Member reviews of University of Glasgow

  • v98allison's avatar by v98allison on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think overall UoG is a great university but they are lacking in some areas such as support for mental health, expensive costs for courses as well as accommodation.
    University:
    Everything is great and accessible with a range of activities for all financial situations. There's a society for every interest and every sport, most of which are free to join.
    Course:
    There's a good mix of lectures and practicals which means you don't get bored and you can find lots of ways to learn your topics. I liked that we had lots of hands on anatomy and dissection in first year but it's decreased significantly since then.
    Location:
    Easily accessible on all public transport and lots of great places nearby
    Accommodation:
    I haven't stayed in accommodation so I'' not sure of the costs or quality.
    Settling in:
    It took me a full year to effectively learn how to study the way that uni teaches which meant I didn't do great in my exams. It was difficult trying to make friends as a home student and I didn't find a proper group until near the end of first year.
  • hilaryplz's avatar by hilaryplz on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Good environment for people who want to stay in a smallish city that's not too busy
    University:
    Cool people
    Course:
    Just cuz
    Location:
    It's far from everything
    Accommodation:
    Not lots of accommodation options for the vet med campus
    Settling in:
    Not bad
  • SeanHayashibara's avatar by SeanHayashibara on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Big fan of most aspects.
    University:
    Pretty good.
    Course:
    This course is good. I like my lecturers. Good culture. However it is intense.
    Location:
    I love Glasgow forever
    Accommodation:
    I do not know.
    Settling in:
    It took me a few weeks but I have settled in fine
  • yxguice's avatar by yxguice on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    A good place to study
    University:
    It have anything you need.
    Course:
    The reduction of 1 star is because the feedback is not very well given.
    Location:
    Not a very fun place to study
    Accommodation:
    Friendly staff
    Settling in:
    I have made a lot of friend
  • ShafShady's avatar by ShafShady on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I think this university is an amazing choice both academically and for student life. I would definitely choose Glasgow again if I were to have had the choice again!
    University:
    Glasgow University is amazing for student life. There is a wealth of options to suit a variety of student interests which is only helped by the friendly nature of people in the area.
    Course:
    There has been a mix of teaching methods from PBL to lectures. Everything has been really engaging and the university are very keen on listening to feedback from students.
    Location:
    The West end of Glasgow has developed around the University and so is perfect for students. There are good transport links to the city centre and elsewhere in Glasgow.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation we'e not worth the prices for rent. Most accommodation choices are quite far from the university campus.
    Settling in:
    I took a while to settle in, however the university did encourage me to do things out of my comfort zone.
  • RachelMoir97's avatar by RachelMoir97 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I don’t recommend this uni if you have any additional needs. It’s a pretty place to attend but it can be really easy to feel left out and like you’re being proper fleeced of all your money.
    University:
    I think my uni has an ‘insider’ vibe to it which makes it difficult to cope there when you’re not involved in everything.
    Course:
    Individual tutors were helpful and lecturers gave help when you asked for it, but the course layout wasn’t very modern in comparison to other courses. Really interesting course content but difficult to express your own opinions.
    Location:
    It has a good location as the area is really nice and the buildings are more or less within walking distance but it doesn’t have great transport links and properties are really expensive.
    Accommodation:
    Fees for student accommodation were thousands more than the student loan and were really gross. Bugs infesting the flats before you even moved in and it’s too far away from the uni to be charging so much money.
    Settling in:
    I settled in with new friends quickly from my flat and adapted to the student life/nightlife easily but found the university difficult to settle in to.
  • Chuck07's avatar by Chuck07 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I think Glasgow was definitely the perfect choice for me, I've settled in very well, really enjoy my courses, have made good friends and am actively involved in student life.
    University:
    There are over 260 societies to choose from, so we're really spoilt for choice and there is also a very active sports association. I take part in Horseriding and it's extremely cheap and I don't think any other university I applied to would have offered this. I also do Beekeeping and am part of a variety of other societies.
    Course:
    Because there are good contact hours and I mostly find my tutors/lecturer's very approachable and helpful.
    Location:
    Glasgow is a great university city, with lots to do, the campus is also gorgeous and looks like Hogwarts.
    Accommodation:
    My university accommodation was luxury and very expensive, but we didn't get much for it.
    Settling in:
    I found it quite easy to make friends/ my courses were exactly what I expected.
  • tehnuhu's avatar by tehnuhu on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The uni experience has been quite good. Obviously the uni experience tends to be exaggerated because of media etc, but Glasgow uni is still a good one and i'm enjoying my time here
    University:
    I don'tf eel like I've taken advantage of uni life as much as I could have. The student social life here is okay, but could be better
    Course:
    I haven't actually begun to do my course yet. Because of the structure of Scottish degrees, i'm actually still competing to get onto my degree despite having been accepted for it. This is a little frustrating as my course is a very popular one, so the required grades are very high. Despite this, the uni is good and staff are helpful.
    Location:
    It is in a very nice part of Glasgow and has a nice mix of students and actual people
    Accommodation:
    This doesn't apply to me as I went into private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Quite quickly. Glasgow is a friendly city
  • Lumpy Muffin's avatar by Lumpy Muffin on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great uni with great services, teaching methods and opportunities. Great city with great nightlife, endless possibilities and easy transport. Great people, great halls. Everything here has been great in my first year and I would happily recommend The University of Glasgow to anyone.
    University:
    Uni life here is great. The library is huge, with 11 floors of varying levels of quiet you will be able to find the perfect place to study. There is a gym that is free to first year students that again is huge. As well as this, there are two student unions rather than just one, QMU offering a great place to spend your days or get a bite to eat with friends while GUU can provide the great easy night out for students here, never failing to please with it's built in nightclub "the hive". There are so many societies, both sport related and otherwise that anyfree time you have you can easily find yourself a community of likeminded people.
    Course:
    The first year of this course has been very general biology and not too specific, this has been great as it has allowed me to see all of biology and get a feel if this course is the best one for me before committing. The staff are all friendly and approachable and the lectures are great. Labs are great fun and the website for this course is so well laid out you can find everything you need with little trouble.
    Location:
    Glasgow is the perfect location for a student. With something going on somewhere everyday it is impossible to be bored here. The uni itself is located in the west end which is great as the area is amazingly nice here, you never have to worry about safety. If you get bored of the west end though the subway of Glasgow allows for quick travel to any other part of the city, including only 8 minutes to the city centre. Glasgow with its many nightclubs, music venues and general opportunities is the best place for a student.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in queen Margaret halls this year and they are amazing. The people are great, the flats themselves are amazing, with large spacious rooms, huge kitchens with plenty of fridge space and only 5 people per flat which is perfect. There isn't a central building with TV, table tennis and pool table also that is open all the time to use. In this central building there isn't also a desk to help you with any problems. The location is great, Ono you 20 minute walk away from the university and very close to various shops for quick runs to tecso. The only thing about these halls isn't that they are quite pricey, coming in at around £613 per month
    Settling in:
    The people in my halls were so great we all immediately became friends, now having a group of almost 20 people with a very much family feel to it. Lectures were easy to get into the swing of and the night life here is great. No problems.
  • mvt's avatar by mvt on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I've just started my year here but I can't wait for the rest of it!
    University:
    Unions are amazing. There's always events going on inside or outside the campus.
    Course:
    I love the course, the lectures and the content!
    Location:
    Great building (its Hogwarts!), lively place.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, affordable than the others, great people and staff.
    Settling in:
    I fitted in pretty quickly!
  • U know who's avatar by U know who on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been a great experience, I have met a lot of different people and it has been one of the best experiences of my life I can't wait being more involved in the university
    University:
    There is transport really neat the uni that will take you to the city centre and you can find anything. Also around the uni you can ask and might find what you are looking for, there is a track and banks really neat as well
    Course:
    It's completely above my expectations, it is a really friendly environment and it provides a lot of opportunities
    Location:
    It's in a really convenient place really near shops and banks that are really helpful specially in the first week when you are trying to get settled
    Accommodation:
    I'm staying at Woofson halls, so far it's pretty good but the transport is not enough for the amount of students living in this accommodation and there is a really big gap in the middle of the day were a lot of people has to wait more than three hours for the transport and they may not even get a place in the minibus
    Settling in:
    As I said it's really friendly and people are always there if you need anything. Also the fact about living in the halls makes you socialise more
  • misha.gil's avatar by misha.gil on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Lots of events happening
    Course:
    It is structured well, lectures are given on time etc
    Location:
    Everything is close by. Good location and scenic
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming and comforting, helps settle in
  • ivysaurus's avatar by ivysaurus on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Not a traditional campus Good SU nights out Good uni services Rent and food are not ridiculously expensive
    Course:
    Organised 24 hour library plenty of books friendly staff good pastoral team clinical exposure from day 1
    Location:
    Near a subway Safe area
    Accommodation:
    It's in a lovely area, minibus drives us to uni in the morning and evening, good security, free parking. Little slow with repairs
    Settling in:
    Nice city Friendliness Already knew people on my course
  • miledd's avatar by miledd on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible, made by best friends here and now call Glasgow home.
    University:
    Has 4 different student bodies, including 2 unions. Lots of sports clubs/facilities, and an active Student Representative Council
    Course:
    Good lecturers, up to date with modern advances.
    Location:
    Glasgow's a great city, amazing night life and friendly people, and the uni is in a great location in the West End.
    Accommodation:
    Hall were good for socialising, but quite grimy.
    Settling in:
    Settled very quick
  • Patricija's avatar by Patricija on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I love every minute of it. You just have to be positive and flexible.
    University:
    The only problem for me, is that there is no night transport.
    Course:
    I like it, but there were issues with some lecturers and courses. We had one really bad lecturer, who was very mundane, but even though head of the department was aware of it, they just couldn't replace him. The course material is great, however one can notice how some topics repeat after a year or two, some in-depth knowledge added would be much better. But overall I love the course! It is definitely not everybody's cup of tea, but if you like it all the people and your classmates will make the experience wonderful.
    Location:
    West End is lovely. Accommodation prices there are a bit overpriced, but that is only because there are too many students willing to pay the price.
    Accommodation:
    Although I loved my halls (Murano) at a time, I do now realize that living conditions weren't the best. Although we all payed the same monthly fee, some students had much bigger rooms, than others. And I mean 2 or 3 times bigger. Also, some houses were older than the others and instead of creating similar level of houses, university update already new furniture in newest buildings, leaving old ones untouched. A bit unfortunate for those living there.
    Settling in:
    I haven't had any problems with settling in, although I am a foreigner. I feel that Freshers' Week was a bit of whirlwind and that helped me to feel used to the place before I realized all the differences and challenges.
  • viniciusorr's avatar by viniciusorr on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great university that could be better.
    University:
    Because everything is acessible, there are many clubs and societies but food at the university restaurant is really expensive.
    Course:
    This is a good course, but it's not perfect.
    Location:
    It's in a very good location.
    Accommodation:
    It's far from the university and sometimes there is too much noise.
    Settling in:
    I arrived recently, so I didn't have too much time to settle. However, I gave 3 stars because some people at the university really don't help foreigner students to feel at home.
  • TonitiaMowat's avatar by TonitiaMowat on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience has been great, however I wish there was accommodation non catered at wolfson and that I could have known my flat mates names before I started uni.
    University:
    It's been decent so far.
    Course:
    I like the timetable but the lectures are very tedious.
    Location:
    Its not very close to the vet campus and the accommodation that is at the vet campus is catered which costs a lot more.
    Accommodation:
    Its not very close to my campus but decent place to live.
    Settling in:
    2nd day I felt at home.
  • samuelwatson13's avatar by samuelwatson13 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would say it's excellent, so far I love t and it has been the perfect choice for me.
    University:
    I can't give it 5 stars as I have only been here a few weeks, but so far the library is fantastic and comprehensive, the clubs are expansive and there are so many options to choose from, everything so far has been excellent.
    Course:
    Everything is the perfect fit for me and everything flows well together
    Location:
    It's a great location, close to city centre and all major transport links.
    Accommodation:
    From what I have seen and heard from others it is affordable and well located
    Settling in:
    Everybody, lecturers and peers, we're all very welcoming and friendly, many events to start the week off during freshers, and overall I felt very comfortable.
  • Valonqar's avatar by Valonqar on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very good uni!
    University:
    There is a place for everyone, even if you aren't into typical student events/things
    Course:
    It's a real rollercoaster
    Location:
    There is so much nearby and plenty to choose from
    Accommodation:
    They were pretty good
    Settling in:
    Everyone made me feel very welcome and I met loads of great people
  • Blondie987's avatar by Blondie987 on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars.
    University:
    There are lots of bars, pubs and nightclubs around for students, as well as a good sporting facility/organisation and even in the daytime there is lots to do.
    Course:
    It seems like an interesting and fun course but I haven't started properly yet.
    Location:
    I am already familiar with the area and I think that it is in a location where I have access to everything I need.
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in University accommodation but the area is safe and central with lots of shops, restaurants and other useful facilities.
    Settling in:
    I have settled in quite well but it is sometimes difficult to make friends.
  • zahraamalias's avatar by zahraamalias on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    The weather might not always be sunny, but the people are warmer than the sun anyways!
    University:
    The uni has it all in short. The student bodies are thriving (We have 4 major unions instead of just one. Ha!) with so many events, activities and student deals. All of them compete to be the best on campus, offering us many things to try at once with competitive costs (if any!).
    Course:
    I get to mix my subjects in my first and second year so I could get a wider knowledge on complementary subjects and learnt a new language. On my third year I am able to go on an exchange programme to the University of California in the US, one of the many choices from all around the globe the University of Glasgow has given me.
    Location:
    It's off the city centre but close to it as well with great local and international connections.
    Accommodation:
    It's great. It's close to my classes and the city centre. The location is prime, it's very close to public transports are well. However it is pricey.
    Settling in:
    The staffs are so helpful. The International Office and Student Services are outstanding. The supports they offered to me was beyond great, from internationally tailored supports, study supports to social supports and many more.
  • bingbob's avatar by bingbob on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Glasgow so far, it is a great university to study at and I am really looking forward to see what my second year will offer.
    University:
    There are various societies and two student unions so there is plenty to do.
    Course:
    We had to do three different subjects in our first year which was good as it gave us a chance to pick up w subject we had never studied before. The courses were of a good quality, I just wish that music had had more contact hours.
    Location:
    The university consists of a beautiful main building in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, right next to the lovely Kelvingrove Park. Couldn't have been in a better place.
    Accommodation:
    I was fortunate to stay in a brand new building, although it was rather pricey!
    Settling in:
    I made friends quickly on my course and in halls, although I think I would have felt more 'at home' in a campus university.
  • rnorfolk1's avatar by rnorfolk1 on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    I instantly felt at home. I am very keen on theatre and the student theatre society has become a second family. The courses I take are interesting and there is so much support available. I was terrified before I started and now I secretly wish I didn't have to come home over summer!
    University:
    Everything's cheap, nightlife is great, have all the resources I could need.
    Course:
    Its exactly what I signed up for - its challenging and what I enjoy.
    Location:
    Campus is about a 15/20 minute walk from town. Student affordable flats are also located extremely close by. And its very pretty.
    Accommodation:
    3 stars is mainly for Murano student village being not great - but thats expected with uni halls. However once you're out of halls, flats in Glasgow are amazing.
    Settling in:
    The student unions go all out to get you involved, the staff make sure you are very well informed about how everything works. Freshers week was brilliant.
  • loudonkirsten's avatar by loudonkirsten on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Glasgow university is a great place to study, in a fantastic location and it looks like Hogwarts.
    University:
    The university has a lot of good clubs and plenty of events through out the year and things constantly going on at union which helps you meet new people.
    Course:
    The course is extremely interesting and something I'm very passionate about. However I didn't rate it 5 because the work load is a little overwhelming at times and the lecturers often rush through things at a pace that's hard to take in.
    Location:
    Glasgow city is a great place to live, however the location of the vet campus is very far out from the centre and I have to spend a lot of money getting to university each day.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the accommodation is very good, however there are a few problems that aren't acceptable for the price of the halls. The halls are just affordable on a student budget and the location is ok, quite far out but walkable distance to amenities.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home extremely quickly as my flat mates are such lovely people and our flat quickly became a home.
  • Nopenotchloe 's avatar by Nopenotchloe on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars! Far from home but don't feel lonely, support available, decent prices and amazing locals!
    University:
    Sometimes societies are scheduled when classes are!
    Course:
    Poor timetable in relation to locations, otherwise good
    Location:
    Amazing city aesthetically and otherwise, and when the West end gets too expensive, it's only a twenty minute walk into the cheap and beautiful city centre
    Accommodation:
    Amazing cheap accommodation (
    Settling in:
    Sometimes feels a bit weird with how far away all the houses are from one another
  • Annabelwinward's avatar by Annabelwinward on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoyable
    University:
    100s of society's, brilliant library, student services always there to help out, free gym membership for students living in halls
    Course:
    Enjoyable content and lots of support if needed
    Location:
    Nice city to live in, west end of Glasgow has nice surroundings/plenty to see
    Accommodation:
    Covers all the basics, good for first year accommodation
    Settling in:
    Student housing full of people, friendly city
  • Dancerjodie 's avatar by Dancerjodie on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5. Although it was thought to start with, stick it out because it is the best time of your life.
    University:
    The range of clubs and facilities the university offers is incredible. There is pretty much a club for anything and everything.
    Course:
    I enjoy all aspects of the course, however I feel that there could be a little bit more contact time for the courses.
    Location:
    The west end is a beautiful place.
    Accommodation:
    This is just based on what I have seen from friends.
    Settling in:
    At first I found it very hard due to the difference in social settings and getting used to a more individual work ethos.
  • GranCero96's avatar by GranCero96 on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    Not been yet
    University:
    Not begun yet
    Course:
    I start in september
    Location:
    Embedded into the city, close to all needs.
    Accommodation:
    Close to university facilities, 5 mins away from my lectures
    Settling in:
    Not been yet
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is great but this year they are renovating, that is why I gave 4
    University:
    its great!
    Course:
    Because professors are so much friendly
    Location:
    Because only 2 bus lines take you to university avenue
    Accommodation:
    Because it is so cold!!!
    Settling in:
    Because there is whole bunch of people whose job is to make you feel like at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is such a good university and would recommend to anyone!
    University:
    Glasgow is such an amazing city!
    Course:
    I think the course is really well organised and the teaching is really good.
    Location:
    It is such a good location and is such a beautiful area of the city.
    Accommodation:
    Because it was overpriced for very very basic flats.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really well and made friends really easily.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    In just a few weeks I am already immensely enjoying myself at Glasgow University and I feel it will only get better the longer I am a student there.
    University:
    The union is great and as are the societies for socialising
    Course:
    I'm really enjoying certain aspects of my course
    Location:
    The campus is lovely and situated in the west end of Glasgow - a lively and social area.
    Accommodation:
    Seems as though you get what you pay for
    Settling in:
    People are very friendly and open
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Not had time to go out much
    Course:
    It's good
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    Paying for friendship!
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly, great city!
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good
    University:
    Its cool
    Course:
    Everything seems great
    Location:
    I love it
    Accommodation:
    Its cool
    Settling in:
    No reason
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Great socials!
    Course:
    Good mix of lectures and practicals. Information related to real life situations.
    Location:
    Vet school off campus, west end lovely area
    Accommodation:
    visited friends halls, clean and lovely
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff and good support
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall really good. But be prepared to spend a lot on halls!
    University:
    A large library, hundreds of clubs, good value gym, good facilities. All makes for a very enjoyable uni life
    Course:
    Great teaching and course content. Only slight criticism would be that the organisation of the timetabling is sometimes last minute
    Location:
    I am not a city person but there is plenty to do in Glasgow and the vet school is nicely situated away from the hustle and bustle of being in town.
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Wolfson halls, which was a catered hall so I knew I would have to pay more for this. However, it was a total rip off. Low quality and quantity of food and a tiny bedroom.
    Settling in:
    I did miss home for quite a while but regularly went home at weekends and soon got over it
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 amazing!
    University:
    The uni has loads of great facilities everything is really well maintained.
    Course:
    Everyone on my course is so friendly including lecturers. We are given a great deal of very focused teaching time and staff seem keen for us to do our best. The way we learn is varied and interesting.
    Location:
    The uni is based in the west end of Glasgow which is pictoresque and a great place to live, very lively and lots going on all the time. Loads of culture and also super easy to get to with good transport links.
    Accommodation:
    All university accommodation is around a half hour walk away which is quite annoying and like most university accommodation is overpriced for the standard of living.
    Settling in:
    It is a very social course as it is not lefture based so everyone got to know each other very quickly. The whole city is super friendly! Made friends so easily and still have the same ones now three years later. Freshers week was very well organised and fun.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent uni
    University:
    Stutent union was excellent, busy city
    Course:
    Course was harder than I expected, but was very enjoyable
    Location:
    Great city
    Accommodation:
    Great accommodation for the price
    Settling in:
    People of Glasgow were very friendly and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5 star, you'd struggle to find a more prestigious uni with the same chance of experiencing the life you can here outside your course
    University:
    Anything you could possibly want to do you can!
    Course:
    Lecturers are great at what they do! The course is in a logical order and I am challenged the right amount.
    Location:
    It's Location is excellent
    Accommodation:
    Not value for money
    Settling in:
    Glasgow and the uni is very homely , accommodation took time to adjust to
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I've had an amazing three years at Glasgow, it has something special about it that draws you in and keeps you here!
    University:
    Uni life has been great! And still is.
    Course:
    Interesting course with various elements; good lecturers however can become tedious at times
    Location:
    Great to be in the West End as it has its own vibe all together; yet it is close to the city centre to have amazing nights out.
    Accommodation:
    Murano Student Halls need to be updated, overpriced for what you get but I guess it is about the experience
    Settling in:
    I needed to stay here more often as I was going home each weekend to see my girlfriend. It would have been better to jump right in with freshers and societies.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4.5, I am really enjoying my time here and would never want to change to any other university, however there are always small things that could be improved.
    University:
    I really like that every building on campus is different, some of my lectures are in beautiful old houses whereas others are in very new buildings. There are also lots of cafes and other places to spend time between lectures on campus.
    Course:
    So far all my lecturers have been very passionate about their subject which positively influences their teaching
    Location:
    The campus is great and there are lots of small and bigger shops on the way from my accommodation to the university, there is also a cheap bus that goes straight into town.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was the cheapest one but compared to the the accommodation some of my friends at other universities are staying in it is very basic, however it is perfect for meeting new people in first year and there is always something going on
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly and the university and area around it definitely helped with that
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Four stars. University of Glasgow is an amazing university to attend.
    University:
    We have an amazing library, four competitive unions which provide brilliant events, and an overall good welfare system.
    Course:
    The timetable is pretty relaxed and not too crushed together. The lectures and power points and all placed online afterwards for people to catch up on notes. The teaching is of good quality.
    Location:
    Glasgow is a wonderful city.
    Accommodation:
    It's good in terms of meeting people and making friends but it is pretty basic compared to other accommodation for the same price.
    Settling in:
    Where I live makes it quite easy to feel at home and everyone stays together when traveling to campus, making it easier to feel relaxed and about not getting lost and things.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Lots going on in the uni, friendly people, good food around
    University:
    Again, it's in the west end, very well located
    Course:
    Teaching is good, although could be more structured (but that's because I'm a fourth year medic and am on placements). Timetable is generally quite flexible, which certainly works for my study style.
    Location:
    It's in the West End of Glasgow, which is really convenient for food and entertainment
    Accommodation:
    They tend to be quite far from the university, and they are quite pricey which rather small rooms.
    Settling in:
    I tend to adapt quite quickly to new environments, and I had friends quite quickly too
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would give it a 4 out of 5 star rating with the one thing I really dislike is how many events are for people that drink
    University:
    It's nice but sports facilities and books are sometimes ridiculously expensive and can cause some stress
    Course:
    Lecturers are all great but some should try to make the course more fun and interesting
    Location:
    It's in a really beautiful and non noisy location, lots of shops, cafes, restaurants, bars and parks nearby and being close to two subway stations makes going to the city centre very easy.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in university accommodation
    Settling in:
    The staff are friendly and there's plenty of social events for meeting new people but I feel like there should be more events less focused on alcohol
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    My experience at Glasgow university so far has been excellent. Glasgow is a fantastic city and the university is a key part of it, in the great location of the west end. Teaching is top quality and most staff are extremely helpful, and experts in their field. Out of the lecture theatre, there is lots for students to get involved with, and Glasgow nightlife is great.
    University:
    The university has countless activities, clubs and societies to get involved in. The student representative council is very pro-active and has lots of helpful services available to students. The student unions host a variety of events throughout the year.
    Course:
    Course content has overall been very interesting and useful. Contact time is quite limited, but most staff have been approachable and more than happy to give advice and guidance via email or meetings.
    Location:
    Glasgow university is located in a very nice part of the city, with lots of shops, bars and restaurants close by.
    Accommodation:
    Halls I stayed in were very basic for the cost. Overall were quite clean and reasonably maintained.
    Settling in:
    I settled into university life quite quickly. The university provided lots of ways of getting to know people, the campus and the area.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is amazing, really.
    University:
    The library is extremely rich and we have 4 student unions and numerous societies.
    Course:
    The Department is great and all the lecturers are very experienced and knowledgeable. The course provides a range of opportunities.
    Location:
    Love the city, plan to stay here forever.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't have luck with my room-mates and accommodation was not really affordable.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home immediately.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Good nightlife and uni life in general
    Course:
    Good course
    Location:
    Lovely picturesque location
    Accommodation:
    Constantly have problems with the flat boiler which takes ages to be fixed, rubbish doesn't get collected by the council and bins are overflowing all the time.
    Settling in:
    Settled in easy
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its fantastic.
    University:
    The university offers so many different services, societies and has so many cafes/food shops/gym equipment on campus, the library is also huge and has a great variety of areas to study in depending on your learning type
    Course:
    The lectures and seminars are perfectly suited in regards to my interests
    Location:
    The west end of glasgow is beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Its affordable and very close to the university but ive had a lot of problems with maintenance and electrical faults are regular occurances
    Settling in:
    Freshers was perfect for settling in and meeting new people, the atmosphere here is fantastic for new students
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5! The opportunities are there to be seized. The city and university is so multi-cultural and everybody is accepted and will find their place. The online platform has a student voice where you can keep up-to-date about goings-on and where you can inquire about classes/social gatherings and buy and sell old books. The range of sports is infinite and if you have classes scheduled right next to each other (e.g. class x = 11.00-12.00, class y = 12.00 - 13.00) which are at opposite ends of the campus, you can easily make it with a brisk walk as classes start and finish 5 minutes earlier/later than timetabled. The campus is always buzzing and there is a real 'student' energy to be felt during the day - but kelvingrove park is at the bottom of campus if you need some peace and quiet in a wonderfully peaceful setting or want to go for a run between classes. Fantastic transport links, incredibly dedicated teachers, diverse trendy city with loads to offer, flexibility of study (you can apply for a joint honours in 2 subjects and end up graduating with a completely different degree if you change your mind).
    University:
    Numerous clubs and societies for every interest/enormous gym (apparently sometimes overcrowded)/ 12 floor library (only two elevators but to complain about when the stairs are perfectly fine) with different levels corresponding to atmosphere and noise volumes/ separate libraries owned by subject areas distributed around campus.
    Course:
    The courses follow a very logical structure which allow for a steady progression. The materials used correspond perfectly to level of course. Extremely competent and devoted teachers/professors who seem to have a 24/7 job as far as responding (rapidly, too) to emails is concerned. We are prepared for exams and know what is expected of us. Extra support classes are offered if desired. We receive emails about upcoming events relating to studies. You feel supported by the advising team.
    Location:
    It is located in the west end near Byres road and the city centre is only minutes away by subway. Two train stations can be reached by foot in 15 mins (partick and exhibition centre) and is therefore easily reached for students who commute. Kelvingrove park is right next to campus and the surroundings make for good relaxation time on sunny days (and not-so-sunny days). There are major art galleries and museums within 10 mins walking distance and the city centre (40 minute walk/10 minutes cycling) offers endless possibilities.
    Accommodation:
    I have no idea = live at home
    Settling in:
    I had a part-time job in my first semester and still live at home. I therefore didn't make enough attempts to fully integrate as far as societies and social events go. Language classes tend to be interactive though and you have the possibility to meet people in class. Being a Glaswegian, I already felt 'at home' in the city and adjusting to the new academic system doesn't take much time.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been great. It has provided me with so many opportunities already apt hat I don't think I old have achieved at any other university. The nightlife in Glasgow is great, yet having the university out with the city centre really adds to its vibe and overall atmosphere. The people are absolutely great and really friendly, so don't be scared to start up a conversation!
    University:
    There is a lot to do at the university and a lot of events are held throughout the year. You really have to push yourself to go to them to really enjoy them as at the university it really is almost a key part.
    Course:
    I enjoy most of the classes provided by my tutors. Going into third year allows more flexibility which I feel will encourage me more as I have selected some courses rather than having to complete them based on the syllabus. Most of my tutors are approachable, however last year we have less hours which I feel could have been increased to provide a better understanding for students.
    Location:
    I love that the university is in the West End of the city, because it is close enough to the centre that you can go out clubbing, shopping and everything else. But then it also has a more chilled out vibe that I enjoy.
    Accommodation:
    The housing I was in during first year was the largest that the university had, however it was the worst looking aesthetically. The halls needed updating urgently as the expense of them doesn't seem to be used in a way that contributes back to the halls.
    Settling in:
    I believe that I didn't join as many clubs or societies that I should have in order to gain a larger group of friends and enjoy my university time quicker. It might have taken me longer to feel at home, but that is my own personal opinion.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoy being a student at Glasgow and for me, the highlight is definitely my course and the location of the campus.
    University:
    I haven't participated much in societies and activities but the student publications are of generally good quality and society meetings that I have been to have always been interesting.
    Course:
    The majority of lecturers and tutors are really helpful and informative, the courses are really interesting, especially in Honours, and the lectures are generally of good quality.
    Location:
    Glasgow is a great, vibrant city with lots of culture and the campus is located in one of the prettiest areas of the city, with loads of great restaurants and bars.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't live in university accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult to settle in because I lived at home so it was harder to make friends.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    5* definitely, they say people make Glasgow and that's really showed through
    University:
    It has everything that I could wish for
    Course:
    Teaching is brilliant
    Location:
    In a nice and affluent area of town but a bit far from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Rent is cheap and spacious
    Settling in:
    Freshers events every night for the first week
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I wasn't sure where to study when I first applied for university, but now having completed it I wouldn't change a thing. Glasgow was perfect for me, in terms or location, facilities and education.
    University:
    There is so much in the area surrounding the uni. The library is great, and there's lots of places out with the library to study, use computers etc. the gym is really good and offer many classes. There were so many societies etc.
    Course:
    In the early years we had a lot of freedom choosing a variety of courses which was good. By third and fourth year it was more specific, but still with freedom choosing what you're most interested in. I always felt like I was being taught by amazing academics who were really contributing to the world scientifically.
    Location:
    I love Glasgow- it's an amazing city. By being in the west end you are outside the city centre enough to have some peace but close enough to reach it in minutes. There is so much atmosphere around the west end of Glasgow.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't stay in uni accomodation
    Settling in:
    It was hard to socialise unless you were in university accomodation in first year, as I wasn't it was difficult to make friends/meet new people. It wasn't until third year when I felt really comfortable in the course and had made friends who I actually like.
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good but you have to make your own opportunities and don't expect anything to be handed to you on a plate.
    University:
    Glasgow has 2 unions and many clubs/societies. Something for everyone
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    Glasgow is a fab city
    Accommodation:
    It was good except when the heating broke for the whole of January
    Settling in:
    I settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Lots of events
    Course:
    Its an amazing course
    Location:
    Close to city centre
    Accommodation:
    Some quite far
    Settling in:
    Lovely place lovely people
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, the University of Glasgow is a good university. This is reinforced by its consistently high rankings in the league tables. I chose it because I loved the city and its people, the location, and because it was 4th in the UK for Psychology. However, along with Psychology I have to study 2 other subjects. I was expecting to be put into the College of Science but instead was put into the College of Arts, which means that my only options for my second and third subjects are things like languages, history, politics, classics and archeology. I feel resentful that I have to study these things that I did not come to university to do, and it puts a dampener on the whole experience as I don't feel passionate about what I'm studying. I wish there had been more information and guidance about this prior to applying.
    University:
    It probably has nothing to do with the university itself, but the drinking culture at university seems a bit pointless to me at times. Coming to university at 20 and having done a lot of that already and mixing with people who were enjoying freedom and going out for the first time felt like a bit of a drag at times. It's just about finding people with similar interests but there is definitely a big focus on this. There are quite a few societies and sports clubs but due to my extortionate acommodation I had to get a job. With the job and a demanding workload, I didn't have time for any of them. However, I do spend a lot of time at the university gym which is great, especially for meeting like minded people. The student unions are pretty good as well, but if I'm honest I don't spend a lot of time there aside from freshers week- if I'm going out for drinks etc it'll normally be at bars or clubs.
    Course:
    I have to study a lot of modules that don't interest me, and there is not as much support as I expected.
    Location:
    The university campus is beautiful and right in the heart of the west end, which is full of cafes, restaurants and shops.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was fantastic compared to many of the other student halls and the location was 20 minutes from the university itself, however, it was extraordinarily overpriced and made my first year finances a struggle.
    Settling in:
    I had just returned from a year of travelling and felt a mixture of restlessness and resentment as I had gone from having freedom and money due to full time work, to deadlines and no money.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    So far I have really enjoyed University in Glasgow. If you like older beautiful buildings and lots of history and culture it's definitely the place to go. There are students from all over the world and the study abroad program is one of the best in the UK.
    University:
    I love university, and the opportunities available in such a central busy city as Glasgow are huge. I have met loads of new friends. I'm apart of the Student Television which is full of wonderful people. The library is well stocked and very helpful, and if you want to know more about clubs and societies there is no shortage of help and ways to get involved.
    Course:
    At times the lecturers are unavailable, but there will always be someone to contact. It's informative, interesting, and a thoroughly enjoyable course.
    Location:
    It is a central location in the nicer area of Glasgow. Transport is nearby, both buses and the subway to take you to the center which is only about 10 minutes on the subway. However the area around the University is in the West End and has plenty shops and entertainment nearby as is.
    Accommodation:
    There are different levels of accommodation depending what you are willing/able to afford. So there is something for everyone depending on your criteria.
    Settling in:
    In the first year (as you are at all Universities to my knowledge) you are placed with other students in a flat. If you do not get along then this can affect your year but you quickly find other friends. UofG tries to put people together from the same countries, towns and areas if it can. I was in a flat with a girl from my Sixth Form and we live about 5 hours from UofG!
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    it has been fantastic. Glasgow is such a great city with great people.
    University:
    things are here for everyone.
    Course:
    everything is good and makes sense, ties into other areas we are studying. but feedback is sparse.
    Location:
    Glasgow is a fantastic city.
    Accommodation:
    good facilities but far away from campus.
    Settling in:
    love uni
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is very good and modern but can be a bit pricey due to the location but as long as you preplan shopping etc then you should be fine
    University:
    There are two student unions, each offering different experiences and the library has 12 floors and different study spaces to suit different people. The campus has many cafes and the gym has very good facilities
    Course:
    The subject remained interesting to me but there wasn't a lot of contact time which would have been more reassuring
    Location:
    It is situated in the west end of Gladgow which has fashionable shops and bars but it is quite expensive at points and the supermarkets were all at least a twenty minute walk away. To get to the city centre with the more mainstream shops I have to get the subway which costs
    Accommodation:
    I had en suite which was very good for me as I am quite a private person who likes their own space but ut was a twenty minute walk from the uni, with a limited shuttle bus service, and it cost at least
    Settling in:
    I was only an hour away on the train from home so it wasn't too bad but it was the first time I had been completely independant from my family so it took a while to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 10/10. Apart from the hill it is on I can't think of any faults
    University:
    Drinks are so much cheaper than home, uni has two unions. There is always something on
    Course:
    Course is really flexible, Lecture resources are readily available and tutors are very helpful and knowledgable
    Location:
    Glasgow is a lovely city, just has a bad rep (the city that is)
    Accommodation:
    I was in a brand new building, facilities were amazing and was very close to uni
    Settling in:
    Very easy to get settled
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent night life, university and students
    University:
    Excellent societies
    Course:
    Excellent teaching and community vibe between students and staff
    Location:
    Campus is in a good locations and the city is brilliant
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly and university hold events to help you meet new people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good. It's a gorgeous uni and the people are wonderful and all in all it's a great place to be.
    University:
    Sometimes it's a bit annoying to have to trek to the uni library or book store but the facilities are good so it balances it out.
    Course:
    I feel like it's a very good course with good tutors and lab time etc but there are a few too many people per class.
    Location:
    Beautiful setting and very easy to get to.
    Accommodation:
    Perfect accommodation but very expensive
    Settling in:
    I had been at boarding school for my A levels so living away from home was something I was used to. Glasgow is an easy city to get around and live in.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's fantastic, I love it here
    University:
    Never a dull moment
    Course:
    Great book choices, most lectures are insightful but some are pointless
    Location:
    Wonderful city, great transport links
    Accommodation:
    Nice rooms, good kitchen, terrible bed
    Settling in:
    Felt like home immediately
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I couldn't see myself going anywhere else
    University:
    Living with other students and learning what you love.
    Course:
    Good lectures - some parts of the course could be more focused
    Location:
    Glasgow is a beautiful city (The west end)
    Accommodation:
    Shared bathrooms and room-mate
    Settling in:
    It was easy to adjust to living away from home and make friends
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars. I would recommend Glasgow uni to everyone.
    University:
    Campus life is always buzzing and no matter when or what time it is, there's always something on or something to do. We have 2 student unions as well so it's double the fun!
    Course:
    The course is fantastic, great content and very enjoyable. I love university so much, there's always so much to do and everyone in Glasgow is amazing
    Location:
    Glasgow Uni is in the west end of Glasgow, and it's so pretty. It's only 8 mins from town as well, and both the west end and the city centre have the best nightlife ever. The west end is largely populated by students without the cons of being right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Some accommodation is pretty dodgy, like anywhere but it's mostly good. The only hassle is the 30min walk to uni
    Settling in:
    I was pretty upset the first day but Glasgow has an amazing freshers week and I made so many new friends really quickly and I was really content after a few days
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Nice campus, two unions, a variety of sports cubs, large library and shops close by
    Course:
    Course is exactly what I expected and organised/taught well
    Location:
    Nice area, close to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Private accommodation rented by the uni- quite far away, stricter rules but a lovely place to live
    Settling in:
    Wanted to move away from home, was ready and mature

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE