The Student Room Group

Internships for international students

I am an international student and will be starting my studies in the uk this September. I wanted to get any paid internship jobs that can help me look after my expenses here in the uk. Can I get any suggestions? If it helps I am a master's student in English literature foraying into business with a master's in management degree
Original post by harsh-17
I am an international student and will be starting my studies in the uk this September. I wanted to get any paid internship jobs that can help me look after my expenses here in the uk. Can I get any suggestions? If it helps I am a master's student in English literature foraying into business with a master's in management degree

Hey there! That's exciting that you're starting your studies soon 😀 Where will you be based?

As an International student looking for work you may be restricted by your visa requirements during term time, often you're only permitted to work 20hrs a week. Internships from my experience tend to have a bigger workload than 20hrs per week so this might restrict your options a little. You could search on Indeed (job website) to see if there's anything that suits.

A lot of our Postgraduate students work part time in retail or hospitality to top up their finances as a student. You could also look in to working at your University - either in areas like the Students Union or as a Student Ambassador. These tend to be flexible work contracts. Working on a part time basis allows you to prioritise your studies and find a nice balance between work and study rather than potentially overworking yourself with a full internship.

You could also get in touch with the University's careers team - they might have some good tips or connections for you to make the most of 🙂

Good luck!

Caitlin 🎓️
Official University of Strathclyde Rep
Hi there,

Congratulations on your offer! I hope you'll be enjoying your studies.