The Student Room Group

Postgraduate study after International Relations degree?

Is it worth doing a Master's after doing a BA in International Relations? I'm studying International Relations but not sure what exact kind of work I want to go into when I graduate. Would doing an MA in International Relations or something similar give more job opportunities?
No.

Many undergrads make the mistake of thinking that a Masters degree will immediately make them even more employable than an undegrad degree. And for Soc Sci and Humanities course it simply doesn't. What employers want is experience not endless bits of paper that show how many books you've read at Uni.

You need to build up you CV with 'other stuff I did at Uni' - this is what will make an interested employer want to interview you. Placements, Internships and relevant vacation work. There are plenty of ways to achieve this and this sort of experience not only builds your CV, gives you relevant references but also helps you sort out what job you DO want to do. A Masters degree is just a very expensive way of putting this decision off for yet another year - and gaining nothing in the meantime.

Good websites to look for 'other stuff' and first jobs on graduation in this subject area are :

W4MP - lots of jobs, internships, voluntary work etc in formal politics, think tanks, social justice, campaigning charities, lobby firms etc. (scroll down for the actual job ads) - http://www.w4mpjobs.org/SearchJobs.aspx?search=alljobs

Charity jobs - vacancies with all sorts of charities, both voluntary/internships and paid jobs. Often a really good way of getting graduate experience in interesting job areas. http://www.charityjob.co.uk/

Central government jobs - not just in London - https://jobs.civilservice.gov.uk/company/nghr/jobs.cgi