Member reviews of University of Wales Trinity Saint David

  • Jodie09's avatar by Jodie09 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    If you are looking for a somewhat quiet, not a mainstream city university then the University of Wales Trinity Saint David’s is for you. It has an amazing range of courses to offer and within that course a huge range of modules to pick.
    University:
    The Lampeter campus is rather small, during the day time locals walk the ground with their dogs and CATS. In the evening it is rather quiet as the student union building and built in club is situated away from the main halls.
    Course:
    Overall expericance so far has been great. My timetable although in blocks is good, lessons everyday apart from Wednesday 2-5pm, so no early starts.
    Location:
    The Lampeter campus is situated in a tiny village, rather rural, this does create a slight issue being there is hardly any major shops about. Only two big named companies within the village and even they are small shops.
    Accommodation:
    The university being situated in a tiny remote village, means affordable accommodation. My en-suit room within the halls cost no more then £3400 a year. So amazing value.
    Settling in:
    The first week I arrived, the university had a variety of activities and talks to get you started and settled, this included tours of the university, well being talks, support talks and a great freshers fair.
  • tashaleighh 's avatar by tashaleighh on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 I am really enjoying myself and I suffer with anxiety so takes me a while to settle in to places, especially when they are so big! But I have settled in extremely well and quickly here.
    University:
    They have a good library facility and a Starbucks where I can go and enjoy a coffee after a long lecture or seminar
    Course:
    I am really enjoying this course
    Location:
    It's in reasonable distance to drive to university from my home
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in accommodation, but the location is great being right next to the university, but I have heard there aren't a great amount of showers or toilet facilities
    Settling in:
    The staff are very friendly and make a big effort to ensure you feel welcome
  • eurgaing's avatar by eurgaing on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5* definitely. If you're not really into/not ready for city life and want to live in a small town with friendly people, this is the place for you. There is a real sense of getting involved here; I've joined the rugby club, LARP society, LGBT society, Disney society, Feminist society and last but far from least the LARP students are crazy fun! I love it here.
    University:
    There are many societies available, the students themselves are all friendly and the lecturers have been great so far. Everyone is so welcoming and willing to help. Because it's such a small University, there is more of a 'one to one' learning style available here which is awesome.
    Course:
    Anthropology is my 'calling', I'm fascinated by the diversity of cultures of the world and can't wait to delve deeper and learn all about them.
    Location:
    Lampeter is a lovely small town, but I'd love to be a bit closer to the big shops..and Dominoes! Haha.
    Accommodation:
    My accomodation is very comfortable and 'homely'. I get along great with the other girls in my flat and I have an en-suite - perfect!
    Settling in:
    After taking a gap year and spending time living in Africa, it didn't take me long to adjust to such a comfortable life here.
  • allforme3's avatar by allforme3 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    A decent university that relies on one to one teaching at is a major benefit to students
    University:
    Great night life and shopping is within easy reach.
    Course:
    The lectures and the teaching staff are brilliant
    Location:
    It is in the center of town (Mount Plesent) and grabbing food is easy
    Accommodation:
    Hot much help but easy to find places that will help
    Settling in:
    Student halls made making friends easy
  • robradio's avatar by robradio on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Worth finding a uni with better lecturers. other staff were fine and nice but that's pointless when lecturers can't string a single lecture a week together.
    University:
    There was a cafe which I liked for being a greasy spoon. stationary shop with a bartering system instead of fixed prices because nobody had bothered planning it out. The library was by far the best part of the uni mainly because the staff were competent AND friendly! the only people who were apart from some of the admin women.
    Course:
    Communication with and between staff was so poor I left the uni. societies would never receive funding. staff would not be seen for weeks at a time. computer access was good till the made the cad labs lecture rooms.
    Location:
    central swansea is great for ammenities but buildings are so fragmented it made cross platforming very difficult.
    Accommodation:
    rats everywhere and located at the tops of hills. nice views though.
    Settling in:
    Never felt settled.
  • allforme3's avatar by allforme3 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    good
    University:
    good social and academic life
    Course:
    Lectures and teaching are brilliant
    Location:
    night life
    Accommodation:
    cheap but run down
    Settling in:
    freshers events made the difference
  • P133169's avatar by P133169 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    From one to five I would rate it a four, the university has potential to be great and as it is still developing hopefully this will become reality in the near future.
    University:
    Whilst uni in the day is adequate, as a person who lives off the uni campus I have had little to no information on any uni activities.
    Course:
    Whilst the classes are interesting the staff aren't the most committed to the students.
    Location:
    Although fairly central my university could be located closer to more business that students would find useful, such as caafes, restuarants and convenience stores.
    Accommodation:
    Although I do not use the accommodation, I have heard good things from my class mates!
    Settling in:
    Although I settled into uni life well, I still think that more team building exercise should be used in the first week of uni life.
  • alxmryjn's avatar by alxmryjn on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I'd give it 85% out of 100 for support and experience, the course costs a lot but the facilities are awesome.
    University:
    I've had so much support and I think the facilities and experience so far has been great.
    Course:
    I love the course and all of the lecturers and tutors are fantastic and helped me to get a 2:1 in my first year. I think there could be a better structure though, and more financial cost help - as we have to pay for 80% of the equipment and the uni specifies exactly what we need, therefore we have no say in going for cheaper options.
    Location:
    Its really central to town and in a great place, we picked a house a five minute walk away this year and its made everything 100 times better.
    Accommodation:
    I hated being in halls, the proximity from the uni (1.5 miles on a VERY steep hill) was ridiculous. It was just unpleasant.
    Settling in:
    The course, absolutely fine. It was the accommodation that killed it.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The course and lecturers are fantastic, but uni life is nowhere near what it should be.
    University:
    The gym is good, library acceptable, welfare is decent. However there are only the more expensive supermarkets, the student Union has clear favourites and haA few decent events per year.
    Course:
    I enjoy the topics being studied and feel comfortable around my lecturers. I do, however think there should be more contact hours per module.
    Location:
    Its a centralised campus, however the town is very small. If you're looking for a uni that is quiet, but there are still opportunities out there- this is not the one for you.
    Accommodation:
    It has heating, electricity and dodgy wifi, but many things break constantly. As well as this, things like heating and security aren't great.
    Settling in:
    It took a long time to feel comfortable here. For a small campus it can be very exclusive.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good but feel like there were lots of problems that interrupted everyday study
    University:
    Lots of services open very late/ 24 hours.
    Course:
    Some areas that could easily be improved
    Location:
    Lovely scenery but some dodgey areas
    Accommodation:
    Very cheap all around
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly, easy to make friends and get used to the lifestyld
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoyable and easy to adapt to
    University:
    Gyms, shops, nightlife, town all conveniently close
    Course:
    Interactive modules, interesting incorporation of all necessary components
    Location:
    Near bus stop and lecture halls, shops nearby
    Accommodation:
    Big room, has everything I'd need. But shower is in room as opposed to an ensuite and shared toilets though clean are not desirable
    Settling in:
    Friendly and helpful staff
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a small, friendly environment, really quiet, a great place to work,but public transport is a pain.
    University:
    The library is ok,but the collection sometimes is not as complete as one would have liked.
    Course:
    It's an interesting course but my language level has exceeded the common expectation.
    Location:
    The Lampeter campus is too remote, even though the place is beautiful but it is really tiresome to travel back home.
    Accommodation:
    Things are fine but the fire alarms really went off too often and at really unreasonable hours.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, teachers and fellow peers are very friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Social life has improved loads and the course is great
    University:
    Everything is good but could be more societies
    Course:
    Nothing's perfect but it's close. The lecturers are professionals and know what they're doing
    Location:
    Right in town
    Accommodation:
    Basics nothing more
    Settling in:
    Took longer than I thought but not too long
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Not bad.
    University:
    Uni life was bland at the uni itself but all courses spent time with each other.
    Course:
    It wasn't what I thought it would be and some tutors lacked the training we needed.
    Location:
    Very university based town and lovely area.
    Accommodation:
    Never got into halls which was frustrating but people who lived less than half hour away from the university managed to. Found a private rented place which charged an absolute bomb.
    Settling in:
    It took me a year and a half to feel at home. Which was sad for me.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    There are definitely better universities out there, this university is good if you are living at home, very convenient. I would not recommend it for individuals who are seeking student accommodation
    University:
    Saw very little of the student union
    Course:
    Timetables very scattered and teaching standard poor
    Location:
    The campus was near Swansea train station so the area was very run down, overrun by druggies and alcoholics, very unsafe
    Accommodation:
    Housing and accommodation was nothing special
    Settling in:
    Transition wasn't very easy and we were expected to know what to do instantly
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Three stars because there is a balance of good an bad there are some great times to be had hear because you get to know a lot of people very quickly and on the whole they are very lovely.
    University:
    Uni life is quiet nobody is ever really about. The library is excellent though it cold be better if they extended opening times though. Nightlife isn very great, most things you have to pay to get in for and they aren't that great when you do, drinks are relatively cheap though it's hard to get a drink due to the low staff. The pastoral team are great though if you need help with anything.
    Course:
    Because I find some of the courses irrelevant and some of lecturers are not very engaging or welcoming.
    Location:
    It's very out of the way in lampeter it's an hour at least on the bus to the nearest town. Within lampeter there are only two supermarkets and they are quite expensive but the views and the feeling of the country is to die for.
    Accommodation:
    Because it meets basic needs but there have been numerous problems with smoke alarms, light etc and they were rarely dealt with aptly.
    Settling in:
    A very long time I think this was due to feeling very homesick though.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been first class with lecturers who are supportive, as well as faculties that are faultless.
    University:
    My university has little to no student life for those not living in student accommodation, I have never experienced any form of university planned activities e.g. sports events parties etc. Because I haven't been located on campus, however the life out side of the uni is faultless.
    Course:
    Because the support I get from my lecturers is great, as most of them have an open door policy I can rely on them to be available whenever I need them.
    Location:
    My university is split up all over the city in multiple campuses, my particular campus is well located around local amenities.
    Accommodation:
    Although I myself haven't spent time in university accommodation my colleagues seem to have had fun there and settled in quite well.
    Settling in:
    I have given this rating because although I felt that something's were settled more quickly than others students still needed extra time and activities to get to know each other.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    if you put the effort and love into it, it will love you back it's what you make of it
    University:
    library staff are great good city in dynevor campus there isn't much word about what's going on clubs and societies make an appearance at freshers fayre and then you never hear from them again or they are based too far away there's a lot of focus on 'nights out' which isn't great if you aren't into that
    Course:
    Could have been more varied and more informed about their own possibilities to elt the students know what was available.
    Location:
    close to everything a student needs
    Accommodation:
    could have been worse it's more down to the students to look after where they live and put the effort in
    Settling in:
    excited to be somewhere new and be independant
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Best
    University:
    Love the social life
    Course:
    It's amazing.
    Location:
    Hard to find but great.
    Accommodation:
    It's good but could be better
    Settling in:
    Great people.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Best decision of my life.
    University:
    Nightlife is out of this world.
    Course:
    It's so friendly, staff are helpful and look after you, like one it family. The facilities are great too.
    Location:
    Right in the centre of the city of swansea, 5 minute walk to wine street for the nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    Great
    Settling in:
    Like one big happy family, tutors are there to look after you and support you
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE