Member reviews of University of Salford

  • blckggl's avatar by blckggl on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    This is a great uni in a great area. The staff and students are friendly and welcoming. This uni is especially good for those wanting to study media/film as it is so close to the BBC and ITV studios which is really cool!
    University:
    There are a few clubs/societies but not as many as other unis I looked into. The library is very good. The student union is great if sometimes a little small.
    Course:
    The course is very interesting so far. My lecturers all seem very friendly and approachable. The only problem I have has been getting classes related to how to write a University level essay, which I think would be useful.
    Location:
    Although it is not in the centre of Manchester, it would only be a 40 minute walk into the centre or 10 minutes on the train. I really enjoy being close to Manchester without being right in the centre.
    Accommodation:
    I live in John Lester, it is very simple and not that modern however it's really close to the shops and the bus stop. It is the cheaper option and it is definitely affordable.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly, my flatmates are friendly and we get on well. Everyone I have met (staff and students) has been welcoming and friendly.
  • Jester Jules's avatar by Jester Jules on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very good and I'd highly recommend
    University:
    Stressful but worth while. Made some truly amazing friends
    Course:
    Some really good tutiors with some very nice equipment. However, workload is inconsistent, sometimes too much, sometimed too little.
    Location:
    Very close to Manchester
    Accommodation:
    Decent, does the job
    Settling in:
    I was lucky to be put in a flat with people not only on my course but in my tuitor group
  • Ascension.INC's avatar by Ascension.INC on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very good University. Especially if your are interested in Media studies. I am from the Env and life sciences school.
    University:
    So far seems very good. Just need to start orgamising myself better.
    Course:
    This University is very good, The module is always mostly delivered on time. Lectures/ seminars, support and facilities are great. Tutors are very knowledgeable on their subject area.
    Location:
    Location is good however is quite far.
    Accommodation:
    They seem good but I commute
    Settling in:
    It is a very approachable University.
  • Ibrahim_'s avatar by Ibrahim_ on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    A very nice university, easy to get to for commuters, not very busy, modern
    University:
    It's very relaxed but you have to work hard and do regular revision by yourself to keep up to date
    Course:
    Enjoy learning the various aspects of Engineering
    Location:
    Directly next to train station which is perfect but no places to eat nearby
    Accommodation:
    The student accommodation is modern and stylish for students and is very close to the campus
    Settling in:
    Everyone makes you feel welcome and everything is nearby
  • becca52's avatar by becca52 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It's a good but can be basic uni. The media side of the uni is very well equip, less so on the science side.
    University:
    Great facilities available however societies can be over priced
    Course:
    Lot more biochemistry than anticipated and no video lectures available so if you miss some information then you may miss a mark in the exam
    Location:
    Only a 40 min walk from manchester center which is great for nights out and shopping. Also near lots of food shops, general handy shops and take aways
    Accommodation:
    Eddie Coleman student was cheapest hall, some minor issues but not as many as when we moved in to a private rented accommodation
    Settling in:
    Halls made you feel welcome and you get to go on a short residential trip which helps you make friends
  • alkaseltzer's avatar by alkaseltzer on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would personally excellently. Speaking for myself, I have had an excellent experience here so far, and hopefully will continue to. The university is great, offers many societies, clubs and most importantly, support.
    University:
    There is so much support available from the student union. There are so many sports and societies to join.
    Course:
    The timetable is really reasonable. The course structure is really good. The teaching is excellent. Staff are always there to help. Feedback is always available. The lectures and seminars are great.
    Location:
    The uni's in a really good location. The campuses aren't too far away from each other and there is free transport offered between the main one and another. It's also so close to the city centre which is excellent.
    Accommodation:
    The uni accommodation is really great, the quality is high. The location is also really good, like right on the main campus, right next to the student union as well.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite well. There was a bit less support for starting back at uni this year though.
  • EJ156's avatar by EJ156 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The course is amazing with excellent facilities and excellent teaching. However if you do not drink alcohol or don’t like going out to bars and clubs, you can sometimes feel like an outsider.
    University:
    Plenty of study spaces and computers. There are also plenty of places to get food and drinks.
    Course:
    Wide range of topics although there are sometimes topics that are repeated between modules and years. Generally good quality teaching and lectures. Lots of different trips and ways of teaching e.g. labs, work outside, lecture etc.
    Location:
    Extremely close to Manchester City centre and has a train station at the centre of the university.
    Accommodation:
    Never lived in or visited the accommodation so cannot comment.
    Settling in:
    Still not ‘settled in’ in regards to fitting into my class and I’m in second year. However in regards to finding my way round and settling in to doing work, I settled in within the first couple of weeks.
  • zxxlck's avatar by zxxlck on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have no complaints at all, everyone is welcoming, accommodation is clean and accessible. Lectures are welcoming.
    University:
    Campus can be very loud, but that is hard to change without the help of security. Lots of clubs being offered, and invited to. Library is welcoming, and doesn't feel intimidating at all,
    Course:
    Timetable is really effective and simple, the module content is really simple to understand what I need to do, and how I can improve. Teaching is really good with hands on teachers and approachable lectures.
    Location:
    5 minutes from the train station, which is two stops from the city center. Free bus to the local shopping center and fast food. Can't complain about anything.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Lots of activities and opportunities to meet new people
    Settling in:
    I felt welcomed from the first day and always had people to help me when I needed it
  • elena997's avatar by elena997 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would definitely go to Salford again and again. The have recenty renovated most of it but I think that more developments are yet to come!! If you guys are looking for a campus which isn't too busy, Salford is the right place!
    University:
    The Uni itself is really active. You cand do any kind of activity from swimming to dancing and yoga as well.
    Course:
    I decided to study abroad as I've always been interested in foreign languages. Coming to Salford was just perfect to me, in terms of sizes firstly, as I am not used to huge spaces the campus is tiny but works out very well.
    Location:
    Because it's not far from city centre and there's many buses that take you there in less than 15 minutes. Or trains for even less time.
    Accommodation:
    I haven't lived in student accomodation bit from what I've seen and heard seems pretty good. It is also a new development so I think it's good.
    Settling in:
    Because together with classmates and tutors I have perceived a sense of unity, based on the fact that 50% of us are international. Even though we are from different cultures we crested this kind of perfect balance. I feel so lucky about this.
  • SCartwrightTHS's avatar by SCartwrightTHS on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    As before, a fantastic University! Great tutors, friends, facilities and opportunities!
    University:
    All good- never had a quarm with my Uni Life. My Second Year house could’ve been better but that’s down to the Estate Agent which I would not recommend in the slightest. (Called Mistoria)
    Course:
    The course was well organised. We were notified of changes if necessary. We were taught by people who were more than qualified and naturally funny which of course always helps on a Comedy course.
    Location:
    Near MediaCityUK and industry leading experts such as BBC and ITV and plenty of opportunity to meet people like minded and industry experts coming in to lectures
    Accommodation:
    First Year was amazing, on campus, 5 minute walks to lectures and brand new for my year group. Third Year was slightly older Halls, not too far to Uni, slightly dated in decor but a cosy enough place.
    Settling in:
    It felt like home from day 1 to day 900. And I still live and work in Salford now, I’ve grown attached
  • Min_Yoongi's avatar by Min_Yoongi on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall the experience was really nice
    University:
    Amazing library, food facilities and very close to two big shopping centres
    Course:
    Its a pretty small uni so by the end of the year all the tutors and lectures know who you are and they are always available to help us. The degree gives you extra since we study accounting and business modules.
    Location:
    Transport is kinda a pain but it's still quite nice
    Accommodation:
    Really nice rooms
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in, feels quite homely
  • BeccAhhh's avatar by BeccAhhh on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    Really lovely uni , wouldn’t think it’s a part of Salford. Lovely staff and accommodation and plenty to do
    University:
    The sports centre is on campus and they have many activities to take part in , including a big swimming pool. There’s olenty of restaurants and cafes to visit and obviously the night life is great as Manchester is just next door.
    Course:
    The course is very enjoyable on the whole but sometimes the timetable can be a bit overwhelming as you tend to have back to back lectures in the same lecture theatre. So you could be sat in one place for 4 hours straight.
    Location:
    The location is wonderful, the uni is situated in peel Park so there’s a lovely park view and relaxing feel to it by its also a 5-10 minute train from Manchester so pure never short of anything to do !
    Accommodation:
    First year I stayed in peel Park Quarter , it’s new accommodation and everything is super clean and modern. Second year I’m staying in Tramways , it’s onviosuly not as modern as peel Park but the rooms are really nice and bigger than my first year room !
    Settling in:
    It didn’t take too long to settle in as the uni holds induction weeks to meet all your course mates and lecturers, you get friendly with people really fast.
  • Sarathepara's avatar by Sarathepara on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    For someone who initially didn't plan on coming here because I thought it wasn't 'that great' I was very surprised at what the university has to offer to each student. They make you feel so welcome and you feel so comfortable with all the teachers that you have no hesitation in asking questions about anything which I think is key in education. Being able to ask for help easily
    University:
    I'm not trying to represent my uni for any reason but this is my genuine opinion and I would say my whole university experience has been incredible from my lessons, teachers, friends, societies and every other nook and cranny. Salford university is increasingly getting better and better year by year and my course architecture is now 4th in the country and 38th in the world and I say this proudly.
    Course:
    To start with, the teachers and lecturers are so experienced in the field of this course itself they know exactly what it is we're going through so they're always so understanding in everything you do. Architecture itself is such an amazing but hard course and one of my favourite things about it is that I can work from home because I know my project and the brief and I know my deadline. There's a good fraction of individual work and group work allowing you to develop your skills in both fields.
    Location:
    The campus itself I'm not entirely fond of but it's increasingly getting better over the years but the outer location is perfect as it's 15 minutes away from the city centre which contains everything you could want from a night out to a chilled coffee and is 10 minutes away from Salford quays in the other direction which has undergone huge renovations and is now one of the biggest attractions in Manchester
    Accommodation:
    I still live at home but I have many friends who are in the student accommodation and I've heard very good things about the facilities they offer.
    Settling in:
    Surprisingly very quickly because even though all the students in my course have had different experiences in academia and they're all from different places in the world and are different ages but we all connected so well as a family till this day which made group work so much easier. And the teachers are just incredible which made my experience so much easier!
  • radlam12's avatar by radlam12 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a very sociable uni, everybody has a laugh and nobody's really uptight, we understand the importance of getting your degree and we do well, but we have so much fun doing that
    University:
    It seems like there is a wide range but I've not felt like I've needed to join any yet
    Course:
    Haven't seen everything the course has to offer yet, however the teaching seems good and the location is excellent
    Location:
    Only a bus journey or walk into central Manchester, only a bus journey to my course also, train station just next door, shopping centre just down the road
    Accommodation:
    Top end expense in terms of accomodation, brand new buildings, few teething problems but generally good
    Settling in:
    Initially I felt uncomfortable and nervous, but after a day of being here I was so much more confident and happy
  • averk1's avatar by averk1 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    its ok
    University:
    its very good
    Course:
    its a good uni
    Location:
    because its not exactly near or far
    Accommodation:
    i rent an apartment but its tooo expensive to rent in manchester
    Settling in:
    because i hv many friends in manchester
  • Melissaahmed's avatar by Melissaahmed on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars.
    University:
    Very good SU
    Course:
    Good lecturers
    Location:
    Needs more things to do
    Accommodation:
    New accommodation
    Settling in:
    Settled in very well
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, a useful and valuable life experience.
    University:
    Freedom and lots of choice for leisure.
    Course:
    Amazing with a few sections not to my taste.
    Location:
    Between the city centre and Uni is ideal.
    Accommodation:
    Advertised as better.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, homely, close to commodities.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    The library is fantastic
    Course:
    The teaching is absolutely fantastic. The information given in lectures, seminars and tutorial are great.
    Location:
    Very close to town so the buses go past every few minutes.
    Accommodation:
    There is a new accommodation for students
    Settling in:
    Great reception from both teachers and students. N
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    .
    Course:
    I think the course is useful for students in general and provides the needed skills to be an excellent in many forms.
    Location:
    .
    Accommodation:
    I have not been to the uni accommodation.
    Settling in:
    .
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great University with good social life on campus and nearby
    University:
    Whatever I need to do I have easy access to
    Course:
    This is the perfect uni for me. Outside the train station. Mosque just before the uni so I can do my daily prayers. Great lecturers
    Location:
    Awesome location
    Accommodation:
    I stay at home
    Settling in:
    It takes me a while to get to know people
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE