The Student Room Group

The Official 2024 Training Contract Thread

As with the vacation schemes, the next cycle of training contract applications has now begun!

I imagine this is the year that will see a lot of SQE training contracts becoming available, so it will be interesting to see how different firms approach the introduction of this new pathway to qualification.

A guide to the common abbreviations which may be used in this thread:
PFO - a rejection (literally meaning 'please f**** off':wink:
VS - vacation scheme
TC - training contract
AC - assessment centre
VI - video/voice interview (depending on the firm)
WG - the Watson Glazer test
SJT - situational judgement test

Scroll to see replies

Is there a way to see which law firms are geared towards the SQE path? I’m a law graduate (from Edinburgh, however) intending to sit SQE1 in July 2022.
Original post by euphrosyne
Is there a way to see which law firms are geared towards the SQE path? I’m a law graduate (from Edinburgh, however) intending to sit SQE1 in July 2022.

They should say on their website whether they'll put trainees through the LPC or SQE exams.
Reply 3
Has anyone heard back from Osborne Clarke for TCs in 2024? Thank you 😊
Reply 4
Any had the AC for Freshfields on the 27th? I had mine then wondering if anyone has heard back yet.
Last night I submitted my first TC application (the deadline is 5pm today), which feels really early! A lot of the larger firms have their deadlines in June/July (though of course this is because they recruit for VSes first).
Reply 6
Original post by rp00592
Any had the AC for Freshfields on the 27th? I had mine then wondering if anyone has heard back yet.

Hi Did you manage to get the offer yet? You did it on 27th February right? How long did it take for u to get the reply?
Reply 7
Original post by Nidafzal
Hi Did you manage to get the offer yet? You did it on 27th February right? How long did it take for u to get the reply?