Member reviews of University of Sheffield

  • BCorbridge's avatar by BCorbridge on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Sheffield University is amazing and I would highly highly recommend to anyone.
    University:
    So much going on both on and off campus. The city is very vibrant and totally geared towards students. Night life is amazing, and the students union here in sheffield is amazing.
    Course:
    Some excellent lecturers, with vast knowledge who are easy to listen to and deliver good quality lectures, however there are quite a few lecturers who are quite boring and not particularly engaging.
    Location:
    In a very nice area of the city, however it isnt in the city centre which for some particular reasons isn't the most convenient such as getting to the station and the main shopping areas.
    Accommodation:
    Vast choices of housing, and the university owned halls of residence (Ranmoor/Endcliffe) were the best accommodation of any universities I visited and looked round.
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in Sheffield due to the number of events particularly in the first few weeks of the term that were put on in order to help everyone orientate themselves and settle in well
  • martingale999's avatar by martingale999 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Theres so many access points if you need help and there is always a free event on
    University:
    Night life is fantastic and Sheffield and reslife means there's loads of free stuff to do during the day
    Course:
    Few contact hours but the lecturers that I did have were really engaging and covered interesting topics
    Location:
    Not far from student accommodation and all the lecture theatres are quite close to each other
    Accommodation:
    I had the cheapest accommodation but it was clean and had loads of space
    Settling in:
    I made friends quickly on the course and in my flat
  • Katxxi's avatar by Katxxi on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Just a wonderful university all around and set in a really lovely place, the u diversity as a whole is really friendly and supportive. Also the students union has plenty of vegan food options!!!
    University:
    Plenty to do and always have things going on, plenty of libraries and resources available
    Course:
    It's very informative for those who want to study a variety of areas across the region of east Asia
    Location:
    Sheffield is a beautiful city and it's easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Didn't stay in university accommodation or student housing and went private rented
    Settling in:
    ..
  • katesprite's avatar by katesprite on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I did a lot of reading up in TSR about my university prior to moving here. The comments were all positive, but definitely not as frequent as other northern unis, like Nottingham, Leeds or Manchester. I'd have to say that Sheffield Uni is quite underrated.
    University:
    I have no qualms about university life and the SU services - there are ALWAYS things going on. Plenty of societies, plenty of pubs&clubs, plenty of student discounts.
    Course:
    Sheffield Uni is a lovely place to study architecture and a great starting point for many at the beginning of their architectural journey. The tutors are incredibly friendly and will do everything they can to help you out if you seek their guidance.
    Location:
    Sheffield Uni buildings are well integrated into the city centre, so you don't have to travel far after class to get a taste of life out of uni. Buildings are only walking distance away from each other.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Endcliffe last year. My uni halls experience was necessary (I guess) as a fresher, but the location came with a lot of drawbacks. It's way too far for me to continue living in this area.
    Settling in:
    I arrived a month late to the course because of visa issues, so I essentially started much later than everyone else. I adjusted just fine.
  • eittolberry's avatar by eittolberry on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Major improvements need to be made with student well being and mental health support in terms of the system. The staff and lecturers are the most understanding and kind people that genuinely want to see you succeed!
    University:
    Every service and society you can think of is available at Sheffield
    Course:
    I think there is some delay and subsequent lack of feedback on work that has been submitted, however that may have just been first year. The course is so flexible and versatile that you're able to pretty much personalise your degree.
    Location:
    If you don't mind walking uphill it's perfect!
    Accommodation:
    It's very good compared to other universities accommodation I have seen but it is expensive
    Settling in:
    Very, very quickly with settling in there were staff there to help if you needed, lots of numbers to call and information
  • n1k1745's avatar by n1k1745 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The university is great and very diverse and part of the Russell group
    University:
    Overall uni of Sheffield is good providing a wide range of services
    Course:
    It's not five stars because they have issues with timetables. Course structure is good as well as the content. Teaching staff is good but not all them know how to deliver a lecture best
    Location:
    Slightly outside of the city centre which I find very nice
    Accommodation:
    They have accommodation close to uni but the biggest ones are located very far from the uni (30 min walk) and is pretty much same price as private accommodation. Quality is not bad and items get replaced if not working
    Settling in:
    Settled pretty quickly as they had many icebreaker events and generally everyone was really helpful
  • GeoLea's avatar by GeoLea on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Could have improvements but overall is a great uni
    University:
    Campus life is great and fun, all services are good and overall I am glad I came to this uni
    Course:
    I think the course is very interesting, with a lot of contact hours nicely spread out. The teaching varies from each module but is mainly very good and same with lectures.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a lovely city and the distance between accommodation and lectures is very close
    Accommodation:
    Housing is good, not 5 star quality but is exactly what you would expect for nice student housing and is very sociable
    Settling in:
    It is easy to find friends at uni through living with others, societies and on the course, and so is easy to settle in
  • Simbess's avatar by Simbess on 26th May 2018
    Overall:
    Brill for students!
    University:
    So many societies to get involved with, and we have the bet students union for 10 years running! You can definitely see how though. Great places to go out drinking (cheap as well) if that's your thing, but also lots of oppourtunities for non drinking activities / nightlife. Good library facilities but they can get packed very quickly. As a location it's also very close to the city, so easy to pop into the city to get what you need. Moor Market also had quality meats and foods. Sport/Fitness is good - Lots of sports clubs to join whether it's competitive or social. But yeah, couldn't praise our Students' Union highly enough!
    Course:
    Course tutors for each of my languages are really nice! Regular assessments mean you don't fall behind. The Modern Languages degree specifically offers so much flexibility in terms of language choice - You don't have to fully firm until early second year if you don't like your language options. Also option to take up nearly all languages from beginners in first year. Lots of support and informative feedback
    Location:
    Sheffield is just the best! 20 minute bus ride to the peaks, and a slightly longer journey to get right into the heart of it all! Peak district days out are amazing. Also quite central, good train access to home for me.
    Accommodation:
    Bit pricey but it's worth it. I stayed in Endcliffe residences and it's really nice, sociable and there is amazingly fast response for if anything goes wrong maintenance wise. It's a proper little village, and very, very green in comparison to the city. Lots of green spaces outside to revise with friends, and a sociable, friendly building (the edge) for people to hire out dance rooms, go to the bar or eat. Location is good - 15/20 mintute walk max to uni. Close enough to be convininet, but far enough away to feel homely. Rooms are nice, flat sizes vary. I was in a flat of 5 and loved it.
    Settling in:
    Atmosphere is so friendly - the Student's union and residence life really helps get peope into things. The SU has so many societies and activities which people can try out for a very small price with no commitment attached, giving a great oppourtunity to make friends quickly. We also have a mentors scheme, where new students get matched up with a 2nd year or older student who can guide and signpost them as they feel they need. Flatmates were lovely as well.
  • HaganenoEdward's avatar by HaganenoEdward on 2nd August 2017
    Overall:
    Happy to be a student here. Couldn't choose better.
    University:
    Tons of societies to choose from and variety of activities in Union. While I go only into Japanese society I met a ton of cool people there. There's a room to improve (bit more socializing and activity on tandem), but I had a great time during my first year :D
    Course:
    Ehile it has it's flaws it doesn't deserve only four stars. Extremely hard, but rewarding course. Language tutors are always helpful and professional. Some cultural modules need improvement, but most of them are great. Amazing social life with lots of opportunities to meet international students.
    Location:
    Sheffield is the best!
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Broad lane court for my first year. Close proximity to uni and clubs or restaurants is great. However there were a few issues like problems with fire alarm, thin walls or expensive washingmashines.
    Settling in:
    Atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.
  • dchu1's avatar by dchu1 on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    Overall, the uni provides what you want, social aspects and educational, and it is up to the individual to shape the experience into what you want.
    University:
    Being a Londoner, its tough to find another place to live up to its standards, which is why I have given it this rating. However, this is different based on where you are from. There are many places where you are able to study, and a sports centre which is around a 15 minute walk from student accommodation. There are many clubs and societies in the union, but mainly it is what you make of the experience.
    Course:
    Lectures are similar to many unis where lecturers mainly just talk at you. The tutorials are mainly once every two weeks, depending on the module, where there are more intimate sessions, where you are able to answer questions if you are unsure. So far, the first year content has been alright, it's all about what you make of it.
    Location:
    The university is not in the main part of the city, just a bit on the edge, however, it is easy to catch a bus to reach the main part of the city. However, if you were to go into the city from Endcliffe or Ranmoor, this might be a more lengthy process.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is ok in Sheffield. The rooms are mainly en-suite in Sheffield, but there is limited option for standard rooms for those who are more price conscious. Endcliffe is a 20 minute walk in hilly Sheffield from the Uni, Ranmoor is even further. However, there is a option to live in City, which is a 5 minute walk, but the social side might be a bit lacking.
    Settling in:
    Uni is what you make of it. It depends what you want to do with your time.
  • Millie.P's avatar by Millie.P on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Absolutely amazing
    University:
    Excellent
    Course:
    Most of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way. Course structure is excellent.
    Location:
    Perfect, city is really close
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant
    Settling in:
    Incredible quickly
  • scthraw's avatar by scthraw on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    They care for staff and students. Great union. Great course.
    University:
    Amazing union
    Course:
    Amazing course. Great lecturers. Lots of freedom.
    Location:
    One of the best areas of Sheffield.
    Accommodation:
    Good maintenance. I think I'm an outlier because a lot of people would probably rate slightly lower.
    Settling in:
    The uni helped a lot with this
  • Kittymitch's avatar by Kittymitch on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing university, really friendly and has high academic status
    University:
    Joined lots of clubs and societies, night life is great and union is huge
    Course:
    It's what I've wanted to do for so long and now I'm finally here.
    Location:
    Can't fault anything
    Accommodation:
    Flat mates are awesome! Flat is clean and well maintained
    Settling in:
    Moving away from home isn't easy, but everyone is friendly and i do feel comfortable in the city
  • jasonmp97's avatar by jasonmp97 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    The student union is great, so is the IC and the new Diamond building. there are lots of clubs that you can join.
    Course:
    It's the subject that I love and th way it is being taught is excellent
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city, the cost of living is lower than in other places and despite all the hills its really easy to get around
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is one of the nicest i saw when visiting unit, and even though it's expensive, its worth the money
    Settling in:
    My flatmates are great, and the atmosphere at the uni is great
  • RichHarding's avatar by RichHarding on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Sheffield is a great place to be. The academic staff are at the cutting edge of their respective fields, and will always teach you the latest research, because they're part of it. Socially, you won't find anything better for tens of miles around - by far the student jewel of Yorkshire
    University:
    You can access pretty much anything you'd like to do here, and if it's currently unavailable, the Students' Union always does their best to make it available
    Course:
    There are aspects of psychology in the first year that I was not expecting
    Location:
    I love Sheffield, it's a great place to be - excellent nightlife, the Peak District is just next door, and everyone is very friendly.
    Accommodation:
    They've provided all the stuff you need, and even a cleaner.
    Settling in:
    I had a gap year, so I'm still a little behind on the studying front, and motivating myself to study hard.
  • ChrisBambii's avatar by ChrisBambii on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Full marks, great
    University:
    There are great events in the local bar and in the students union towards the centre of the city for nights aswell as having great clubs and nights out not done by the uni
    Course:
    The lectures are great and cover a range of content and the VLE covers everything and anything and provides good feedback
    Location:
    Feels like the centre of the UK, great transport networks aswell as good culture and entertainment facilities
    Accommodation:
    I am in one of he oldest blocks, still good, however not quite the standard of the modern ones
    Settling in:
    I felt at home very quickly, within the first week, I had joined 2 sports clubs by then so I felt encompassed by the uni
  • mixedemoticons's avatar by mixedemoticons on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love this university, and I love this city. It is alive, green, and friendly.
    University:
    The campus is alive, and revolves entirely around a fantastic student's union with a huge variety of places to eat and relax! There are now three separate library/workspaces, all of which are modern and have been designed to be conducive to productive work.
    Course:
    The structure is fascinating and progressive, with options to expand and refine my interest in areas more personal to me. The timetable is spaced out and does not overwhelm me at any point during the week
    Location:
    It is surrounded by trees and a relaxed suburban atmosphere. The shops are close and the walk to the university campus is pleasant.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is quiet but lively, with a friendly atmosphere and a fantastic bar called The Ridge where the pub quiz is already a flat tradition. The kitchen is expansive and the internet is extremely fast!
    Settling in:
    My intro week threw me right into the action, and I feel a real connection with my flatmates. It's nerve-wracking at first but great fun after a couple of weeks of orientation!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I loved my course, accomodation, uni nights out, sports club and societies I joined. Loved the whole thing really. Would definitely recommend it to others.
    University:
    So much on offer at the students union its hard to fault it.
    Course:
    Some poor timetabling particularly in the last year but overall a very good course and very enjoyable.
    Location:
    Right in the city so plenty to do but in the greenest city in England so doesn't feel so claustrophobic like some cities do.
    Accommodation:
    Great accomodation in halls and plenty of variety in the private sector in later years.
    Settling in:
    Lovely accomodation, great course, amazing students union and a fantastic city made it easy to fall in love with the place and feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's brilliant. The University of Sheffield is amazing. One of the best experiences in your life - guaranteed. You won't regret it.
    University:
    I've been engaged in so many things it's unbelievable. I've already been to various events all over the city, both partied and experienced the cultural aspects of Sheffield. It's great.
    Course:
    I really enjoy most of my lectures, the tutors are brilliant and engaging, they create a great environment in both lectures and seminars. I am happy to go to University every single time.
    Location:
    It's a 5minute walk from my house and another 5minute walk to the city centre. The location couldn't be better - everything you might need is at the same place, no more than a 15 minute walk away. What more could you want?
    Accommodation:
    Because it's not far away from the main University buildings, campus and main city attractions.
    Settling in:
    I've been in the UK for a month now and it already feels like home. I love it here.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good
    University:
    Good social life and good atmosphere
    Course:
    It is a good course but some lecture style of teaching are better than others
    Location:
    It's right in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    From my friends accomodation it looks nice
    Settling in:
    I settled in fast even though it was a big leap from college work
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE