Member reviews of University of Exeter

  • Anthony420's avatar by Anthony420 on 22nd July 2019
    Overall:
    Outstanding university experience with so much diverse student life and good academic reputation.
    University:
    Hundreds of societies, plenty of open space, and good welfare.
    Course:
    A good balance of lessons vs free time allowing for individual work and research, course modules are structured and paced well, teaching is acceptable, and all recorded for future use.
    Location:
    Close to the ocean, good transport links, stunning surrounding national parks.
    Accommodation:
    Amazing accommodation, whether on or off campus. Very clean, and large variance on prices.
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment at Exeter.
  • izzygrace_17's avatar by izzygrace_17 on 10th July 2019
    Overall:
    Overall, a great place to study with supportive teachers and lots of opportunities to get involved and meet new people! It's a place that is constantly looking to improve and develop.
    University:
    I think Exeter is a great university, with a huge library (plus the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum), plenty of shops in the town, amazing sports facilities (it's a super sporty university), supportive wellbeing centre who act quickly and effectively when you are in need and a HUGE selection of societies.
    Course:
    Flexible Combined Honours gives you the opportunity to study almost any subjects alongside eachother which is perfect for someone who has a passion for subjects that don't traditionally go together! I love this about the course. My contact hours differ depending on which subject area I am in but there is always staff on hand to help in the FCH office if I do need help. The lectures and seminars are really good - particularly for Film Studies. On the whole, I have had a largely positive experience. The only negative I would say, is that I have some clashes on my timetable that were unavoidable which has forced me to choose between lectures and screenings. The staff did everything they could, so this isn't a bad reflection on them, but it is frustrating that I had to sacrifice something.
    Location:
    I love Exeter as a town; it's clean and modern in the centre but with plenty of culture hidden within. There's not a huge amount to do in the way of activities (like bowling which you have to travel out of Exeter for etc) but, on the whole, it's a lovely, safe place to live :)
    Accommodation:
    I was in Unite accomodation, in the city of Exeter and right by the high street. Having at first been disappointed to be here and not on campus, it has proved to be really great for accessing the town quickly and easily. The kitchen and bathroom are cleaned every 2 weeks and the rooms are large with 3/4 sized beds. The only downside is the distance from campus (about a 20 minute walk).
    Settling in:
    I'm just a homely person! I think this is different for everyone. It probably took me all of first term to get used to everything but, by second term, I had found my feet and felt more settled in Exeter.
  • Hannah147's avatar by Hannah147 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love Exeter and couldn't recommend it more, its a very good academic university, there is such a good on campus presence with societies and sports teams and overall its just a lovely city to live in.
    University:
    I love Exeter, there are so many societies to choose from and sports teams. The campus has quite a lot of restaurants and coffee shops.
    Course:
    Overall the university is amazing!
    Location:
    Exeter is a relatively small city that is easy to get too from Bristol. Because of it's size its also quite a safe city to be in.
    Accommodation:
    There is a wide range of university accommodation at Exeter catering to different needs. Most is relatively modern and spacious. The only downside is that it is relatively pricey.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly. Exeter has a great support system with the residents life team, welfare centre and the university guild.
  • lordred12345's avatar by lordred12345 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Currently feeling better about the uni but it's week 2 so we shall see. The people are what make it
    University:
    The university and student union do very little. They constantly try to cut costs and only put charming figures as student reps to avoid dealing with issues.
    Course:
    The timetable has become more feasible and forgiving as you move through the years. My main issue is the learning curve. First term is too easy, first year was very simple.
    Location:
    Pretty poor, two campuses both on top of different hills. It's a pain commuting to either of them and the city is too far away from everything.
    Accommodation:
    Overall its very nice but there are quite a few too many places where it is below standards.
    Settling in:
    Within a week, all very welcoming and a great vibe
  • SerDobby's avatar by SerDobby on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Personally for me this is the best place i could of chosen to support my sporting goals in powerlifting, my academic goals in medicine and a perfect balance of social life and work life.
    University:
    Nightlife is great with UNIT 1 for the celebrity appearances and Timepiece for gigs. Between the two campuses there are state of the art sporting facilities, plenty of shops, great libraries and excellent welfare provision.
    Course:
    Very good timetable, low contact time but quality over quantity. The structure of the content and how it is taught throughout the year is very logical and makes sense. The lectures are always worth attending.
    Location:
    Exeter and Devon are infamous for the stunning scenery and the proximity to the sea and national parks is great. Can walk across from one side of Exeter to the other in under an hour making reaching everything very convenient.
    Accommodation:
    Exeter is known for having the best accommodation in the UK with plenty of second year housing available for even less near either of the two campuses. Tends to be very affordable compared to other universities.
    Settling in:
    Settled in within 3 weeks
  • Alx26's avatar by Alx26 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It's a fantastic choice if you want a Russel group university without the pressure and panic that comes with bigger campuses.
    University:
    Due to being such a small campus our societies are slightly lacking but the university has provided plenty of high quality services.
    Course:
    Due to being at a small satalite campus, the course is a lot more flexible and the lecturers have a lot more control over the modules. This gives us a wider variety of options and the lecturers are always passionate about what they teach.
    Location:
    Cornwall is beautiful and peaceful but it is a little bit isolated and lacking in some areas.
    Accommodation:
    The university accomodation here is some of the biggest and nicest in the country, mostly due to how few students there are. There is a mixture of on and off campus accommodation owned by the university that is all very convenient.
    Settling in:
    The smaller campus has a very strong community atmosphere that helps a lot.
  • Phoo Pyae's avatar by Phoo Pyae on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would recommend students to choose the university of Exeter.
    University:
    I like all the services provided by my Univeristy.
    Course:
    I like my campus which is very quiet yet has all the facilities that the students need. We are in a small community where we could ask for any help from my friends and the lecturers.
    Location:
    I love my small campus yet I would still prefer the big one in Exeter.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is very great. I asked for the quite section and I got it. The laundry and the security is good too. On top of that, it is only a couple of minutes walk to the main teaching buildings.
    Settling in:
    Since the community is quite small, it’s easy to get in and settle.
  • Film's avatar by Film on 24th June 2016
    Overall:
    Greatest years of my life!
    University:
    Great social life
    Course:
    Excellent course an excellent uni
    Location:
    Beautiful campus
    Accommodation:
    Top class
    Settling in:
    Settled in well
  • katbasket's avatar by katbasket on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think I had an amazing time during freshers, settling in and getting to know people. The uni put on many events that help you get to know people instantly. My flatmates are amazing as well, we get along so well it's crazy to think we were strangers few months ago! Exeter is wonderful, so glad I chose to study here.
    University:
    It's all good. No complaints at all.
    Course:
    It's a really good course and well structured. Makes you feel prepared for your future career in medicine. Small group teaching encourages you to learn from session to session and though this may seem daunting and requiring a lot of effort, it pays off.
    Location:
    Exeter is beautiful; not too big and not too small. All major shops are here locally and the architecture and the atmosphere is absolutely magical. I love it.
    Accommodation:
    I'm living in the cheapest offered accommodation (Rowancroft Court) and it's excellent- room size is great, shared facilities are up to good standard and everything seems great.
    Settling in:
    I think the only reason I gave it only 2 starts is that I've always been really close with my mum and my friends and it's difficult to get used to it when you move away. But that's absolutely subjective and up to an individual.
  • sebster12's avatar by sebster12 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Honestly, join any societies you enjoy and go out and meet loads of people, you'll have the best time of your life!
    University:
    It's what you make of it. And I've made it incredible
    Course:
    Great professors and engaging lectures and seminars
    Location:
    Too many hills!
    Accommodation:
    No fault with it
    Settling in:
    Met the best people and everyone is really friendly and supportive of whatever
  • kimt3's avatar by kimt3 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The course, university, halls, campus, everything is so brilliant here.
    University:
    Everything has been perfect.
    Course:
    It is everything I expected it would be.
    Location:
    It has the convenience of a city but the friendly atmosphere of a town.
    Accommodation:
    It has everything I need.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very welcoming.
  • I've forgotten 's avatar by I've forgotten on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic university comradeship and spirit
    University:
    Amazing societies, campus looks great, lots of study space. Night life is also great
    Course:
    Some lectures I do not enjoy
    Location:
    Perfect location, right next to halls and only a short walk to the town centre
    Accommodation:
    Extremely affordable but not luxury by any means
    Settling in:
    I don't live with any other people on my course so struggled to integrate into friendships within my course
  • Jamief5123's avatar by Jamief5123 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very enjoyable
    University:
    Really enjoy it
    Course:
    It's decent, could be worse, but lack of quality teaching
    Location:
    It's awkward for me to get to from home, and is far away from other big cities
    Accommodation:
    It's decent but nothing fancy
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in
  • Student#66's avatar by Student#66 on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fun and challenging, definitely worth it.
    University:
    I enjoy being at Uni, although sometimes it gets to be a bit much.
    Course:
    It's a good amount of work, not overwhelming but not a walk in the park either.
    Location:
    Beautiful campus and great transport links with the right balance of city : countryside
    Accommodation:
    Amazing accommodation I don't think I can fault it, but it very pricey.
    Settling in:
    I settled in within the first two weeks
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Exeter is a very good university to study at, there is lots of support from the university and the courses prepare you for life after uni
    University:
    There is a wealth of different activities on offer, and lots of services, although they are often rather busy!
    Course:
    I like the range of topics we study, the group aspects of the course, and the seminars, and if I have a good tutor they give very good feedback
    Location:
    Beautiful campus, near to the city too
    Accommodation:
    Excellent quality, very close the the university
    Settling in:
    I found settling in very hard, as some much was new and I did not feel like I fitted in
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is just great. Staff there is very nice and helpful. The campuses are very nice and you have everything you need there. There are loads of hills but it's good for your fitness
    University:
    There was everything for you to do in Exeter. Plenty of gym options (the one on the main campus is amazing), cinemas, clubs and pubs..everything
    Course:
    I was very happy with the timetable every single year. Lectures were always clear and concise and access to recorded lectures was very handy. Teaching was also very good - in case you didn't understand something you could just arrange a meeting with the lecturer and he/she would explain everything to you.
    Location:
    Exeter is a small town and everything revolves around the campuses. The city centre is very close to both campuses and it's very easy to get anywhere by foot or cycling.
    Accommodation:
    My first 2 years I lived in university accommodation. Although it was a bit far from the campus where I had my lectures it didn't bother me. The living conditions were v good. In the last year I was in a student house with 3 other friends. The house was very spacious and close to the campus. And the per week rate was much lower than the price for a room in uni accommodation
    Settling in:
    It was very easy for me to get settled as I was very excited to start a new chapter away from home. Also everyone at uni was very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3 stars
    University:
    I am ok with that
    Course:
    I dont enjoy my course
    Location:
    Too much hills
    Accommodation:
    It's ok for me
    Settling in:
    I did a level before going to the uni so I am ok with that
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    I love the sports park
    Course:
    It's what I want to do in the future
    Location:
    Slightly smaller but still amazing
    Accommodation:
    Modern and essential
    Settling in:
    I made friends very easily
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing.
    University:
    I have virtually no complaints.
    Course:
    There's nothing that I do not like in my course.
    Location:
    The campus is right next to Exeter, which is pretty nice. However Devon is slightly far from everything.
    Accommodation:
    I have had an amazing experience, but some halls aren't very nice.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is extremely friedly.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I had a fantastic time. Get caught in the tide of life and swim with it!
    University:
    All the mod cons. Ahead of the curve in coolness. Everyone is strangely attractive.
    Course:
    Great lecturers, fun as possible content, overall satisfying.
    Location:
    Super close to a city that is just big enough
    Accommodation:
    Stayed in non-catered, expensive but made great friends, great facilities.
    Settling in:
    New friends, hard work and fun experiences made me into who I am today.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE