The Student Room Group

Suffering from anxeity / low self-esteem

I'm quite a shy person and sometimes this can be very frustrating. I'm not good at making new friends becuase when I meet people I'm not very talkative, hence I come accros as weird, miserable and cold when I'm the complete opposite. I have lost many friends who are loud, outgoing etc because they loss patience with me for being shy. Also, I'm not the most handsome bloke in town which doesn't help matters. Strangely my best mate is the complete oppposite to me. He's very loud, extrovert and very outgoing. He's always telling me too build up my confidence but its easier said then done. He always telling me

'if I had a 2:1 degree from Manchester Uni and a masters from Bristol Uni and Grade 8 violin like you have, I'd think I'm God''

I know I sound like a total sad case but my low eslf-esteem/lack of confidence is really worrying me.

Has anyone got advice for me to improve my confidence?
Hey
Well i have mild social anxiety and in secondary school i was veryyy shy and most of the friends i made, made friends with me rather than me making friends with them.
What i did was create a list of things to do each day, like put your hand up in lesson or say good morning to someone who walks past
little things like that made me feel a little more confident, and overtime youll be able to do it without thinking and it wont make you anxious or afraid to do it
watching videos online really helped me as well, like how to be confident and how to have self confidence
i think the first step is to self love, because i was quite insecure and self conscious, so i just listed things that i liked about myself and instead of dwelling on the things i didnt like, just think about things you have accomplished or things you like
confidence doesnt obviously come to you straight away, it will take time, and even if it means going to a party or doing something you feel uncomfortable, itll be worth it in the end
so hang on in there!!