Member reviews of University of Winchester

  • Shirkeala's avatar by Shirkeala on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    n/a
    University:
    .
    Course:
    All of my lecturers ensure that there is a good environment in order to promote a comfortable atmosphere, in turn making it very comfortable to share an opinion or thought.
    Location:
    There are hills everywhere but its so rural and historic its amazing
    Accommodation:
    .
    Settling in:
    .
  • georgiaxmaii's avatar by georgiaxmaii on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think that Winchester is a fantastic university worth considering in your ucas applications.
    University:
    Clubs and societies are very welcoming of newcomers. The food on site is good value, variety and best of all it tastes amazing!
    Course:
    I never thought I would enjoy university at all, but I’m glad to say I love it!
    Location:
    The location of the university is lovely!
    Accommodation:
    I don’t personally live there but the housing I have seen has been lovely, well-kept by both staff and students.
    Settling in:
    I settled in straight away! The university is very welcoming and encourages you to get to know other students. There are many student nights and activities in which you will make friends very fast!
  • TheSixofSpadez's avatar by TheSixofSpadez on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love university, making friends is fun and the course is enjoyable and allows choice. The university is homely and welcoming
    University:
    Many societies to join, SU events have improved greatly this year and are great fun. Library is extensive
    Course:
    I have enjoyed second year a lot more as the module choices are completely up to me, I can do things I like. The timetable is well suited for me and my course lecturers are good. I would prefer more assignments that are not essay based but ultimately this is to be expected for my course.
    Location:
    I love the citt, very historical and homely whilst still having nightlife
    Accommodation:
    Housing was good, I had no real problems: maintenance was regular and quick to respond to issues and the area was quiet. Not enough washing machines though, and expensive.
    Settling in:
    I settled in well, made friends easily and the university was very accepting and welcoming
  • chattyshannon's avatar by chattyshannon on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a lovely small university and Winchester is a great city. But some things such as allocation of housing and course administration do need work.
    University:
    It can be a bit expensive in this area, but it is good apart from that.
    Course:
    It's nearly perfect but one/two of the module seem a bit irrelevant
    Location:
    Winchester is a lovely town
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation itself is good value and nice to live in, but the organisation of housing i.e allocation is terrible. I ended up in a hotel for the first two weeks and was then lucky to get into halls on campus but other students got put in catered accommodation (which they clearly stated they did not want on the application) or university managed housing miles away from the actual campus and town centre.
    Settling in:
    Moving into my flat two weeks later than everyone else made it hard to settle in at first
  • omgimnaomi's avatar by omgimnaomi on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    love it
    Course:
    It's great aside from one module
    Location:
    Lovely town but a lot of hills
    Accommodation:
    great but some plumbing issues
    Settling in:
    Felt at home straight away
  • juukeox's avatar by juukeox on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    nice gym, 24 hour library, enthusiastic student union
    Course:
    There's not much to compare it too, but seems interesting so far
    Location:
    Far from home, poor nightlife. Although very friendly area
    Accommodation:
    I have a nice big garden, but a very small room
    Settling in:
    Settling in to my house was easy, but my course is harder to get to grips on
  • Yuki_Jacks's avatar by Yuki_Jacks on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    A great experience, there is so much support if you want it, and all responsibility is handed completely to you. They are so very aware that the responsibility is probably new and that everyone is going to slip up and struggle and they are there for you when that happens.
    University:
    Everything is very accessible and close by, and the student union is very accommodating and fun!
    Course:
    It covers everything and more than I expected
    Location:
    Not as many shops that I would prefer, hills everywhere, But great train connection and campus is barely 5-10 mins away from town and the station
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant, except for the large hill we have to go down/up to get anywhere
    Settling in:
    My flatmates and Tutors were really supportive and friendly, so I settled in a lot quicker than expected
  • unrealdragon's avatar by unrealdragon on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is a lovely place. The courses are really interesting and are well taught. The lecturers know what they are talking about.
    University:
    The campus is nice but I haven't joined any societies.
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course and the modules. The quality of teaching is also good.
    Location:
    The town is really pretty as well as the walk into town. There is also a wide variety of shops. The only problem is the hills!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is quite expansive and fire alarms are a problem. But other than that it is great.
    Settling in:
    I still miss home quite a lot but I settled in quickly.
  • harrietrfrost 's avatar by harrietrfrost on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The University of Winchester is a great university as it not only offers a great courses and great teachers, but it also offers a great social life. Life in Winchester is never boring and I would recommend it to anyone!
    University:
    My time so far at Winchester has been great fun. The Student Union has a club on campus which is even better than the club in town. They put on loads of different events in the club every week. There are so many different societies to join, there is definitely something for everyone! Shopping in Winchester is great. There is a massive library on campus which basically has every book you could ever need for your studies!
    Course:
    The tutors are experts in their field. They are inspiring, dedicated and massively supportive. The seminars are really engaging. Whilst it is a busy timetable, we get enough free time to be able to do our work and still have a social life.
    Location:
    Winchester is a very beautiful, historical city. It is amazing to visit it even as a tourist, I'm so lucky to live here!
    Accommodation:
    The housing is affordable. Only problem is that it comes in short supply. Quite a few first years have to find private accommodation because the halls have been taken already.
    Settling in:
    The university creates a great sense of belonging and community, because it is a smaller university and because everybody gets made to feel like they are supported. For instance, everybody gets assigned a Personal Development Tutor. This person is somebody who remains with you for the duration of your time at uni and is there to track your progress and make sure you're happy with everything.
  • NoraBumblebee's avatar by NoraBumblebee on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Five star since the departments have solid research led teaching which is vital towards understanding your topic and for assignments
    University:
    Overall experience excellant, everything is in one place
    Course:
    The new changes have made getting to lectures on time difficult and its a struggle clearly for the lecturers as well
    Location:
    Winchester is not student minded but Southampton is a short train journey away
    Accommodation:
    Student Accommodation is clean, community driven and well tended by housing staff
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming and given support from the very first day
  • EmmaZombie's avatar by EmmaZombie on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    It was great.
    University:
    There was lots of things available in terms of societies and events and things on within the university
    Course:
    Lectures weren't great, lost interest over the year. Left to transfer uni.
    Location:
    The city is lacking for young people who like shopping, nightlife etc. Short distance from Southampton though.
    Accommodation:
    Got a large room as my accommodation given was an older building. Shared bathroom and toilet otherwise 5 stars.
    Settling in:
    Met people online before moving in. All but one of my flatmates (one hid away all the time) were lovely.
  • A.H95's avatar by A.H95 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate it moderately high but as I've only finished first year, I can't say how well it is as I progress into second year but I hope high hopes it can only get better as everyone is settled and you know plenty of people.
    University:
    There are plenty of places to study or chill at the main campus or even the smaller campuses. There are often student union events and plenty of societies that you can join. There is a gym and the town centre is in walking distance, although it is small, Southampton is only a short train journey or drive away which is the best in terms of shopping etc
    Course:
    Everything is reasonable in terms of progression of modules, reflected in a balanced timetable that is spread over 4 days per week. There is always feedback or assistance required with assignments.
    Location:
    It's in a nice location away from the town centre but still in walking distance. It's close to the motorway and train station for easy travel.
    Accommodation:
    The accomadation is very modern and reasonably priced as it should be. There is plenty of choice and you usually get the one you want.
    Settling in:
    In the beginning it's hard to get used to the university as it is often difficult to know where you're going but after a week it's pretty easy and everyone's nice and friendly and willing to help
  • Hayley_oc's avatar by Hayley_oc on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 there could be more the university could do to help students settle
    University:
    Overall there is a great atmosphere at the uni
    Course:
    The lectures provide detailed synopsis of the topic at hand
    Location:
    It is very hilly and expensive
    Accommodation:
    It is quite expensive and the rooms aren't great. There is very little storage and space
    Settling in:
    I still haven't quite settled in yet.
  • NA's avatar by NA on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think it's a wonderful uni with friendly staff
    University:
    Always something to do
    Course:
    It's very interesting
    Location:
    Lovely city
    Accommodation:
    Wonderful, a bit expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly
  • Jloupy's avatar by Jloupy on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good, but not amazing. Housing is an issue.
    University:
    Large range of activities and social events available to all students, but not a huge night life outside of the uni
    Course:
    It's good, but some of the lecturers are boring
    Location:
    Really close to the city centre, good bus and train links, quiet
    Accommodation:
    Expensive. Housing Services team really poor, moving people around weeks into their courses.
    Settling in:
    Accommodation not ready and therefore couldn't move in until almost 3 weeks into the semester
  • Richlove13's avatar by Richlove13 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    Could have been better
    Course:
    Lectures could have been better
    Location:
    Wasn't too far from home
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was not good enough
    Settling in:
    Not good enough
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    My first year here was fantastic, I made some great friends and learnt loads along the way
    University:
    There is only one convenience shop on campus and only two cash points, the SU offer lots of weekly events at good prices (with student card)
    Course:
    The uni do everything to prepare us for our future careers in teaching and provide outstanding student services
    Location:
    The campus is only a 15/20 min walk from a beautiful city and is location fits well in the surrounding area
    Accommodation:
    I did not live in student housing but have heard from friends that it is affordable, finished to a high standard and there is a lot of availability in halls and in the surrounding area
    Settling in:
    The fresher a week was really welcoming and everyone was friendly and helpful
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Small and friendly uni where you can meet lots of likeminded people.
    University:
    For me I liked how quiet and peaceful it was but there isn't much nightlife for people who like that sort of thing. You wouldn't go there for a typical student lifestyle anyway
    Course:
    Lectures were mainly interesting with lecturers passionate about their specialisms
    Location:
    City is beautiful with some lovely locations as well as lots of shops and eating places. Too many hills
    Accommodation:
    Good space and location with decent facilities. Felt safe living on campus
    Settling in:
    I felt homesick and lonely for the first week but once lectures started then I made friends with people who have similar interests
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great University if you're looking for quality teaching, facilities and lifestyle
    University:
    Great uni life
    Course:
    It could do with some improvements
    Location:
    15 minute walk from train station is good
    Accommodation:
    I had some issues with my room but they were resolved
    Settling in:
    Its a small campus but doesn't make it any less strange at first
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni, friendly staff, great course, but really bad Housing Services and room allocation
    University:
    Actual uni and societies = good, but the room allocation is not balanced and I'm in a flat with all heavily disabled people, so at times feel quite isolated and alone
    Course:
    Good course in all respects, though some lecturers digress from the actual topic a little too much
    Location:
    Nice quiet campus not very far from city centre, overall really good location
    Accommodation:
    Actual accommodation is really good, but the Housing Services are really bad
    Settling in:
    Still had no room three weeks in to Semester 1 and by week 3, had already had 3 sets of flat mates
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    I haven't taken part in any night life because I commute but daytime is great.
    Course:
    It is well thought out, lecturers are helpful and friendly
    Location:
    Near to city centre, its a small beautiful town.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live on campus
    Settling in:
    I am just starting my 3rd week and already feel at home!
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Exceptional!
    University:
    The nightlife isn't massive but its what you make of it
    Course:
    I had an amazing Uni experience and had the chance to join a sports team and meet friends for life
    Location:
    Easy access
    Accommodation:
    Clean and friendly happy environment
    Settling in:
    Great staff, help and advice
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    2 star. It is a beautiful area but be aware that what they advertise and what they do can be two completely different things. Avoid sport there
    University:
    There's not a lot to do there
    Course:
    Lecturers have been incredibly disappointing and unhelpful
    Location:
    Being a small town you are not far from anything
    Accommodation:
    It is reasonable for Hampshire
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far my university experience has been brilliant, I haven't missed home once which came as a shock to me. Just be prepared for lots of work as soon as freshers fortnight is over.
    University:
    There were so many events on during freshers that we were always so busy and it was a great way to get to know people. However in winchester there is limited night life, only a few pubs/bars and a couple of clubs. The Student Union is really big and holds great themed nights.
    Course:
    My tutors are all really approachable and friendly, and they make the lessons interesting and fun. Although contact hours are less than some of my friends, this is perfect for me as I like studying independently. I love doing group assessments as its given us a chance to get to know people on our course and ask for help in certain areas.
    Location:
    It is a 10 minute walk from the city centre which is perfect, me and my flat mates often go a couple of times a week.
    Accommodation:
    The location is great although winchester is known for its hills which can be quite a struggle to the accommodation if you are carrying lots of books. I can afford it with money spare with my student loan so there are no problems.
    Settling in:
    Everyone at the university is so friendly, during freshers fortnight there were always people around to help you with anything you need and my flat mates are great so I didn't feel lonely. There are so many events on that you always have something to do when you first come here.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Really friendly environment
    University:
    Lots of evening events at the SU, not as much during the day though
    Course:
    Interesting course
    Location:
    Close to the city centre and transport routes
    Accommodation:
    Good clean accomodation
    Settling in:
    Struggled at first but now feels just like home
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really beautiful place with an amazing set of people. Settling is very quick and the professors are all amazing
    University:
    There are lots of activities on site and many helpful people
    Course:
    Because I enjoy the topic and feel as though the course complements the topic well. It has a varied selection of modules, catering for everyone.
    Location:
    It is extremely close to the town centre and is very accessible from housing
    Accommodation:
    Because some things aren't well kept. And the whole block is a mixture of college and university students
    Settling in:
    I miss home but I settled in quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great experience so far with only minor bumps on the road
    University:
    Winchester is lacking a night-life, however the city is beautiful with lots of history and plenty of shops
    Course:
    How a few of the modules of the course link to the actual degree is confusing to see at times
    Location:
    The university is beautiful and so is the campus, however for night life it can be quiet difficult to find places to go that are actually in Winchester
    Accommodation:
    The location is beautiful however a little bit overpriced for a student
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really welcoming and kind so fitting in was easy
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it as a 3 I was satisfied being in winchesterbut the location of the student house off the campus was so far away from uni it does take me 30-45 to walk. Not many buses going around at all.
    University:
    Library is great with its 24/7
    Course:
    Module content is good,but Timetabling is quite poor there is not a lot of free time where I could do group work.
    Location:
    Location is close to town but not to out of campus accomadation
    Accommodation:
    Very close to the university
    Settling in:
    The location is very different to the city which took me several weeks to get use too.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Winchester is a great university, everything you need is within walking distance and it is a beautiful, thriving city. Everyone here is very friendly and the staff are approachable and very helpful.
    University:
    Everything is within walking distance which is very convenient and the student union is great
    Course:
    There's not many contact hours but I prefer to study in the library on my own so this is ideal for me, the lectures are good and the lecturers are all very nice, they are approachable and friendly
    Location:
    The university is close to town (it is a pain carrying shopping bags up the hill to university after shopping though) and the city is amazing, I love the historical background to the city which is why I chose this university.
    Accommodation:
    Whilst the cost of my accommodation is just manageable, the size, location and overall quality is very good.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home pretty quickly, my flat mates made this easier as we all got along very well right from the start. Once my things were sorted out in my room I was able to feel more settled.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Winchester university is small, so it's really personal. You get to know your tutors well, and they care about their students. Plus it's an old, well-established university, and the city has everything you need without being so big as to be be intimidating.
    University:
    Winchester university has lots of good events, and the city has everything you need. It's a very safe place too, and I never struggled to find the support I needed.
    Course:
    My tutors were friendly, and really supportive. I learned a lot and have some amazing experiences, and thoroughly enjoyed my time studying.
    Location:
    Winchester is a beautiful, historic city. It has lots of opportunities for students, and it is easy to commute to/from the surrounding area to discover new places.
    Accommodation:
    My halls were in a lovely area of the city, well maintained, and great fun to live in.
    Settling in:
    I instantly felt comfortable with my room and Winchester, and I made friends online before coming to university so I met up with them and quickly had a support network. Also, my tutors were helpful and I took to my course straight away, and then I knew I was in the right place.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Beautiful campus and city with great courses.
    University:
    Plenty of societies to keep you busy, su is good and party's on campus every night, however no nightlife in town centre.
    Course:
    Great atmosphere and enjoyable modules.
    Location:
    Close to centre although transport around city isn't the best.
    Accommodation:
    Close to university, generous living space and modern.
    Settling in:
    Very friendly and becomes homely within days.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its safe, attractive, welcoming and supportive
    University:
    Lots to choose from but quite sports focused
    Course:
    Very intense but very interesting
    Location:
    Safe, quiet but enough opportunities for nights out too, good transport links.
    Accommodation:
    Very spacious and feels very safe, little on the pricey side
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's an amazing uni, but not much happens in the night but really close to Southampton
    University:
    No nightlife but everything else is great
    Course:
    Great tutors and lessons/ lectures
    Location:
    Love the city of Winchester
    Accommodation:
    Standard housing , nothing wrong with it
    Settling in:
    Felt at home really quickly
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    If you want a small university where you feel more of a person to the staff than a number, and you want to live in a pleasant and safe city, then Winchester is for you.
    University:
    Facilities are great and the student union is excellent.
    Course:
    fantastic lecturing staff that are so helpful and interesting.
    Location:
    City is perfect - great shops and pubs/bars. Campus is surrounded by nature.
    Accommodation:
    university accommodation is very good as most of it is all new buildings. Winchester is a very expensive city to live in though.
    Settling in:
    The city and campus is amazing! Everyone very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    Winchester gets 5 stars from me
    University:
    The access to facilities such as the gym and library both in and out of term time are invaluable.
    Course:
    The teaching, support, structure, content, etc. are all fantastic and staff do everything they can to make the course as accessible as possible.
    Location:
    Winchester is lovely, but a bit expensive.
    Accommodation:
    Halls on campus are fairly good. Finding student accomodation around the city can be more difficult as rent prices tend to be high.
    Settling in:
    In my first year I was diagnosed with depression and chronic anxiety and almost dropped out. However, the university did everything possible to help me continue my studies and, although i commuted for the entire first year, I was able to move into a house with friends in the second year and continue.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    If I had to pick my uni again, I would always pick Winchester. It has a homely vibe. As well as being modern the staff are wonderful and very accommodating.
    University:
    There's always plenty to do on campus/at the SU
    Course:
    Timetable in first year wasn't bad. Lecturers are very supportive. Content is useful in mandatory modules.
    Location:
    Has things to do but closest proper town is Southampton... which may be a bit of a commute for people living in halls.
    Accommodation:
    Modern and affordable. Close to uni.
    Settling in:
    Felt at home straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been okay
    University:
    Not much to do. Student union tries hard to give good experience.
    Course:
    it's ok
    Location:
    Quiet night life. Too many hills.
    Accommodation:
    Wasn't given accommodation first year and surrounding housing is average. Estate agents demand alot of money.
    Settling in:
    It was pretty easy
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Rubbish
    University:
    Rubbish compared to southampton
    Course:
    Dont enjoy the course or people lecturers not approachable or helpful
    Location:
    Theres no clubs
    Accommodation:
    Expensive..not catered for students
    Settling in:
    All round rubbish
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic Winchester was the best choice I ever made
    University:
    Good societies and good nightlife and the library is fantastic
    Course:
    The modules and assignments work perfectly together to gain a wide range of teaching knowledge
    Location:
    Just outside the main town and a quick walk to the station with regular trains
    Accommodation:
    Clean and tidy but can be noisy
    Settling in:
    I felt settled but was very homesick however their counselling services really helped me
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    As a university it is a nice place to be, with beautiful surroundings. However, if you ever find yourself struggling be that in your personal life or on the course, they will not be wiling to help you in any way. I have had some issues and I have felt totally alone. And if they do not agree with it, the back room staff begin to try to be threatening and intimidating. it is such a shame considering the potential this pkace really has. But please do not go there!!!
    University:
    I personally have not been keen on it. But i feel a lot of that has been due to personal reasons.
    Course:
    I wanted to give it more, but there sheer lack of helpfulness and empathy makes me give 2 stars.
    Location:
    The area is a very quiet place in regards to nightlife and such. But, everyone is friendly and relaxed.
    Accommodation:
    It is nice enough and the fees are reasonable. However, it is showing signs of age.
    Settling in:
    Due to being in accomodation with tea total third years, it made it tough to get any quick connection with people.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic. There is a lot of support and a huge amount of expertise, particularly in the Primary Education course. Support for students and student welfare is a high priority throughout the university making it a very supportive environment.
    University:
    Welfare provision, events etc Are fantastic but as a small university there is a limit to what they can offer. There is a gym but it is quite small. There are good sports teams and societies but not as big a range as the larger univrsities offer.
    Course:
    We are given placement rather than exams to give more teaching practice than other universities. All my tutors are knowledgeable as they are ex -primary teachers themselves. Lots of support is given with assignments/ placements.
    Location:
    It's a small university so both campuses are really close together, all the services/ library etc are close together. It's just a shame it's at the top of a hill and a bit of a walk to town!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was of high quality, well looked after and built. It was a little expensive but the whole of Winchester is expensive so, that is expected.
    Settling in:
    There is excellent support at the university to help freshers feel at home. Student services offer huge help to students who are struggling
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would not regret going to university, it made me as a person but choosing a smaller university really helped me as I was not as completely as overwhelmed as I would have been in a larger uni.
    University:
    There is a range of societies and clubs, and several different events going on at the Su Throughout the week. The pastoral care team in student services are amazing, and there are several workspaces, both silent and for group work.
    Course:
    I enjoy the course a lot. It is a small department and so has limited course options but there is a variety, and all the professors are approachable and friendly. There are not many exams in the first couple of years and help is always on hand from the lecturers and student services. We also have a complete film collection in the library which we can access to review films on the course. As it is generally a small course, classes are small, which allows for everyone to be heard.
    Location:
    I love Winchester. It's such a pretty, historical city, and located close to other towns such as Basingstoke and Southampton which are more urban if that is what is wanted. It is also about an hour out of London, which is convient.
    Accommodation:
    I loved living in Queens. I had an extremely large room with an ensuite. The flat was lovely and had a nice atmosphere, the cleaners were always talkative and helpful, and being On campus helped me settle in.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly, student services were great when I needed support.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It made me more depressed than I've ever been in my entire life
    University:
    I hate being sociable and people suck, especially people in winchester
    Course:
    No response given
    Location:
    Winchester is in the middle of nowhere
    Accommodation:
    It's nice but people are annoying
    Settling in:
    Pretty much settled in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars. I've really loved my time here.
    University:
    Always something going on!
    Course:
    I love my course. My lecturers go above and beyond to assist and help. The timetable is perfect.
    Location:
    In town. Near train station and hospital.
    Accommodation:
    From what I've seen of it, it looks good and well kept.
    Settling in:
    Felt settled right away. Very homely. Friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    A really great time! Made friends, took an interacting degree. Tutors were knowledgeable and friendly.
    University:
    Student union wasn't great. Plenty of shops on campus. Good friendly feeling. Everything was close which made getting around easy.
    Course:
    The tutors were great, and the timetable was good. I was allowed to chose modules that I was interested in, and my dissertation tutor was outstanding.
    Location:
    Good location, near the M3 for transport. On the to of a hill, which when town is at the bottom of the hill isn't always fun!
    Accommodation:
    It was a good room, tad pricey, and the en suite was more or a wet room which wasn't always great.
    Settling in:
    It wasn't too far from my girlfriend or family so I was never alone. My flat mates were friendly, and I quickly made friends on my course.
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    if you want a uni which looks after you well and helps out where it can it is small but seems to be getting bigger however it is one of the best in the country in my view.
    University:
    im not a person for a night life but uni here is fantastic theres a zoo 15 mins (by car) away :D
    Course:
    there is room for improvement its not perfect but very happy with it overall
    Location:
    fantastic place to be a student loads of places for part time work (because government doesn't give you enough money to live here) just wish it had a better/alternative cinema
    Accommodation:
    price is ridcously varried across stanmore (main student housing area after halls) same with landlords. they also seem to have an inablity to put everyone into halls (last years experince showed this for first years)
    Settling in:
    made freinds via christian union quickly and course mates bonded bery quickly

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE