been fantastic, but only because I pushed myself. You have to put yourself out there and make an effort, otherwise you will never make any friends and studying isn't everything, you also need a social life, if you are to make it through the stresses of academic life. Edinburgh has three student unions and so many opportunities to do something you love. I am very glad that I chose to go The University of Edinburgh.
    University:
    There is a massive range of societies at Edinburgh and it caters to everyone. The gym and sports societies are also fairly affordable and the library is great. It houses so many books that I need for my studies and there is even a small library in my department's building. I have had no contact with welfare but I've not heard great things from other students.
    Course:
    I really enjoy all of the classes that I take and I have some great lecturers and language tutors, however, the department is very unorganised.
    Location:
    I love Edinburgh. It is a beautiful city and we are situated right in the heart. Accommodation in the area is affordable, which meant that last year I lived a 5 minute walk from the library.
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in some of the nicest accommodation but paid a good amount for it because I shared a room. I had an ensuing bathroom and a balcony, yet I paid less than students in single rooms in worse housing!
    Settling in:
    I felt at home after only a few weeks. This is dependant on the person, not the university in my opinion. I threw myself into the experience and immediately made my best friends in the first week, others were not so lucky.
  • spurzio's avatar by spurzio on 7th September 2015
    Overall:
    6/10, having only completed first year. I'm sure first year is tough anywhere, but I'm not convinced the accommodation I was at 1. suited me and 2. did enough to help me feel settled. It was often a lonely and intimidating time when you're surrounded by so many extroverted people. But societies helped me find my feet, and the courses themselves are generally interesting and well run.
    University:
    Lots of great and diverse societies Library is pretty great (though busy) Gym is great, but expensive Plenty of shops and pubs, and a great student union
    Course:
    Some entertaining lecturers which help to bring dryer topics to life Lots of outside course choice Tutorials are generally poorly run
    Location:
    Beautiful city Almost all the accommodation is a short walk to the centre and university buildings
    Accommodation:
    Chancellor's Court at Pollock Halls was extremely clean and fancy Generally quite an antisocial atmosphere in the halls Accommodation team (lazily) shares the cost of any damages across the whole building rather than focusing on those responsible Catered food was, at times, uneatable
    Settling in:
    Bearing in mind I've only done first year, it was pretty tough and you really have to put a lot of effort into meeting like minded people. Societies are a fantastic way to do that however. Halls of residence may suit some people, but it made me feel more lonely than social.
  • bryanctan's avatar by bryanctan on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a pleasant experience overall, not because I live on Pleasance Street, but because there's so much to see and do in such a quaint city. It's perfect for those seeking a calm but living city that embraces diversity, and it's filled with a history that makes its modern existence so beautiful.
    University:
    Campus life is pretty methodical: go to class, get some food, go to another class. It's an easy existence, and not much disturbs it apart from pop-uo booths on campus. The libraries are spread out across different campuses, so there's a library for different needs. Not much shopping available apart from the student union shops that serve as convenience stores. The center for sport and exercise has so many facilities that one probably needs a tour to figure what is where, but facilities aplenty. Welfare provision is pretty much available to anyone in need of it, which is good in case of emergencies. The student union dabbles in all kinds of issues and events that it's hard to keep up, not that anyone needs to, but it's nice to know that the student union is super active. There's a club and society for everyone, but there's certainly a need for more unique ones, and not boring old political, journalistic, or economical groups.
    Course:
    The timetables are not too early or too late, and are nicely spread out. The course structure is organised in digestible chunks, but may be too fast-moving for some. The module content is interesting as it covers a broad spectrum, and caters to everyone's tastes. The quality of teaching/feedback is good, but it really depends on the student as to how much help he/she gets from their tutors, as tutors can only ever teach generally unless someone asks for the specifics. The quality of lectures/seminars varies dramatically depending on the lecturer, but more casual and modern methods are preferable.
    Location:
    Edinburgh is just the perfect place. It's magical, it's wonderful, it's serene. As an arts student, it's a dream. The campus might be right in the bustling city centre, but it's an amazing experience to see so many citizens of such a fantastic city.
    Accommodation:
    The quality is top-notch as maintenance is a beneficial regularity. Location is right in the city centre, so all is great. Affordability might be a problem if not sharing with others, so it could be better, but not entirely unaffordable.
    Settling in:
    The period it took to find good close friends was very difficult. It depends on the person, as many settled right in, but personally, I had trouble finding my crowd.
  • hunteronetwo's avatar by hunteronetwo on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good, I enjoy it greatly and the uni offers lots of support.
    University:
    Good amounts of things to do and facilities are quite decent.
    Course:
    Perfect course for me
    Location:
    Good location, easily accessible.
    Accommodation:
    Could be cheaper.
    Settling in:
    I settled in well and made friends quickly.
  • div2994's avatar by div2994 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a great city, the campus is fantastic, and you'd be studying under leading academics in their field (many of the professors are highly sought after and they're all frisky and approachable). The societies are great as well. Plus transport to and from Edinburgh all over the country isn't too expensive if you book at the right times.
    University:
    It has everything you'd need. The shops have everything you need and the library is superb.
    Course:
    The tutors are fantastic, the quality of lectures and seminars is great, but we don't go into quite as much detail as I'd like - the texts are treated quite broadly.
    Location:
    I adore the city, I can see myself living here for years, and the campus is great - they're currently refurbishing and the new buildings are lovely. The old buildings however are what give the uni its character.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the uni and private halls are second to none, but it's so expensive to rent that the shine is taken off slightly. Renting flats privately also cost a fortune and in order to live somewhere you'd actually want to live, the location can be quite far from the campus.
    Settling in:
    I immediately felt at home. I felt like I should have been living and studying here all my life.
  • whyitsabi's avatar by whyitsabi on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 - it's not perfect but it's pretty awesome.
    University:
    There is always something happening and the gym is great (just busy) and it's got a great social life.
    Course:
    One of my modules is quite unorganised but the rest are great.
    Location:
    It's close to everything.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is so lush but it's quite far out and expensive.
    Settling in:
    It's really easy to feel at home there.
  • hannagem's avatar by hannagem on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    10 out of 10
    University:
    it's been ideal and perfect
    Course:
    I like it!
    Location:
    convenient location
    Accommodation:
    it's spacious enough and clean
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly and comfortably
  •  's avatar by on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's really good and easy to make friends. Just stay on top of the workload!!!
    University:
    Societies clash with lectures, so I can't join societies
    Course:
    some lecturers aren't very good
    Location:
    nice city, but pollution problems
    Accommodation:
    Good but expensive
    Settling in:
    really easy to settle in
  • S1345487's avatar by S1345487 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Bit snobby
    University:
    I enjoy it
    Course:
    Accurate
    Location:
    Edinburgh centre
    Accommodation:
    Average
    Settling in:
    Yup
  • S1504552's avatar by S1504552 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a beautiful place with a very good reputation. Incredible staff and a great bunch of students.
    University:
    Night life isn't great. But the sports facilities available are amazing, also any other helful advice offices and the library etc are all great!
    Course:
    All professors and teachers i have are willing to help me and they seem interested in making me accomplish what I want. The course is a lot more practical than I thought it would be, however it isn't a bad thing, I've experienced it being a helpful learning tool. Also, my timetable is packed which can become a bit stressful, but atleast I'm taking full advantage of what the university has to offer, teaching wise.
    Location:
    It's in the center of Edinburgh so it's close to pretty much everything
    Accommodation:
    Abbeyhill has just been built so it's modern and has everything I need. It's a little further away from uni buildings but the walk isn't too bad. Beautiful room and kitchen, very comfortable. I just wish there was more communal activities.
    Settling in:
    Everyone has been healthy and kind to me from day 1. Any question I have is quickly answered and everyone has made an effort to make me feel comfortable it seems.
  • Can't remember's avatar by Can't remember on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    There are so many opportunities to join and take part in.
    Course:
    I have really enjoyed the course so far. The course leaders have been really helpful. I have also enjoyed choosing outside courses.
    Location:
    The city and campus are great and so easy to get around.
    Accommodation:
    The building itself is poor quality however the room is bigger than I thought and has great location only 15 minutes from the centre of university campus and is one of the cheaper accomodations
    Settling in:
    It took awhile because it is such a different system and I am alone i don't know anyone here. I haven't fully settled in yet.
  • LauraHamiltonZH's avatar by LauraHamiltonZH on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    World class teaching and facilities
    University:
    Vet School campus world class, but very separate from rest of Uni
    Course:
    Well structured, interesting material
    Location:
    Beautiful city, however my campus is very far out
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, poor facilities in my particular accommodation
    Settling in:
    Very friendly city
  • Alice Florence's avatar by Alice Florence on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The quality of the education is great and Edinburgh is a fantastic city.
    University:
    Incredible atmosphere and although there is not a "campus", the Uni area is buzzing with student life.
    Course:
    I find it very interesting and engaging, however most of the material is posted online and I find the website very confusing. Some of the tutorials are overly competitive.
    Location:
    Fantastic central location, near so many cafes and shops as well as clubs and libraries.
    Accommodation:
    I'm in private student accommodation which is lovely but expensive.
    Settling in:
    I've found it hard to make friends and I am quite an outgoing person. Took a long time to sort out my timetable too.
  • ws2's avatar by ws2 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni I would recommend it to everyone
    University:
    There's a variety of clubs and societies suitable for everyone
    Course:
    I enjoy the classes and the course overall, but I need to commute between two campuses which is not ideal.
    Location:
    It's in a town centre with a very easy access through public transport
    Accommodation:
    I am not in a student accommodation I rent a flat.
    Settling in:
    I settled in ok, freshers week allowed me to get to know the university
  • don't know what that is's avatar by don't know what that is on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    You will have to find similar courses on line...or somewhere to get the information needed to pass the exams as it is NOT available from the course or the tutors
    University:
    It is OK but I value this less than the chance to do well in my course
    Course:
    Lecture notes are very far from complete Lectures are seldom accurate and usually poor PAST Exam papers are often not available
    Location:
    Good position in a small city
    Accommodation:
    centre of town and pretty good for the money
    Settling in:
    There was no special facility to help but it was OK
  • Shannongreen's avatar by Shannongreen on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience,
    University:
    Great uni experience
    Course:
    Good teaching quality and good reputation
    Location:
    Far away
    Accommodation:
    Clean and modern
    Settling in:
    Friendly people
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it really high.
    University:
    We miss out by being quite far away from the main buildings.
    Course:
    Good course, really preparing me for life as a teacher!
    Location:
    Love Edinburgh as a city!
    Accommodation:
    Really expensive!
    Settling in:
    Found it a really easy transition.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really nice university and city to live in
    University:
    really good student life
    Course:
    because there is always room for improvement
    Location:
    would have been nicer if the campus was closer to the centre
    Accommodation:
    They were not able to offer me any University accommodation
    Settling in:
    it did not take me too long to settle in. The University is quite well organized
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    The societies times are a bit restricting and the nightlife at the union could be better
    Course:
    Because the facilities are great and I feel really intellectually challenged
    Location:
    Edinburgh is such a brilliant city I love it
    Accommodation:
    It's pretty good but there are some areas to improve on
    Settling in:
    It took me a couple weeks to get settled in but now I feel right at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a quiet and nice city and the uni offers a lot of extracurricular activities, societies, events etc. There is no one day when nothing is happening. Medicine is a very good course, well organized and very rewarding.
    University:
    There are numerous societies and events so everyone can find something for themselves.
