The Student Room Group

International Studies

Hi!
I have been wanting to study in america for a few years now and I am currently studying my AS level in the UK. I am looking to get a sports scholarship as I play hockey at a high level.
I was wondering, how shall I go about and get started with getting a scholarship and applying to universities?
Also i'm really confused about how to find their entry requirements for UK students as they are american grades.
Thank you!

p.s if you have any idea of any us universities that are good for science degrees, but don't have really high entry grades, please let me know! :smile::smile::smile:
A few things to know about US unis (forgive me if you already know this, but it's important to be clear):

You can't study a specific subject or get a degree in a specific subject. Rather, you do a general bachelors degree, which follows a "liberal arts" curriculum. This means you get a broad and well-rounded education across lots of subjects. The degree lasts at least 4 years. The first two involve a breadth of courses, some of which are compulsory. The second two allow you to narrow down and concentrate on one or two subjects if you want.

Entry requirements are roughly similar as they are for UK unis. In other words, at the best US unis, you'll need really good A Levels (or equivalent) to get in. At mid-range unis (many of which are still very good actually!), you can get in with mediocre A Levels, and at the low-end unis you can probably get in with five passes at GCSE.