Member reviews of University of Warwick

  • syphilisjuice's avatar by syphilisjuice on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    8.5/10
    University:
    basically has everything you need
    Course:
    The lecturers are very good but assume that the students are geniuses and go too fast so a lot of independent study is required. The content is very good and the course is very challenging which i like.
    Location:
    not much option in terms of takeaway delivery
    Accommodation:
    Really depends on which accommodation you pick but are generally reasonably priced.
    Settling in:
    very quickly
  • saja9001's avatar by saja9001 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    An amazing place to study
    University:
    Good societies & sports, beautiful campus. Ugly buildings.
    Course:
    Good content & quality of teaching. A lot of contact hours to max our $$$ and not a lot of assignments
    Location:
    Bad town but good links to large cities
    Accommodation:
    Some are good, some are bad. Most are old
    Settling in:
    A lot of SU activities to help people to settle in. And the lecturers start slow
  • jonathan_dunn's avatar by jonathan_dunn on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    good uni, somewhat left wing, but so are all unis I suppose
    University:
    great societies and events
    Course:
    Pretty decent course, but you have to complete a cultural module in 1st year in your language and some of the language seminars aren't that useful if you're advanced.
    Location:
    pretty central in the UK, not too far from London. A bus ride away into Coventry.
    Accommodation:
    Jack Martin was great (slightly noisy at times, but otherwise nice)
    Settling in:
    lots of societies and events
  • jamesles12's avatar by jamesles12 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Would massively encourage any prospective students to consider Warwick University. Extremely high level teaching and a great uni experience at the same time. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else in the world.
    University:
    Great facilities to accommodate all sorts of extra activities, good bars on campus and nice places to eat. Really beautiful campus with lots of beautiful walks to go on nearby.
    Course:
    Great quality of teaching and a very high level of study.
    Location:
    Great self-contained campus is very nice but also very close to Coventry and Leamington Spa so it is great to go to these places to hang out with friends, eat etc...
    Accommodation:
    Fantastic quality, very clean and well kept, spacious, campus makes them close together so easy to get places, good range of prices for everyone.
    Settling in:
    Almost immediately, so many societies and sports to get involved in and it is really actively encouraged to involve yourself in lots of these.
  • Inert1a's avatar by Inert1a on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Love Warwick. There are things that can be improved but it’s been a very unique experience. Campus is not for everyone, so definitely do visit!
    University:
    The library is a 24 hour one, but can get crowded during exam times. However, the library team now display which floors have empty spaces etc to help with this. Sport/fitness is fantastic.
    Course:
    The structure of the course is great!
    Location:
    The campus itself is huge and you can find most things within a short distance from each other. Nearby Leamington Spa is also great in subsequent years.
    Accommodation:
    Had a fantastic experience in first year. Some accommodations could do with a common room though. In second year, the majority of students do move out to nearby Leamington Spa, which is really nice.
    Settling in:
    I was good for the first few weeks before my first breakdown, but I had a lot of other things going on at the time, so I don’t think it was purely down to having to settle in at uni.
  • Mechnagamer's avatar by Mechnagamer on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall the University is pretty good.
    University:
    Overall, the uni Campus provides several facilities from Shops to a Gym and even a club. Uni life was pretty good and with all the facilities there is little need to go off Campus.
    Course:
    The course is interesting and intellectually simulating for most of the time, however there were occasionally timetabling issues as there are many students on the course so few rooms could accommodate everyone.
    Location:
    This is the main down side of the University of Warwick. The location is like this, there is main campus, a short distance from this is a shopping centre with various stores, then the next closes thing is central Coventry which is 4 miles away.
    Accommodation:
    The Bluebell accommodations, although expensive, were very nice. It is on Campus so you can easily get around however it is not too close to main Campus that you need to deal with the noise throughout the day.
    Settling in:
    I settled in essentially immediately due to a combination of kind flat mates and helpful course mates.
  • JV1999's avatar by JV1999 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Definitely recommend prospective students to join!
    University:
    Lifestyle here is really relaxed (lots of things offered). Has one of the most societies of any Uni and new world class sporting unis are being built
    Course:
    The lecturers are super supportive and it realy compliments the seminars that are organized to focus on particular concepts. Workload is manageable and campus life is realy fun!
    Location:
    Near Birmingham and Centrally located in England
    Accommodation:
    Bluebell is one of the best housing experiences (flat mates are really social and location is great)
    Settling in:
    Everyone is super friendly and Warwick is one of the only unis that has a Week 0 to help people settle in!
  • Ashmeena's avatar by Ashmeena on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Brilliant university academically and amazing campus. Slightly too far out of a city for my liking but the positives certainly outweigh the negatives when considering all other factors.
    University:
    The facilities are all round fantastic. The library is brilliant and the system is so easy to use alongside the MyWarwick app. The grocery store on campus is very expensive by student standards but Tesco is just off the edge of campus.
    Course:
    Teaching is fantastic and the lecturers are both enthusiastic and supportive. The module choices are plenty and diverse. My only complaint would be that the departments don’t always work in tandem which is not ideal for a joint honours course.
    Location:
    The campus is truly in the middle of nowhere and the buses aren’t cheap. However, once you get into Coventry you can get to Birmingham in 20 Minutes on the train.
    Accommodation:
    I chose a cheaper accommodation and had a fantastic time. However, we had a broken shower all year long despite reporting it several times. But overall it was good and functional.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming and friendly and the university was very supportive. The societies are a brilliant way to find a group of friendly people who aren’t necessarily your coursemates.
  • WearilyPerrin's avatar by WearilyPerrin on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I came to uni mainly due to interest in my course, and Warwick has delivered on that. I’m really enjoying studying here, and as a person who is not too wild the location doesn’t bother me much.
    University:
    Considering ‘uni life’ at a lot of places takes into account the city it’s in, and Warwick is not in a city, it’s alright. The su contains places to go and runs events frequently. There are also several places to eat and go and these are a good quality.
    Course:
    The modules have all been interesting and engaging, even the ones I wasn’t really looking forward too. The staff have all been friendly and willing help and access to resources has always been very easy.
    Location:
    It’s a nice location but a bit fair away from anything central. It’s a nice area of you like it quiet or if you like walks and being outside. However if you like nightlife or being in very busy surroundings then it’s lacking.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality room and kitchen area, in a really nice location and very close to campus. Housing for second year was easy and fairly stress free as we can do it through the uni and don’t have to worry about deposits are anything like that.
    Settling in:
    At first everything is just a bit chaotic with the course and halls so you can’t really find ykur niche straight away. But overall it was easy and not too stressful even though it took me awhile
  • Siana22's avatar by Siana22 on 19th June 2017
    Overall:
    Warwick University is a terrific uni for all those looking for a challenge. With that said, it can be difficult to find the balance between working and being social. Warwick would do well to enhance their support for students having difficulty in either their academic life or their personal life.
    University:
    Warwickers live by the motto "Work hard, play hard" and this is definitely true. Uni life at Warwick is an experience I will never forget and one that I do not regret.
    Course:
    In general the course was well structured with much flexibility to tailor your degree as you wish. Overall, the teaching was good, with teachers using various methods to deploy information. Case studies were relevant and interesting. However, there were a few instances where my modules would clash. I also found that there was room for improvement in terms of student support.
    Location:
    Warwick University is situated in the middle of nowhere, a good 30 minutes bus ride from Coventry. This came with its negatives and its positives. I enjoyed the greenery and the serenity of the area. There are numerous beautiful walks where you can enjoy the forests and ponds that the Midlands have to offer. Additionally, the Warwick bubble means that you dont have to leave the uni to find things to do. You are close to supermarkets and basic amenities either on campus or at Canon Park (a 15 minutes walk from the centre of the uni). Buses are frequent and even though they are expensive, run all night.
    Accommodation:
    When comparing to all the places I have lived, I find that Warwick University student accommodation is excellent value for money. Students have a choice to pick more luxurious on campus en-suite accommodation or more budget-friendly halls residence. Having lived in the halls, I really enjoyed my time here. The halls are clean, well-kept with good internet and a great ambiance (notably for undergrads). I would definitely recommend on-campus accommodation to anyone looking to go to Warwick University.
    Settling in:
    As an international person, this was one of my greatest worries. However, the university's numerous schemes to integrate international students really helped in the "settling in" process. In addition, before coming to the uni, I had joined many Warwick Uni chat forums (on social media and TSR). With that said, coming back from my year abroad (3rd year), I find it very hard to make friends as all of mine had graduated.
  • 99 Percent's avatar by 99 Percent on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, well connected and laid-out campus university which has a brilliant academic reputation.
    University:
    Again neutral, but I know that there are loads of activitues on offer.
    Course:
    It's OK so far but I've only had a day of lectures.
    Location:
    Neutral: haven't had time to explore much yet.
    Accommodation:
    Ground floor...
    Settling in:
    My home is 45 minutes away.
  • Katameringue's avatar by Katameringue on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'm loving it here - an amazing place to study, an amazing place to live. Everyone is so lovely here.
    University:
    Fantastic. So much to do, facilities are amazing. Lots of evening events other than just big parties, which is great. Can get very noisy at night though.
    Course:
    Great lectures with good notes available, and effective small-group sessions.
    Location:
    Love the location - I like that it is away from the city, and how green and peaceful it is. Lemington/Coventry are not that far away for when I do want to get out.
    Accommodation:
    Really happy with accommodation - not too expensive, has everything I could need with good facilities. Area is noisy though, so could do with sound-proofing!
    Settling in:
    Lots of stuff to keep me busy, and I settled into my accommodation almost immediatly. Making new friends was a bit more stressful, and took me a while to feel comfortable with the new people around me.
  • Frantica's avatar by Frantica on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    An outstanding university with a diverse population of students offering a wide range of courses in a modern self-contained campus.
    University:
    An excellent range of facilities on campus. Over 100 clubs and societies, great sports facilities, modern learning environment and a good range of shops and restaurants/bars.
    Course:
    Timetabling and module choices are really good. Lectures so far excellent. The faculty have been helpful and friendly. No assignments marked yet so unable to discuss feedback
    Location:
    Campus is like a small town in it's own right, you have no real need to leave. Close to Coventry/Warwick/Leamington if you want to venture further. Excellent transport links
    Accommodation:
    I am in one of the lowest priced halls in the UK. There is a good selection of accommodation to suit all budgets.
    Settling in:
    A really warm welcome and lots of events to help you meet other people and find your way around campus
  • EllainKahlo's avatar by EllainKahlo on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Within the few days that I have been here I'm sorely underwhelmed and unimpressed which I could never have imagined before I turned up here. Almost everyone (staff) is unorganised and this does not make embarking on my first degree very comfortable or encouraging. It is simply making me want to leave.
    University:
    Almost nothing has appealed to me so far in terms of the societies, activities etc. They are very biased in favour of sports and religious societies and not much else for a variety of interesting topics.
    Course:
    The university are incredibly unorganised and for a first year who is away from home for the first time, this is very frustrating, upsetting and irritating. I did not have this level of confusion in mind for my course when I decided to sign up for
    Location:
    The location is alright, the campus is fine too but nothing oustanding.
    Accommodation:
    My room and the kitchen's facilities are as good as they should be, I have no issues with either yet.
    Settling in:
    It's not hard for me to adapt to change so I've found my way around alright but I still expected more in terms of direction and guidance from the university and so far have received little.
  • Wahrheit's avatar by Wahrheit on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Terrible
    University:
    Nothing to do, quite small, societies very cliquey
    Course:
    Some lecturers were great and the department offered a lot of support, but some lecturers were really terrible and their exams required just pure memorisation
    Location:
    Halfway between the middle of nowhere and the worst city in the country. Absolutely nothing to do.
    Accommodation:
    Really good, really affordable and good location in first year, living out in second year was harrendous and much of the housing is just too far.
    Settling in:
    Isolated and claustrophobic, worst time of my life
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing place and people
    University:
    Good campus life
    Course:
    Good structure and content
    Location:
    Good place to be without the hustle and bustle of a city but close enough to escape to birmingham and london if one needs to
    Accommodation:
    Bluebell was amazing - double bed and ensuite
    Settling in:
    People were friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Warwick is a great university
    University:
    a lot of stuff to do in the uni i.e. many societies, friendly environment.
    Course:
    i'm loving it!
    Location:
    i'm interested in working in a city like london, but warwick is quite far away.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, close to main buildings, nice catering members.
    Settling in:
    less than a week.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience is great overall. Better than I had expected it.
    University:
    It is almost as I'd imagined it would be.
    Course:
    The course is what I have expected. The lecturers are good so far. I did not give 5 stars because I just started uni and I haven't seen the full picture yet.
    Location:
    It's in a quiet location which is great to study in. There are restaurants grocery stores in the campus and Tesco is just 15 minutes walk away. It only takes 20-30 minutes by bus to get to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The room is spacious and the people including the residential tutor are great. The toilets and kitchen are really good with most of the essential kitchen appliances being provided.
    Settling in:
    I feel at home from the first day I arrived to this university.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good and helpful
    University:
    Careers and skills was brilliant
    Course:
    Excellent Modules and Quality of teaching
    Location:
    Was not far from the city buses travelled to it at regular intervals
    Accommodation:
    Never stayed on campus housing but heard it was good
    Settling in:
    Made friends easily and settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far it's been decent but as you meet more people it gets much better where ever you may be.
    University:
    Easy to get involved
    Course:
    A lot of practical work=fun
    Location:
    Too far...
    Accommodation:
    Central campus 10 min walk=no Bueno
    Settling in:
    Pretty easy to settle, people muy bien
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE