Member reviews of University of Sussex

  • 32197's avatar by 32197 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The vibe , community, and support you get in the University of Sussex is incredible. You don't feel too stressed out and at the same time you have an array of opportunities to partake in outside the classroom.
    University:
    University bars are great, and there alot of places to grab a coffee or food on campus.
    Course:
    Tutors are highly dedicated in wanting you to succeed; this means providing support outside of office hours in order to ensure you have your queries attended to. The course definitely provides an international scope and the modules are relevant.
    Location:
    The University is situated right in the middle of some incredible natural parks, where you are a minute away from having an incredible view for a picnic.
    Accommodation:
    I had a lot of insects in my room, which I am aware is not necessarily the university's fault. Newer accommodation was great, but the older one sometimes lacked adequate social space such as Park Village.
    Settling in:
    I was able to settle quite quickly due to the positive community Sussex has where everyone is really friendly.
  • DDevine98's avatar by DDevine98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Alright
    University:
    Meh
    Course:
    Meh
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    Shit
    Settling in:
    Just did
  • CalMax's avatar by CalMax on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Everything has been perfect except the housing and construction issues as well as timetable problems
    University:
    There are many things to do here including the gym, hundreds of societies and they have a library which provides thousands of books
    Course:
    My timetable is all over the place with no structure and some lessons aren’t on it which means we have to sort it with paperwork, however the content of all the modules is perfect for biomed and covers a range of topics.
    Location:
    It is near a city however it’s at a smaller town outside to keep a peaceful atmosphere
    Accommodation:
    I’ve been given the new East Slope housing, however there is constant appliance breakages, the alarm systems keep going off and to get here we have to walk around construction sites increasing 15 minutes of walking up hill.
    Settling in:
    This Univirsity has been very open and welcoming and settling in was easier then expected
  • Islander247's avatar by Islander247 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It is a lovely University, the campus is beautiful and the quality of the course i take is high. The staff are very approachable and the Student Union is great.
    University:
    The Library is amazing however i feel it isn't big enough to cope with the amount of students. The main shop available (Co-Op) is tiny but it has pretty much everything you might need.
    Course:
    The tutors and lecturers all seem very approachable and respond very quickly to any inquiry you may have. The contact hours are quite small, which I like because i prefer to study independently.
    Location:
    It's kind of in the middle of nowhere. But it is right next to the South Downs so for people who like to get out and about it is fun, and the views are amazing.
    Accommodation:
    The location was excellent as it was only ten minutes away from campus however there was always maintenance issues, especially with water. But the housing office always responded quite quickly to these issues.
    Settling in:
    There is a huge amount of different societies available and many services offered to help you with any issue you may have. It was quite intimidating at first but once you start to get to know people, everything becomes a lot easier
  • mollmack's avatar by mollmack on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    So much to do and see, even if you don't live on campus, it is still great.
    University:
    Campus is so nice, lots to do day and night, 3 bars and a few cafes. 24/7 library and my specific course building is open 24/7 for people in my School too so its nice to be able to work there whenever.
    Course:
    I roughly have about 14 contact hours a week, 6 of these being film screenings so it really isn't too much work load. Tutors all seem really friendly and approachable.
    Location:
    20-30 min bus into Brighton, a 9 min train... 50 mins from London.. it's perfect. Also, it is situated right on the South Downs National Park.. amazing really.
    Accommodation:
    I live in Lewes Court phase 1 (non en-suite) I enjoy my accommodation, there are weekly cleaners to clean the communal areas and for the price I pay (£119 a week) in such a close location to Brighton, I really can't complain.
    Settling in:
    The Student's Union really did go above and beyond to help everyone feel welcome. Couldn't fault them at all.
  • emilywong98's avatar by emilywong98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoy studying at Sussex as its a nice area and the teaching is good.
    University:
    There are a large number of societies that you can joins theres something for everyone. Also the sports facilities are quite good. The library is a nice space but there could be more study spaces. There are a few shops but the Coop is quite expensive.
    Course:
    The course modules seem well rounded and the lecturers are very passionate and knowledgable. The module contents make sense and are applicable to area of study. But the timetable could be arranged better
    Location:
    It's a nice area as there's lots of green spaces. Also its not too far from the city centre and there lots of transport links
    Accommodation:
    There is a good range of prices for student accommodation and the locations are ideal, not too far away. The quality could be better in some housing but overall it was good. There could be more on campus accommodation for all students
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly and my housemates were lovely. Also people are friendly and it was easy to make friends.
  • notonlyme's avatar by notonlyme on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Course content is fantastic, teaching is a bit dodgy. Marks can seem a bit arbitrary at times. University as a campus is fantastic in terms of location and provisions but too expensive. Welfare team are more than I could have ever hoped for. Simply improving teaching quality for a select few teachers and improving the marking criteria would make it 5*.
    University:
    In terms of what is offered, pretty good. Library is fantastic, just too small. Coop is well stocked but very expensive. Can’t fault the sports centers. Students union is a bit politics based but does run good events.
    Course:
    Timetabling is very flexible, as is the course structure - can choose a lot of module options. Teaching is of extremely high quality in some incidents (head of geography especially), however more questionable in others, particularly when seminar tutors are simply masters/PhD students. Feedback not very timely but often of good quality. Other times though it seemed our marks were a bit arbitrarily given. Overall though the course content itself is really excellent, hence the 4*.
    Location:
    So near Brighton and London, near Gatwick too for easy ways to get home. Yet also is nestled within the South Downs so has plenty of countryside. Probably the best thing about the uni! Only downside is being so close to London is its easy for everyone to go home at weekends so can be a bit lonely.
    Accommodation:
    Quality wise, the accommodation is some of the best especially since East slope is knocked down. If you can afford the more expensive accommodation it is fantastic, the cheaper ones not great (and only if you’re a firm offer holder). Insurance holders etc often can’t get accommodation but this is changing. A bit pricey but fantastic location.
    Settling in:
    Lots on offer, plenty of societies, independence is great. Fantastic freshers week. Only reason why it’s not 5* was due to my individual experience with my flat mates. Can’t fault the uni on this one.
  • alr2202's avatar by alr2202 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s alright
    University:
    So many societies to join, people to meet and things to do
    Course:
    It’s a good intro to neuroscience in first year and then you start to solidify and add to your knowledge. It’s relaxed but a little less hands on then we had hoped.
    Location:
    Near Brighton but not too close! Everything is on one campus so it’s really convenient. Next to Stanmer park so has Nice views. Also on a bus route which is ideal!
    Accommodation:
    Mine was Stanmer court. Not the best but near the sports centre which was handy for me since I played badminton 3 times a week
    Settling in:
    It’s an enjoyable experience
  • Caitlinjane12345's avatar by Caitlinjane12345 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    5 star, could hardly fault it
    University:
    has all the services you would ever need, gym, church, supermarket, over 100 societies, bars and clubs, many cafes and loads of garden space to enjoy.
    Course:
    quality of the university is high in all areas, the facilities are all modern with loads of opportunities available even to first year students.
    Location:
    surrounded by the beautiful stammer park and other Brighton attractions, runs parallel to the train station and has very frequent buses into other areas of Brighton for above first year students and off campus housing
    Accommodation:
    All housing is safe and satisfactory but cheaper on campus accommodation has a high bathroom sharing ratio, up to 6 people for one bathroom and no communial areas.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week helped with settling in and introductory courses in IT and the library help you get to grips with the university lifestyle and make the first few weeks of lectures less of a struggle
  • kirstyjanette's avatar by kirstyjanette on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The uni care about us and lectures are taught by passionate lecturers. Good food available on campus as well as a coop and a train station right next to it.
    University:
    Not much to do during the day but overall pretty good
    Course:
    The lectures are either very spaced out or altogether. I have one 1hr lecture on a monday, 3hrs in between lectures on a tuesday but 11-6 on a thursday and friday.
    Location:
    Near brighton and near to home
    Accommodation:
    Location is really nice and I know the area so it’s no more expensive than where I live nearby
    Settling in:
    Took a couple weeks to settle in but after that was fine
  • eternal_student1's avatar by eternal_student1 on 10th April 2018
    Overall:
    A really great place to live and study.
    University:
    Well its near Brighton what more can I say? a true party town.
    Course:
    The LLM in International Law was a fascinating insight in to the world of the international norms and political discourse. Thoroughly recommend Sussex Law School and the LLM.
    Location:
    Green campus location just outside Brighton
    Accommodation:
    Live off campus on Kings Road, right on the sea front in the university halls, brilliant location and easy access to the beach and the rest of Brighton.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly place where tutors actually care about their students and the subjects they teach.
  • summer1311's avatar by summer1311 on 17th May 2017
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed university at Sussex, I recommend it to incoming students, especially if you fancy a uni a bit more laid back and socially conscious. Brighton and UoS are both pretty left leaning, and I've really enjoyed being around people who care so much about other people and making a difference.
    University:
    Lots of cool societies and clubs to join (I recommend sussex snow if you want a great night out but dont want to commit to a sports team), loads of events going on all the time including bake sales, protests, coffee meetings, big events, small events, you name it, its happening. Night life is great in Brighton, although not cheap unless its a student deal/night. Pubs in Brighton are great and East Slope and Falmer bar are both great bars on campus. The deli next to falmer bar is brilliant. Library gets v busy around exam period.
    Course:
    I have really enjoyed my modules, some have been more challenging than others. My contact hours are pretty low so the course is good if you can motivate yourself well. The teachers are helpful. The lectures are usually informative but the seminars always are.
    Location:
    Its not exaclty in Brighton but its not too far from it, the buses run all the time, as does the train service. Takes less than an hour to get to London (if Southern Rail are working). I really love living in Brighton, and have explored far more in second year as I live in town. Takes me about 25 mins to get to campus by bus.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation (Lewes court) was good, we had a few plumbing issues which were sorted relatively quickly. My housemates were great- we had some issues with washing up but who doesn't. It wasn't cheap but compared to Brighton prices it was reasonable, the location was good, although getting the night bus back from brighton after a night out can be a bit long.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite well, I made friends with my housemates and went to a few introduction lectures etc which helped. I wouldve settled in quicker if I had joined a sports team in first year, rather than second.
  • brookoliver's avatar by brookoliver on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    If you want to go to a university where both private and public school kids can get along, where you won't be judged for who you are, do whatever you want to do, then Sussex is pretty great. The nightlife can get a little monotone but once you find your place it's completely fine.
    University:
    Everything is great, the staff are cheery meaning everyone is happy. The facilities are all great though when it comes to the co-op on campus it is a complete ripoff. What arsehole decided to put the most expensive co-op in the country on our campus? And considering our campus is an annoying distance from any other supermarkets, we end up spending £1.80 on a fucking loaf of bread!
    Course:
    Too many 9ams! Though in all seriousness, we have a couple of nonsense modules which are generally quite annoying, the lecturers are great and will do all they must to get you through. Feedback is quite non-existent considering the only work you get marked is assessments.
    Location:
    Right by Brighton, but obviously would rather it be in the city.
    Accommodation:
    I live in East Slope, it costs £86 a week and is complete and utter crap. Holes in the walls and ceilings, water, both hot and cold is constantly shut off and my mattress has a red stain on it... Though I wouldn't pick anywhere else!
    Settling in:
    Definitely just to do with the type of people that attend Sussex, we're all on the same wavelength.
  • kerryjames48's avatar by kerryjames48 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    A welcoming university with very good facilities
    University:
    Lovely campus and useful services
    Course:
    Good time table and helpful tutors, detailed feedback. Could improve student-tutor communication outside of contact hours
    Location:
    Brighton has the same issues that any city would have but still a lovely location.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is expensive and appears to be randomly allocated. I required an ensuit and applied for all ensuit halls yet was given shared bathroom accommodation
    Settling in:
    I had little trouble settling in and made friends quickly
  • MGibbo's avatar by MGibbo on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The location, the facilities and the nightlife is why Sussex is an amazing university. However I personally feel the teaching does not meet academic standards and there is not a diversity of course topicswith each subject.
    University:
    The clubs and societies are numerous and welcoming, so many to choose from, there is literally something for anybody! Campus facilities for food is optional with two bar/pubs, numerous cafés, however only one co-op supermarket- but useful as co-op has late opening times. The library facilities, apart from being overcrowded in peak exam times, are the best thing about the university.
    Course:
    Course structure and how the lessons are spaced on my timetable is really useful and allows me to have a part-time job on the side. However, there is a lack of quality in the teaching and feedback from the teachers has proved to be contradictory and very unhelpful
    Location:
    Best of both worlds. Train links to London, student nights from Monday through to Friday, great atmosphere, beautiful city, stroll along the pier, always an event in town at the weekend- lively and unique city
    Accommodation:
    Brighton is the most expensive place to live outside of London, and this is not taken into account with Student Finance (as London have a higher loan.) having said that, Brighton is an amazing city, even if bills and rent costs an average £470-500 a month, the city makes it somewhat worth it.
    Settling in:
    Did not take long to settle in as first year/ freshers year is the best experience for making new and lifelong friends, or even housemates you never want to see again- all part of the learning experience!
  • ReeceCordell1's avatar by ReeceCordell1 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Different, tough at times but a good experience
    University:
    Comfortable
    Course:
    Tough course with a lot of contact time
    Location:
    Great student lifestyle
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, but nice place to live
    Settling in:
    Everyone will miss home comforts
  • PugDevil's avatar by PugDevil on 26th July 2016
    Overall:
    I would really recommend the University of Sussex - it may not be a Russell Group university, but it is still up there in the quality of life that it provides in my opinion. The accommodation is good and Brighton is a really enjoyable city, as something is always going on there. My only complaint is with my course as I felt that sometimes the lecturers would just read from a PowerPoint, but I feel as though this is common at most universities.
    University:
    I have no complaints about the life on campus, it has everything that you need and more. Having a Co-op on campus is nice, although it should be noted that it is for convenience and this reflects on the prices sometimes. There are plenty of cafes on campus too if you ever need a quick snack.
    Course:
    I have barely any complaints about the university and I have had a really enjoyable experience. I would have given it five stars, but there were a few things that have annoyed me, albeit minor things.
    Location:
    It was really nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Brighton and there are some great walks close by, where you can explore the countryside. Brighton is a great city though and it has everything that you would want, as well the sea side - who could complain with that!
    Accommodation:
    I had a bit of a strange experience when I first moved in to my halls as it had an infestation, but it was dealt with pretty quickly. I was located in Lewes Court and although it is an ageing building, it was still good enough. Any problems that we reported to the porter was dealt with as soon as possible, and we even had a cleaner that helped keep our ensuite and kitchen clean. The rent wasn't that bad as my student loan covered it, but we were paying almost as much as Northfield, which I felt was a bit better.
    Settling in:
    This section is probably a bit subjective as it depends on your experience, however I felt that everyone was really friendly and the university held events to try and encourage you to mix with others and settle down quickly.
  • dandancirelli's avatar by dandancirelli on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great Campus, not too far from the city.
    University:
    Great facilities offered to students
    Course:
    Challenging, well organised but lots of help available
    Location:
    Great off campus site, very well linked with public transport
    Accommodation:
    Expensive compared to other areas but very high standards
    Settling in:
    Great student community and SU, all staff friendly
  • IrishLettuce's avatar by IrishLettuce on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fab. Its very friendly and smart, with a wonderful location and easy access to surrounding areas.
    University:
    There is something to do most of the time, however, a 24/7 bar/shop/cafe on campus would be useful
    Course:
    I really enjoy the content, and it's put across in an interesting way, even in the modules I previously wasn't interested in.
    Location:
    Brighton is amazing. Stamner park is amazing. I love everything to do with the entire area.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable in a lovely location (Kings Road) but there were multiple maintainance issues to begin with, including windows which dont shut/lock properly, that still haven't been fixed.
    Settling in:
    I feel really comfortable in Brighton, and theres usually plenty to do on campus. I expected it to be more difficult as an off campus student, but I've fir in really well with the societies.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a really good experience, the good by far outweigh the bad, in my opinion and staff and other students really help out and make it enjoyable. Mental Health Support is brilliant as well, making the transition to staying here so much easier.
    University:
    Shopping on campus is horrendous - the queues span the entire circumference of the shop sometimes, but it is affordable. Access to sport/fitness activities, and the library are really good (except when the servers are down), the student union are really helpful and are really open to suggestions. Welfare is brilliant - they really help when needed and are easily accessible - the doctors are really busy though but probably to be expected.
    Course:
    The timetable has very large gaps in it so having only two lectures on a day with one at 10am and one at 5pm can be quite annoying, and the lectures can drag on a bit if a lecturer is interested in a topic and goes completely off tangent, but otherwise the course structure, module content and quality of teaching and feedback are excellent.
    Location:
    There is easy access to both the beach, a park and shopping, but some things are difficult to find or are too far away to get to cheaply.
    Accommodation:
    A few issues have arisen with accommodation but the staff are very helpful in solving these issues. Also there is no glass recycling on site so we have to take glass recycling on a long walk to get rid of it.
    Settling in:
    It was really easy to meet other people in the same situation and being able to have my things made it seem less daunting. Also with the amount of support available, and the amazing quality of it, it feels more like home than home did.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE