Member reviews of University of Hull

  • GymBoiii's avatar by GymBoiii on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Great support systems and loads of societies
    Course:
    Really helpful staff . anthropology as a subject is truly engaging because the nature of the subject forced me to experience the world around me much more broadly having a blast.
    Location:
    Close to the city centre and bars
    Accommodation:
    Facilities especially the library are fantastic
    Settling in:
    Grew up in the city
  • shadowlord875's avatar by shadowlord875 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great uni. Enjoy my course and are able to enjoy a social life as well. Societies are plentiful and amenities are all within walking distance
    University:
    Good union shop and bar open reasonable times, and a 24 hour library, loads of societies and it is fairly easy to start a new one as well
    Course:
    Overall, it is a very detailed course, there is a gentle difficulty increase over time and it is well planned generally. There is quite a lot of group work involved however
    Location:
    Fairly quiet area although a bit of a distance from the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Plenty of it and it is of a good quality, especially houses through the partner company kexgill
    Settling in:
    Very easy to feel at home, lots of stuff going on no matter what your interests
  • Midnight Star's avatar by Midnight Star on 16th March 2016
    Overall:
    It's AMAZING. The course, the people, the support, the facilities, the city, everything really came together to give me a wonderful time and I'm really going to miss it when I leave.
    University:
    The library has recently been done up so it is now a really good place to work in, it's always really busy with people working there. The university also has multiple 24 hour computer suites which are quite good to work in if you really need a computer. The Union is quite good, the union shop sells a really wide variety of stuff and has everything you might need. (Though it's a little bit expensive by Hull's standards so I wouldn't recommend doing your weekly shop there) There is also Eats and Eats Italia which are quite good for lunches as well as the bars Sanctuary and Johnny Mac, which sell food and are open in the evenings. At night the university even has its own nightclub, Asylum, which isn't too bad. There are loads of support services upstairs in the union. I haven't used most of them so can't comment too much but the careers service is good. There are also tons and tons of sports clubs and societies you can join which is awesome too.
    Course:
    I've really enjoyed my time on this course. The lectures have been really good and the lecturers are all really friendly and willing to help. The work has been interesting, very hard but I have found that everything is achievable provided enough work was put in. The support staff are incredible and very good at dealing with any problems we have.
    Location:
    Hull is a lot better than people give it credit for. It might have it's bad bits but as a student you have no reason to go there (I've gone through east hull maybe twice in a taxi and that's it). The campus itself is quite nice as is the area directly surrounding the university. Newland Avenue and Beverly Road have tons of shops, pubs, restaurants, takeaways and anything else you might need on them. The city centre itself is good too and there is no shortage of shopping centres. There is also quite a lot to do in Hull including the Deep, Big Fun, cinema, bowling, ice skating, swimming, rock climbing, ect.
    Accommodation:
    Hull's accommodation is great, it's one of cheapest in the country and because of the abundance of student housing in Hull, it is competitive so you can get some amazing houses for decent prices if you look around. I stayed in the Lawns in my first year which I really liked. It was semi-catered so we just got evening meals which was ideal for me. The food was alright though not amazing (it made me ready to start cooking in second year). The accommodation itself was really nice and had really good facilities. The showers were soooo powerful, it was amazing. For the rest of my time at uni, I have been staying in shared housing which is really close to uni. The house was
    Settling in:
    Within hours of me moving into Halls I ended up at the pub with other people in the rooms near mine. I talked to people around me and quickly settled in. Everybody seemed really nice. I think it took about a semester for us to form the big group of friends on my course I have now. On the whole it didn't take me very long to get used to everything.
  • Lia93's avatar by Lia93 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience was amazing, I really loved it. I'd urge anyone who's considering Hull Uni but is put off by the reputation Hull has as a city to visit and see what it's like. I really enjoyed being there.
    University:
    There was always something happening at the SU, there was a bookshop in the Union building, everything was good.
    Course:
    The course structure was good, the modules were mostly interesting, and the lecturers were friendly and helpful. The timetabling was a bit dodgy.
    Location:
    I liked the city, in spite of its reputation.
    Accommodation:
    Housing in Hull is inexpensive, and the low prices don't necessarily reflect the quality. University owned housing was good, and issues were dealt with quickly.
    Settling in:
    I loved it there, it was warm and welcoming, and I felt safe. Hull really does not deserve it's bad reputation.
  • gowill's avatar by gowill on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5. Very good experience, nice and friendly people. Generally very good facilities.
    University:
    Too much night time activities and not enough daytime. Events and societies not great, only suited to heavy socialising and really focused on the night life. Was not influenced to join any of the societies.
    Course:
    Its a good course, the lecturers are friendly and helpful. Lectures are delivered in a variety of ways to suit all learning types.
    Location:
    Fantastic location! You have the seaside, countryside, city, towns, villages etc all on one doorstep. The uni campus is great, nicely laid out and maintained well.
    Accommodation:
    Okay accommodation but needs modernising. Only suited to if you like to live with a lot of people and like heavy socialising.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in, made friends very quickly, always someone to go with for any help or advice.
  • Ambitious's avatar by Ambitious on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Haven't been out but heard its good
    Course:
    I haven't actually started my lectures yet however the city is absolutely incredible. People are so welcoming and it has an amazing vide.
    Location:
    I'm from London so it's a journey but a good one!
    Accommodation:
    Houses are big and cheap but some issues regarding maintenance.
    Settling in:
    I'm very social so I'm very settled.
  • themeliae's avatar by themeliae on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love the university of Hull as it is very warm and welcoming and I have been able to become an active part of it because of this. It is also a very cheap area to live in. The only downside for me is that no bands play here, but we do have great local bands, as well as theatre performances and movie screenings. It is also only a short train ride to places like Leeds.
    University:
    The students union is brilliant and is newly updated, with a great eating area. The staff are extremely helpful. The gym is fine and the library is very modern and pleasant, with plugs everywhere.
    Course:
    I like it because there's a wide variety of choice and I can tailor my degree to fit me. I would prefer to be able to take a journalism or publishing module, but we do have practical and creative module choices.
    Location:
    Hull has a bad reputation but the area is actually very student-friendly and nice. Hull also has a lot of quirky and creative culture.
    Accommodation:
    I did not stay in university accommodation but when I have visited it has been nice enough. Hull is very cheap compared to other areas.
    Settling in:
    Hull has a small, cosy campus with a friendly feel. I was able to quickly become involved with societies and am now very active in university life.
  • chelsea_paige's avatar by chelsea_paige on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    good
    University:
    everything seems good, huge library refurb and union refurb, service good and staff mostrly friendly
    Course:
    In comparison to a course like Chemistry, where expensive chemicals are used all the time, the law students really do not get
    Location:
    it is a good university overall and has lots of local ammenities, however, the university would benefit from being closer to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    gave a middle value as i live at home so cannot really comment
    Settling in:
    it is my home time, i am always close to something familiar
  • Anon3991's avatar by Anon3991 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    A 5. I will be starting at Hull again this week for a masters. The staff, and the university itself are really great.
    University:
    The university has everything possible. Bars. A club. Book store. A shop. Many coffee places and a brand new amazing library with numerous facilities to match all
    Course:
    The university was great. They really helped me as an individual. They cared about everyone's needs as individuals. Help was always there.
    Location:
    It's in the middle of the city
    Accommodation:
    I can't really comment as I lived at home. However when I have visited friends the places have being good.
    Settling in:
    The activities on first day helped me make friends. And their the ones I stuck with throughout
  • phoebea13's avatar by phoebea13 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    There's a lot to do and there's also quite a lot for people who don't drink alcohol
    Course:
    Teachers are super helpful and make everything easy to understand
    Location:
    City isn't as nice as most but the old town is really nice
    Accommodation:
    Really cheap but comparatively high quality
    Settling in:
    I felt at home super fast and haven't really missed home at all
  • Sherace's avatar by Sherace on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I've loved the uni every since I got here. I felt so apprehensive prior to starting uni, as Hull was so far from my home. I felt like the city would be boring, and that it would lack diversity, and that I would never make any friends. But Hull is such a welcoming place, and out of all the universities that I've visited, Hull has the most open and accessible lecturers and staff members. I know that I don't have to worry if I need help of extra support, and it is a comfort to me. Everyone does make that effort to ensure that you're okay, so for me, it adds an extra dimension to my study life. I feel a lot more secure here than I thought I would have felt! I setlled in so quickly at Hull- and because it's a small city- it takes no time at all to know your way around, so it begins to feel like home super-fast! I love Hull, and even though the city itself doesn't have the best of reputations, I do feel that it is unwarranted- and that indeed Hull is a worthwhile place to consider!
    University:
    I love the uni life at Hull. There's a lot to do for everyone. I'm not a clubber or even a drinker and I find loads to do. There are so many restaurants and interesting things to try your hand at! The sports teams are actually really lovely as well! I joined one in my first year and it was a great experience! There are loads of societies as well, from the Come Dine with Me, to the Seventh Day Adventist society! So the variety is really refreshing. And the union is always trying to engage with the students and ensuring that we are really getting the most out of our experience- which I really appreciate. They always have some kind of event in planning or up and running. So it's really good if your a go-and-get-'em kind of person. But the variety means that it does also appeal to the likes of me and all the other home-birds!
    Course:
    My course is dynamic! It has a really good balance the practical and the theoretical side of engineering. My lecturers are interesting and the topics we cover are mostly engaging!
    Location:
    The Uni is actually located in a really nice area, with good transport links to town. The campus is really nice and the uni does spend a lot of time keeping the gardens and flower displays looking really beautiful. The city has some really nice areas- esoecially around the river and towards to cente of town, but as you go further out, before you reach the villages on the outskirts, the housing and general feel of the city really degrades. It does need a definate upgrade. But the areas where the student live, study and travel are kept really well by the council and the uni- so it doesn't really impact us directly. However, it would be nice if the whole city was kept at the same standard.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is so cheap! You can get some really good priced housing- however, if you're a bit naive, you may not realise the quality of housing your money can rent in the city! But I'm really satisfied with the city housing. The uni really tries to support students when they choose to partner with independent landlords and agencies. However, the actual university accommodation- although the atmosphere is good- the regeneration work that they are currently doing- is definitely needed!
    Settling in:
    It took me about 2-3 night before I got used to it- and I'm such a home bird. I cling to my parents and I called them so often (and I still do!!). But to me, the city was such a welcoming place and the uni was so friendly, and the people I met and the atmosphere there was so lovely that it didn't take me long to put my tissues down!! I was so apprehensive about going- I literally wouldn't leave my parents- it made me so anxious. But once I got there, I just started to realise: hey... it's okay!!
  • Can't remember's avatar by Can't remember on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great fun! 10/10 hands down. Support when I need it. Fun when I want it. Shops and study areas for my convenience. 24 hour rooms available. So easy to fit in and make friends. I honestly cannot fault it
    University:
    Careers service is impeccable Counselling available and a strong sense of care is felt. My supervisors have been wonderfully supportive too
    Course:
    It covers multiple areas of the subject so there's something for everyone. Also hull uni have swell tailored course which opens up specific opportunities to its students which other unis cannot provide.
    Location:
    Hull is wonderful! It's got plenty of hidden gems. It's not a beautiful wildlife reserve and it's river is fairly concrete. But it's actually a great city and set to get better in the very near future! 2017 city of culture!! :D
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant for value and location. A lot of letting agencies are in the process of huge refurbishments at the moment too so there are some top quality houses here
    Settling in:
    People are so friendly and helped out lots. Making new friends was easy thanks to the layout of first year accommodation. We were given lectures to inform us on all the facilities available to us. It really feels like home
  • Cannot remember 's avatar by Cannot remember on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a wonderful university, the people are friendly and the social life is fantastic, I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
    University:
    Everything you could want to do at university is available on campus.
    Course:
    The lecturers are fantastic, all of the modules we study are really engaging and the timetabling is perfect. The only issue I had was a two hour lecture on a Monday morning at 09:15!
    Location:
    It's fantastic, placed about 15 minutes away from the City centre by bus and the same to Cottingham where the student accommodation is primarily based, Newland Avenue is a street dominated by shops for students such as coffee houses, cafes, ice cream parlours, pubs, restaurants; you name it, it is down there!
    Accommodation:
    Really good prices, Hull is one of the cheapest places to live in the UK and that shows through the pricing of the accommodation, but definitely not through the quality of it as it is really good.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home during Fresher's Week because everyone was so friendly and being from Hull but having moved out I got to see a whole new side to the city I grew up in.
  • hobbitsesam's avatar by hobbitsesam on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, everyone will talk to you if you talk to them and don't be afraid to ask.
    University:
    They provide everything needed apart from a swimming pool which I think would improve the university.
    Course:
    I have previously done a very similar course but everything is great
    Location:
    I have to take two buses to get there so a bit awkward to get to.
    Accommodation:
    Hull is cheaper than most other parts of the country
    Settling in:
    I do not know my way around the campus yet.
  • Allie<3's avatar by Allie<3 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience from hull has been good, it's very friendly and the uni is really easy to navigate. However, organisation is not the forte here, all correspondence will be last minute
    University:
    Because I enjoy my uni experience
    Course:
    My lecturers are all mainly approachable and my tutor is amazing.
    Location:
    The university is in a grim area and is and hours walk from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    my accommodation is fantastic, large room & bed, location in city is fab
    Settling in:
    I didn't miss home
  • vynn49's avatar by vynn49 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    There are plenty of entertainments available though more drinking ones than none drinking ones
    Course:
    Never had a particular interest for law
    Location:
    Its pretty far off from bigger cities.
    Accommodation:
    Pretty affordable and location wise is alright.
    Settling in:
    People were really friendly here
  • Not applicible's avatar by Not applicible on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Don't come to Hull
    University:
    Rubbish
    Course:
    Poor staffing, poor content and lack of ownership of issues
    Location:
    Horrible unsafe disgusting dirty city
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable.
    Settling in:
    Not made to feel included at all
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    A great experience one that you definitely should take part in
    University:
    Because I am enjoying uni life and everything I need is readily available to me and I can access them as and when I want
    Course:
    It isn't too far away from home, the staff are very friendly and understanding. Also, there are shops and food and night life available at the university or close by
    Location:
    Its easy to get to even if you don't live close as busses are available. For me if I decided to walk its about an hour away which is fine for me. Its very was to travel to the main town its not that far of a walk or bus journey from the university. Also, the university is situated next to Newland avenue and princes avenue which has great food places such as restaurants, cafes and takeaways. They has clothes shops, food shops(aldi) ect
    Accommodation:
    I havnt given this raring because even though I havnt moved into accommodation my friend has and she loves it its close to the university, she meets new people and loves the independence.
    Settling in:
    I felt comfortable straight away like I have been going for the past year.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's been great so far, learnt much more than I thought I would and the people have been awesome
    University:
    There is everything you need on campus, just a little expensive
    Course:
    The course is interesting, good lecturers and as far as I can tell, graduate prospects are good
    Location:
    A little too far from town to get 5 stars
    Accommodation:
    Some houses are a little dated, but overall, they're good
    Settling in:
    Settled in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    A great experience so far, can't go wrong choosing hull as despite it's flaws, you're guaranteed to have a great time.
    University:
    Plenty of stuff for students to do such as gym, sports and societies.
    Course:
    Because it's a good university and a good course, though some improvements to the course still need to be made.
    Location:
    University is easily accessible by public transport and is a short bus ride from either local shops or the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Lots of insects and lack of response to general household issues (things not working) prevent a higher rating being awarded.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel more at home.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fun education, with staff to back up the further learning.
    University:
    they have everything for everyone
    Course:
    They have an open door policy but i can sometimes difficult to get an answer.
    Location:
    its outside of the city centre with its own community around it
    Accommodation:
    not every house is at a good standard
    Settling in:
    from hull so i know it well
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible and unforgettable
    University:
    I enjoyed every aspect of it and will be very sad to leave
    Course:
    All round good experience as a uni. Good course, good lecturers, great place to live and has a community feel
    Location:
    Easy access to everything
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and cheerful. If there was ever a problem it was sorted out quickly
    Settling in:
    Best decision I ever made was going to Hull
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good busy lots happening
    University:
    Only experienced day time
    Course:
    Unorganised at times
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    I moved out as was unliveable conditions
    Settling in:
    Not much intro given
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic staff and support Lectures are always entertaining or interesting. Practicals within the course are tailored to help you later on in your scientific career of that's what you choose to pursue. Accommodation is brilliant, especially in Ferens Hall M Block.
    University:
    There's always something to do.
    Course:
    Because it's perfectly tailored to what I want to do as a career with plenty of opportunities for work placements and advancement
    Location:
    It's a fair distance from accommodation and the town centre but the free bus pass makes travelling easy.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, tidy, spacious rooms and kitchens, semi-catered with consistently good food.
    Settling in:
    Friendships were formed quickly and my room could be decorated with things that made it feel more "at home" and the staff are fantastic
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it good. It is a quiet univetisty and small, so it is nice for a more intimate experience, although the teaching hours are poor.
    University:
    There are a lot if clubs and societies and the union is good.
    Course:
    The teaching can be patchy, and the teaching hours are very limited.
    Location:
    It is not in the centre of the city.
    Accommodation:
    It seems fairly old, but it is cheap.
    Settling in:
    It took a long tkme to feel 'at home' at the uni.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very good university with plenty of help and support, the lectures are very supportive and help you with your studies.
    University:
    I commute therefore I do not get involved with any of the student night life.
    Course:
    It's and excellent university, with lots of help and support available.
    Location:
    It's out of the way from where I live therefore it makes it difficult to travel.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so have not seen the student accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Teachers and students were very friendly and made you feel part of the group.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely campus with nice accommodation and helpful staff
    University:
    Many facilities available such as range of societies and good, modern library
    Course:
    Good teaching lecturers make topics interesting and are very approachable
    Location:
    Campus is nice with pretty surroundings
    Accommodation:
    Affordable and good quality. Don't have to wait long for repairs and good facilities provided
    Settling in:
    Takes some time to settle into university generally but staff help to introduce the course well
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Hull is really underrated!! Definitely dont regret my choice but it is a bit of a reality check when you are from a more lively city.
    University:
    Club nights at uni are great but its not all about drinking. Large variety of societies
    Course:
    Good staff organised, would prefer more contact time
    Location:
    Its good I can see why people would like it. Its not too busy but not dead. City in general outside the city centre is pretty dirty.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap compared to other universities. Most houses close to campus
    Settling in:
    Settled into the course really well. The city was a big change to where I'm from
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Not as much to do as I thought there would be however it is a nice place
    Course:
    Excellent feedback however contact hours could be better
    Location:
    Very busy area very hard to park
    Accommodation:
    Great house apart from the wifi and kitchen/bathroom
    Settling in:
    Easily settled and made friends
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it a good 4 or 5 out of 5 definitely worth going to
    University:
    Enough places to go out at night
    Course:
    Course modules are interesting but not perfect
    Location:
    Not much to do
    Accommodation:
    Could be better and more modern
    Settling in:
    Easy place to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am glad to study at The University of Hull
    University:
    It just has everything you would need.
    Course:
    Its just what I have needed for my coreer prospect
    Location:
    Could be a bigger city, but it is so green, i love it.
    Accommodation:
    Cool, big house. Though I had problems with my flatmates
    Settling in:
    Beautiful environment to study in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Average
    University:
    Scarborough campus is in the middle of nowhere for a univeristy and had not much going on in the town for that age group, the university didnt work well with its own student union
    Course:
    Enjoyable course, small community feel
    Location:
    Very small campus in a small town
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive but good location and security
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was almost nonexistant in terms of university input
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Simply amazing, came through clearing not knowing what to expect and it's by far the best uni I've ever been to
    University:
    Brand new library refurbishment, new group learning building being built, new SU refurbishment, union great for either daytime or nightime socialising
    Course:
    Brilliant teaching, great atmosphere, amazing support
    Location:
    City of culture 2017, freedom festive each year means the city is thriving
    Accommodation:
    Couldn't ask for nicer halls
    Settling in:
    Felt a bit lonely at the start but it quickly became a home from home
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 so far from first week
    University:
    Good facilities
    Course:
    Course is good so far
    Location:
    City is nice
    Accommodation:
    Very nice and has balcony
    Settling in:
    Not settled in yet, still finishing my first week.
  • by Anonymous on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    The uni has no faults so far, it is excellent
    Course:
    I feel so welcome and respected from my tutors and students on the course. Every question I have has been answered for me.
    Location:
    The campus is in an easy to find place and has amazing views
    Accommodation:
    The rooms are cramped and noisy
    Settling in:
    It took me 2-3 days to settle in and find my bearings, but it was a comfortable process
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    a really good experience, most people are supportive and friendly, student union is nice, campus is close together so easy to get from place to place, lecturers are helpful, nightlife is good
    University:
    good variety of services
    Course:
    not perfect but i like it
    Location:
    uni is close to town, old town is really pretty, good variety of pubs
    Accommodation:
    situations are good and security and site team always available
    Settling in:
    People were friendly and Hull is a nice place
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I love Hull out of all my university choices students and staff made me feel welcome!
    University:
    Have a great student union!
    Course:
    Its amazing because of the nature of the course its intense which I love
    Location:
    The campus is pretty big but with great parking
    Accommodation:
    Don't live in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Ive been made to feel very welcome I love it!
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Brilliant services on campus
    Course:
    I find the teaching good
    Location:
    Absolutely beautiful campus
    Accommodation:
    It's a tad old fashioned but in good working order
    Settling in:
    I missed home but was grateful to find friends
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    Good facilities
    Course:
    Staff are friendly and helpful
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    Placed in temporary accommodation
    Settling in:
    Not sure if I have yet
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Its a really easy place to like, It has a bit of something for everyone. While there are multiple nightclubs, theres also the Ice hockey arena, comedy nights,cinemas and a lot of restaurants amongst other things. The uni itself is well worth the time to come see too ; The chemistry course is rigorous but well worth it, the staff here are friendly and helpful and you will not be bored with the wide array of experiences it can offer. while it may not be as large or popuated as leeds or manchester , its still got its own charm and its rarely dull in Hull :P (apartfrom the soggy weather sometimes ^^)
    University:
    The library is open 24 hours a lot of the time people would be at uni, the teams and societies make you feel welcome , wanted and part of something, Theres not normally many issues when you need support from the uni as there are two floors in the SU dedicated to helping students out and meeting rooms
    Course:
    good value for money in the course, friendly, knowledgeable tutors and good quality, quick feedback for work.
    Location:
    Lovely people, Reasonably well kept, lots of things to do and quite cheap to live in
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable priced, it takes 20 minutes to get to uni on the bus though and the places can have their individual downfalls.
    Settling in:
    I felt welcome and happy at uni within a couple weeks to a month
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I loved it as it is such an easy university to slip into. It's very friendly and the courses are tailored to your choices, giving you free reign over your degree.
    University:
    I absolutely love university life at Hull. The second year accomodation is a lot better than first year, and the life on campus during day and night is always lively and very friendly, partly due to the number of places on campus to meet and talk, whether to friends or to professionals.
    Course:
    Overall, the whole set up of the classes, lectures and timetables is very efficient and easy to understand. However, sometimes the quality of the lectures is affected by some lecturers who would go off topic, resulting in lecture notes not corresponding to the topic we needed to learn.
    Location:
    The campus is about 15 minutes bus ride from the city centre, but is within walking distance to the main streets that house most of the student bars and shops. The campus is also large enough to have almost all of the study locations on campus, with the exception of two history research centres which are in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The uni accomodation is cheap and easy for a student to afford, however the shared bathroom was not kept clean all the time (the drains would constantly block and not be fixed for a week or so) and the location could be quite awkward as it was so far from the uni and meant we had a 20-30 minute bus ride to get to and from our accomodation and the uni.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week kept me from settling in, and even after that it took me months as the accomodation felt quite cold and military-like, even with the room decorated to my tastes.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it a 5
    University:
    Always good nights out and cheap
    Course:
    Some lectures aren't what you want to do but are compulsory
    Location:
    Not a lot near by
    Accommodation:
    Good but could be better house is better in second year
    Settling in:
    Really easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Zero! Go somewhere else. It's not worth
    University:
    Rubbish Union. No idea how this has won awards previously. The whole campus is out dated apart from certain areas that have had an upgrade. But the upgrades have all been done on the cheap so nothing works eh IT
    Course:
    Poor content. Hardly any marine for a marine biology degree. No marine masters to follow onto. Staff more focused on biomed students that are mixed in with.
    Location:
    Hull is a dump. Freezers and sofas just thrown Ito virtually every street. Poverty everywhere and quickly me becoming a centre for asylum seekers and immigrants.
    Accommodation:
    Doesn't apply to me
    Settling in:
    Third year and still don't know half the groups as the modules are way over subscribed
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    Cause
    University:
    Cause
    Course:
    Cause
    Location:
    Cause
    Accommodation:
    Cause
    Settling in:
    Cause
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    as a shy student I think that things have started to get better for me by coming to this uni.
    University:
    the library is fantastic
    Course:
    I like my Italian lecturers but timetabling can leave something to be desired, although it's improved a lot lately.
    Location:
    it's a nice campus but hull isn't the biggest city.
    Accommodation:
    It depends where you are, they started building a big new block of accomodation months ago so someone new this year would rate it better.
    Settling in:
    I think it's me more than the uni although a lot of the halls are quite far from campus
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    4*
    University:
    Good on campus provisions.
    Course:
    Most lecturers were competent, but one or two would just stand and talk at you, rather than interacting.
    Location:
    The campus itself is in a nice place, and there are some lovely areas around it. However, there are several rather unsavoury areas around there too, with some unpleasant locals.
    Accommodation:
    Very poor accommodation, and over priced (living in housing provided by "The Scheme")
    Settling in:
    I have a terrible sense of direction, so struggled to find my way around a lot, but overall people were helpful.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would say to research all choices wisely, if they would be studying away from the main campus then research what the local paper writes, get in contact with current students and previous students, and seriously research into the uni just as much as you'd research the course
    University:
    There just isn't enough on the campus in comparison to other university campuses, and this is because they're leaving the town. It's disappointing that there is a lack of societies etc as the campus might as well be empty.
    Course:
    Paying
    Location:
    I am based at the Scarborough campus for hull university. The campus that hull have been planning on moving out of for numerous years, has had many articles in the local Scarborough paper about it, however we only found out in January that hull were leaving the campus. They sent around an email that was meant to give us all the information so that there would be no confusion over what was happening, but the email caused more confusion. I almost feel deceived by the uni for them not telling us when we were interviewed that the university was leaving the town. It would've impacted on where I chose to study, which makes it feel like they were aware it would have a negative impact and lured us there almost under false pretences.
    Accommodation:
    Whenever we had an issue with the student house the accommodation would blame it on us, instead of acknowledging that the house was from the Victorian era and it had not been repaired properly, they had only stuck on plasters as it were. I have also been accused of stealing keys for the kitchen cupboards by the accommodation team, when I am fully aware that my set of keys contained no cupboard keys. Many long stories cut down into one, the way that they have spoken to me is appalling and I am completely disgusted by it.
    Settling in:
    My house mates and people in the town were friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Wonderful
    University:
    Fun
    Course:
    Everything was great
    Location:
    Brilliant location
    Accommodation:
    Very clean
    Settling in:
    Brilliant place
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    I had a great experience here and transferring to Hull was the best decision I've made, it certainly allowed me to achieve at university.
    University:
    Library is good, Student welfare was good and approachable - I was quickly referred to speak to someone when I was struggling. Societies and clubs are alright. The student union club on campus is pretty alright, depending on what kind of music you're in to. Student Union shop wasn't that great but then most student union shops aren't so it wasn't worse than other universities I've visited. The campus itself is very green and pleasant.
    Course:
    Overall the course was great, lectures were engaging, lecturers were engaged with the students, approachable. Course was well thought out and covered a breadth of topics. Compulsory historiography modules gave depth & made sure that everyone was taught the fundamentals of historical methods.
    Location:
    Hull is a great city to be a student, cheap, nice range of pubs and bars. Depends on what you're looking for, if you want to live in a big city with loads of museums/clubs/bars or whatever it's not the place for you. I already had my partying and clubbing out of my system so Hull was a lovely place to get down to working on my degree.
    Accommodation:
    Average housing - affordable but basic. Decent sized rooms. I didn't stay in Halls but University owned housing.
    Settling in:
    I transferred in my second year and I already knew people at the university. Overall it's a friendly place.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely uni with nice surroundings and a good social life.
    University:
    Many societies offered and good campus facilities with a gym, many places to eat and a modern library.
    Course:
    Lecturers are all helpful and friendly. Lectures are a good quality with much support available if you are struggling. Good services including library, student union and has an attractive campus.
    Location:
    Campus is not in the city centre so more private but city centre is still accessible with plenty of shops and places to eat.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is quite affordable, cleaned often and has pretty surroundings but could be nearer to campus.
    Settling in:
    Accommodation was comfortable and people friendly but takes time to get use to new surroundings and uni life as is expected in all universities.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Only okay if you like drinking and clubbing, not for serious workers.
    Course:
    Everything is well organised.
    Location:
    Great location, everything all on one door step, great local amenities.
    Accommodation:
    Too old fashioned, several problems incurred with the accommodation and rodents present.
    Settling in:
    Nice people, friendly staff and nice campus
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great. Ive really settled into uni life and enjoying all the things hull has to offer
    University:
    Plenty to do within the uni and socials
    Course:
    Lecturers are good and course material interesting
    Location:
    Far from town and shops, hard to get home after a night out
    Accommodation:
    Halls was far from town and uni. Not many shops near by. Rooms basic, kitchen facilitys lacked
    Settling in:
    I didnt get too involved with uni life at first, due to not wanting to have moved. Eventually i settled in and loved it
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been brilliant, staff are so helpful and it's an easy area to learn your way around plus food and drink are cheap
    University:
    There are a range of activities which help to give you a better experience in uni
    Course:
    The lecturers make it less daunting, making it more fun
    Location:
    Close to the city centre and has all local amenities such as shopping, bars, restaurants ect
    Accommodation:
    It's affordable, however not the best accommodation as opposed to other universities
    Settling in:
    Through the events at freshers week I was able to meet new people and form friendships
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It was a lot better than i was expecting and i'm glad i chose to come here
    University:
    It is perfect for me
    Course:
    I feel that the material could have been explained in other ways sometimes
    Location:
    I love Hull and everything it has to offer
    Accommodation:
    It was terrible and almost everything broke, there were ants in the kitchen and the university didn't bother to help
    Settling in:
    Everyone on our course is lovely and we get along with ease
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely loved it, so much I don't want to leave, I never wanted to come to hull but so glad I did!
    University:
    Great social life, good clubs and societies, sports equipment not quite up to standard
    Course:
    The organisation wasn't great and teaching didn't seem to be the main focuses
    Location:
    Great city and great uni
    Accommodation:
    Hull is very affordable but as with everywhere the student accommodation isn't always great!
    Settling in:
    It is hard to settle in but it didn't take me long to think of hull as my home
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely university well taight courses but i struggled due to the lack of support for my learning disabilities
    University:
    I really enjoyed university and my time there but did not know about all avaliable resources
    Course:
    Support was not always available and i ended up spending lots of extra time doing independant study in the libary until it closed most occasions just to get though my course.
    Location:
    Was at scarborough campus small and my home town
    Accommodation:
    Lived at home
    Settling in:
    Lots of ice breakers and broken in lightly to get used to the new setting and people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    It's ace all around
    Course:
    It's great, the lecturers are great and it's enjoyable as well as very challenging
    Location:
    Near the city centre but not too near!
    Accommodation:
    It's all very cheap!!!
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly!!!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved every minute of my uni experience in Hull.
    University:
    All great, but could have done with a better gym. Having said that, a handful of good, affordable gyms were nearby.
    Course:
    Great lecturers and a good learning environment.
    Location:
    Close to town
    Accommodation:
    Very affordable but hard to find a good quality student home after leaving halls.
    Settling in:
    The uni was very welcoming and had lots of mechanisms in place to ensure you felt comfortable.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good, lectures are lacking a bit but the rest of university makes up for it.
    University:
    There is always something to do/something going on. Also, live within 5 minutes of friends houses so parties are regular.
    Course:
    Only one or two lecturers will actually reply to my emails in a timely fashion.
    Location:
    There's a lot of things to do (especially for students) in the local area.
    Accommodation:
    It's just average, they charge quite a bit (~
    Settling in:
    Within hours everyone was getting on with each other.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Come to hull may not be first or last choice but was great fun when I got there especially my department
    University:
    Was great wouldn't change it lots of socials lots of new people from over the world
    Course:
    Because the teaching was good help was easy access and was never left in the dark
    Location:
    Not really in a city but was very student focused so had good deals and cheap nights out
    Accommodation:
    Because I lived in a student house and it was amazing new build safe and all inclusive and cheap
    Settling in:
    There wasn't much change just had to get into a routine and it was okay
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A good place to study, university really needs to do more to reverse its current declining ratings
    University:
    Good societies at the uni, some excellent restaurants and take aways in the city, university Union has some institutional issues
    Course:
    Excellent, exciting and engaging course. Interesting and specialised course and content.
    Location:
    The area around the university is nice and well served, other aspects of the city are limited
    Accommodation:
    generally speaking, fast internet, large rooms, good location, good shopping, cheap, but not always entirely pleasant
    Settling in:
    Very good environment to get settled in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A big 10,settled in so well and can't wait to go back and start my second year
    University:
    Love everything about it,no complaints at all
    Course:
    My course is perfect and exactly what I need for my future
    Location:
    The food,nightlife and shopping centres are top notch
    Accommodation:
    The housing is simple and perfect for students
    Settling in:
    My housemates were fab and the freshers events made it really easy to meet my fellow freshers
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I like hull even if it's not the most exciting city the uni makes up for it by providing lots of clubs with interesting people. The teaching is okay.
    University:
    Facilities are excellent. The library is huge, there are also good language learning facilities. Loads of clubs and welfare groups.
    Course:
    There wasn't much speaking practise. One German teacher didn't speak great English so the exams she wrote were confusing. Another German teacher didn't so much teach as expected us to learn new stuff from the textbook and do worksheets - why pay nine grand for that? French however was very good.
    Location:
    Hull is a bit dull, and there's not many jobs going for students. Not that much to do there.
    Accommodation:
    Many problems with first house; slugs in bedroom and kitchen, damp, missing curtains, problems with housemates that the uni didn't care about. Was moved to disabled house, much better, worth the money then.
    Settling in:
    Hull is very friendly and there's loads of clubs and societies to join. Fresher's week was great, and there's welfare groups that support you too.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing uni
    University:
    Great uni life
    Course:
    Very good course
    Location:
    Great location
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle into
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Such a friendly place and a great university. Don't listen to the stereotypes of Hull - it's a lovely city to live in as a student.
    University:
    The union is fantastic. There are so many things going on. The club nights are just as good as the ones in town and the end of year ball is fantastic! The sports facilities are good and reasonably priced for membership. There are plenty of societies which are extreamly friendly and help you get involved.
    Course:
    I enjoy the balance of subjecs and range of options on my course. I feel I get a wide range of knowledge from the modules I take. The facilities are good for music and the staff are mostly helpful and approachable.
    Location:
    Slightly out on a limb in terms of train networks but I love that it's close to York and Leeds as good city escapes and there's also Scarborogh and Bridlington for the seaside! I like the campus and it's slightly out from the city centre meaning it's quite quiet - mainly students milling around the area which gives a good vibe. There are direct trains to London so it's not too difficult to get around.
    Accommodation:
    Loved that all of the accommodation was in Cottingham (a village outside of Hull). It's such a lovely place, just a shame it's a bus ride in to uni. The rooms are comfortable and the facilities in the Lawns Centre are recently refurbished. Halls have a nice atmosphere and there are wardens to help with any problems.
    Settling in:
    I had very few problems settling in as everyone is so friendly. It just took me a while to feel completely at home and to feel settled as I currently am.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It was a great uni due to its pastoral care and general help with university studies
    University:
    Lots of money was pumped into resources such as the library which directly benefited the students
    Course:
    It was suited to how I liked to work, and complemented an even social life
    Location:
    Because it's on the outskirts of the city and in a beautiful campus
    Accommodation:
    It was set in a nice village, gave it a homely feeling
    Settling in:
    I was able to meet other students online first, so the only thing to get used to was living at home and not meeting new people!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved it
    University:
    I was able to get involved in societies and sports teams
    Course:
    The modules were interesting but a bit limited
    Location:
    The university is in a nice part of hull even though hull has a bad reputation
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was good and the union are supportive in finding private accommodation
    Settling in:
    I made friends with my corridor mates immediately and felt at home
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my experience 7.5/10. It is really down to you what you make of it. With good friends and the right attitude you can have a good time wherever you are.
    University:
    I love being a student. The nightlife in Hull is great and there are lots of options and activities to choose from. The library has just been refurbished and is now very modern and well equipped. There are lots of clubs and societies available too and we are encouraged to start new ones if our interests are not already represented.
    Course:
    the course material is fantastic, but sometimes the lecturing and assessment seems unorganised
    Location:
    the campus itself is beautiful, but the city is not great. I personally don't like Hull much so this is reflected in my score. The uni is fairly central though, which is good.
    Accommodation:
    when I stayed in uni accommodation it was very old fashioned and dated. It was also located about 20 minutes away from uni so we had to get the bus several times a day which was not practical.
    Settling in:
    I felt settled in fairly quickly once I had got to know my flat mates and made friends
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great! Got me to where I needed to be in life to progress on to post graduate studies and recieved a place at the same university.
    University:
    Everything was available but due to living in the same city I don think I recieved the same experience as someone did who moved on campus
    Course:
    Course had good relevant material, support was there when I needed it. Staff were friendly and approachable
    Location:
    Perfect except for parking!
    Accommodation:
    Didn't stay in the accommodation
    Settling in:
    Had a great freshers week and infection week which I met friends through.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Just don't bothered going to hull university Scarborough campus. It would be hard any way as its closing down.
    University:
    No clubs Not enough book in library Not enough social events No shops No good societies
    Course:
    Poor teaching No support
    Location:
    Scarborough is vile and boring.
    Accommodation:
    The halls were clean modern and well kept. The only problem was no communal area and no cooker.
    Settling in:
    The support could have been better when settling in.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE