Member reviews of University of Hull

  • GymBoiii's avatar by GymBoiii on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Great support systems and loads of societies
    Course:
    Really helpful staff . anthropology as a subject is truly engaging because the nature of the subject forced me to experience the world around me much more broadly having a blast.
    Location:
    Close to the city centre and bars
    Accommodation:
    Facilities especially the library are fantastic
    Settling in:
    Grew up in the city
  • shadowlord875's avatar by shadowlord875 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great uni. Enjoy my course and are able to enjoy a social life as well. Societies are plentiful and amenities are all within walking distance
    University:
    Good union shop and bar open reasonable times, and a 24 hour library, loads of societies and it is fairly easy to start a new one as well
    Course:
    Overall, it is a very detailed course, there is a gentle difficulty increase over time and it is well planned generally. There is quite a lot of group work involved however
    Location:
    Fairly quiet area although a bit of a distance from the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Plenty of it and it is of a good quality, especially houses through the partner company kexgill
    Settling in:
    Very easy to feel at home, lots of stuff going on no matter what your interests
  • Midnight Star's avatar by Midnight Star on 16th March 2016
    Overall:
    It's AMAZING. The course, the people, the support, the facilities, the city, everything really came together to give me a wonderful time and I'm really going to miss it when I leave.
    University:
    The library has recently been done up so it is now a really good place to work in, it's always really busy with people working there. The university also has multiple 24 hour computer suites which are quite good to work in if you really need a computer. The Union is quite good, the union shop sells a really wide variety of stuff and has everything you might need. (Though it's a little bit expensive by Hull's standards so I wouldn't recommend doing your weekly shop there) There is also Eats and Eats Italia which are quite good for lunches as well as the bars Sanctuary and Johnny Mac, which sell food and are open in the evenings. At night the university even has its own nightclub, Asylum, which isn't too bad. There are loads of support services upstairs in the union. I haven't used most of them so can't comment too much but the careers service is good. There are also tons and tons of sports clubs and societies you can join which is awesome too.
    Course:
    I've really enjoyed my time on this course. The lectures have been really good and the lecturers are all really friendly and willing to help. The work has been interesting, very hard but I have found that everything is achievable provided enough work was put in. The support staff are incredible and very good at dealing with any problems we have.
    Location:
    Hull is a lot better than people give it credit for. It might have it's bad bits but as a student you have no reason to go there (I've gone through east hull maybe twice in a taxi and that's it). The campus itself is quite nice as is the area directly surrounding the university. Newland Avenue and Beverly Road have tons of shops, pubs, restaurants, takeaways and anything else you might need on them. The city centre itself is good too and there is no shortage of shopping centres. There is also quite a lot to do in Hull including the Deep, Big Fun, cinema, bowling, ice skating, swimming, rock climbing, ect.
    Accommodation:
    Hull's accommodation is great, it's one of cheapest in the country and because of the abundance of student housing in Hull, it is competitive so you can get some amazing houses for decent prices if you look around. I stayed in the Lawns in my first year which I really liked. It was semi-catered so we just got evening meals which was ideal for me. The food was alright though not amazing (it made me ready to start cooking in second year). The accommodation itself was really nice and had really good facilities. The showers were soooo powerful, it was amazing. For the rest of my time at uni, I have been staying in shared housing which is really close to uni. The house was
    Settling in:
    Within hours of me moving into Halls I ended up at the pub with other people in the rooms near mine. I talked to people around me and quickly settled in. Everybody seemed really nice. I think it took about a semester for us to form the big group of friends on my course I have now. On the whole it didn't take me very long to get used to everything.
  • Lia93's avatar by Lia93 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience was amazing, I really loved it. I'd urge anyone who's considering Hull Uni but is put off by the reputation Hull has as a city to visit and see what it's like. I really enjoyed being there.
    University:
    There was always something happening at the SU, there was a bookshop in the Union building, everything was good.
    Course:
    The course structure was good, the modules were mostly interesting, and the lecturers were friendly and helpful. The timetabling was a bit dodgy.
    Location:
    I liked the city, in spite of its reputation.
    Accommodation:
    Housing in Hull is inexpensive, and the low prices don't necessarily reflect the quality. University owned housing was good, and issues were dealt with quickly.
    Settling in:
    I loved it there, it was warm and welcoming, and I felt safe. Hull really does not deserve it's bad reputation.
  • gowill's avatar by gowill on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5. Very good experience, nice and friendly people. Generally very good facilities.
    University:
    Too much night time activities and not enough daytime. Events and societies not great, only suited to heavy socialising and really focused on the night life. Was not influenced to join any of the societies.
    Course:
    Its a good course, the lecturers are friendly and helpful. Lectures are delivered in a variety of ways to suit all learning types.
    Location:
    Fantastic location! You have the seaside, countryside, city, towns, villages etc all on one doorstep. The uni campus is great, nicely laid out and maintained well.
    Accommodation:
    Okay accommodation but needs modernising. Only suited to if you like to live with a lot of people and like heavy socialising.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in, made friends very quickly, always someone to go with for any help or advice.
  • Ambitious's avatar by Ambitious on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Haven't been out but heard its good
    Course:
    I haven't actually started my lectures yet however the city is absolutely incredible. People are so welcoming and it has an amazing vide.
    Location:
    I'm from London so it's a journey but a good one!
    Accommodation:
    Houses are big and cheap but some issues regarding maintenance.
    Settling in:
    I'm very social so I'm very settled.
  • Can't remember's avatar by Can't remember on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great fun! 10/10 hands down. Support when I need it. Fun when I want it. Shops and study areas for my convenience. 24 hour rooms available. So easy to fit in and make friends. I honestly cannot fault it
    University:
    Careers service is impeccable Counselling available and a strong sense of care is felt. My supervisors have been wonderfully supportive too
    Course:
    It covers multiple areas of the subject so there's something for everyone. Also hull uni have swell tailored course which opens up specific opportunities to its students which other unis cannot provide.
    Location:
    Hull is wonderful! It's got plenty of hidden gems. It's not a beautiful wildlife reserve and it's river is fairly concrete. But it's actually a great city and set to get better in the very near future! 2017 city of culture!! :D
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant for value and location. A lot of letting agencies are in the process of huge refurbishments at the moment too so there are some top quality houses here
    Settling in:
    People are so friendly and helped out lots. Making new friends was easy thanks to the layout of first year accommodation. We were given lectures to inform us on all the facilities available to us. It really feels like home
  • Cannot remember 's avatar by Cannot remember on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a wonderful university, the people are friendly and the social life is fantastic, I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
    University:
    Everything you could want to do at university is available on campus.
    Course:
    The lecturers are fantastic, all of the modules we study are really engaging and the timetabling is perfect. The only issue I had was a two hour lecture on a Monday morning at 09:15!
    Location:
    It's fantastic, placed about 15 minutes away from the City centre by bus and the same to Cottingham where the student accommodation is primarily based, Newland Avenue is a street dominated by shops for students such as coffee houses, cafes, ice cream parlours, pubs, restaurants; you name it, it is down there!
    Accommodation:
    Really good prices, Hull is one of the cheapest places to live in the UK and that shows through the pricing of the accommodation, but definitely not through the quality of it as it is really good.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home during Fresher's Week because everyone was so friendly and being from Hull but having moved out I got to see a whole new side to the city I grew up in.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    A great experience one that you definitely should take part in
    University:
    Because I am enjoying uni life and everything I need is readily available to me and I can access them as and when I want
    Course:
    It isn't too far away from home, the staff are very friendly and understanding. Also, there are shops and food and night life available at the university or close by
    Location:
    Its easy to get to even if you don't live close as busses are available. For me if I decided to walk its about an hour away which is fine for me. Its very was to travel to the main town its not that far of a walk or bus journey from the university. Also, the university is situated next to Newland avenue and princes avenue which has great food places such as restaurants, cafes and takeaways. They has clothes shops, food shops(aldi) ect
    Accommodation:
    I havnt given this raring because even though I havnt moved into accommodation my friend has and she loves it its close to the university, she meets new people and loves the independence.
    Settling in:
    I felt comfortable straight away like I have been going for the past year.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's been great so far, learnt much more than I thought I would and the people have been awesome
    University:
    There is everything you need on campus, just a little expensive
    Course:
    The course is interesting, good lecturers and as far as I can tell, graduate prospects are good
    Location:
    A little too far from town to get 5 stars
    Accommodation:
    Some houses are a little dated, but overall, they're good
    Settling in:
    Settled in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    A great experience so far, can't go wrong choosing hull as despite it's flaws, you're guaranteed to have a great time.
    University:
    Plenty of stuff for students to do such as gym, sports and societies.
    Course:
    Because it's a good university and a good course, though some improvements to the course still need to be made.
    Location:
    University is easily accessible by public transport and is a short bus ride from either local shops or the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Lots of insects and lack of response to general household issues (things not working) prevent a higher rating being awarded.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel more at home.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fun education, with staff to back up the further learning.
    University:
    they have everything for everyone
    Course:
    They have an open door policy but i can sometimes difficult to get an answer.
    Location:
    its outside of the city centre with its own community around it
    Accommodation:
    not every house is at a good standard
    Settling in:
    from hull so i know it well
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible and unforgettable
    University:
    I enjoyed every aspect of it and will be very sad to leave
    Course:
    All round good experience as a uni. Good course, good lecturers, great place to live and has a community feel
    Location:
    Easy access to everything
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and cheerful. If there was ever a problem it was sorted out quickly
    Settling in:
    Best decision I ever made was going to Hull
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good busy lots happening
    University:
    Only experienced day time
    Course:
    Unorganised at times
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    I moved out as was unliveable conditions
    Settling in:
    Not much intro given
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic staff and support Lectures are always entertaining or interesting. Practicals within the course are tailored to help you later on in your scientific career of that's what you choose to pursue. Accommodation is brilliant, especially in Ferens Hall M Block.
    University:
    There's always something to do.
    Course:
    Because it's perfectly tailored to what I want to do as a career with plenty of opportunities for work placements and advancement
    Location:
    It's a fair distance from accommodation and the town centre but the free bus pass makes travelling easy.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, tidy, spacious rooms and kitchens, semi-catered with consistently good food.
    Settling in:
    Friendships were formed quickly and my room could be decorated with things that made it feel more "at home" and the staff are fantastic
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it good. It is a quiet univetisty and small, so it is nice for a more intimate experience, although the teaching hours are poor.
    University:
    There are a lot if clubs and societies and the union is good.
    Course:
    The teaching can be patchy, and the teaching hours are very limited.
    Location:
    It is not in the centre of the city.
    Accommodation:
    It seems fairly old, but it is cheap.
    Settling in:
    It took a long tkme to feel 'at home' at the uni.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very good university with plenty of help and support, the lectures are very supportive and help you with your studies.
    University:
    I commute therefore I do not get involved with any of the student night life.
    Course:
    It's and excellent university, with lots of help and support available.
    Location:
    It's out of the way from where I live therefore it makes it difficult to travel.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so have not seen the student accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Teachers and students were very friendly and made you feel part of the group.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely campus with nice accommodation and helpful staff
    University:
    Many facilities available such as range of societies and good, modern library
    Course:
    Good teaching lecturers make topics interesting and are very approachable
    Location:
    Campus is nice with pretty surroundings
    Accommodation:
    Affordable and good quality. Don't have to wait long for repairs and good facilities provided
    Settling in:
    Takes some time to settle into university generally but staff help to introduce the course well
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Hull is really underrated!! Definitely dont regret my choice but it is a bit of a reality check when you are from a more lively city.
    University:
    Club nights at uni are great but its not all about drinking. Large variety of societies
    Course:
    Good staff organised, would prefer more contact time
    Location:
    Its good I can see why people would like it. Its not too busy but not dead. City in general outside the city centre is pretty dirty.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap compared to other universities. Most houses close to campus
    Settling in:
    Settled into the course really well. The city was a big change to where I'm from
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Not as much to do as I thought there would be however it is a nice place
    Course:
    Excellent feedback however contact hours could be better
    Location:
    Very busy area very hard to park
    Accommodation:
    Great house apart from the wifi and kitchen/bathroom
    Settling in:
    Easily settled and made friends
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE