The Student Room Group

Where to study physics that isn't in a big city and a whole bunch of other questions!

Hello everyone, my name is Aithne, and I have to confess I am posting this on behalf of my son with additional needs who has just started 6th Form but very much knows that he wants to study Physics at degree level here in the UK.

We are Irish immigrants (I studied Psychology back at home) and we moved to the Midlands a couple of years ago so my son conducted his GCSEs here and within this time was also diagnosed with having Aspergers and the innattentive-type of ADHD (not hyperactive). He very much wishes to stay here to complete a Phsyics degree but he very much struggles with large cities (we are self-confessed culchies, haha!). Does anyone here study Physics in a smaller city? However, do smaller city universities still have wide-ranging societies? Him being Irish and Catholic are core components of his identity and he tends to gravitate towards people who share this so I think societies where these are available will help his transition to uni life.

As well as his love of Physics (especially nuclear) and Erin, he has enjoyed being a part of his school's CCF (RAF) and I wondered if CCF exists at universities? Or how he could still be involved in military service whilst at uni?

I know I probably look a bit pathetic as a ma asking on behalf of her almost-grown lad, but after him saying that he didn't know where to start with what unis to consider and me texting him all the time (he is a boarding student) to remind him to sign up here and ask, because of his ADHD he repeatedly forgets. I understand that it is highly improbable that any one person would be able to answer all my questions but any help at all would be very, very gratefully received.

Thanks a million,
Aithne

Edited to include his predicted grades: AAB/ABB
(edited 6 months ago)
Reply 1