The Student Room Group

What knowledge of politics do I need to have before starting the course at Uni?

Hi, I’m going to be studying politics and sociology at uni starting September. I studied sociology at level so my knowledge of that is already good but I have no prior knowledge of politics and I’m really scared I’m going to be behind everyone else starting this course. Does anyone know what I can do to prepare? What I need to know, read? Any help would be welcome. Thanks
Reply 1
forgot to mention- I didn’t study politics at a level which is why I fear that I’ll be behind those at uni who may have perhaps studied politics. I obviously do have the basic knowledge I keep up with everything going on.
Original post by setarexhx
forgot to mention- I didn’t study politics at a level which is why I fear that I’ll be behind those at uni who may have perhaps studied politics. I obviously do have the basic knowledge I keep up with everything going on.

I wouldn't worry about not having studied Gov and Pol at A level. I studied it and the modules we learn can vary from sixth form. The main topics that we all learn at A level is British Politics and Government and that often takes up an entire year of A level study. However, British politics itself isn't even a compulsory course at most unis so you haven't lost out that much tbh. I would however recommend reading more about Political Theory and understand the various schools of thought before starting uni. This book would be a good start at learning Theory: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Politics-Book-Paul-Kelly/dp/1409364453
Reply 3
Original post by Jazzybear01