Member reviews of University of Sheffield

  • BCorbridge's avatar by BCorbridge on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Sheffield University is amazing and I would highly highly recommend to anyone.
    University:
    So much going on both on and off campus. The city is very vibrant and totally geared towards students. Night life is amazing, and the students union here in sheffield is amazing.
    Course:
    Some excellent lecturers, with vast knowledge who are easy to listen to and deliver good quality lectures, however there are quite a few lecturers who are quite boring and not particularly engaging.
    Location:
    In a very nice area of the city, however it isnt in the city centre which for some particular reasons isn't the most convenient such as getting to the station and the main shopping areas.
    Accommodation:
    Vast choices of housing, and the university owned halls of residence (Ranmoor/Endcliffe) were the best accommodation of any universities I visited and looked round.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in Sheffield due to the number of events particularly in the first few weeks of the term that were put on in order to help everyone orientate themselves and settle in well
  • martingale999's avatar by martingale999 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Theres so many access points if you need help and there is always a free event on
    University:
    Night life is fantastic and Sheffield and reslife means there's loads of free stuff to do during the day
    Course:
    Few contact hours but the lecturers that I did have were really engaging and covered interesting topics
    Location:
    Not far from student accommodation and all the lecture theatres are quite close to each other
    Accommodation:
    I had the cheapest accommodation but it was clean and had loads of space
    Settling in:
    I made friends quickly on the course and in my flat
  • Katxxi's avatar by Katxxi on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Just a wonderful university all around and set in a really lovely place, the u diversity as a whole is really friendly and supportive. Also the students union has plenty of vegan food options!!!
    University:
    Plenty to do and always have things going on, plenty of libraries and resources available
    Course:
    It's very informative for those who want to study a variety of areas across the region of east Asia
    Location:
    Sheffield is a beautiful city and it's easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Didn't stay in university accommodation or student housing and went private rented
    Settling in:
    ..
  • katesprite's avatar by katesprite on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I did a lot of reading up in TSR about my university prior to moving here. The comments were all positive, but definitely not as frequent as other northern unis, like Nottingham, Leeds or Manchester. I'd have to say that Sheffield Uni is quite underrated.
    University:
    I have no qualms about university life and the SU services - there are ALWAYS things going on. Plenty of societies, plenty of pubs&clubs, plenty of student discounts.
    Course:
    Sheffield Uni is a lovely place to study architecture and a great starting point for many at the beginning of their architectural journey. The tutors are incredibly friendly and will do everything they can to help you out if you seek their guidance.
    Location:
    Sheffield Uni buildings are well integrated into the city centre, so you don't have to travel far after class to get a taste of life out of uni. Buildings are only walking distance away from each other.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Endcliffe last year. My uni halls experience was necessary (I guess) as a fresher, but the location came with a lot of drawbacks. It's way too far for me to continue living in this area.
    Settling in:
    I arrived a month late to the course because of visa issues, so I essentially started much later than everyone else. I adjusted just fine.
  • eittolberry's avatar by eittolberry on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Major improvements need to be made with student well being and mental health support in terms of the system. The staff and lecturers are the most understanding and kind people that genuinely want to see you succeed!
    University:
    Every service and society you can think of is available at Sheffield
    Course:
    I think there is some delay and subsequent lack of feedback on work that has been submitted, however that may have just been first year. The course is so flexible and versatile that you're able to pretty much personalise your degree.
    Location:
    If you don't mind walking uphill it's perfect!
    Accommodation:
    It's very good compared to other universities accommodation I have seen but it is expensive
    Settling in:
    Very, very quickly with settling in there were staff there to help if you needed, lots of numbers to call and information
  • n1k1745's avatar by n1k1745 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The university is great and very diverse and part of the Russell group
    University:
    Overall uni of Sheffield is good providing a wide range of services
    Course:
    It's not five stars because they have issues with timetables. Course structure is good as well as the content. Teaching staff is good but not all them know how to deliver a lecture best
    Location:
    Slightly outside of the city centre which I find very nice
    Accommodation:
    They have accommodation close to uni but the biggest ones are located very far from the uni (30 min walk) and is pretty much same price as private accommodation. Quality is not bad and items get replaced if not working
    Settling in:
    Settled pretty quickly as they had many icebreaker events and generally everyone was really helpful
  • GeoLea's avatar by GeoLea on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Could have improvements but overall is a great uni
    University:
    Campus life is great and fun, all services are good and overall I am glad I came to this uni
    Course:
    I think the course is very interesting, with a lot of contact hours nicely spread out. The teaching varies from each module but is mainly very good and same with lectures.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a lovely city and the distance between accommodation and lectures is very close
    Accommodation:
    Housing is good, not 5 star quality but is exactly what you would expect for nice student housing and is very sociable
    Settling in:
    It is easy to find friends at uni through living with others, societies and on the course, and so is easy to settle in
  • Simbess's avatar by Simbess on 26th May 2018
    Overall:
    Brill for students!
    University:
    So many societies to get involved with, and we have the bet students union for 10 years running! You can definitely see how though. Great places to go out drinking (cheap as well) if that's your thing, but also lots of oppourtunities for non drinking activities / nightlife. Good library facilities but they can get packed very quickly. As a location it's also very close to the city, so easy to pop into the city to get what you need. Moor Market also had quality meats and foods. Sport/Fitness is good - Lots of sports clubs to join whether it's competitive or social. But yeah, couldn't praise our Students' Union highly enough!
    Course:
    Course tutors for each of my languages are really nice! Regular assessments mean you don't fall behind. The Modern Languages degree specifically offers so much flexibility in terms of language choice - You don't have to fully firm until early second year if you don't like your language options. Also option to take up nearly all languages from beginners in first year. Lots of support and informative feedback
    Location:
    Sheffield is just the best! 20 minute bus ride to the peaks, and a slightly longer journey to get right into the heart of it all! Peak district days out are amazing. Also quite central, good train access to home for me.
    Accommodation:
    Bit pricey but it's worth it. I stayed in Endcliffe residences and it's really nice, sociable and there is amazingly fast response for if anything goes wrong maintenance wise. It's a proper little village, and very, very green in comparison to the city. Lots of green spaces outside to revise with friends, and a sociable, friendly building (the edge) for people to hire out dance rooms, go to the bar or eat. Location is good - 15/20 mintute walk max to uni. Close enough to be convininet, but far enough away to feel homely. Rooms are nice, flat sizes vary. I was in a flat of 5 and loved it.
    Settling in:
    Atmosphere is so friendly - the Student's union and residence life really helps get peope into things. The SU has so many societies and activities which people can try out for a very small price with no commitment attached, giving a great oppourtunity to make friends quickly. We also have a mentors scheme, where new students get matched up with a 2nd year or older student who can guide and signpost them as they feel they need. Flatmates were lovely as well.
  • HaganenoEdward's avatar by HaganenoEdward on 2nd August 2017
    Overall:
    Happy to be a student here. Couldn't choose better.
    University:
    Tons of societies to choose from and variety of activities in Union. While I go only into Japanese society I met a ton of cool people there. There's a room to improve (bit more socializing and activity on tandem), but I had a great time during my first year :D
    Course:
    Ehile it has it's flaws it doesn't deserve only four stars. Extremely hard, but rewarding course. Language tutors are always helpful and professional. Some cultural modules need improvement, but most of them are great. Amazing social life with lots of opportunities to meet international students.
    Location:
    Sheffield is the best!
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Broad lane court for my first year. Close proximity to uni and clubs or restaurants is great. However there were a few issues like problems with fire alarm, thin walls or expensive washingmashines.
    Settling in:
    Atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.
  • dchu1's avatar by dchu1 on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Overall, the uni provides what you want, social aspects and educational, and it is up to the individual to shape the experience into what you want.
    University:
    Being a Londoner, its tough to find another place to live up to its standards, which is why I have given it this rating. However, this is different based on where you are from. There are many places where you are able to study, and a sports centre which is around a 15 minute walk from student accommodation. There are many clubs and societies in the union, but mainly it is what you make of the experience.
    Course:
    Lectures are similar to many unis where lecturers mainly just talk at you. The tutorials are mainly once every two weeks, depending on the module, where there are more intimate sessions, where you are able to answer questions if you are unsure. So far, the first year content has been alright, it's all about what you make of it.
    Location:
    The university is not in the main part of the city, just a bit on the edge, however, it is easy to catch a bus to reach the main part of the city. However, if you were to go into the city from Endcliffe or Ranmoor, this might be a more lengthy process.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is ok in Sheffield. The rooms are mainly en-suite in Sheffield, but there is limited option for standard rooms for those who are more price conscious. Endcliffe is a 20 minute walk in hilly Sheffield from the Uni, Ranmoor is even further. However, there is a option to live in City, which is a 5 minute walk, but the social side might be a bit lacking.
    Settling in:
    Uni is what you make of it. It depends what you want to do with your time.
  • Millie.P's avatar by Millie.P on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Absolutely amazing
    University:
    Excellent
    Course:
    Most of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way. Course structure is excellent.
    Location:
    Perfect, city is really close
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant
    Settling in:
    Incredible quickly
  • scthraw's avatar by scthraw on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    They care for staff and students. Great union. Great course.
    University:
    Amazing union
    Course:
    Amazing course. Great lecturers. Lots of freedom.
    Location:
    One of the best areas of Sheffield.
    Accommodation:
    Good maintenance. I think I'm an outlier because a lot of people would probably rate slightly lower.
    Settling in:
    The uni helped a lot with this
  • Kittymitch's avatar by Kittymitch on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing university, really friendly and has high academic status
    University:
    Joined lots of clubs and societies, night life is great and union is huge
    Course:
    It's what I've wanted to do for so long and now I'm finally here.
    Location:
    Can't fault anything
    Accommodation:
    Flat mates are awesome! Flat is clean and well maintained
    Settling in:
    Moving away from home isn't easy, but everyone is friendly and i do feel comfortable in the city
  • jasonmp97's avatar by jasonmp97 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    The student union is great, so is the IC and the new Diamond building. there are lots of clubs that you can join.
    Course:
    It's the subject that I love and th way it is being taught is excellent
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city, the cost of living is lower than in other places and despite all the hills its really easy to get around
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is one of the nicest i saw when visiting unit, and even though it's expensive, its worth the money
    Settling in:
    My flatmates are great, and the atmosphere at the uni is great
  • Broganm's avatar by Broganm on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good.
    University:
    Anything you want/need is provided.
    Course:
    Content very good but organisation has been fairly poor.
    Location:
    Not too central for it to be too busy with pedestrians and cars but not too far out to be isolated. The city is very good and the closeness of the peaks is an added benefit.
    Accommodation:
    Very good location and quality. Can't pass judgement on price as I have no comparison.
    Settling in:
    I'm adaptable
  • niensze95's avatar by niensze95 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great to live in a student oriented city. A lot of support is provided for students.
    University:
    The clubs and societies are fairly active and they have a lot of clubs and societies where you can participate in.
    Course:
    The lecturers are very friendly and helpful. The course does not focuses only on the medical aspect but also the skills of becoming a good doctor.
    Location:
    It's like a student city here in Sheffield.
    Accommodation:
    It's not too bad but I think there is still room for improvement.
    Settling in:
    They have provided a lot of support for international students.
  • AmeliaJane14's avatar by AmeliaJane14 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Generally a 5.
    University:
    Would have been five stars for first two years a lot of events are hard to get into when your studying so much in third year.
    Course:
    I enjoyed it but I didn't directly use it to get my job
    Location:
    I loved living in Sheffield its quite small so easy to find your way around. Great public transport and cheap.
    Accommodation:
    Everything was great except the price loan didn't cover cost by at least
    Settling in:
    Lived with great people went to lots of freshers events
  • Joshua1996's avatar by Joshua1996 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate is 4/5, as I'm still getting used to the new environment and suchlike, but hopefully I'll soon get into my course and my extra-curricular things and then my rating might get a bit higher.
    University:
    There are plenty of things to do around Sheffield, but the negative points are that sometimes there's just too much going on and it's too loud to get to sleep easily etc. however the general vibe is pretty good.
    Course:
    I haven't really had chance to get into the course yet. The introductory lectures are quite boring so hopefully it will pick up soon. All of the lecturers seem pretty nice though.
    Location:
    I really like the city, it has a nice atmosphere. The campus is quite close to the city centre which is quite nice as there's always a bit of hustle and bustle.
    Accommodation:
    It's not too bad, though it's quite far from the main uni site, which makes it difficult when you have lectures spread throughout the day and want to go back in between. It's not bad quality, but it can get quite noisy!
    Settling in:
    I feel like my daily routine is starting to get together now, and hopefully I'll get used to my timetable soon and that'll really be when I'm fully settled in.
  • FearsomeHippo74's avatar by FearsomeHippo74 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    100%
    University:
    Amazing. People are friendly and helpful, the university is absolutely top-notch and everything makes you feel at home and prepared for adult life
    Course:
    Course is full and feels like a good use of
    Location:
    Is just a five minute walk from the city centre but 20-30 from the accommodation, which can be a bit of a bummer at 7am
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant. Clean, friendly and inclusive, a little far from the university but all-around amazing.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home right away. Flatmates were great and we were all in the same boat
  • shujaxxx's avatar by shujaxxx on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    10 on 19
    University:
    The best Students' Union in the UK.
    Course:
    There are some modules I dislike
    Location:
    Sheffield's a really green city but it's really hilly so long walks can be very exhausting
    Accommodation:
    It's really far from campus but good for socials. The rooms are pretty spacious
    Settling in:
    I didn't feel homesick at all. Made friends really quickly by joining a couple societies in Fresher's Week
  • sorcharose's avatar by sorcharose on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Sheffield has everything a student could want. Great city, amazing student union, wicked nightlife and breath taking views.
    University:
    There is nothing the University of Sheffield does not offer! The amount of clubs and societies is astounding, and the student union is out of this world with never having a dull moment.
    Course:
    There is plenty of choice with modules, which means everything I want to do in this subject is covered. Also, due to me being able to book my own seminars, I had the ability to give myself fridays off!
    Location:
    The city of Sheffield has so much to offer, with its ability to be industrial and green at the same time. You always have the choice of the city centre and Meadowhall, or the peak district.
    Accommodation:
    The Endcliffe accommodation is amazing! The housing is situated in a quiet and green area, and the building themselves are modern and clean. There is also a great community feel throughout the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I settled into University so quickly due to the kind and helpful people that surround me. Although the city is energetic and full of life, you still get the quiet time you need at your accommodation in Endcliffe.
  • Bracken97's avatar by Bracken97 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Although it was a little scary moving from down in Devon all the way up to Sheffield (it feels so far away) I've settled in so well and literally everyone is so friendly. The lecturers and tutors are friendly and give useful advice and the older students in societies, particularly course specific societies such as BibSoc (for religion, theology and the bible) are kind and have been really good at giving tips and ,asking me feel welcome.
    University:
    So many great services and amenities on iffer here, in addition to numerous clubs and societies (I've joined far too many already), although I'm not a huge party-er so it can feel a bit like I'm being a killjoy if I want to stay at home and study instead go out drinking (but I guess that's more the other students than the uni)
    Course:
    I really love the course, which is what initially interested me in choosing Sheffield, and upon attending an open day and ever since then I had seen how enthusiastic the staff are, and how interactive learning is here. The only issue is I can't choose EVERY module!
    Location:
    I do like the city, and although most of the student accommodation is a bit of a trek, it's still okay. It is quite far from my home though, although the station is nearby so that's good
    Accommodation:
    It is lovely accommodation however it was surprising to find 10 of us living together despite the fact it said that there would be 5-8 on my residence contract. Despite that, it's still nice
    Settling in:
    I've been here eleven days so far I think and I was settled in by day 2 in all honesty! I think I'm lucky with my flat mates though as we all get on okay which helps a lot
  • Touchofeva's avatar by Touchofeva on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni at the most perfect student city, highly recommend
    University:
    Great uni life
    Course:
    Timetable can be a bit inconvenient, some lecturers really dry, but overall pretty good
    Location:
    Great city and great uni, but campus a little too spread out
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation a bit out of the way, but very nice
    Settling in:
    Everyone was super welcome
  • clairebrownlow's avatar by clairebrownlow on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It should be taken into account that I was here only for postgraduate, so there were quite a few on my course who had already been there for three years - however, the university is a good university but I didn't always feel fully supported academically. It's not always clear where information will be located as the online system is a bit of a mess, don't know if things will be on the website, MOLE, or on the library site, etc. Not very centralised. A lot of things weren't really made clear, we never had the grading sytem explained to us and the webpage which was meant to was down for most of the year. One of my lecturers who was marking our dissertation presentations didn't know that it counted as a whole module and a third of the marks were from the student audience less than a week before they took place, which was worrying. I don't regret going to Sheffield but I expected a lot better from a Russel Group university, particularly considering how much they harp about that - I had a better experience from my undergraduate uni, Lincoln, which is ranked 29 places lower in the Complete University Guide.
    University:
    SU was very active, libraries very good.
    Course:
    Very good resources, teaching was good, but felt contact hours were low for the amount paid and assessment support/feedback wasn't great.
    Location:
    On the tram route, very easy to get into the city centre but far enough out that you're not right in the busiest bit. Sheffield is much better than the city I spent my BA in.
    Accommodation:
    I was in private rented housing, so don't know what the uni accommodation was like.
    Settling in:
    I settled into Sheffield really well as a city, but I've never really felt like an integrated part of the university.
  • FearsomeHippo74's avatar by FearsomeHippo74 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brill. A long way from home but an amazing feel and great sense of community.
    University:
    Amazing array of events and societies - everything from a Friends Quiz and Retro music night to a Quidditch team
    Course:
    Timetable is busy but not full, range of optional modules is brilliant and lecturers seem genuinely passionate about their subjects
    Location:
    City and campus are great, but a little far from the accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is relatively new, well-maintained and has a great feel about it
    Settling in:
    Has been less than a fortnight and I already feel "at home" with my flatmates, friends and uni life
  • jessrscott95's avatar by jessrscott95 on 21st September 2015
    Overall:
    It's been okay. I'm more at university to study and have found it very hard to join societies and stuff that fit my timetable which has made it hard to enjoy my time here.
    University:
    There's a fair amount to do, though the gym isn't the best location and could be cheaper and the library seat availability during exam time is awful - they got rid of the old library I used to study at which I believe was a mistake.
    Course:
    I feel it could be better organised and that there is sometimes too many deadlines compared to other science-based courses that I've seen.
    Location:
    It has an okay location, but the main things in the city aren't that close, for example the train or coach station. Sheffield is a big place though.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was very nice, however it won't get 5 stars as it was a bit too far from the university buildings, meaning many people have to buy bus passes.
    Settling in:
    I wouldn't say I took ages to settle in or did so straight away. It felt quite isolating for a while.
  • EndoMatrix's avatar by EndoMatrix on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my experiences so far at the University of Sheffield; the academic and social wealth of this university (and surrounding city) provides a rich environment for students to enjoy their time here.
    University:
    the Students' Union offers the perfect environment for socialising with friends, both during the course-day or in the evening; there's an assortment of food kiosks, a bar, a coffee shop and a convenience shop. The Union is also home to a variety of events, including discos, parties, movie nights and more! The Information Commons is packed full of books and other course-related material, multiple printing and scanning stations, numerous computers and deskspace for students to revise in relative peace. For a truly quiet studying environment, the Weston Bank Library (also part of the University) is ideal.
    Course:
    The course offers a lot of support, both through an abundance of resources and a variety of services, which help you to achieve the best you can. While most of the lecturers are helpful and constructive with their feedback, a couple of the lecturers do not show much enthusiasm for the course, and do not appear to put significant effort into their assignments (both setting and marking).
    Location:
    Sheffield is a wonderful city, with enough transport services to get you anywhere without too much difficulty. There are a wide range of shops, restaurants and leisure facilities to maintain a varied and interesting social experience.
    Accommodation:
    A lot of the accommodation available is very nice; close proximity to the Edge or the Ridge social hubs, with adequate furnishings and lots of desk space. This is not necessarily the case with Endcliffe's catered accommodation, or neighbouring shared-bathroom accommodation (Stephenson and Crewe, respectively). The buildings are more dated, the electrical and water systems were prone to faults, and were often overlooked by the maintenance teams.
    Settling in:
    with everybody in the same situation, it was easy to make a few friends, develop a social routine, and get to grips with the new environment. Being part of a city university meant that it didn't feel isolating.
  • CRW1996's avatar by CRW1996 on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, if you want a uni that offers great social options then Sheffield is a good choice.
    University:
    Best part of uni for me. Night life is great
    Course:
    Mostly good, some lecturers poor
    Location:
    Most the uni buildings are around the nicest areas of Sheffield.
    Accommodation:
    Only issue I had with accommodation last year was the staff working there.
    Settling in:
    Prefer it to living in home town. City life suits me.
  • I dunno's avatar by I dunno on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Lots to do, loadsa nicee people
    Course:
    It's taught well
    Location:
    In the city centre, it's ok
    Accommodation:
    I like living here
    Settling in:
    It's home
  • abc:)'s avatar by abc:) on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would give the uni itself a low rating because I did not find it welcoming, I found the department cold and difficult to 'get into'. Other aspects of uni life in Sheffield were good such as location and things to do.
    University:
    Had an equal mixture of positive and negative experiences at the uni
    Course:
    Some aspects were interesting, I learnt a lot, but there were areas seriously lacking.
    Location:
    Sheffield is cheap but has a good nightlife so ideal for students. Quite small centre though.
    Accommodation:
    The halls were more expensive than most, ~
    Settling in:
    Even as a sociable person I had trouble mixing with the people on my course.
  • joshb873's avatar by joshb873 on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my overall University experience 6* out of 5*
    University:
    24/7 library, plenty of shopping in the city center, plenty of cheap gyms etc. The student has been voted #1 in the country so that is self explanatory.
    Course:
    Because the modules are led by world experts who have a great aura and atmosphere, the timetables are flexible with others things you might want to do and the feedback is excellent.
    Location:
    It's a city campus, so you're not too far from the beautiful and vibrant city but you are also a 10 minute walk away from the penines.
    Accommodation:
    Because I believe my accomodation is worthy of 5 stars, it is a 3 minute walk from my lecture hall and next to one of the biggest libraries in country which is oen 24/7
    Settling in:
    The Sheffield Mentor program is excellent and everyone is really friendly. I felt at home instantly
  • jazzbombsunshine's avatar by jazzbombsunshine on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10. I honestly can't recommended Sheffield enough. A brilliant Uni in a brilliant city. Passionate staff and students, great resources and affordable accommodation.
    University:
    The union is the best in the country for a reason! Student services are fantastic, the staff are brilliant, there's always places to go and people around, and the libraries are great.
    Course:
    My lecturers are all so enthusiastic about their subjects, they always have time for the students, no matter how small the question, and strike a great balance between letting us work independently and giving us the resources we need to succeed.
    Location:
    I love Sheffield with all my heart, I grew up here (although on the other side to the uni) so I already knew the city centre. The public transport is good, there's a fantastic and cheap nightlife, and the people are brilliant.
    Accommodation:
    Great facilities, in a really nice location. Flatmates are matched up really well, the maintenance and security staff are really helpful, and the price is very reasonable. I'd only say they're a little too stingy with the deposits.
    Settling in:
    The staff were all very kind, the campus was easy to get around and explore, and me and my flatmates were firm friends within minutes.
  • Akpatel94's avatar by Akpatel94 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 the university cares, for all kinds of personal emotions and circumstances, help is only around the corner.
    University:
    Student union, was rate number 1 in the UK, they offer great services, also a lot of sport actives to take part in. Town is far, and university building may all be up hill, however its good for health considering all the ready meals and alcohol "uni life" offers.
    Course:
    Course is interesting, with quite a few practical group tasks. A lot of theory to learn, however this foundation allows you to understand the theorist concepts in a much useful way.
    Location:
    It's not a campus based uni, so lectures are quite a walk away from the accommodation, the university campus is on a hill so quite a lot of steep climbing to do, however nightlife is great.
    Accommodation:
    All first year university accommodation are together (Endcliffe village) allows you to feel more comfortable, as everyone starting your year lives there. Also as every student accommodation is a few seconds walk, you can make new friends, do parties, and interact with people that have just stated as well.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly, you have intro week which allows you to meet new people on your course. Flat mates make you also feel welcome as everyone is new to the area and uni.
  • nadenemeatsix's avatar by nadenemeatsix on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been great. I'm now going into my second year, and I couldn't have asked for a better first year at university. Sheffield uni has lived up to my expectations and I'm sure the next two years will prove that. If you're looking for a Russell Group university with the best students' union, amazing accommodation, great research, lecturers, courses and opportunities, look no further than The University of Sheffield!
    University:
    Student life here at Sheffield is great. Our students' union is the best in the UK, we have a lot of support and we also have some of the best nights out in Sheffield. Our main library, the Information Commons (IC) is open 24/7, 365 days a year. It's kept very safe, there's security and you can't enter unless you're a Sheffield Uni student.
    Course:
    The course is exactly as I expected it to be. The staff are wonderful and all have worked in the Journalism industry. Every lecture, seminar, workshop has you leaving at the end knowing it's the right course for you and that you know you'll be well equipped for the world of work once you graduate. Definitely a top journalism training centre, and should be in any aspiring journalist's top five choices for uni.
    Location:
    Sheffield University isn't a campus university, so the buildings are all spread out and not hid away from the city. Saying that, it only takes 10-15 minutes to walk from one end of the university to the other. It's a good 10 minute walk away from the city centre, the university also has it's own tram stop. Sheffield uni is located in Broomhill, the west end. It's next door to one of the five hospitals in Sheffield and the Children's hospital is also next door. It's a very safe area, but there's also lots on. It's very city-like, which is great!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is really nice, it's quite new and has been rated number one in the UK for a few years running. The student villiages are perfect for mixing with the other students and are great for parties as well as your parents dropping you off on your first day and them knowing you're living somewhere nice and that you'll be safe.
    Settling in:
    It took me a few days to feel at home, but I felt at home during freshers week and even before my course had actually started. Thanks to the university for making our intro week as relaxed as possible and meeting my lovely flatmates.
  • Wtflauren's avatar by Wtflauren on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed my first year at uni, after not really liking the first few days I eventually grew to like the majority of the people in my flat. This is a great uni, as you may have read we have the no.1 students union in the UK
    University:
    There are a few libraries however it can be hard especially at peak times to find a seat or spare computer, particularly in the IC. I joined ManSoc which is the society for my course, it wasn't particularly great as there was only one event all year which was after freshers week. There are many places to eat in the SU dependent on whether you want a sandwich or a Cornish pasty or a hot meal. There is a gym and a lot of sports clubs for people to join.
    Course:
    I found the seminars for one of the modules useless, they didn't relate to the module and didn't help me learn. The timetable was good as the earliest I was in was 11am. The quality of teaching is of a good standard but I could probably learn more by staying in and just looking at the slides myself as they don't give you any extra info in lectures.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city with plenty of clubs, bars and pubs which is also a great place to meet new people. There's so many things to do here, there's a lot of shops in town and also a large shopping center, Meadowhall, which is accessible by tram or train. The tram is useful as you can get on it from outside of the IC and go straight to the train station for only
    Accommodation:
    Endcliffe Village was a great place to stay during first year. The main downside however was the sound at night, many people clearly didn't respect the keep it down between 11pm-7am rule. The quality is very good, a little on the expensive side but not too bad.
    Settling in:
    It took me half way through freshers to settle in as at first I didn't want to socialise with my flat and I was too shy to cook in front of them, so much in fact I couldn't really eat at all.
  • RichHarding's avatar by RichHarding on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Sheffield is a great place to be. The academic staff are at the cutting edge of their respective fields, and will always teach you the latest research, because they're part of it. Socially, you won't find anything better for tens of miles around - by far the student jewel of Yorkshire
    University:
    You can access pretty much anything you'd like to do here, and if it's currently unavailable, the Students' Union always does their best to make it available
    Course:
    There are aspects of psychology in the first year that I was not expecting
    Location:
    I love Sheffield, it's a great place to be - excellent nightlife, the Peak District is just next door, and everyone is very friendly.
    Accommodation:
    They've provided all the stuff you need, and even a cleaner.
    Settling in:
    I had a gap year, so I'm still a little behind on the studying front, and motivating myself to study hard.
  • ChrisBambii's avatar by ChrisBambii on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Full marks, great
    University:
    There are great events in the local bar and in the students union towards the centre of the city for nights aswell as having great clubs and nights out not done by the uni
    Course:
    The lectures are great and cover a range of content and the VLE covers everything and anything and provides good feedback
    Location:
    Feels like the centre of the UK, great transport networks aswell as good culture and entertainment facilities
    Accommodation:
    I am in one of he oldest blocks, still good, however not quite the standard of the modern ones
    Settling in:
    I felt at home very quickly, within the first week, I had joined 2 sports clubs by then so I felt encompassed by the uni
  • mixedemoticons's avatar by mixedemoticons on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love this university, and I love this city. It is alive, green, and friendly.
    University:
    The campus is alive, and revolves entirely around a fantastic student's union with a huge variety of places to eat and relax! There are now three separate library/workspaces, all of which are modern and have been designed to be conducive to productive work.
    Course:
    The structure is fascinating and progressive, with options to expand and refine my interest in areas more personal to me. The timetable is spaced out and does not overwhelm me at any point during the week
    Location:
    It is surrounded by trees and a relaxed suburban atmosphere. The shops are close and the walk to the university campus is pleasant.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is quiet but lively, with a friendly atmosphere and a fantastic bar called The Ridge where the pub quiz is already a flat tradition. The kitchen is expansive and the internet is extremely fast!
    Settling in:
    My intro week threw me right into the action, and I feel a real connection with my flatmates. It's nerve-wracking at first but great fun after a couple of weeks of orientation!
  • scarter2705's avatar by scarter2705 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing university, friendly campus and staff and close to all local amenities
    University:
    Lots to do and always activities for everyone
    Course:
    Timetable is poor - 1 hour days. Not worth the travelling. Quality of teaching varies.
    Location:
    Close to local shops and transport links are great
    Accommodation:
    I commute and so don't know anything about the accomodation
    Settling in:
    Approachable staff. Students are friendly and helpful. Mentor programme makes meeting people and exploring campus easier
  • Amzy123xxx's avatar by Amzy123xxx on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good experience you make new friends and enjoy the university life and the diversity of the city and the students
    University:
    There are a range of facilities such as libraries such as the IC that is open 24hours and their are a number of societies for everyone to get involved Involved in something
    Course:
    I don't have a very busy timetable therefore I can study at home and I have tutors that I can email if I have any concerns
    Location:
    It is close to where I live therefore traveling isn't that much of a problem. It is a lovely city and the propel are very friendly
    Accommodation:
    It seemed nice but I don't live there I commute
    Settling in:
    The people on my course are easy to get along with as well as the rest of the students and tutors therefore it was fairly easy to settle in
  • kullykhalsa's avatar by kullykhalsa on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    fantastic
    University:
    work hard play harder
    Course:
    good course good lecturers
    Location:
    good location
    Accommodation:
    not bad
    Settling in:
    friendly people uni and locals
  • LateToTheParty's avatar by LateToTheParty on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good.
    University:
    Students Union offers loads to do and university provides most services you could need.
    Course:
    Like it so far but only just started so don't have a complete picture yet.
    Location:
    Good city with lots to do and easy to get to university campus.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality in a nice location with key services nearby
    Settling in:
    Settled in moderately quickly
  • joshlindsay15's avatar by joshlindsay15 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    A very busy time where hard work will be appreciated and celebrated
    University:
    Sheffield Student's Union is the best in the UK and has something for absolutely everyone.
    Course:
    Quality teaching and excellent facilities.
    Location:
    The location of the university is spread across the city so you are always discovering new places.
    Accommodation:
    Top quality housing, above the average price of accommodation per week.
    Settling in:
    I am currently still settling in but every day is getting easier and I am getting to know the city a lot better.
  • Chatzikosta's avatar by Chatzikosta on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Sheffield is a great University, but it all depends upon what people want to pursue. For some courses, it may not be the best uni.
    University:
    Shopping is not very good at Sheffield, however the libraries are great.
    Course:
    There are some modules that I may not enjoy at a maximum level, but generally the Uni staff is very friendly and helpful and they are willing to help wherever you have an issue.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city, with not so high criminal levels and with lots of green space.
    Accommodation:
    University halls are not at the best condition, however private student halls are better, although at a higher cost, they offer a greater student experience.
    Settling in:
    I found it a bit difficult to get used to a new way of living and studying.
  • I don't know's avatar by I don't know on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Lots of things to do
    Course:
    Because it's not boring
    Location:
    Nice area
    Accommodation:
    Lots of walking to the centre
    Settling in:
    Everyone is fab
  • abi__knight's avatar by abi__knight on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really good
    University:
    Good night life, facilities, helpful staff and great SU
    Course:
    Teachers, students and facilities are great but not sure on French culture for y1
    Location:
    Close to city so no isolation with student areas incorporated
    Accommodation:
    Area is lovely and flatmates are good
    Settling in:
    Put on events to make us feel welcome
  • AGT95's avatar by AGT95 on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Despite minor slips, Sheffield University has been the best decision I have ever made. I got an offer to study another course at Notthingham University but preferred this one. To this end, I was worried that I may have made the wrong decision. After living here for a year, I realise now that I couldn't have made a better one.
    University:
    Not only are there thousands of societies and clubs to join that offer a range of different opportunities, you have the brilliant nights out in Sheffield. We also have a student gym, and a huge sporting community here. The shops are cheap and the campus as a whole is welcoming.
    Course:
    They are an excellent teaching department. The onus to receive good feedback can, however, be heavily on the student. But aside from this, the facilities, opportunities, and teaching staff are outstanding.
    Location:
    Compared to Sheffield Hallam, we are in what one could call the posh area of Sheffield. The neighbourhood in which both student villages can be found is quaint and being surrounded by 2 private schools clearly indicates its security.
    Accommodation:
    Nearly all Sheffield accommodation is ensuite. The downside is the price, but when you have a spacious room with a desk spanning the full length, a spacious flat, and an ensuite, you can't go wrong.
    Settling in:
    There are a mass of ways that the university help students to integrate and 'settle in' to university. I have knocked off one to star to reflect the onus, again, on the student to go to the integration events, and make the most of their student mentor.
  • Rcarter1's avatar by Rcarter1 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Good night life & societys
    Course:
    Good Staff, Course Content etc
    Location:
    Away from Hallam, Close to city centre aswell
    Accommodation:
    Best halls I saw on open days
    Settling in:
    I spent time away from home before starting university, it was a doddle.
  • DuskyMauve's avatar by DuskyMauve on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A solid 4.5 - there is everything you could ever want on offer at this university, and you will most likely be happy on your course. If you aren't happy, there are lots of people that are more than willing to help sort you out. Everyone is so friendly and there is always something to do.
    University:
    Campus is always buzzing no matter what time of day it is, as lots of actives go on in the evening. There are a few libraries to choose from, but it is sometimes a struggle to find somewhere to study during exam periods. There are many shops and cafǸs all around campus, and the union is in the heart of the campus, so only a 5 minute walk from wherever you may be. The gym has lots of members, and although I am not a member myself have heard that it does get very busy at certain times of the day and equipment is hard to come by. All the sports teams and societies are very active and often have 5+ events a week going on. There is a Give it a Go programme run by the union where you can try out lots of different things without committing to anything.
    Course:
    The timetable is pretty full which is great for me as I prefer more structured learning. It is split pretty equally between group work and individual work when it comes to coursework. Group work is sometimes difficult as lecturers let you make lots of assumptions about the brief. The only thing I didn't enjoy in my first year was the biology content, which was compulsory.
    Location:
    I love the city so much, which is why I stayed here for university. The location of the campus is in a very upmarket end of the city centre near all the main hospitals and it feels very safe. Lots of young professionals live in the area. Campus is only a 5 minute walk to all the main shops and restaurants in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    University halls were very clean and well maintained. Security were on site 24/7 and any problems with my room were fixed within a couple of days. I always felt safe and sleeping was never a problem, even if there were parties going on elsewhere. Location was great as everyone would walk to uni together, and it was very affordable compared to other student halls out there.
    Settling in:
    Perhaps because I wasn't moving that far away from home and I still went home for my evening meal a couple of times a week, I felt settled in straight away and didn't feel nervous at all. All my flat mates were very friendly and everyone got on straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I loved my course, accomodation, uni nights out, sports club and societies I joined. Loved the whole thing really. Would definitely recommend it to others.
    University:
    So much on offer at the students union its hard to fault it.
    Course:
    Some poor timetabling particularly in the last year but overall a very good course and very enjoyable.
    Location:
    Right in the city so plenty to do but in the greenest city in England so doesn't feel so claustrophobic like some cities do.
    Accommodation:
    Great accomodation in halls and plenty of variety in the private sector in later years.
    Settling in:
    Lovely accomodation, great course, amazing students union and a fantastic city made it easy to fall in love with the place and feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's brilliant. The University of Sheffield is amazing. One of the best experiences in your life - guaranteed. You won't regret it.
    University:
    I've been engaged in so many things it's unbelievable. I've already been to various events all over the city, both partied and experienced the cultural aspects of Sheffield. It's great.
    Course:
    I really enjoy most of my lectures, the tutors are brilliant and engaging, they create a great environment in both lectures and seminars. I am happy to go to University every single time.
    Location:
    It's a 5minute walk from my house and another 5minute walk to the city centre. The location couldn't be better - everything you might need is at the same place, no more than a 15 minute walk away. What more could you want?
    Accommodation:
    Because it's not far away from the main University buildings, campus and main city attractions.
    Settling in:
    I've been in the UK for a month now and it already feels like home. I love it here.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good
    University:
    Good social life and good atmosphere
    Course:
    It is a good course but some lecture style of teaching are better than others
    Location:
    It's right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    From my friends accomodation it looks nice
    Settling in:
    I settled in fast even though it was a big leap from college work
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    4stars
    University:
    I really the libraries, they are very tidy and organised
    Course:
    Because I think the subject is well though as its clear what they are talking about, I didn't give five as I have only started.
    Location:
    Campus and my accommodation is only 5/10 mins away from city centre
    Accommodation:
    Nice large room, with well kept furniture
    Settling in:
    Everything is very close in terms of distance.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very fun so far, settled in very nicely and am excited about my course and the rest of the year.
    University:
    Lots of places to hang out and plenty of opportunities to get involved in extra curricular activities.
    Course:
    Not the widest range in choice of modules for first year, but still lots of very interesting ones.
    Location:
    Love the city, lots going on and very vibrant.
    Accommodation:
    New facilities, friendly atmosphere, everything I need is situated in close proximity.
    Settling in:
    Nice mix of people in flat, and many opportunities to meet people on your course as well early on in the academic year.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Above average experience with good accommodation and facilities. Though teaching not always up to a high standard.
    University:
    Always something going on and plenty of facilities.
    Course:
    Lecturers not good quality but feedback and structure works well.
    Location:
    Good location within the city but not the kind of city I enjoy
    Accommodation:
    Easy to get anywhere by walking
    Settling in:
    Average
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it, I don't care
    University:
    Lots of yat
    Course:
    Nothing bad
    Location:
    No scum
    Accommodation:
    No issues
    Settling in:
    Mummy brought me up proper
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent university life variety, great nights out, modern facilities, amazing student union, very green, but campus is not an eye candy and city is quite small.
    University:
    Excellent selection of sports and societies to fit anyone's needs. Modern libraries and other facilities are the last word of technology. Not 5 stars because limited options for shopping locations.
    Course:
    Not 5, because I personally prefer more group study time, rather then self studying. Apart from lack of teaching hours, course content itself is amazing
    Location:
    The city of Sheffield is really small, limited variety of places to explore. The positive is, it is very green and is close to Peak District (hello fellow mountain lovers!)
    Accommodation:
    The university accommodation is quite far away from campus, however the halls are modern and comfortable
    Settling in:
    Well organised freshers week events, not only clubbing but daytime too. Friendly and helpful members of staff
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great univeristy with a brilliant network and connection with the city
    University:
    Great services offered, good bus and train routes
    Course:
    Course content is interesting, scheduling and timetables are manageable
    Location:
    Student village little further out to uni lecture places, but distance isn't too bad
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable, clean and functional. A bit on the pricey side
    Settling in:
    Missing home and my family happens daily but having good flat mates makes it easier
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A good university with a wide range of support and activities outside of your course.
    University:
    The Libraries are quite nice, the union shops and cafǸs are cheap and diverse. There are lots of sports clubs and societies to join.
    Course:
    Nice range of modules and delivery methods
    Location:
    It's quite far from the accommodation to the campus but it's fairly close to the city centre which is nice.
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive, small rooms, poor quality with lots of things broken, damaged, or missing
    Settling in:
    Feels slightly like home but not completely
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    This university was not my first choice , Leeds was, but I would never look back and can't imagine being at any other uni
    University:
    We have the number one student union and it is amazing there's a club in the bottom of it, the night life here is incredible
    Course:
    I am having the best time here
    Location:
    It's a city but has so many rural areas I.e near the Peak District that it's a lovely location
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is lovely , few scuffs but we have a good time with loads of flat parties
    Settling in:
    I thought I'd be more nervous but being surrounded by others in the same situation was such a help
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    As above - couldn't have asked for more.
    University:
    Couldn't have asked for more.
    Course:
    Very interesting subject matter but only 6 hours a week - value for money somewhat lacking.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city and the campus is right in the centre. Accommodation was a little further out but easily walkable.
    Accommodation:
    Decent location, quality quite poor and very expensive
    Settling in:
    Found it easy - suppose I am That type of person
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good standard
    University:
    Lots of activities and society
    Course:
    Interesting modules Lots of field trip
    Location:
    Good near city centre
    Accommodation:
    Experience
    Settling in:
    Student union give a lots of help
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far (only been on my course for 2 weeks) it has been really great, everyone is really really friendly and helpful
    University:
    Everything is offered.. Been voted student union in UK for a number of years
    Course:
    Everything is organised and the lecturers are high quality. Staff are helpful and friendly and the course is very interesting
    Location:
    Perfect city had everything you could need and you're able to enjoy city life and the beautiful countryside at the same time
    Accommodation:
    I'm renting privately but it was recommended by the uni, they are very helpful and the accommodation is great
    Settling in:
    Still settling
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    great
    University:
    night life is awesome so many choices. sports wise there is loads. also a lot of activities during the day and evenings
    Course:
    just the beginning but looks good so far
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city, only a tram ride from the center.
    Accommodation:
    rooms are decent sizes,big communal space as well. only con would be 20min walk from campus
    Settling in:
    its been two weeks but i already feel comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall the university is great and constantly improves.
    University:
    Very active!!
    Course:
    The timetable can always be better.
    Location:
    It has a really good location.
    Accommodation:
    I like it.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take much to feel at uni or at home.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience so far, kind and friendly. Lecturers are all nice and approachable. Lectures aren't monotone and boring. Amazing new engineering building for all forms of engineering, including mechanical, chemical, civil, electrical and computer science.
    University:
    There's literally not a second in 24 hours where something isn't happening. Great SU with ridiculous amounts of societies.
    Course:
    The teaching and lecturing quality is really good. Timetable is busy, however, there are no large amounts of free time between lectures. Instead, we either start later or finish earlier which is very convinient.
    Location:
    It's a contemporary campus. It looks good.
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation is top notch and also cheap.
    Settling in:
    Everyone, especially university staff are very welcoming and supportive. It doesn't take long at all to feel welcome and at home.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Despite some problems with my course I love it and wouldn't change.
    University:
    The societies are fantastic and the night life is great. It makes for a brilliant atmosphere to live and study.
    Course:
    The course itself is very interesting and challenging and most of my lecturers are very good. However the organisation has not been brilliant. I have felt that the department are not aware of the stress we have been under and when concerns are raised they appear to be shrugged off.
    Location:
    The university is really near to the town centre and my accommodation is lose to. Everything is walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    The Ranmoor Halls were really good. The rooms were a good size and I had a huge kitchen. the standard of living was great and it made my first year of uni brilliant.
    Settling in:
    The accommodation made me feel secure and that I had somewhere to call home. I felt at home within weeks.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    A*
    University:
    Best nightlife in the UK, best SU in the country, +350 societies, fabulous IC, any facilities you could wish for
    Course:
    It's wonderful so far
    Location:
    Fantastic city, Peak District, nightlife, sense of small community, trees, architecture, public transport, cleanliness, openness.
    Accommodation:
    Fully equipped, renovated, clean, spacious, fair and comfortable.
    Settling in:
    I'm an EU student so I felt a bit homesick but it's the most welcoming it can be.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    this is a really good university. be prepared to climb a lot of hills !
    University:
    everything is really good, but the major problem is lack of authority in accomodations, some people find it uncomfortable.
    Course:
    its a bit fast, by the 2nd lecture ur expected to know eveyrhting.
    Location:
    the city accomodations are very near to campus. i like it. the only plus point
    Accommodation:
    i like the room , but the people are very noisy in the flats . !!! they dont let you sleep in the night, and bang doors. i found very uncomfortable. there should be set of rules to not make noise after 12 maybe, would help some people to sleep at night.
    Settling in:
    because of the poor rules, that disturbs some people in the flat.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I rate it 5/5
    University:
    It's enjoyable
    Course:
    Because i enjoy it
    Location:
    Quite a walk from my accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Quite a walk from my subject building
    Settling in:
    Roommates are friendly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The best in the country for enjoyment, the best people and the best nightlife, and it's a Russell Group, couldn't get any better!!
    University:
    Best nightlife in the country. Every night is a party night. Student union is also the best, plenty of societies to choose from and the bar and club are amazing.
    Course:
    Most lectures and lectures are good and enthusiastic and I enjoy the modules, and tutorials are very helpful. Some are boring though.
    Location:
    It's within a 10 minute walk of my accommodation and with 10 minutes of the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The value for money is amazing,
    Settling in:
    I haven't even been here two weeks and it feels like home already.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far so good :D
    University:
    Havent done anything fun yet
    Course:
    Cause everything just started. You gotta give it some time
    Location:
    It is nice
    Accommodation:
    I dont have university acc
    Settling in:
    Still try to search out trough city
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely love it couldn't have chosen anywhere better
    University:
    I love it
    Course:
    I have really settled in well at my course but don't feel I have enough experience to full comment yet
    Location:
    Slightly far out which has pros and cons
    Accommodation:
    Really comfortable and spacious
    Settling in:
    Settled in instantly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really great
    University:
    Because so far I have very little to complain about
    Course:
    I like it so far but it's too soon to give it a perfect rating
    Location:
    Everything is within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Endcliffe and Ranmoor are too far away, but Allen Court is good. Bit expensive though
    Settling in:
    I already feel pretty at home. Not loving my flatmates but that's not Sheffield's fault
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The uni is incredible!! It is amazing
    University:
    Very fun, and the union is the best!!
    Course:
    Good lecturers, interesting modules
    Location:
    It is a half an hour walk from my accommodation and it is spread out all over the city. But I guess it is what you expect from a city campus
    Accommodation:
    Good acclimation, big rooms, good social life, things to break all the time though
    Settling in:
    It took me around a 2 weeks to settle in. Felt slightly home sick but now I'm settling in better
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely top notch. I have legs of steel and speak fluent Northern now.
    University:
    Very lively and I my flatmates are the best in the world (they didn't make me sat that at all)
    Course:
    As it is exactly what I expected and I love it
    Location:
    There's a massive hill but it's Yorkshire
    Accommodation:
    High quality
    Settling in:
    Felt really comfortable very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 star
    University:
    A lot of clubs and societies around
    Course:
    Because I enjoy it
    Location:
    Because there's a lot to do/go
    Accommodation:
    I don't know, i don't even live in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    I settled in on the first day
  • by Anonymous on 25th September 2015
    Overall:
    Immense. Best years of my life. Wish I could start all over again.
    University:
    Life of the city, incredible Union.
    Course:
    Wonderful place.
    Location:
    City centre location, countryside campus feeling.
    Accommodation:
    New, clean, amazing.
    Settling in:
    Very homely, lovely people.
  • by Anonymous on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    Good
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's great
    University:
    It's ok
    Course:
    It's ok
    Location:
    Near
    Accommodation:
    Affordable
    Settling in:
    It's ok
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great!
    University:
    Everything you could need and want is easily available.
    Course:
    Course structure well organised, varied content and assessment method. Timetable not always to the dual student's advantage, sometimes miss a particular workshop or tutorial.
    Location:
    In city centre and all my departments are in close proximity to each other and the central library.
    Accommodation:
    Three different options in terms of location. Different type of rooms also available to suit preference and budget.
    Settling in:
    Lots of support and activities to make you feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    There's always something interesting going on
    Course:
    Occasional portion of the course that I don't enjoy as much, but to be expected given the wealth and scope of English Literature
    Location:
    Slap bang in the middle of Sheffield, really like the walk between Uni and accommodation, good transport links around the city.
    Accommodation:
    Loved living in halls first year - room was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly, really nice sense of community
    Settling in:
    Had a few teething problems at first but mainly because I'm awkward as hell - there's a wide range of activities and lots of opportunity to meet people and make friends if you choose to take them
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I live in Liverpool which is famous for a night out and I like Sheffield just as much if not more, actually more.
    University:
    So much to do, met so many people, amazing.
    Course:
    Labs could be a little more fun and some of our lectures could be a little more charismatic whilst lecturing. But overall it's great.
    Location:
    Pretty central, just far enough away from town so it doesn't affect your studying.
    Accommodation:
    Pretty much perfect at Allencourt, although some members of staff were not very good at being 'handymen'.
    Settling in:
    Uni is very good at making you feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Couldn't have wished for anything better
    Course:
    It is very broad like geography should and always will be, much more than A-levels. Lovely and approachable teachers, great information, plus a free holiday in year 3!
    Location:
    It's right next to the city centre so is perfect mixture of both, impossible to get lost!
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Endcliffe village which was beyond perfect. All freshers in one place, so good!
    Settling in:
    Never felt homesick, it was home away from home
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Sheffield is a fantastic night out and has loads of cute things to do in the day with AMAZING coffee shops! Everyone is so lovely and the societies are fantastic!
    University:
    First year was the best year of my life
    Course:
    Wish I was in uni more for the amount that I'm paying
    Location:
    I love Sheffield! Everything is very close and it's such a welcoming place
    Accommodation:
    It was exactly what I expected and needed
    Settling in:
    My family means a lot to me and I'd never really been away before
  • by Anonymous on 11th September 2015
    Overall:
    Stick with it, even if you don't settle in straight away. It took me until Christmas of first year and I'm so glad I did as Sheffield is a brilliant university with so many opportunities to help you grow academically and personally.
    University:
    We have a brilliant Students Union, loads of cool areas to go shopping, lots of green open spaces and parks and a mix of traditional and modern university buildings with all the facilities you need.
    Course:
    When studying qualifying law courses you have to take set modules in First and Second year, which means there has been a mix of modules I have enjoyed and not enjoyed as much. I have relatively low contact hours but we are expected to do a lot of independent study outside classes.
    Location:
    I absolutely love Sheffield as a city and would reccomend it to anyone! It is relatively cheap, full of students and very fun.
    Accommodation:
    The overall standard of accommodation was very consistent in comparison to other universities. As a result we don't have ultra modern brand new flats like some universities but what we do have is very spacious and pleasant to live in.
    Settling in:
    This was due to my personal situation and not getting on with my flat, as my flat caused a lot of tension with myself and other flats within the block.
  • by Anonymous on 8th September 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 ( 3 years isnt enough). I recommend my uni to every prospective undergrad i meet
    University:
    Best union in the country and for good reason
    Course:
    Interesting content and generally good lecturers but would like more feedback.
    Location:
    Sheffield is an incredible city which simulaneous has so much going on but confers a real feeling of belonging.
    Accommodation:
    Location and price great, especially for 2nd year upwards
    Settling in:
    Uni of Shef is very accomodating, lots of inclusive societies and a great union.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    8 - great uni, tough course
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    Good lecturers but tough content
    Location:
    Nice campus
    Accommodation:
    Really lovely
    Settling in:
    Fitted in well.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    4.5 stars so far :)
    University:
    I really enjoy it
    Course:
    It would probably be 5 stars if there were more contact hours and less teaching by inexperienced/uncomfortable post grad students. But that can easily be changed by choosing seminar groups with the course convenor/other senior lecturers etc :)
    Location:
    Sheffield is an amazing student city. There's always something new to do, somewhere new to go and it's very affordable to live in
    Accommodation:
    I always felt safe, secure and happy there. Good community events too
    Settling in:
    I felt at home very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Great shopping and things to do
    Course:
    Brilliant support
    Location:
    The city is very friendly
    Accommodation:
    New, modern, up to date and very clean
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    The best thing that can happen to you!!!!
    University:
    Had the time of my life!!!
    Course:
    It's awesome
    Location:
    Best of both
    Accommodation:
    Very nice
    Settling in:
    Extremely friendly
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoyed my first year. Would definitely recommend the University of Sheffield due to its great facilities, such as its union, societies and library.
    University:
    Excellent student union, good range of places to eat and catch up with coursemates. The IC (information commons) is open 24/7 - meaning students can go there whenever they have any research or assignments to complete. The library also has its own cafe and areas available to complete silent study or to book in advance for group projects or revision.
    Course:
    Not many contact hours, compared to other degree courses. Sometimes we have to wait a considerable length of time for our grades and feedback, but it's generally good. Most of the course content is interesting.
    Location:
    Can easily access the city centre, including the train station, using public transport or by having a brisk walk.
    Accommodation:
    Endcliffe village ensuite accommodation was brilliant. Always felt safe there and it was great having facilities such as the village shop, the edge (a bar) and a laundry room on the site.
    Settling in:
    Lived a reasonable distance away from my hometown, so was quite a big tradition as first not seeing family and friends regularly.
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been really good
    University:
    There's so much to do
    Course:
    There are aspects that could be improved, but overall I'm really happy with it :)
    Location:
    Sheffield is a good city, the uni campus is a good 20 minutes from the train station, but in a less 'urban feeling' area than Hallam
    Accommodation:
    Could be better, and the price could match the standard of accommodation, but it's ok for what it is
    Settling in:
    My first year flatmates were brilliant, the course staff were lovely and really welcoming too
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Sheffield is a combination of several fantastic factors. A beautiful city situated a few minutes from the peace and quiet of the Peak District, fantastic facilities and friendly people. The only thing I can fault is the cost of the accomodation
    University:
    The university provides an excellent and broad set of facilities. Several libraries are spread all around the campus, meeting the needs of every course area. The university also operates several cafes offering fantastic convenience and value. The students' union also provides all the necessary support that may be required such as housing or employment advice.
    Course:
    Lectures were interesting for the most part. There was a lot of hands on lab work which was also mostly enjoyable. However, at times, little to no effort was made to relate the topic being studied to the course. The timetable was also quite busy in the first semester.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city. The areas around the university are a perfect mix of modern and urban cityscapes and quiet countryside. The city has everything a student needs, clubs, shops, shopping centre, open spaces, countryside, etc.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the housing was very good, and the facilities provided (bar and restaurant) were appreciated. This was let down however, by the long walk from the accomodation to the university (between 20-30 mins) and the high rent.
    Settling in:
    The people at the university, students and staff alike were very accomodating. Several events and talks were arranged by the university to help students settle in. The city itself is also very nice, but not disorientatingly large.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I am loving Sheffield and knew from their first friendly interaction with me that it was a good place to go to university. The Union really is he centre of uni life, and you feel like you're living city life but in an atmosphere that really allows you to explore where you're living and to enjoy the day to day experience.
    University:
    All of the services (that I've used) were very supportive and efficient. Every aspect of student life is catered for, and there's a fantastic atmosphere around the campus.
    Course:
    I wish we had more contact hours!
    Location:
    The accommodation is in a lovely area, and the uni buildings are within the city atmosphere without being right in the centre.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was spacious, well laid out, and felt really homely.
    Settling in:
    I didn't take full advantage of the opportunities available to me straight away so I can't say 5, but once I did I felt comfortable immediately. I didn't want to go home!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The best decision of my life so far
    University:
    Sheffield is the perfect student city
    Course:
    holistic teaching, helpful, up to date, the department wants to educate you, not just push you through exams.
    Location:
    close to the city centre and in the immediate vicinity of the studenty housing areas
    Accommodation:
    Good quality accommodation is always easy to find and prices are cheap compared to most other cities.
    Settling in:
    Took me about 6 months to fully get into the swing of things, getting a good and stable group of friends was the most important bit.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great Student Union
    University:
    -
    Course:
    It's okay.
    Location:
    It's got a right mix of fun and quiet
    Accommodation:
    Living in private housing
    Settling in:
    Not much difference
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars, there is nothing about my university that I can comment negatively about.
    University:
    My uni offers more than one big library to study in which is really useful. The student union is my favourite place to go to catch up with friends, do some studying, get a coffee or some advice about something.
    Course:
    The way the language is taught is very in depth and I feel that the lecturers use the best methods of teaching. There are a lot of early starts and full days compared to some of the other courses but I prefer this as it makes it much easier to practice and learn in my own time.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a fun city much larger than my hometown (but not too large). There always seems to be different things to do around the city and the university is only 5 minutes away from the city centre so it's in a great place.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is all modern and they are all very nice clean and spacious buildings with all the things you would need such as a laundrette and a bar. It is also in a beautiful location, a little bit further from the university than ideal and it's at the top of a big hill (20-25 minutes) but it is a good compromise because it is a nice area. The accommodation is all quite expensive though.
    Settling in:
    I settled in much quicker than i expected, I didn't experience any homesickness because i was living in a nice apartment and all the events that the uni held made it easy to make new friends and have a lot of fun.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    lots of societies and things to do
    Course:
    I enjoy the course but wish there was more contact hours
    Location:
    The city of sheffield is busy, fun and full of pubs and bars
    Accommodation:
    accomodation was clean, modern and fairly cheap
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly and orientation was very easy
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It was great
    University:
    Uni life is fun
    Course:
    Wasn't very challenging
    Location:
    City is small and very lovely with loads of shops
    Accommodation:
    Very lovely flatmates
    Settling in:
    So much activities to enjoy
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been really good all around- great place to live, very good uni and my course is extremely interesting and well taught
    University:
    Had the best years of my life so far living at uni and studying my course
    Course:
    Good tutors, very interesting and wide range of modules, comprehensive classes
    Location:
    Great city location- plenty to do for whatever your interest is, but not too busy or overcrowded considering it's a city! Very clean and green
    Accommodation:
    Very good quality accommodation, very comfortable and well looked after
    Settling in:
    Felt at home as soon as I got there, made friends quickly and easily and it was very easy to fall into the flow of the course
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10. It's been very positive
    University:
    Lots of societies to get involved with. Good nightlife including really good union club nights. Great libraries and facilities.
    Course:
    Great organisation that gives you a bit of early clinical exposure but feel ready for placements on the wards when you get to third year. Good support available.
    Location:
    Right next to the city. It's not a campus university but all of the university buildings are very close as is just like a campus university. It's on the nicer side of Sheffield!
    Accommodation:
    The nicest halls of residence I've seen. Quite new, very well looked after, no problems.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and I love the place.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. It is the best thing that could have happened to me.
    University:
    I love my university
    Course:
    The lecturers could be better.
    Location:
    Sheffield is in the middle of the country with great bus/tram and train links.
    Accommodation:
    Sheffield has some of the newest and nicest accommodation.
    Settling in:
    settled in on the first night.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing university to attend
    University:
    Huge number of societies and clubs, and lots of services and facilities for students, though the libraries are often overcrowded during peak season
    Course:
    The modules are generally extremely interesting and well taught
    Location:
    Fantastic city and the campus is located close to both the city and the Peak District
    Accommodation:
    Great quality and a reasonable price, but could be nearer
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Such an amazing uni never want to leave.
    University:
    Amazing uni experience.
    Course:
    I liked the uni and the course so much im staying to do a postgraduate course.
    Location:
    Really safe City and close to City centre but accommodation away from the city so it's safe.
    Accommodation:
    It's rated best in the country and is mostly all en suite
    Settling in:
    Like minded people and everyone in the same boat so easy to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10 out of 10!
    University:
    Facilities are top quality, couldn't ask for anything else
    Course:
    Placements enhance learning. The staff are very supportive and it's very interesting
    Location:
    In the best bit of Sheffield
    Accommodation:
    24/7 security and maintenance was perfect. Any issues were accurately and efficiently dealt with
    Settling in:
    Sheffield is a very friendly city and everyone at uni was so welcoming and always wants to help
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good and very happy with my choice
    University:
    Good clubs, excellent library and excellent union
    Course:
    Good hours, good mix of tutorials disections lectures etc
    Location:
    Right in the city nears lots of shops and bus stations (that take you straight to train station) also very near the uni
    Accommodation:
    Quite modern all facilities good, took care of by staff well
    Settling in:
    Good flatmates, joined socities easily
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    I've had a great time
    Course:
    I thoroughly enjoy it
    Location:
    Edge of the city, perfect
    Accommodation:
    It was good but a little way out
    Settling in:
    Got on with my flat mates very well
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Lots offered
    Course:
    Interesting
    Location:
    Enclosed wooded area
    Accommodation:
    Good but basic
    Settling in:
    Took about a week
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Highly enjoyable
    University:
    Amazing city for nightlife and shopping and restaurants
    Course:
    It was good in teaching and the overall experience
    Location:
    Mainly city centre location
    Accommodation:
    First year in halls was clean and fresh, the other years I rented privately
    Settling in:
    Found it difficult adjusting initially
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I enjoyed the life outside of study, I really hated my course.
    University:
    I really took advantage of the societies and made lots of friends, there was always something to do if you look for it
    Course:
    I didn't enjoy the course at all. Some of the lecturers (non chemistry modules, physics and maths) were very poor, one even lost my exam result.
    Location:
    A little far from halls but it's nice being on a good bus route.
    Accommodation:
    It was clean and warm. It wasn't the best looking halls, maintenance never fixed any of the problems that happened at the beginning of the year. Oven wasn't fixed because we had another one and they like to buy parts in bulk over summer
    Settling in:
    I made lots of friends on my course and in societies, I didn't make friends with anyone in halls as I felt I didn't have anything in common with the people in my flat.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Economical and abundant services, great libraries, hugely diverse societies, great Union, great nightlife
    Course:
    Great variety of literature, sensible and intuitive progression through the years, flexible
    Location:
    Amazing cheap, green and vibrant city
    Accommodation:
    Really pleasant buildings, could have used more communication with support services
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time but that wasn't the fault of the university
  • by Anonymous on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good as there are lots of students in Sheffield
    University:
    Located in a student city
    Course:
    Well structured course
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    I have not lived in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Four stars.
    University:
    Was voted number 1 for student experience.
    Course:
    The teachers lool very supportive and knowledgable, interesting lecturers who are experts in the field and a variation of teaching.
    Location:
    Great city, great night life and culture.
    Accommodation:
    Great location but a little bit on the expensive side.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is in the same boat and it takes a short time to feel like part of an undergrad community.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Best decision ever to study in Sheffield. The university & the city together make for the perfect experience.
    University:
    New facilities all over Sheffield, from libraries to sports centres and a nationally recognised student union.
    Course:
    Great lecture & seminars, good facilities. Great range of course topics and top lecturers
    Location:
    Sheffield is the perfect student city, lots to do but still only
    Accommodation:
    All relatively newly built and good locations. Just expensive! especially if you break anything
    Settling in:
    Good ways to meet new people and lots of societies. Sheffield feels like home really quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    9.9/10
    University:
    Amazing student union, well equipped libraries and 24 hour access, good sports facilities and great location near city centre and private student housing
    Course:
    Overall the teaching and modules options are great but could be more flexible in terms of what options can be chosen at MA level across similar courses e.g. Social Research and Social Policy
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great student city, vibrant, big yet safe and affordable in comparison to other cities
    Accommodation:
    Great quality housing and student villages, a little expensive
    Settling in:
    Was placed with great selection of flatmates in first year, differing courses and therefore made different friendship groups, made me feel comfortable

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE