The Student Room Group

no freinds at uni

so i am currently in first year and i dont really have any freinds. I have one freind who came to the same uni who ive been freinds with for years but i feel a distance as he is mostly now with his flatmates who typically are not the best of people.

I have bad social anxiety and low confidence and now i feel that i cant find freinds because everyone feels grouped up already. Im typically getting stressed as alot of people are buying houses for second year and i dont know what im going to do about second year accomodation as i dont want to live bymyself as it can be really expensive
Original post by l-s.10932
so i am currently in first year and i dont really have any freinds. I have one freind who came to the same uni who ive been freinds with for years but i feel a distance as he is mostly now with his flatmates who typically are not the best of people.

I have bad social anxiety and low confidence and now i feel that i cant find freinds because everyone feels grouped up already. Im typically getting stressed as alot of people are buying houses for second year and i dont know what im going to do about second year accomodation as i dont want to live bymyself as it can be really expensive

Does your social anxiety prevent you joining clubs and societies?

You say your friend's flatmates are "not the best of people." What are yours like?

Do you mix with others on your course much?
Reply 2
so my freind actually has been looking at a uni house and i did talk to him after i posted this and he said that i cant have a room cause i dont really know his flatmates.

regarding my course there is alot of international students so their is a bit of a language barrier which prevents a bit.

i am in a society but its mostly just attending events i get nervous about especially as i would be by myself.

my flatmates are all girls and they have a uni home with some other people so currently, im just in a tough situation rn