Member reviews of University of Sussex

  • 32197's avatar by 32197 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The vibe , community, and support you get in the University of Sussex is incredible. You don't feel too stressed out and at the same time you have an array of opportunities to partake in outside the classroom.
    University:
    University bars are great, and there alot of places to grab a coffee or food on campus.
    Course:
    Tutors are highly dedicated in wanting you to succeed; this means providing support outside of office hours in order to ensure you have your queries attended to. The course definitely provides an international scope and the modules are relevant.
    Location:
    The University is situated right in the middle of some incredible natural parks, where you are a minute away from having an incredible view for a picnic.
    Accommodation:
    I had a lot of insects in my room, which I am aware is not necessarily the university's fault. Newer accommodation was great, but the older one sometimes lacked adequate social space such as Park Village.
    Settling in:
    I was able to settle quite quickly due to the positive community Sussex has where everyone is really friendly.
  • DDevine98's avatar by DDevine98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Alright
    University:
    Meh
    Course:
    Meh
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    Shit
    Settling in:
    Just did
  • CalMax's avatar by CalMax on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Everything has been perfect except the housing and construction issues as well as timetable problems
    University:
    There are many things to do here including the gym, hundreds of societies and they have a library which provides thousands of books
    Course:
    My timetable is all over the place with no structure and some lessons aren’t on it which means we have to sort it with paperwork, however the content of all the modules is perfect for biomed and covers a range of topics.
    Location:
    It is near a city however it’s at a smaller town outside to keep a peaceful atmosphere
    Accommodation:
    I’ve been given the new East Slope housing, however there is constant appliance breakages, the alarm systems keep going off and to get here we have to walk around construction sites increasing 15 minutes of walking up hill.
    Settling in:
    This Univirsity has been very open and welcoming and settling in was easier then expected
  • Islander247's avatar by Islander247 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It is a lovely University, the campus is beautiful and the quality of the course i take is high. The staff are very approachable and the Student Union is great.
    University:
    The Library is amazing however i feel it isn't big enough to cope with the amount of students. The main shop available (Co-Op) is tiny but it has pretty much everything you might need.
    Course:
    The tutors and lecturers all seem very approachable and respond very quickly to any inquiry you may have. The contact hours are quite small, which I like because i prefer to study independently.
    Location:
    It's kind of in the middle of nowhere. But it is right next to the South Downs so for people who like to get out and about it is fun, and the views are amazing.
    Accommodation:
    The location was excellent as it was only ten minutes away from campus however there was always maintenance issues, especially with water. But the housing office always responded quite quickly to these issues.
    Settling in:
    There is a huge amount of different societies available and many services offered to help you with any issue you may have. It was quite intimidating at first but once you start to get to know people, everything becomes a lot easier
  • mollmack's avatar by mollmack on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    So much to do and see, even if you don't live on campus, it is still great.
    University:
    Campus is so nice, lots to do day and night, 3 bars and a few cafes. 24/7 library and my specific course building is open 24/7 for people in my School too so its nice to be able to work there whenever.
    Course:
    I roughly have about 14 contact hours a week, 6 of these being film screenings so it really isn't too much work load. Tutors all seem really friendly and approachable.
    Location:
    20-30 min bus into Brighton, a 9 min train... 50 mins from London.. it's perfect. Also, it is situated right on the South Downs National Park.. amazing really.
    Accommodation:
    I live in Lewes Court phase 1 (non en-suite) I enjoy my accommodation, there are weekly cleaners to clean the communal areas and for the price I pay (£119 a week) in such a close location to Brighton, I really can't complain.
    Settling in:
    The Student's Union really did go above and beyond to help everyone feel welcome. Couldn't fault them at all.
  • emilywong98's avatar by emilywong98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoy studying at Sussex as its a nice area and the teaching is good.
    University:
    There are a large number of societies that you can joins theres something for everyone. Also the sports facilities are quite good. The library is a nice space but there could be more study spaces. There are a few shops but the Coop is quite expensive.
    Course:
    The course modules seem well rounded and the lecturers are very passionate and knowledgable. The module contents make sense and are applicable to area of study. But the timetable could be arranged better
    Location:
    It's a nice area as there's lots of green spaces. Also its not too far from the city centre and there lots of transport links
    Accommodation:
    There is a good range of prices for student accommodation and the locations are ideal, not too far away. The quality could be better in some housing but overall it was good. There could be more on campus accommodation for all students
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly and my housemates were lovely. Also people are friendly and it was easy to make friends.
  • notonlyme's avatar by notonlyme on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Course content is fantastic, teaching is a bit dodgy. Marks can seem a bit arbitrary at times. University as a campus is fantastic in terms of location and provisions but too expensive. Welfare team are more than I could have ever hoped for. Simply improving teaching quality for a select few teachers and improving the marking criteria would make it 5*.
    University:
    In terms of what is offered, pretty good. Library is fantastic, just too small. Coop is well stocked but very expensive. Can’t fault the sports centers. Students union is a bit politics based but does run good events.
    Course:
    Timetabling is very flexible, as is the course structure - can choose a lot of module options. Teaching is of extremely high quality in some incidents (head of geography especially), however more questionable in others, particularly when seminar tutors are simply masters/PhD students. Feedback not very timely but often of good quality. Other times though it seemed our marks were a bit arbitrarily given. Overall though the course content itself is really excellent, hence the 4*.
    Location:
    So near Brighton and London, near Gatwick too for easy ways to get home. Yet also is nestled within the South Downs so has plenty of countryside. Probably the best thing about the uni! Only downside is being so close to London is its easy for everyone to go home at weekends so can be a bit lonely.
    Accommodation:
    Quality wise, the accommodation is some of the best especially since East slope is knocked down. If you can afford the more expensive accommodation it is fantastic, the cheaper ones not great (and only if you’re a firm offer holder). Insurance holders etc often can’t get accommodation but this is changing. A bit pricey but fantastic location.
    Settling in:
    Lots on offer, plenty of societies, independence is great. Fantastic freshers week. Only reason why it’s not 5* was due to my individual experience with my flat mates. Can’t fault the uni on this one.
  • alr2202's avatar by alr2202 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s alright
    University:
    So many societies to join, people to meet and things to do
    Course:
    It’s a good intro to neuroscience in first year and then you start to solidify and add to your knowledge. It’s relaxed but a little less hands on then we had hoped.
    Location:
    Near Brighton but not too close! Everything is on one campus so it’s really convenient. Next to Stanmer park so has Nice views. Also on a bus route which is ideal!
    Accommodation:
    Mine was Stanmer court. Not the best but near the sports centre which was handy for me since I played badminton 3 times a week
    Settling in:
    It’s an enjoyable experience
  • Caitlinjane12345's avatar by Caitlinjane12345 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    5 star, could hardly fault it
    University:
    has all the services you would ever need, gym, church, supermarket, over 100 societies, bars and clubs, many cafes and loads of garden space to enjoy.
    Course:
    quality of the university is high in all areas, the facilities are all modern with loads of opportunities available even to first year students.
    Location:
    surrounded by the beautiful stammer park and other Brighton attractions, runs parallel to the train station and has very frequent buses into other areas of Brighton for above first year students and off campus housing
    Accommodation:
    All housing is safe and satisfactory but cheaper on campus accommodation has a high bathroom sharing ratio, up to 6 people for one bathroom and no communial areas.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week helped with settling in and introductory courses in IT and the library help you get to grips with the university lifestyle and make the first few weeks of lectures less of a struggle
  • kirstyjanette's avatar by kirstyjanette on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The uni care about us and lectures are taught by passionate lecturers. Good food available on campus as well as a coop and a train station right next to it.
    University:
    Not much to do during the day but overall pretty good
    Course:
    The lectures are either very spaced out or altogether. I have one 1hr lecture on a monday, 3hrs in between lectures on a tuesday but 11-6 on a thursday and friday.
    Location:
    Near brighton and near to home
    Accommodation:
    Location is really nice and I know the area so it’s no more expensive than where I live nearby
    Settling in:
    Took a couple weeks to settle in but after that was fine
  • eternal_student1's avatar by eternal_student1 on 10th April 2018
    Overall:
    A really great place to live and study.
    University:
    Well its near Brighton what more can I say? a true party town.
    Course:
    The LLM in International Law was a fascinating insight in to the world of the international norms and political discourse. Thoroughly recommend Sussex Law School and the LLM.
    Location:
    Green campus location just outside Brighton
    Accommodation:
    Live off campus on Kings Road, right on the sea front in the university halls, brilliant location and easy access to the beach and the rest of Brighton.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly place where tutors actually care about their students and the subjects they teach.
  • summer1311's avatar by summer1311 on 17th May 2017
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed university at Sussex, I recommend it to incoming students, especially if you fancy a uni a bit more laid back and socially conscious. Brighton and UoS are both pretty left leaning, and I've really enjoyed being around people who care so much about other people and making a difference.
    University:
    Lots of cool societies and clubs to join (I recommend sussex snow if you want a great night out but dont want to commit to a sports team), loads of events going on all the time including bake sales, protests, coffee meetings, big events, small events, you name it, its happening. Night life is great in Brighton, although not cheap unless its a student deal/night. Pubs in Brighton are great and East Slope and Falmer bar are both great bars on campus. The deli next to falmer bar is brilliant. Library gets v busy around exam period.
    Course:
    I have really enjoyed my modules, some have been more challenging than others. My contact hours are pretty low so the course is good if you can motivate yourself well. The teachers are helpful. The lectures are usually informative but the seminars always are.
    Location:
    Its not exaclty in Brighton but its not too far from it, the buses run all the time, as does the train service. Takes less than an hour to get to London (if Southern Rail are working). I really love living in Brighton, and have explored far more in second year as I live in town. Takes me about 25 mins to get to campus by bus.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation (Lewes court) was good, we had a few plumbing issues which were sorted relatively quickly. My housemates were great- we had some issues with washing up but who doesn't. It wasn't cheap but compared to Brighton prices it was reasonable, the location was good, although getting the night bus back from brighton after a night out can be a bit long.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite well, I made friends with my housemates and went to a few introduction lectures etc which helped. I wouldve settled in quicker if I had joined a sports team in first year, rather than second.
  • brookoliver's avatar by brookoliver on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    If you want to go to a university where both private and public school kids can get along, where you won't be judged for who you are, do whatever you want to do, then Sussex is pretty great. The nightlife can get a little monotone but once you find your place it's completely fine.
    University:
    Everything is great, the staff are cheery meaning everyone is happy. The facilities are all great though when it comes to the co-op on campus it is a complete ripoff. What arsehole decided to put the most expensive co-op in the country on our campus? And considering our campus is an annoying distance from any other supermarkets, we end up spending £1.80 on a fucking loaf of bread!
    Course:
    Too many 9ams! Though in all seriousness, we have a couple of nonsense modules which are generally quite annoying, the lecturers are great and will do all they must to get you through. Feedback is quite non-existent considering the only work you get marked is assessments.
    Location:
    Right by Brighton, but obviously would rather it be in the city.
    Accommodation:
    I live in East Slope, it costs £86 a week and is complete and utter crap. Holes in the walls and ceilings, water, both hot and cold is constantly shut off and my mattress has a red stain on it... Though I wouldn't pick anywhere else!
    Settling in:
    Definitely just to do with the type of people that attend Sussex, we're all on the same wavelength.
  • kerryjames48's avatar by kerryjames48 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    A welcoming university with very good facilities
    University:
    Lovely campus and useful services
    Course:
    Good time table and helpful tutors, detailed feedback. Could improve student-tutor communication outside of contact hours
    Location:
    Brighton has the same issues that any city would have but still a lovely location.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is expensive and appears to be randomly allocated. I required an ensuit and applied for all ensuit halls yet was given shared bathroom accommodation
    Settling in:
    I had little trouble settling in and made friends quickly
  • MGibbo's avatar by MGibbo on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The location, the facilities and the nightlife is why Sussex is an amazing university. However I personally feel the teaching does not meet academic standards and there is not a diversity of course topicswith each subject.
    University:
    The clubs and societies are numerous and welcoming, so many to choose from, there is literally something for anybody! Campus facilities for food is optional with two bar/pubs, numerous cafés, however only one co-op supermarket- but useful as co-op has late opening times. The library facilities, apart from being overcrowded in peak exam times, are the best thing about the university.
    Course:
    Course structure and how the lessons are spaced on my timetable is really useful and allows me to have a part-time job on the side. However, there is a lack of quality in the teaching and feedback from the teachers has proved to be contradictory and very unhelpful
    Location:
    Best of both worlds. Train links to London, student nights from Monday through to Friday, great atmosphere, beautiful city, stroll along the pier, always an event in town at the weekend- lively and unique city
    Accommodation:
    Brighton is the most expensive place to live outside of London, and this is not taken into account with Student Finance (as London have a higher loan.) having said that, Brighton is an amazing city, even if bills and rent costs an average £470-500 a month, the city makes it somewhat worth it.
    Settling in:
    Did not take long to settle in as first year/ freshers year is the best experience for making new and lifelong friends, or even housemates you never want to see again- all part of the learning experience!
  • ReeceCordell1's avatar by ReeceCordell1 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Different, tough at times but a good experience
    University:
    Comfortable
    Course:
    Tough course with a lot of contact time
    Location:
    Great student lifestyle
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, but nice place to live
    Settling in:
    Everyone will miss home comforts
  • PugDevil's avatar by PugDevil on 26th July 2016
    Overall:
    I would really recommend the University of Sussex - it may not be a Russell Group university, but it is still up there in the quality of life that it provides in my opinion. The accommodation is good and Brighton is a really enjoyable city, as something is always going on there. My only complaint is with my course as I felt that sometimes the lecturers would just read from a PowerPoint, but I feel as though this is common at most universities.
    University:
    I have no complaints about the life on campus, it has everything that you need and more. Having a Co-op on campus is nice, although it should be noted that it is for convenience and this reflects on the prices sometimes. There are plenty of cafes on campus too if you ever need a quick snack.
    Course:
    I have barely any complaints about the university and I have had a really enjoyable experience. I would have given it five stars, but there were a few things that have annoyed me, albeit minor things.
    Location:
    It was really nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Brighton and there are some great walks close by, where you can explore the countryside. Brighton is a great city though and it has everything that you would want, as well the sea side - who could complain with that!
    Accommodation:
    I had a bit of a strange experience when I first moved in to my halls as it had an infestation, but it was dealt with pretty quickly. I was located in Lewes Court and although it is an ageing building, it was still good enough. Any problems that we reported to the porter was dealt with as soon as possible, and we even had a cleaner that helped keep our ensuite and kitchen clean. The rent wasn't that bad as my student loan covered it, but we were paying almost as much as Northfield, which I felt was a bit better.
    Settling in:
    This section is probably a bit subjective as it depends on your experience, however I felt that everyone was really friendly and the university held events to try and encourage you to mix with others and settle down quickly.
  • dandancirelli's avatar by dandancirelli on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great Campus, not too far from the city.
    University:
    Great facilities offered to students
    Course:
    Challenging, well organised but lots of help available
    Location:
    Great off campus site, very well linked with public transport
    Accommodation:
    Expensive compared to other areas but very high standards
    Settling in:
    Great student community and SU, all staff friendly
  • IrishLettuce's avatar by IrishLettuce on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fab. Its very friendly and smart, with a wonderful location and easy access to surrounding areas.
    University:
    There is something to do most of the time, however, a 24/7 bar/shop/cafe on campus would be useful
    Course:
    I really enjoy the content, and it's put across in an interesting way, even in the modules I previously wasn't interested in.
    Location:
    Brighton is amazing. Stamner park is amazing. I love everything to do with the entire area.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable in a lovely location (Kings Road) but there were multiple maintainance issues to begin with, including windows which dont shut/lock properly, that still haven't been fixed.
    Settling in:
    I feel really comfortable in Brighton, and theres usually plenty to do on campus. I expected it to be more difficult as an off campus student, but I've fir in really well with the societies.
  • Fraser18's avatar by Fraser18 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Sussex is such a nice place to be and you really feel at home quickly, you can feel like you're in the countryside in seconds with Stanmer Park and the Sussex landscapes around, but also have a 20 minute bus journey into Brighton which makes you feel like you're in a busy city.
    University:
    Campus is really nice although some services could be a bit more student-targeted, like the price of food etc.
    Course:
    I like the majority of my modules but there are certain aspects such as "Personal and Academic Skills" seminars which are obligatory for foundation year students which I see as a waste of time.
    Location:
    Brighton is great for nightlife and the countryside around Sussex is incredible
    Accommodation:
    The location is amazing however there've been a few issues like mould in the shower, lights not working, and we were missing an oven when we moved in etc.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly and now see my room as home
  • EllClapp's avatar by EllClapp on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing so far
    University:
    Lovely place to be, good nightlife but there's still an option to shut your door and escape from it all. All services apart from a large supermarket are provided on campus.
    Course:
    Lovely lecturers, small seminar groups, timetable is spread well but I'd like a few more hours
    Location:
    Lovely setting beside the South Downs yet just a bus/train ride away into Brighton Centre.
    Accommodation:
    Good on campus location, affordable, possibly could do with some refurbishment in the future but good overall.
    Settling in:
    It's amazing!
  • Goredakt 's avatar by Goredakt on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Fun
    Course:
    Interesting lectures
    Location:
    Easy access but away from busy life
    Accommodation:
    Crap housing
    Settling in:
    Easy going lifestyle
  • shadowshy's avatar by shadowshy on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A very good and welcoming experience overall. Lots of international students here which is great for meeting and making friends of all kinds of new people.
    University:
    I couldn't give this 5 stars because I haven't explored the nightlife but I find the library really comfortable, the sports centre very efficient (offering a range of sports and facilities) and the clubs/societies plentiful. I think it is quite important to keep up to date with clubs/societies on Facebook. With regard to shopping, there is only one mini-mart (Co-Op) and I think that this fact is taken full advantage of (a big tub of Haribo was selling for
    Course:
    Well organised and is easing us into the content gradually.
    Location:
    Excellent location: best of both worlds. Brighton nightlife a short bus ride away and Sussex Downs national park on our doorstep. I love looking out onto the woods and surrounding grass from my window and our kitchen; sometimes we can see wild deer or rabbits!
    Accommodation:
    There were/are some issues (leaking tap, bathroom light not working) but the accommodation overall is a really nice area. I really miss my car though! It is a 15-20 minute walk to the sports centre. However it is good that the uni is eco-friendly.
    Settling in:
    The Dig In box was a really nice touch as it was a comforting and welcoming surprise to arrive to. Flatmates are friendly and freshers week was a good opportunity to get over the phase of getting lost or confused while exploring the uni. The map came in very handy and a few students/staff were kind enough to ask me if I needed help with directions.
  • TobyParker's avatar by TobyParker on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend Sussex to any student regardless of where you are from but especially for students from more urbanized city who will appreciate the relatively relaxed nature of the site and the beauty of the surrounding areas.
    University:
    I feel like there is something on campus for all of my needs, from food to hobbies and quiet spaces to read etc.
    Course:
    Lectures are very interesting and in some cases interactive, while most seminars involve engaging with deep historical inquiries. I am happy with all of my modules!
    Location:
    Simply perfect - access to both the rural areas of the South Downs and the bustling life of Brighton!
    Accommodation:
    In terms of location, Sussex is exceptional for its proximity to the South Downs National Park and the whole area of Brighton is very modern and nice. Accommodation is easily affordable especially with Sussex's First Generation Scholar Scheme. The quality of accommodation is average as the buildings need modernizing but overall, student housing is very nice.
    Settling in:
    I have a really down to earth, friendly group of housemates and although I didn't need it, there were many contacts in the uni itself who I could have turned to for support.
  • magray's avatar by magray on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    good enough
    University:
    societies okey, gym small, library ok
    Course:
    Lecturers were very good
    Location:
    It is quiet place in a valley but not very far from the beach and town centre.
    Accommodation:
    old not furnished
    Settling in:
    House mates were horrible. untidy.
  • Silencion's avatar by Silencion on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    A brilliant university that's as good as most Russell group unis. Situated in some genuinely beautiful countryside.
    University:
    Everything I need is here, wouldn't need to leave campus if I didn't want too
    Course:
    Genuinely interesting modules with lecturers that know what they are talking about.
    Location:
    Surrounding area is beautiful, don't like having to get a long bus ride into town for shopping/nights out
    Accommodation:
    Nicely spaced rooms, shared facilities are of good quality and clean.
    Settling in:
    Felt like home from day 2
  • Akel4uk's avatar by Akel4uk on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni, great location, expensive halls, extortionate if you want en suite
    University:
    Lovely uni, So many clubs
    Course:
    Really interesting modules
    Location:
    Brighton is fab
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive for out of London, bathrooms and kitchen grotty
    Settling in:
    Had to get used to sharing a tiny kitchen with 12 people
  • kathryn.a910's avatar by kathryn.a910 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 so far, only issue is having a lecture/seminar every day and therefore having to pay parking even if only there for an hour
    University:
    Much better than college, feels more adult
    Course:
    Subject is interesting and taught well
    Location:
    It's between the South Downs and the sea, but the road to it often has congestion issues
    Accommodation:
    N/A as I live off campus
    Settling in:
    Because the uni was local to me I had visited before
  • Amberrj1's avatar by Amberrj1 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would highly recommend this university I don't have a single complain the course teachers and people have all been amazing
    University:
    Everything about it is amazing
    Course:
    Apart from early mornings the timetable is well spaces and the moduels are easy to handle
    Location:
    Quite annoying to commute to Brighton but I love to campus so it's worth it
    Accommodation:
    I received my first choice accommodation and not only is it spacious but it's clean and stunning.
    Settling in:
    I settled in straight away
  • warmzucchini's avatar by warmzucchini on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very high, amazing uni and lovely location.
    University:
    Friendly student support and kind lecturers!
    Course:
    Enjoyable course and kind teachers.
    Location:
    Brighton is such an amazing city, lovely coastline and helpful people!
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive but very nice housing.
    Settling in:
    Good student union events and parties helped settle in.
  • ab656's avatar by ab656 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Because it has so much to offer, so much academic help, its in a fantastic town. And the campus is beautiful
    University:
    There are so many societies, and every wednesday every department gives the afternoon off to dedicate time to said societies
    Course:
    The staff help so much, theres always support, theres student study spaces that are 24hours just for our department. The library has an insane amount of resources and the advisors for academia are incredibly supportive.
    Location:
    Brighton is such a unique vibrant city with so much to offer
    Accommodation:
    It was always cleaned regularly, and the people i lived with were fantastic. Geographically close to lecture halls and co-op and the local bar.
    Settling in:
    The transition made by the uni was great since there was always residential advisors checking everything ran smoothly
  • Motorbiker 's avatar by Motorbiker on 12th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good.
    University:
    Good gym with decent Powerlifting equipment.
    Course:
    I enjoyed the course.
    Location:
    Beautiful area just outside of Brighton. I
    Accommodation:
    Expensive as Brighton is an expensive area. I
    Settling in:
    I have no frame of reference.
  • Stulaw's avatar by Stulaw on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Good, but only because I made it good for myself, when you're at Uni you have to try to do things for yourself otherwise you won't get anything out of it. My course should be named Computer Science with Games and Multimedia or something, because that what it is and it looks better on C.Vs, and some of the stuff we learned wasn't the best practices for making video games. It's also expensive to live there, in my final year I had to arrange an overdraft for the first time in my whole life because my Student loan (about 3k for the entire year) and part time job wouldn't even cover the costs of living in East Slope, but if you get quite a nice loan, it's plenty. The Co-op on campus is such a rip off it really should only be used if you're desperate, otherwise even a trip to a supermarket in Brighton, travel expenses included would be a far cheaper option, or just order from Asda, their delivery isn't always the best though. Overall though, I don't regret going to Sussex, it's a nice Uni for the most part and the people I met there were some of the best people I've met in my life so far with the social aspect being great, and Falmer being a great place to be situated in.
    University:
    Facilities, like the library and sports centres were pretty good, I've give them 5 and 4 stars each. But who the heck decided to have a co-operative at the Uni? seriously that's way too expensive for the average student. Also, there were too many loony left wingers striking about things when they didn't even know what they were talking about. Societies were generally good, had a run in with some obnoxious people in the Video games society and decided not to stick with that. The Anime and Manga Society was the best group of people outside of my friends from my course, and the pubs on campus were great with good prices.
    Course:
    Some of the courses were great, others weren't, with them seeming to be unrelated to the degree's name, which is also terrible. Timetables were fine though, and some of the teaching was good.
    Location:
    It's a nice place out in the countryside and not far from Brighton, which is a nice city to visit and live in. The actual countryside itself is fantastic being the Sussex downs, and I went exploring in my free time to clear my head.
    Accommodation:
    Almost everything was great, I lived in both East Slope and Brighthelm during my time there. It is a bit too expensive though, and the rooms in East Slope get really cold.
    Settling in:
    This isn't really a good measurement since I settle into places fast.
  • Dean12345's avatar by Dean12345 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Everything you could need.
    Course:
    It's a good course however you'd expect it too give you skills to apply in a real life business. However, after setting up a business of my own, it became apparent that the basic skills I've learnt in accounting, marketing, management and so on have only given me an understand and not much more. What I feel a good business course should leave you with is fundimental knowledge where you can enter any business and show capability to adapt based upon this knowledge to become an asset and I don't feel this has been achieved to date. But hey, there's still a year left!
    Location:
    Good location. In the country, proximate to town centre
    Accommodation:
    It was a great quality building. Everything worked, bills paid accounted in the price and there was other facilities which made it ideal. Having said that, it was expensive, regardless of bills being included. Being in the south that is forgivable so I rated it 4 out of 5. Also it wasn't the most sociable of spaces and was a little walk away from the centre of campus.
    Settling in:
    I loved starting University. I'm from a small village and went to a small school and an small sixth form. This was my first time being in a place where I didn't know anyone and could meet as many people as possible in such a short space of time. The first month of University was up there with the best time of my life.
  • ol43's avatar by ol43 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Just offers so much, and helps you find your potential
    University:
    good societies, some good clubs, library is fantastic
    Course:
    I have learnt so much, fantastic lecturers, modules, students
    Location:
    Brighton is the best. Don't ever want to leave.
    Accommodation:
    my accommodation was cosy, but overpriced
    Settling in:
    atmospheric campus life with a bar and socials, and societies, pushes you to take part and meet people
  • Alicelouise103 (lower case a)'s avatar by Alicelouise103 (lower case a) on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendliness and beautiful campus. Brighton is a great city to live in.
    University:
    Lots to do. Easy to get involved, other students very friendly.
    Course:
    Good course, tutors + lecturers make things interesting + respond quickly. Marking is fair and quick. Small contact hours though. Would prefer more lectures per week. Not keen on seminars/tutorials so don't mind their infrequency. Overall, good course with lots of module choices available.
    Location:
    Close to beach, city centre + situated in beautiful countryside. Very good transport links.
    Accommodation:
    Good location to get to uni. Close to bus and train services. Student landlords like to rip you off. Mould situation at previous property took a while to get sorted, as did getting back our deposit.
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming environment. Lots to do and made good friends quickly. Uni is within hour + a half drive from home so not too far anyway.
  • /'s avatar by / on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    8/10, it is a really brilliant uni, although there have been a few issues the course is good and the lecturers are all friendly. It is so close to Brighton and it is so cheap to travel there you will find yourself spending a lot of time wandering around Brighton due to how wonderful it is being right by the beach.
    University:
    There are lots of good societies to join which are free to join, there are really good sports facilities and sport groups for all different sports. There is a big library and two bars on campus as well as various cafes which are all reasonably priced although the co-op situated on campus is quite expensive especially for student shopping.
    Course:
    Its very good and offers a lot of support with workshops for each section of the course avaliable
    Location:
    It is a couple minute train journey and a 20 minute bus ride away from Brighton which is such a beautiful place and it is so close to the seafront.
    Accommodation:
    As it is a good price and my room is quite big, and toilets and kitchen stay mostly clean considering they are being shared between twelve people, although when I first moved in there were some problems with my room which got dealt with at reasonable speed.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly and I really liked my room, although it still took me a few weeks to still feel at home and settle in.
  • Moylesd's avatar by Moylesd on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's fantastic so far,
    University:
    The have so much going on, it's hard to try and do everything that you want to do
    Course:
    It's great contact hours with fantastic support for working outside of these hours
    Location:
    Beautiful location, in the national park
    Accommodation:
    It's lovely accommodation, large living area and great view
    Settling in:
    It took me about a day to get used to it, after finding my way around and meeting all the lovely people it felt like home
  • mawwiee's avatar by mawwiee on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    chilled out vibes nice people
    University:
    pretty grim but so fun
    Course:
    Hasnt been long enough yet to give 5/5
    Location:
    I like being out of the city at uni as there are less distractions and feels safer
    Accommodation:
    Mould in kitchen caused housemate to get infection
    Settling in:
    off campus so harder to make friends
  • I don't know what that is's avatar by I don't know what that is on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Good facilities, helpful people, interesting societies, good sports clubs
    Course:
    Not as interesting as I thought but it's not too bad.
    Location:
    Right next to Brighton town (shopping centre)
    Accommodation:
    Decent location, right next to the bus and train station and a 5 minute walk to the actual university
    Settling in:
    Met some really nice people
  • Jesskraft's avatar by Jesskraft on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I couldn't think of any place I would rather study than Sussex
    University:
    Everything is well provided and accessible
    Course:
    I absolutely love the enthusiasm shown by my lecturers and it greatly affects my learning
    Location:
    Close enough to town, however would be handy if buses were cheaper
    Accommodation:
    No response given
    Settling in:
    Lots of alcohol and lovely people
  • ClaraSiobhan's avatar by ClaraSiobhan on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent choice university with a friendly feel and good academic track record.
    University:
    The library is absolutely huge and updated and is such a comfortable place to study in which makes it so much easier to work. There are bars and shops on campus so you never feel lonely or bored and the welfare provision is excellent with very well trained staff. There are over 200 societies and so many sports clubs so I found lots of things to get involved in (mainly dance).
    Course:
    My course has an evenly structured timetable and there is a good choice of modules to pick from. Also the professors are very willing to give one on one feedback and advice and are very good at engaging students.
    Location:
    Being in the middle of the downs it's extremely pretty and safe but Brighton only 15 minutes away with great night life and a beautiful pier makes it extremely ideal and appealing to go out in. It is also a very short train away from London making it ideal to go to open days in the city and 30 minutes from Gatwick which made it very accessible for me to go home.
    Accommodation:
    I was sharing with 5 other people which was a perfect number and we had plenty of space in our common area. My room was very spacious and my ensuite was very clean and the campus is in the middle of the downs which makes it a beautiful place to go for walks and picnics. It is only 15 minutes away from Brighton centre which is a great place to go out in the day and night so I really did have the best of both worlds.
    Settling in:
    There is such a range of students at the university (British and international) so everyone is extremely friendly. It was very easy to make friends both in my halls and within my course and whenever I had problems the Student Life Centre had excellent personnel who were always there to help in any way I needed.
  • jrphollands's avatar by jrphollands on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    100%
    University:
    The support I need is offered, and the student's union is proactive in listening to student's needs and wants. Further development is occurring within the welfare aspects of the university and should be up and running in the next few years.
    Course:
    The chemistry department focusses on individual progress and development because the year groups are so small. You are not lost in your cohort; you are not just a number which happens with a lot of other courses. The teaching is exceptional, and I would place this course highest over Oxford University and Cambridge University. The content taught in first year not only beings everyone up to the same level, but is the equivalent of second and third year courses in the same subject at other universities.
    Location:
    Sussex is located on the outskirts of Brighton, so you get the rural landscape which is very relaxing. The buses are so frequent and inexpensive, meaning you are really so close to the lively hustle and bustle of a fantastic city.
    Accommodation:
    I have been very lucky with accommodation. It is of excellent quality, the flat shares are set out in such a way which makes you able to easily find like-minded people outside of your course. they also give you sufficient privacy, particularly the ensuite rooms. There are a variety of choices of accommodation, with different environments, which gives the choice to those with any specific wants or needs.
    Settling in:
    I am not one for the events in Fresher's week, which gives you chances to go out and drink to meet more people. Yet, when I was placed in halls, I requested for a quiet flat, and I found I formed very close friendships throughout my first year. This helped support the transition into higher education because I felt a sense of belonging amongst very open-minded individuals.
  • mhn70's avatar by mhn70 on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    if their high priority for them is not education this university design for them because in terms of education this uni is very weak
    University:
    i find too many friend here
    Course:
    their timetable management is worst than i think and some module is useless like research and marking is unfair
    Location:
    the town is good
    Accommodation:
    their accommodation is so old except north field and when something broken it take long time to they fix it.
    Settling in:
    i have too many problem with the staff for example when i check out my room i see the closet's door has been broken and the staff are going to fix it so i just put my stuff in my room then i leave the room for them to fix it but when i came back i see the door is not fixed then when i left my room they said you broken the closet's door
  • Appleblossom27's avatar by Appleblossom27 on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    4**
    University:
    I enjoyed my time at Sussex
    Course:
    The uni had strong features but some needed and still need improvement
    Location:
    Brighton is a fantastic place to be in with lots to do for everyone!
    Accommodation:
    Prices keep going up every year!
    Settling in:
    I settled in fairly easy
  • Tank Girl's avatar by Tank Girl on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    I'm so glad I went to Sussex Uni- it really shaped me as a person and I spent 3 years working hard (and playing harder!).
    University:
    There's lots going on and the campus is a nice feeling environment. There's a few shops on campus for essentials. Library is well equipped and the gym is pretty standard.
    Course:
    The course is really varied and interesting. Contact hours with tutors are low, but if you're proactive and make appointments to discuss work, then tutors are ore than happy to accommodate.
    Location:
    Brighton's a great city, with loads going on- it's about 20 mins away from the city via bus. The campus might not be for everyone- but you're on edge of the south downs, so you kind of get the best of both worlds.
    Accommodation:
    There's something for everyone. I lived in Lewes Court, and the accommodation was well kept- but a bit dated.
    Settling in:
    Loads of stuff is put on by the union at the beginning of term, and I was given lots of information about where to go if you needed help.
  • GuppyFox's avatar by GuppyFox on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great campus and is always friendly and useful. Accommodation is a bit naff but it depends where you get as you can get some nice flats, or make the most with what you have.
    University:
    It's great, but can get lonely if you aren't friendly with everyone - not a lot of independant things to do.
    Course:
    It's good and has a good balance of contact time and outside work. Could be improved as some of the lecturers are a bit rubbish (mumbly), however some are absolutely brilliant. Good mix of assessment styles.
    Location:
    It's close to Brighton but it is quite a bus journey at times into town, but the campus is beautiful and has most of the things you need on-site.
    Accommodation:
    Park Village was falling apart, I was paired with people that ended up being not very nice and loud. Fire alarms never worked the whole time and they didn't do anything about it. Location was nice as it was close to everything in campus and had nice surroundings. Bike got stolen from outside the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take long, but then again I never felt truly settled.
  • pauly9090's avatar by pauly9090 on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's super sociable and campus is great, but the course has some faults and the accommodation is 50% luxury, 50% kinda terrible
    University:
    Top notch night life, amazing library, loads of societies, great gyms for low cost, SUPERB "less advantaged" student support grants and bursaries
    Course:
    It's very thorough and you can study whatever modules you like, but lacks some specialisations
    Location:
    Brighton is amazing and the campus itself has everything you need, but it's so SO far from town, nothing but motorways within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was definitely subpar, it was extremely sociable which was a huge benefit, but the actual housing was very poor
    Settling in:
    I got comfortable away from home very quickly, the uni is very accommodating
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a really good experience, the good by far outweigh the bad, in my opinion and staff and other students really help out and make it enjoyable. Mental Health Support is brilliant as well, making the transition to staying here so much easier.
    University:
    Shopping on campus is horrendous - the queues span the entire circumference of the shop sometimes, but it is affordable. Access to sport/fitness activities, and the library are really good (except when the servers are down), the student union are really helpful and are really open to suggestions. Welfare is brilliant - they really help when needed and are easily accessible - the doctors are really busy though but probably to be expected.
    Course:
    The timetable has very large gaps in it so having only two lectures on a day with one at 10am and one at 5pm can be quite annoying, and the lectures can drag on a bit if a lecturer is interested in a topic and goes completely off tangent, but otherwise the course structure, module content and quality of teaching and feedback are excellent.
    Location:
    There is easy access to both the beach, a park and shopping, but some things are difficult to find or are too far away to get to cheaply.
    Accommodation:
    A few issues have arisen with accommodation but the staff are very helpful in solving these issues. Also there is no glass recycling on site so we have to take glass recycling on a long walk to get rid of it.
    Settling in:
    It was really easy to meet other people in the same situation and being able to have my things made it seem less daunting. Also with the amount of support available, and the amazing quality of it, it feels more like home than home did.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Because the uni life is amazing
    Course:
    Its a good place to be and the location is good
    Location:
    Because the location is amazing
    Accommodation:
    It is reasonably priced area and the people are friendly
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly due the amazing people that are here
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good.
    University:
    I don't drink.
    Course:
    I love the course, but there are certain lecturers who aren't great and certain modules that aren't entirely relevant.
    Location:
    Centre of Brighton - great except when it's raining.
    Accommodation:
    I'm not in uni accommodation
    Settling in:
    I'm neurotic - I wouldn't have settled well anywhere.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Higher quality teaching more contacthours
    University:
    Good gay life
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    Seaside
    Accommodation:
    Housing
    Settling in:
    Long time
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's ok, the Uni could do much better considering its ranking
    University:
    Student union is not very active
    Course:
    education is good, but organization of academic calendar is horrendous especially for international students
    Location:
    Very far from town
    Accommodation:
    The housing is good, but the housing office didn't give me a room on campus even after I showed them my dr's note stating that I have a medical condition
    Settling in:
    The Uni had so many delays accommodating me
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd give the uni a solid 4. Just a few tweaks and would be perfect
    University:
    Student union isn't that good as there weren't a lot of freshers events but apart from that the atmosphere on campus is amazing
    Course:
    Fun intro to biology and chemistry. all basic knowledge
    Location:
    Close to the beach, clubs, home! it's great
    Accommodation:
    Some are good but some aren't that good
    Settling in:
    I feel like I've been here forever but at the same not so much. it's a weird feeling to describe
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great campus, great staff, great students, so much going on, brilliant course. But most of all they are always there to help.
    University:
    It's brilliant there is so much goin on but not enough time to do it all
    Course:
    It's an amazing course and the tutors are brilliant. But it was over subscribed so the lecture halls are over crowded and my seminar group has to be before the lecture because there were too many seminar groups. Also it focuses on lectures too much and not enough seminars. And the lectures are sometimes for 2 hours which I don't like.
    Location:
    It's in stammer park near brighton
    Accommodation:
    I'm staying in park village and there is no communal dining area or table in the flat. Also there is only 2 toilets and 2 showers for 12 people.
    Settling in:
    I have found it difficult balancing study, part time work and socialising
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly, great place to learn on campus and abroad as well as good nightlife
    University:
    Uni life is perfect and accommodating
    Course:
    The course explores parts I have never studied before such as the early modern world
    Location:
    While the campus is very nice it is quite far from the city
    Accommodation:
    While the accommodation is good it is quite expensive
    Settling in:
    It was quite easy settling in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent - The location, campus, course and overall city of Brighton are fantastic.
    University:
    There is an excellent selection of entertainment venues within close proximity to my accommodation.
    Course:
    I am currently enjoying the course (although still very early days) - I find some aspects challenging.
    Location:
    Brighton is a beautiful location with an excellent seafront and nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    I LOVE my university off campus accommodation. However, it takes a little longer than expected for any repairs etc.
    Settling in:
    Settled in extremely quickly - Enjoying the course and my flat mates.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    If your liberal minded and sociable, there is probably no place better than Sussex
    University:
    No, you really should come and check it out.
    Course:
    If you ever go, you'll know
    Location:
    Slightly outside of Brighton, but quick on bus or train and Brighton is amazing
    Accommodation:
    East Slope for the win! Super cheap, super sociable!
    Settling in:
    Everyone's in the same boat,, and if you're living with 11 others you're bound to get close sooner rather than later
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    going into my final year i feel like ive got to know most aspects of the uni and im very content with what the uni has offered me
    University:
    the uni services are always available and plentyful
    Course:
    i enjoy the course content & the teaching methods
    Location:
    sometimes the campus can be hard to get to during peak hours with busses being full however generally its easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    the uni accommodation was well run and managed with minimal hiccups
    Settling in:
    after a few expected teething problems i soon felt right at home due to the inclusive nature of sussex uni
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great uni and I'm so glad with my choice, I wouldn't have wanted this experience at another uni now that I'm here, I'm in my final year and I love Brighton and the uni more with every year that I'm back.
    University:
    There is nothing missing!
    Course:
    It's an interesting course with different subject areas such as literature, art, history, translation. It is taught very well.
    Location:
    Brighton is an amazing student city, and while it's nice that the university is away from the city, the bus is very expensive to get to and from campus/town.
    Accommodation:
    It seems (at least when I was first year and living on campus) that there was so much expensive housing and so much of the cheaper housing, but not much available of average rent cost.
    Settling in:
    It's a campus uni, very comfortable, Brighton is a great student city, and a lot of societies to get involved in.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good so far and friendly
    University:
    No freshers ball
    Course:
    Because there is good support
    Location:
    Easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Could be better
    Settling in:
    Lots of computers
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Sussex is an amazing experience university. Diverse and lively! The staff and friendly. You won't forget your time there.
    University:
    Amazing!
    Course:
    Each lecturer and seminar tutor has there own unique style of lecturing. The process of getting my timetable, course information and structure was an easy process.
    Location:
    Brighton was amazing. There was so much to do and so diverse.
    Accommodation:
    At the start it was affordable but towards the end of university, the price of accomodation soared. Whilst the quality stayed the same.
    Settling in:
    It took til the end of first year to feel like I was at home.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very vibrant, only 10 mins from the city by train, good campus and very friendly and helpful people
    University:
    Student life in my uni is amazing
    Course:
    Because everything's good
    Location:
    Very good campus although it is outside the city
    Accommodation:
    It is very good overall
    Settling in:
    Everyone is very friendly and I settled in really quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant lifestyle and amazing opportunities.
    University:
    Amazing living for clubs and student union involvement and the sports center.
    Course:
    The lecturers are all really friendly and helpful and passionate about the subject.
    Location:
    Central and near to good places.
    Accommodation:
    Good accomodation, some problems with appliances.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly and helpful
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    The experience cannot be measured. I was at first a shy timid man who would get picked on. Now, university helped me to become a confident guy and be able to talk to girls easily. The course(s) you choose even if it's foundation year is tough but it will help you in the real world environment, all you need to do is ask your professor or academic advisor and he'll help you!
    University:
    I tend to get bored when no events are on, as it's mostly dedicated to people to drink. But hey, you can get laid pretty easily since girls keep posting for horny people.
    Course:
    I undertook a foundation year, which is to help me progress to first year with ease since i didn't get the grades to go in first year directly. They taught me/us 1st year modules as well as year 2, the marking was harsher than 1st years which helps us alot to get better marks in 1st and onwards years. In addition to this, we had more coursework than others - though less exams. Which isn't the best to help us in 1st year. Though, many people have already done exams so were use to it.
    Location:
    The university is in Brighton, which - is the best for events, nature and life in general. Compared to London were people just walk past you without stopping and introducing them selfs
    Accommodation:
    Heating and electricity cut out last year in 2014 during december and january period. Luckily, they provided us heaters and our exam dates were delayed because of this.
    Settling in:
    I have never been the guy that "socializes". But they help it out by proving events to meet others as well as people on your course.
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    There are so many opportunities to enrich the experience and promote understanding of your course. Plenty if facilities and extra sources of help from academic to personal.
    University:
    It is what you make it, and I made it how I like it.
    Course:
    Variety of topics, helpful crossovers between modules. Everything is relevant and engaging.
    Location:
    Lovely surroundings (national park) close to transport links.
    Accommodation:
    All necessities were provided but maintenance was awful.
    Settling in:
    I'm independent and not a sissy...
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    this university is an up and coming university, it allows you to be your self and you can go into town
    University:
    amazing - partyinh
    Course:
    they were very last minute in giving information
    Location:
    there was a train station on campus with was amazing.
    Accommodation:
    very expensive accommodation and a limited amount.
    Settling in:
    it was easy with alot of frends
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It was amazing, and i'm not lying. The uni life is hard due to exams and seminar work and all that, but Brighton is just too amazing, If I could I would definitely come again to study here, but I'm to into building my career now, one of the best unis away from london.
    University:
    Not sure about clubs, but shopping students union, and the library is just amazing to go in and revise or relax, everything was easy accessible.
    Course:
    It was way better than my undergraduate course, amazing people on my course. Learnt so much as well as enjoyed it.
    Location:
    Perfect. Few stops away from Brighton churchill square, beautiful countryside, and the beach.
    Accommodation:
    I dont know much as i dint live at uni, but i heard from my friends that it was good.
    Settling in:
    Not straight away, but everyone I met made me felt like waking up in the morning to come into uni was worth it.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    don't enrol on a fashion course at croydon school of arts if you want to do well in life
    University:
    there isn't a uni life
    Course:
    the lack of organisation, staff, changes to briefs througout projects, staff leaving with no replacements, marked by our teachers and feel work should be marked by someone that doesn't know us and have likes and dislikes, teachers that lack the ability to teach and don't really care about us making it in the industry, lack of knowing how to do things going into the final year, bigger classes less staff...........not enough work space and tables for everyone.........
    Location:
    its local
    Accommodation:
    no student accommodation
    Settling in:
    they don't encourage us to work with each other
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Good city
    Course:
    It is everything I expected and feedback is great.
    Location:
    Brighton is nice but the campus is far from the city
    Accommodation:
    Good but can be expensive
    Settling in:
    It was homely
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, meeting lots of different people from all over the world and from different cultures, you learn new things. The course is fantastic and so much to get involved with.
    University:
    Lots of clubs and societies, as well as good studying facilities.
    Course:
    The course structure includes a wide range, and is taught in a good balance between lectures and seminars. With great teaching and good feedback and help.
    Location:
    It is in a beautiful campus with everything you need in one place, and with such beautiful trees and flowers. But you can still get to Brighton in 20 mins, and go to the beach etc.
    Accommodation:
    There is a wide range of accommodation it was very social, clean, good housekeeping.
    Settling in:
    Lots of things in place to make you feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would you rate my university experience overall as really good and would recommend to anyone. The campus is beautiful and close to one of the nicest cities in the South, Brighton. My course is also well laid out and taught.
    University:
    There are several groups and societies but the library is quite small and a little under-resourced. The student student support services, however, are fantastic.
    Course:
    The lecturers are clear and the content is very interesting.
    Location:
    Brighton is an amazing city to live in and the University is only 9 minutes by train! It is also a nice distance for freshers, as you can experience Brightonian life but return to the safety and quiet of campus easily
    Accommodation:
    I stayed at one of the lower priced accommodations but loved my time in halls. I met wonderful people while I was there and it was one of the best parts of the University Expirence
    Settling in:
    It took a few weeks, but the campus is really inclusive and homely. It also felt like a perfect halfway stage between living with my parents and independently in a city which I am grateful for.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The university is a lovely area but it very much depends on who your flatmates are.
    University:
    It was ok.
    Course:
    Not enough hours to cover what is needed. A lot of boring and pointless lectures/lecturers.
    Location:
    Annoying far from anything but close enough.
    Accommodation:
    Very bad affordability. Expensive and yet I had no heating or hot water for 3 weeks during the winter. Like living in a hotel.
    Settling in:
    I never settled in.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    really pleasant time, good course with good supervisors
    University:
    met all my demands
    Course:
    it met my demands
    Location:
    great location
    Accommodation:
    i visited some over the years, seemed ok
    Settling in:
    it took me around a few months
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, brilliant teaching and a lot to get up to.
    University:
    Lots to do and many bars / places to go.
    Course:
    Very good teaching and great professors.
    Location:
    Campus far from town but is easy to commute to and from
    Accommodation:
    Really clean and good location at a good price.
    Settling in:
    Fresher's events were very accommodating.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great location and good university, but kind of political.
    University:
    Brighton y'all.
    Course:
    Too much maths.
    Location:
    Brighton y'all.
    Accommodation:
    Good but expensive
    Settling in:
    Supportive family and nice flatmates
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good experience. I love my course and it's interesting. The lecturers are involved in current research fields and produce many papers. The campus is beautiful. The library is massive and have a large collection of academic materials with helpful staffs.
    University:
    Quite good experience. A lot of opportunities to take advantage of. Very good student union and other services like chaplaincies, sports societies, other socialise.
    Course:
    My lecturers are very approachable and available for help most of the time. They seems passionate about what they teach and try and encorporate their research into our course. I have decent amount of contact time and also help available from mentors outside lecture hours. Help materials are uploaded on student accessible university website timely.
    Location:
    The city of Brighton is very beautiful with the beach and other tourist attractions. The city also have many shops. The campus is located around a national park.
    Accommodation:
    The rent seemed to be too high to afford for students. The facilities available were good and repairs and complants were taken in to action usually with in the required time period.
    Settling in:
    I was able to settle down quute alright. Help was available from variety of sources. The town/city was nearby and transport was easily accessible.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I have had a great time, I was made to feel so welcome, there are lots of things to do and the course is fulfilling.
    University:
    SO MUCH FUN. Especially the freshers week. The facilities are on point and there is lots to do, I signed up to so many societies off the bat.
    Course:
    Its so much fun, I'm learning so many new things and my lecturers are super helpful.
    Location:
    The campus is not too far from Brighton but just enough away to not feel stifled.
    Accommodation:
    It's one of the cheapest, but in a quiter location so i don't have to associate too much with the partying. There are dryers and washing machines!
    Settling in:
    It was difficult and a bit of a culture shock, but i managed easily enough.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant experience overall. A good location and a campus based life which is a huge benefit when moving out for the first time. I would recommend sussex uni as a great experience. The business school is in need of a bit of a structural check in terms of modules and seminars and how they are run, but this will come in time!
    University:
    My uni life improved as I progressed through my course. You form bonds and make friends for life, having experiences and challenges together makes the uni life incomparable to anything else!
    Course:
    There is room for improvement in terms of feedback and quality of some modules on the course. Overall, it is a good course and covers a wide range of topics with the option to specialise in certain business areas, but there is a need for some improvement.
    Location:
    Great location in terms of being near a station with easy transport options, being just outside brighton was a benefit as in town is rather busy. I loved that it was a campus uni rather than site based. Coming from London I was used to a bigger city so brighton lost its charm after a while but being by the sea was a nice change!
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Northfield in first year and it was very well run and maintained. Location and quality of the housing options were brilliant, definitely worth the cost, more accommodation is needed!
    Settling in:
    I moved into halls late and so it was all rather disjointed and didn't run smoothly. The first term of my first year wasn't great but once I found my feet after the Christmas break I got settled in and it went too quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good. Friendly university. Knew lecturers on a first name basis. Only 50/60 in my entire year.
    University:
    I enjoyed it overall.
    Course:
    I enjoyed the course.
    Location:
    Beautiful campus near a great city.
    Accommodation:
    Brighton meant very expensive prices and the halls were very grim.
    Settling in:
    It was alright.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Brighton is a great place to study and the campus at the University of Sussex gives a great experience of university life.
    University:
    It was good, I just wished I'd have taken more of the opportunities available to me.
    Course:
    I found it both interesting and challenging, and it allowed me to pursue the specific areas that particularly interested me.
    Location:
    Brighton is amazing!
    Accommodation:
    Facilities were good but the set-up didn't allow me to build long-lasting friendships with housemates. In a house of only five, two were international students and were only there for a term before leaving.
    Settling in:
    Having moved house a lot during my childhood I was accustomed to settling into new environments.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE