Member reviews of University of Liverpool

  • Tammyc19's avatar by Tammyc19 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great location, teaching, facilities. The city is perfect for students! The only bugbear I have is the price of the accommodation but private housing is relatively cheap so you do make a saving in 2nd, 3rd year etc.
    University:
    I love uni life. Library is open 24/7 there’s loads of sports teams and societies to get involved in. The students’ union is always putting on events and trips.
    Course:
    We have a pretty busy timetable but less independent learning and assignments as a result-so it balances out. My lecturers are really knowledgable and always eager to help.
    Location:
    The city is just the right size and the uni is only a ten minute walk from town. You can be anywhere you need to be within 15 mins and there are shops, gym, social spaces within close proximity.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is fab! Very clean, practical and convenient however it is quite a bit more expensive than at other unis.
    Settling in:
    My flat mates are great. The students’ union regularly puts on events which help you meet new people. There is support offered by the university and students in later years of study. My course started steady and gradually gets up to speed.
  • thewytches's avatar by thewytches on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Apart from constantly having no money I love it!
    University:
    There are so many clubs - literally too many. There's something for everyone.
    Course:
    The teaching style is CBL which I've found is really efficient and I remember everything from these sessions. Some days are 9-5 however I do get a lot of time for myself. Also no other uni has anything like HARC it's literally just so cool.
    Location:
    10 minute walk from town. Never have to pay for a cab after a night out!
    Accommodation:
    A lot of it is on campus, lectures are only a 6/7 minute walk. Lots of security and it's really clean and spacious
    Settling in:
    Lots of socials which have you making friends straight away
  • Scentlessroses88's avatar by Scentlessroses88 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think it's a great place to go, it's got a good reputation making the degree look good. But it's just an enjoyable place to be anyway, with beautiful scenery to walk beside, to useful modules and lectures that never get boring.
    University:
    The student union puts a lot of stuff on for all the students, including the variety of societies available to join. Though I haven't used much of the services except the library, I know that they're available.
    Course:
    I think that the timetable has been done quite well, since it's a good balance of time in uni and independent reading. The feedback from tutors is very useful, always showing me how I can improve.
    Location:
    The location is great, it's right near the city centre so you're always close to good shops and places to eat. This also means the night life is one of the best provided by any uni.
    Accommodation:
    I don't use student accommodation, but from what I've seen it seems a nice place to live .
    Settling in:
    I was very nervous to start uni, but having made friends quite quickly it made the transition a lot easier than I thought it'd be.
  • curlsixtb's avatar by curlsixtb on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I feel like everything taking into account the uni, course, city gives a 4 star rating.
    University:
    Lots of student events. Lots of clubs and societies. Feel like uni life is really geared towards students.
    Course:
    Some modules could be taught better. See me like some modules are jumping from one topic to another completely different one. Organised well though.
    Location:
    Close to city centre surrounded by everything you need. Also green spaces nearby.
    Accommodation:
    It's a good accommodation however it is new and not completely finished yet. Also lots of building noise.
    Settling in:
    University has helped me settled in with activities getting to know course and people on it.
  • Onleirah's avatar by Onleirah on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    So far, my experience is great, but it all depends on you as an individual. I would very much recommend other student to join my Uni, however please be sure to visit on open days so that you can have an idea in what you will be dealing with.
    University:
    The Uni life is overall good as the facilities and services offered are great.
    Course:
    Overall the course is great and so are the teaching staff. The lecturers take into account that every student is up to date with every aspect of the course.
    Location:
    The location is great as the Uni is in the City centre
    Accommodation:
    It's because I'm highly impressed with the Uni, and the progress I've made on my studies has so far not been disappointing.
    Settling in:
    It's because, In terms of the Uni and It's staff, settling is great, however the rest depends on you as an individual.
  • granestres's avatar by granestres on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Liverpool is a lovely city and the liverpudlians are very nice. The city is very social and there is a lot of museums, shops and green spaces. Being in the north is cheap and friendly.
    University:
    I think uni is overated and forced on a lot of people as the only option. It is nice to live alone and gain a sense of independence. The libraries get too full come exam time and coupled with the location of most accomidation/bus links I found this hard.
    Course:
    The first year lecturers were really good and engaging. The physics department has a really friendly and open attitude. However it does really allow much time to do as much other extra curricular stuff at uni due to the hours involved.
    Location:
    The bus links are quite bad. And I guess it would be nicer if it was into the city more.
    Accommodation:
    My first year student accomidation is the worse my friends and I have ever seen, although I suppose thats why they are demolishing it next year (carnatic halls of residence). Completely lawless and far from the uni although good socially.
    Settling in:
    I found it hard to settle and find friends. There is a lot of pressure to be friends with your flatmates and when this wasn't the case, after investing a lot of time into them in first year I was a bit stuck.
  • Rachel-Maya29's avatar by Rachel-Maya29 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Teaching is good and the course is organised really well. There's a lot of independent study so you have to be prepared to find out what the work is and complete it , the city doesnt feel daunting.
    University:
    Uni life is good. The struggle is balancing it with studying
    Course:
    Course structure is good. Teaching is very good. Less contact hours can make it difficult to get on with work. Seminars can be daunting with the amount of work you have to do for them.
    Location:
    Really good location. 10 mins from town.
    Accommodation:
    Really good quality. However, it's more expensive than private accommodation. The uni specific accommodation for 2nd years was £150 which so much more expensive when student houses are about £80-£100 per week.
    Settling in:
    Settling into the course was fine but settling into uni life was a struggle.
  • Kasper qwe's avatar by Kasper qwe on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The university is great for all types of people from all diversities of life. The university campus is constantly b evolving and getting beyyer with new work spaces and accommodation being built.
    University:
    Uni life is great in Liverpool with lots of things to do and a variety of clubs to take part in.
    Course:
    The university is very good and keeps looking to improve the campus with the introduction of new buildings and work spaces.
    Location:
    The university is in a prime location and is just a short walk to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The university accomodation is very good but may be a little pricey as it can be difficult to pay for the accomodation through the student loan alone.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very easily as I easily met friends through sports clubs, societies and through halls.
  • NKSSSSS09's avatar by NKSSSSS09 on 4th August 2018
    Overall:
    Having the best time here!
    University:
    Theres so much on campus. The guild is open weekdays with many different services being offered such as housing advice. Theres two Tesco's on campus as well as Gregs and subway! The sports facilities are great, and the night life is unrivalled to any other city
    Course:
    Had great tutors who knew all their stuff. They had lots of time for me to come and speak to them. Having dyslexia also this really helped. We had a field trip payed by the uni to Frankfurt which was also a great trip. Would 100% recommend.
    Location:
    In the city centre, town is a 10 minuet walk and its easy to get back from a night out!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was new, clean and comfortable.
    Settling in:
    a week!
  • kathrynm's avatar by kathrynm on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Fantastic city, lots of history and culture. Great shops, nightlife and plenty to see and do. Low cost of living and the rest if the North West is easily accessible by train and bus. The university has great facilities inc. libraries, the Union etc.
    University:
    As an older student with children. completing my second degree, I tend not experience a lot of nightlife, however there is still lots to do in the day and evenings. There are plenty of clubs and societies to choose from and liverpool is a great city in general.
    Course:
    The course is designed in such a way that you get to experience many specialties. There is a lot of contact time with tutors and a lot of the teaching is on a one-to-one basis.
    Location:
    Easy to access by public transport. Short walk from train and bus station.
    Accommodation:
    Unable to comment as live in my own home
    Settling in:
    Very well organised course and lovely course mates
  • london77's avatar by london77 on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    I love uni, met some great people and my course is really interesting
    University:
    Good nightlife
    Course:
    Really enjoy the modules on my course
    Location:
    Very central and easy to get to from my halls
    Accommodation:
    Nice accommodation but expensive for what it is
    Settling in:
    Have made some great friends here
  • beckyhutchy's avatar by beckyhutchy on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Ticks all the boxes especially the 24 hour libraries the gym is super expensive though
    Course:
    My timetable is varied from lectures to labs to fieldwork and my lecturers are easy to contact and respond quickly. Work is submitted online and graded quickly and reading lists are always updated. It's annoying that I don't get a reading week though.
    Location:
    Very close to town and all the bars and clubs and has good bus routes to off campus accommodation
    Accommodation:
    It's on campus and affordable and the cleaners do a good job in communal areas
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was stressful but after a a couple of weeks I was settled in fine and loved it
  • elm4541's avatar by elm4541 on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great uni, nice city, good accommodation
    University:
    Great night life, restaurants etc
    Course:
    Lots of guidance for individuals in pdp tutorials
    Location:
    Right next to city and train station
    Accommodation:
    Cheapest accommodation at Melville Grove, lovely location and the nicest halls to live in!
    Settling in:
    Nice flatmates
  • Theytookmyuke's avatar by Theytookmyuke on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my University experience so far
    University:
    There is always plenty of things to do in Liverpool! There are hundreds of society's you can join and there is a reasonably priced fitness centre.
    Course:
    Feedback can be pretty pathetic sometimes but generally everything is to a good standard
    Location:
    It's really close to the centre of town which is very handy!
    Accommodation:
    The Halls I was placed in were very old and out dated and it was quite expensive. Also the halls were off campus meaning a 30 min bus journey to uni every day and having to buy an expensive bus pass
    Settling in:
    It was very sociable in the halls I was placed in. So I made friends very quickly
  • Mummersfarce's avatar by Mummersfarce on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Don't do much
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    Centre of a busy city
    Accommodation:
    Don't use it
    Settling in:
    I don't feel at home
  • tal_doherty's avatar by tal_doherty on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Liverpool is a really good university with an amazing reputation and really good academic staff who care. The tutorial sessions are unlike any in any other university.
    University:
    It's good, but I am still quite lonely.
    Course:
    The broadness of the course is great and the staff are so helpful. This university has a lot of amazing resources and lecturers who are active researchers.
    Location:
    Liverpool is an amazing city, with loads of history, heritage, great nightlife, amazing new shopping centre. The University is about 25mins walk from the centre of town, which is good.
    Accommodation:
    I am in private student accommodation. It's
    Settling in:
    It's hard to move away from home. I'm getting used to it but it's still hard.
  • mangoes786's avatar by mangoes786 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Accommodation allocation was not a very organised system.
    University:
    I love it, but I am still adjusting to life away from home.
    Course:
    It's interesting, however the workload is massive!
    Location:
    It's a city based uni, close to the centre and everything is situated within 1 campus (unlike other uni which have several for different subjects)
    Accommodation:
    I was not given adequate university accommodation and was therefore forced to find private halls, which is a 20 minute walk from campus.
    Settling in:
    I get homesick very easily, so I am currently still adjusting.
  • Amberjosephine 's avatar by Amberjosephine on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really great, I would highly recommend Liverpool university to other students. I wasn't sure about going to university and I am very glad with my choice as my course has been so much fun
    University:
    The opportunities on campus are brilliant, the gym facilities and extra curricular especially! For instance I have just joined a charity for victims of warfare, and a fitness class doing pole dancing!
    Course:
    The course content is original and interesting, covering a wide range of concepts related to every day media
    Location:
    The nightlife and activities in Liverpool city are plentiful, there is a nice atmosphere and the campus itself has great cafes and library facilities
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student accommodation but friends tell me it is suitable and friendly
    Settling in:
    Everybody was very helpful and lots of information was provided, including a freshers fair about all the societies you can get involved with as an undergraduate
  • Dr.Acula.1994's avatar by Dr.Acula.1994 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    6*. Great uni, great city, great course
    University:
    Great campus, great gym etc, great nightlife in liverpool
    Course:
    It's great, but lacks in organisation
    Location:
    Right by the city centre, large campus but all together
    Accommodation:
    affordable and handy, but a bit gross
    Settling in:
    Felt very much like home
  • Touyosi's avatar by Touyosi on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great so far
    University:
    So much to do in the city
    Course:
    Timetable isn't organised
    Location:
    Distance
    Accommodation:
    Quite far away from my campus
    Settling in:
    Not really having similar people as me around me
  • RToader's avatar by RToader on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I wholly recommend this university
    University:
    Campus life is busy and very fun
    Course:
    The quality of the teaching staff and the methods of teaching are flawless
    Location:
    Very near the city center and the halls of residence
    Accommodation:
    The quality matches the reasonable price
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly
  • Illuminate.'s avatar by Illuminate. on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Brand new students union and fully equipped sports centre. On campus shops. Big night life with plenty to do.
    Course:
    Not much contact time Great academic staff who are conducting their own research - particularly in second year Wide range of modules to choose from Support available if struggling Good mixture of assignments and exams
    Location:
    Amazing culture. Campus is a walk away from the city centre. Huge shopping district and amazing choice of independent shops.
    Accommodation:
    university accommodation is either old and gross or brand new and overpriced. However private rentals for 2nd and 3rd years are very cheap and there are plenty to choose from
    Settling in:
    Lots of activities and sessions run by the university to help settle in Found it easy to meet new friends
  • Hornet_96's avatar by Hornet_96 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's ideal if you want to get involved with societies and sports teams along with having a fantastic academic life
    University:
    There's so much to choose from, you can't possibly get bored
    Course:
    Everything I want to learn is in the course
    Location:
    It's got everything you need from a city, including the best nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    It was good, but could have been better maintained at times
    Settling in:
    I'm with people i enjoy being around, so i don't really want to go home
  • TheRAG's avatar by TheRAG on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good so far
    University:
    'Cos its Boss.
    Course:
    'Cause its Boss
    Location:
    Not too far from the city centre and of course the docks.
    Accommodation:
    Good room size but bad wifi (we use Ethernet cables in our rooms)
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long to bond with my flatmates. Also the local nightlife is Boss.
  • mannieac's avatar by mannieac on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Liverpool is a very friendly city. This ethos is key to settling in quickly.
    University:
    It has been really great so far.
    Course:
    I have only just started it
    Location:
    The Uni is in the city, so everything you could want is at hand.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is adequate but its proximity to activities is very good. It is very inclusive, so you meet new people easily. Transport to and from Uni is good.
    Settling in:
    I have settled very well. generally because I was able to make new friends easily.
  • anaa26's avatar by anaa26 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    i am loving my life in this university here.
    University:
    There is a lot of socities that you can join: and they library is 24/7 so it very convinent and useful. the night life is good too.
    Course:
    All the course details are explanied clearly and they are easy to understand. More resources available to study.
    Location:
    it is near the city centre and it is convinient as all the campus buildings are around each other.
    Accommodation:
    i dont live in accodomation but i visited my friends and it was nice.
    Settling in:
    i live in my home so i dosent took me too long to settle
  • Crowa006's avatar by Crowa006 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni experience
    University:
    Everything is of a good standard
    Course:
    Lots of contact hours, some really good lectures, really hands-on
    Location:
    Love Liverpool, the campus is really nice and close to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Location could be better, but a good size room and an ok price
    Settling in:
    Really good freshers events
  • james2012uk's avatar by james2012uk on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good if it is right for you, i.e. if you want to pursue academia past sixth-from. It's not for everyone though.
    University:
    Money is a bit of a burden.
    Course:
    I would like a bit more direction. The lecturers really know what they are talking about.
    Location:
    Right in the middle of everything. Not too far from the city centre, and it is on campus.
    Accommodation:
    Some issues with the accommodation since it's new.
    Settling in:
    I'm still in my home city so it is a lot easier for me to do so.
  • blu123's avatar by blu123 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have loved my time here so much already and could not have picked a better university for my course.
    University:
    So many clubs and events going on all the time.
    Course:
    The timetable is structured really well, and all the lecturers make sure you know they are available to help all the time if you need them.
    Location:
    It is right in the heart of Liverpool city, literally a 5 minute walk from campus into town! There is so much going on all the time and always so much stuff to see!
    Accommodation:
    I got given awful student halls which were off campus, and so ended up going private. However other accommodation here is really nice if you get given it!
    Settling in:
    Instantly I felt at home here, and felt really welcomed by everyone at the university!
  • deola_bsg's avatar by deola_bsg on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It has been good
    University:
    They offer all relevant services
    Course:
    Because it is gives a lot of time for independent study which is a skill needed for the real world
    Location:
    It is located close to the city centre which is nice
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I stayed in left me depressed by the time I was leaving
    Settling in:
    Never really felt at home
  • Degirl267's avatar by Degirl267 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a lovely campus and everything is so accessible.
    University:
    I'm loving the independence.
    Course:
    The course just seems to suit my style of learning.
    Location:
    The campus is just beautiful. There is so much character.
    Accommodation:
    It's a bit noisy...
    Settling in:
    I've made some good friends, have had good guidance on my course and feel reasonably prepared for when classes begin, next week.
  • ElixirOfLife.'s avatar by ElixirOfLife. on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    If you're from bigger cities that are dull in their nature, I couldn't recommend Liverpool more. Despite what you think, scousers are very nice folk, and the Medicine course overhaul means it's so much more efficient, and PBL's been binned, avoid you want an engaging, well taught course, with practicing clinicians who are suuuuper passionate about their specialties lecturing you, come to Liverpool! And guess what? They chuck you in a hospital in year 2! Simulated patients can never capture how real and raw a real encounter is, and learning so early on is vital to building yourself up as a doctor people will aspire to be like.
    University:
    Everything is student centred. It's set up to take care of all your needs. The variety of societies is ridiculously broad. And heck, if you think your niche fantasy isn't being represented, it's dead easy to kick start your own thing.
    Course:
    Love the course structure and content. It's a new curriculum so the errors and 'flawed' teaching methods have been fazed out (beginning 2014). I just have some issues with how the management/year lead handles us.
    Location:
    The city is just stunning. The docks are mesmerising at night, the shops are plentiful and cheap, and you'll literally never run out of things to do. (I recommend googling "alternative Liverpool bucket list". You will not be disappointed). It's also a fairly small city and because there are 4 univirsities, the city is basically half student (subsequently most places cater to your lifestyle). It's just great.
    Accommodation:
    I was off-campus. The buildings off campus are pretty old but the social life was fantastic. (On-campus buildings have literally just been built so are 5* compared to what I had).
    Settling in:
    I was fairly introverted in first year so being bombarded with super social people was difficult but by the end of the year I met some fantastic medics and non-medics alike (societies etc)
  • Changing Skies's avatar by Changing Skies on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it very high. The university has provided excellent teaching, excellent courses, amazing student life, cheap living costs. Very enjoyable!
    University:
    Amazing facilities, so much to do, all close together.
    Course:
    It's a very enjoyable course, excellent teaching and module choice, however there are often timetable issues.
    Location:
    Vibrant city, campus right near the centre.
    Accommodation:
    Plenty of choice, lots of facilities, prices can be a bit expensive for halls.
    Settling in:
    Fairly quickly, but did get homesick occasionally.
  • Bec.1's avatar by Bec.1 on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Really loving so far. Can't wait to see what the rest brings.
    University:
    Campus is lovely and vibrant. I really enjoy it but do think that the freshers week could have been a bit more planned so that we didn't have to make it up ourselves
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course material and how it is taught on the most part. My course is 9-5 monday to friday, but I really like this because it keeps me busy and a lot of my time is spent in practicals.
    Location:
    Liverpool is such a great city
    Accommodation:
    Lived in brand new halls right in the centre of campus with great facilities and I was very lucky with my flatmates
    Settling in:
    Really struggled at first.
  • AMT6's avatar by AMT6 on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great university, but under pressures of student numbers. They need to expand/update and employ more staff QUICKLY
    University:
    no explanation needed...Liverpool all the way
    Course:
    Massively overcrowded, stressed out lecturers.
    Location:
    Liverpool is an amazing city/place to attend uni
    Accommodation:
    New but still overpriced.
    Settling in:
    v. friendly and easy to settle
  • Sugarpuffx's avatar by Sugarpuffx on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    The best of your life
    University:
    Best year of my life
    Course:
    Because it's so detailed and enjoyable
    Location:
    Because the campus is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Everything I need is there but it is quite old
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly and happy to help
  • lucystudent12's avatar by lucystudent12 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I have enjoyed most aspects
    University:
    Clubs and societies are very varied and the city is very cultural
    Course:
    The modules are tailored to what I am interested in.
    Location:
    The city is fab and very close to uni campus.
    Accommodation:
    My halls were very expensive for what it was.
    Settling in:
    My hall mates and course mates were all very friendly and you soon realise everyone is in the same position.
  • SophieMcGhie's avatar by SophieMcGhie on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    As it's just begun I don't yet have a rating. But I suggest you do as much as possible and take up all opportunities.
    University:
    A lot is provided.
    Course:
    The depths isn't what I expected.
    Location:
    It's a good city. There's a lot to do. But I haven't experienced a lot of it just yet.
    Accommodation:
    Not perfect but I am getting mostly what I paid for.
    Settling in:
    There are still things to do but I have settled in well with the people.
  • MixedNuts's avatar by MixedNuts on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing so far.
    University:
    I have loved everything about it so far, both in the day and the night.
    Course:
    The Uni of Liverpool has a brilliant make up of tutors for my course - they are highly intelligent, engaging and very helpful.
    Location:
    The uni is located just outside of the city centre and is only a 15 minute walk away from my residence. The campus feel of the uni is brilliant and the city of Liverpool as a whole is quality.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I was allocated in ages away from the campus and very expensive, however it is catered and quite a nice little room. I ultimately chose to live in private accommodation in the city centre.
    Settling in:
    Welcome week was quite engaging and gave us opportunities to mix with other students on the same course. There has been a small issue with timetables however, while that was only temporary it was an inconvenience during my first proper week.
  • thecharlottenorman's avatar by thecharlottenorman on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love UOL, the city is incredable and he university is deffinatly the best in the city! The course is amazing and very focused on helping us do well.
    University:
    Everything is great, there are so many facilities and teams and clubs you can join. The only downfall is that I feel the AU and Guild are not supportive enough to new clubs/sports teams.
    Course:
    The course is hard and busy but it is focuses to help you actually learn material. You get value for money with the amount of practicals and lectures we have and they really try to help you get to grips with information.
    Location:
    Liverpool is an amazing city- so much to do and it's so friendly and the uni is a campus feel which is amazing.
    Accommodation:
    Mostly good quality, cheaper than many other cities. The city centre accommodation is better but much more expensive.
    Settling in:
    The city is amazing and the course is amazing but the university could work better together. For example the AU and Guild could work together to get an SU and they could focus on the students more.
  • karljenkins09's avatar by karljenkins09 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Engaging, enlightening, fabulous, supportive- couldn't fault any aspect of university life
    University:
    Student union is proactive in organising events always events going on
    Course:
    Fantastic support in all areas especially as I have significant health problems the university have been fantastic. Course is fabulously delivered, we'll plan, informative, interesting and stimulating. Best thing I have ever done
    Location:
    On the edge of the main city centre with great access to all cultural and social hotspots
    Accommodation:
    Friends have been so impressed with all provision provided
    Settling in:
    I had no problems at all and support was provided every step of the was by faculty and the school as a whole
  • Casper95's avatar by Casper95 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    This is a brilliant university, there's lots going on and the course is really good. I would reccommend campus accommodation as its so much easier to get to lectures in the mornings and you don't have to worry about catching a bus! Liverpool is a great city!
    University:
    I love the daytime, i really enjoy my course but i am a bit dissapointed with my accommodation and i am looking to move to better accommodation, then i would give 5* rating! The sports facilities are brilliant and quite cheap, there are many societies and the libraries are huge!
    Course:
    the course is brilliant and even better than i expected
    Location:
    The campus is all very close and its relatively easy to find your way around, the city is a short walk away with every shop you could think of. There is lots of green space and the docks are a good place to walk and relax.
    Accommodation:
    I love my room, it is quite big and has lots of storage, however there is no communal space in my hall so nowhere to sit and chill with friends unless you cram into someones room
    Settling in:
    I feel very homesick, but thats just me not to do with the university. when i am on campus i feel at home as its easy to learn where everything is and find where you're meant to be!
  • Na's avatar by Na on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Na
    University:
    Na
    Course:
    Good course, well thought out
    Location:
    Na
    Accommodation:
    Nice campus
    Settling in:
    Nice staff
  • Xquesarahsarah's avatar by Xquesarahsarah on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great Uni and socially is awesome. Wish I'd done more research about the course and halls!
    University:
    Guild and societies are spot on and the nightlife caters for absolutely anything you could want.
    Course:
    Given some support but aspects of the course are dated
    Location:
    Liverpool is a great city and very welcoming to students
    Accommodation:
    Carnatic is appalling.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was super friendly
  • Dolmagrglr 's avatar by Dolmagrglr on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome would recommend everyone
    University:
    Love everything
    Course:
    I love it
    Location:
    Love
    Accommodation:
    Love it
    Settling in:
    Love it
  • jeansiow's avatar by jeansiow on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    3.5, clean environment but expensive sports facilities. Expected them to be free given the international student rate that we pay for tuition fees but turns out had to pay extra for sports facilities. Annual pool pass does not een include the use of locker.
    University:
    Good flatmates.
    Course:
    Was not given notice for change of timetable.
    Location:
    Further from city centre as compared to what was proclaimed.
    Accommodation:
    Near to campus in general but far walk away from class.
    Settling in:
    Still feel lost due to lack of road signs.
  • Agates's avatar by Agates on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    100% absoulenty amazing
    University:
    Not as stressful as I though
    Course:
    Very sensible timetables
    Location:
    Bus route close
    Accommodation:
    Easy access to transport
    Settling in:
    1-2 weeks
  • chloehippogriffin's avatar by chloehippogriffin on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    great, highly reccoment
    University:
    havent really found out about it yet
    Course:
    havent really started it yet but it seems good
    Location:
    its in a great location
    Accommodation:
    the one im in is not the best, no wireless wifi
    Settling in:
    my flat is great, lots fo help and support
  • Hlbhayes's avatar by Hlbhayes on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It was okay. But you really need to push yourself and make yourself known. Also the tutors will not give a toss about you, unless you hound them or are a 1st student.
    University:
    Plenty of societies and options for you to go out
    Course:
    A lot of repetition in the course; and also covering a lot of what A-Level had taught us as well.
    Location:
    Liverpool is an amazing city, the university thrives off it.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation itself was lovely, but the social aspect of the housing wasn't good (vine court)
    Settling in:
    I was only 15 minutes from home, but I felt safe
  • -'s avatar by - on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    uni -5/5 on campus accommodation 5/5 off campus 3.5/5 very social though
    University:
    Best days of your life
    Course:
    teaching was good quality
    Location:
    great spot
    Accommodation:
    craic was unreal, accommodation was dated and poor, location was mediorce
    Settling in:
    Didn't know anybody until about one week
  • Jakeed96's avatar by Jakeed96 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is very good. The overall experience will change your life and broaden your outlook on life and will also develop you better as an individual.
    University:
    The overal facilities at the university are amaizing and the sports centre also is amaizing. The student union is also very good and keeps in contact with students at all times.
    Course:
    Because the course involves a wide range of modules and gives me the chace to increase my knowledge highly
    Location:
    The university is close to all the main attraction in the city and also has lots of transport links close by.
    Accommodation:
    Because the accommodation is very clean and tiday and well maintained. It is also in a good location and close to all the main things on campus such as the sports centre.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly and welcoming at university and this makes it faster to settle in.
  • Danii_hawkins's avatar by Danii_hawkins on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is an amazing experience and opportunity to be apart of as well it is great in the fact you're getting academic achievement out of what they call the 'best years of your life'.
    University:
    I rate 'uni life' highly because, I myself can never be bored in this city. There is a lot to do which is great.
    Course:
    I enjoy university course a lot, most lecturers and tutors are amazing at their job and very influential. However I love be happy with more support towards revision time.
    Location:
    The city I study has everything I need which is amazing.
    Accommodation:
    My opinion to this star rating relates to the fact that I believe it is very expensive to the quality we as students receive.
    Settling in:
    I adapted nicely to an home feeling with great friends in university around me.
  • chatty_george's avatar by chatty_george on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A very good university only a short walk away from Liverpool city centre. Location could have been better as the journey to uni from Lime Street Station was a trek! The students seem lively and willing to help. It's a shame that the staff weren't as approachable or polite at times. Good contact hours with your academic advisor made things a lot easier. The sports facilities were superb - very modern and stylish although more money needed spending on shops on campus (although there is a good cafǸ) and the student union itself could have been more state-of-the-art. I would consider recommending this university to a friend.
    University:
    Again, plenty of things to see and do. The gym facilities were a short walk away from my accommodation and were modern with all the essential equipment to keep fit. You had to pay to use the gym though so I would recommend you use it often enough. The student union was very active in making sure you got the best of campus life. The shops were decent but I sometimes felt that there could have been more option like a Starbucks or a small WHSmith's. The welfare provision seemed quite helpful although I would strongly recommend that you declare any disabilities/additional needs before starting your course as I had trouble with that aspect of uni life.
    Course:
    Brilliant course with friendly, genuine people. Plenty to do and a great night life. Academically, the department where I studied was a little disorganised and the speaking tutors seemed rude on occasion.
    Location:
    It was a short walk or bus journey to the centre of town which was handy although the accommodation (based in Walton) seemed a little rough and unappealing
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation (Vine Court) was brand new and had modern facilities. I had problems with flushing my toilet on occasion and the price to stay there was on the expensive side.
    Settling in:
    Most of the staff and students were really friendly and put in extra effort to make you feel at home. I found some staff to be rude and intimidating and the French department seemed disorganised which added to exam nerves. On the whole though, not bad.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Everyone is really nice and understanding, and the city is so much fun!
    University:
    The facilities are all great and in good condition
    Course:
    It's a good course with flexibility, in case you are actually more interested in the modules a slightly different course has to offer
    Location:
    It's not too mixed up in the city but everything is extremely accessible on foot
    Accommodation:
    There is good on campus accommodation but there isn't enough and it is quite pricey. The off campus accommodation only offers catered and shared bath room so there is not middle ground.
    Settling in:
    I have managed to settle in quite well
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very much enjoyable Liverpool is full of sociable people who are very helpful. The freedom is helped by regular organised club nights and lots of information on what is going on in city
    University:
    Great opportunities provided, eg ski societie. Very modern fitness facilities that are popular
    Course:
    Great course structure and quality of teaching but there is a lot of work
    Location:
    There's so much to do and it's so vibrant and exciting
    Accommodation:
    Very modern and great facilities but no weekly cleaner
    Settling in:
    Lots more responsibility but enjoying the freedom
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great ! Love the student life here.
    University:
    the facilities provided by the uni is excellent but fitness centre might be too expensive
    Course:
    I found Law is a very fascinating subject to study
    Location:
    Liverpool literally has everything you need here. and the campus is very near town.
    Accommodation:
    The further you stay away from school, the cheaper the fees are. Therefore, if you want to stay near uni, you will have to pay more
    Settling in:
    I've been in the UK especially liverpool for quite a long time
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4.5, but immerse yourself to make it a 5
    University:
    Good amenities and great library goes, could have offered cheaper food
    Course:
    Most modules and lectures were fantastic, one of two could have been more stimulating
    Location:
    Fantastic location, close to train station and city centre. Also liverpool is a very vibrant City in Itself
    Accommodation:
    From observation of other people's experiences
    Settling in:
    I did not live there so did not have the full experience; but there were plenty of opportunities to meet people
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Everything is in one place
    Course:
    One module lecture gives us PowerPoint presentations with a large content and expect us to learn it within a few days before a little quiz. Also, we don't discuss further in lecture the topic just solely quizzing us.
    Location:
    Very close to city centre and the buildings are close to each other
    Accommodation:
    No living room area which makes it hard to socialise with flatmates.
    Settling in:
    Not very close to flatmates but rather closer to my coursemates
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Love being at uni
    Course:
    Interesting, but more language modules could be offered
    Location:
    Close to the town centre
    Accommodation:
    Halls is about where you get placed, housing is about which estate agent you go with.
    Settling in:
    Made loads of friends really easily, good social events
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    I haven't been to many clubs and societies.
    Course:
    It meets my expectations
    Location:
    It is near the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in the university's accomodation
    Settling in:
    I haven't made many friends here yet.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, especially because of the social opportunity through being a medic
    University:
    Lots to do, good night life, good events in the centre, lots of social chances to meet people
    Course:
    not enough contact hours or small group teaching compared to other medical schools
    Location:
    Liverpool is a great city, lots to do, great culture
    Accommodation:
    Carnatic and greenbank are poor, but the on campus accommodation is much nicer. Previously limited self catered options
    Settling in:
    I made friends on my course quite quickly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I don't understand the question.
    University:
    They've got everything I'd ask for
    Course:
    It's all I've ever wanted to do and it's perfect. I like all the choice in my modules.
    Location:
    It's right next to the city centre and the shops are great!
    Accommodation:
    It was very rundown, looks like it hadn't been done up since the 70s
    Settling in:
    Everything was made so easy by the events and lovely people
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate it really highly- it's a great way to meet new people and if you join societies you'll meet even more people who have the same interests as you.
    University:
    University hosts many activities such as welcome week at the Guild, also got with having a top class gym on campus and plenty of restaurants to eat at between lectures. Also has 2 library's which are central to the campus and well stocked.
    Course:
    Nice amount of contact time with tutors and a lot of resurfaces given to help with independent studying. Modules are also very engaging.
    Location:
    as the university is in the centre of the town and has plenty of shops/things to do to kill time.
    Accommodation:
    Off campus and have to commute to University, expensive for what it is and no wifi and poor quality halls - very old. However, very sociable as its student village and so everyone is in the same boat and looking to make friends.
    Settling in:
    People in halls were very welcoming and made friends really easily. Rooms are small but feel very cosy when all decorated
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4*
    University:
    Liverpool is the place to be
    Course:
    Have to study the stupidest module on applying psychology to getting a job. I find it irrelevant and I am not looking forward to taking the exam.
    Location:
    Perfect location, good city, affordable, amazing night life and lots to do.
    Accommodation:
    Clean and modern but very expensive
    Settling in:
    Easily settled but getting reading lists is too complicated. Rather than provide a hand out everything is online and you don't know when each book is required.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing! Work hard and play hard too
    University:
    Great campus, great nightlife
    Course:
    Interesting range of modules
    Location:
    Close to town but still inclusive campus feel
    Accommodation:
    Lots of new accommodation, well kept, ensuite
    Settling in:
    Easily got accustomed to the city and the campus
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Highly positive
    University:
    Brilliant nightlife and people
    Course:
    I like my course but some parts are not for me
    Location:
    I love the campus and the city
    Accommodation:
    Good location but quite expensive and a few problems that should have been fixed
    Settling in:
    Feeling a little homesick but made good friends and feel happy there
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is amazing
    University:
    There are many different clubs and there are two libraries on campus and an online library
    Course:
    The timetable isn't constient and is often changed with short notice on my course
    Location:
    Very close to the train station
    Accommodation:
    I live at home so I dont know about the student accommodation
    Settling in:
    The freshers week was very well set out
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible experience at the university and would go back in a heartbeat. Met my best friends there, and my now fiancǸ. The support was amazing and I wouldn't change a thing.
    University:
    Bustling campus life, lots to do, great pubs and bars nearby and societies provide great activities
    Course:
    Had the best experience there and had a well supported time with no problems
    Location:
    Right in the city and excellent links in and around
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was slightly outdated however more modern facilities have now been built
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long at all, everyone very welcoming and good support system in place in department
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Rubbish. Choose a good supervisor for your third year project. There not all good and it will effect your final grade. I was told supervisor complaints are common and they lecturers close ranks even when they no there is a problem.
    University:
    Ok
    Course:
    University is a joke
    Location:
    Ok
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    No personalisation
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Liverpool guild is great
    Course:
    Good course... Some time tabling issues
    Location:
    Liverpool is an amazing city
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    I have settled really easily
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Nothing wrong but lots of social (other than getting wild at parties) is lacking
    University:
    Very poor
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    Pretty close to city centre No greenery
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and brand new studio, just a little far
    Settling in:
    No response given
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far, loving everything, but I wish more student support was given to postgrads and international students. It's hard to get info without searching high and low.
    University:
    Everything is high quality but I wish I didn't have to pay extra for things like printing & fitness centre
    Course:
    My tutors are all so friendly and helpful and love what they do. I feel like I'm learning what I need to succeed.
    Location:
    Liverpool's great but I prefer London. The location near the city centre is awesome.
    Accommodation:
    It's very nice as uni halls go, but the bed is terrible and loo is so tiny. It was also dirty when I moved in and my hall is not social at all. Too expensive, but great location.
    Settling in:
    The uni did not make my move as an international or postgrad easy for me.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it a 3 star
    University:
    it is good
    Course:
    Because it is very informative and structured well and I enjoy it very much.
    Location:
    everything is modern and compact and on campus
    Accommodation:
    it is catered but walls are thin and there is no wifi.
    Settling in:
    I am starting to settle in but still not comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great vibe great for young students very passionate
    University:
    Not expectancies evening as live away
    Course:
    -
    Location:
    In the centre, little on the edge though and up a big hill takes 2 busses
    Accommodation:
    Not needed this but looks good.
    Settling in:
    Still not met anyone doing the same two subjects. Mature student so already feel out of place.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    Wide variety of shops and entertainment
    Course:
    Sometimes didn't know where a lecture would be until the morning before
    Location:
    Easy access to the city and train station
    Accommodation:
    Not the best but not the worse. Food could have been better.
    Settling in:
    I was homesick for a while
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    great libraries, good sports facilities and student union with few bars on campus.
    Course:
    It is the course I have always wanted to do.
    Location:
    the city centre is a 10 minute walk
    Accommodation:
    good location but horrible bathroom and kitchen
    Settling in:
    I made friends quite quickly and enjoyed freshers week
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Love UoL and would definitely recommend it to others
    University:
    Guild of students was lacking last year but there has been some improvement this year. Loads of places for social activities on campus, lots of clubs/societies and facilities
    Course:
    The course material is brilliant and majority of lectures are great but some things can be improved.
    Location:
    Great city university but all in one place. Great atmosphere and everyone's really friendly
    Accommodation:
    Never stayed in uni accommodation
    Settling in:
    First year took a while to get used to but overall I settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I am too much of a new student to give a real rating but, again, so far it seems near perfect.
    University:
    I do not have any complaints and so far everything seems near perfect.
    Course:
    So far I have enjoyed all the lectures and seminars and I am lookign forward to learning more about my field.
    Location:
    I love the city and the campus is near the center.
    Accommodation:
    I live in private acommodation - renting a house near campus. It's not the best but I haven't encoutered any problems either so 4 stars seems reasonable.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite fast. Freshers week was exciting, I have made soem friends and joined societies with people who share the same interest so I don't miss home that much cause I have a lot to do.
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    10/10. I came to Liverpool a bit sceptical about the university and the city due to hearing negative things about it. But all the things I did hear have been all wrong and this city is full of friendly people, multicultural areas and just lots to do.
    University:
    There is something for everyone to get involved in with and to do. The societies are great, the pubs/clubs are amazing, the university has a great sports centre which is affordable for students. The Student Guild hosts events throughout the year for all sorts of people and are a great way to meet people throughout the year. Support is there for people who need it in the form of bursaries, scholarships, advice, etc. The University Library is open 24/7 as of now so if you ever need something at midnight you can easily access it. The shopping is amazing, coming from London I can confidently say Liverpool holds it's own. There are all sorts of stores from high end designers to low end stores. The best part of it is that they are all really close together and so getting around is not an issue.
    Course:
    I learn everything from scratch so it's helpful to brush up on some old skills. The lecturers are great and very enthusiastic so the lectures are never boring. Everything we study is up to date and very interesting as we always learn how to apply what we learn into modern situations.
    Location:
    The university campus is right next to the city centre, about 5-10 minutes walk. The campus is very close to historical building, parks (some are run by the university), museums, clubs, pubs, stores, etc. Buses connect the campus to the rest of the city well so if you can be bothered to walk you can just catch a bus for one or two stops to get to the city. The university is also close to Albert docks which is great for people who rarely see the sea!
    Accommodation:
    It is brand new, opened a year ago. It has everything you could possibly need in both the kitchen and the bedroom. The toilet and room you get with in an ensuite are just great and feel like they are worth every penny. The communal areas are amazing with lots to do and feels very lively.
    Settling in:
    I am in a very convenient place with everything with minutes walk to where I live. The staff have been great and the people in Liverpool are very friendly. There is also lots to do so I have never had the chance to feel homesick.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    My experience at the university has been great, it offers the best student life as you can get the best out of a campus and a city university in one.
    University:
    The guild of students is brand new and very useful. There are so many affordable bars and clubs just on the doorstep and the sports and societies are great.
    Course:
    The course is really interesting and challenging.
    Location:
    Everything is together like a campus but it's so close to the city you can walk to it easily.
    Accommodation:
    The new campus accommodation is very nice but overpriced.
    Settling in:
    I joined sports clubs and quickly found friends.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Everything about liverpool has been amazing so far. So it has to be 5 stars!
    University:
    Libraries are modern and stock what is required, online library also useful Shopping is easy with plenty of shops near by. The gym is well equipped and well priced. Also the student guild has recently been updated.
    Course:
    No faults whatsoever
    Location:
    Great city location with green spaces aswell
    Accommodation:
    Good quality accommodation at a fairly affordable price
    Settling in:
    Made lots of friends straight away so the transition was easy
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university, and I'm incredibly happy to attend it. I have enjoyed every part of my experience so far.
    University:
    All of the necessary services are available, however I rarely go to the student union. There are plenty of societies, but compared to other universities there is less emphasis placed on joining one.
    Course:
    The course is good, but could have slight improvements in some aspects.
    Location:
    The campus isn't secluded or closed off from the city, and it never takes more than 15 minutes to walk anywhere.
    Accommodation:
    Most is off campus, so spaces on campus are limited and foreign and post graduate students tend to get priority, so I lived in private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Everybody is welcoming, it is easy to find your way around and I met great people, and rarely miss home.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    Harder exams = better reputation
    University:
    Not bad amenities
    Course:
    Teaching very good. Exams too easy.
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    Some new some old
    Settling in:
    Ok
  • by Anonymous on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    great
    University:
    great
    Course:
    It's just is
    Location:
    right in the city
    Accommodation:
    it's alright
    Settling in:
    h
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    4/5, reason being I didn't feel all that welcome.
    University:
    Liverpool guild of students is an excellent service, libraries are awesome too they have everything you need. Gym on campus as well as several places to eat.
    Course:
    Not initially what I thought psychology at uni would be like however I found it to be very stimulating and challenging.
    Location:
    All in one place, accessible for public transport both busses and trains.
    Accommodation:
    I lived at home. I have no knowledge of accommodation suitability.
    Settling in:
    Even though I lived in the city, I felt like an outsider. The uni is obsessed with league tables and if you live at home it's very difficult to integrate with students on your course. The uni is also hell-bent on getting everyone drunk, like seriously it's above the national binge average I swear. All in all if you plan to move here - great! If you already live in the city then mehh, they're too 'posh' for us scousers :,)
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Has so far been perfect.
    University:
    Its great
    Course:
    The content of the course can be whatever you are interested in, not at all overworked, feedback is helpful.
    Location:
    Campus is close to city centre, the city centre itself is small but with everything needed making life easy and travel cheap.
    Accommodation:
    Was great but mega expensive, and was the cheapest option. Considering how much we were paying the services provided left a lot to be desired.
    Settling in:
    UoL is great
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    I love the university and the city, but it's not for everyone. The law course is quite good, but for my year they took on too many students and it's rather over-saturated so I would recommend finding a university with a smaller cohort for those wanting to study law.
    University:
    The services are very good and well funded in most areas, but not so much in certain areas (i.e. drama societies vs music societies)
    Course:
    I like the course and the structure enough for 5*, but I'm not fully satisfied with the feedback we get, so 4*
    Location:
    I love Liverpool, and the campus is a short walk from town.
    Accommodation:
    The newer, on-campus accommodation is very nice, but the off-campus catered accommodation I lived in in first year was overpriced and very outdated.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home in the city and university and made friends within the week there.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed my first year at university, i found the University itself excellent and the course very engaging.
    University:
    The libraries are large and well equipped and the student's union has a lot of different societies.
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course, I think the lecturers are excellent and the module content was very interesting.
    Location:
    The University is very close to the city centre and the campus itself is concentrated in one area so there isn't a great deal of walking needed.
    Accommodation:
    The aaccommidatio is brand new and right in the middle of the campus. The facilities are modern and the rooms are large.
    Settling in:
    I settled in reasonably quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    amazing facilities and societies
    Course:
    The course is perfect for me and I enjoy every minute of it
    Location:
    lots of shops nearby as its in Liverpool city centre, Liverpool is a great place to live theres lots to see and do
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is very affordable and well looked after, the facilities are brilliant
    Settling in:
    I am very nervous about leaving home so it took me a while to settle, the university was very understanding and made me feel very welcome
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 would be higher if I had been at a good point in my life when I started uni
    University:
    The city is wonderful and friendly with so much to do. The guild offers loads of great things to do as well and everyone is friendly on liverpool
    Course:
    I have found most lectures and staff to be interesting and engaging. I was not expecting the degree to be as focused on ancient history as it is in first year as I prefer to study more arty topics. However the course structure and range of module choices available do allow for a lot of flexibility. The staff are generally helpful and enthusiastic about teaching. Contact hours are quite limited so you have a lot of free time that you need to become responsible for. Seminar classes are really great for discussions and clarifying what you've learnt and are really worthwhile. I have done the odd module that I felt was less interesting and not organised and taught as well but I would still say the course is good overall.
    Location:
    Main campus is in the city enter and near everything you need. Halls are far out of town which is a pain for getting to early lectures/spread put lectures or going out at night. However they are in a lovely area it's just a shame there's not much to do
    Accommodation:
    Halls are well serviced and less independent than I expected. Having catered meant I saved a lot of money and time cooking and cleaning which was nice. Unfortunately my flat did not get on well but I know the general atmosphere was fun and friendly at my accommodation. Location and actual buildings are not that great but you can live with it.
    Settling in:
    I was already quite independent and I feel at home quite easily. Only due to personal circumstances did I feel isolated for start of uni
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great vibes. City centre campus
    University:
    Lots to get involved in
    Course:
    30% of course was not stimulating
    Location:
    Convenient
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    Friendly
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    About 4 stars, the staff are really helpful and they are always on hand either face-to-face or by email to help you with any problems
    University:
    Night life is great. A lot of choice for very little money
    Course:
    Because it is good yet it can be quite tedious at times
    Location:
    It's about 10 mins from the city centre so it is handy to go into town as well
    Accommodation:
    It's cheap and fair but high quality
    Settling in:
    I've settled in very well. I like the city
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Meow!
    Course:
    Cats man
    Location:
    Meow!
    Accommodation:
    Cats!
    Settling in:
    I study cats
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Uni of Liverpool is an amazing university providing an excellent experience for students
    University:
    Night life is amazing
    Course:
    It is an enjoyable course and the teaching is good.
    Location:
    It is in the city centre with good transport links.
    Accommodation:
    There is a very big choice of Accomodation in Liverpool.
    Settling in:
    The uni has a lot of activities in place to help you settle in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    its been really god so far. i love the sport side if life and its provided many opportunities
    University:
    everything is very close with good transport links
    Course:
    some modules have been poorly run
    Location:
    close to town but not too far away from the centre
    Accommodation:
    pretty standard but a little tired
    Settling in:
    good community in halls
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Really good, perfect for a city university as its only 15 mins away. The campus is compact and easy to navigate around.
    University:
    Loads of cafes, bars etc. sports facilities are excellent.
    Course:
    It's interesting I study but as with all unis and courses the contact hours are poor.
    Location:
    Close to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and good accommodation.
    Settling in:
    The university was good at having lots of events on to stay busy and not get homesick.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's good
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    It's a good course
    Location:
    Good shops nearby.
    Accommodation:
    It's neither great nor bad
    Settling in:
    I settle in well
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would highly recommend the uni of liverpool
    University:
    There are many facilities
    Course:
    A couple of lecturers could be better
    Location:
    Campus is in the city
    Accommodation:
    I couldn't fault it
    Settling in:
    I settled quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good city, good courses and respected university
    University:
    Good location for attractions and events
    Course:
    The anatomy modules are brilliant and the staff are equally so. There are some shortfalls of the course, mainly the irrelevant modules forced upon us and the disorganisation of these irrelevant modules
    Location:
    It is in the main central location of the city, near to good bus links, shops and attractions
    Accommodation:
    They are pretty good value for money, and more halls are being made in central locations
    Settling in:
    Welcome week was specific to the course and helped classmates to get to know each orhwr
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent med school
    University:
    Clubs
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    Live n campus
    Accommodation:
    Its good
    Settling in:
    Friendly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5*. I love university here, I'm very glad I chose it. It has everything you could possibly need in a city that is always friendly.
    University:
    The student union is amazing, brand new and always offering a huge range of things you can get involved in. The campus itself is small enough to get around with lots of amenities, it has shops on campus and just outside it, two libraries which are great quality, and even a nightclub now!
    Course:
    There's always someone to contact and help you if you need it, the actual course is very interesting, it gives you oppouritinites to meet and get to know course mates and you really feel like they are giving you control of your learning.
    Location:
    I love Liverpool, it's an awesome student city. It's affordable, friendly, lively and really fun. Campus is about a 10 minute walk out of the city centre, close enough to feel in the city without getting distracted by it.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I was in was 3 miles out of campus, although the did run a bus service to and from university to accommodation. The actual living space was not luxurious but it got the job done and was charming enough in its own way. The food was not great but gave you what you needed, I'm glad to leave but I will miss it!
    Settling in:
    I was very lonely at first, I didn't get on with the people in my accommodation. But then I joined societies, made friends with people on my course and met some awesome people, from then on it was pretty easy settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really exciting university with a central location with lots to do. Lots of night life. If you can live on campus would make life a lot easier than a bus ride everyday.
    University:
    There is so much going on all day everyday it's hard to be bored
    Course:
    It's really interesting but a lot of lectures were cancelled and delayed which made the course not as great!
    Location:
    Right in the city centre loads to do!!
    Accommodation:
    They have too many applicants relictant to help if you don't get the place you wanted.
    Settling in:
    A lot of people hard to get to know many
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I really like the uni of Liverpool, great social life and a great city to live in, however some aspects of the course could be improved (especially in first year)
    University:
    Everything I needed on campus,
    Course:
    First year did not have the best modules however second year modules are a lot better and you can choose what modules you take.
    Location:
    Close walk into city centre with bus transport links, plus it's close to the train station.
    Accommodation:
    Very nice new accomodation located on central campus
    Settling in:
    Lots of events to get you to meet people, great freshers week
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Always so much to do since it's located in a city
    Course:
    great tutors
    Location:
    Close to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Not given out fairly so I went to private accommodation instead.
    Settling in:
    Welcome week helped me settle in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been incredibly enjoyable and a totally new experience, I've loved the lifestyle and the learning.
    University:
    Almost everything you could ask for is provided.
    Course:
    It's incredibly insightful and so enjoyable, I love it.
    Location:
    Liverpool is an exciting and fun city.
    Accommodation:
    It's new and clean with great accessibility.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really friendly and helpful

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE