Member reviews of University of Warwick

  • syphilisjuice's avatar by syphilisjuice on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    8.5/10
    University:
    basically has everything you need
    Course:
    The lecturers are very good but assume that the students are geniuses and go too fast so a lot of independent study is required. The content is very good and the course is very challenging which i like.
    Location:
    not much option in terms of takeaway delivery
    Accommodation:
    Really depends on which accommodation you pick but are generally reasonably priced.
    Settling in:
    very quickly
  • saja9001's avatar by saja9001 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    An amazing place to study
    University:
    Good societies & sports, beautiful campus. Ugly buildings.
    Course:
    Good content & quality of teaching. A lot of contact hours to max our $$$ and not a lot of assignments
    Location:
    Bad town but good links to large cities
    Accommodation:
    Some are good, some are bad. Most are old
    Settling in:
    A lot of SU activities to help people to settle in. And the lecturers start slow
  • jonathan_dunn's avatar by jonathan_dunn on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    good uni, somewhat left wing, but so are all unis I suppose
    University:
    great societies and events
    Course:
    Pretty decent course, but you have to complete a cultural module in 1st year in your language and some of the language seminars aren't that useful if you're advanced.
    Location:
    pretty central in the UK, not too far from London. A bus ride away into Coventry.
    Accommodation:
    Jack Martin was great (slightly noisy at times, but otherwise nice)
    Settling in:
    lots of societies and events
  • jamesles12's avatar by jamesles12 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Would massively encourage any prospective students to consider Warwick University. Extremely high level teaching and a great uni experience at the same time. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else in the world.
    University:
    Great facilities to accommodate all sorts of extra activities, good bars on campus and nice places to eat. Really beautiful campus with lots of beautiful walks to go on nearby.
    Course:
    Great quality of teaching and a very high level of study.
    Location:
    Great self-contained campus is very nice but also very close to Coventry and Leamington Spa so it is great to go to these places to hang out with friends, eat etc...
    Accommodation:
    Fantastic quality, very clean and well kept, spacious, campus makes them close together so easy to get places, good range of prices for everyone.
    Settling in:
    Almost immediately, so many societies and sports to get involved in and it is really actively encouraged to involve yourself in lots of these.
  • Inert1a's avatar by Inert1a on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Love Warwick. There are things that can be improved but it’s been a very unique experience. Campus is not for everyone, so definitely do visit!
    University:
    The library is a 24 hour one, but can get crowded during exam times. However, the library team now display which floors have empty spaces etc to help with this. Sport/fitness is fantastic.
    Course:
    The structure of the course is great!
    Location:
    The campus itself is huge and you can find most things within a short distance from each other. Nearby Leamington Spa is also great in subsequent years.
    Accommodation:
    Had a fantastic experience in first year. Some accommodations could do with a common room though. In second year, the majority of students do move out to nearby Leamington Spa, which is really nice.
    Settling in:
    I was good for the first few weeks before my first breakdown, but I had a lot of other things going on at the time, so I don’t think it was purely down to having to settle in at uni.
  • Mechnagamer's avatar by Mechnagamer on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall the University is pretty good.
    University:
    Overall, the uni Campus provides several facilities from Shops to a Gym and even a club. Uni life was pretty good and with all the facilities there is little need to go off Campus.
    Course:
    The course is interesting and intellectually simulating for most of the time, however there were occasionally timetabling issues as there are many students on the course so few rooms could accommodate everyone.
    Location:
    This is the main down side of the University of Warwick. The location is like this, there is main campus, a short distance from this is a shopping centre with various stores, then the next closes thing is central Coventry which is 4 miles away.
    Accommodation:
    The Bluebell accommodations, although expensive, were very nice. It is on Campus so you can easily get around however it is not too close to main Campus that you need to deal with the noise throughout the day.
    Settling in:
    I settled in essentially immediately due to a combination of kind flat mates and helpful course mates.
  • JV1999's avatar by JV1999 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Definitely recommend prospective students to join!
    University:
    Lifestyle here is really relaxed (lots of things offered). Has one of the most societies of any Uni and new world class sporting unis are being built
    Course:
    The lecturers are super supportive and it realy compliments the seminars that are organized to focus on particular concepts. Workload is manageable and campus life is realy fun!
    Location:
    Near Birmingham and Centrally located in England
    Accommodation:
    Bluebell is one of the best housing experiences (flat mates are really social and location is great)
    Settling in:
    Everyone is super friendly and Warwick is one of the only unis that has a Week 0 to help people settle in!
  • Ashmeena's avatar by Ashmeena on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Brilliant university academically and amazing campus. Slightly too far out of a city for my liking but the positives certainly outweigh the negatives when considering all other factors.
    University:
    The facilities are all round fantastic. The library is brilliant and the system is so easy to use alongside the MyWarwick app. The grocery store on campus is very expensive by student standards but Tesco is just off the edge of campus.
    Course:
    Teaching is fantastic and the lecturers are both enthusiastic and supportive. The module choices are plenty and diverse. My only complaint would be that the departments don’t always work in tandem which is not ideal for a joint honours course.
    Location:
    The campus is truly in the middle of nowhere and the buses aren’t cheap. However, once you get into Coventry you can get to Birmingham in 20 Minutes on the train.
    Accommodation:
    I chose a cheaper accommodation and had a fantastic time. However, we had a broken shower all year long despite reporting it several times. But overall it was good and functional.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming and friendly and the university was very supportive. The societies are a brilliant way to find a group of friendly people who aren’t necessarily your coursemates.
  • WearilyPerrin's avatar by WearilyPerrin on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I came to uni mainly due to interest in my course, and Warwick has delivered on that. I’m really enjoying studying here, and as a person who is not too wild the location doesn’t bother me much.
    University:
    Considering ‘uni life’ at a lot of places takes into account the city it’s in, and Warwick is not in a city, it’s alright. The su contains places to go and runs events frequently. There are also several places to eat and go and these are a good quality.
    Course:
    The modules have all been interesting and engaging, even the ones I wasn’t really looking forward too. The staff have all been friendly and willing help and access to resources has always been very easy.
    Location:
    It’s a nice location but a bit fair away from anything central. It’s a nice area of you like it quiet or if you like walks and being outside. However if you like nightlife or being in very busy surroundings then it’s lacking.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality room and kitchen area, in a really nice location and very close to campus. Housing for second year was easy and fairly stress free as we can do it through the uni and don’t have to worry about deposits are anything like that.
    Settling in:
    At first everything is just a bit chaotic with the course and halls so you can’t really find ykur niche straight away. But overall it was easy and not too stressful even though it took me awhile
  • Siana22's avatar by Siana22 on 19th June 2017
    Overall:
    Warwick University is a terrific uni for all those looking for a challenge. With that said, it can be difficult to find the balance between working and being social. Warwick would do well to enhance their support for students having difficulty in either their academic life or their personal life.
    University:
    Warwickers live by the motto "Work hard, play hard" and this is definitely true. Uni life at Warwick is an experience I will never forget and one that I do not regret.
    Course:
    In general the course was well structured with much flexibility to tailor your degree as you wish. Overall, the teaching was good, with teachers using various methods to deploy information. Case studies were relevant and interesting. However, there were a few instances where my modules would clash. I also found that there was room for improvement in terms of student support.
    Location:
    Warwick University is situated in the middle of nowhere, a good 30 minutes bus ride from Coventry. This came with its negatives and its positives. I enjoyed the greenery and the serenity of the area. There are numerous beautiful walks where you can enjoy the forests and ponds that the Midlands have to offer. Additionally, the Warwick bubble means that you dont have to leave the uni to find things to do. You are close to supermarkets and basic amenities either on campus or at Canon Park (a 15 minutes walk from the centre of the uni). Buses are frequent and even though they are expensive, run all night.
    Accommodation:
    When comparing to all the places I have lived, I find that Warwick University student accommodation is excellent value for money. Students have a choice to pick more luxurious on campus en-suite accommodation or more budget-friendly halls residence. Having lived in the halls, I really enjoyed my time here. The halls are clean, well-kept with good internet and a great ambiance (notably for undergrads). I would definitely recommend on-campus accommodation to anyone looking to go to Warwick University.
    Settling in:
    As an international person, this was one of my greatest worries. However, the university's numerous schemes to integrate international students really helped in the "settling in" process. In addition, before coming to the uni, I had joined many Warwick Uni chat forums (on social media and TSR). With that said, coming back from my year abroad (3rd year), I find it very hard to make friends as all of mine had graduated.
  • 99 Percent's avatar by 99 Percent on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, well connected and laid-out campus university which has a brilliant academic reputation.
    University:
    Again neutral, but I know that there are loads of activitues on offer.
    Course:
    It's OK so far but I've only had a day of lectures.
    Location:
    Neutral: haven't had time to explore much yet.
    Accommodation:
    Ground floor...
    Settling in:
    My home is 45 minutes away.
  • Katameringue's avatar by Katameringue on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'm loving it here - an amazing place to study, an amazing place to live. Everyone is so lovely here.
    University:
    Fantastic. So much to do, facilities are amazing. Lots of evening events other than just big parties, which is great. Can get very noisy at night though.
    Course:
    Great lectures with good notes available, and effective small-group sessions.
    Location:
    Love the location - I like that it is away from the city, and how green and peaceful it is. Lemington/Coventry are not that far away for when I do want to get out.
    Accommodation:
    Really happy with accommodation - not too expensive, has everything I could need with good facilities. Area is noisy though, so could do with sound-proofing!
    Settling in:
    Lots of stuff to keep me busy, and I settled into my accommodation almost immediatly. Making new friends was a bit more stressful, and took me a while to feel comfortable with the new people around me.
  • Frantica's avatar by Frantica on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    An outstanding university with a diverse population of students offering a wide range of courses in a modern self-contained campus.
    University:
    An excellent range of facilities on campus. Over 100 clubs and societies, great sports facilities, modern learning environment and a good range of shops and restaurants/bars.
    Course:
    Timetabling and module choices are really good. Lectures so far excellent. The faculty have been helpful and friendly. No assignments marked yet so unable to discuss feedback
    Location:
    Campus is like a small town in it's own right, you have no real need to leave. Close to Coventry/Warwick/Leamington if you want to venture further. Excellent transport links
    Accommodation:
    I am in one of the lowest priced halls in the UK. There is a good selection of accommodation to suit all budgets.
    Settling in:
    A really warm welcome and lots of events to help you meet other people and find your way around campus
  • EllainKahlo's avatar by EllainKahlo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Within the few days that I have been here I'm sorely underwhelmed and unimpressed which I could never have imagined before I turned up here. Almost everyone (staff) is unorganised and this does not make embarking on my first degree very comfortable or encouraging. It is simply making me want to leave.
    University:
    Almost nothing has appealed to me so far in terms of the societies, activities etc. They are very biased in favour of sports and religious societies and not much else for a variety of interesting topics.
    Course:
    The university are incredibly unorganised and for a first year who is away from home for the first time, this is very frustrating, upsetting and irritating. I did not have this level of confusion in mind for my course when I decided to sign up for
    Location:
    The location is alright, the campus is fine too but nothing oustanding.
    Accommodation:
    My room and the kitchen's facilities are as good as they should be, I have no issues with either yet.
    Settling in:
    It's not hard for me to adapt to change so I've found my way around alright but I still expected more in terms of direction and guidance from the university and so far have received little.
  • Wahrheit's avatar by Wahrheit on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Terrible
    University:
    Nothing to do, quite small, societies very cliquey
    Course:
    Some lecturers were great and the department offered a lot of support, but some lecturers were really terrible and their exams required just pure memorisation
    Location:
    Halfway between the middle of nowhere and the worst city in the country. Absolutely nothing to do.
    Accommodation:
    Really good, really affordable and good location in first year, living out in second year was harrendous and much of the housing is just too far.
    Settling in:
    Isolated and claustrophobic, worst time of my life
  • sohinik's avatar by sohinik on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5. There are few cons to studying at Warwick, and they are mostly outweighed by the pros. Some facilities can be expensive, but can be avoided depending on preferences.
    University:
    There are a lot of societies and clubs to choose from and in my experience, they all have very welcoming execs. The student union regularly gets involved with students, encouraging them to participate in various aspects of student politics. SU members have also been happy to answer any questions. Prices in university shops could be lower (there are no student discounts offered in the grocery shop), as well as sports membership fees. But service in the library is great, with people readily available to help.
    Course:
    Even though I didn't get a choice in all my modules last year, I mostly loved them all. Contact hours were quite short, but tutors were readily available to meet and happy to provide comments. Feedback was generally constructive and at the end of the year, I felt like I had improved my writing/academic skills.
    Location:
    The university is located quite close to the station. The nearby towns feel pretty safe most of the time.
    Accommodation:
    University accommodation was very comfortable with all necessary facilities available. Rent was (more or less) affordable. The staff were friendly and eager to help out with any issues and I always felt safe in the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I settled in within a few weeks. This had a lot to do with my flatmates/coursemates, but the safe and welcoming environment of the halls and the course itself played a big part as well.
  • Linyaya1213's avatar by Linyaya1213 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Diverse
    Course:
    Very useful
    Location:
    Not that convenient
    Accommodation:
    Convenient
    Settling in:
    Nice environment
  • deltast0rm's avatar by deltast0rm on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    8.5/10.
    University:
    Loss of societies and social events, not much variety in nightlife on campus.
    Course:
    It's academically challenging and engaging.
    Location:
    It's difficult to get to on the bus.
    Accommodation:
    There's a flexible range of housing available for first years and fourth years returning from years abroad which has been immensely useful.
    Settling in:
    It was a fairly easy and smooth process.
  • ryan02's avatar by ryan02 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Very happy with it, I miss Warwick!!
    University:
    Very happy with it, I miss Warwick!!
    Course:
    Very well organised and gave a great grounding for a career.
    Location:
    Very attractive location however the commute in 2nd and 3rd year were a pain.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable and well maintained.
    Settling in:
    Very friendly flatmates (I was lucky).
  • shaftjb's avatar by shaftjb on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    absolutely fantastic. The students, tutors and lectures have high standards yet they are so loving and sweet. They help you during the whole time you are there.
    University:
    amazing societies.
    Course:
    the teaching and research quality is amazing.
    Location:
    quiet and peaceful.
    Accommodation:
    feels comfortable and is always clean.
    Settling in:
    people and staff were so nice
  • SB0073's avatar by SB0073 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    ^^
    University:
    See prior
    Course:
    Because
    Location:
    Because
    Accommodation:
    Because
    Settling in:
    Because
  • Private's avatar by Private on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Great social scene
    Course:
    The lectures are coherent and exact.
    Location:
    Brilliant central location
    Accommodation:
    Excellent accomodation
    Settling in:
    Great social life
  • gaby_xo's avatar by gaby_xo on 26th September 2015
    Overall:
    4*! Its a great uni with a lovely campus, ok accommodation options, if you like the course you are applying for, go for it
    University:
    Its overall great but if only the campus could be a bit closer and more affordable accommodation options be made.
    Course:
    I like the course a lot, the lecturers were mainly great but the lab hours were way too long and doing the reports was too demanding.
    Location:
    I like the campus but having to get to coventry and leamington by bus and to get to the uni from leamington is exhausting.
    Accommodation:
    Lived in Whitefields, very cheap and cheerful, great location. I think there is something for everyone at warwick but the more expensive accommodation is always increasing and no new affordable options are made which is super disappointing.
    Settling in:
    I got on well with my flatmates and it very quickly felt like home.
  • megxmas's avatar by megxmas on 23rd September 2015
    Overall:
    If you're prone to homesickness, this is a great uni, because you get settled so quickly and there are plenty of people to talk to and support you. It's so easy to make friends, there's always something going on. It's got an excellent reputation as a university, the teaching is excellent, and there is no other university in the UK I'd want to go to!
    University:
    There's so much going on and so much to do, the libraries, societies, sports centres and arts centres are great - however, prices for most things can be pretty high on campus.
    Course:
    My tutors all know their subject really well and are helpful and understanding. The course is flexible, I've learned so much, and while I don't have many contact hours, I feel it's really been worth the money.
    Location:
    It's close to Coventry and Leamington Spa, which are nice places, but in the first year it's an effort to get to them, so you don't get to appreciate them too much. There's a bit of a 'bubble', but it all leads to a really nice community feel.
    Accommodation:
    I mostly really loved my accommodation, but we did have a rat that no one helped us with.
    Settling in:
    I was really scared for the first couple of days, but by the end of the first week I felt really happy and at home, and didn't end up going back home for ages!
  • KP1701's avatar by KP1701 on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Don't know yet
    University:
    The SU at Warwick looks amazing
    Course:
    Haven't started yet but my timetable looks good
    Location:
    Haven't started yet but from what I've heard it is a good location.
    Accommodation:
    Haven't started yet but the photos look okay, and it is quite cheap (got my 3rd choice accommodation though)
    Settling in:
    Haven't started yet but I envisage it will be good
  • iProcrastinate.'s avatar by iProcrastinate. on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    I am really glad I chose warwick, despite getting offers elsewhere. It's an outstanding university, both academically and socially.
    University:
    Services are great, so much variety. Campus life is really good, lively and feels like a close knit community.
    Course:
    Tutors are excellent at explaining things, and offer a lot of support to students. The fact that the timetable changes often is amazing, as it keeps you on your toes. The course structure is very good, well paced, and the content is interesting.
    Location:
    The surroundings are nice, but its a bit far from the main towns.
    Accommodation:
    I felt very safe, it was comfortable and I was matched perfectly with people with similar interests. Warwick accommodation gave me a very good experience overall, with every problem I had being resolved immediately.
    Settling in:
    Whilst my other friends at other Uni's began to feel home sick within the first week, the transition at Warwick was perfect in the sense that I felt at home within a few days of adjusting.
  • A Pink Monster's avatar by A Pink Monster on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have definitely enjoyed my university experience at Warwick so far. In particular, if you value the quality of your course more than the immediate surrounding area of your university, and don't mind the campus lifestyle, then I would wholeheartedly recommend Warwick.
    University:
    The facilities on campus are pretty good, though somewhat limited, and although there are a huge number of excellent clubs and societies organised by the SU, I personally find the club nights they put on absolutely awful.
    Course:
    So far I have studied some very interesting topics, and have had a lot of choice over what modules I can take (including those from different departments). The only reason it is not perfect is that I didn't enjoy some of the first year compulsory modules, and sometimes there are timetable clashes (which are largely inevitable when doing a joint degree).
    Location:
    The nearest city of Coventry is not wonderful, and (especially when living on campus), it takes quite a lot of effort to get to Birmingham (the closest decent-sized city).
    Accommodation:
    I really enjoyed the quality and location of my university accommodation, although the price was pretty expensive.
    Settling in:
    Personally (although this might just be me, and my circumstances), I felt settled in within almost no time at all.
  • Raoulilan's avatar by Raoulilan on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Loved my time here
    University:
    Great societies and clubs!
    Course:
    Well organised, interesting modules
    Location:
    Campus uni, so it's a little removed from everyday life but still lovely
    Accommodation:
    Newly renovated with a decent amount of room
    Settling in:
    Welcoming community and easy to orientate around campus
  • constanzev's avatar by constanzev on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Warwick is not a place for everyone, but I really enjoy it. It's very familiar as it is campus based and the biggest cities nearby are Coventry and Leamington.
    University:
    The library is a bit small and sport services are too expensive. Societies and clubs are great.
    Course:
    The timetable is okay, at least we get it very early and we have the freedom to choose seminars. The course structure is also okay. Although there's not a lot of choice. Teaching quality is great, especially for the economics department.
    Location:
    It's close to Leamington, which is a really nice city.
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive (and not worth it!)
    Settling in:
    Took me until February/March.
  • NiseP's avatar by NiseP on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great uni with great courses, great people, amazing opportunities to get involved not only for your university experience but things that you'll carry with you well into your working life and personal life too.
    University:
    Theres plenty on offer but it can be a bit pricey, but there's always opportunities to earn extra cash and finance advisors
    Course:
    I would have loved to have more choice for modules in second year, considering all are compulsory to gain the bps accreditation
    Location:
    There is something here for everyone, but it's very much what you make it. You have to go out and find the experiences and make those awesome memories for yourself, which makes it a great learning experience for ever aspect of your self discovery.
    Accommodation:
    There was a mix up in my year where some students had to be housed in accommodation they hadn't applied for to accommodate for extra space, it wasn't the 'prettiest' of flats but the company definitely made up for it
    Settling in:
    There are so many opportunities to get involved and integrated no matter what your interests which is what makes this uni so great and through that you are able to make friends and know your way around
  • 3P2S3's avatar by 3P2S3 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    good for people who like being focussed on work but also want the fun side of uni life, allows you to have that balance. sports life is brilliant.
    Course:
    quality of teaching superb, really good lecturers, who know incredible amounts about their area.
    Location:
    small town, aesthetically pleasing for the most part, although locals aren't always great. Good night life despite the reputation, and considering it's not in London/big city.
    Accommodation:
    good facilities, good range of prices so something for everyone.
    Settling in:
    lived with a great bunch of people, close knit community
  • Emmroses's avatar by Emmroses on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I had doubts about coming to Warwick as it is a campus university but I'm so incredibly happy. I've had lots of support with my work, whether it's from fellow students in the society or extra help from my supervisor or tutor. The friends I've made in sports teams are friends for life and now I can't spend a Wednesday without them, in fancy dress. I had never done water polo before but they didn't mind and excepted me anyway! Campus has a really nice spirit and everyone is very trusting, you never feel that you're in danger like you might in a city
    University:
    Nights out on campus are big and all years are involved, there is a massive community in the sports teams and between sports teams. Whatever your ability you are in couraged to join and attend socials. As it is a campus nothing is further than a 10 minutes walk away. The library gets crowded in term 3 but there are plenty of individual study areas around campus which I use instead.
    Course:
    Lots of people other help and support on assignments. There is a lot of contact hours with your supervisor and in lectures. There is a massive workload though
    Location:
    You have to get a bus to get to Leamington where clothes shopping and nice restaurants are. So that can be a little more expensive however campus has majority of the facilities you need on a weekly basis including a mega tescos a quick walk away.
    Accommodation:
    It was cheap and in the best spot on campus, walking distance from the SU and tescos. The facilities (bathrooms) although shared between 16 people, you don't notice it as they're cleaned professionally and there is plenty available so you're never waiting.
    Settling in:
    So many societies and sports teams to join, I settled into uni life quickly. It took me a term to settle into the course as I found it fast pace and difficult.
  • shohan.sen's avatar by shohan.sen on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazingly well. Good education and good enough night life
    University:
    Excellent on campus activities however, external clubbing experiences are a little far out
    Course:
    Course content is very engaging
    Location:
    Very good amenities on campus and nearest city is 20 mins bus ride away. Best clubbing experiences are 40 mins away however!
    Accommodation:
    En suite, huge kitchens, good location. Internet it patchy at times
    Settling in:
    It was easy to settle in with all the help from the university personel
  • Age 's avatar by Age on 6th September 2015
    Overall:
    The right balance between social and academics. Don't overlook Warwick!
    University:
    The largest and most active Student Union of the UK :)
    Course:
    Feedback on essay is detailed and helpful, lecture quality is second to none and also the department has a close knit feel where everyone knows each other and there are a lot of social events per term
    Location:
    It's not too far from Leamington, Coventry and Birmingham but I would prefer to be in a city location
    Accommodation:
    It's quite hit and miss. Bluebell/Sherbourne is amazing but Whitefields/Cryfield is horrendous
    Settling in:
    Warwick is very much a bubble in which everyone knows everyone. I felt safe and everyone seemed to be in the same position. One thing unique to warwick is that you have a personality form to allocate flatmates which means that you live with people who are very similar to you
  • thehistorybore's avatar by thehistorybore on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    An excellent university to be at. I have enjoyed my course immensely so far, and have always felt happy there.
    University:
    The services and facilities are far above average.
    Course:
    Courses are incredibly interesting, and the quality of teaching is exemplary.
    Location:
    Campus is excellent, but Coventry is a little nasty. Lem is a nice place to be, but the nightlife is quite average.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was comfortable and reasonably priced.
    Settling in:
    I was in a hall with a fantastic bunch of people, and the campus was easy to become familiar with.
  • Jakegt1's avatar by Jakegt1 on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been great and i'd really recommend it for comp sci students - you get more leway on the comp sci PCs than any other uni, you can even install video games or almost anything.
    University:
    So many great socities and a ridiculously large campus.
    Course:
    The content is interesting and the lecturers are good. Seminars are ocassionaly iffy though.
    Location:
    It has everything you would need very close, jus some issues with things like resturants.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality and price. Great location.
    Settling in:
    It's an easy to live place in first year.
  • Le_rosbif's avatar by Le_rosbif on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Community feel, facilities open late at night
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course, the teaching, and the contact hours
    Location:
    It's fairly isolated
    Accommodation:
    It was close to my lectures, good facilities, and good price
    Settling in:
    I made friends easily and felt looked after
  • mathematigeek's avatar by mathematigeek on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would give my university experience a score of 4 stars overall, this is because I am very shy and dont like to be out of my comfort zone too much, but everything else is just amazing! There are people everywhere that are just as shy which I think is really helpful!
    University:
    Daytime and evening on campus is relatively quiet and this is the most appealing thing to me. Obviously when club nights are happening at the SU, campus is buzzing and considerably louder because everyone is going out, but if you need quiet areas, there is always somewhere to go. Campus is safe and has a place for everyone, the library is brilliant and the further you go up in to the library, the quieter the floors are with special floors dedicated completely to silent study (very useful in exam time). Warwick Sport is very good and inclusive and has tiers of memberships that will suit everyone. The equipment is of a very high standard and is easy to use and book. The SU is brilliant and organises club nights regularly and also smaller events such as comedy evenings. If you cant find a society at Warwick for you, I would be extremely interested to meet you! We have a large range of fantastic societies and sports clubs that take people of any ability and are there to make sure your uni experience is everything you hoped it would be!
    Course:
    It is a very flexible course, you can make it as maths related or as computer science related as you like and you learn things in so much detail, giving you a fantastic grounding in both subjects. The lecturers can be intimidating but they always take the time to explain the content in detail and make sure you understand. Relatively high contact hours take away day to day distractions and the modules overlap slightly allowing you to see how one element influences another. Feedback is always detailed and everything is of the highest standard!
    Location:
    Coventry has mixed reviews, and so due to Warwick University being on the outskirts of Coventry, I was initially worried, but it is a lovely place! The campus is beautiful and has pretty much all you need on it!
    Accommodation:
    The hall I was in (Claycroft) was very good, the cleaning staff always did a good job and the resident tutors were always on hand to help if you so needed it. The only problem is with the price of accommodation, it is just so high!
    Settling in:
    I am a very shy person and I am always trying to do my best in all that I do. I found it hard to make friends straight away and found freshers fortnight very intimidating. My course is the reason I settled in better than I thought I would because I fell in love with what I was doing and so dedicated a lot of time and effort to it and made friends through my course and other related courses. It took me almost all of term 1 to make all of my friends and settle properly (and learn to cook)!
  • Nirgilis's avatar by Nirgilis on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    90%. I grew up very quickly at this Uni and made some life-long friends. It's not a city University, so you can take your time to 'come out of your shell' and when you are ready to explore beyond campus, the travel provisions are there.
    University:
    Brilliant library, great societies and great sports clubs. Nightlife lacks on campus, but I never used it.
    Course:
    Because, even though the content was unique, the timetabling issues were dire and the Chemistry and Biology departments didn't ever talk. Saying that, Chemistry tried very, very hard, and I'll give them 5 stars. Biology department would get 3 stars.
    Location:
    Need to travel to the nearest cities which are Coventry and Leamington. Bit of an extra trek to Birmingham.
    Accommodation:
    All within a 10 minute walk to everything on campus. Second year housing, most go private, so can't comment.
    Settling in:
    Took 5 weeks or so, but I felt settled for the next 3 years!
  • JackTheNerd's avatar by JackTheNerd on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's alright
    University:
    There are adequate food facilities and the societies are run well, the sports centre is expensive though about
    Course:
    In general the lecturers clearly take time out to plan and put a lot of thought into their lecture and it pays off - being taught in a clear and usually interesting way. The labs are challenging but staff are very glad to offer help regarding these. Similarly, your tutor want you to succeed both academically and socially and is glad to offer you both pastoral and academic support. Although, I am not a fan of how the year is assessed where it's heavily based on memory and not even necessarily needing to understand it.
    Location:
    The campus has enough for you to get by, but you can relatively easily get to Leamington Spa, Coventry and Birmingham which are much larger and have a greater variety of shops/places to eat/drink and generally things to do.
    Accommodation:
    The price/quality ratio is quite good I think, but there are a few accommodations away from the centre which makes life more difficult, since a lot of people do make friends away from their halls.
    Settling in:
    I think I'm a bit of a unique situation as my floor was not very social, so I had to go via my course/societies to meet people, and towards the end of the first term I'd say I felt comfortable at Warwick.
  • ojms92's avatar by ojms92 on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I had a great time at Warwick and would recommend it. However, I think you have to prepare yourself to be disappointed by teaching staff at some point, as they seem to be stretched beyond breaking point due to budget cuts. The Student Union also needs some work, however this didn't stop me having a fantastic time in my first year, as well as the three subsequent years I spent there.
    University:
    The student union run club nights are pretty terrible. It all seems quite lazy and with no thought put into it, as if they know that students find it crap so don't bother to make it any better. They consistently repeat the same events year after year with absolutely no diversity. Zane Lowe has been DJing Freshers week since I got there four years ago (and he calls us Coventry University EVERY DAMN TIME).
    Course:
    Overall I enjoyed my course, however the language teaching was a big disappointment for me as many of the language tutors lack commitment and time to help struggling students. Also, the University refuses to fund final year grammar modules which are fundamental in my opinion.
    Location:
    The location is pretty poor, and the transport to and from Leamington Spa is abysmal. Students have been complaining and campaigning for better public transport to and from campus for years now and nothing has been done.
    Accommodation:
    University accommodation has always been decent, apart from quite a high price.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly as I was living with some great people, but I think it's different for everyone.
  • Mini12345's avatar by Mini12345 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Has been amazing. Even when I have had difficulties the students union have been really helpful in making me feel at home and solving issues for me.
    University:
    Has great educational facilities, plus sports, bars, shops all on campus.
    Course:
    The teaching is good, the course encompasses a lot of different topics for all interests, and is flexible in second and third year to tailor to my interests.
    Location:
    Very far away from any town centres (not walking distance to Coventry or Leamington spa)
    Accommodation:
    I had an ensuite, a big kitchen, yet it was still very social. I didn't have to pay for out of term time so the cost was not too high.
    Settling in:
    Because I had a lot of people in my accommodation, I found people I could click with quickly. I have always like to stay at home so I obviously home sick, but it couldn't have really been any better
  • Robbieccfc's avatar by Robbieccfc on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    See all of the above
    University:
    Facilities were brill
    Course:
    It's awesome
    Location:
    Perfect, large campus but enough to do away from it
    Accommodation:
    Great laugh
    Settling in:
    Everyone welcoming
  • Can't remember's avatar by Can't remember on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Warwick is a good uni
    University:
    I'm a mum now so didn't really use this stuff
    Course:
    It's good but lecturers changed frequently
    Location:
    Easy to get to from motorway
    Accommodation:
    I didn't stay in accommodation so hard to rate
    Settling in:
    I've done uni before so didn't find it hard
  • IHaveGirlGerms's avatar by IHaveGirlGerms on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    I love this University. I'd definitely rate it 5*
    University:
    Huge variety of societies, enormous library, a few restaurants, a supermarket, and a book shop.
    Course:
    Good variety of modules to choose from, high standard of teaching
    Location:
    I love Coventry. Easy to get to campus, easy to get to the city centre from university.
    Accommodation:
    Based on friends' accounts. I commute so cannot comment.
    Settling in:
    I made friends very quickly, and care from personal tutors is excellent.
  • Evanz111's avatar by Evanz111 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's perfect for the 'university experience' as you'll be constantly surrounded with other students on campus and no random strangers.
    University:
    There's so much to do there and the student union is one of the best I've ever seen.
    Course:
    The course itself is very traditional and academic, its only saving grace being the more innovative teaching methods.
    Location:
    It's in the middle of nowhere, but there's a lot of public travel available.
    Accommodation:
    Loads of variety and it's all on campus as well as being very affordable.
    Settling in:
    Everything is on campus which is great for people moving out for the first time.
  • The-Summit's avatar by The-Summit on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    University was fantastic and a great place to meet lifelong friends.
    University:
    I loved being on campus, as there were all the main things you need.
    Course:
    It was very thorough, but slightly overwhelming at times.
    Location:
    Warwick is in Coventry, which isn't particularly exciting. However, nearby Leamington is really nice.
    Accommodation:
    First year accommodation was like a hotel. Second/third year off campus was a cosy house, owned by the university (and was really cheap).
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really friendly and lectures started early (during freshers), meaning we met course mates fast.
  • Jass951's avatar by Jass951 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Amazing
    Course:
    Because it's amazing
    Location:
    Because it's very beautiful
    Accommodation:
    I commute so I'm guessing it good
    Settling in:
    Because it has resulted in me making friends for life
  • Amberreeve2's avatar by Amberreeve2 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it as very good based on the campus and its facilities. Disappointing first year in my faculty but has been improved in my second year.
    University:
    Overall very good provisions on campus though always nice to get off of it too.
    Course:
    Poor organisation within the department and in first year disappointing teaching standards (lectures being cancelled without replacement, other professors of alternate disciplines simply reading our lecture notes, lack of timetable organisation).
    Location:
    Great campus.
    Accommodation:
    Deadline being in one of the cheapest halls, I was very pleased with the shared bathroom and bedroom facilities. Kitchen was good as well.
    Settling in:
    It took me about a month to feel myself again and 'at home' though this is pretty typical I would say and not representative of the university.
  • -'s avatar by - on 10th September 2015
    Overall:
    -
    University:
    -
    Course:
    Good times
    Location:
    bad
    Accommodation:
    was decent
    Settling in:
    -
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    The lecturers on the course were more concerned with their research than teaching and had little time for students. You are treated like a number. On the other hand, the university invests a lot in the SU, societies, events and making the campus a community.
    University:
    By third year, every other student had a mental illness, i.e. depression or anxiety and the waiting list for counselling was 6 weeks. The library was amazing, the SU was amazing and the gym was amazing!
    Course:
    I had no choice over modules in years 1&2 which is why I have not given a 5* rating.
    Location:
    Coventry is the worst city I have ever been to but Warwick campus is amazing- it's like a small village!
    Accommodation:
    3 toilets & 2 showers between 30 of us in Westwood halls.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away.
  • I unfortunately cannot remember my TSR username. Perhaps it was BiancaCaravtov. 's avatar by I unfortunately cannot remember my TSR username. Perhaps it was BiancaCaravtov. on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I have had a wonderful first year at Warwick and my experience has exceeded my expectations.
    University:
    You definitely have everything you need on campus - good library facilities, a supermarket, a pharmacy, gym, Starbucks and a hair salon so you don't have to venture too far if you're in need of something. It's true that the clubbing life isn't as excellent as in London but Warwick nightlife has its appeal.
    Course:
    I have found the course to be both challenging and enjoyable.
    Location:
    People assume that Warwick is in a bubble which is true at times. It can be time consuming to go into town (Leamington) and the clubbing on campus isn't excellent. That being said this wasn't a huge impediment during my first year.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was perfect ! Excellent amount of space in the room to hold all my belongings yet still feel homey. The fact that I had my own bathroom was an added bonus.
    Settling in:
    I enjoyed the fact that we had to write a personal statement when applying for accommodation so were matched with like-minded people. This meant it was easy to make friends and settle in. The vast amount of societies available also helped.
  • Fayemst's avatar by Fayemst on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good. Got all the support I needed. Great facilities. Right next to tesco superstore as well. Peaceful country area. One of the highest institutions.
    University:
    Good nightlife, cafǸs and shops and all on campus
    Course:
    Teachers are good and make things clear, lots of support with advice hours
    Location:
    Nice peaceful area but far from the city centre and station
    Accommodation:
    Ten minute walk from campus, brand new and in good condition, en suite, reasonable price
    Settling in:
    Took me a couple of weeks to fully settle in
  • -'s avatar by - on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic university, challenging academically and just a lot of fun. The only thing that lets it down is its location but this can be a plus for people not wanting a city uni.
    University:
    Absolutely tonnes to do on campus, loads of societies and some great student nights. Just a really fun feeling about it all
    Course:
    It was an intellectually challenging course and made a huge impact on my life. It helped me approach all questions analytically, and had a range of options to specialise in. I specialised in philosophy of science, maths and politics but many of my friends went for specialisms in aesthetics and ethics. The lecturers were friendly and clearly at the top of their fields which was fantastic. Dropped one star just because more one to one time would have helped even more.
    Location:
    It's quite far from major cities. Coventry is close, but isn't very nice and Birmingham is a bit of a trek. That being said the surrounding countryside and towns are pretty stunning
    Accommodation:
    I was at the cheaper Westwood halls. They were loads of fun, but very basic. I think there were 3 showers between 30 people on my floor. Actually it wasn't as bad as it sounds, but it wasn't brilliant either. Affordability was high and the campus was great. Coventry isn't the nicest city in the world though.
    Settling in:
    I settled in extremely quickly. I guess I was really excited for university and am fairly outgoing (although I wouldn't say I'm a proper extrovert at all). People were extremely friendly and I made some awesome friends there.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing place and people
    University:
    Good campus life
    Course:
    Good structure and content
    Location:
    Good place to be without the hustle and bustle of a city but close enough to escape to birmingham and london if one needs to
    Accommodation:
    Bluebell was amazing - double bed and ensuite
    Settling in:
    People were friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Warwick is a great university
    University:
    a lot of stuff to do in the uni i.e. many societies, friendly environment.
    Course:
    i'm loving it!
    Location:
    i'm interested in working in a city like london, but warwick is quite far away.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, close to main buildings, nice catering members.
    Settling in:
    less than a week.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience is great overall. Better than I had expected it.
    University:
    It is almost as I'd imagined it would be.
    Course:
    The course is what I have expected. The lecturers are good so far. I did not give 5 stars because I just started uni and I haven't seen the full picture yet.
    Location:
    It's in a quiet location which is great to study in. There are restaurants grocery stores in the campus and Tesco is just 15 minutes walk away. It only takes 20-30 minutes by bus to get to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The room is spacious and the people including the residential tutor are great. The toilets and kitchen are really good with most of the essential kitchen appliances being provided.
    Settling in:
    I feel at home from the first day I arrived to this university.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good and helpful
    University:
    Careers and skills was brilliant
    Course:
    Excellent Modules and Quality of teaching
    Location:
    Was not far from the city buses travelled to it at regular intervals
    Accommodation:
    Never stayed on campus housing but heard it was good
    Settling in:
    Made friends easily and settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far it's been decent but as you meet more people it gets much better where ever you may be.
    University:
    Easy to get involved
    Course:
    A lot of practical work=fun
    Location:
    Too far...
    Accommodation:
    Central campus 10 min walk=no Bueno
    Settling in:
    Pretty easy to settle, people muy bien
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    University of Warwick is an amazing experience. I love everything, from my lectures to all the friends I've made so far.
    University:
    There are more than 200 societies, which is a big plus. The sports centre is really well equipped, with a pool, gym, climbing room and more rooms for different sports. During the exam period, the library tends to get fully occupied by students.
    Course:
    The course structure is amazin and I find the lectures really interesting. Also, the lecturers are really friendly and helpful.
    Location:
    It is located in Coventry, which is pretty far from London. Also, the cultural life of the city is almost inexistent.
    Accommodation:
    My room was really big and close to my department building, but it was a little bit pricy.
    Settling in:
    I never really had problems settling in a new place because I was used to switching towns each 4 years, but the resident tutor was helpful and my flatmates were the best I could have hoped for.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    1/5
    University:
    had little time for anything except studying
    Course:
    They ran it like a business, money was more important than the students, tutor was very unhelpful, lectures were difficult to follow and pitched at the smartest people in the room
    Location:
    not brilliant but i didnt mind
    Accommodation:
    mine was cheap, good location, decent quality
    Settling in:
    my halls felt like home v quickly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall 5.
    University:
    Also great
    Course:
    Perfect
    Location:
    The campus has everything
    Accommodation:
    Nice place, great teachers
    Settling in:
    Nice welcoming staff
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it here!
    University:
    seems alright so far
    Course:
    wide range
    Location:
    bit in the middle of nowhere
    Accommodation:
    its fairly basic, but better than i was expecting and its quite cheap
    Settling in:
    barely fely homesick
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, it gets better as the year goes on
    University:
    There could be more
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    It's alright, just different to where I live
    Accommodation:
    It was perfect
    Settling in:
    I settled in quicker than I thought I would
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Love the uni and the people the only down side is that I'm not currently enjoying my course
    University:
    Really good union with lots going on
    Course:
    Not very much help at the beginning of the course, boring content
    Location:
    City centre and campus
    Accommodation:
    Double bed, washing machine included, ensuite, on campus, down one star because of cost
    Settling in:
    Lack of introductory information
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good university but is very expensive and will take a fair bit of time to feel at home
    University:
    Good services but standard
    Course:
    Decent
    Location:
    Close to family around the country and london
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive
    Settling in:
    Took a while to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good so far.
    University:
    A lot of stuff is quite expensive on campus, but seems of reasonable quality.
    Course:
    Some module setup seems confusing
    Location:
    Seems a long way from anywhere. Bubble feeling.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable at
    Settling in:
    It's my second day and I feel quite comfortable already.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, I have had a good university experience, despite my initial doubts. It's a fairly small place, and you get used to everything quickly. Everyone has been exceptionally friendly.
    University:
    The library is not yet open 24/7 with the exceptions of exam periods. The SU is great, but their events get old quite quickly. The sport facilities are good but fairly pricy.
    Course:
    I greatly enjoy the teaching methods and timetable.
    Location:
    I am not a fan of the location, as it's a 15 minute walk to Tesco or a 20 minute bus ride to Coventry. I would have preferred if it were closer to Coventry.
    Accommodation:
    The student accommodation is good value,with the occasional broken chair, and many buildings are fairly new. The location is great.
    Settling in:
    The Hall system has really helped me make friends quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Love it here, just got to learn a few tricks to make it better, like where to shop and live, and some shortcuts.
    University:
    Clubs and societies are great, there are loads. The SU is ok, not the best. Facilities on campus are extortionate because there aren't many alternatives nearby and they can get away with charging loads.
    Course:
    There are a lot of lectures and a lot of work. You seem to do over half of the load of each of the maths course and the physics course so you end up doing like 120% of a degree so it is hard. Lecturers vary a lot, some are great, others quite bad. My tutor was great but again, they vary.
    Location:
    Not in walking distance of anything exciting, but Coventry and Leamington Spa are a bus ride away, though it's expensive. The country around should be beautiful but it's hard to get to and boring. The actual town of Warwick is lovely but not that near the uni.
    Accommodation:
    On campus it was fine, clean, fit for purpose. Probably on the expensive end for what it was, location was great when on campus. However, you are only guaranteed on campus in first year and it's a long commute in later years, plus the accommodation is not all uni managed and varies a lot.
    Settling in:
    Love it, sports and societies are great, lots to do, made friends with lots of people easily.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. The balance between academics and other opportunities with societies etc is something you are unlikely to find at any other top university. Its intense of just the right amount
    University:
    its all amazing. could be cheaper though
    Course:
    The Course is designed to allow you to make the most of the modules that you study while at the same time allowing you to explore other areas of study. It is rewarding because its tough.
    Location:
    it's a campus university so is pretty far off from some towns where one might want to just go and hang out for the day
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation is unorganised, does not give us enough notice and is not helpful at all.
    Settling in:
    Studies Induction - Excellent Accomodation - Average Welcoming - Excelllent
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Fun fun fun with downtime an option
    Course:
    It fits into a reasonable life style
    Location:
    Good cause close to places but very isolated
    Accommodation:
    It's clean
    Settling in:
    Friendly atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's really a prestigious university though it is quite young. Loving the atmosphere here!
    University:
    Wondeeful
    Course:
    Everybody is very friendly and helpful. I love the campus-style university!
    Location:
    lack of shopping complex.
    Accommodation:
    It is spacious and fully-furnished.
    Settling in:
    Student union helpers arrange activities for us to gain key skills in this university.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    Its challenging but very rewarding and there is always help available
    Location:
    Its close to leamjngton town
    Accommodation:
    They are okay but not luxury
    Settling in:
    I fit right in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I really enjoyed my time at Warwick. The campus was really well set up for freshers staying in halls and the people were lovely!
    University:
    Loved the university lifestyle and made some life long friends :)
    Course:
    Whilst I enjoyed the content of the course and final year dissertation, the way some of the content was delivered was not particularly comprehensive.
    Location:
    Whilst not in the centre of a city, my university had really good transport connections, so I didn't have a problem getting anywhere
    Accommodation:
    Really loved where I lived in all 3 years. No complaints!
    Settling in:
    Adjusting to university life took a little while; living away from home and studying quite an intense course was challenging in the first few weeks.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I've had the best year of my life. It's an outstanding institution with so much going on. I can't see how you'd have a bad time.
    University:
    Great gym, great SU. Great societies and people so nightlife is not bad either. Clubs aren't like in the city but we're not the city are we? We're Warwick University and the fun follows us whereever we go.
    Course:
    I feel like more optional modules, more variety could be better.
    Location:
    I'm not a huge fan of coventry but it's close to lovely Leamington and Birmingham. It's being in the Midlans makes it close to everywhere really. It's 2 hours from London tops.
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Bluebell and the room are a good size, double bed, ensuite and the kitchens are well equipted.
    Settling in:
    Warwick is empowering not intimidating. We have a great SU and more societies than we probably need. If you go for it, I believe there is something for any type of person here.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Top notch,
    University:
    Great fun.
    Course:
    It's great.
    Location:
    Lovely place.
    Accommodation:
    It's very good.
    Settling in:
    Because I settled in very easily.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4* because it has been a throughly enjoyable experience studying there so far. I feel I have grown intellectually as well as the fact that I have been exposed to so many opportunities both academically and socially.
    University:
    The facilities available are all to a high standard, the societies are a good way to get involved with uni life and being close to the city centre the nightlife is really good as well.
    Course:
    We have enough hours for both contact time and independant study, the modules taught are very interesting and both individual and general feedback is given to a high standard.
    Location:
    It is close to the city centre, so there is lots to do. It is also close to some historical landmarks which are interesting.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is of a high quality yet affordable and is situated on campus so its location is ideal.
    Settling in:
    I made friends on my course and the societies made it easy to make friends outside it as well. Everyone was really welcoming and help was always around if you needed it
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    NA
    University:
    NA
    Course:
    NA
    Location:
    Campus University, so not a great deal of things to do around campus: bars, clubs, shops etc. is limited.
    Accommodation:
    NA
    Settling in:
    NA
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars - great location, great facilities, great people and good academic record.
    University:
    Wide range of societies, clubbing events, career events and festivals is a solid advantage for Warwick students. The library is not so good however - always packed in the exam period (all seats are occupied at 6-7am) BUT! there are plans to renovate the library so I'm ok with that. don't do sports that much apart from gym (which is relatively small but very good) but the range of them available is astonishing. Music facilities are neat as well - you can rent out instruments and can access free rehearsal rooms with pianos.
    Course:
    Pros: - wide range of subjects available as optional modules - ability to pick courses from other departments - fascinating lecturers - ability to book for seminar groups in the beginning of the year - comfortable timetable Cons: - small range of full-year modules - feedback is ridiculously hard to get. after literally spamming the European law department throughout the whole summer I have yet to receive any feedback on my exam papers (we are allowed to request it)
    Location:
    Location is amazing once you get used it. It has some picturesque views, lots of trees and all that kind of stuff. Warwick is located in between Coventry and Leamington Spa and I personally live in the later. The place has all the essentials and is comfortable to live in.
    Accommodation:
    wide-ranging housing for affordable price. The only problem is that the way accommodation service allocates students is obscure - I got my accommodation (very crappy but very cheap) even though I didn't pick it in my choices
    Settling in:
    Found it really hard to adjust to a small town as I used to live in Moscow in London throughout my life. Managed to overcome painful need of travelling to london every weekend by the end of first term
  • by Anonymous on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is amazing, 10/10
    University:
    Buzzing
    Course:
    It's good
    Location:
    Bit far out but nice uni
    Accommodation:
    Close to everything, cheap, fun
    Settling in:
    Home from home
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Warwick SU
    Course:
    flexibility
    Location:
    midlands
    Accommodation:
    bluebell en suite and modern
    Settling in:
    resident tutors
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Loads of nightclubs
    Course:
    ?
    Location:
    I get sent to Coventry
    Accommodation:
    Great Value
    Settling in:
    TBD
  • by Anonymous on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university and I have really enjoyed it here. There are some negatives as there are with an university but it does have a great feel and atmosphere which is so helpful in being happy and able to study.
    University:
    There needs to be a bigger gym and some more sports facilities. However the library is excellent, and there are so many societies. The groceries shop is way to expensive but Tesco is just a 10 minute walk or so.
    Course:
    Really enjoyable, and most lecturers are excellent. The teaching is quality however sometimes it can be frustrating when your not given enough support to understand why you are doing what you are doing for coursework.
    Location:
    Coventry isn't really that great however Leamington which isn't too far is much better.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is very good and refurbished well, however price is way too high for the area.
    Settling in:
    The university feels great and its awesome living there so it didn't take too long to get settled.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing, wish I was back there!
    University:
    Very good.
    Course:
    Very well organised and thought out. Provided great background for industry.
    Location:
    Love the campus however makes shopping harder as further away from a city.
    Accommodation:
    Good value for money.
    Settling in:
    Very good flatmates.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far it has been a good experience. My only complaint about the university is that there seems to be a growing mutual feeling among students that the university does not care about us. There has been a number of incidents in the last year where students have been overlooked, disregarded and ignored and I think warwick need to fix this. However it is a good university - just don't expect to feel like you are valued on an individual level by the university.
    University:
    Warwick has so many societies and sports clubs that no one is lying when they say there really is something for everyone. There is always something going on to get involved in and I really like that about Warwick. It's just a shame that Warwick Sport is so expensive - it costs
    Course:
    I enjoy my course. It's interesting and there's a good range of business modules to choose from. Teaching is good. Additional feedback on both assessed and unassessed work would be the only improvement.
    Location:
    I really like the campus set up of Warwick uni, everything you need is so close by and it's very convenient. The nearest city is Coventry which isn't the nicest, but has everything you could need. Birmingham and birmingham airport are very nearby. London is an hour away on the train. So Warwick is a very central university if you plan to travel the UK. Leamington is half an hour away and where most second years live and where most go for a night out, it has lots of shops and is a nice town. However the busses and traffic aren't great for getting into campus when you live in Leamington.
    Accommodation:
    All of the university halls are on campus and in close proximity to lectures and other university buildings. There are pretty good quality and cleaners maintain cleanliness. All accommodation is self catered which is not a problem for me but for others it might be.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home quickly. I made lots of friends and got used to the campus within the first week. I shared a kitchen with 16 people which seems a lot but it's a great opportunity to meet people. My course also started 1 or 2 days after everyone arrived so I met my course mates quickly too. Starting your course during freshers week doesn't sound ideal, but when you're going to lectures and meeting people instead of laying around hungover during the day, it makes you feel better. Keeping busy also means less time for feeling homesick.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    9/10, no real problems but I don't give 10s.
    University:
    Tonnes of societies.
    Course:
    The course can be very challenging, but other than that it's close to perfect.
    Location:
    Coventry sucks, but the campus is really nice and Leamington Spa is good.
    Accommodation:
    I have had no problems at all with accomodation.
    Settling in:
    I have had no problems settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I loved my time at university. Warwick has a special atmosphere and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good time without getting drunk every night. I've made some life long friends!
    University:
    Loads of societies but not much night life
    Course:
    I like the content covered a lot, i didn't appreciate it when I was studying it but what I've learnt has prepared me well for a career. I thought the feedback on work could have been better in first year but improved in subsequent years due to student feedback.
    Location:
    It's essentially in the middle of a field
    Accommodation:
    I was very fortunate and got accommodation that was newly built. It wasn't too expensive as it was far from my department.
    Settling in:
    We had a great tutoring system, only 5 people per tutor that you keep throughout the course. Definitely helped with pastoral care.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    I love uni
    Course:
    I love maths
    Location:
    In not actually in warwick
    Accommodation:
    It was good but not perfect
    Settling in:
    I'm good at making friends :)
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, has allowed me to achieve a place at another top university to further my career
    University:
    The campus has everything you need and is safe and exciting
    Course:
    It gave me the opportunity to do a year out in industry which allowed me increased career options after university
    Location:
    Warwick is like a 'bubble', can be fairly hard to travel away. Located a bus ride away from the main town where people chose to live
    Accommodation:
    Large range of halls options at varied prices
    Settling in:
    Made good friend early on
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, especially the academic side: if you want to learn stuff, this is the place to be! It's also located in a beautiful campus, which makes it relatively cheap, especially compared to London!!!
    University:
    Societies are a really cool way of organising student life.
    Course:
    I loved how the course is taught and organised.
    Location:
    The campus is great
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and really close to lectures
    Settling in:
    It is a campus uni: Everyone is in your same situation when you arrive!
  • NO's avatar by NO on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    BRILLIANT
    University:
    BRILLIANT
    Course:
    BRILLIANT
    Location:
    BRILLIANT
    Accommodation:
    BRILLIANT
    Settling in:
    BRILLIANT
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I do not think that I am representative for all students. However, if you do not drink, you should be aware that student life and integration may be awkward or unpleasant for you. Furthermore, if you suffer or have suffered from depression, you should know that the support offered is inconsistent. I found my tutors and university therapists supportive and helpful initially, however nobody came looking for me or phoned me when I disappeared and did not keep my appointments. This to me seems a serious failing. They knew I was suicidal and prone to manic episodes. They knew I would not talk to my family or turn to fellow students for help. I feel that they failed in their responsibilities, and that I had a much worse time because of it. Sometimes when you cannot envisage a future, you need someone to show that they care about you when you don't care about yourself. My tutor and counsellors knew this, but frankly, I could have been dead in my room during my most serious episode of two weeks, and not one of them cared enough to pick up the phone. A disappointing but unfortunately not atypical failure to support those with mental health problems.
    University:
    As a student with depression, I found that services were poor and that I was not supported in my daily life. Facilities are OK, although the library did not have enough copies of important course books. There are few shops of note; the gym however is fine and the cycle paths are good for biking and jogging. I was very happy to receive a generous bursary from the University based upon my families income. However, this was overshadowed by a lack of support for mental illness, in which I feel the university made serious failures.
    Course:
    My tutors were mostly supportive, but not always available or quick to deliver marked work back. The course had elements I did and did not enjoy, however, this was down to personal taste.
    Location:
    The campus is far from the city centre, but the city centre is crushinly depressing and has terrible architecture, so no loss there. Cycle paths are well-maintained and accessible, and the location is rural enough to be pretty, especially in the autumn and winter.
    Accommodation:
    I was a little walk off campus and paid less accordingly. This was great for me, as I enjoy walking and didn't want to overpay. I had a much larger room than expected, which was great for my yoga practice and for not going stir crazy. However, it was quite damp and cold in winter.
    Settling in:
    I never felt at home. I don't drink and felt isolated from a lot of socialisation for this reason; drinking is expected, and any events specifically for people who don't drink are inevitably stilted and lame. I suffer from depression and my personal tutor was aware of this; I went to her for help and had to attend regular therapy. However, nobody, including my therapist or tutor, was concerned enough to visit or even phone me when I didn't show up for a week. If you knew that a student was suicidal and withdrawn from socialisation, and that student suddenly dropped off the map, you would look into it, right? I though that the handling of mental health issues was poor; I felt unsupported and poorly integrated as a result.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    7.8/10
    University:
    The campus itself is nice, the societies I attend are well managed and friendly and the welfare and care provisions offered are excellent
    Course:
    The course is interesting but the workload is incredibly high as are the expectations from tutors
    Location:
    Not close to anything except itself and a supermarket, it was a huge hassle to get anywhere (and to get into uni once not living on campus)
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was very reasonably priced ,close to university and of a high standard
    Settling in:
    As someone who doesn't drink I found that the University itself and many of the societies had no events targeted at freshers which weren't centered around drinking
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    4.5/5
    University:
    Very good uni life.
    Course:
    Seminars could be better and much more organised.
    Location:
    In the Midlands but close proximity to London.
    Accommodation:
    Affordable and very nice.
    Settling in:
    Still don't truly feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    great :)
    University:
    tons on societies. good nightlife.
    Course:
    Huge number of options (in terms of modules). Excellent lecturers.
    Location:
    anything i could need is on campus or a bus ride away
    Accommodation:
    nothing special, but does its job
    Settling in:
    good homely atmosphere as it's a campus uni
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Apart from all the building works going on, it is pretty good.
    Course:
    I really enjoy it but there are a lot of lectures so it's difficult to keep up with everything sometimes.
    Location:
    It's a very quiet area compared to where I live, and I like the whole campus but at the same time it is a bit far out.
    Accommodation:
    I love the location, it's affordable and it is always clean and tidy.
    Settling in:
    I thought it would take me longer but I feel like I settled in a lot quicker than anticipated.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    Great facilities, student union very active, lots to do
    Course:
    The content is very interesting and the lecturers stimulating, you get a good range of skills like lab skills and essay skills
    Location:
    Close to big cities
    Accommodation:
    In the campus and near my lectures, shops close by, don't need to go far to buy things
    Settling in:
    People were nice and met lots of people via societies
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great student life, close knit "bubble" environment and great facilities. Academic departments are not so great. More interested in research than the students.
    University:
    Excellent facilities, lots of societies to join, fantastic SU who had a great atmosphere and held lots of events.
    Course:
    Lecturers were clearly more interested in their research than teaching and this showed.
    Location:
    Was in a really nice, pretty location and it was nice to be further away from the city. Coventry isn't as bad as everyone thinks. The only problem was you needed to use transport to go anywhere.
    Accommodation:
    Was good accommodation and very close to the students union, but was expensive.
    Settling in:
    Most staff and student reps were friendly and the SU was very welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent. 90/100
    University:
    Campus is excellent but nightlife can be a little dull and requires a long bus ride to Coventry or Leamington Spa
    Course:
    The content is fascinating and the teaching superb
    Location:
    Could do with being less isolated
    Accommodation:
    Excellent accommodation but a little too pricey.
    Settling in:
    I was very excited for university and settled in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate it as brilliant! It's definitely felt like home away from home.
    University:
    Never really had any major complaints with my university. I joined societies, have used the library and enjoy the many events offered at my SU.
    Course:
    I like learning new things, but as the first two years are general engineering based, I am also forced to learn things that do not interest me maybe 50% of the time.
    Location:
    Although the campus is quite isolated, I am surrounded by towns that I can get to easily.
    Accommodation:
    I was lucky enough to be housed in a recently refurbished accommodation that was the 3rd cheapest choice. Bathrooms were cleaned 3 times a week and I had a very cosy room.
    Settling in:
    I was lucky to be housed with great people so I felt more at ease and comfortable.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    D
    University:
    D
    Course:
    It's everything I expected and more
    Location:
    Community feel on campus but cities are a short journey away
    Accommodation:
    Perfect good price and very high standards
    Settling in:
    Lots of socialising events
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    9.5/10 very close to perfect, with only minor improvements that could be made.
    University:
    Probably one of the highest amount of societies available of all uk universities.
    Course:
    Outstanding university and an outstanding course.
    Location:
    Countryside and campus based in the centre of English make it easy to get to from wherever you live.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent housing, yet room to improve still. Mainly on the price aspect.
    Settling in:
    Lots of events organized allow an easy selling in.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    So far my year has been amazing and I am super excited about my second year at Warwick.
    University:
    Thr campus has many emenities but I would prefer some retail shops on campus.
    Course:
    The variety and the teaching within the course is absolutely amazing.
    Location:
    I love the campus as it is huge and has everything.
    Accommodation:
    Even though I lived in shared halls. I found that I never had a problem. The cost was very low and we had decent sized rooms and kitchen.
    Settling in:
    I think the way that Warwick matched me with my house mates made me feel at home very quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's challenging, terrifying and wonderful all rolled into one
    University:
    There's something for everyone
    Course:
    It's smazing, but some of the organisation was a bit lacking
    Location:
    It's in the middle of nowhere, in the best way
    Accommodation:
    The lovely accommodation was really expensive
    Settling in:
    The atmosphere made it impossible not to
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic, especially if you love the countryside, but not being far from the city. The Uni feels (and is) such a safe environment, and really welcoming and inclusive.
    University:
    Everything's affordable, but really nice. I get an extra bursary from the university, despite not being in the lowest income bracket.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching is fantastic, and the uni itself is perfect for me (campus, and in the countryside, but with everything you need to never have to leave)
    Location:
    Leamington is great, and campus isn't far from it. It's also a quick train ride to Birmingham
    Accommodation:
    Very affordable, and the flat I have now is amazing. However, there are some less nice ones, but everything scales with price and location
    Settling in:
    Everyone was/is so welcoming and lovely.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It has been really wonderful.
    University:
    It has been a wonderful experience.
    Course:
    It has been the perfect course for me.
    Location:
    It's really close to Coventry and Leamington spa.
    Accommodation:
    It was fantastic last year in sherbourne.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The university is great and most people are very happy there. There are so many societies and sports clubs on offer and the social life with them, plus your house/hall mates prevent you from not having a good time. The main problem I have is the course, don't do Civil Engineering here.
    University:
    Facilities are very good and so is the nightlife.
    Course:
    If you know what you want to do as a degree the general engineering for the first two years is terrible. It contains virtually no civil content, which you then have to make up in third year resulting in you learning the very minimum actual civil content.
    Location:
    Beautiful campus, and nice to be in a bubble however transport to it is terrible, especially the lack of a train station on campus. But the buses from nearby Leamington Spa are good, even during term time.
    Accommodation:
    Rootes accommodation is great, good value for money and a great opportunity to make friends for life that you don't get in some other accommodations.
    Settling in:
    Depending in what accommodation you choose in first year, you will settle in easily.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent.
    University:
    I don't partake in 'uni life', but understand that it's good.
    Course:
    Because I feel like I have thought of ideas and written about things that I never would have before. The teaching is excellent.
    Location:
    It's not near very much. In a secluded, poorer area.
    Accommodation:
    Some is very good and some is very bad so it balances out.
    Settling in:
    I was ready for uni and independent life.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent. Socially and academically this was a really great place to be.
    University:
    everything as pretty great apart from the students union, which was terribly run and extremely expensive.
    Course:
    High quality of teaching, resources and extra curricular activities.
    Location:
    Warwick was in Coventry, not at all near Warwick, in the middle of nowhere and with very badly thought out transport connections to the nearest cities.
    Accommodation:
    I was allocated to a rather expensive accommodation, but had appropriate funding. The older accommodation that was no longer fit for purpose was being torn down and rebuilt while I as a student.
    Settling in:
    It was a campus university so you saw a lot of the same faces, there were lots of events and things put on for new first years, and in general people were really nice and friendly. It was also very easy to find societies and groups who were involved with things that interested you - from LARPING to political activism, whatever took your fancy!
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good - enjoyed it.
    University:
    Very good - plenty to do on campus.
    Course:
    Enjoyed the course.
    Location:
    Location not brilliant as nearest city Coventry! But plenty to do on campus.
    Accommodation:
    Lived in Rootes and enjoyed it.
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE