Member reviews of University of Edinburgh

  • Henrybodle's avatar by Henrybodle on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Wouldn't change university even if I had the option of any (maybe I'm biased though)
    University:
    Love the course, living at university, and the night life in the city
    Course:
    Great campus and facilities on site, even if it is far from the main university campus. The lecturers are all approachable and willing to discuss any issues or problems with taught content, and are friendly in practical sessions.
    Location:
    Great vet school campus, but still a 30 minute bus from most student accommodations/student flat locations
    Accommodation:
    Old buildings means they can be cold and potentially damp, but once you buy a few warm jumpers and coats, you can look past that.
    Settling in:
    .
  • Signal15's avatar by Signal15 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    University Accommodation, and also Accommodation in Edinburgh in general can be a bit of a pain because of the price. Otherwise, Uni life and quality of teaching are amazing.
    University:
    If you are going to Edinburgh Uni, make sure you join at least one society. Similar societies often interact with eachother so you may end up joining several whether you intend to or not.
    Course:
    Timetable is very full, expect to start at 9 all weekdays, pretty much every semester. Some courses that are offered may clash.
    Location:
    There is tons to do in Edinburgh, even just in and around the University itself. Still finding things here I didn't know existed. Super cool buildings as well
    Accommodation:
    Rent costs very high for the size of room you are likely to be getting. Expect to pay £425 or more per month to stay in most uni accommodation. It is only guaranteed you will get a place in accommodation when you are a first year.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week in Edinburgh is fantastic. Lots of society events, club nights and welcome events for accommodation and courses.
  • beklawitter's avatar by beklawitter on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoy it here. The atmosphere is wonderful and the city is beautiful and being here for the semester has been really fun so far.
    University:
    A lot of options and events
    Course:
    The professors are really good and helpful and the city is beautiful.
    Location:
    In the middle of everything so you can go to a lot of places fairly quickly
    Accommodation:
    Clean and easy to get places
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and helpful
  • lste's avatar by lste on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would rate my university very highly as i love both the city and my course.
    University:
    I very much enjoy uni life, and both my course and sports clubs contribute to this greatly, Personally I have not had to use the welfare provision, it has been advertised well.
    Course:
    There is a lot of choice in modules, whilst still have structured mandatory courses that enable you to develop skills required in all other courses you take.
    Location:
    The university is very central within the city, and most of it is easy to get to and surrounded by cafes and shops etc for lunches if required. The city itself is also beautiful, and you have access to historical sites, and the sea not too far away.
    Accommodation:
    My accomodation was private, and was of excellent quality. Much of the accomodation in the city has adequate facilities, and almost all of them are very central.
    Settling in:
    I think freshers is a misleading week at any university due to that amount of events put on, and having moved to a strange place.
  • WhySoSarious's avatar by WhySoSarious on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The only downsides are that the catered food is not worth the money, and the quality of tutors varies. Otherwise, I couldn't be happier.
    University:
    There are tons of societies to choose from, and the student union is always hard at work. The library is now open all night, which is great. Overall the facilities are amazing.
    Course:
    The lecturers are very good and the recordings they submit of the lectures, help in later studies. The feedback is very good and informative.
    Location:
    Close to campus, not too much in the city, but close enough to be near all the necessary shops and facilities.
    Accommodation:
    Although the catering is far too expensive for the quality, the accomodation itself is lovely. Very well run, and I love being here.
    Settling in:
    I felt right at home by the end of the first week. Everyone was so kind and helpful.
  • adamingas's avatar by adamingas on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am only some weeks in the course so whatever i said Is very subjective and may not be true in some cases. I will review the university again when I will complete the third year.
    University:
    I haven't been to the gym but I habe heard that it's one of the best in the UK. However the library is really small for a university of this prestige and size.
    Course:
    The teaching quality depends entirely on the professor or lecturer giving the lecture, or the phD students helping us through the problem sheets in the tutorials. However, for my course at least, the coursework is extremely heavy with one assignment due every day and 6 tutorials or workshops per week. The lecture times are very limited and almost all the learning is done independently.
    Location:
    The city is beautiful and the university is at the city's heart. Kings buildings are situated south of Edinburgh and the only problem is that it takes me 45 by walking to get there.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is situated in the centre of Edinburgh. The rooms and the kitchens are modern and equipped with the essentials.
    Settling in:
    Most of the times I have felt unguided in regards to what has to be done next, which induction lectures to attend what events are essential or recommended. I have done on my own most of the stuff that had to be done in order to get started with the academic year.
  • Coralight's avatar by Coralight on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very easy to settle into, work in first year is pretty easy so far. Every engineer has told me not to worry about first year and so far I can agree.
    University:
    Excellent societies, drink isn't too cheap at the union but is cheaper than surrounding pubs. Shops everywhere so shopping is no problem after lectures. Library is an excellent place to study and easily accessible,
    Course:
    Lectures are interesting and easy to follow. However, in mathematics it is clear that one of the lecturers is just reading off a page and not bothering all that much, this is not the case with every mathematics lecture.
    Location:
    Very central, Edinburgh is very walkable through out the central campus, and Kings Building can be accessed very easily through the shuttle bus. However, a friend is doing Vet Medicine and has to leave very early in the morning due to how far away the campus is located.
    Accommodation:
    Quick response to anything broken, staff are incredibly friendly.
    Settling in:
    Everyone at uni is very accepting, so far professors are intrigued as to how you are getting on
  • million_dollar's avatar by million_dollar on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been less than a month and I'm already so busy packed with work, socialing with people as well as the breathtaking views in Edinburgh. Never a dull moment in Edinburgh.
    University:
    There are many kinds of facilities for students to get access to. As well as tons of shops and malls for people to do shoppings.
    Course:
    The university puts the right amount of pressure on first year students so that they can get used to uni life, while allowing us to achieve much much more at the same time.
    Location:
    Since Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland and where some of the biggest festivals take place at, Edinburgh is a great place to study and visit. The campuses are spreaded across Edinburgh, however there are buses that can reach there easily.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is almost perfect other than the price. The accommodation I have selected is one of the most expensive ones, but it's definitely good value for money.
    Settling in:
    It really depends on if you've made any friends throughout the years. The university has provides us a lot of opportunities to meet new people from around the world. Making us feel at home wherever we are.
  • whyitsabi's avatar by whyitsabi on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 - it's not perfect but it's pretty awesome.
    University:
    There is always something happening and the gym is great (just busy) and it's got a great social life.
    Course:
    One of my modules is quite unorganised but the rest are great.
    Location:
    It's close to everything.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is so lush but it's quite far out and expensive.
    Settling in:
    It's really easy to feel at home there.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it really high.
    University:
    We miss out by being quite far away from the main buildings.
    Course:
    Good course, really preparing me for life as a teacher!
    Location:
    Love Edinburgh as a city!
    Accommodation:
    Really expensive!
    Settling in:
    Found it a really easy transition.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really nice university and city to live in
    University:
    really good student life
    Course:
    because there is always room for improvement
    Location:
    would have been nicer if the campus was closer to the centre
    Accommodation:
    They were not able to offer me any University accommodation
    Settling in:
    it did not take me too long to settle in. The University is quite well organized
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    The societies times are a bit restricting and the nightlife at the union could be better
    Course:
    Because the facilities are great and I feel really intellectually challenged
    Location:
    Edinburgh is such a brilliant city I love it
    Accommodation:
    It's pretty good but there are some areas to improve on
    Settling in:
    It took me a couple weeks to get settled in but now I feel right at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a quiet and nice city and the uni offers a lot of extracurricular activities, societies, events etc. There is no one day when nothing is happening. Medicine is a very good course, well organized and very rewarding.
    University:
    There are numerous societies and events so everyone can find something for themselves.
    Course:
    The lectures are good and the anatomy department is absolutely amazing, they have wonderful staff and give very good lectures and practical classes.The timetable is not very time consuming although you are expected to learn a lot (at least 2 h /day) in your own time.
    Location:
    Location: city centre; other facilities (e.g. hospital) are achievable by a free (for uni students) bus.
    Accommodation:
    There are numerous flats offered by uni and depending on what you pick, it's either more or less affordable/nice etc. Mine is newly refurbished, in the city centre and in an good price so I am very satisfied.
    Settling in:
    It was quite hard as it was the first time I was abroad alone for such a long period, although there are many events where you can meet people and feel less lonely
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars.
    University:
    Lots of choices for clubs and a lot of voluntary activity. Library accessible.
    Course:
    Lots of self study time to digest material. The lecturers are experts and bring out a lot of material.
    Location:
    Quiet enough to study, but not so quite to be boring. Accessible from many areas by walking.
    Accommodation:
    Room is comfortable, environment clean, staff friendly, food ok.
    Settling in:
    Took a while. I don't enjoy freshers week.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely worth to study here
    University:
    As above
    Course:
    Well organized
    Location:
    Learn quite a lot during the Uni life
    Accommodation:
    Fees are high and conditions are varied but good service
    Settling in:
    Student association helpful
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4/5 as there are still some things which I would like to change.
    University:
    I don't get involved in "uni life" with the student's union but I have heard good things about EUSA.
    Course:
    Social Policy department are fantastic and would have received 5 stars but the Politics department have a lack of care for students so there had to be a drop in the rating.
    Location:
    Right in the centre of Edinburgh - its perfect!
    Accommodation:
    My halls in first year were great! However, they were Unite private halls which the university had a contract with.
    Settling in:
    I think it takes a while to find your feet with both the social aspect and your course
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    student experience is good
    University:
    so much to do
    Course:
    Module Contant and timetable is really good. As is the course structure- quality of teaching form about 70% of lecturers is good. Tutorials teaching is ok. Quality of feedback I am yet to recieve
    Location:
    amazing location within the city
    Accommodation:
    location is amazing
    Settling in:
    Settled in really quickly and adapted to the city and changes well. just still miss home.
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would say the city and the university staff and infrastructure are amazing and definitely worth studying here. On the negative side, I would advise any prospective students to take a very close look at the degree structure (especially non-Scottish students who might be unfamiliar with the 4-year degree system).
    University:
    Very good quality university gym, the library has very convenient opening hours (until 2.30am!), and the city's shops, theatres and fascinating old town are all very close to the university buildings.
    Course:
    Despite very approachable, enthusiastic tutors who always reply to emails quickly and are very willing to help, I am giving a 2 stars rating because of the awful timetable (only 6 contact hours spread over 3 days a week, while the degree lasts 4 long years during which working is made difficult by the erratic timetable). The course structure makes little sense to me (pre-honours years could be studied in one semester in terms of the content). I personally also think that too much emphasis is put on group work assessments and discussion to the detriment of individual learning. Also, most of the texts on the syllabus I had already studied at school, which was disappointing and unchallenging.
    Location:
    The university buildings are all very centrally located, and the city has a lot to offer in terms of cultural and study-related events.
    Accommodation:
    Very good, central location close to uni. Very good quality and affordable.
    Settling in:
    I still do not feel at home at university (and probably never will). I was tempted to give this a 1 star rating, but taking into account the fact that I do not attend most of the student association's events/societies/clubs, I decided to give this a 3-star rating.
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Good society
    Course:
    Because it teached me all I needed
    Location:
    Nice city, but it rains every day
    Accommodation:
    Prices are pretty high
    Settling in:
    It was pretty easy
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Edinburgh is a fantastic place to study and I can only recommend it
    University:
    We have a fantastic library and an insane amount of societieswith something for everybody.
    Course:
    It's not the course I initially wanted to do but I do like it
    Location:
    The city is beautiful but the campuses are really far apart and difficult to reach
    Accommodation:
    The housing is ridiculously competitive and the quality isn't overwhelming
    Settling in:
    Everyone was extremely welcoming and helpful
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE