Member reviews of University of Glasgow

  • v98allison's avatar by v98allison on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think overall UoG is a great university but they are lacking in some areas such as support for mental health, expensive costs for courses as well as accommodation.
    University:
    Everything is great and accessible with a range of activities for all financial situations. There's a society for every interest and every sport, most of which are free to join.
    Course:
    There's a good mix of lectures and practicals which means you don't get bored and you can find lots of ways to learn your topics. I liked that we had lots of hands on anatomy and dissection in first year but it's decreased significantly since then.
    Location:
    Easily accessible on all public transport and lots of great places nearby
    Accommodation:
    I haven't stayed in accommodation so I'' not sure of the costs or quality.
    Settling in:
    It took me a full year to effectively learn how to study the way that uni teaches which meant I didn't do great in my exams. It was difficult trying to make friends as a home student and I didn't find a proper group until near the end of first year.
  • hilaryplz's avatar by hilaryplz on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Good environment for people who want to stay in a smallish city that's not too busy
    University:
    Cool people
    Course:
    Just cuz
    Location:
    It's far from everything
    Accommodation:
    Not lots of accommodation options for the vet med campus
    Settling in:
    Not bad
  • SeanHayashibara's avatar by SeanHayashibara on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Big fan of most aspects.
    University:
    Pretty good.
    Course:
    This course is good. I like my lecturers. Good culture. However it is intense.
    Location:
    I love Glasgow forever
    Accommodation:
    I do not know.
    Settling in:
    It took me a few weeks but I have settled in fine
  • yxguice's avatar by yxguice on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    A good place to study
    University:
    It have anything you need.
    Course:
    The reduction of 1 star is because the feedback is not very well given.
    Location:
    Not a very fun place to study
    Accommodation:
    Friendly staff
    Settling in:
    I have made a lot of friend
  • ShafShady's avatar by ShafShady on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I think this university is an amazing choice both academically and for student life. I would definitely choose Glasgow again if I were to have had the choice again!
    University:
    Glasgow University is amazing for student life. There is a wealth of options to suit a variety of student interests which is only helped by the friendly nature of people in the area.
    Course:
    There has been a mix of teaching methods from PBL to lectures. Everything has been really engaging and the university are very keen on listening to feedback from students.
    Location:
    The West end of Glasgow has developed around the University and so is perfect for students. There are good transport links to the city centre and elsewhere in Glasgow.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation we'e not worth the prices for rent. Most accommodation choices are quite far from the university campus.
    Settling in:
    I took a while to settle in, however the university did encourage me to do things out of my comfort zone.
  • RachelMoir97's avatar by RachelMoir97 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I don’t recommend this uni if you have any additional needs. It’s a pretty place to attend but it can be really easy to feel left out and like you’re being proper fleeced of all your money.
    University:
    I think my uni has an ‘insider’ vibe to it which makes it difficult to cope there when you’re not involved in everything.
    Course:
    Individual tutors were helpful and lecturers gave help when you asked for it, but the course layout wasn’t very modern in comparison to other courses. Really interesting course content but difficult to express your own opinions.
    Location:
    It has a good location as the area is really nice and the buildings are more or less within walking distance but it doesn’t have great transport links and properties are really expensive.
    Accommodation:
    Fees for student accommodation were thousands more than the student loan and were really gross. Bugs infesting the flats before you even moved in and it’s too far away from the uni to be charging so much money.
    Settling in:
    I settled in with new friends quickly from my flat and adapted to the student life/nightlife easily but found the university difficult to settle in to.
  • Chuck07's avatar by Chuck07 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I think Glasgow was definitely the perfect choice for me, I've settled in very well, really enjoy my courses, have made good friends and am actively involved in student life.
    University:
    There are over 260 societies to choose from, so we're really spoilt for choice and there is also a very active sports association. I take part in Horseriding and it's extremely cheap and I don't think any other university I applied to would have offered this. I also do Beekeeping and am part of a variety of other societies.
    Course:
    Because there are good contact hours and I mostly find my tutors/lecturer's very approachable and helpful.
    Location:
    Glasgow is a great university city, with lots to do, the campus is also gorgeous and looks like Hogwarts.
    Accommodation:
    My university accommodation was luxury and very expensive, but we didn't get much for it.
    Settling in:
    I found it quite easy to make friends/ my courses were exactly what I expected.
  • tehnuhu's avatar by tehnuhu on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The uni experience has been quite good. Obviously the uni experience tends to be exaggerated because of media etc, but Glasgow uni is still a good one and i'm enjoying my time here
    University:
    I don'tf eel like I've taken advantage of uni life as much as I could have. The student social life here is okay, but could be better
    Course:
    I haven't actually begun to do my course yet. Because of the structure of Scottish degrees, i'm actually still competing to get onto my degree despite having been accepted for it. This is a little frustrating as my course is a very popular one, so the required grades are very high. Despite this, the uni is good and staff are helpful.
    Location:
    It is in a very nice part of Glasgow and has a nice mix of students and actual people
    Accommodation:
    This doesn't apply to me as I went into private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Quite quickly. Glasgow is a friendly city
  • Lumpy Muffin's avatar by Lumpy Muffin on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great uni with great services, teaching methods and opportunities. Great city with great nightlife, endless possibilities and easy transport. Great people, great halls. Everything here has been great in my first year and I would happily recommend The University of Glasgow to anyone.
    University:
    Uni life here is great. The library is huge, with 11 floors of varying levels of quiet you will be able to find the perfect place to study. There is a gym that is free to first year students that again is huge. As well as this, there are two student unions rather than just one, QMU offering a great place to spend your days or get a bite to eat with friends while GUU can provide the great easy night out for students here, never failing to please with it's built in nightclub "the hive". There are so many societies, both sport related and otherwise that anyfree time you have you can easily find yourself a community of likeminded people.
    Course:
    The first year of this course has been very general biology and not too specific, this has been great as it has allowed me to see all of biology and get a feel if this course is the best one for me before committing. The staff are all friendly and approachable and the lectures are great. Labs are great fun and the website for this course is so well laid out you can find everything you need with little trouble.
    Location:
    Glasgow is the perfect location for a student. With something going on somewhere everyday it is impossible to be bored here. The uni itself is located in the west end which is great as the area is amazingly nice here, you never have to worry about safety. If you get bored of the west end though the subway of Glasgow allows for quick travel to any other part of the city, including only 8 minutes to the city centre. Glasgow with its many nightclubs, music venues and general opportunities is the best place for a student.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in queen Margaret halls this year and they are amazing. The people are great, the flats themselves are amazing, with large spacious rooms, huge kitchens with plenty of fridge space and only 5 people per flat which is perfect. There isn't a central building with TV, table tennis and pool table also that is open all the time to use. In this central building there isn't also a desk to help you with any problems. The location is great, Ono you 20 minute walk away from the university and very close to various shops for quick runs to tecso. The only thing about these halls isn't that they are quite pricey, coming in at around £613 per month
    Settling in:
    The people in my halls were so great we all immediately became friends, now having a group of almost 20 people with a very much family feel to it. Lectures were easy to get into the swing of and the night life here is great. No problems.
  • mvt's avatar by mvt on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I've just started my year here but I can't wait for the rest of it!
    University:
    Unions are amazing. There's always events going on inside or outside the campus.
    Course:
    I love the course, the lectures and the content!
    Location:
    Great building (its Hogwarts!), lively place.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, affordable than the others, great people and staff.
    Settling in:
    I fitted in pretty quickly!
  • U know who's avatar by U know who on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been a great experience, I have met a lot of different people and it has been one of the best experiences of my life I can't wait being more involved in the university
    University:
    There is transport really neat the uni that will take you to the city centre and you can find anything. Also around the uni you can ask and might find what you are looking for, there is a track and banks really neat as well
    Course:
    It's completely above my expectations, it is a really friendly environment and it provides a lot of opportunities
    Location:
    It's in a really convenient place really near shops and banks that are really helpful specially in the first week when you are trying to get settled
    Accommodation:
    I'm staying at Woofson halls, so far it's pretty good but the transport is not enough for the amount of students living in this accommodation and there is a really big gap in the middle of the day were a lot of people has to wait more than three hours for the transport and they may not even get a place in the minibus
    Settling in:
    As I said it's really friendly and people are always there if you need anything. Also the fact about living in the halls makes you socialise more
  • loudonkirsten's avatar by loudonkirsten on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Glasgow university is a great place to study, in a fantastic location and it looks like Hogwarts.
    University:
    The university has a lot of good clubs and plenty of events through out the year and things constantly going on at union which helps you meet new people.
    Course:
    The course is extremely interesting and something I'm very passionate about. However I didn't rate it 5 because the work load is a little overwhelming at times and the lecturers often rush through things at a pace that's hard to take in.
    Location:
    Glasgow city is a great place to live, however the location of the vet campus is very far out from the centre and I have to spend a lot of money getting to university each day.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the accommodation is very good, however there are a few problems that aren't acceptable for the price of the halls. The halls are just affordable on a student budget and the location is ok, quite far out but walkable distance to amenities.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home extremely quickly as my flat mates are such lovely people and our flat quickly became a home.
  • Nopenotchloe 's avatar by Nopenotchloe on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars! Far from home but don't feel lonely, support available, decent prices and amazing locals!
    University:
    Sometimes societies are scheduled when classes are!
    Course:
    Poor timetable in relation to locations, otherwise good
    Location:
    Amazing city aesthetically and otherwise, and when the West end gets too expensive, it's only a twenty minute walk into the cheap and beautiful city centre
    Accommodation:
    Amazing cheap accommodation (
    Settling in:
    Sometimes feels a bit weird with how far away all the houses are from one another
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is great but this year they are renovating, that is why I gave 4
    University:
    its great!
    Course:
    Because professors are so much friendly
    Location:
    Because only 2 bus lines take you to university avenue
    Accommodation:
    Because it is so cold!!!
    Settling in:
    Because there is whole bunch of people whose job is to make you feel like at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is such a good university and would recommend to anyone!
    University:
    Glasgow is such an amazing city!
    Course:
    I think the course is really well organised and the teaching is really good.
    Location:
    It is such a good location and is such a beautiful area of the city.
    Accommodation:
    Because it was overpriced for very very basic flats.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really well and made friends really easily.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    In just a few weeks I am already immensely enjoying myself at Glasgow University and I feel it will only get better the longer I am a student there.
    University:
    The union is great and as are the societies for socialising
    Course:
    I'm really enjoying certain aspects of my course
    Location:
    The campus is lovely and situated in the west end of Glasgow - a lively and social area.
    Accommodation:
    Seems as though you get what you pay for
    Settling in:
    People are very friendly and open
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Not had time to go out much
    Course:
    It's good
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    Paying for friendship!
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly, great city!
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good
    University:
    Its cool
    Course:
    Everything seems great
    Location:
    I love it
    Accommodation:
    Its cool
    Settling in:
    No reason
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Great socials!
    Course:
    Good mix of lectures and practicals. Information related to real life situations.
    Location:
    Vet school off campus, west end lovely area
    Accommodation:
    visited friends halls, clean and lovely
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff and good support
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall really good. But be prepared to spend a lot on halls!
    University:
    A large library, hundreds of clubs, good value gym, good facilities. All makes for a very enjoyable uni life
    Course:
    Great teaching and course content. Only slight criticism would be that the organisation of the timetabling is sometimes last minute
    Location:
    I am not a city person but there is plenty to do in Glasgow and the vet school is nicely situated away from the hustle and bustle of being in town.
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Wolfson halls, which was a catered hall so I knew I would have to pay more for this. However, it was a total rip off. Low quality and quantity of food and a tiny bedroom.
    Settling in:
    I did miss home for quite a while but regularly went home at weekends and soon got over it
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE