Member reviews of University of Oxford

  • zxcnbv's avatar by zxcnbv on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Oxford has a really great social environment and it's a good place to meet people from all over the world who share your interests. The amount and the quality of teaching is also really good.
    University:
    The college environment is really friendly and there's a lot you can do within college, like go to the common room, gym, bar or cafe. The college library is really good and it has most to the books you need.
    Course:
    Although the course is quite intense, it's definitely manageable and I'm really enjoying it. We have a lot of contact hours, including lectures, tutorials, practicals, prosection, seminars and statistics classes.
    Location:
    The colleges are mostly located near city centre and the teaching facilities. There is also a train station and lots of bus stops.
    Accommodation:
    This will vary between colleges, but my experience is that the rooms are quite spacious and are either ensuite or you will share with one other person.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was a really good time to meet people and I met my closest friends then, however I felt that after freshers week it was a lot harder to meet new people.
  • mariakoniarz's avatar by mariakoniarz on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    10/10 :)
    University:
    Awesome!
    Course:
    All of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way. My contact hours are quite small in comparison to some of my friends but I don't mind that because I like to study independently in the library.
    Location:
    No airports nearby
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great!
    Settling in:
    Very quickly, I wasn't homesick at all thanks to the amazing atmosphere at the university.
  • diafrasakho's avatar by diafrasakho on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Apply. You will not regret it.
    University:
    Social side of all clubs is a definite highlight. There is such a range of activities and locations that uni life is anything you make it.
    Course:
    The course is wide ranging, engaging and well delivered. You can expect plenty or hands on teaching, with contact hours in your first year approaching 30 hours a week. This means it is tough and can get on top of you if you're not organised.
    Location:
    City centre, walking distance from everything you need, can't beat that
    Accommodation:
    Varies from college to college, but at my college you are guaranteed accommodation on site for all years of your course. This accommodation is always very good.
    Settling in:
    The arranged events help you settle in almost immediately, and the social side of all clubs and societies means you can find people with similar interests with ease
  • Jo-ash's avatar by Jo-ash on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Love Oxford but not for the lazy as there is a lot of work to do. Super intense short terms of lots of work and then long holidays are not for everyone
    University:
    So much to do and not enough time for it all, so many amazing extra curricular opportunities
    Course:
    2 to 1 Tutorials at Oxford gives help and advice beyond nearly all other Unis
    Location:
    Nice and close to home. Well placed in the city
    Accommodation:
    Amazing location in centre of Oxford and close to everywhere I need to get. Unfortunately only 1 shower on my floor between 10. Can go to showers on other floors tho.
    Settling in:
    Super friendly atmosphere at St Peter's college
  • quinq's avatar by quinq on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Oxford is really what you make of it. If you want to spend all your time with posh, privileged white people, you can, but you can also avoid these people with ease. Generally, your experience is defined by your college choice and your choice of friends.
    University:
    There's more libraries in Oxford than anyone could possibly need, and the student scene is bustling with societies, sport, and so forth. The only real downside is the workload!
    Course:
    The course overall is somewhat good, the only issue I really have is that the language teaching is simply too brief for ab initio learners.
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city with everything you might want, and London is just an hour away on the train or 1 hour 40 minutes on the Oxford Tube, which runs 24/7, 365.
    Accommodation:
    This is an inappropriate question for Oxford; every college is different, and there are more than 30 colleges which manage their own accommodation for their own students.
    Settling in:
    I've moved around most of my life and am pretty good at quickly getting to know people. This is more of a personal thing than anything to do with the university.
  • jbrandagamba's avatar by jbrandagamba on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    Oxford is a brilliant university to go to, if you're up to it. The city is amazing, the tutors are at the top of their game, and it's just the best place to develop an interest to the max.
    University:
    There is a good range of things to do. The libraries are great; I can't really rate much else as I don't participate in much.
    Course:
    So far the material covered has been comprehensive, even if some of the lectures were a little less than helpful for the first year course.
    Location:
    Oxford's a great city, it's beautiful, the museums are all free and most colleges are centrally located. The only issue is the tourists: they swarm like wasps in summer.
    Accommodation:
    Living in college in the first year was amazing! I was in one of the older colleges and I had an extraordinary view over the quad.
    Settling in:
    I am not a particularly sociable person. I have settled into the course but am finding the other parts harder.
  • randombiochemist's avatar by randombiochemist on 14th April 2018
    Overall:
    11/10 would recommend.
    University:
    All good. There being only 24 h a day is the only limit really..
    Course:
    Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Top quality.
    Location:
    Magical, very picturesque. The 'City of Dreaming Spires' after all. Just the right size, with basically everywhere important being within walking distance. And London is a mere 1.5 h couch journey away, for day/weekend trips.
    Accommodation:
    Was provided college accommodation for all four years. No complaints.
    Settling in:
    To 'feel at home' implies a level of being..relaxed. Whilst I wouldn't necessarily associate that state of mind with being at Oxford (ever), freshers' week was well organised - events all good fun - and I remember being set an essay on the first day I arrived, so it was immediately a balance of science and social life from there.
  • rainbowsandtea's avatar by rainbowsandtea on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I rate my university experience very highly. The course is very rewarding, I've had plenty of opportunities to get involved with extracurricular activities and I've made some lifelong friends. I highly recommend Oxford University to anyone who might be considering applying.
    University:
    Uni is what you make of it. Studying a degree in Oxford IS hard work, but providing you give yourself time outside of studying there are plenty of student societies to get involved in! Welfare provision is great; we have two welfare reps in college who have arranged teas, yoga classes and even a weekly visit from the welfare puppy!
    Course:
    Very interesting and varied. It combines elements of Latin language, literature, philosophy (ancient and modern), archaeology and history. The one on one tutorial system is fabulous and I have nothing but good things to say about the course. It is intense and it is hard work - but it is worth it!
    Location:
    My college is right in the centre of Oxford; It's only a five minute walk to the Classics faculty and library which is ideal. Close to all of the shops and restaurants too!
    Accommodation:
    The college accommodation had limited kitchen facilities and, being an old building with single glazing in the centre of town, it could be quite loud. More effort is being made to provide accessible accommodation however. There is also the option to live out of college if one chooses.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was great; everyone was so friendly and approachable and the college really made us feel like we were a part of a big family.
  • MinhQuang's avatar by MinhQuang on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    You should really look at the college you chose, the course you chose and the people youa re going to spend time with. Nothing is what it seems, even though most things lived up to the expectations.
    University:
    A good balance between socialising and studying
    Course:
    - Timetable is flexible. - Course structure is rigid, exactly what was shown on the prospectus - Content and quality varies, especially when it depends on who teaching you (professors or PHD students) - Lectures are not very effective, but the tutor sessions work well.
    Location:
    I simply don't enjoy Oxford
    Accommodation:
    Really expensive, but great experience overall
    Settling in:
    - Challenging - Lack hospitality - Great facilities for sports - good induction
  • CreamyRoss's avatar by CreamyRoss on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, look forward to the rest of my course.
    University:
    Very good but not always enough time to try them.
    Course:
    It's much more engaging than school was.
    Location:
    I'd like a bigger city, but it's still large enough.
    Accommodation:
    I have a huge room in a great staircase.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home immediately
  • Dassah's avatar by Dassah on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really welcoming, diverse place
    University:
    A large variety of societies
    Course:
    Really good modules
    Location:
    Oxford is a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Spacious but way too noisy at night
    Settling in:
    Already feels like I've been here for ages
  • Peachy800's avatar by Peachy800 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's one of the best universities in the world and the city is beautiful in itself.
    University:
    So many different clubs to choose from, with a particular emphasis on a variety of nights in Freshers' Week.
    Course:
    The tutorial system is wonderful. The rating would have been five if there weren't recent structural changes to the course itself that let it down.
    Location:
    Beautiful city, iconic!
    Accommodation:
    Really high standard of accommodation but a little pricey.
    Settling in:
    There is a great student community at Oxford which is very welcoming.
  • Alij888's avatar by Alij888 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good - 5 star
    University:
    Because there are so many good societies
    Course:
    It's very traditional biology
    Location:
    It's really close to everywhere
    Accommodation:
    It's very nice, well cleaned, catered
    Settling in:
    Because I did
  • Zahrsidi's avatar by Zahrsidi on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    A 5 star rate
    University:
    Really fun and good experience
    Course:
    It was perfect I really enjoyed doing it
    Location:
    Good location not far away
    Accommodation:
    Good rooms and hospitality
    Settling in:
    Really quickly was like home
  • Ok's avatar by Ok on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Yes..It may help it
    University:
    Ok
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    Very good
    Accommodation:
    Good location
    Settling in:
    Ok type
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    Lots of partying and lots of work is a great combination
    Course:
    Allows for both broad learning and specialisation. What's more there are so many possibilities. One on one tuition is also fantastic.
    Location:
    Near London
    Accommodation:
    Great location. Big rooms.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great- welcoming to all backgrounds (to many people's surprise)
    University:
    Lots of extra-curricular activities which really help you develop if you are willing to take control.
    Course:
    Challenging course, world leading researchers, very employable and also good for further study applications.
    Location:
    Good facilities and nice architecture.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and very good accommodation for all years of the undergraduate degree.
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult initially to settle as my home town was very different. The more time I spent at uni the easier it became.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Lots of hard work but overall worth it for a unique experience
    University:
    Excellent range of societies
    Course:
    Small group/ one on one teaching with world experts
    Location:
    Centre of city
    Accommodation:
    Guaranteed accommodation for all 3 years. Beautiful old buildings but slightly lacking in some modern conveniences.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly tutors and class mates
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent facilities; excessive workload left little time to appreciate or enjoy them
    University:
    Excellent facilities; excessive workload left little time to appreciate or enjoy them
    Course:
    Great university; course too rigid and theoretical
    Location:
    n/a
    Accommodation:
    n/a
    Settling in:
    n/a
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It justs okay
    University:
    I like it
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    I like it
    Accommodation:
    I like it
    Settling in:
    I like it
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE