Member reviews of University of St Andrews

  • AlxndrTheGr8's avatar by AlxndrTheGr8 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    An excellent place for all types of people. Excellent courses, people, and housing.
    University:
    University life at St Andrews is unique and wonderful in every aspect, albeit a tad expensive.
    Course:
    Excellent teaching, resources, and community
    Location:
    A wonderful town, perfectly sized to feel right at home but not suffocated.
    Accommodation:
    Wonderful halls with a strong community atmosphere and good food
    Settling in:
    Everyone in all year group were friendly, welcoming, and helpful.
  • akechan's avatar by akechan on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Very well.
    University:
    I enjoy it very much.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching is exceptional and engaging.
    Location:
    It really depends on what kind of person you were. If you enjoy the big city, that doesn't work.
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation turned out great. However at the beginning, I only received one scommodation choice. It was either I take it or no other choice.
    Settling in:
    Settled in well. Great orientation week.
  • kirstin-'s avatar by kirstin- on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s a very particular place but if you visit and find it’s for you then it’s perfect
    University:
    It has a wonderful atmosphere
    Course:
    Lectures are really interesting & support network is great
    Location:
    The university is the town
    Accommodation:
    Very friendly staff, catered food is of a good standard and rooms are suitabl
    Settling in:
    Ive gotten involved in lots of societies which has helped to settle in better
  • wena.lindsay's avatar by wena.lindsay on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think St Andrews is a fantastic university that offers a very unique student experience!
    University:
    There is always something to do, the gym membership is reasonably priced. The library is a nice environment to study in
    Course:
    My course is very well organised and the staff are friendly and approachable. The course is interesting.
    Location:
    The science campus is very close to the centre of town and all of the other buildings are within easy walking distance
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I stay in is lovely but expensive
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly, St. Andrews is a very homely place and the medical school were good at organising things for us to meet each other.
  • vozzer's avatar by vozzer on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent so far, but I have only been here a month!
    University:
    Excellent range of clubs and good library facilities, plenty of shops and a good union.
    Course:
    Plenty of contact time, and we're also given structured independent work which I find very helpful. All my tutors and lecturers are very approachable and knowledgeable.
    Location:
    Great town with warm, homely, welcoming atmosphere. The university itself is spread throughout the town but everywhere is walkable which is great.
    Accommodation:
    Good facilities however I would prefer a room in a different location within my building, as it is quite noisy.
    Settling in:
    This is more to do with me and my resistance to change than the university, who I feel made every effort to help us settle in.
  • Charlotte-xoxo's avatar by Charlotte-xoxo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Tiny, ancient and unique, with a really strong sense of family and community.
    University:
    Tons of society events, not a huge amount of nightlife, tons of pubs.
    Course:
    Most content in the course is fantastic, with few exceptions.
    Location:
    The East Fife coast is one of the most beautiful places on Earth, and St Andrews as a town is a tiny slice of heaven.
    Accommodation:
    Nice locations and standard, but St Andrews is known for being one of the most expensive places for students to find accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Fantastic range of clubs and societies made fitting in easy.
  • oceanofdrops's avatar by oceanofdrops on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Have enjoyed it
    University:
    Remoteness, also tense town and gown relationship
    Course:
    Good teaching, but better in history than classics
    Location:
    Bit remote
    Accommodation:
    Unaffordable, uni provided accommodation is rare and difficult to get in to
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • catmac97's avatar by catmac97 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    something for every one. societies particularly good
    Course:
    interesting course
    Location:
    not great transport links but great place to live
    Accommodation:
    good value for money. beautiful place to live
    Settling in:
    settled in very quickly
  • vozzer's avatar by vozzer on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great so far, I have however only been here a month!
    University:
    Generally very good, plenty of activities and societies to get involved with.
    Course:
    I like the fact that there is lots of contact time, and that we are given very structured independent work to do as I find it overwhelming otherwise as I don't know where to start. All my tutors seem very knowledgeable and approachable.
    Location:
    St Andrews is a great town with a great atmosphere, and the uni is very well situated across the town.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality accommodation and facilities in general, however I would say that my room is one of the worst in the building due to its location.
    Settling in:
    This is more down to me rather than being a reflection on the university. They did a lot to help us feel at home, it just takes me a while to adapt to new situations.
  • ItsStupendousMan's avatar by ItsStupendousMan on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Come here - you won't regret it
    University:
    Union isn't brilliant, but societies are fantastic
    Course:
    I havent been here long enough to give a five star rating
    Location:
    BEAUTIFUL
    Accommodation:
    Very conveniently located
    Settling in:
    Fantastic people, and fantastic societies
  • Phoebe Loh's avatar by Phoebe Loh on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    10/10. The university is really good; high standard and professional tutors, well established schools, perfect environment for studying.
    University:
    Although I do miss home, I find myself forgetting home when I'm surrounded by friends and tutors in st andrews. They're one of the best group of people I've met. The town itself is beautiful and lively. I love it. Everybody in st a is like your neighbor. They smile and wave at you whenever you go and help you at things you need help for. There are no shopping malls in st andrews, which some hate but I love, because it makes st andrews all the more extraordinary. The beach, all the houses, town buildings are just beautiful.
    Course:
    My timetable are really flexible. It gives us a way of disciplining ourself to self study while having free time but at the same time, ensure we have enough classes to attend. I really love the dissection room and clinical skills area. They are perfect; always clean and spacious enough for students to practice. The medical demonstrators and tutors are the best I've met; always asking us to ask questions and very approachable.
    Location:
    The schools in the university of st andrews are dispersed all around town, making it like the whole town itself is a campus. I really love this as we can get from anywhere to anywhere within minutes. Literally. Although it is small, st andrews provide the best location for students who likes quiet, charming and lively town.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation in my university depends on where you stay. For me, DRA/FP is a 20 minutes walk away from mostly everywhere. Although location wise it is bad, facilities in the hall is really good. However the wifi and services occasionally blank out on students.
    Settling in:
    The students in st andrews play a huge part in making me feel more at home here. I myself made an effort to make new friends, but some of the people I've met here are really kind and approachable, no matter where both of us are from.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far St Andrews is a lot of fun! If not for the unique and interesting course, but also the great student community and quirky academic rituals (Raisin weekend, May Dip, etc.)
    University:
    Everything is just very good overall
    Course:
    While I would love to give it 5 stars, I'm afraid to say some aspects of the course in the early years could use some improving.
    Location:
    Not the most convenient position compared to other universities and campus is a bit spread out.
    Accommodation:
    Nice housing, but very hard to access and also very expensive
    Settling in:
    St Andrews is a great, cosy town. I loved the fact you could walk everywhere, it made everything seem more accessible. The small size of the town also makes it feel more friendly and the people more approachable.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a very good university with truly amazing teaching --the main downside is the town's bubble status, but it can be overcome.
    University:
    Uni life is full of events and there is something for every taste
    Course:
    The lectures are really good and can share both knowledge and passion with us students. The modules offered are quite interesting and challanging which makes studying and researching both fun and rewarding.
    Location:
    The city is beautiful, but very tiny to the point where it can become a bit suffocating after a while
    Accommodation:
    My hall was good, but far from town and very expensive. Unfortunately, finding private housing in st andrews is a nightmare --it makes february a really stressful period of the year
    Settling in:
    People are really nice ant the environment welcoming, but I am really close to my family and it is hard to feel at home when I am so far away from them
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great atmosphere, very tight-knit community- everyone knows everyone. What we don't have in nightlife the uni makes up for in amazing and bizarre traditions, e.g. May Dip, Raisin Weekend. Very international- you'll meet people from all over.
    University:
    Loads of great societies, despite lack of night clubs there are events on every weekend and often throughout the week, balls are a big thing!
    Course:
    It's fast-paced, but I'm learning a lot and becoming competent at speaking both languages.
    Location:
    St. Andrews- golf course, beaches, historic buildings- love <3
    Accommodation:
    Halls last year very comfy, good food.
    Settling in:
    A lot of students from much richer backgrounds
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Personal yet global. A small town full of amazing opportunities
    University:
    Great support network
    Course:
    Good course with native teachers
    Location:
    St Andrews is small and very north (I live in Cornwall) but it's friendly and easy to find everything
    Accommodation:
    Slightly pricy but great location and facilities
    Settling in:
    Societies and friends in halls
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Not right for me but some will love it
    University:
    They were quite good and computer facilities were outstanding.
    Course:
    It was well organised and a lot of effort was put in to keep the course as relevant and up to date as possible but certain aspects could have been improved and some of the lecturers were somewhat uninspiring.
    Location:
    It isn't for me but some people love it
    Accommodation:
    It was overpriced, crowded and had poor cooking facilities with no living or dining room area.
    Settling in:
    I didn't ever feel comfortable in my halls. I always felt like a guest, not a resident.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The best thing about the university of St Andrews is the reputation of the qualification you leave with. It's probably also an incredible place to study if you're rich. Otherwise you have to just grit your teeth and bear it.
    University:
    Ok so I'm guessing all of these things are great if you're rich, there are loads of clubs and societies, a good gym, gorgeous local shops, etc. It's just that in order to enjoy them you must live in St Andrews and have plenty of money. Poorer students can do neither of these things making it pretty awful if you aren't Boris Johnson's daughter or the princess of Bavaria.
    Course:
    My course itself has lots of very interesting topics, the labs are engaging and it generally gives a very well rounded education in Chemistry and Maths. It is however missing some vital parts, for example at St Andrews we do not cover group theory. There are also issues with teaching quality due to most lecturers being primarily researchers and teaching is only secondary for them.
    Location:
    It's beautiful but way too expensive, all property has been bought up by rich St A kids and golf fanatics. People complain about the lack of shops and clubs (there is only 1 of each) but the lack of housing is a slightly bigger issue for me.
    Accommodation:
    All of the accommodation in St Andrews is extortionate or terribly located. This is to the point where I have had to move to Dundee which is miles away to be able to afford somewhere and have to commute by bus meaning I have no social life at university.
    Settling in:
    Because St Andrews never became home due to me having to move to Dundee because I'm poor.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate very highly! I've had such a fantastic experience here, with all the traditions, societies, friends, and studying I've squeezed in :) I would recommend visiting if at all possible however, as that is really how you get a 'feel' for the town: it's quite a marmite-like place. Social life here is very different from other places, but the whole university is special, and with such a prestigious reputation to boot, the university has a lot going for it.
    University:
    Amazing variety in societies, love the library (though maybe a bit small, we'll see come revision week!), mixed shopping considering the town's size. Campus life is generally super busy, so you need to prioritise between guest lectures, pub quizzes/crawls, movie nights, theatre, club nights, and studying. The whole town feels like a community, which immediately helps you to find your place within the town.
    Course:
    Lecturer is lovely, teaching so far has been excellent. Tutorial really helps to consolidate work.
    Location:
    I love St Andrews! It has everything you need (or dundee for emergencies), you feel very safe here but still get some form of 'night life', though more mixed than I expected.
    Accommodation:
    My housing is okay, but affordable. Many others are more expensive, but wonderful buildings. All halls have a strong community atmosphere, which helps you feel at home.
    Settling in:
    Immediately felt comfortable in the town, other students are very kind. Hall committee try to organise lots of events to encourage socialising. Easy to get into a routine here, and the whole area is lovely!
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Best experience of my life!
    University:
    Plenty of opportunities to get involved in societies and clubs... there is night life but also lots of social things to do.
    Course:
    It is a fantastic place, teaching is amazing and the place is so beautiful and safe here!
    Location:
    Situation is beautiful, easy and quick to get everywhere and the town has everything i would need.
    Accommodation:
    Nice and clean and really pretty.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so friendly and eager to help, lots of information available, place is easy to get about.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4 stars, everyone is very nice and friendly and a lot of help is provided to new students. Although the town is far out, it's a great experience.
    University:
    Clubs are great, as is the library and welfare provision but shopping is lacking
    Course:
    Teaching is a high standard but sometimes varies and the timetable is difficult on certain days
    Location:
    It is a very nice town with lots of quaint features but is a bit far out of reach
    Accommodation:
    My halls are a bit far out and expensive but the food is good for catered students, the rooms are a good size and I have an ensuite
    Settling in:
    I did not particularly enjoy freshers week but started to settle in once classes started
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE