The Student Room Group

lonely at uni

why is uni so lonely especially as a commuter?
i feel like people have their own groups and friends and its hard to make friends who arent just uni friends like i want meaningful and real connections that will last
like im in my second year of uni and have only made one friend who is basically just a uni friend
Hi! I'm sorry to hear that you've been having a tough time at uni, it can be really difficult to get through it when you're feeling lonely. Not everyone finds their lifelong best friends at university, that is definitely a misconception! However, joining societies, engaging consistently in seminars or other in person classes can really go a long way. Never be afraid to take the first step in befriending someone, you never know they might be feeling a similar way.
I hope things get better for you :smile:
-Kat (2nd year psychology student at Lancaster University)
Original post by Anonymous #1
i feel like people have their own groups and friends and its hard to make friends who arent just uni friends like i want meaningful and real connections that will last
like im in my second year of uni and have only made one friend who is basically just a uni friend

Hi,