The Student Room Group

In bed all day

Hey everyone,
So I'm a 1st year university student and struggling to get out of my halls room. I find myself stuck in here most days of the week, missing lectures, avoiding every bit of social contact, and even avoiding my flatmates. I dont know why I just don't want to talk. Pretty much always in my bed, catching up on work and completing assignments or just sleeping. I dont know what to do. I try to hard to get up but once I do I just go back down again. I dont want this to be the reason I fail university !
Original post by Lighty153
Hey everyone,
So I'm a 1st year university student and struggling to get out of my halls room. I find myself stuck in here most days of the week, missing lectures, avoiding every bit of social contact, and even avoiding my flatmates. I dont know why I just don't want to talk. Pretty much always in my bed, catching up on work and completing assignments or just sleeping. I dont know what to do. I try to hard to get up but once I do I just go back down again. I dont want this to be the reason I fail university !

I'm sorry to hear about this- there may be many reasons why you've been feeling this way. I guess the first thing to do is speak to someone about this who can try and get to the bottom of the problem and figure out what is going on.
Have you spoken to any of your family or friends about this? Or maybe contacted student support at the uni?
Maybe even have a talk with your GP- they probably can actually help the best with this situation
(edited 2 years ago)
Talk to a doctor. Contact them pronto as well for advice etc. After 9/11 I could not cope with my new normal so I ended up being admitted to hospital for a while that first year. Trust me I have for the last five or six years wished I had not. But I was a small girl when the attacks occurred.
Hey everyone,

Hello,