Member reviews of University of Manchester

  • Anonymous's avatar by Anonymous on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    v
    University:
    v
    Course:
    +It's a highly intensive course; there's 24 hours of scheduled activities per week.
    Location:
    There's loads to do in the city,
    Accommodation:
    (for Liberty park) +Only 10 minutes from the university campus. +Good accommodation security. +If something goes wrong in your room, it gets fixed quickly. -No social area and very few accommodation-organised events.
    Settling in:
    Everything's easy to find and there are plenty of student events to attend in the first few weeks so there's a lot of opportunities to make new friends.
  • JinF's avatar by JinF on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Friendly place to study in with numerous buildings to provide you support. Multiple libraries that open until late to allow a peaceful place for you to study.
    University:
    I have enjoyed my first week of university and I look forward to the future studying here.
    Course:
    It has been fun and interactive learning a language. The teachers are very supportive andale sure you understand before moving on.
    Location:
    It is not too far from many accommodations and from where I live so it means that commuting to lectures every day won't be as much of a hassle.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation looks nice but there have been leakages in certain areas.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is very welcoming, both students and teachers. The environment provides a very sociable place to be in.
  • calumsuniverse's avatar by calumsuniverse on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would rate my overall uni experience so far 4 stars because it has been extremely fun I have met loads of new people and it is all happening in my opinion the best city in the UK.
    University:
    During the day UoM is a vibrant place, the student union is great it has food, coffee shops and they often have large events there as it is the academy Manchester.
    Course:
    If you are looking to study Japanese , Manchester is a great place to do so. All of the tutors are extremely helpful, friendly and approachable.
    Location:
    Really good location, its a 10 min walk out of the city center, and not too far from fallowfield one of the main student areas, and where most of the uni student accommodation is.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation that I stayed in first year (Owens park) was very old and did feel a bit like a school residential at times. The buildings were quite cold and not very homely. However it was a very fun place to live.
    Settling in:
    I am from Manchester so i settled in quite fast, apart from the accommodation issues it was great. Manchester is a great city to live in, very active and diverse and I wouldn't choose anywhere else to be.
  • simonathh's avatar by simonathh on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    A great balance of academics and life skills, professional but friendly approach, great people.
    University:
    There were many opportunities to join a rather wide variety of societies. The campus is lively and there is always something happening.
    Course:
    The course is amazing!
    Location:
    Nothing to complain about, close to city centre and accommodation but also plenty of cafes available on campus. Not to mention how beautiful the buildings are.
    Accommodation:
    I would say the quality is average, depending on where you stay since there are lots of different options.
    Settling in:
    We were made to feel very welcome by everyone in the faculty during early weeks and were strongly encouraged to get to know people in our course. I settled in a lot easier and quicker than expected, by the end of second week I was pretty much at home.
  • thMike's avatar by thMike on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It's fine but there are better universities out there.
    University:
    N/A
    Course:
    This is how I feel about the course.
    Location:
    It's great to be in the middle of a city.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is absolutely awful, you're better off finding something private.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite easily.
  • amirah1's avatar by amirah1 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would like to have thought that this uni is good overall nd that I would have loved to continue my study here
    University:
    I would like to think it has a great atmosphere and resources are provided
    Course:
    well respected uni
    Location:
    ok. not too far. bit of a commute but I guess in the end it would have been worth it
    Accommodation:
    ok
    Settling in:
    I would like to have thought that I would have settled in well
  • arcain13's avatar by arcain13 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Fun nightlife with loads of different options and happy at uni.
    University:
    Amazing
    Course:
    The course is great due to the freedom of modules you don’t get at other unis. I could pick 4/6 modules in first year, from all subjects in social science. The teachers are more than willing to provide help where they can.
    Location:
    Not quite city centre but close enough to feel like you’re in a big city.
    Accommodation:
    Great location in fallow field, range of accommodation types to fit everyone’s wants.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quick
  • leahdillinger's avatar by leahdillinger on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    love this city and university! i have learnt so much using the amazing facilities provided and have been able to make many friends along the way. for nursing the teaching hospitals are all very good and supportive
    University:
    lots available on campus, lots of social opportunities especially good sports teams.
    Course:
    its great to split your weeks into placement and uni, allowing you to apply what you have learnt at uni to placement. tutors are all very good at assisting any issues
    Location:
    is very close to city centre - everywhere is accessible by bus which students all use!
    Accommodation:
    accommodation is good, although limited private type housing. it is also very expensive for halls. halls are great for meeting new people and provide lots of social opportunities
    Settling in:
    there were fresher events straight away to help bond as a flat and meet others - especially a t-shirt night where you could see people on the same course or same accommodation. lots of activities to welcome you into the city and meet new people!!
  • Waleed2660's avatar by Waleed2660 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great place for your Future moulding ...
    University:
    Will write a review later on
    Course:
    Tutors are doing great job. Sometimes i have difficulty while understanding stuff but it gets solved. The one thing I’m disappointed about is their Website is trash.
    Location:
    Great, right in the heart of Manchester
    Accommodation:
    Sorry can’t write a review as not living in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    First week was quite boring... But will make friends & hope it will get better
  • DTudor25's avatar by DTudor25 on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would rate it as a good experience that needs to be lived to be understood
    University:
    It's a life that you need to balance yourself but which isn't hard to wrap your head around
    Course:
    I just started university so I haven't really experienced it fully. With this in mind I gave the 5 star rating for the number of lectures i attended until now.
    Location:
    It's near the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Mostly because it is what a student really needs. A clean and functional environment in which we can study and meet new people at the same time
    Settling in:
    There are a lot of communities that allow you to integrate quicker that you would originally think
  • Stallzy's avatar by Stallzy on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Nice environment with people who want you to do well!
    University:
    I haven't really explored this much, but it's more prevalent in the South campus. There is a library and a few study areas available nearby, mainly the Joule Library and the Barnes Wallis.
    Course:
    Timetables for Semester 2 with two back to back 9AM lectures and a Friday with 7 hours timetabled with only 1 hour gap.
    Location:
    Campus isn't as pretty as the South (main) Campus, but it is a close walk from Piccadilly station which is good for people like me who commute from home.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    It took a few weeks to feel settled in, and we got told to go on a field trip in the second week, walking across Manchester. We were left to make our way back ourselves.
  • laura_emmett's avatar by laura_emmett on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Good and chilled
    University:
    A huge range of societies and opportunities which you don't fully realise if you don't research/keep your eyes open. There is pretty much every society under the sun available, and Fallowfield offers a gym, shops and bars/pubs. My primary request would be for Lidl to replace Sainsbury's! (We are being conned!!!)
    Course:
    It has met my expectations, but hasn't exceeded them. What I like is the variety of choices available and the freedom to pick from pretty much any time period of your choice, unlike compulsory medieval/earlier history modules like other Universities. The teaching is good, although there are several postgraduates who aren't quite as keen/inspiring as full time tutors. Also the course hours are minimal, but again - I knew this when choosing my course, so the shed loads of free time did not come as a surprise.
    Location:
    I would prefer the campus to be closer to the city and University. Especially with road works rife in Manchester, sometimes a simple trip to uni can take 25-30 minutes. Generally it's about 15-20 though, and 30 to the city centre. In terms of Fallowfield though, there's a nice student vibe and plenty of bars/shops.
    Accommodation:
    Oak House and Owens Park aren't exactly known for flash interior/modernity. I personally don't mind staying in basic accommodation so it didn't bother me at all, but I wouldn't recommend for hose who are used to double beds and lush decoration...
    Settling in:
    Really really quickly. There's nothing to be afraid of. I didn't get homesick once in first year.
  • yvonnesarah1's avatar by yvonnesarah1 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    It is overall a great university but that really helps the students as much as it can. The only thing that made me not give it full stars is that the area is not the prettiest and the halls are not the best but both of these factors are often because of th students themselves.
    University:
    There are many events and societies for everything imaginable. There is also great support and help for anything needed. Manchester is also a student city so the uni life is great and there is always some event for students somewhere.
    Course:
    Very interesting course and the university provides you a lot of help and support.
    Location:
    Manchester is not the fanciest and prettiest place in the UK but it is still fun and quirky. The location of the university is great, there are buses every few minutes that bring you to university. The city centre is 15 minutes away by bus and most student halls are also about 15-20 minutes away by bus which is great.
    Accommodation:
    The halls are not newly renovated but it depends on which you live, some are really nice.
    Settling in:
    The university makes many events to help you feel comfortable and settle in. There are also many events to meet friends and because it is a student city it is easier to settle in.
  • HarrietRead's avatar by HarrietRead on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Nights out are great in Manchester, and there's always something to do in the day, however the whole uni life is a bit of a cultural shock that I'm still getting used to.
    Course:
    The lecture structure is very good and a few of the lectures will give up any time to help, however the time table is very full which makes working at home much more difficult alongside a job and a social life.
    Location:
    It is just outside of the city centre which is good, yet it has good train links etc and is only a half an hour walk.
    Accommodation:
    It is liveable, however we're paying the same price as other blocks who've had it refurbished
    Settling in:
    I had a really difficult time settling in due to the difficulty of my course and the feeling of homesickness.
  • Ljflowrie's avatar by Ljflowrie on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, I'm really enjoying it
    University:
    Enjoyable
    Course:
    Still moving slowly
    Location:
    Long bus journey
    Accommodation:
    Not flats
    Settling in:
    Still haven't completely settled
  • Cebass's avatar by Cebass on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great, looking forward more to second year where I can get my own place but so far it's been pretty good.
    University:
    Could make a few more friends but everything from the price to the so cities/clubs is otherwise awesome
    Course:
    There are an excellent amount of contact hours for the amount you have to pay yet still enough to allow you to be included in societies/clubs
    Location:
    Everything is in Manchester. Almost like the city itself is catered for student life!
    Accommodation:
    The kitchens aren't that good but the bar and placement are awesome
    Settling in:
    Still could make a few more friends but otherwise I don't feel homesick
  • Ari96's avatar by Ari96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is very good, a lot of effort was put into welcome week and I really did feel welcome. I got in through clearing so I was sceptical but I loved it instantly.
    University:
    A lot to do and essentials are easy to locate around campus.
    Course:
    Everything is really organised and the structure is very effective. We also got the liberty of choosing seminar times so that was good. The lecturers are willing to help.
    Location:
    The campus is really nice and open but still feels like a campus. Lots of access to essential things. Also very good facilities.
    Accommodation:
    There are many options and they offer affordable prices with very nice accommodation.
    Settling in:
    A lot of effort was put into making sure we were settled and got all the things we needed.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Like totally amazeballs
    University:
    So much fun
    Course:
    It's good but first year was a bit easy
    Location:
    Perfect! Right on the bus route in the middle of the best city in England!
    Accommodation:
    Oak House is the most fun ever
    Settling in:
    It was easy
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Manchester uni is a huge place, in a huge student city, with so many opportunities and people and adventures.
    University:
    Uni life is all about finding out who you are, away from prescribed norms and values given to you before uni. The achievements, mistakes and awesome things you'll discover about you and others is worth it all.
    Course:
    It's well organised and there is plenty of support, but it is extremely demanding and challenging.
    Location:
    It is THE student city.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is what you make of it - and at my own Halls I have had the opportunity to get involved with loads of things, meet great people and enjoy myself.
    Settling in:
    In the beginning, it was all very intense and intimidating, especially on the course. But then I began to understand the nature of it all and it was easy settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, something for everyone
    University:
    Lots to offer, always something to do
    Course:
    Flexible, interesting, variety
    Location:
    Wish it was slightly closer to city centre
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive, fun
    Settling in:
    Made friends, slightly hard moving away
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE