The Student Room Group

Third class offer masters guildhall law and business

Is it worth doing a masters with a third class? I was ill when I graduated and therefore got a compensatory pass degree

The only school to offer me a place is londonmet

If I try for a PhD after masters will having gone to a less renowned university cost me alot? Or can I still apply if I get a distinction
Original post by Kiddo276
Is it worth doing a masters with a third class? I was ill when I graduated and therefore got a compensatory pass degree

If I try for a PhD after masters will having gone to a less renowned university cost me alot? Or can I still apply if I get a distinction

If you excel on your masters and have very strong mitigating factors a Phd might be possible, but your opportunities for funding will be much harder now. I’ve never met anyone on a PhD with a third class, but a lot will depend exactly on your circumstances - and how you perform on your masters.

I suppose a big question for a PhD is if the third class was due to very explainable lost credits, what was track record beforehand... i.e. first & second year. How much relevant work experience do you have.

id say you need to demonstrate over & above in your other areas to compensate for the very low performance. It’s a long shot now.

-
@Reality Check @Mr Wednesday @gjd800
Reply 2
Original post by mnot
If you excel on your masters and have very strong mitigating factors a Phd might be possible, but your opportunities for funding will be much harder now. I’ve never met anyone on a PhD with a third class, but a lot will depend exactly on your circumstances - and how you perform on your masters.

I suppose a big question for a PhD is if the third class was due to very explainable lost credits, what was track record beforehand... i.e. first & second year. How much relevant work experience do you have.