    Course:
    The lectures are good and the anatomy department is absolutely amazing, they have wonderful staff and give very good lectures and practical classes.The timetable is not very time consuming although you are expected to learn a lot (at least 2 h /day) in your own time.
    Location:
    Location: city centre; other facilities (e.g. hospital) are achievable by a free (for uni students) bus.
    Accommodation:
    There are numerous flats offered by uni and depending on what you pick, it's either more or less affordable/nice etc. Mine is newly refurbished, in the city centre and in an good price so I am very satisfied.
    Settling in:
    It was quite hard as it was the first time I was abroad alone for such a long period, although there are many events where you can meet people and feel less lonely
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars.
    University:
    Lots of choices for clubs and a lot of voluntary activity. Library accessible.
    Course:
    Lots of self study time to digest material. The lecturers are experts and bring out a lot of material.
    Location:
    Quiet enough to study, but not so quite to be boring. Accessible from many areas by walking.
    Accommodation:
    Room is comfortable, environment clean, staff friendly, food ok.
    Settling in:
    Took a while. I don't enjoy freshers week.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely worth to study here
    University:
    As above
    Course:
    Well organized
    Location:
    Learn quite a lot during the Uni life
    Accommodation:
    Fees are high and conditions are varied but good service
    Settling in:
    Student association helpful
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4/5 as there are still some things which I would like to change.
    University:
    I don't get involved in "uni life" with the student's union but I have heard good things about EUSA.
    Course:
    Social Policy department are fantastic and would have received 5 stars but the Politics department have a lack of care for students so there had to be a drop in the rating.
    Location:
    Right in the centre of Edinburgh - its perfect!
    Accommodation:
    My halls in first year were great! However, they were Unite private halls which the university had a contract with.
    Settling in:
    I think it takes a while to find your feet with both the social aspect and your course
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    student experience is good
    University:
    so much to do
    Course:
    Module Contant and timetable is really good. As is the course structure- quality of teaching form about 70% of lecturers is good. Tutorials teaching is ok. Quality of feedback I am yet to recieve
    Location:
    amazing location within the city
    Accommodation:
    location is amazing
    Settling in:
    Settled in really quickly and adapted to the city and changes well. just still miss home.
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would say the city and the university staff and infrastructure are amazing and definitely worth studying here. On the negative side, I would advise any prospective students to take a very close look at the degree structure (especially non-Scottish students who might be unfamiliar with the 4-year degree system).
    University:
    Very good quality university gym, the library has very convenient opening hours (until 2.30am!), and the city's shops, theatres and fascinating old town are all very close to the university buildings.
    Course:
    Despite very approachable, enthusiastic tutors who always reply to emails quickly and are very willing to help, I am giving a 2 stars rating because of the awful timetable (only 6 contact hours spread over 3 days a week, while the degree lasts 4 long years during which working is made difficult by the erratic timetable). The course structure makes little sense to me (pre-honours years could be studied in one semester in terms of the content). I personally also think that too much emphasis is put on group work assessments and discussion to the detriment of individual learning. Also, most of the texts on the syllabus I had already studied at school, which was disappointing and unchallenging.
    Location:
    The university buildings are all very centrally located, and the city has a lot to offer in terms of cultural and study-related events.
    Accommodation:
    Very good, central location close to uni. Very good quality and affordable.
    Settling in:
    I still do not feel at home at university (and probably never will). I was tempted to give this a 1 star rating, but taking into account the fact that I do not attend most of the student association's events/societies/clubs, I decided to give this a 3-star rating.
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Good society
    Course:
    Because it teached me all I needed
    Location:
    Nice city, but it rains every day
    Accommodation:
    Prices are pretty high
    Settling in:
    It was pretty easy
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a fantastic place to study and I can only recommend it
    University:
    We have a fantastic library and an insane amount of societieswith something for everybody.
    Course:
    It's not the course I initially wanted to do but I do like it
    Location:
    The city is beautiful but the campuses are really far apart and difficult to reach
    Accommodation:
    The housing is ridiculously competitive and the quality isn't overwhelming
    Settling in:
    Everyone was extremely welcoming and helpful
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    University of Edinburgh gave me the opportunity to read the Law although I didn't meet their requirement after A Level. Thank you and I'm always grateful about this.
    University:
    I'm a member of uni fitness centre and I love it! The law library is in the process of renovation (and the Old College) so this might not be so good!
    Course:
    All the lecturers are great with expertise in particular fields e.g. Prof. MacQueen and Prof. Reid All of them have many years of experience in teaching, of course. Tutorials are also great with many tutors being specialised in subjects. All the courses I'm doing (as well as the ones I did last year) are exactly what I had been looking for. Also, the city and people here are so nice. It's just perfect!
    Location:
    Well, the uni is in the centre of Edinburgh - Waverley Railway station is handy etc.
    Accommodation:
    I'm living in a uni studio apartment. The location is in the centre; 7-minute walk to uni campus and the centre of Edinburgh.
    Settling in:
    Edinburgh and all the friends here help me adapt myself to the new place.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Edinburgh is a very easy university to settle in to, there's plenty to do in your spare time and the academics are very interesting.
    University:
    There are a wide range of things to do at the university that make everyone feel included, there's always something going on somewhere.
    Course:
    It's a very comprehensive course and the teachers are brilliant, I just find it is quite similar to the A-Level course I studied back home.
    Location:
    There's a brilliant night life, the people are really nice, there's fantastic tourist things to do, such as shopping and museums and galleries.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of everything at the university accommodation is quite good, however it is a little prices for somewhere as distant from the uni as my accommodation is. However, there are many public transport links which make it much easier to travel to and from the centre city.
    Settling in:
    I found it incredibly easy to settle into uni life. All the student reps and teachers made the process very facilitating to students who re living away from home.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    There is nothing it doesn't have or need
    Course:
    I think the facilities and opportunities on this course are amazing and find that the course content itself to be throughly fascinating and enjoyable and I believe this to be due to how the course is taught as the staff are not only knowledgable but obviously passionate
    Location:
    Set in a beautiful city with fantastic transport links
    Accommodation:
    Although the university accommodation was good that I stayed in it was very far away from the veterinary campus and rather expensive but the only choice I was given. There is nothing close to my campus at all
    Settling in:
    Found it hard to adjust at first but after the first few weeks with the help of older students and various members of staff I feel right at home
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome
    University:
    Awesome
    Course:
    Awesome
    Location:
    Awesome
    Accommodation:
    Awesome
    Settling in:
    Awesome
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely fantastic experience.
    University:
    Vast number of societies and pubs and activities in general.
    Course:
    Approachable tutors, reasonable yet challenging tutorial homework. Some of the lectures are slightly useless though.
    Location:
    Decent sized city. Most campuses within walking distance. Lovely architecture.
    Accommodation:
    Decent sized room that includes all utility charges. Noisy neighbours.
    Settling in:
    People here are extremely approachable.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Everything at edinburgh is awesome
    Course:
    It's got everything I want
    Location:
    The city is amazing and the campus is right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    It's cheap and good for what it is
    Settling in:
    It was stressful at first but ice I found my friend group was fine
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's tough. That's all I can say. Most of the time you feel overwhelmed and lost but in the end its's worth it. You only get as much as you're willing to take.
    University:
    Good overall, but food and beverages are very expensive. The gym and libraries are awesome, though.
    Course:
    There are still a lot to be done to improve it.
    Location:
    There are campuses all over the town so it's very inconvenient if your courses are conducted by another school.
    Accommodation:
    Because it's overpriced, the rooms are very small.
    Settling in:
    Because I've met a lot of nice people who would not let me feel alone.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5, a decent mix of academic and student life.
    University:
    A bit bland, not much on all the time apart from your typical nightlife which you'd get everywhere. All though the Fringe is a big up.
    Course:
    The quality is inconsistent, some courses are fantastic and some are organised rather poorly. In particular the first two years of English Literature are obsessed with the canon, and not much freedom to do your own exploration.
    Location:
    Very central, easy to get to.
    Accommodation:
    A bit pricey, but the quality is well above average.
    Settling in:
    Lots of different people about.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a city with nice scenery, nice people and nice environment. Lessons are flexible as you get to choose what you want to study and when
    University:
    Facilities in school are really good, plenty of events are Organised to bring out the fun in school
    Course:
    The Lecturers are clear and engaging, and I love economics
    Location:
    It's pretty near city centre, and there are many bus services
    Accommodation:
    I didn't get my preferred choice of accommodation, and was allocated somewhere far away from school. Though the facilities are pretty good, the distance is still a major concern for me
    Settling in:
    Interaction with people of different nationalities was tough, there was little common topic.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    average
    University:
    shops close very early, no big shopping mall, good library, sport facilities,
    Course:
    content not that clear
    Location:
    separated campuses, have to move between classes
    Accommodation:
    expensive
    Settling in:
    still feel lonely
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed both the city and the university. I would choose Edinburgh all over again. It is a world famous university and an extremely friendly city-two birds with one stone.
    University:
    People are great and excited,pub are good and you can just go out by yourself and meet people.you can also do that at the library.
    Course:
    The teachers were highly-qualified,they were enthusiatic about teaching and ready to answer every question and e-mail.The courses were well-structured and covered in depth the resperctive module-outcome,
    Location:
    The campus (george square) is really central,most cafes,cowgate and princess street are right aroung the corner. King's Building is kinda far in a quiet,residential are.
    Accommodation:
    It is difficult to get a university accommodation is you are an EU prostgraduate. The competion on rentals is brutal and you pretty much have to spend a fortune to get a good apartment (Edinburgh is expensive).
    Settling in:
    I felt at home from the moment I set foot in Edinburgh. I had to place to live,knew no one but people are just so friendly that you cannot help but embrace the city,sit back and relax.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Reallllly nice. Would totally recommend
    University:
    Very good life
    Course:
    Proffessors are really nice and explain good. Facilitiea are exceptional
    Location:
    Really nice city
    Accommodation:
    Very good accommodatio
    Settling in:
    Staff helped
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I've only been here for a couple of weeks but I am already so pleased that I've come. I've met some wonderful people, joined some fantastic societies and am having a great time learning in my lectures and tutorials.
    University:
    There are a lot of societies on offer and plenty of places to go for a good night out.
    Course:
    I've really enjoyed my lectures - they are delivered in an informative and interesting way. I also enjoy and prefer having independent reading, I think it's a great way to develop your own opinions. My tutors so far do seem very approachable and keen to help us learn and enjoy our subjects.
    Location:
    Really great, lively city with a big main campus and good libraries.
    Accommodation:
    Not too expensive for a decent sized room and good shared kitchen. Also only a quick walk to the main campus.
    Settling in:
    Everyone has been so welcoming and as I've learned my way around the city I've felt a lot more comfortable.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really good!!!!
    University:
    Student bars etc really good; facilities great
    Course:
    Really good tutors; wide breadth of coverage; helogic and friendly staff
    Location:
    Perfect location
    Accommodation:
    Good location but not really equipped for student eg tiny kitchen for 10 of us; not soundproofed against nightlife. Poorly designed lay out
    Settling in:
    Freshers week kept me really busy
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its fun but very stressful
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    Not much guidance or help
    Location:
    Central
    Accommodation:
    Not too cheap
    Settling in:
    Too much pressure
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fairly good
    University:
    Amenities are easy to use and accessible
    Course:
    .
    Location:
    Like the city
    Accommodation:
    Do not live on campus
    Settling in:
    .
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would say it has been good so far. The city is amazing and the weather has been great, rare for Scotland haha.
    University:
    Uni life has been pretty exciting. There are lots of events and facilities to explore. But haven't had much time to focus on extra-curiculars yet due to work.
    Course:
    Haven't been as I expected. Quality of teaching is still pretty ok. Scheduling has been pretty messy according to some of my peers, as we are on different rotation. My current rotation is quite organised. A lot of independent work required and you have to keep note of when assignments are due.
    Location:
    It's a good location. Right in the city centre. However, I have to go to the hospital for teaching and that is a bit further off. It takes a 30-40 minute bus ride. Thus I have to get up early for morning classes!
    Accommodation:
    I am staying in a newly built accommodation so we're the first batch of tenants. My room is pretty comfy, with an en-suite bathroom. Some of the utilities were still being installed when we moved in but the essentials are already there. A bit more on the pricey side but it's near a bus stop and there are shops nearby.
    Settling in:
    I settled in pretty quickly as I guess there wasn't time to feel homesick and all. It was straight to work as I had to settle administration stuff, such as banking, payments etc.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Being here is great experience, I cannot regret choosing this uni
    University:
    A lot of intrestring things organised by EUSA
    Course:
    Everything is well organised however the clinical stuff are located far away from the central area
    Location:
    The city is amazing, even tough it is big, yet there is still peace and quite
    Accommodation:
    Location to centre/ uni area is great, a bit small rooms
    Settling in:
    I am not easly adjustable to new places
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    good overall, could be better events
    Course:
    Because I feel the quality of teaching is good, everything is well organised, and the content is amazing!
    Location:
    main campus right in the centre, but other campuses exist further out requiring bus/cycle/car
    Accommodation:
    Overall good, but could extend to older years as well as first years
    Settling in:
    took me no time at all to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars I'm so glad I went here
    University:
    There's great night life as well as educational events
    Course:
    It is very challenging and engaging
    Location:
    Edinburgh is an amazing city
    Accommodation:
    The location of accommodation is amaIng and the prices are very reasonable
    Settling in:
    The events in freshers week allowed me to quickly make friends
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a special place. The university is extraordinary
    University:
    It was great
    Course:
    It's a tough course but a good one
    Location:
    Have you ever been to Edinburgh? !
    Accommodation:
    I thought it was good
    Settling in:
    Because personally that's how I felt
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Ok so far, now that it counts towards my degree I am really going to have to knuckle down and I hope it is worth it, because even if I try hard I don't seem to be able to do well.
    University:
    Not that into the classic student life of getting smashed every weekend, as I've found my grades suffer massively. So I get alienated but it's a cost to get good grades in any way, shape or form.
    Course:
    It is quite dramatically maths based, more so than advertised.
    Location:
    It's brilliant for this, very close to city centre. Transport links are decent, and Edinburgh is a beautiful place.
    Accommodation:
    Edinburgh student flats are impossible to find at times, as they don't come online until January time ish then it is a mad dash to get sorted as there are few available.
    Settling in:
    I didn't feel at home for quite a few weeks, it was tough for a shy person as there were hardly any compulsory things that you had to go to where you could meet people.
  • by Anonymous on 12th September 2015
    Overall:
    Don't choose this university. Student satisfaction is low for a reason.
    University:
    Can't afford to print in the library. Can't afford to buy books and no books in library.
    Course:
    Crap lectures in 1st and 2nd year.
    Location:
    The uni is too spread out and has no feel to it. There is no sense of unity at this university.
    Accommodation:
    I tried to apply for housing but was rejected because I applied to late.
    Settling in:
    This uni feels like prison. Nothing like home.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    Its amazing, the course is great, uni life is great, the facilities are brill.
    University:
    The gym is amazing, the cafes and bars are lovely . It is almost impossible to get a seat in the library during revision time.
    Course:
    The structure is great, the teaching is great. You don't get much choice on lit modules.
    Location:
    Right in the Centre but it still feels like its all unified.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, lovely flat but everyone has mice and it would have been nice to have a common area and better laundry.
    Settling in:
    It was really easy, just different living with friends and having to sort out accommodation conflicts like washing up and cleaning was hard.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I rate my uni highly. Academically I have learnt so much and really enjoyed my course so far, and there is lots of support if you need it, including support outside of learning. The city is lovely, lively and peaceful, depending on your requirements. There is a great creative scene. The student accommodation is really sociable and when you move into rented accommodation you get so much more for your money than most places in the UK.
    University:
    I don't think uni life could be much better for the typical student
    Course:
    It is the first time I've ever been given the space, support and respect to do what I want to do
    Location:
    Right in the city centre, well connected, very friendly
    Accommodation:
    Really great accommodation, spacious, very friendly, good maintenance, clean etc. could've been cheaper
    Settling in:
    Loved my accommodation, great uni but changed course and so didn't immediately settle into it.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very good university with amazing lecturers and the city is really nice and has an interesting history.
    University:
    Plenty of shops, an amazing library and a very reasonable gym.
    Course:
    I really like the modules for my course.
    Location:
    The physics building is quite close to the city centre and easily accessible.
    Accommodation:
    Plenty of affordable options in a wide variety of locations.
    Settling in:
    It took a while to settle in as I was homesick and the university is far away from home.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    University isn't for everyone, but Edinburgh is a great place to be and its one of the best universities in the world. Some of the lecturers aren't great but generally the experience is amazing, especially from a social aspect.
    University:
    Life as a student in Edinburgh is as good as it gets in life. Everything is there and it's a beautiful but peaceful city.
    Course:
    It's interesting but very difficult and takes up a lot of time.
    Location:
    Perfect location, right in the centre of historic Edinburgh and all the bars and clubs surround it.
    Accommodation:
    It's not perfect but it's central, clean and has an amazing atmosphere.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to relax into being a student here.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's very posh....
    University:
    meh
    Course:
    Great supportive lecturers, interesting subjects and a feild im very interested in and passionate about
    Location:
    don't really like edinburgh but the Campus is great
    Accommodation:
    expensive
    Settling in:
    rubbish student halls flatmates
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing rep
    University:
    Quite far from main campus
    Course:
    Its okay..
    Location:
    Love the highlands and weather
    Accommodation:
    Staying in a new building
    Settling in:
    Quite far
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved studying at Edinburgh. Nothing is ever too far away. there is support available from first to final year in almost all aspects of being a student, from academic to personal issues.
    University:
    Excellent facilities for sports, societies and clubs. Student union is great and usually busy!
    Course:
    It had great content and structure, lacking in giving quick feedback
    Location:
    Edinburgh has everything you need, and has a great transport network
    Accommodation:
    A lot of housing available for students at reasonable prices
    Settling in:
    Felt at home within weeks of starting
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's welcoming and beautiful in an amazing city
    University:
    Edinburgh is the best city
    Course:
    It's the course I always wanted to do
    Location:
    On the outskirts of town
    Accommodation:
    Far from campus for vet students
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Most people have a really good time but be aware that Edi burgh is limited in what it offers as a city in comparison to say London and there's issues with student satisfaction in regards to essay feedback.
    University:
    Clubs get boring quickly but it's pretty.
    Course:
    Course structure in terms of time tabling is always going to be a bit ad hoc because of the Scottish degree structure. History modules were rushed in a sense and there was always the temptation to just acquiesce and just focus on specific things rather than the whole periods, English was better in that it was spread out. Lectures were hit and miss, as were tutorial.
    Location:
    It's Edinburgh! Beautiful and fun.
    Accommodation:
    Even cheaper accommodation was fairly good quality.
    Settling in:
    Personally I didn't settle in as quickly as many. But it happened in the end.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE