The Student Room Group
The Quad, Middlesex University
Middlesex University
London

Middlesex for Nursing?

Hi there! Would love to hear from a current or previous BSc Adult Nursing student that can tell me the good, bad, and ugly of the program? I am at a loss weighing my options and want to hear from a student about their experience: the professors, the student affairs, why you chose the program, employability post-graduation.. etc. Any guidance is much appreciated! (I am a mature student so I won't be living in dorms or staying on campus much).
Original post by emdavidson
Hi there! Would love to hear from a current or previous BSc Adult Nursing student that can tell me the good, bad, and ugly of the program? I am at a loss weighing my options and want to hear from a student about their experience: the professors, the student affairs, why you chose the program, employability post-graduation.. etc. Any guidance is much appreciated! (I am a mature student so I won't be living in dorms or staying on campus much).

Hi

Current 2nd year student nurse.

Unfortunately there's good and bad parts of being a student nurse as you'll find out that you may got one bad placement when you go on it. But not every one is bad as you do get some brilliant placements as well.

The good bit of placements is the 4 day's of if you doing hospital wards placements, community placements are enjoyable but I prefer the hospital wards side, down point is you working the GP surgery opening hours with one day of in the week and free weekends. Bad part of community placements is you don't know what you are walking into when visiting people house's.

I haven't seen any ugly parts of the course yet.

Our lecturers are very good and helpful if needing to ask them, very approachable as well.

I chosen nursing because it's something that I always wanted to do although I just completed a vet nursing degree prior to starting my nursing degree ( completed the one and then straight into the nursing).