Member reviews of University of Northampton

  • retromoustache's avatar by retromoustache on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    My experience here was better than I expected. Apart from the recent campus change in 2018, the teaching was honestly something I was told was terrible. Heck I was told to avoid coming here!
    University:
    The uni is small compared to other big named uni's so it does suffer not as big of a library - though for my course, much of the content is online (articles, papers etc.). The campus has a big sport dome and outside pitch which is a +1.
    Course:
    Timetable: Pretty small contact hours in comparison to STEM courses - I just have 11 hours peer week! Surprised on the amount of free time you get once I started!
    Location:
    Center of town, right next to a shopping center, but located just on a rural plain near the River Nene, it's great!
    Accommodation:
    Can't comment on the accommodation since I commute, but I have heard it's good :)
    Settling in:
    The transition can be something to get used to, especially how you manage your free time - it's simply something we're not used to (if you can from sixth form) and you'll only realize later down the line how you 'could have' used you time. Be mindful!
  • Mantas.link's avatar by Mantas.link on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Its great
    University:
    There is a lot of activities that university offers, just try it!
    Course:
    It’s a great University! From the beggining I just love it!
    Location:
    It’s just 5 minutes walk from town centre
    Accommodation:
    I am staying at the Avenue Campus, and its great, the rooms are nice and clean, the staff is very helpful
    Settling in:
    It’s been only 4 days and I am already settled in
  • Misssb1999's avatar by Misssb1999 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Good uni
    University:
    Good uni life met great peoole
    Course:
    Good uni. Meet great people and friends fornlife
    Location:
    Quiet not much to do here
    Accommodation:
    Not enough accommodation for students
    Settling in:
    Settled in well
  • lucykilga's avatar by lucykilga on 13th March 2017
    Overall:
    Fab uni, however unsure of the need to relocate to waterside campus as Park and Avenue were not outdated and were fit for purpose
    University:
    Good theme nights at the SU on campus in first year. In 2nd year (2017-18) SU became barely used but the Platform club in town was a brilliant alternative for a busier night out in the town centre.
    Course:
    Well organised timetables across all modules, supportive staff who help in any way they can. Brilliant placement opportunities covering varied settings to prepare for work. Well structed preparation for exams and module objectives so able to see our aims.
    Location:
    Park Campus was close enough for easy access to the town centre without it being too busy and having a stressful atmosphere.
    Accommodation:
    Spencer Perceval Hall in 1st year was brilliant, reasonably priced, perfect location on campus.
    Settling in:
    Easy to meet people and to make friends on your course as well as those you live with.
  • charlie77's avatar by charlie77 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    8.5/10 so far! 0.5 off because of the obviously used furnishings (not really a big deal) and 1.0 off because of the fact you can hear everything in the rooms.
    University:
    Library is wonderful, a great variety of books, can take up to 20 books out at a time and its open 24/7. All sports clubs are free which is also a great plus! They provide an on-campus mini shop which stocks practically everything you could have forgotten from the main shop. Residential life team are really friendly and helpful, and try to help where noise is concerned.
    Course:
    Lecturers seem very engaged in their subject and keen to get the students enthusiastic and interested in it as well. The timetable is well organised and works well between campuses
    Location:
    20 mins on the bus to the other campus (rush hour) and 30 to town, but only about 5 to the nearest asda which makes the weekly shop much easier.
    Accommodation:
    Location is close to the uni and shops, and the rooms are a good size and have enough room for everything a student needs. Kitchen and parts of the bathroom have obviously been used and been through a bit but are otherwise fine, only problem is that the walls are quite thin, can hear most things through the walls which makes noise a bit more of an issue.
    Settling in:
    I am not a drinker or a clubber and unfortunately some of my room mates are (although not all) and I dont like the loud noises when they come back. I had to go back home on the first weekend to get a proper couple of nights sleep, but its calmer now so im more comfortable.
  • DanJFlatters's avatar by DanJFlatters on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 - They really want to help your student experience so pay for all sporting costs and put on amazing student events! The lectures are also very insightful and are engaging.
    University:
    It is good but my location means I miss some of the social events.
    Course:
    It is all about my favourite subject, biology, and this really makes me passionate about the course.
    Location:
    Its good for my course bad bad in terms of student life
    Accommodation:
    I didn't get a large loan and the accommodation is situated in the middle of nowhere so transport to jobs is a problem.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so welcoming and became good friends fast.
  • andreamaestri's avatar by andreamaestri on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a university full of opportunity, inside and outside the classes, it has everything you need and they prepare for your future
    University:
    Service brought by University are awesome, they have 24h library, free student union societies and free facilities
    Course:
    Because all tutors are qualified staff and equipment, task are suitable and is organized for a job-like experience
    Location:
    It's really near to London (1 hour train) also is quite nice the location
    Accommodation:
    They are expensive but is really close to university and you have a friendly support team, however it's not perfect due to some housekeeping problems
    Settling in:
    The university organise many events to settle in the university and meet lecturers, students and staff.
  • Rhigh1's avatar by Rhigh1 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni for support and community. Really well organised and supported the issues I've had so far when moving house just before uni
    University:
    All readily available
    Course:
    Great course with great leaders
    Location:
    On outskirts of town
    Accommodation:
    Could be cleaner but company is great
    Settling in:
    The people I've been put with are a great crowd
  • Hellome12's avatar by Hellome12 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great staffs
    University:
    Plenty of things to do
    Course:
    Everything's on their website e.g course content.
    Location:
    Location is green with a town centre
    Accommodation:
    Location is green and lovely
    Settling in:
    Students, teachers all helpful
  • Alisha_kate1 's avatar by Alisha_kate1 on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars, great facilities very friendly staff and good organisation. always something going on on campus and lots to do.
    University:
    Daytime on campus is nice, lots of people that are all friendly, can always find staff. lots of wildlife on campus running around and nice places to sit at. Nice and cheap places to get food including a greggs. The library is amazing helpful staff, nice areas to work in groups or alone and quiet areas, good organisation and easy to find what you are looking for. there is a shop on campus which is a little pricy but has everything you could want. A Santander bank is on campus with a cashpoint. There is a gym although I have not used this. The societys are often around campus, lots of student ambassadors. student helpdesk is good and the student union puts on many events and is great fun
    Course:
    The lectures and seminars are very good quality and informative. Timetable is well structured, although Mondays are a bit too long and you end up not being able to take in information by the end of it, could do with being a shorter day. The modules are fun and enjoyable, with all staff so friendly and supportive. The module content is good although introductions to the modules could of been better.
    Location:
    Nice natural setting, lots of wildlife, birds, badgers, rabbits and squirrels. Nice places to sit outside. Not in walking distance to town centre, although there is a pub,asda, waitrose and other smaller shop in walking distance and uni buses going intothe town. the city is very nice with lots of shops and good nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    On visiting my friends accommodation at the uni they are nice enough but extremely basic, unless you are in the new accommodation in town. The kitchen equipment is old and could do with being updated and replaced. Quite a lot of things in the flats need fixing and security could be improved a lot as I have heard of a lot of things being stolen and random people walking through the flats. Location wise the accommodation is great very close to lectures and the students unions.
    Settling in:
    I feel that if I lived in university I would of settled in a lot quicker than what I did as I would of been with my flat mates and going to the freshers events. It took me a little while to get used to new people and to make friends although now I thoroughly enjoy university there and have many new good friends. Getting used to the new location and place took no time at all it was very easy to learn the way around and where things are. My friends that live in university made friends straight away and settled in very quickly.
  • Candice97's avatar by Candice97 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The experience so far has been great as the Welcome Week and the tutors really sell university life and the degree.
    University:
    The campus has everything that should be included in university life.
    Course:
    Because I have only started the course and need some time to adjust.
    Location:
    The city has most stores and is close to the university.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation has every I need and has a good location.
    Settling in:
    As it took me a few days to settle in, but the amount of help offered made it easier.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Intresting to meet other people of different backgrounds religions and cultures
    University:
    Clubs are in town, travel there can be annoying in the evening. Shops close quite early, campus library is always open which is always good
    Course:
    Lectures are packed with information and seminars allow you to discuss and review topics you may be confused on, so you are never left behind
    Location:
    Town centre is a bit far which can 've annoying at times
    Accommodation:
    Good location, cheap prices
    Settling in:
    Friendly people wanting to make conversation
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Rate? Text? Okay?
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    It was a great course, friendly lecturers and good technologies.
    Location:
    Near town, but not in town
    Accommodation:
    I did not stay in the accommodation so I dont have much to say on it.
    Settling in:
    I liked it
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The services are good, it's a fun place to be.
    University:
    Great societies and student nights.
    Course:
    I didn't enjoy the course content as much as I thought I would.
    Location:
    Easy transport to town.
    Accommodation:
    Huge variety, hard to know what you're getting before applying.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home pretty quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    well the fact the that course is really good and the fact that they think of our needs.
    University:
    because the facilities that they are available to us is very easily accesable by walking distance or transport facilities are given keeping in mind the students pocket
    Course:
    because this is the course that interests me the most and want to go further in this path in the near future
    Location:
    the best as I havent seen anything better than this e.g greeneary
    Accommodation:
    because it tends to fill up too quickly and he some of the students aren't nice at all
    Settling in:
    because everyone is in the same boat and would be make small groups and stay together.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Average
    University:
    Plenty of societies to choose from and always something going on
    Course:
    Heavily focussed on broadcast
    Location:
    Northampton is okay, however there aren't a great range of things to do
    Accommodation:
    On campus and so very handy, not the nicest flats
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff and strong community feel
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    friendly alcohol
    University:
    great away from everyone
    Course:
    teaching
    Location:
    great away from everyone
    Accommodation:
    girls in my block
    Settling in:
    friendly alcohol
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Was amazing, met a lot of people
    University:
    Love it
    Course:
    Not organised in second year
    Location:
    Near town but not many shops around
    Accommodation:
    Clean but old
    Settling in:
    Was home sick
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It has good student union and restorent, nice environment and open campus
    University:
    It is good
    Course:
    It was good but their were somethings that could have been better for some modules
    Location:
    It's too far from city Center and train station
    Accommodation:
    My friend lived it them. And she did complain about somethings but it was still good
    Settling in:
    It was alright
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good uni with good facilities. Nice part of the country and its been a good few years.
    University:
    Some nightlife good, nice atmosphere at uni, shopping ok
    Course:
    Content is good, organisation and communication not always great.
    Location:
    Easy access to and from uni to everything, lovely rural area, town ok.
    Accommodation:
    Cosy halls of residence, house nice enough, landlords not the best
    Settling in:
    Homesick
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE