Member reviews of University of Strathclyde

  • Zakaria2's avatar by Zakaria2 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    i have fitted in it so quickly and i had a great experience
    University:
    new sport facility and buildings
    Course:
    Accounting and Finance department are fantastic but the law department not much
    Location:
    its in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    near the uni
    Settling in:
    friendly staff and students
  • Sakura_Blossom's avatar by Sakura_Blossom on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The University of Strathclyde cares deeply about it's students, all the faculty members are happy to happy and really do go the extra mile to help you. I would not choose any another university.
    University:
    With the new Sport and Fitness centre and an improved Student Union, University life has never been better. With a huge number of clubs and extracurricular activities available, University life is always exciting.
    Course:
    The content of the law degree is fascinating but the timetable is very minimal. Even up until third year the timetable is a total of 6 teaching hours a week, often one or two hour a day.
    Location:
    Heart of the city centre and easy to access via public transport.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    The university were very accommodating in assuring all the students were taken care of in the early weeks of the semester.
  • BeatsByStu's avatar by BeatsByStu on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Been excellent so far, would recommend for STEM subjects.
    University:
    Bit chaotic but enjoyable.
    Course:
    Brand new structure for this year focusing on continuous assessment, though the mathematics isn't taught exactly when it's needed, so far around a week later than when it's needed for other classes.
    Location:
    Couldn't be closer to the centre of the city if it tried.
    Accommodation:
    Looks new but there's a major lack of soundproofing.
    Settling in:
    Settled almost immediately, though this doesn't reflect on other student's experiences.
  • giuliapdg's avatar by giuliapdg on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I'm enjoying every minute here. I'm giving 4 stars only because there are a few things that could be better, but overall i recommend it to anyone.
    University:
    Libraries, sport center, the union are all perfect.
    Course:
    I'm really enjoying my first few months here. Tutors are really professional and kind and caring. We have to work hard and, although sometimes our assignments aren't very clear, it's enjoyable.
    Location:
    Right in the city centre, everything's 5 mins away.
    Accommodation:
    Cleaners come once a week and there's everything you need. Enough space too. Could be cheaper, though.
    Settling in:
    Immediately. I'm so happy here.
  • hevtaylor0110's avatar by hevtaylor0110 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    The Strathclyde Student’s Union is so active and offers a lot of help and advice. They’re also really on the ball with organising events and making freshers feel welcomed.
    Course:
    I really enjoy my course and the flexibility it offers. You received an opportunity to trial all the business subjects within the first week to help you decide what you wanted to pursue through your course.
    Location:
    Strathclyde is right in the heart of the city. It’s so accessible and is so close to bars, restaurants, cafes etc so if you don’t want to go to the Union for food, there are so many nearby options.
    Accommodation:
    Location was ideal, you could sleep until 8.30 and still make your 9am lecture with time to spare. The nights attendants were always very helpful so you never felt like you couldn’t speak to someone about a problem.
    Settling in:
    I made friends very quickly due to the amount of groupwork you complete in first year.
  • Sbread's avatar by Sbread on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I have a great experience in Strathclyde. Moving away from home to a foreign country is hard. But, by joining various activities, i have managed to make new friends and that helped me overcome my homesickness. Also, lectures are of top quality where lecturers make sure you understand the lecture and answered all queries. They also check your understanding from time to time. Living in halls would be one of the best experience because I am able to meet people from different cultures and embrace them. With various suppprting mechanisms available like career services and advice centre, I know where to find help whenever i do need it.
    University:
    A lot of activities are being run by student associations.
    Course:
    Very structured course with 3rd and 4th year focusing more on patient-centred care and professionalism. Good and commited lecturers that deliver excellent lectures.
    Location:
    It is located right at the city centre. It is easy to commute anywhere.
    Accommodation:
    Strategic location. Accomodation is located right at the city centre making commuting easy. Also, quality appliances are provided and place is maintained well.
    Settling in:
    People here are really friendly and supportive. There are many supporting mechanism whenever i do need help.
  • sarahjuliette 's avatar by sarahjuliette on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'm so happy with my university choice, it's been a great few years and I'm always excited to get back after summer.
    University:
    everything you could want in a club/society can be found and if not it is easy to start a new club. the union is great and there's always something going on
    Course:
    course content is great, lecturers are almost all very approachable and willing to help with any questions, lots of detail and extra information given in lectures
    Location:
    I love that everything is on campus and doesn't require me to take transport to different buildings
    Accommodation:
    basic living but sufficient. room was spacious and bright. not too loud either
    Settling in:
    took a while due to homesickness as I'd never been away from home for more than a few days at a time. everyone was very friendly though and I settled in quick enough
  • Ceo1993's avatar by Ceo1993 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Interesting
    University:
    The "uni life" of the University of Strathclyde students are perceived to be excellent as one gets the best of both work in terms of academics and social aspects of life
    Course:
    The structure of the given programme is excellent and it grooms candidates to achieve their career aspirations.
    Location:
    It's towards the city centre which is definitely a strategic place since its located to restaurants and other amenities.
    Accommodation:
    The price is decent though i have seen better accommodations.
    Settling in:
    It was pretty easy to get used to the University
  • Mattyb151's avatar by Mattyb151 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni for location but buildings and some facilities are tired in my opinion and that puts it down a lot for me
    University:
    I am in university a lot of hours and can't really do a lot more than go out a couple of times a month because I'm so busy so I haven't taken to any uni events, societies etc
    Course:
    It's a joint degree and the communication between the two faculties of the degree lacks in my opinion
    Location:
    Great location being in the centre of Glasgow but the campus buildings are terribly split up
    Accommodation:
    Not very affordable as a student and not of a high standard but halls is great to meet people
    Settling in:
    Met lots of new friends and can find my way about uni easily now. Exams are just something that need to be done and I can usually do them.
  • Gib1997's avatar by Gib1997 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I've settled in pretty well. You get a warm welcome and while there are issues (laundry seems excessively expensive), it's pretty easy to transition.
    University:
    As to be expected, work is stressful, but otherwise it's not too bad. Nothing to be anxious about, really.
    Course:
    It's good so far, but the 'primary' education part doesn't really start til second year. This year, it's education along with two electives you choose from the same faculty.
    Location:
    Very, very central. Aldi, Sainsbury's, Gregg's nearby. Right off George Square.
    Accommodation:
    My halls (Forbes) are excellent, although some aren't quite as good I've been told.
    Settling in:
    It was easy to relax. Their system of finding roommates you'll get along with works brilliantly. Freshers week is pretty well run, as are the inductions, and most people are really helpful.
  • AngusJ's avatar by AngusJ on 26th September 2015
    Overall:
    This is a really undervalued University - it wasn't Uni of the year 2013 by chance!
    University:
    Sports facilities leave something to be desired, but overall it's a great place to be.
    Course:
    It's pretty easy, but if you want to push yourself there is a lot to learn and job prospects look good.
    Location:
    Glasgow is nothing like it's reputation would suggest. The Uni is located in a brilliant part of a brilliant city.
    Accommodation:
    Clean and basic, but reasonable value and very close to lectures.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly! But found it hard making friends.
  • Butterfly9595's avatar by Butterfly9595 on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    I love Strathclyde! It's been a roller coaster but I love my course, and I really enjoy the lifestyle I have as well
    University:
    We have a good library, and plenty of clubs and societies to join. Some of the sports facilities aren't so good, but they tend to be inexpensive because of this.
    Course:
    I love my course! We study a wide variety of modules, and the majority have excellent teaching. Information that we learn in lectures is then put into practice on placement
    Location:
    The campus is right in the city centre, and Glasgow has a lot to offer for students - there is fantastic nightlife, good transport links, and you're not far from a national park either
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant location within a stone's throw of George Square, right next to the university, and a supermarket nearby. Accommodation is basic but also very cheap.
    Settling in:
    It took me a whole semester to settle in and I hated uni for the first few weeks. As I gained confidence and made friends it got a lot better.
  • Hannahmm's avatar by Hannahmm on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    I would give it a 4, I had a great first year and met amazing people, but most importantly I have really enjoyed my course and thought the uni made it really interesting and provided a number of opportunities to get involved in everything from sports to course-related activities like mooting in my case.
    University:
    The services offered on campus are great, the gym is large and well-equipped, the union always has something going on and the library is huge and provides access to just about anything you would need in your studies.
    Course:
    The lectures are informative and interesting and the lecturers try their best to help out in any way they can. Perhaps more tutorials would be beneficial to enhance understanding of subjects as one every two weeks per subject is not much.
    Location:
    Glasgow is an amazing student city, so much to do and the nightlife is unbeatable. I couldn't ask for a better city to study in - it has it all. The Strathclyde campus is in the very heart of the city, around the corner from George square and a very short walk from shops and clubs.
    Accommodation:
    Reasonably priced and comfortable. The flatmates I was put with were a great match and we are living together again next year.
    Settling in:
    I was quick to adapt to the university lifestyle. I enjoyed getting stuck into my course and making new friends and very much enjoyed the freedom of living away from home.
  • Finglas's avatar by Finglas on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    2 stars. Id give it a poor rating. Poor quality tuition on the whole. Massive classes, sometimes tutorials/seminars had 300 people in them. Minimal time spent working more directly in smaller groups with tutors/lecturers. Another problem was the amount of non native English speakers. Studying a complex subject a high level was made vastly more difficult by lecturers and tutors who you could barely understand what they were saying.
    University:
    Half decent , again because in the centre of Glasgow
    Course:
    Course was okay, nothing brilliant. Lecturers barely ever tied the course content to real life. I got to my honours year and had been taught nothing about career opportunities from the course. Shambles!
    Location:
    In the city centre, can't complain
    Accommodation:
    I didn't use it but heard it was okay
    Settling in:
    Difficult to settle in when lecturers are bamboozling you with statistics of failure. Telling you to , and I quote "look around, 1 in 5 will fail this class" Unmotivational & scaremongering
  • Lyrical_lie's avatar by Lyrical_lie on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    7/10 Good university life, the course just needs a bit of work.
    University:
    Sports centre was good. Library was so so, especially issues with temperature. The food in the union was good and cheap even if they changed the menu so often and removed good meals. I loved my union, I was heavily involved in it, which has helped me move into my career..
    Course:
    It was fine, there were many issues that we came up against. Especially the lack of feedback and contact hours. The feedback got a little better throughout the year but essentially we only did one piece of marked assignment work and that is what our grade was based on. There was nothing like practice assignments.
    Location:
    I loved being in the city centre. Next to everything and only 20minutes from my house.
    Accommodation:
    Didn't stay in halls, but they weren't very nice when I visited. Although close to campus.
    Settling in:
    When I started joining social clubs and societies is when I found my friends and there were plenty of options at uni.
  • Alannahp1's avatar by Alannahp1 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    It is a good balance
    Course:
    Because it's great so far however I am only three weeks into my course.
    Location:
    The location is good - city centre. Easy to get to.
    Accommodation:
    It's perfect
    Settling in:
    Everything is great
  • trb12190's avatar by trb12190 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    3.5
    University:
    Overall, when help is needed, it is offered which is most important.
    Course:
    Sometimes the course structure was messy and lots of course work taught was rushed and we had to learn a lot in a sort time with basic understanding.
    Location:
    Near the city centre which is good, but a lot of up hill walking to class and the library is so far away. There should be study rooms in each building to encourage studying.
    Accommodation:
    Can't give a rating since, I live at home, but I have been in the student halls and they are very small but ok for basic living and close to the University.
    Settling in:
    Some staff made it easier to settle in, but some were less friendly.
  • siqna_petkova's avatar by siqna_petkova on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It keeps you busy but it is interesting
    University:
    The library is awesome but sometimes gets really crowded
    Course:
    Some of the lectures are really boring but the atmosphere is nice
    Location:
    It is in the city centre but I do not like these hills that you have to climb several times a day
    Accommodation:
    It is close to the uni but is very expensive in comparison with a rented flat
    Settling in:
    It is easy to make friends because there are a lot of group work
  • gow94's avatar by gow94 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's been ok. Strathclyde is really good academically and for job prospects but still quite young compared to Glasgow university so I guess more extra curricular activities will follow in time. I found that university as an idea wasn't really for me, halfway through my course, but strathclyde always have you thinking about the goal at the end of becoming employed and have a huge array of options that you can choose from.
    University:
    It's average. Not as many things provided as other universities
    Course:
    Everything is what I expect
    Location:
    In the centre of Glasgow, so convenient for travelling from home and easy to access anything I need in town.
    Accommodation:
    Not been it personally but from what I've heard it sounds decent
    Settling in:
    I already had friends on the course, it just took a while to get used to the workload
  • KiwiDream's avatar by KiwiDream on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4.5 stars
    University:
    There is always something to do
    Course:
    The timetable is very flexible and you can fit it around other commitments
    Location:
    It's in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    I don't know much about the accommodation as I commute however there are loads of halls all over town
    Settling in:
    Because I don't commute it's not really home to me, but they make you feel very comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good, felt very active while at uni, plenty of social life, classes are overall straightforward to get used to, so much to do in Glasgow and fab people to be around
    University:
    So many things to get involved in, loads of pubs in the area, some good events at the union, and lots of good clubs and societies, also feel there's a strathy culture students identify with
    Course:
    I would say the maths department isn't very good at engaging students and is quite disorganised as we get timetables last minute, and modules are taught in a way that makes it difficult for us to keep up
    Location:
    Local to everything, easy to get to, many shops around
    Accommodation:
    Overall good experience with flatmates, was clean, pretty much in uni and cost is fine
    Settling in:
    It took me long anyway since I moved from very far away but also, culture differences made it difficult
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Glasgow is amazing for students, such a young crown of people.
    Course:
    Because I enjoy every day
    Location:
    I absolutely love Glasgow and Strathclde is right in the centre
    Accommodation:
    The Strathclyde halls were amazing compared to other halls I've seen
    Settling in:
    Everyone Was so friendly and helpful
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    as far as management is concerned, this is the best university to study .
    University:
    good timing for the classess, but sometimes it feels like the timing are quite heavy loaded
    Course:
    the university has got good faculty and the best teaching for management course.
    Location:
    the location is great, the weather the architecture everything is good in glasgow
    Accommodation:
    the accommodation is nearby the university, its just 10 minutes walking distance to the university.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly but still there are some cofusions
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    great value for money
    University:
    -
    Course:
    Great campus, friendly staff.
    Location:
    Glasgow is beautiful
    Accommodation:
    I'm off-campus.
    Settling in:
    -
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Well organised in a wonderful city with many activities. Plus it has a really good reputation
    University:
    University gives us a variety of sports clubs and societies you never get bored there are so many activities
    Course:
    Perfectly organised and professors really helpful
    Location:
    Glasgow is a lively city with warm people and so much to do
    Accommodation:
    I have seen the accommodation but don't live there
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really helpful and friendly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, I love it
    University:
    I can find everything I need either on campus or in 10 minutes walking distance
    Course:
    Because I really enjoy the classes
    Location:
    Everything's close
    Accommodation:
    The room is a bit small, but really nice and welcoming and well equipped
    Settling in:
    It barely took e a couple of days to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very enjoyable experience. Hard course but with all of the events going on on campus there is always a way to chill out.
    University:
    Very good facilities for students with big Union and lots of events. Also lots of sporting events.
    Course:
    Very good lectures. Timetable can be a bit full.
    Location:
    In the middle of the city. Less than 10 minute walk to nearest stations and buses
    Accommodation:
    Great location in a variety of different price ranges
    Settling in:
    Felt at home on my first day
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Way better than expected
    University:
    Big city many people
    Course:
    I love it
    Location:
    Center of Glasgow
    Accommodation:
    Cheap but not the best
    Settling in:
    I settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    it is easy to find different people
    University:
    I love the library
    Course:
    I do not like some of the lecturers
    Location:
    you have to climb a huge hill to go in there
    Accommodation:
    it is close to uni
    Settling in:
    it was easy to feel at home
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    A very positive experience, this university is the place to be. The business school faculty is one of the best in UK and around Europe. I can suggest to student to choose Strathclyde for their studies.
    University:
    A lot of things going on, which is positive.
    Course:
    Because it is a good course, teachers are very well prepared. But the tools (IT, rooms) teachers and us as students are given are not enough.
    Location:
    Campus in the city centre and the town is enjoyable, especially when sunny!
    Accommodation:
    I lived in campus in my first year. Building were okay, as it is the position, but maybe prices are high.
    Settling in:
    It took me a while, but due to the distance from my hometown. Therefore it was not a fault of university accommodation or people, which indeed were very helpful. Now walking into campus makes me feel like walking in a well known place.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good place for exchange
    University:
    good library
    Course:
    Good school but timetable is not good and travelling around to other school for lectures
    Location:
    Central of the town
    Accommodation:
    Good place to study and its near to the school
    Settling in:
    Have the flat mates from the same country
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Strathclyde is a great university. For my course, the notes given for all classes are comprehensive making revision much easier to do than at other universities. The lecturers are all friendly and helpful, and there are services (like the Maths Skills Support Centre) that can help if you are struggling. The lab work is intense but fun and very satisfying. I would definitely recommend it.
    University:
    There are lots of clubs and societies, but food in the union is expensive and there is no shop for necessities (it was removed after my first year).
    Course:
    Certain things could be better explained and there could be more info about organisation (like a working online timetable), but overall I like the teaching and lab aspect a lot.
    Location:
    Glasgow is very friendly and there is lots to do, as well as excellent public transportation and facilities.
    Accommodation:
    It's very competitive to get housing, but the flats are mostly very nice.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away - everyone was very friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Strathclyde is easy to get to, a good, honest university that are not as pretentious or stuck up like glasgow university is. We knkw what we're good at and we get on with it- we don't shout it like other unis do.
    University:
    Generally good, but there are very few places where you can work and eat your lunch at the same time as the quiet areas of the library do not permit eating and I don't want to study in areas where everyone else is doing group work. And there is no where in the union where you can eat your own food- you always have to buy something
    Course:
    Most days I am in class for only a couple of hours, some days I am in for just 1 hour right in the middle of the day. This affects my ability to use the day to study since I have to get to and from class as well as the 1 hour lecture itself. It would make much more sense to add the one lecture on Wednesday and Friday to other days. My tutors rarely give specific feedback for assignments other than grades which does not help me to improve.
    Location:
    Quick and easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in halls nor have I ever visited them, so can't really say
    Settling in:
    I don't feel at "home" at university- it's where I go to learn and then leave again. I don't feel isolated but it is certainly not home
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience so far
    University:
    A lot on
    Course:
    Very well organised
    Location:
    City central, near stations. Good for public transport
    Accommodation:
    N/a
    Settling in:
    Well mapped and organised.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    I enjoy the content
    Location:
    Centrally located with everything close by
    Accommodation:
    I dont live in uni accomidation
    Settling in:
    Very good welcome teams and freshers week
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is amazing
    University:
    Everything is perfect and close to eachother
    Course:
    Everything is taught perfectly, is well researched and is challenging
    Location:
    It is in the city center
    Accommodation:
    It is expensive
    Settling in:
    I had a lot of people from the same nationality
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, 5* There is great atmosphere on campus, staff and peers are friendly and helpful. It is quite a large and busy campus, but you'll get used to it!
    University:
    I have spent a lot of time in the library, there are 5 floors. These floors are split into silent study (no talking) which is good if you don't want any distractions! Group study, quiet study, etc. Most of these floors have a discussion room where you can practise presentations. There are many computers throughout the library, however during exam season there may not be one available. There is a useful Strathclyde app which you can download, it shows you where available computers are throughout campus. The university gym is quite cheap, with a range of facilities. You can book many courts as well. There is also a swimming pool on campus. There are many sports clubs you can join, from your regular football club to sky diving club! So if you want to try something new and exciting here's your chance! The student union has 8 floors, has two bars, lots of pool tables, a cafe for food, Starbucks, burrito place, etc. The union holds some great events e.g. Halloween night is always great.
    Course:
    The timetable consisted of different modules of in depth physics, and it was accompanied by maths classes. Lab sessions and tutorials filled the remainder of the timetable, these were important because it challenges you to apply your knowledge. The main reason why I like Strathclyde is how helpful staff are to your needs. Starting university is scary, having staff who listen and offer you different solutions to problems helps put your mind at ease. I feel as though there could be more feedback in some classes, it really depends who your lecturers are. However, if you ask for feedback the lecturers are willing to arrange a time after class to discuss it in detail. The quality of the lectures again depend on the lecturers. However, most of the lecturers are enthusiastic and helpful. The course is accredited by IOP therefore the content has met a high standard, this becomes important when applying for jobs. I would highly recommend this university.
    Location:
    The night life is fantastic, there are a lot of bars and clubs in Merchant City (which is a 5 minute walk), Bath Street and Sauchiehall Street. It is also close to shopping centres such as St. Enoch, and the more preferred Buchanan Galleries. There is also the biggest cinema in Europe in town. And this is all walking distance from the university!
    Accommodation:
    I cannot comment on the price or the quality as I have never stayed in student housing. The location is very good and it's a 10 minute walk from the heart of Glasgow.
    Settling in:
    As I have said before, the staff are very accommodating and I have found that the students are very down to earth, which is also very important!
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    The university is really great, there are so many supportive members of staff and the student atmosphere and union is also great
    University:
    The uni has a wide variety of events and services so most interests are catered for
    Course:
    the course and lectures are really informative and interesting but only 4 stars because some lecturers style doesn't fit with my ideal way of learning ie they can be boring. Feedback is usually good too but often late in the HASS department
    Location:
    Glasgow is so beautiful and it's close to where I stay anyway
    Accommodation:
    Not sure as I don't stay on campus
    Settling in:
    The university is very welcoming and most of my peers seem to feel at home but since I suffer from anxiety and panic attacks, I find it difficult to connect and feel at home within uni
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would recommend Strathclyde. Good resources and teaching. Central location and helpful staff
    University:
    Didn't enjoy the social side just wanted to get qualification ASAP.
    Course:
    Able to give me a recognised good degree with exemptions for accountancy profession.
    Location:
    Good central location but lots of hills!
    Accommodation:
    Didn't live in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Didn't get on with a lot of people on my course.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoy the freedom of university life especially living in a city as I am from a small town originally. My course is very interesting and fun at times although there is a lot of hours and work put in. The social aspect has also allowed me to meet students from all over the world and I would recommend joining any sports teams or clubs you are interested in.
    University:
    The library is great as there are both quiet study areas and group discussion ones if you're working on a project, although there are not many books for my course as it is quite specialised. I also joined the university gym which motivated me to get fitter and I always found a machine free even when it was busy. I became part of the archery club which was very well run and enjoyable to take part in. At first I also joined the women's football team but found it too expensive to keep up as the location of training was not in the city centre and I had to travel there by taxi.
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course I do as it combines both academic studies such as human biology and practical work with volunteer patients. As our course only has 30 students in my year, we get a lot of feedback from lecturers in order to improve our work. In spite of this, there were a few modules which I didn't believe were relevant which leads to the 4 star rating.
    Location:
    I really like Glasgow and knew I wanted to study there early on. I chose Strathclyde because of its proximity to the city centre and found it was easy to walk anywhere I wanted or catch a bus/train when I went home for holidays.
    Accommodation:
    The location of the accommodation is very good as it is close to all the university buildings and the city centre. However, the quality received for the rent I paid did not seem worth it. Things in our flat such as radiators continually broke and the university seemed reluctant to fix anything as our halls were being renovated for the following year.
    Settling in:
    I felt settled in the first night I arrived. Everyone I met was welcoming and I found living away from home easy.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni, just didn't enjoy the course
    University:
    Good facilities
    Course:
    Found other interests
    Location:
    Great to reach from the bus
    Accommodation:
    Had friends who stayed in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Met friends easily
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I was disappointed. I expected a lot from Strathclyde. The experience was fine as I made new friends but the teaching could have been better, and it would have been nice to feel like we mattered. Some of the teachers were lovely, and it was good to have guest lecturers who were important in the field
    University:
    Not really qualified to say much as didn't use the union or clubs etc. the library is a lot smaller than Glasgow uni and the opening hours are not good at all.
    Course:
    A lot of the classes seemed long winded and out dated. Teaching staff had no real interest in listening to the students, and just seemed to want to fill quotas. It was not at all what I expected from a postgraduate course which I was paying a lot of money for. The placement was the best part of the course and should be longer
    Location:
    It's a good location, if a little spread out, and as the university is upgrading, sometimes the rooms we ended up in were noisy from building works and lacking facilities. It will be worth it for future students, but not for us.
    Accommodation:
    N/a as I live in my own flat
    Settling in:
    Had no problem settling is as it was a postgraduate so I had experience from my undergrad
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5, great tutors and courses helpful services etc
    University:
    Have had an amazing uni experience, great course and location, fun union
    Course:
    Great structure and tutors, interesting
    Location:
    Right in the City centre easy to find and ger to
    Accommodation:
    Clean and affordable
    Settling in:
    Tutors helpful made friends quickly
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    It is good if you enjoy the course but I found it poorly organised.
    University:
    It has a good Union and very good Student Union support team to assist with queries; however the gym facilities do lack as do the classrooms etc.
    Course:
    Not very well organised and can be waiting for weeks to get coursework results back. The rooms are very dated and support given is minimal.
    Location:
    Prime location in Glasgow. If a little difficult for parking.
    Accommodation:
    Housing accommodation is appealing and recently the university admitted to this.
    Settling in:
    Again, there's not much of a welcoming atmosphere. It is very secluded.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE