The Student Room Group

Quick Question

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering, will I be disadvantaged when applying to uni because I only study Spanish at A-level, rather than 2 or 3 languages?
I plan to apply for Spanish and Russian, would admissions officers be looking for more linguistic ability than just 1 language? I mean, I studied French and Irish for a few years but didn't do them for GCSE. I suppose if it was necessary i could improve my Irish to a higher standard...

...but it's not very appealing...

Anyway, any advice would be highly appreciated, particularly from anyone studying Mod Lang at uni who only had one language at A-level.

Muchas gracias por adelantado.
Reply 1
TheThief
Hi everyone,

I was just wondering, will I be disadvantaged when applying to uni because I only study Spanish at A-level, rather than 2 or 3 languages?
I plan to apply for Spanish and Russian, would admissions officers be looking for more linguistic ability than just 1 language? I mean, I studied French and Irish for a few years but didn't do them for GCSE. I suppose if it was necessary i could improve my Irish to a higher standard...

...but it's not very appealing...

Anyway, any advice would be highly appreciated, particularly from anyone studying Mod Lang at uni who only had one language at A-level.

Muchas gracias por adelantado.

Answer: Nope. Some people aren't able to study 2 languages at A level because their school doesn't provide for it (I think Kelly was in this situation and she's done OK for herself offer-wise :wink: ) so it wouldn't be fair to discriminate!
Don't stress, unis only ask for one language A level, so that's all they're looking for. :smile:
Reply 2
Don't worry, I asked a couple of admissions tutors about this and they all said that one A Level in a language is enough!
Reply 3
Okay, thanks very much!
Becca