Member reviews of University of Essex

  • Ginny Wong's avatar by Ginny Wong on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Most of the staffs in the university are approachable. The teaching quality is good.
    University:
    I have enough space to study. The library service is great.
    Course:
    I like the structure of the course. I learnt a lot about psychology from it. The lecturers are approachable and friendly.
    Location:
    The town the university located is pretty small.
    Accommodation:
    The room space is good. But there have been problems about hot water and the kitchen before.
    Settling in:
    I settled in this university pretty well. I made friends.
  • chynaleighfield's avatar by chynaleighfield on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very good university if you don’t like big crowds and have a hard time making friends. Everyone is friendly and theres always things to do. Learning is explained so carefully and it is easy to do.
    University:
    There are many events that happen almost every night, to ensure you have the chance to get the full uni experience you could possibly need.
    Course:
    A small but very friendly campus. Everything is close by and convenient for students, especially living on campus in first year. There is wide variety of people which makes days of work less boring and stressful.
    Location:
    Close to London. Close to the town.
    Accommodation:
    Colchester accomodation is very useful , whether kt be on canpus or off campus, there are always places to live in. The university accomodation quality is good and affordable compared to other universities.
    Settling in:
    Settling in is so easy as the campus is so small, there are many events and student fairs to attend which you can sign up to societies and just in general meet new people. In accomodation, it is the best place to meet people and seminars doing group work.
  • Ami T. O's avatar by Ami T. O on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Has many strengths as well as weaknesses.
    University:
    A lot of variety and I like the campus aspect , but some things could be of much greater quality
    Course:
    The timetable is great as it gives me enough ‘free’ time for my reading, studying and assignments and support so far is quite great. However, teaching quality in lectures for some modules could be greatly improved. At least from my first year experience.
    Location:
    In the middle of nowhere , but good land and space
    Accommodation:
    Student accomodation is quite expensive in general, but our uni wasn’t to extortionate although prices have now been raised significantly. Location is quite good , but we could do with more accomodation for second and third year home students.
    Settling in:
    Tried to join a number of societies, activities and roles but during first year it could be hard to fit in and meet people- especially as a non drinker.
  • j_hams13's avatar by j_hams13 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s gd
    University:
    Good events, good facilities
    Course:
    My lectures are good and structured. So is my timetable. Some lecturers waffle too much but are very good teachers
    Location:
    Near a lot of shops and a town centre. Also surrounded by a few train stations
    Accommodation:
    It’s good
    Settling in:
    It has a welcoming and warm environment
  • JSKaash's avatar by JSKaash on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Over all this university is great and helpful
    University:
    Overall the university is amazing
    Course:
    Course is very flexible, I am able to choose what modules I want . The lectures are sometimes prolonged but overall all teachers are helpful during office hours and contact time.
    Location:
    Bus routes are expensive and take very long. However this is a bias answer coming from busy London with regular transport links
    Accommodation:
    The Maltings Accommodation is very modern but issue with lifts and untidy washing area questions the price they have me paying
    Settling in:
    SU is helpful and welcoming! I settled in very quickly
  • Ellie96's avatar by Ellie96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good: I feel other students would really enjoy it here.
    University:
    The servicea offered are good, the teaching is good and I don't think I've had a bad experience so far.
    Course:
    I don't feel as though I have been here long enough to give a sure rating but judging on my experiences so far, I have mostly enjoyed it.
    Location:
    A bit too far away from the main town.
    Accommodation:
    I would give higher but living in the Towers, at this time of year, and the heating not working, I feel as though I'm somewhat bitter.
    Settling in:
    Everyone has been amazing in helping all the new students settle in, and I've made some good friends, and have so far had some great experiences.
  • paul_18's avatar by paul_18 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I love the service that's being offered.
    Course:
    Because I like it.
    Location:
    I wish it was a bit more closer to the city.
    Accommodation:
    It's good and it isn't too far from my lecture halls.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take long to settle in.
  • awarnes10's avatar by awarnes10 on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Top as it is a great uni, just stay in towers if you can to make 15 immediate friends and don't be afraid to go out-even if you don't drink, got to the SU bar
    University:
    Great uni, everything where it should be
    Course:
    Everything is organised and good
    Location:
    Close to home however a hour walk towm the town
    Accommodation:
    Right in centre of campus, really cheap and great atmosphere
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly thanks to our amazing RA
  • fabiomicolo's avatar by fabiomicolo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly people, awesome staff and innovative teaching methods. Staff makes you feel at one with the whole department and motivate you to go further.
    University:
    Average
    Course:
    There is quite a lot of group work assessments
    Location:
    Near a train station, the campus were the accommodation is located is at the heart of the university.
    Accommodation:
    Well structured
    Settling in:
    My accommodation mates were very friendly
  • Flame9596's avatar by Flame9596 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I have found everything very easy and simple to complete. the support system is really good and the tutor are very interested and enthused
    University:
    I study from home
    Course:
    The tutors are easy to speak with the platform is simple to use and works where ever I am. The structure is good and is broken down in nice small chunks
    Location:
    I study from home
    Accommodation:
    NA - I live at home
    Settling in:
    NA - I live at home to study
  • I don't have a TSR username's avatar by I don't have a TSR username on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The online facilities a very good, and would very much recomment the University of Essex
    University:
    because I sudy and live at home, I do not take part in any activities
    Course:
    The stanard of totors varies
    Location:
    I live and at home, so, I have never visited the camus location
    Accommodation:
    I'm an online student, and don't need or use student accommodation
    Settling in:
    This is my first year, and don't really feel at home yet
  • Fabulousgirl3101's avatar by Fabulousgirl3101 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Sports is free
    Course:
    Excellent lecturers who are always ready to help
    Location:
    Town is close Atmosphere is great
    Accommodation:
    Needs refurbishment but room are big spacious and clean
    Settling in:
    Help was always around at freshers
  • A.Q's avatar by A.Q on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university for people who wpuld enjoy a campus lifestyle the campus is beautiful and safe and secure however dont expect good food and the town is too quiet
    University:
    Gym memberships are only offered annually great parties terrible food
    Course:
    Courses do not run until late, assessment due dates are dated strategically to give the student enough time to work without feeling alot of pressure
    Location:
    Very quiet town filled with retired soliders big cities are more exciting buy also more distracting
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation with shared bathrooms are not healthy or clean and very shabby
    Settling in:
    Though I did have trouble adjusting that was due to my personality not because the university failed to make everyone feel welcome
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    This university is known for being one of the top unis in social science. It has many excellent facilities and the students here are friendly.
    University:
    It offers a new experience. I could meet all kinds of people from all parts of the world and its an eye opening adventure.
    Course:
    Because my passion is in accountancy. I am good with numbers so i enjoy it very much.
    Location:
    It is quite far from a proper mall
    Accommodation:
    It is located at walking distance to the university and to the shops/supermarket
    Settling in:
    It takes time gettinng used to the different environment and culture here.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university/college was a nice environment to work in with good facilities, my complaints lie only with the course I studied itself. I recommend the college as a place to study, but I advise looking elsewhere if you want to study animation or games design.
    University:
    Student union kept closing and reopening, and there was almost nothing with regards to student groups/clubs
    Course:
    The lecturers did not deliver any of the material that was listed in the course handbook; we had a tiny handful of lectures over the 3 year total, and we learned nothing practical.
    Location:
    It's right next to Southend Central station, and is walkable from Southend Victoria which is good for students who need to commute, and it's in the town high street with a variety of shops and facilities
    Accommodation:
    I did not use the accommodation, but friends did and they said it was nice but overpriced
    Settling in:
    It was easy settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Very convenient, but I was placed with only Asians
    Course:
    First year is mixed for all
    Location:
    Very convenient
    Accommodation:
    I am the only European in my flat
    Settling in:
    No friends
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    because my academic went well with my social life
    Course:
    I love everything about university
    Location:
    1hour from London is already far to me.
    Accommodation:
    never really stayed at accommodation
    Settling in:
    dont know
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome
    University:
    The students union is amazing and I can't complain about facilities
    Course:
    Love the course content&teaching approach but could be more media focuses/not enough ties with industries
    Location:
    The campus is great but the town is a bit old&run down
    Accommodation:
    Great value for money
    Settling in:
    It took me a year and a course change to actually feel at home, but now I love this university and am proud to be a student here
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's just my first year but things are looking good
    University:
    It's great!
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    It's decent
    Accommodation:
    Good value for money, could have been better in quality though
    Settling in:
    Bank's taking ages to open my account and get my debit card and thus i cant do most of my shopping
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Amazing experience, friendly people
    Course:
    Good support materials, helpful lecturers
    Location:
    Nice town centre, but tesco is quite a bit of a walk
    Accommodation:
    Good sized room, but not ensuite as I wanted
    Settling in:
    Met loads of nice people
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE