The Student Room Group

Is university ranking important?

So I'm a student studying in my country but it has partnership with many other UK/AUS universities. What I'm worried is that the university that were partner with is below top100 is that a bad thing? Well we actually have partnership with other universities that are in top 50 but our main partnership is below top 100. Does this effect my study or graduation prospect at all or the degree I get would be the same as a top 10 university?

source; http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/league-tables/rankings

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Reply 2
A degree from a real university is a degree at the end of the day.

I went to Edinburgh, I've had a few people think I must be quite clever because of it but not in the sense of helping get a job.
Once you're outside of Oxbridge the rankings aren't as important as people here say they are.
Reply 4
Anything ranked above 50 is good in my eyes. For you, however, I don't think the quality of the British university matters as the degree you'll get will be conferred to you by your home university.
Reply 5
thanks guys I appreciate it :smile:
Original post by TroyAndAbed
Once you're outside of Oxbridge the rankings aren't as important as people here say they are.

Even oxbridge isn't that special, and the only times it is are when people are specifically looking for the brand name.
I have no idea where my uni was ranked and I couldn't care less.

University ''prestige'' is talked about on here in such great importance, but i've never heard it mentioned at all anywhere else.
If you mean the UK Uni where you would do a Year Abroad or Exchange Year etc, then No, its doesn't matter at all. The point of doing a year in the UK is for the overseas cultural experience - your degree certificate will be from your home Uni so who is going to know or even care where you did an Exchange Year?