Member reviews of University of Nottingham

  • cerealisyummy's avatar by cerealisyummy on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Highly recommended as Nottingham is such a great city, surrounded by lovely greenery. The university is also extremely huge!
    University:
    Libraries such as George Green Library offers great views from inside. There is enough natural sunlight shining into the library, which I love.
    Course:
    Second year environmental science students are given the opportunity to choose their optional modules from the school of bioscience, geography and life sciences. These schools are our considered as our 'home schools.
    Location:
    Excellent location. We have great access to trams, buses and taxis, which is extremely convenient especially whenever we needed to go to town to buy things or have an afternoon stroll during the week.
    Accommodation:
    I am currently staying in a catered hall at University Park. The food has been delicious, above the expectations that I had before coming to university.
    Settling in:
    Settling down in university was not a huge problem for me. Since the day I moved to university, I have been meeting new people, spending most of my time with them especially during freshers week.
  • shezkhan's avatar by shezkhan on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think the Uni is one of the best in the UK. Taking into account what the city has to offer and the provisions made by the university, staff enthusiasm and a focus on students needs, I am very happy I chose this uni over others.
    University:
    There is always something you can be doing at the University of Nottingham.
    Course:
    The University lecturers are clearly passionate about their subject and it makes their teaching a million times more engaging and enjoyable.
    Location:
    Really good. It's very central and close to my accommodation (Broadgate Park) and to Beeston town centre so it's perfect for food shopping / socialising etc. The location is also beautiful with the large lake and so much greenery.
    Accommodation:
    For my first year I will be living in Broadgate Park halls. It is a very short walk away from campus and extremely close by to Beeston town centre where you can find many cafes and supermarkets. There is also a coop across the street.
    Settling in:
    Initially starting university in a new place and not knowing anyone is overwhelming.
  • Harry1996's avatar by Harry1996 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall the academic support and welfare support is great and recommended. The campus is a big game changer in deciding courses (on this campus) at this uni due to how expensive and inconvenient it is at times.
    University:
    Welfare provision and the student union is very good with many facilities available. Shopping and getting around is a pain due to how isolated the campus is.
    Course:
    Most of my lecturers are helpful and easily accessible by email, from which they respond to quickly within a day or two. There is a good variety of content and you can choose from various modules to decide your specialism(s).
    Location:
    My campus is very isolated and inconvenient, increasing costs significantly.
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive and inconvenient.
    Settling in:
    Did not take me long to adjust to my schedule. There is a lot of down time to help you get used to the flow of the day.
  • tilda.c's avatar by tilda.c on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Staff are extremely helpful. People are really friendly. Research is current and useful. Modules are interesting content
    University:
    Not much that personally suits me
    Course:
    The modules are very interesting. The lecturers are really helpful and approachable. There are lots of lectures but limited problems classes; I'd prefer if there were more problems classes as this is where I develop my understanding.
    Location:
    Good distance from city
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable price but far from uni and a few issues eg, bills were complicated to sort and some things sent working properly and there is some damp
    Settling in:
    Still don't feel I've settled in
  • Issey123's avatar by Issey123 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    High employment rating after graduation
    University:
    Lots of activities and events
    Course:
    This course is a lot of hard work and long hours. It is very different to other courses however it is worth it. The lecturers are always willing to help and answer my questions. The staff are all very friendly
    Location:
    In the middle of no where
    Accommodation:
    University staff are quick to fix any problems
    Settling in:
    Lots of societies. Small campus so quickly meet everyone
  • KJ2017's avatar by KJ2017 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Good course, boring nightlife.
    University:
    Hard to integrate into
    Course:
    Great labs and gelreat equipment as well as a well structured course. However lecturers are boring and the first year time table was a mess - very inconvenient
    Location:
    Still far from town but in a nice neighborhood
    Accommodation:
    Standard
    Settling in:
    Alot of clubs needed a sports centre membership which was not near and thus not worth buying
  • lumi1010's avatar by lumi1010 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It was definitely the right choice for me and I would recommend it to anyone who considered going to Nottingham.
    University:
    Generally i'm having the best time at university and would have given in 5 stars. The reason I gave 4 was because it doesn't always feel safe in the evenings especially living in the local student area.
    Course:
    Its a really interesting course and we get a lot of modules to choose from which is better than many other courses and unis.
    Location:
    The location is amazing because its far enough out of town to avoid the busyness but it also only takes a small 10 minute journey by bus to get to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Some of the halls are majorly outdated and need renovating asap. The food is VILE, its actually disgusting. However the location of the halls is a massive benefit because its so close to the faculty buildings.
    Settling in:
    The uni do a really good job in making students feel at home straight away. There are so many activities during Welcome Week and they make it clear where to go if you need help.
  • Burhan12624's avatar by Burhan12624 on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Simply great. It's almost like being back at high school
    University:
    Uni life here in general is great. Beautiful campus, huge sports village & rich diversity all combined make it an unparalleled experience
    Course:
    Attentive lecturers always at the ready for help. Best campus in UK as well!
    Location:
    Nottingham is a brilliant city. It's the perfect balance between tranquil and modern with something for everyone
    Accommodation:
    Excellent halls with excellent facilities
    Settling in:
    Only a few weeks. joining societies made me feel like this was my second home
  • NatalieRiley's avatar by NatalieRiley on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Nottingham university is great
    University:
    Uni life is great. Nights out are great, with a lot of choice. The services on and off campus are good too. Many societies are also avaliable
    Course:
    Overall, the course is very descriptive and explores exactly what is needed for the area of study. Teaching and feedback is of high quality, where feedback is constructive and not destructive. Seminars could use a bit more attention, perhaps allowing more focus to the areas of discussion.
    Location:
    Very close to the city centre and buses are cheap
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is very good. Although the catered food could maybe use more variety throughout the weeks, but it is mostly of very high quality. All hall accommodation is close to the university park so nothing is more than a 15 minute walk away. Very affordable, there is a choice for every financial bracket
    Settling in:
    I settled in immediately
  • burhan12624's avatar by burhan12624 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    8/10.
    University:
    It's more impersonal from school.
    Course:
    Because the lecturers are good.
    Location:
    It's on the outskirts of the city.
    Accommodation:
    Modern and comfortable housing.
    Settling in:
    Because everybody is helpfu and friendly.
  • CongressTart's avatar by CongressTart on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    A solid 8/10
    University:
    Daytime services very helpful - SU and university put a lot of effort into maintaining. There's also lots on offer after lectures as well
    Course:
    Lecturers very helpful, especially when it comes to feedback. Modules also very interesting
    Location:
    Not much to do in Beeston, but Nottingham is easily accessible and has lots on offer
    Accommodation:
    Staff very helpful, very affordable, accommodation in good condition, great location
    Settling in:
    Lots of events on offer, great atmosphere on campus
  • justaquickone123's avatar by justaquickone123 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    #NAME?
    University:
    It is different, becoming more independent.
    Course:
    It is confusing to create your own timetable and fit in modules you like here. You do not get much choice in the core modules you take in first year, but apparently this gets better in second and third years. The lectures are quite vague at times and seem a little unorganised. The seminars are quite few.
    Location:
    The campus is amazing, and although it is located outside the city centre, it is very green and has most of what you need there.
    Accommodation:
    In Broadgate park, the accommodation is very basic for the price compared to other universities. The parking fee is quite extensive, and staff can be unfriendly.
    Settling in:
    Luckily, I really get on with my flat mates and feel I am quite a good settler.
  • Plumdizzle's avatar by Plumdizzle on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    10/10, it has been the best experience of my life. It makes you a better person.
    University:
    Feel safe, lots of events, always busy, fitness opportunities are great.
    Course:
    Lecturers are engaging, involving, kind and challenging.
    Location:
    Perfect distance to city centre and just outside enough to reach countryside easily.
    Accommodation:
    Feels like living in luxury.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was nice and welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good university, good night life, lots of different societies.
    University:
    Range of clubs and pubs for all different types of people
    Course:
    Good course but I haven't been here long enough to rate it 5.
    Location:
    Good location and transport links.
    Accommodation:
    Good overall nice room
    Settling in:
    I only sometimes feel settled in but I've only been here 2 weeks
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    had everything to fit everyones needs.
    Course:
    the only problem i found with the course was from a career oppurtunities perspective the course was very focussed on academic careers. We were only ever taught that following our degree we could go on to research or further education or lab work. it was only after i graduated and did my own research that i found i could go into many other different non-lab based jobs.
    Location:
    nottingham is an amazing city. the campus has direct busses into the city centre but the campus itself felt very clean and green
    Accommodation:
    it was cheap, really decent quality - pretty much flawless. there was something for everyone's budget.
    Settling in:
    our halls of residence hosted a BBQ on the first day to ensure we got to know eachother straight away and freshers always helped settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's amazing
    University:
    It's localized in a perfect manner
    Course:
    Because it's different and unique
    Location:
    It's in the right spot
    Accommodation:
    I like everything except the price
    Settling in:
    People are very friendly and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Bars shops and loads of societies on campus
    Course:
    Exactly what I wanted
    Location:
    Beaut campus
    Accommodation:
    Kitchen could be bigger.
    Settling in:
    Settled in v well
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    An amazing uni
    University:
    As i felt that freshers was over rated.
    Course:
    I love the course, however I feel that the magic is missing at the moment.
    Location:
    As it is a beautiful green campus, excluded from the urban city.
    Accommodation:
    As many things are broken, and outdated.
    Settling in:
    As the university has done everything in their power to make you feel welcome.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Enjoyed it miles more than expected. Couldn't have picked a better uni
    University:
    Lots of things to do
    Course:
    I enjoyed it
    Location:
    Campus is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Was good
    Settling in:
    After a week was all settled in and comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing lots of squirrels!
    University:
    Lots of clubs but also other things to do as well
    Course:
    Labs are very good lectures could be better
    Location:
    Close to the city but lots of greenery on campus
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is very clean and comfortable food can be variable sometimes not enough to eat
    Settling in:
    Have great flat mates that I feel like I have know for years and everyone is really nice
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE