Member reviews of University of Plymouth

  • shenry95's avatar by shenry95 on 25th July 2019
    Overall:
    I moved to Plymouth in a sad state, missing my family and home in Ireland and initial look of the city wasn’t great because it is quite small. However throughout the years in biomedical and dentistry I have grown to love it and as soon as I go home no I do miss it. I love the outdoorsy lifestyle when it’s sunny and the people , especially students are so friendly and welcoming
    University:
    I love uni life and have a balance of everything from sports to going out in the evening - as well as being close enough to nature
    Course:
    Course structure is spiralled so you learn by many different methods and are continuously building on that knowledge Teaching and feedback are generally thorough
    Location:
    Perfect location - close to town and next to bus station/train station etc
    Accommodation:
    Uni accommodation can vary.the accommodation close to campus is handy but not as great facilities. The accommodation further away has much better facilities but is a 20 min walk into campus
    Settling in:
    It was easy enough to settle in because I joined a sports club early on. Without that I might have felt quite isolated
  • simam123's avatar by simam123 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    So far so good
    University:
    Campus daytime
    Course:
    Love the course
    Location:
    Around city centre
    Accommodation:
    lOVE FLAT MATES
    Settling in:
    Met amazing friends and loving teh course
  • alicekitty789's avatar by alicekitty789 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Centrally located uni, wide variety of societies, very good facilities and good but overpriced accommodation.
    University:
    Generally a fun time.
    Course:
    the course is fun however these first two modules are similar to activites I have done on art courses in my pre degree education. The first year tutor is nice but seems are bit confused as to what they are doing sometimes.
    Location:
    Very central location, everything is all in the same place, no bus trips needed.
    Accommodation:
    Completely overpriced just because it’s close to the uni. The rooms are big and the facilities/furnishings however nowhere near as nice as others accommodations I have that are way cheaper just because they’re a little bit further away from the uni.
    Settling in:
    Settled in far wuicker than I thought I would, I give credit to my lovely flatmates for this and also me having some bearings of the city already.
  • ellie08's avatar by ellie08 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Full of friendly staff who want to help you learn.
    University:
    Good but I don't get involved much
    Course:
    I think the tutors are really willing to help and provide informative sessions. The time tantais more full than some courses but still lots of free time
    Location:
    By the sea for sailing , in the centre of town for transport
    Accommodation:
    NA but I have heard positive feedback
    Settling in:
    Really friendly staff and students
  • Leahhocking's avatar by Leahhocking on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Plymouth university is very welcoming and accommodating. There’s a huge range of courses to choose from that should cater to everybody.
    University:
    Uni life is hard. As you need to find a balance in what works well for you. I cannot fault the services provided by the university as the facilities such as the library, gyms and Student union have a lot to offer and are kept efficiently.
    Course:
    Overall I would say the course is very interesting. The staff provide us with a large amount of useful information which we are able to use in our assignments etc.
    Location:
    The university campus is In the city centre and most of the buildings are near enough in the same area so traveling is not necessary. Cannot be faulted.
    Accommodation:
    Student accommodation has mixed reviews. The positives are the location as it is very close to the uni as well as the city centre. Considering I have an en-suite I do think it is good quality.
    Settling in:
    You do settle into university very quickly. The induction week allows you to meet your course mates as well as getting to know your flat mates and other people in the area.
  • cliopatra's avatar by cliopatra on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Plymouth university is amazing. The lecturer are so supportive. The clubs sports and societies are really active. Great shops and close to the sea
    University:
    Plymouth is an amazing place!! It has amazing sports facilities, I do kickboxing and tennis and am a member of pure gym! I love the library!!
    Course:
    Timetable is given well in August for the entire year. Course is well structured and teachers are mostly really helpful and will go out of their way to help
    Location:
    Perfect !! Beside the sea !! Although quite a distance from Bristol airport and Exeter flights are a little more expensive but if you watch them you can get a good deal sometimes
    Accommodation:
    I stayed into Astor house - pretty luxurious for student accomodation. It was a 10 minute walk from uni but worth it to live beside the seafront. There are a lots of accommodation closer to and on campus.
    Settling in:
    I found it hard to settle in as I moved from Northern Ireland to England (and I was surprised by a lot of cultural differences!
  • Mel2903's avatar by Mel2903 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Really happy so far with my uni experience. If the accomodation on site had been better I would be giving it 5 stars. I like the fact everything is close by or on campus. Plenty of opportunities for jobs and sports.
    University:
    Library is really great always being open, especially if your a night out. Plenty of opportunities for sport. Haven't used the welfare provisions but have had lots of information about them. Student union is really good, always organizing events.
    Course:
    Time table is very confusing, was overwhelming at first. Lecturers seem really nice and helpful though, they are willing to give up their own time to help.
    Location:
    Really close to town, lots of shops and convince stores, as well as a supermarket. Lots of opportunities for shopping or activities.
    Accommodation:
    Really disappointed with my accomodation. Paying the most or one of the most expensive on campus, when we moved in it was dirty, it hadn't been cleaned over summer, and appliances such as the fridges didn't work.
    Settling in:
    There is lots of clubs and opportunities for students. Including travelling. The student union is really great organizing nights out.
  • NicoleMorrison18's avatar by NicoleMorrison18 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s a really nice uni in a decent setting, everything you need is there and the support is fantastic.
    University:
    All the opportunities are there for you to explore.
    Course:
    Definitely a very good course, has given me all the support and content that I’ve needed to do well. Equipment is a little outdated, funding is being used to replace this as we speak, so cannot complain at all. Not a lot more you could ask for!
    Location:
    Ideal for me as a commuter as I don’t have to travel to the city centre, we are based on the outskirts and avoid most of the traffic.
    Accommodation:
    I’m not in accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It was just like being at school, nothing more to say!
  • Tayladpope's avatar by Tayladpope on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Love it!
    University:
    Always lots going on both day at night.
    Course:
    Lecturers are incredibly helpful, lovely community and really sets up students for a future in the industry.
    Location:
    Scenic location with everything you need in your doorstep.
    Accommodation:
    Mix of all budget accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home within a couple of weeks of moving to uni.
  • Alicecarn's avatar by Alicecarn on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It is a god university which offers all the things that make living in Plymouth good
    University:
    There are a lots of shops with a shopping centre next to it. There is a good library but not much sport and fitness
    Course:
    Everything so far has been what I thought it would be and the teaching is good
    Location:
    It is in the town centre and it is a campus so the uni buildings are right next to each other
    Accommodation:
    It is right in the middle of the town with affordable shops bearby
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite well to uni
  • leelee7237's avatar by leelee7237 on 6th July 2018
    Overall:
    Great place to study, definitely an up and coming uni.
    University:
    Lots of clubs and places to drink, the student union has lots of events and is great. Lots of cheap gyms and the university gym is great for the price.
    Course:
    The course detailing on the university website matches perfectly what we were taught in lectures and practicals. It was well structured throughout the year, however in the summer term lectures continued late into the term finishing only 2 weeks before the exams. Feedback seems to be better than what I have heard from other universities, although still a bit poor.
    Location:
    I personally love the city, many others aren't so set on its location, but its loud and has lots of people and is close to town.
    Accommodation:
    Cannot answer as I live in private accommodation which is neither student or university provided.
    Settling in:
    It is a big city with lots to do and many people to meet, so it is easy to find people you will get along with.
  • alltimechl0's avatar by alltimechl0 on 20th June 2017
    Overall:
    Absolutely loving it
    University:
    Fab daytime and nighttime drinking. great sports and societies - lots of variety. close to shops - both clothing and food
    Course:
    Loved the course structure. The quality of the teaching and lectures were great however I personally would have loved some more contact time on my timetable
    Location:
    The campus is in the middle of the city so you never need to take public transport. Close proximity to the sea and the moors. 4 stars because Plymouth is a little out of the way to the rest of the country.
    Accommodation:
    Its so easy to find affordable and good standard housing which is less than 15 minutes walk to campus. Easy to find accommodation at any time of the year if circumstances change.
    Settling in:
    Absolutely loving university! Settled into the course and area well and found an amazing job as bar staff at the Students' Union. So sad to be graduating next year.
  • Beckysheasby293's avatar by Beckysheasby293 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I feel that this university is a good one if you are looking for a nice, quiet area and a good structure of your course (and good nightlife) but it can be difficult to meet new people and you should be prepared.
    University:
    The SU is well equipped with a costa, a bar, food stores etc. so there is something for you to do all day long. The library is large and you will always find what you need - but the printers don't always work properly. The gym is full of really good classes and equipment. There is not much for shopping within the university as the SU shop is rather expensive, but you are close to the town centre. Clubs and societies are all welcoming and there is something for everyone. Finally, if you need help with anything there is always someone available, but there is a long waiting list for mental health help and the university doctors' surgery.
    Course:
    The tutors are amazingly helpful and the course is structured well. The modules are interesting and you get the chance to take part in a mixture of group and independent work. However, the timetable is inconsistent, and lecturers often just read off their powerpoint - making it feel pointless going in. Finally, some lecturers do teach in a way that is useful to all learning styles, but most do not.
    Location:
    The campus is in the city centre, we have the hoe - which is gorgeous, we are an ocean city and you can easily walk from the university to all of the nice places. Our nightlife is quite good as you could be out all night with the number of clubs open late. There are lots of coffee and food shops close to the university, too. Finally, it is central to most of the Plymouth bus stops and close to the train station.
    Accommodation:
    I have heard the accommodation is nice, and I am aware it is located close to the university. However, many others have told me it is extremely expensive. I can't give an opinion on this because I live at home.
    Settling in:
    I had a long running issue where I felt that I was very ostracised and that I couldn't and wouldn't make friends. I don't think the university provided any support for this and it ended up taking me until around November to make a proper group of friends.
  • Asimak14's avatar by Asimak14 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Enjoyy
    University:
    Because it is enjoyable however too many people drink.
    Course:
    We as optometry students have to travel futher to get to our study place
    Location:
    Beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    Because it's good but I could find cheaper options for the same quality
    Settling in:
    Because it took me two weeks to settle in
  • alltimechl0's avatar by alltimechl0 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Having only been at university for two weeks, I have loved every minute if the time that I have been here. The campus is amazing and every building is within a 5 minute walk making it easy to get to lectures etc on time. Everyone is really welcoming, which can make it a lot easier if you're moving away from home.
    University:
    There is a huge range of sports and societies available to students, the SU has recently been refurbished as is a great place to go both during the day and night. The library is huge and has plenty of facilities to cater for all the students on campus.
    Course:
    I would like some more contact time as a personal preference, but apart from that I cannot fault the course. So far I have throughly enjoyed it.
    Location:
    I love that the university is in the heart of the city, this makes it so much easier to get around without having to use public transport which keeps the cost of living down.
    Accommodation:
    The quality and location of the university accommodation is great, however, the price is a little on the high side and the internet connect via wifi is terrible.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take me too long to feel at home, although I still have moment where I fell homesick
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is small and interactive but it takes planning for finding accommodation
    University:
    The university doesn't do much for university life but the students within my group and the ones I live with keep it fun and enjoyable
    Course:
    Only just started so I'm waiting till I settle before it gets better
    Location:
    It's right next to Newquay zoo which is brilliant for practical lessons
    Accommodation:
    I'm in a dated b and b that accommodates students during the term time. It's close to the uni and amenities tho.
    Settling in:
    I still don't feel at home but I'm getting there slowly as I get into a regular routine
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent - great uni in a brill location. Love the atmosphere on campus and everything that uni life brings.
    University:
    A great variety of things to do and fantastic being right next to the sea. The uni fitness centre could do with an expansion but fortunately there are many other brilliantly equipped gyms near by. Masses of clubs and societies to keep you busy too.
    Course:
    Very well structured. Great student support. Fantastic facilities.
    Location:
    Really central, everything you need is within a short walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    Slight variation between the standard of the different halls and also quite expensive. I was in Radnor and thought the price per week was too high compared to private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    My course society was great at getting everyone together and making us feel settled.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, so good.
    University:
    Campus offers a wide range of activities, Plymouth not so much.
    Course:
    My contact hours are far better than most of the universities I visited, and the environment is friendly.
    Location:
    Campus is in an amazing location, the centre of town, but could be more happening in Plymouth.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    Joined late, but still felt welcome.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    good people
    University:
    alot of services offered
    Course:
    good education and teachers
    Location:
    not in a good location
    Accommodation:
    It was really expensive
    Settling in:
    It did not take long to settle
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is the heart of the city and a lot of Plymouth's growth is duty to student life, there are shops and clubs catering for students which are no more then a 5 minutes walk from the university halls of residence, as well as that there are student offers everywhere.
    University:
    There are a lot of societies which I was able to join, even if for a taster session, as well as that there are student deals in almost every bar/club/pub.
    Course:
    I have high level tutors and lectures giving me broad and in depth information for my course
    Location:
    The university is in the heart of the city and is 5 minutes from all the main areas of the city
    Accommodation:
    My student house has been given an A grade by Plymouth university student union
    Settling in:
    There has been support available from lectures and course tutors as well as their student union
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE