Member reviews of University of Oxford

  • zxcnbv's avatar by zxcnbv on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Oxford has a really great social environment and it's a good place to meet people from all over the world who share your interests. The amount and the quality of teaching is also really good.
    University:
    The college environment is really friendly and there's a lot you can do within college, like go to the common room, gym, bar or cafe. The college library is really good and it has most to the books you need.
    Course:
    Although the course is quite intense, it's definitely manageable and I'm really enjoying it. We have a lot of contact hours, including lectures, tutorials, practicals, prosection, seminars and statistics classes.
    Location:
    The colleges are mostly located near city centre and the teaching facilities. There is also a train station and lots of bus stops.
    Accommodation:
    This will vary between colleges, but my experience is that the rooms are quite spacious and are either ensuite or you will share with one other person.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was a really good time to meet people and I met my closest friends then, however I felt that after freshers week it was a lot harder to meet new people.
  • mariakoniarz's avatar by mariakoniarz on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    10/10 :)
    University:
    Awesome!
    Course:
    All of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way. My contact hours are quite small in comparison to some of my friends but I don't mind that because I like to study independently in the library.
    Location:
    No airports nearby
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great!
    Settling in:
    Very quickly, I wasn't homesick at all thanks to the amazing atmosphere at the university.
  • diafrasakho's avatar by diafrasakho on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Apply. You will not regret it.
    University:
    Social side of all clubs is a definite highlight. There is such a range of activities and locations that uni life is anything you make it.
    Course:
    The course is wide ranging, engaging and well delivered. You can expect plenty or hands on teaching, with contact hours in your first year approaching 30 hours a week. This means it is tough and can get on top of you if you're not organised.
    Location:
    City centre, walking distance from everything you need, can't beat that
    Accommodation:
    Varies from college to college, but at my college you are guaranteed accommodation on site for all years of your course. This accommodation is always very good.
    Settling in:
    The arranged events help you settle in almost immediately, and the social side of all clubs and societies means you can find people with similar interests with ease
  • Jo-ash's avatar by Jo-ash on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Love Oxford but not for the lazy as there is a lot of work to do. Super intense short terms of lots of work and then long holidays are not for everyone
    University:
    So much to do and not enough time for it all, so many amazing extra curricular opportunities
    Course:
    2 to 1 Tutorials at Oxford gives help and advice beyond nearly all other Unis
    Location:
    Nice and close to home. Well placed in the city
    Accommodation:
    Amazing location in centre of Oxford and close to everywhere I need to get. Unfortunately only 1 shower on my floor between 10. Can go to showers on other floors tho.
    Settling in:
    Super friendly atmosphere at St Peter's college
  • quinq's avatar by quinq on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Oxford is really what you make of it. If you want to spend all your time with posh, privileged white people, you can, but you can also avoid these people with ease. Generally, your experience is defined by your college choice and your choice of friends.
    University:
    There's more libraries in Oxford than anyone could possibly need, and the student scene is bustling with societies, sport, and so forth. The only real downside is the workload!
    Course:
    The course overall is somewhat good, the only issue I really have is that the language teaching is simply too brief for ab initio learners.
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city with everything you might want, and London is just an hour away on the train or 1 hour 40 minutes on the Oxford Tube, which runs 24/7, 365.
    Accommodation:
    This is an inappropriate question for Oxford; every college is different, and there are more than 30 colleges which manage their own accommodation for their own students.
    Settling in:
    I've moved around most of my life and am pretty good at quickly getting to know people. This is more of a personal thing than anything to do with the university.
  • jbrandagamba's avatar by jbrandagamba on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    Oxford is a brilliant university to go to, if you're up to it. The city is amazing, the tutors are at the top of their game, and it's just the best place to develop an interest to the max.
    University:
    There is a good range of things to do. The libraries are great; I can't really rate much else as I don't participate in much.
    Course:
    So far the material covered has been comprehensive, even if some of the lectures were a little less than helpful for the first year course.
    Location:
    Oxford's a great city, it's beautiful, the museums are all free and most colleges are centrally located. The only issue is the tourists: they swarm like wasps in summer.
    Accommodation:
    Living in college in the first year was amazing! I was in one of the older colleges and I had an extraordinary view over the quad.
    Settling in:
    I am not a particularly sociable person. I have settled into the course but am finding the other parts harder.
  • randombiochemist's avatar by randombiochemist on 14th April 2018
    Overall:
    11/10 would recommend.
    University:
    All good. There being only 24 h a day is the only limit really..
    Course:
    Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Top quality.
    Location:
    Magical, very picturesque. The 'City of Dreaming Spires' after all. Just the right size, with basically everywhere important being within walking distance. And London is a mere 1.5 h couch journey away, for day/weekend trips.
    Accommodation:
    Was provided college accommodation for all four years. No complaints.
    Settling in:
    To 'feel at home' implies a level of being..relaxed. Whilst I wouldn't necessarily associate that state of mind with being at Oxford (ever), freshers' week was well organised - events all good fun - and I remember being set an essay on the first day I arrived, so it was immediately a balance of science and social life from there.
  • rainbowsandtea's avatar by rainbowsandtea on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I rate my university experience very highly. The course is very rewarding, I've had plenty of opportunities to get involved with extracurricular activities and I've made some lifelong friends. I highly recommend Oxford University to anyone who might be considering applying.
    University:
    Uni is what you make of it. Studying a degree in Oxford IS hard work, but providing you give yourself time outside of studying there are plenty of student societies to get involved in! Welfare provision is great; we have two welfare reps in college who have arranged teas, yoga classes and even a weekly visit from the welfare puppy!
    Course:
    Very interesting and varied. It combines elements of Latin language, literature, philosophy (ancient and modern), archaeology and history. The one on one tutorial system is fabulous and I have nothing but good things to say about the course. It is intense and it is hard work - but it is worth it!
    Location:
    My college is right in the centre of Oxford; It's only a five minute walk to the Classics faculty and library which is ideal. Close to all of the shops and restaurants too!
    Accommodation:
    The college accommodation had limited kitchen facilities and, being an old building with single glazing in the centre of town, it could be quite loud. More effort is being made to provide accessible accommodation however. There is also the option to live out of college if one chooses.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was great; everyone was so friendly and approachable and the college really made us feel like we were a part of a big family.
  • MinhQuang's avatar by MinhQuang on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    You should really look at the college you chose, the course you chose and the people youa re going to spend time with. Nothing is what it seems, even though most things lived up to the expectations.
    University:
    A good balance between socialising and studying
    Course:
    - Timetable is flexible. - Course structure is rigid, exactly what was shown on the prospectus - Content and quality varies, especially when it depends on who teaching you (professors or PHD students) - Lectures are not very effective, but the tutor sessions work well.
    Location:
    I simply don't enjoy Oxford
    Accommodation:
    Really expensive, but great experience overall
    Settling in:
    - Challenging - Lack hospitality - Great facilities for sports - good induction
  • CreamyRoss's avatar by CreamyRoss on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, look forward to the rest of my course.
    University:
    Very good but not always enough time to try them.
    Course:
    It's much more engaging than school was.
    Location:
    I'd like a bigger city, but it's still large enough.
    Accommodation:
    I have a huge room in a great staircase.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home immediately
  • Dassah's avatar by Dassah on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really welcoming, diverse place
    University:
    A large variety of societies
    Course:
    Really good modules
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Spacious but way too noisy at night
    Settling in:
    Already feels like I've been here for ages
  • Peachy800's avatar by Peachy800 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's one of the best universities in the world and the city is beautiful in itself.
    University:
    So many different clubs to choose from, with a particular emphasis on a variety of nights in Freshers' Week.
    Course:
    The tutorial system is wonderful. The rating would have been five if there weren't recent structural changes to the course itself that let it down.
    Location:
    Beautiful city, iconic!
    Accommodation:
    Really high standard of accommodation but a little pricey.
    Settling in:
    There is a great student community at Oxford which is very welcoming.
  • Alij888's avatar by Alij888 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good - 5 star
    University:
    Because there are so many good societies
    Course:
    It's very traditional biology
    Location:
    It's really close to everywhere
    Accommodation:
    It's very nice, well cleaned, catered
    Settling in:
    Because I did
  • NotOlivia's avatar by NotOlivia on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible. Surrounded by motivated friendly people who are passionate about things. Almost one to one tuition in tutorials.
    University:
    An excellent mixture of work and play.
    Course:
    Excellent support and experience
    Location:
    It's amazing to be in Oxford and everything's very close to where I live.
    Accommodation:
    Lovely to live in old college buildings!
    Settling in:
    They did everything they could to make us feel at home.
  • hayleyh08 's avatar by hayleyh08 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Wide variety of things to do
    Course:
    It's really supportive
    Location:
    It's a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    It's really good
    Settling in:
    There was much help, and although I did miss home, that was to be expected
  • Sardobi's avatar by Sardobi on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Would recommend
    University:
    Lots of like minded people
    Course:
    Pretty good all round place
    Location:
    Great city, beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Minus 1 for expensiveness
    Settling in:
    Really quick, over freshers
  • Notbritt's avatar by Notbritt on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing.
    University:
    There are a lot of societies to join and plenty of events.
    Course:
    It is very interesting content wise and there's a large variety of courses to choose from. I love the tutorial system since it actually motivates me to get my work done.
    Location:
    Beautiful city, not too large and noisy. My college has a great location aswell.
    Accommodation:
    I would have preferred to have control over choosing my room but otherwise I really can't complain
    Settling in:
    My college (Somerville) is so warm and open. I've only had positive experiences with the people around me. It was a bit scary at first p, though, because I didn't know a lot of administrative info about England in general so it took a while to get my paperwork settled.
  • Kittyb99's avatar by Kittyb99 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's generally pretty good at Oxford. People are nice and there are a lot of resources for you to tap into. The libraries have almost everything you could ever need, but they aren't open long enough, making consulting reference only books for essays very frustrating.
    University:
    There's a lot to do, but Oxford's libraries have awful opening times, and they are even worse in vacations. Most libraries are only open for six hours on weekends, and during weekdays the standard opening time is 9am-10pm, which is not long enough on either side. They should really be open until midnight, like most other university libraries. Especially at Oxford, where the books in the Bodleian are reference only.
    Course:
    Supervisor is great, but the History Faculty at Oxford doesn't seem to put much effort into looking after its students.
    Location:
    Oxford is very busy and full of tourists, which is ok, but it gets quite annoying and can make moving around the city to get to university buildings frustrating.
    Accommodation:
    My College accommodation is excellent.
    Settling in:
    I made friends quickly and my College is very nice.
  • tjturner20's avatar by tjturner20 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Oxford provides an excellent university experience for everyone who has a subject they love: the greatest educatonal opportunity you'll ever have.
    University:
    The services are amongst the world's best and life it self is very stimulating.
    Course:
    Very effective teaching methods that really enhance intellectual development.
    Location:
    Pleasant, practical, well connected. Everything you need!
    Accommodation:
    All functional: could use more en suite rooms.
    Settling in:
    University is very welcoming and the city very quickly starts to feel like home.
  • Phintys's avatar by Phintys on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Choose it, it's great. But the rent is often more expensive than London, with lower loans.
    University:
    Free museums!
    Course:
    Start on Monday, but it'll be great.
    Location:
    Oxford is pretty. Also, ducks.
    Accommodation:
    Great- but man, it's expensive.
    Settling in:
    Being optimistic for the future here.
  • ESV93's avatar by ESV93 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The university is one of the best in the world and the college feel provides a huge sense of belonging.
    University:
    There is a huge variety of clubs to join as well as huge library provisons. There is also a huge focus on welfare provisions
    Course:
    The module content is very focused
    Location:
    The city of Oxford is beautiful and filled with libraries which are very useful for research
    Accommodation:
    The location is great, the building is slightly outdated (eg. No Wifi) but it has a very clean inside with large rooms
    Settling in:
    Because I have previously done an undergraduate degree and I am used to being away from home. My college at Oxford is very welcoming too
  • square_peg's avatar by square_peg on 23rd September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been amazing. I never want to leave and can't believe I only have two years left! I just want to stress that although there is an Oxford stereotype of "posh, stuck-up, private school boys", the atmosphere is of diversity and inclusion, and you meet far more amazing people than arrogant people.There is a lot of pressure in the university to reduce Lad Culture, for example all rugby teams have to take part in a 'Be a Good Lad' workshop every year. You have to work hard, which makes it incredibly rewarding, and the courses are taught by really seriously accomplished people. Outside of work there is a great feel of camaraderie in college, a great choice of extra-curricular activities, support networks are always available, the University has the most generous bursary scheme in the country, the city is stunning and in general I have loved every minute (ok, except for those spent rushing through a problem sheet that's due in in 3 hours).
    University:
    There are a wealth of societies; if you want to do sports or music or performing arts there are clubs and societies for absolutely any ability (eg. the very best sportspeople are on the University Blues teams, if you're good you can join the other University teams, and if you're less serious or more amateur you can get involved with the college teams which compete with other colleges) The college bars are really good value, and every college has a student team dedicated to running events such as 'bops', which usually have a big bar tab (including soft drinks and sometimes food), some form of costume theme, themed music, and an optional group club outing if you want to continue into the night. Welfare provision is amazing in my experience (with schemes such as trained peer-supporters, a network of people you can speak to, the University counselling service). The University has an unusual (in terms of other unis) concept of 'rustication', meaning you can take up to a year out up to two times during your course, if you have MH or other personal problems, which a lot of people have found really helpful. Every college has a nurse coming in every day, and a doctor a couple of times a week. This means you only need to walk downstairs or down the road into college in order to see a doctor at very short notice. Most colleges provide very very heavily discounted entry to a decent gym (eg. I pay
    Course:
    Great lectures, great tutorials, courses build well up from basics and expand into more and more options so you can really focus on the area that interests you most. Great choice of coursework in 3rd and 4th years.
    Location:
    Beautiful city, amazing buildings, everything close together, no need for buses - can walk or cycle everywhere, fantastic libraries, punting on the rivers, green spaces; an amazing place to live, never mind how you can go into every university building (including free entry to the Botanical Garden, for example).
    Accommodation:
    It's got everything you need. For some people the kitchens in college weren't good enough (because they didn't have ovens or freezers), but for me this was fine because of the good value dining hall. Rooms were an ok size, rooms in college are much cheaper than living out, but living out was also reasonably priced and there are some good areas to get student housing.
    Settling in:
    Being in a college provides a great community feel because you get to know a lot of familiar faces quite quickly, since there are only about 100 in each year, and will be in college with them for the rest of your time. The colleges put on fantastic fresher's week events and make you feel really at home.
  • putinreality's avatar by putinreality on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really like the course- the department is small, and feels that it has little to do with the university over all. Oxford is doing a lot in the way of access schemes etc., but obviously access schemes can only do so much. Most students are incredibly privileged. Many are unaware of their privilege. The fact that these people make up such a huge part of the student body obviously has an effect on the 'overall experience', and although this is a stereotype of Oxford that most people are aware of, it is a stereotype that holds truth, and I think it's important for prospective students to bear that in mind.
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    The content/teaching is really good. Not so keen on the fact that the degree class is determined by fourth year exams alone (with the exception of the dissertation).
    Location:
    Nice city
    Accommodation:
    The quality of rooms is generally good but, if living in college, students usually have to move out during vacations. Rent is expensive in Oxford.
    Settling in:
    Took all of first term (8 weeks)
  • colourtheory's avatar by colourtheory on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 I've honestly had the best time so far. The people are amazing and the course is very well delivered.
    University:
    Provisions for students is excellent, although some of the events are poorly advertised and getting tickets can be difficult.
    Course:
    The course offers the opportunity to explore history with both breadth and depth.
    Location:
    Great location offering everything a student could one in close proximity.
    Accommodation:
    High quality rooms, most with ensuite bathrooms and kitchen access.
    Settling in:
    The community was exceedingly friendly, but it took a couple of weeks to feel entirely at home.
  • Lucilou101's avatar by Lucilou101 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    The uni has everything covered.
    Course:
    Great course, great teaching - very high standard all round.
    Location:
    Oxford is Oxford. It's lovely.
    Accommodation:
    Very good quality, and reasonably priced.
    Settling in:
    Lots of events done in 'Welcome Week' to get you settled in and into the swing of things.
  • Little Toy Gun's avatar by Little Toy Gun on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's OK.
    University:
    Lots of things to do.
    Course:
    The modules were decent but the supervision was very bad.
    Location:
    Nice town, many historical buildings, very close to London.
    Accommodation:
    Everything was decent and it was centrally located, but it did not have Wi-Fi.
    Settling in:
    I adapt easily.
  • annamackenzie's avatar by annamackenzie on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    It's been incredible, I couldn't ask for anymore. Yes, the work is hard and the terms can be intense but it's also a lot of fun and an incredible place to study. It's a totally different experience than any other University and one I wouldn't trade for the world. The student life is so interactive and there are constantly fun events being run within the college, from a pub quiz to a halloween party or pumpkin carving or a movie night or a life drawing class or yoga or a food eating contest, all for FREE, I could go on and on. You are constantly busy, but still being looked after, the one on one relationship with your tutors is incomparable. You have tutors who are there to offer their help any time you need it, and you see them every week so even if you start to struggle, they will notice and offer you any extra help you may need.
    University:
    I love the Oxford life- I cannot praise it highly enough. The city is always busy and bustling during the daytime and the setting is beautiful, everywhere you turn you are surrounded by stunning historical buildings. The town has everything you could want during the daytime, with a good selection of shops (a big primark!!!) and loads of chain restaurants as well as cool independent coffee shops and restaurants (I love the covered market for that!) The nightlife is again very good and has a variety for whatever your taste, it's always busy and relatively cheap at most clubs. College bars provide a really fun (and cheap) way to enjoy a few drinks with friends or a place to have some friendly pre drinks. Theres a HUGE abundance of libraries, each one more beautiful than the last and the jaw dropping setting combined with the quiet, focussed atmosphere, you are completely inspired to work! Another bonus is my college library is open 24 hours a day and a 30 second walk from my room, making it easy to drop back if you forget anything or for a cup of tea and you are able to work to whatever timetable you choose. Each college has a male and female welfare rep, as well as a college nurse and countless trained peer support officers, meaning you have so many options regarding pastoral care and I have always felt comfortable turning to them and found it extremely useful in this high pressure environment. The welfare team will also subtly post you contraception/pregnancy tests and other sexual health items/info, all completely free.
    Course:
    I receive fantastic attention from tutors, meeting at least twice a week for a tutorial in a 2:1 student to tutor ratio. This allows me to immediately pinpoint any areas that I may not have understood in the previous week of lectures and have it individually explained to me. Tutorials also force you to put into practice what you learned in the last week, whilst it is still fresh in your mind, I find this exceedingly helpful in consolidating the terms work.
    Location:
    The University fairly dominates the town, so you're located right in the city centre. This means everything is walking distance: the libraries, the departments, the nightlife, supermarkets, shopping, literally anything you could want!
    Accommodation:
    You are guaranteed accommodation from the University within my college for your entire degree, if you choose. My room in 1st year was very spacious with an ensuite and a beautiful view of the University Church. In my 2nd year I was able to live in a flat owned by the college, which meant I was able to avoid any drama of finding housemates very early in my 1st year before I had made solid friends. It also meant, I didn't have to pay expensive rates or go through estate agents. All accommodation provided by the college is located right in the centre of the town, less than 10 minutes walk from my department and less than 5 minutes walk from the large supermarkets.
    Settling in:
    The small, more intimate college environment made "ice-breaker" events during freshers week far less intimidating and you made friends very quickly. You are also assigned college parents, who are second year students, at least one of whom is studying your course. These parents are there to answer any questions you have, show you around, introduce you to people and generally make you feel really welcome.
  • Arcane1729's avatar by Arcane1729 on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    It's alright.
    Course:
    World Class Teaching, Intellectually stimulating, and world renowned.
    Location:
    Centrally located
    Accommodation:
    Clean, spacious, fair price
    Settling in:
    Took a while to get used to.
  • jdwilliams's avatar by jdwilliams on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Oxford is a world class university, to study here has not only met my expectations but far surpassed them.
    University:
    The library is open 24/7, the gym is modern, the bar and food prices are cheap plus there is a never ending list of activities.
    Course:
    The delivery is ideal and what you'd expect, a mix of classes, lectures and tutorials. Also regular meetings and discussion groups really help my chosen college is perfect in terms of location to class.
    Location:
    The colleges are all within a short walk of each other and within a compact city centre. Plenty of playing fields, the river and countryside walks and trails.
    Accommodation:
    It's better than some hotels I've stayed in, the building, the rooms, the grounds are well maintained. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is very good.
    Settling in:
    It was easy to make friends and guidance was given to explain life here, how everything works and somebody is always available to assist on any given matter.
  • aasvogel's avatar by aasvogel on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic!
    University:
    Independence and partying
    Course:
    Top notch course
    Location:
    Central and accessible
    Accommodation:
    Meets all my requirements
    Settling in:
    Even away from home I am comfortable
  • The_Lonely_Goatherd's avatar by The_Lonely_Goatherd on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    Oxford is amazing and I don't regret going. The welfare provisions could be improved upon though, so not rated it 5 stars.
    University:
    Libraries and formal hall are amazing. Welfare provision and Student Union less so.
    Course:
    Music at Oxford is a very rigorous and demanding course. You get specialised tuition from world experts and the tutorial system is amazing. However, there is little chance to tailor the first-year course to your strengths.
    Location:
    Worcester College is 5 mins walk or less from Carfax (city centre). Almost everywhere is walkable.
    Accommodation:
    I was at Worcester College. Accommodation was mostly amazing, though there is definitely some seriously dodgy accommodation at Woosta too.
    Settling in:
    I got on well with the people I was living with and the transition of leaving home went much smoother than I was expecting! I took a lot of home comforts, e.g. teddies and rice cooker, with me, which made me feel at home.
  • Zahrsidi's avatar by Zahrsidi on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    A 5 star rate
    University:
    Really fun and good experience
    Course:
    It was perfect I really enjoyed doing it
    Location:
    Good location not far away
    Accommodation:
    Good rooms and hospitality
    Settling in:
    Really quickly was like home
  • Ok's avatar by Ok on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Yes..It may help it
    University:
    Ok
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    Very good
    Accommodation:
    Good location
    Settling in:
    Ok type
  • Prefer to not give. Messages will flood in no doubt.'s avatar by Prefer to not give. Messages will flood in no doubt. on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    You want to come out with a first class degree with a name that deprives all others then go ahead. However if you wish to become independant and truly relish your university days then this will raise many questions.
    University:
    Seems sex was better than expected.
    Course:
    Good content, great peers while there is also an abundance of terrible professors.
    Location:
    Decent nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    It's an old university; there are many advantages to this though its accomdation is of poor condition.
    Settling in:
    Asains stay with asains. White lads tend to degrade the majority with lined pockets.
  • Cause I love it 's avatar by Cause I love it on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Cause I love it
    University:
    Cause I love it
    Course:
    Cause I love it
    Location:
    Cause I love it
    Accommodation:
    Cause I love it
    Settling in:
    Cause I love it
  • Mastermaths36's avatar by Mastermaths36 on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Lots of straight male students with cute bums. I am now Headmaster at Redseat College, where pupils report for misbehaving in class.
    University:
    It lacked food for diabetics.
    Course:
    The course was right for me.
    Location:
    I have a disability and could not walk that far
    Accommodation:
    Not enough first year males
    Settling in:
    Plenty of nice male Students, as I am gay!
  • iggywilde's avatar by iggywilde on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    With Oxford it honestly depends on which college you choose. At Balliol, the university experience tends to be exactly what I wanted it to be - both intimate but wild and fun, welcoming and academically driven, liberal and down-to-earth, and 100% inclusive and totally tolerant. Whilst accommodation is a problem (throughout Oxford, actually) there are ways around it - and there are FANTASTIC opportunities for extra grants and bursaries to help with financially struggling students - and it is this primarily that I think makes living here so comfortable. I thought imposter syndrome would be a big problem for me, but it became very quickly apparent that Oxford don't and won't tolerate abuses of privilege that might isolate or alienate other students, which is a major reason for their dedication for constant financial support. There is nothing that I, as a low income student, have suffered because of during my time at oxford and i'm so glad of it because this was a main deterrent for me before I decided to secure my place!
    University:
    I absolutely love living at Balliol. Being surrounded by so many students studying different subjects within such a small proximity is SO inspiring, and ensures you never once feel lonely during your stays there. Not only this, but within the tight college family, there are so many clubs to get involved with that there's pretty much everything for any interest - and, if there isn't, then you are encouraged to make it yourself! There are so many JCR events and JCR welfare events that uni life is absolutely never ever boring, and on top of that, is always intellectually stimulating - which is exactly what you want from uni life
    Course:
    The course is perfect because as an artist it is absolutely crucial to create an equal balance between independent work time, where and when I need it, and intense academic guidance to make sure all the work were producing is earnest and well-received. My course offers non-mandatory contact time which means we can sculpt the course to our artistic schedule completely, and since they leave the studios open for us for over 12 hours a day, it means the school itself allows us to work on our own individual schedule. Tutorials, whilst very intense and always 1 on 1, are carried out by different working artists each term which means we learn a lot about our own and others working styles and methods and this is absolutely the best way I have been taught art in my entire life! They are also all organised on a 1 to 1 email basis with the tutor and the student and this continues mid-term where the tutor advises and chats to during non-work hours, which means we form friendships which helps our art work MASSIVELY. They really get to know us as people in order to advise our work to the highest level.
    Location:
    Balliol college is in the centre of town, and so has PERFECT connections to every type of shop you could need (there is even a stationary shop right opposite you as soon as you leave the front door!) the only problem is that there are HUNDREDS of tourists every day, which get in the way hugely of doing simple things in-college like going to the library, getting to the post room, going to the IT suite, eating in hall, etc.
    Accommodation:
    Whilst my college provides wonderful rooms, we are forced to move out completely (with a high charge for renting any nights over the allocated date, and some of these dates don't even include exams days!) at the end of each term which is not only problematic for international/disabled/low-income/homeless students but suggests the uni's primary interests lie in raising money from conferences etc over the students' welfare.
    Settling in:
    The collegiate system allows for settling in to be so easy and comfortable I forgot to ring my parents for two weeks! It is a very tight body of students and has a very active JCR (and JCR welcome team) meaning not only does nobody get left out but you actively want to be around all your new friends all the time!
  • Livcm's avatar by Livcm on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fab teaching
    University:
    Quite hard work
    Course:
    Because I really like it
    Location:
    Near London
    Accommodation:
    We live in houses which is great
    Settling in:
    It's easy!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    Lots of partying and lots of work is a great combination
    Course:
    Allows for both broad learning and specialisation. What's more there are so many possibilities. One on one tuition is also fantastic.
    Location:
    Near London
    Accommodation:
    Great location. Big rooms.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great- welcoming to all backgrounds (to many people's surprise)
    University:
    Lots of extra-curricular activities which really help you develop if you are willing to take control.
    Course:
    Challenging course, world leading researchers, very employable and also good for further study applications.
    Location:
    Good facilities and nice architecture.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and very good accommodation for all years of the undergraduate degree.
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult initially to settle as my home town was very different. The more time I spent at uni the easier it became.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Lots of hard work but overall worth it for a unique experience
    University:
    Excellent range of societies
    Course:
    Small group/ one on one teaching with world experts
    Location:
    Centre of city
    Accommodation:
    Guaranteed accommodation for all 3 years. Beautiful old buildings but slightly lacking in some modern conveniences.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly tutors and class mates
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent facilities; excessive workload left little time to appreciate or enjoy them
    University:
    Excellent facilities; excessive workload left little time to appreciate or enjoy them
    Course:
    Great university; course too rigid and theoretical
    Location:
    n/a
    Accommodation:
    n/a
    Settling in:
    n/a
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It justs okay
    University:
    I like it
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    I like it
    Accommodation:
    I like it
    Settling in:
    I like it
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Love it
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    In the city
    Accommodation:
    Its good
    Settling in:
    I love it
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's amazing
    University:
    High calibre
    Course:
    It's tough work wise but very rewarding
    Location:
    It's very close to london
    Accommodation:
    If you like old it's amazing but could be updated more for modern convenience
    Settling in:
    It was in my home town and I knew all lot of people
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Busy but rewarding
    Course:
    Its Oxford after all! We have our own China Centre where my classes take place.
    Location:
    Its a bit far from lessons
    Accommodation:
    Fair price and big room
    Settling in:
    Nice people
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I guess theres a reason why its considered great going to Oxbridge- you're at a uni where you're surrounded by seriously interesting people and your tutors and professors are all world class academics. It also helps that it stunning walking around.
    University:
    You're just very well provided for, there are a lot of things to do organised both by the university, the college and even just in the town thanks to the other local unis.
    Course:
    Small course where you know everyone - teachers and students included - within the first week, so all the teaching feels personalised and very intense.
    Location:
    Near enough to London (my home) that I can get there cheaply and quickly by coach, and the campus is right in the centre - its a 3 minute walk to a big sainsburys, and 5 minutes to the high street.
    Accommodation:
    My room is really big with an amazing view
    Settling in:
    Smaller course so by the time I started, through the pre-sessional portuguese course, I had already met all the portuguese students and half of the italian students, so after that meeting others in my college in freshers wasnt too bad
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome
    University:
    Lots stuff to do
    Course:
    It's amazing
    Location:
    Perfect
    Accommodation:
    It's old
    Settling in:
    It's away from town
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Quite good but would have wanted a better, more welcoming start as I was very confused as a fresher coming from a completely different background
    University:
    Good company and love the city
    Course:
    Some tutors are great, others are so-so. I feel like they could look after international students much more.
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city and all libraries rock!!!!
    Accommodation:
    Very good rooms but expensive
    Settling in:
    They should be more welcoming, especially helping international students
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic.
    University:
    Far from london
    Course:
    It's thorough and detailed. The placement is fantastic and a lot of support is given.
    Location:
    It's collegiate
    Accommodation:
    It's great but walking distance can be long.
    Settling in:
    Everything was easy and organised within the first week. A lot was outlined before the course started so we already had some expectation and preparation for the course to start.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Lots of choices for sports and societies
    Course:
    Nothing wrong at all
    Location:
    Beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Really good but expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly and we all settled in quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Decent nightlife and great student experiences
    Course:
    Great tutors and support
    Location:
    Beautiful with enough shops but still lots of places unique to it
    Accommodation:
    Expensive for what it is but still nice
    Settling in:
    Very far from home but adjusted quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love Oxford because it is so diverse but particularly because the activist scene at Oxford is so dedicated and so it is gradually becoming much less alienating and more welcoming of poor/disabled/LGBTQIA students. This activist lifestyles never diminishes and this is my main interest, and so there is a continual feeling of "accomplishing" something good whlst we are here, communally changing Oxford from the inside
    University:
    The extra curricular things to get involved with are essentially limitless, and so you always have something to go to, where you will meet new friends with similar interests. There are so many students here that after meeting new people, everything is a new opportunity
    Course:
    It has the perfect balance of freedom and guidance, and the 1 to 1 tutorials make the learning system so unique and very personalised, so you feel like you're basically being privately tutored. They really work with your needs and talents
    Location:
    The city is just big enough but not small enough to feel claustrophobic, plus the colleges are interspersed really well in the city centre so you're never too far from each other/conveniences
    Accommodation:
    Although the college housing is very pretty, and they provide many things like kitchens and bathrooms for each room - it is VERY expensive and they force you to vacate out of term time, which isn't possible for many poor/disabled/international students
    Settling in:
    The collegiate system makes it practically impossible to not make friends - they're everywhere you look, and there are so many JCR-centred events that it means you're never alone
  • by Anonymous on 29th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a difficult course, but I don't think anyone expects it to be straight forward. You get loads of opportunities simply because you can say you're studying at Oxford though which is a definite bonus.
    University:
    Loads to do - loads of opportunities for work experience, getting involved with societies, although time is very limited. The welfare provision (particularly with regard to mental health) is known to be a bit lacking, but I don't have personal experience with that.
    Course:
    Mostly enjoyable. Even if I don't understand something in lectures the tutorial system is so so helpful for making sure I know what I'm doing. There are some lecturers who are in a world of their own! But that's the same everywhere.
    Location:
    It's a city centre uni yet can have a campus feel if you want it to because of the close-knit college structure.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap in comparison to other unis I looked at (although we are only paying for 27 weeks a year which is less than most). And the buildings are lovely.
    Settling in:
    I know some people settled a lot quicker, so this was mostly down to me rather than the place.
  • by Anonymous on 26th September 2015
    Overall:
    Superb.
    University:
    Millions of shops and societies.
    Course:
    Everything is excellent except the amount of practical work (I prefer to do theoretical physics).
    Location:
    Beautiful, old city.
    Accommodation:
    Much better and cheaper than other universities.
    Settling in:
    I was waiting for what felt like an age to go to uni. It couldn't come quickly enough.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars. Can be very difficult with the workload, BUT the quality of teaching, research etc and the beautiful surroundings make up for it. I have always found a lot of support, but I would add that some people have found there to be less support and struggled with mental illness. Support does seem to vary college to college.
    University:
    Tons of beautiful libraries, fantastic welfare provision within colleges (free food, condoms, pregnancy tests, welfare reps etc). Student Union is pointless but that's because we have colleges.
    Course:
    Really good course, but a bit disorganised in the sense that lectures run as random series throughout the year so you might be doing tutorials on land law but not have land law lectures until the next term, or vice versa. Good tutorials and tutors though.
    Location:
    Perfect - my college is as central as you could get, and the law faculty is only a 10 minute walk away.
    Accommodation:
    4 stars because it's lovely that I've been able to live in college for 2 years and in college accommodation a 5 min walk away for 1 year, but expensive.
    Settling in:
    The nature of Oxford colleges is that you're immediately in a tight knit community, so you settle in quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I love it. If you're academically gifted this is just a very nice place to be. You can really figure out who you are.
    University:
    I'm not too outgoing but the services on offer are just excellent!
    Course:
    It's nice overall, but I would have liked a bit more pure maths and more difficult pure maths problem sheets.
    Location:
    Oxford's a great city. Lots going on but not too crazy.
    Accommodation:
    I get very good and affordable housing provided by my college.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take me very long at all, considering I was moving from halfway round the world!
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent - a lot of hard work with long hours in the library, but a hugely rewarding and exciting experience.
    University:
    Good nightlife, loads of societies, sports, clubs, events etc. (often well funded too)
    Course:
    The teaching was excellent and the course was well structured with varied and interesting content which linked well to the department's specialisms. There was a large element of coursework and high standards were expected for this; I favour the higher coursework content of this course. There needed to be a larger element of physical geography and taught skills, plus more fieldwork.
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city with lots going on. It's not too big, meaning transport is never an issue. It has a huge range of shops, cafes and pubs to keep you entertained outside of work.
    Accommodation:
    I was fortunate enough to live in Oxford college (Keble) accommodation for all three years: rents were reasonable and rooms were large, well equipped, well-maintained and all within the college grounds.
    Settling in:
    The college system at Oxford facilitates close friendships that develop quickly. In addition, we got to know our course tutors very well, right from the beginning.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Expect to work hard but the rewards outweigh the negatives
    University:
    Work load is high so can be stressful
    Course:
    Very high workload and little contact time but the time with tutors is very valuable.
    Location:
    It's Oxford! It's beautiful!
    Accommodation:
    Wonderful city and accommodation when living in college
    Settling in:
    College life is very inclusive
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    Once I got into it, was a lot to do
    Course:
    Some lectures were just reading off a set of notes
    Location:
    Very pretty town
    Accommodation:
    Nice to have a pool table in college accommodation!
    Settling in:
    I went to state school, took a while to adjust
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely amazing. I'd seriously recommend it to anyone who achieves the required grades
    University:
    Large variety of societies, I really enjoy the opportunities I've had for drama and sport.
    Course:
    Fantastic teaching, thoroughly enjoy my time. Busy timetable, but I still have free time.
    Location:
    Beautiful Campus, Oxford is a buzzing city
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation Costs are subsidised, very spacious with an en-suite. Food is great, and the city centre is 5 mins walk, with Tesco and Sainsbury close by
    Settling in:
    Everyone was extremely welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    My experience so far has been fantastic, although I don't really have anything to compare it to! I am constantly learning new material, hanging out with other really smart people, and talking to world-leading experts about my subject. Yes, it is very intense, but personally I enjoy that little bit of stress (and we do have lots of vacation time to compensate).
    University:
    I don't really engage with nightlife or sports, so my rating doesn't apply to that. Otherwise, libraries are fantastic (I haven't had to buy a single book), all the shops are 5 minutes away, and there is a society for whatever you may be interested in.
    Course:
    The timetable manages to give a good amount of lectures while still leaving plenty of time to manage as you wish, modules cover a lot of content but do make you feel up to date and prepared, the tutorial system is absolutely fantastic in terms of feedback on work and clearing up any issues I may have, and lectures are generally good.
    Location:
    The university is really part of the city, in 5 minutes you are at Tesco or at the rail station, and everything you could really want is just a short walk away.
    Accommodation:
    I had an ensuite room in first year, and will have one in second year too, and likely third year too - what more can I ask for!
    Settling in:
    It did take me a while to get used to a new country, but thankfully Oxford is full of little quirks so everybody was sort of lost, and also Fresher's week is slightly shorter which meant lectures started sooner and that was much better for me in terms of finally settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Seriously mixed experience. I loved the people I met, my tutors, and the city. I hated the institutional culture and self-importance and I didn't enjoy the course.
    University:
    Uni life at Oxford is a real mixed bag: there are loads of things to do and the libraries are world class, but for me, the culture was so overwhelmingly Oxfordy (expensive, self-indulgent and opulent) that I was put off engaging in a lot of the activities on offer.
    Course:
    This is a very intensive course and you have very little choice about what to study in the first two years, and then the final year is just solidly packed with work (irrationally, because some of it could have been moved to the second year). If you're lucky and get good tutors you'll be fine, but if you don't, you really are stuck, because almost all the teaching is done by the same handful of tutors at each college.
    Location:
    Oxford is a gorgeous city, no doubt, and the whole city is the campus.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was picturesque and high quality, though quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to settle in because I really didn't like my college and I had to actively search for things to do which I would enjoy. The culture was totally alien to me (ballgowns and champagne receptions are not my idea of a good time) and so I had to find a counter-culture which actively resisted the general feel of Oxford to really settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    better than the damn tabs
    University:
    formals, clubs, balls.
    Course:
    It's perfect / I love it
    Location:
    It essentially is the city.
    Accommodation:
    Nice building, prime location.
    Settling in:
    settled in quickly
  • by Anonymous on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect for independent learners who are self-motivated but who appreciate being asked probing questions which push them and point them in the right direction.
    University:
    Everything you need is there and there is as much social life as you are willing to go out and have.
    Course:
    A lot of responsibility is placed upon you but this works for me. The freedom to attend as many lectures as I want is something I like, while the occasional compulsary class keeps pushing me academically.
    Location:
    The town is lovely. Classes were all central.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was provided for all years of my degree at the perfect location. Library and dining on site. I think the price was competitive for what you get.
    Settling in:
    This is no reflection on the university rather upon myself. I was intimidated and overwhelmed and found it difficult to focus throughout my degree.
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome.
    University:
    Great variey of activities.
    Course:
    Really good tutors
    Location:
    Graphic city.
    Accommodation:
    Overall good
    Settling in:
    People at uni helped me.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    couple of decent shopping centres, massive libraries, a reasonable gym (some colleges have gyms too), excellent welfare provision with student reps and nurses etc in every college. excellent range of clubs and societies available
    Course:
    It's perfect / I love it
    Location:
    Beautiful city, historic buildings, open parks, river etc. lots of sights. also good nightclubs/pubs etc
    Accommodation:
    Beautiful room, well furnished, cheap rent. Food was amazing and cheap. Nice bars in colleges. Good common room areas. Centre of town so easily accessible.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home as soon as I walked in! Lovely atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent. Very challenging but worthwhile.
    University:
    Everything you could want really. Nothing missing or too far away
    Course:
    It's an interesting course but sometimes feels less about medicine and more about biomedical science
    Location:
    V central and a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable and very central. Good price too. Not the best though
    Settling in:
    Happened very quickly. Was never homesick
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    The gym and pool are really close and easy to use
    Course:
    It is an excellent course, my tutors are wonderful and dedicated though not all the lecturers are easily understood and the laboratory sessions are incredibly boring.
    Location:
    Oxford is a wonderful city.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I was living in last year was perfect. Enough showers and kitchens for everyone. The food served in hall was lovely.
    Settling in:
    The people were really friendly and I made plenty of friends straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Academically amazing and people from all backgrounds.
    University:
    Perfect work life balance. Wonderful opportunities and people
    Course:
    Great lectures and small class teaching. Would love more patient contact.
    Location:
    The city is great and I was right in the centre.
    Accommodation:
    Uni accommodation was clean, spacious with cleaners.
    Settling in:
    Didn't miss home at all. Loved the environment
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Enjoyable but challenging, lots of opportunities now and in the future and the people are very nice and interesting. Many want to enjoy themselves but you will find intelligent conversation (often alcohol induced) if you look.
    University:
    There is a wide range of activities. Oxford dipoles not have a particularly good provision for students but any activity you want is available somewhere if you look. All the amenities of a small city are here. The student union is pretty poor though and nightlife is not great but still fun plus college events are usually well done.
    Course:
    There is a good variety in the topics covered although a lack of choice. The course is challenging but the teaching quality is good and extensive. The amount of teaching and lectures feels like good value. Laboratory sessions are varied but would suit a more relaxed course. The 8 week term is unnecessarily stressful and forces hard work rather than motivating. But it is clearly a successful course for intelligent students.
    Location:
    Good city, wish I had more time to enjoy it during term. Everything nearby.
    Accommodation:
    Due to staying in college housing with the shorter terms and no expenses at home, it is affordable for a good location.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is in a similar boat. Don't get overwhelmed by the number of people due to the more intimate college environment with college "families" etc
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, Oxford has been a fantastic experience. Challenging but also always engaging and stretching, with chances to do things you won't get at most universities, it is a really unique experience.
    University:
    It's very intense - there's a lot of work. However, there are also many opportunities for you to get involved and develop new skills. Welfare provision could improve with respect to mental health.
    Course:
    Tackling the really big and engaging issues, plus an incredible amount of flexibility in option choice.
    Location:
    Amazingly beautiful and picturesque. It has a lot of character, and lots of lovely independent cafǸs and eating places.
    Accommodation:
    Subsidised by my College, so relatively affordable. Location is great, very central.
    Settling in:
    The Collegiate system helps a lot in making you feel at home, because it's a smaller and more intimate community. However, at the same time, Oxford has a lot of weird traditions.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Fast-paced and hard work - if you work at it, whilst at times it will feel a bit much you will come to relish the challenge. It is what university is all about and it certainly feels like a 'universal' learning experience.
    University:
    Services are top notch and convenient. Problems are addressed quickly.
    Course:
    I love the course content and the one on one tutorials.
    Location:
    Oxford is beautiful and London is only a couple of hours by train. Birmingham airport is also reasonably close. The only problem with Oxford is that the town comes to feel very small very quickly.
    Accommodation:
    I live in the college and thus could not be more conveniently placed. Rent is reasonable, but this is relative to the price of private rental.
    Settling in:
    The pace of life is so quick and the workload so large that you are thrown into college and university life. It takes very little time for other students to become your comrades in the constant battle to stay on top of your work - fortunately it is an enjoyable battle.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Mostly academic atmosphere, but some extra curricular stuff
    Course:
    High paced learning, lots of labs
    Location:
    Love the city, Central location of uni
    Accommodation:
    Big room, quite cheap, close to college
    Settling in:
    Moved away, it was difficult at first
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    5*, undoubtedly. Oxford is amazing.
    University:
    Loved the societies I joined, great library provision, the kind of night life I like...
    Course:
    It allowed me to explore so many subjects that interested me, and I loved the tutorial system.
    Location:
    Easy to get to lots of places by car and train!
    Accommodation:
    It would have been nice to be able to live in university accommodation my whole degree, not just part of it.
    Settling in:
    I joined lots of student societies and made friends fast.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE